User Reviews Overview

About CallRail

CallRail makes it easy for businesses of all sizes to turn more leads into better customers. Serving more than 200,000 businesses worldwide, CallRail’s marketing analytics and business communications software delivers real-time...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.4

Browse CallRail Reviews

162 of 162 reviews
Sort by:
Stephanie
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2017

I can't imagine an easier, more efficient way to record and monitor your business calls.

I would use any other software for tracking phone calls in the work place.

Pros

Its the easiest software I have ever used in a professional setting where your business is able to record calls and play them back to multiple people. Many of us listen to them and are able to learn from them. Were also able to track whether or not they're a good lead for our business or not, which is super helpful to know and keep tabs on.

Cons

The one biggest con is you need internet access to listen to the call, which I understand but can be difficult at times. I dont really have many complaints about the software. Its great.

Dilushi
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/05/2019

Tracking phone calls with CallRail

I used CallRail for specially to tracking calls beacuse it tracking less than a minute.

Pros

We use mainly CallRail to traching phone calls . Not only that we can record phone calls. Have good customer service. Most important features is before answering the call CallRail Shows automatically us from where it comes from. Easy to use.

Cons

Much difficult to tracking calls comes from Facebook, instagram

Camilo
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 22/11/2021

Worst company ever! What a disaster

It has been a complete and total nightmare and it is impossible to someone who can provide solutions.

Pros

None whatsotever!, everything was near impossible using there service.

Cons

From the moment you call this company's sales department you will catch the feeling that something is not right. Wait till you speak to customer service. It is basically a DIY service, once you pay you are on your own. if you really care about your company you will not work with this company.

Top CallRail Alternatives

Nefer
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/08/2018

Excellent Call Tracking Software

Most of my client's business transactions take place over the phone and CallRail has helped us track these "offline conversions" from our marketing efforts.

Pros

Being able to see the source from where callers and form submissions are coming from makes it helpful to see which marketing channels are performing better than others.

Cons

We are not able to connect phone calls that turn into customers.

Josh Bernthold,
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/04/2018

I could'nt live without CallRail!

Pros

CallRail is always trying to add new features to the software to benefit its customers ease of use and come up with better options you potentially may want to use. I literally could not run my business without CallRail. Its extremely easy to use and flat out works at a great price.

Cons

The software does have minor bugs from time to time that do not impact the functionality, they are just annoyances. I would like to see upgrades on the reporting as well.

Response from CallRail

Hi Josh - Thanks for the great feedback! Our product team is interested to learn more about which upgrades to reporting you'd like to see. Are you able to send me a quick email to [email protected]?

Thanks!

Kate

Replied 18/04/2018
Mike
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/11/2018

My Favorite Call Tracking Service

We use it to track the results of our marketing campaign both in-house and for clients.

Pros

Very easy to set up. Doesn't take a lot of time. Can track both calls and forms.

Cons

There are issues from time to time with bad numbers. However, for the most part their customer service is quick to fix.

Chris
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 03/11/2018

Great software, but more expensive than the other like it

Pros

I like a lot about this - it's simple to use once you get the hang of it, and from there - you can do so much.

Cons

I got a ton of numbers that had issues, I guess they were used before for other things but it's like they were all spammy. I even got calls from numbers I never called and they said I was calling them, when I definitely wasn't. It's also really expensive.

Jordan
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 11/09/2018

Best call tracking phone number provider

Great service. Tracked incoming calls through the phone numbers and area codes I chose with reliable reported and great call quality. Perfect for wanting to track specific marketing efforts or even for agencies working with multiple clients. Plan on using well into the future.

Pros

It is designed for tracking campaigns and online advertising efforts. I struggled to find a simple call forward service and found this through a facebook suggestion. It ended up being perfect and worked seamlessly. Very happy I didn't try to use a side feature of other providers, it offers multiple numbers that can all be forwarded to different phone nubmers with simple reporting and analytics in every area code I needed. Very simple and straightforward

Cons

That I can't use it the same way I would other virtual phone providers. If I want an office phone system, I'd be better off with others. It does exactly what I want it to, but no more. I'd like one company to handle all company virtual phone needs. This one has proven to be the best value for tracking marketing campaigns though, it is less expensive than other providers for this function.

Mike
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/11/2018

Great Call Tracking Software

Great call and form submission tracking software. It has a lot of integrations and always adding new ones. Support is responsive to inquires, which is another plus.

Pros

It helps business owners figure out which advertising platform brings in the most business.

Cons

Although tracked by the software, form submissions cannot be used as conversions in Google Ads and Bing Ads. Yet. The software does get constant updates.

Rick
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/07/2019

Awesome call system!

For the most part things are going well so far.

Pros

It has an intuitive interface to click together your call system. Plus, it has tracking numbers which can be useful.

Cons

It really needs a way to reuse branches of the system. I'm not happy that I have to duplicate things just to make it work. (Ex. If no one answers, send it to voicemail. If they press a certain buttons, send the call to our answering service. The list goes on.)

I THINK that CallRail is the one that adds the ?v=[string] to the end of our URLs, and that's bad practice. It makes it so if someone tries to share the link, then they copy the tracking code with it, thus throwing off our results. That really needs to be set in a cookie. However, I can't remember if that was a problem with CallRail or not, though.

Spencer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/06/2017

We use this everyday, its a requirement for most clients.

Results....

Pros

As an agency that's built its client list around Search Advertising expertise, we long struggled with ways to coach our small to medium-sized clients on the importance of lead scoring. When we discovered CallRail, it was almost like someone had purposefully designed a tool to permanently end our struggles. With CallRail, all of the minutiae of call tracking and scoring is handled by an easy and intuitive system. The options are right there for scoring and playback is as simple a process as could have been created.

Seriously, the controls are large, pronounced, and impossible to misinterpret. That's good UX right there. Now, we have a system that allows our clients to exercise Quality Control and gives us the data we need to prove ROI to clients who have a hard time making the connection between lead generation and closing the deal. After all, as a Paid Search agency we can only deliver the leads, we can't close them. So, we recommend CallRail to every single client we have ' no matter what they sell.

Cons

Better support for agencies that manage accounts, better admin system for multiple users, having to use multiple browser can be frustrating.

imelda
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 18/01/2020

Call Tracking and Analytics for phone calls received from valuable leads

It solves Google Analytics, marketing solution and hit targets within the timeline

Pros

With Callrail, we can easily keep track which campaign, marketing, promotion, or keywords that works well with your clients because it gives analytics on how many phone calls or conversion made giving you an insight on which has a greater positive impact to your business . Callrail gives you report and overview on which marketing channel produces more money to your business. I can easily search or filter either through a phone lead's phone number, an agent's phone number which tracks the calls and texts i receive from a phone lead. We can easily focus on which marketing works well thus less effort, more effectiveness , better results.

Cons

The call feature is not that reliable to produce a good connection if you are having a long conversation with clients. You may need a separate softphone for a stable call connection. You can not really receive a call her real time. Most would be a voice mail but its clear.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 12/09/2022

Great Product, Easy to use!

CallRail has helped us gain valuable insight into our prospects that they did not tell us. We like knowing what web pages the prospect has gone to before/during the call. The ease of getting this information is very helpful.

Pros

The simplicity of this software is what makes it great. It is very easy to use with a clean look.

Cons

There isn't anything I don't like, however, there are some things I would like to know. Location/i.p. data is very helpful. Also pulling some data from the phone number registries would be helpful.

Alternatives Considered

WhatConverts

Reasons for Choosing CallRail

Their customer service wasn't great and there was no help when the tracking data seemed to be wrong.

Reasons for Switching to CallRail

Ease of use, pricing.
Krystal
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/03/2018

Great Call Tracking Software!

Pros

Easy setup, clear instructions, and easy to navigate. Dynamic insertion is a must! Easy to disable or permanently remove accounts that cancel service.

Cons

Charges per phone number. If there were different package levels, it would be more beneficial to smaller businesses. Also, have experienced call tracking disconnect with Google Analytics, which directly effects data. Support never really fixed the issue, so we had to disable the call tracking for that account.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/06/2022

Best call tracking software available

Overall I'd say this is the best call tracking software a marketing agency can use for their clients.

Pros

Callrail is easy to use, easy to integrate with reporting software and easy to track what calls come from what source. It's great for all of our clients and with the main dashboard allows easy use.

Cons

You have to contact customer support to set up more than one website pool but they do reply fast.

Elie
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 22/07/2019

they hold you captive

poor

Pros

tracking works okay
slow search
if you have a large account with lots of calls everything is slow

Cons

- if you are looking to change providers, getting access to your call recordings is pretty much impossible.
- they charge you for the ported numbers after they have been ported (if you don't follow there exact cryptic instructions)
- impossible to get anyone on customer service on the phone
- got attitude from reps.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2019

Great call tracking with keyword listening

Great experience overall. The platform is super simple. I have seen many other software copy them.

Pros

I love how helpful the keyword listening is in helping attributing the calls to their proper last touch channel.

Cons

Sometimes the dynamic inserted numbers fail and don’t collect the data that they would be for attribution.

Renee
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

1
Reviewed on 30/08/2019

Very Difficult to Deal with from Australia

Initial was ok but the time difference meant I could only communicate at 5am or earlier and their ticket support system would not provide the right links to questions I was asking. If you are in Australia I would recommend searching for a company within Australia that provides the same if not better services than CallRail.

Pros

The functions and ability of the system

Cons

The lack of assistance in completing tasks after the initial set up of the first project. Due to time difference dealt with via support tickets and wrong links were sent and if I need to talk to someone I could only talk at 5am or earlier to suit them.

Response from CallRail

Hi Renee, I'm sorry to hear that this has been your experience. We strive for the best customer service and I apologize you've experienced anything less than that. If you're open to it, I'd like to further investigate your experience to ensure your feedback is presented to the right teams and improve overall future experiences. If this is alright with you, please don't hesitate to reach out via email at [email protected] and we can go from there.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope we can chat soon.

-Yara

Replied 06/09/2019
stuart
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 03/07/2019

Call Rail

See above comments - to many to mention

Pros

I used this product for several months and didn't find the value.

Cons

Difficult to understand and gain value from.No training and difficult to instal and I might add take off your system. Their Tech support do not return calls and due to this I was unable to cancel my account on time by one day and they charged me a whole month because of this. After issuing a complaint they were not interested in refunding or even discussing. I would not recommend this company to companies that do not have a full suite of tech and web advisors onboard.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 06/04/2020

CallRail- a great way to funnel calls

CallRail is a great tool to use for recording and forwarding calls. There are a lot of options, but I've had good results thus far

Pros

It's actually a fairly easy setup. I use it to set up numbers from basically any area code and then have those numbers forwarded to my cell. It's easy and you can set it up to have whispers as well

Cons

Interface isn't my favorite. It's detailed, but it does take a bit to navigate across and find exactly what you need. If that gets cleaned up, then it will be the best option by far in call forwarding and recording.

Joseph
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/08/2021

A great tool for small businesses and agency use

We track calls and rate people who answer calls based on how well they do at converting leads. We are a marketing company so we are always checking call rail data to see what marketing methods are working well.

Pros

How easy it is to track key metrics at a glance.

Cons

That there is not an easy option for outbound calls.

Ryan
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/11/2016

Easy to use and quick insights.

I cannot express the usability of CallRail, from the dashboard to integration, it was all very easy to understand and quick to implement. The dashboard was well thought out and menu options were second nature, there was very little to no guesswork when figuring out the interface. The only drawback I could identify was the lack of integration with Google Adwords. They do integrate with Google Adwords but it is limited. The ability to push phone calls as conversions on a campaign level exists but any finer detail than that is just not possible with CallRail. Over all I would give CallRail an 8/10, my rating is based on a specific need which heavily impacted my scoring. I would recommend this product if you are looking for valuable call insights and an easy to use and understand platform.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

lack of adwords integration features.

Response from CallRail

Ryan:

Thanks for your honest review. We are in the process of developing a direct integration with Google Adwords that should be out in the near future.

Replied 21/11/2016
Verified Reviewer
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/01/2018

CallRail is awesome.

Pros

I use CallRail for the phone system on two companies. Call rail lets you choose to either have your menus read in a high-quality TTS engine so you don't need to record your messages, or you can upload recordings for your menus.

It allows for easy call recording, voicemail boxes, forwarding to phone numbers in sequence, or pretty much anything else you could need.

Cons

There are three features I wish CallRail had.

1. Ability to construct the path of menus such that each path can be reused. (Ex. If I send someone to sales, I need CallRail to play a message telling the caller they're being transferred. If no one answers, they get sent to a general voicemail box. The same path happens again for Support, and the same happens for people looking for work. I need to maintain that path in 3 places.)

2. I wish they allowed people to use their voice to ask for someone instead of having to push a button. (With idiots trying to use their phone while driving, that could cause an accident.)

3. I wish they'd allow key people in the company to have their own extension. That would really help out when a client calls to speak to one of our contractors and we need to transfer the call to that contractor.

Response from CallRail

Thank you so much for this valuable feedback! We'd actually love to speak to you more about some of the feature requests you mentioned. If you're willing to chat with someone on our team about your use cases for these, please send me an email at [email protected]. Hope to hear from you soon.

- Kate

Replied 31/01/2018
Katherine
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/04/2021

We love using CallRail

CallRail is awesome! We've been able to track our leads perfectly with this software.

Pros

CallRail is a great software and handles everything you need for tracking phone calls. It's helped our business very much.

Cons

There aren't many cons for this software. If we had to pick one, it would probably be learning the initial setup but that is very straightforward.

Larissa
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/04/2018

It has been wonderful to monitor calls coming in from our site.

It is great to know where our leads are being generated from!

Pros

Easy to set up! Also there is a nice clear recording when monitoring the calls that are coming in through our site. I like that it shows the date and number so we can easily track everything.

Cons

Things can get a bit tricky when you add a bunch of clients. It seems it is better suited for monitoring just a few.

162 reviews