User Reviews Overview

About Alert

Alert Rental is a retail management system designed to help rental businesses manage inventory, order dispatching, work orders and other administrative processes on a unified interface. Managers can utilize the drag-and-drop...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
5

All Alert Reviews Apply filters

Filter by:
Sort by:
44 reviews

Browse Alert Reviews

44 of 44 reviews
Sort by:
Eddie B.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Bennett Equipment Loves Alert Easy Pro!

We have been utilizing Alert Easy Pro for ten years!! The software has paid for itself many times over. Ease of use and constant upgrades make it number one in our book! Support is always there when it is needed, which is rare.

Pros

Integrates well with our accounting software and ease of use by operators is key. Alert management allows users to have input for upgrades.

Cons

Had to think a while on this one, there is no "perfect" software for each individual user but Alert Easy Pro makes adapting their features to individual users a breeze.

Response from Alert Management Systems

Eddie -thank you for your thoughtful review! We've enjoyed working with you the past decade and look forward to many more!
- Kara Lawrence, Co-President/CEO

Replied 21/02/2017
Michelle R.
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/08/2019

Alert Software is AMAZING

Inventory is accurate and real time up to date.

Pros

I have used Alert for over 15 years. I have been on 3 other systems in my 28+ years of Event Rental experience and ALERT is by far the easiest to use, most accurate and drilled in for this industry. The fact that users are the key to upgrades yearly speaks volumes! No other company in the industry does that.

Cons

Currently no having any issues with the software.

Response from Alert Management Systems

Thanks, Michelle! We've enjoyed working with you through the years and are so glad that you're part of our Alert family!
-Kara

Replied 16/08/2019
William D.
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Excellent Company

We have been using Alert Easy Pro for the past 8 years in Greensboro, NC. It works well for both our tool & equipment division, as well as our event division. Whenever we have an issue, we have always experienced fast and effective support. Their annual conference in Colorado Springs not only offers great education on how to optimize usage of the software, but also on many other aspects of the rental business. Hundreds of rental operators from around the Uniited States and a few from other countries come each year.

Pros

Simplicity and ease of handling our inventory and customer database.

Cons

We tested "Dispatch" portal that Alert offers and were not able to make it work for us.

Top Alert Alternatives

Point of Rental Software

MCS Rental Software

Dorsey T.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Join the Family!

We came onboard with Alert back in 1992 because at that time they were one of the few companies at the time who would write custom code and change their program to do business the way you wanted to! Fast forward to 25 years later and they are still all about helping you do business the way you want to do it! I've talked to several of my peers in the Rental Business and none of them have a users group anywhere close to Alert. Alert takes a lot of input from all of it's users and keeps the software moving in a direction acceptable for everyone, be it a small single store General Rental Center or Large Multiple Location Equipment or Party Rental operations.

Lydia D.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2017

Alert rental software

Our company has used the Alert Rental software since the mid 1980's. The software covered all our rental needs & has improved each year to improve ease & functionality.
Alert personnel has always been top notch. Not only do they treat you like family, they know their stuff !! You couldn't hope for nicer people to deal with and they go out of their way to help.
I highly recommend using the Alert System.

Jeff L.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2017

Using software for over 20 years

I have seen many rental software companies come and go but Alert Easy Pro is not only still here but a great software for rental companies. The upgrades they make to the software every year really help us do more and more. Their customer service is top notch. I can't imagine running my business without this software.

Kenny P.
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 08/12/2016

Alert Review!

Alert Management Systems does a lot of great things beyond writing a contract. Features are mostly profit based.

The downside Alert is still very very soft on documentation, instruction, and examples of how the feature works or came be used.

When you get an upgrade or purchase optional program it's just gets installed, that's sometimes you might get a quick overview but for the most part, you are on your own to figure it out and use.

Sometimes they are that quick and easy - other times we do struggle.

The Alert "shorts" are good but they have a limited number of them.

Pros

Adaptable to my way of doing business.
Support is very strong and responsive.
Custom Programming ability.

Cons

Not a fast system to learn.
Documentation and instructions are week.
Limited options: spell check, cut and paste option just not work on all parts of the system

Response from Alert Management Systems

Kenny - thanks for the candid feedback! We know that documentation is lacking so we're certainly working towards improvement.
- Kara Lawrence, Co-President/CEO

Replied 21/02/2017
Anne T.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/02/2017

Feeling like part of the Alert family!

We have been a customer of Alert for over 15 years, and in the rental business for 44 years. I can tell you, we use to write rental contracts the old fashion way, by hand. When rental software became available, we chose someone other than Alert. We had a good experience with the firm we had chosen for our POS system. When they went out of business, they highly recommended Alert. We investigated a total of 5 rental software packages and ultimately chose Alert. A large part in the decision making was due to the fact that Alert has a user's group. The group consists of customers who utilize the Alert system in their businesses. The group meets annually for a conference and has an opportunity to speak directly with Alert staff to make recommendations for software development and enhancements to the system. The group actually votes on the proposed development items. Attending the conference makes you feel like part of a large family. Alert staff is very willing to hear suggestions and happy for the users information. . What better way to continue to enhance your software than to gather the information directly from the people who utilize it on a daily basis to run their business! We have been extremely happy with the Alert staff. When you do experience difficulty, and you will at times, they will work with you to resolve the issues, even if they need to work passed normal business hours, sometimes until midnight. This can happen when there are updates to hardware and/or software. This has happened to us a few times over the years. A "counter down" situation is taken very seriously by Alert, they don't want anyone to be in the situation were you are unable to service your customers. In addition, Alert is willing to create custom programming for your individual needs. We have grown from 1 rental store to 5 stores and Alert has grown with us. We would have no problem recommending Alert!

Joyce S.
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Alert review

I have used alert for five years now. The software is easy to use. The customer service staff is very helpful and efficient in fixing problems or helping with issues.

Pros

It is user friendly.
Reports can be easily generated and sent to excel.

Cons

You cannot change an item from one rental class to another.

Response from Alert Management Systems

Joyce - thank you for the review! I, too, like to put all my reports on Excel for easy manipulation.
We're putting the rental class change on the voting list!
- Kara Lawrence, Co-President/CEO

Replied 21/02/2017
Austin V.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/02/2017

A Great All Around System for Rental Companies

We have been using them for a long time and they have always treated us well and addressed any questions or issues we have had over the years in a timely manner. Also like how you can just call them up and actually talk to someone pretty much right away. Thanks Alert for all the support over the years, Great company to do business with.

Pros

Easy to Use, Easy Set up, Good Features, Easy to Teach new employees the system.

Cons

None really

Pat B.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

15 years and going strong!

Satisfied customer for 15 years, not sure where we would be with out Alert Great software better people . Always improving and listening to their customers to get their input as to what they would like to see improved.

Pros

Fits our needs always improving

Cons

Nothing in particular

Michelle R.
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Operations & Procurement Manager

So happy we switched over to Alert! I had been promoting Alert to my current employer for 4 years before they finally made the switch. We have been a current user for a month and 1/2 and have had a seamless experience. The switch over, data conversion, training....PERFECTO!! The Alert team is always there to assist and the one on one training was extremely helpful.
I would definitely suggest that any rental/tool company that are looking to switch from the current system they are on look at Alert Easy Pro. The bang for your buck is there and the years that they have been at the front of the rental/tool systems market is the reason why their system is at the TOP!!
Make the switch, you will thank yourself and wonder why you had not done it sooner.

Pros

Very easy to move around. Training new users on the basics is able to be done in less than a day.

Cons

One on one training before the"go live" for the train the trainers could have been extended to a 3 day period vs feeling as if might have rushed thru a few areas.

Tim M.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/03/2017

A Solid, Time Tested Software Gem for your Rental Store

I am one of the original customers of Alert EasyPro and have always been very happy with the software itself and, more importantly, Alert Management System's team of programmers and support staff. EasyPro enables us to provide excellent customer service. Over the years, we have added features that are needed by full service special event equipment rental centers such as ours. Alert's team has always bent over backwards to try to accommodate our needs. Their longevity is a testament to their quality. I highly recommend Alert EasyPro to run your rental business.

Amanda W.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Satisfied since 1999

I have been a happy Alert Customer since 1999. It is a user friendly software to use for our party and tool rental operation. Alert's staff is also always there to help if you have any questions.

Will H.
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/12/2016

could not operate our company without Alert

We have had Alert since 1999, the system and their support have been a key reason we have grown from $1m to $10m in 18 years. In the last 18, we have grown and Alert has been able to grow with us, we have never been concerned that we would outgrow the system. We found the key has been going to user group meetings, this has allowed us to help direct development and help keep the system as an industry leader. We could not operate our company without Alert.

Pros

Alert was built for the rental industry, we have found they understand our problems and bring solutions for handling them.

Cons

Screen size is an issue, as monitors get bigger, Alert needs to reformat to fit the newer bigger monitors

Response from Alert Management Systems

Will - your suggestions over the years have made Alert EasyPro the industry leader it is today! We're honored to be growing with you.
- Kara Lawrence, Co-President/CEO

Replied 21/02/2017
Craig A.
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Fantastic rental software!

Our rental company started using Alert in 1999. We have been exceptionally pleased with the both the program features and ease of use. However, it is Alert's customer service and technical support that truly distinguishes them from the competition. Alert's programming and support staff not only has the technical knowledge and experience to produce and support a great product, they also understand how rental companies operate. I recommend Alert, without hesitation, to anyone looking for rental software.

Pros

Great features, ease of use and the best customer service in the industry.

Cons

I

Glenn P.
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Alert Easy Pro user since 2013

This software has been an excellent tool for our company. The reporting is very robust and the user interface is a very quick learn which helps with new staff members. The option to customize also makes this software a great fit for us.

Pros

Customizable; User friendly; Robust reporting options; Simple accounts receivable and invoicing; powerful dispatching module; powerful sign and rent (mobile signature) module.

Cons

Must learn the reporting system coding to really extract powerful reports (takes a bit of time and effort to really learn it); The sales (retail) inventory functionality could use some enhancement.

Hartley K.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Long time Alert user.

We purchased our system i believe in September 1992. Since that time we have been through several revisions etc. Alert has always responded quickly to any issues that have arisen. With out hesitation i would recommend them. We are no longer in the rental business, but still continue to use their soft ware to operate our retail store .

Pros

The soft ware is relative easy to use and understand. I can have someone writing a ticket in a matter of minutes.

Cons

i would like a little more flexibility in writing some sales reports.

Michael H.
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Alert Review

We have been with the Alert system for 25 yrs now. The ownership and support staff has always had our growth and interests in mind. I would not hesitate to recommend this software.

Pros

EASE OF USE

Response from Alert Management Systems

Mike, as a Special Event Top 30 company, we're excited to have been by your side and bear witness to your phenomenal growth these past decades! Thank YOU for making Alert EasyPro better and better each year!
-Kara Lawrence, Co-President/CEO

Replied 21/02/2017
Michael H.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Alert Easy Pro

We have been with Alert for 15 years ...Tracking rental dollars works very well..Sales inventory along with our parts department do OK also..I wish we could do better with the quick books side of things..Support staff is always very helpful and easy to work with...

Demita T.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Excellent customer service

We have been using the Alert system for the last 27 years and have never had one issue that wasnt taken care of immediately. When you have a problem they are always there to solve it. I would recommend them to any rental store in need of a great rental program.

Andrew H.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Alert Software listens to their users

Alert holds a user conference yearly to receive input from there clientele. Listening to what their users want is very important to them. They are not on the cutting edge of technology but they continue to strive to be.

Ashleigh S.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 14/08/2019

Easy to Use

Pros

It is very user friendly and easy to navigate around.

Cons

I feel like I am limited to what I can do within the software.

Response from Alert Management Systems

Hi Ashleigh - thanks for the review! I'll personally follow up with you to see what else I can show you about Alert.

Kara

Replied 16/08/2019
Keith C.
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/02/2017

Why or why not

I have worked in the Rental Industry for over two decades. This time has allowed me the opportunity to use, abuse, achieve and curse Rental Software. We made the switched to Alert in 2014, and of course we all where kicking, screaming and hand holding with the support staff. However, after some time had passed and the dust settled and she went back to Colorado, we were able to transition and take advantage of some of the more modern features like: Emailing invoice to customers and PO directly to vendors from the Alert system this alone has reduced many personnel hours and aided in better communication with vendors and customers. Some other features have given us the ability to keep a closer eye on equipment expense and utilization. This type of features allow us to make a better informed decision on what, why, and how many more we may need or not.
And still to this day Alert continues to excel at customer service and is the only Rental Software company in my experience that listens to the squeaky wheel when you need the software to do what you think it should do. Thanks

Rick M.
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/02/2017

Alert is easy

Alert EasyPro is an easy fit for our complicated rental management needs. Alert does a good job of blending functionality for the event rental user and general rental user. I find the staff always willing to consider the client needs and tries to find solutions to our day to day issues. We have used several POS systems and have never before experienced a software supplier that took client feedback so seriously. Alerts annual user conference is a testament to a commitment to their customers.

Pros

It's flexibility between serialized and bulk items. Everything is point and click. Many reports are already available in the knowledge base.

Cons

Number of characters in each field.

44 reviews