About Hubstaff

Whether businesses are starting up a new team or looking for a better way to manage employees, Hubstaff has everything required to run teams confidently. With the innovative and robust time tracking and task management solution, enterprises can track their team’s time with in-depth timesheets, GPS tracking and project management using the tasks module. As employees track time with the lightweight desktop, web, iOS and Android applications, enterprises will be able to monitor their activity with time tracking, optional screenshots and app tracking, mouse and keyboard usage and even on-site time with geofences. Hubstaff allows team leaders to view detailed reports, send client invoices and even pay employees directly based on their work hours and customizable pay rates. With over 30 application integrations like Basecamp, Trello, Asana, Github and Paypal, Hubstaff seamlessly fits in with multiple businesses, meaning users can work without any interference in their day-to-day operations.
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff payroll management screenshot
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff location tracking screenshot
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff invoices screenshot
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff daily timesheet screenshot
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff task management screenshot
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff job site reporting screenshot
Hubstaff video
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff payroll management screenshot - thumbnail
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff location tracking screenshot - thumbnail
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff invoices screenshot - thumbnail
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff daily timesheet screenshot - thumbnail
Hubstaff Software - Hubstaff task management screenshot - thumbnail

Hubstaff pricing

Hubstaff has a free version and offers a free trial. Hubstaff paid version starts at US$7.00/month.

Starting Price:
US$7.00/month
Pricing Details:
Pricing starts at $7/month for 1 user on the simple plan. Bigger packages are available for bigger teams. Premium plans include additional features to the simple plans, like integrations, automatic payroll, app, online timesheets, url tracking and more. Premium plans start at $10/month for 1 user.
Free Version:
Yes
Free trial:
Yes

Alternatives to Hubstaff

Time Doctor

Time Doctor is a cloud-based time tracking and management solution used by businesses for monitoring workforce...

Toggl Track

Toggl Track is a cloud-based time tracking solution for teams of 1 to 1000. Getting started is as easy as clicking the...

Harvest

Harvest is a cloud-based time tracking tool designed for businesses of all sizes. The solution provides timesheet and...

Clockify

Clockify is a cloud-based and on-premise time tracking solution designed to help businesses monitor employee productivit...

Insightful

Trusted by over 1000 global brands, Workpuls enables organizations to analyze and optimize employee performance,...

TimeCamp

TimeCamp is a 100% free time tracker for teams. Unlimited users for $0. TimeCamp is a cloud-based time tracking...

Hubstaff Reviews

Feature rating

Value for Money
4.5
Functionality
4.4
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.5
5 reviews of 1,240 View all reviews
Ewan M.
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/07/2020

The best solution for integrated task management and thorough time tracking and reporting.

Very happy I moved from Time Doctor to Hubstaff. Huge improvements on all areas and a satisfying product to use. The experience is so good that I find myself wanting to stay with Hubstaff regardless of whether my need for time tracking reduces.

Pros

- Integrated Task Management platform (Hubstaff Tasks) allows for agile style task management that feeds appropriate tasks to user's timers.
- Nice user interface
- Good reporting functions
- Thorough tracking options
- Client/project budgets
- Very good Customer Support

Cons

- I discovered some bugs during usage (which the developers have ironed out)
- Time off / holiday allowance policy function is a great addition, but doesn't allow enough granularity as decimals of hours (or minutes) can't be used.

Alternatives Considered

Everhour, Harvest, Clockify, Wrike, Toggl Track, Insightful and TMetric

Reasons for Choosing Hubstaff

More accurate and granular control of task management needed. Also felt that Time Doctor was outdated from a UI perspective.

Switched From

Time Doctor

Reasons for Switching to Hubstaff

Combination of functionality (thorough time tracking and agile task/project management), pricing, user experience and reviews.

Response from Hubstaff

Hey Ewan, hope all is well with you and thank you for the kind words. You can now request time off exactly down to the minute. Cheers!

Replied 31/01/2022
Roldan A.
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/03/2022

Using Hubstaff for 5 years more. Seem it has improved!

Really just fine. What more should I look for as a freelancer who just need to track time for a project. Then send a a simple invoice at the end. As far as I'm concerned, I have a good experience with the app. If I have to suggest, maybe as a UX/UI Designer, they can enhance the looks an feel of the software to make it more professional and appealing to users.

Pros

Straightforward. Just the thing you need, you'll find it. Pretty much like any other time tracking software - as freelancer it has screen capture, invoicing, offline tracking and all...

Cons

It's just straight forward. Maybe they can add quick chat for client. Instead of additional login to browser when you need to quick communicate with your client.

Response from Hubstaff

Hey Roldan, thank you for submitting this review for Hubstaff! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying using Hubstaff for your time tracking needs.

We want to continually improve the platform and our offerings, so we do welcome all feedback onboard. Please feel free to go to https://roadmap.hubstaff.com/ and add any ideas for features to be implemented.

Replied 29/03/2022
Diane S.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
0
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
0

3
Reviewed on 05/02/2019

Constantly Rated As Poor Productivity Even When Working Hard

My overall experience with this software is a very poor one. While I appreciate what you're trying to accomplish with the software, especially for remote employees such as myself, it just isn't working out for me personally. As I said earlier, it's going to wind up costing me my job because the software is telling my management that I'm not working when I am. The software also doesn't account for things like needing a lavatory break or taking our (legally required) paid time breaks. If I were to take my 30 minute paid time breaks every day, my productivity would just sink into the teens. There's also no way to account for meetings or times I am on the phone where I am still being productive and working but since I am not clicking anything or typing it thinks I am sitting doing nothing.

Pros

I like the way Hubstaff is designed. It's intelligent and user-friendly. It's sleek and very polished and up-to-date with modern design standards and as a user I am easily able to access the dashboard and different features and see the differences in productivity from minute to minute, see the screenshots, see the tracking points, etc. From the perspective of direct user experience, it's ace.

Cons

However, my qualms with Hubstaff far outweight its superior design structure. The program, to me, is broken. No matter how hard I work, I have never had a day above 40% productivity - and that only happened once. I am usually rate in the mid to high 20s, even on days when I am busting my butt to get work done. I don't know why I am having these problems with the software, because I know I am working, I know I am getting work done, but why am I being rated so poorly? This software is going to wind up costing me my job, and that makes me furious.

Response from Hubstaff

Hey Diane,

Sorry you aren't having a good experience. Let me explain how Hubstaff tracks activity, and if you still think you should be getting a higher score, please contact our 24/7 support team at [email protected]

Your activity levels may be lower or higher depending on your responsibilities. Manual and mobile time tracking can also lower your productivity levels so include a note to your employer letting them know what you were working on. Here is a helpful article about how activity levels are tracked: https://support.hubstaff.com/how-are-activity-levels-calculated/

Replied 08/02/2019
Paul B.
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/04/2022

Hubstaff App Review

This app, is the best of it's kind and I believe that, I'll use it for a long time.

Pros

The app is very easy to use.
The ability to take screenshot of worker's screen is great.
Very customizable.
I like the fact that it's free for a single user.

Cons

At a point in time, it gives different recorded times. A different time sent via email from the actual recorded times.

Alternatives Considered

Time Doctor

Reasons for Choosing Hubstaff

Toggl was not working to my expectations...

Switched From

Toggl Track

Reasons for Switching to Hubstaff

Per reviews, hubstaff was the best so I decided to give it a try.

Response from Hubstaff

Hello Paul, thank you for providing your input regarding our product.

When it comes to the daily emails that get sent out automatically by our system, there are a couple of reasons to consider for why they can appear to be incorrect.

Firstly, the hours displayed in those emails are always in the organisation's timezone, and not in the member's own one. So, if there is a big time difference between the two, for example organisation having EST (New York) and user CST (Shanghai), then the hours tracked can appear to be incorrect due to the big difference between timezones.

Also, if the user's Hubstaff tracker has not been able to upload all of its tracked data as intended, then the summary report will only display hours tracked and uploaded to our servers at the time of the email being sent out.

We do encourage the usage of the timesheets area to more accurately see the hours worked by the members of your team. On there, information can accurately be seen in both timezones.

Replied 25/04/2022
Clive T.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/05/2022

Great for staff monitoring

Great experience overall

Pros

It allows us to easily calculate the hours worked by our remote team whilst ensuring the team are focused and easily shows us how much is owed at the end of the month. Vital tool for outsourcing.

Cons

There are a lot of features that we dont use, it would be really useful if it were possible to automatically schedule send us the hours worked by an employee at a time period we are able to define, so that we could easily access this information without having to generate the report. This function exists in part but the ability to set the time period ourselves would be very useful.

Response from Hubstaff

Hey Clive! Thanks so much for this fantastic review! We're so thrilled that you find Hubstaff as a vital tool for outsourcing!

I'm also happy to let you know that you're able to do Scheduled reports so that you don't have to generate them manually. Please go to our support article to learn more about Scheduled reports: https://support.hubstaff.com/scheduled-reports/

If you have further questions, please don't hesitate to drop us a message at [email protected] or hop on chat! We'll be happy to assist you!

Thanks again for this wonderful feedback, Clive! Have a great day!

Replied 20/05/2022

Related categories