User Reviews Overview

About Zendesk

Zendesk is a cloud-based help desk management solution offering customizable tools to build customer service portal, knowledge base and online communities. The solution offers a customizable front-end portal, live chat features...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4

Browse Zendesk Reviews

2,680 of 7,332,480 reviews
Sort by:
Nick Y.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2019

Zendesk - Robust Ticketing Software

We used Zendesk at 3 of my last 4 jobs. The last 2 at my suggestion. We handle a diverse amount of different customer issues and its a great system to manage and track all the different interactions our customers are having as well as the agents that are handling them.

Pros

The ticketing platform was much easier to use than our antiquated ticketing service we used. I like the different options and features that Zendesk has vs some of the other companies out there.

Cons

The interface is a little tricky if you have not used it before. So unless you have a diverse knowledge of ticketing software the hill can be a little hard to climb at first, but once you do its smooth sailing from there.

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk

Reasons for Choosing Zendesk

Konfigure was an older system that allowed for ticketing to be done, but it was not capable of handling the things we needed and the volume we were taking on.

Switched From

Freshdesk

Reasons for Switching to Zendesk

Cheaper and more options at the time of switching. Although Freshdesk was more used friendly at first, it didnt really meet our needs.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 21/08/2019

Easy Inter-team Communication and Customer History

I can't stress enough how easy Zendesk makes it to pass tickets back and forth between people and teams. My team gets a constant flow of tickets and we are able to keep them organized by time, urgency and topic. All customer emails and voicemails that are incoming to my department are received in Zendesk and it's very simple to either respond or make a note and pass along the ticket to the correct person. Zendesk contributes enormously to my company's efficiency and overall organization.

Pros

Zendesk allows my team (the accounts receivable team) to work seamlessly with the customer support team. On a daily basis, we pass tickets back and forth to accomplish both simple and more difficult tasks for our customers. The majority of our customer emails, voicemails and recorded calls are logged in Zendesk, so it's easy to search the history of any given customer to find out what they have contacted us about and who helped them. Zendesk makes it super simple to switch back and forth between emailing and making internal notes. A single ticket can contain customer-facing communication, a phone call recording and employee-only notes, all of which are vital to managing our customer accounts.

Cons

There are really only two things I don't like about Zendesk. First, I don't care for how it looks when two or more tickets are merged together. Instead of logging emails and notes from oldest to newest like a chain of events, Zendesk collapses one ticket into the other and you have to open both to see everything. It's just a little difficult to understand visually. Second, my company used to use a similar system called Help Scout and it was able to tell us when a customer had opened an email from us. Zendesk is not able to do that.

Neyda jose M.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/05/2019

Excellent customer service solution

This software has been really efficient since not only it allows to give a good attention to the client but also it is possible to do a follow-up to the attention agents to know who stands out the most, who are available to take care of the client and this makes that not wait for any client but all are served in the best way possible and you can solve their problems in the shortest time, there is also no way to have a collapse in the channels as there are different channels of attention that can be chosen to suit each client, that is why I think Zendesk is a tool with great potential and can be used in any type of company regardless of the size of it.

Pros

Zendesk is a customer service software with very relevant features that make me like it, one of them is that it has an extremely friendly interface, since it can be customized which allows it to be easy to use, allows the agent to have information about who the client is, in this way the help process becomes simpler and faster, the client can choose because they want to be served because this software provides different channels as an option being all in real time, besides it offers a highly efficient ticket management efficient since agents can create different notes on the same ticket and even several of them can serve the same client making the process much more efficient and the best thing is that through it you can track users as well as the tickets which is a great advantage since an order is maintained.

Cons

Despite being extremely efficient in terms of providing the most optimal tools to make the customer service process simpler and faster and adjusted to the needs of each client, this software still has some things that should improve as is the case of providing plans that can adjust more to each company since their plans has a fairly high price, also the creation of reports is very efficient but it is not easy to use so it can take more time than expected to complete the same

Top Zendesk Alternatives

Thamara P.
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 27/07/2018

Quick and easy implementation to my Support Center

Zendesk is an easy-to-use, dynamic, intuitive customer service tool that allows the use of macros to optimize messages to customers.
Zendesk is easy to implement and with adaptable prices. I have recommended this tool to several friends for their organizations

Pros

Zendesk is an excellent tool for the management of requirements or requests. It facilitates the management within my Support Center.
It allows to automate response to our customers. Also, customize the tool according to the type of company.
From this tool I manage to serve the internal and external clients of my organization. As well as, send satisfaction surveys once the support is finished.
Their specific user roles allowed me to implement the tool in the organization in a short time, even without investing much time in training because it has very good material for users on the web.
What I like most about Zendesk is to be able to automate the responses to clients and macros.
Zendesk has elements for case management, live chat, design a knowledge base, have a panel to the client. Since we included this tool in the company we have improved our response levels in the support tickets and with this to customer service.
I like the flexibility of purchase packages or use of the tool, through payment by users or agents. Also, although we have not configured it for now, it is interesting to integrate with VoIP to take the call from customers or interested parties.

Cons

Zendesk for being a tool for customer service would be interesting to link or customize good practice agreements at the service level and operational.
We as a client can add response times, and define with a category that is requirements or request and that are incidents.
Next, what features Zendesk would need:
* Add response time according to the type of requirements or request.
* Define type of requests and incidents
* Get graphs by type of incidents
* Get graphs with crossings between service agreements and operational agreements. This would allow us to measure the effectiveness of the support center based on agreements with customers
* Have notifications every time you are consuming the time of a ticket, considering the times of agreements at the service or operational level
* Have a video call

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 31/01/2018

Zendesk has been crucial for the success of our CS team to scale in size

Tremendous scaling benefits. Adding more users is not just easy, but we have recourse to ensure that our teams can grow at their own paces without worrying if the software can keep up. Zendesk can absolutely keep it; it does not even flinch.

Pros

Consistency: Very few service outages and very little change in UI and product structure. Both of these things create a more familiar and consistent workflow.

Robust: Robust is a buzz-phrase I try and avoid using, but honestly the robustness of Zendesk is one of the primary reasons we transitioned to it away from HelpScout in 2017. Everything is fairly robust; reports, ticket indexing, integrations, customizations, admin tools, inbox monitoring, and so on.

Connectedness: Zendesk makes it super easy to have specific teams stay connected with eachother; not just the support team. We can have folks all across our company set up in Zendesk to help with JIRA reports, historical sales information through Salesforce from our Salesforce admins, folks on research teams, EAMs, and so forth. We can all play in this giant Zendesk sandbox together in our own corners with ease.

Cons

Innovation: Zendesk seems to have done all of its innovation years ago as the product has achieved a plateau of functionality of features

Support: I very much dislike Zendesk's support set up. The amount of money you pay them seems to have a significant impact on your ability to get quick support help. Instead, they depend heavily on an open forum system where other Zendesk users try and help support eachother. Often these support threads turn into a bash-fest with poor attitudes.

Kristen P.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 02/05/2020

We've Strengthened Our Customer Support Thanks to Zendesk

We cannot imagine our support teams without Zendesk. Customer requests are quickly delegated between our front office, technical support teams, and marketing outreach teams—and an agent can easily look up message history to view past conversations with other agents. It helps our teams maintain the personalization that our clients need while quickly solving their questions or help requests. The best part? Our customers feel genuinely supported and heard.

Pros

Our technical and purchase support teams faced the challenge of increasing support requests as our company grew. No longer was it manageable or logical to respond to customers through a Gmail alias. With the overhead in delegation and our tricky queue needs, we found Zendesk to be the answer to our administrative woes. Not to mention our answer when it came to a tech support agent taking a well-deserved day off without worrying about their email coverage. With fluid delegation and available API integration, our support teams increased their response and decreased the average time to resolve tickets, all contributing to more satisfied customers and increased, company-wide collaboration.

Cons

The greatest challenge was forwarding a message into Zendesk while ensuring that the support personnel remembered to change the sender from the forwarded company address to the customer's address. After some investigating, our technical support team found Zendesk's developer portal to be of great value and integrated a macro that automatically changes the field. This challenge hasn't been an issue since. Zendesk is extremely customizable, and, for that, we love it.

Bonnie N.
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 29/10/2020

Great support software with strong knowledge base tools

From the demo, onboarding and implementation, the Zendesk team was great. Building out our knowledge base including written FAQs, videos, links all work exceptionally well.

Pros

The ease of setup and customization coupled with the functionality to build out our knowledge base from scratch were the determining factors in Zendesk selection. Posting and sharing updates to feature functionality is very easy

Cons

The interface reporting internally and to business/integration partners sometimes gets a little cumbersome for tracking of issues. We are looking into modifying our process to determine best practices.

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk and JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Switching to Zendesk

Price, support, and ease of use
Austin T.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 03/06/2021

Multi-Channel Helpdesk Solution

I use Zendesk as an in-house IT helpdesk. Instead of having employees line up at my door needing help, they know there's a resource (Zendesk) they can use to find answers that commonly come up during their work day. It's easy for them to communicate with me and my agents for other issues and for agents to seamlessly transfer tickets and have internal communication on issues.

Pros

I like how innovative Zendesk has been since I started using them for an internal IT helpdesk solution. When I first started using Zendesk many years ago, it was mostly a web-based helpdesk tool that was rather straightforward. Since then, they've added analytics, automation tools, macros for agents, and much more. I like the automation tools - where Zendesk allows agents to quickly respond to a customer based off of the topic at hand.

Cons

I don't think there's anything I specifically dislike about Zendesk - they're constantly improving in all areas. However, the breadth of services they offer can be overwhelming to newcomers. You might often wonder if a particular feature is included in your current plan, or to what extent you can use a particular feature.

Jesse M.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/05/2019

Steep Learning Curve, but Worth it

I think it provides incredible power for cross-team collaboration within an organization and makes client-facing communication a breeze. Some of the functionality can seem a bit clunky/ non-intuitive when learning the system, but with thorough training and time, these can be overcome.

Pros

There are a huge number of integrations and apps that can be added to the software making limitlessly customizable. My organization uses dozens of other programs and services that had available connectivity options with Zendesk prior to our adoption of it, and was a large part of our decision to move to Zendesk. it allows for direct and personal communication with clients while allowing other internal users throughout the organization to review, learn from and share tickets.

Cons

Learning was tough and there are a lot of small nuances that take getting used to and can be annoying at first, but once learned are hardly noticeable. Certain functions such as ticket type can be a bit confusing. For example, I am still not 100% sure what, if any, functional difference there is between "Question" and "Task". If there is some way to notify me when a task is due, I have yet to find it after using the software for nearly 2 years.

George M.
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/01/2019

Allows for a Customer Support team to grow exponentially

We have based our entire support process on Zendesk and have gotten excellent results. It allows for efficient tracking of the new tickets and their progress and integrates with Jira so that we can track any required development work.

We can also track how many tickets an agent has solved and the customers' satisfaction for each one, which is very useful for internal evaluation processes.

Pros

It allows for a very efficient customization of the ticketing process based on each team's segmentations, permissions, and processes.
The integrated How to articles functionality is very useful
Tagging, custom common replies, automation in terms of assignments are minor things that will improve your ability to scale your team efficiently
Reporting, especially combined with the GoodData integration, is excellent

Cons

For a ticketing / support platform, our support experience has not been great. We have been mainly dependent on the platform's forum
A minor gripe is being able to mention a specific collaborator in an internal ticket comment so that you can work together more efficiently

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/12/2018

Best in its Class for Good Reason

Pros

Zendesk has reached a point of product maturity and mass adoption that few competitors can match. Not only is the software highly refined for its purpose, but millions of customer service reps across the world are already familiar and well-versed with the features within. Some of the biggest companies in the world use Zendesk for millions of tickets and instances per year. As a customer, you've likely used Zendesk many times without even knowing it. Zendesk is a cornerstone for preventing customer churn/attrition, keeping customer sentiment positive, and addressing ongoing customer support needs. Given the reasonable licensing fees, I wouldn't use anything else.

Cons

Because it's so popular and common, it's not tailored for any specific industry or product type, so often the features are built in a broad, abstract, and malleable way. This requires you to perform a little tailoring and administration to make Zendesk work well for you.

Varun K.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 20/09/2018

Zendesk increases the productivity of our support team very much

Pros

This is a great customer service tool to effectively address customer concerns. Our company published annual feedback of the products we are using for last 4 years and Zendesk was in the first 10. Zendesk introduced the smart ticket changed the old method of answering to tickets by assigning to people manually based on the priority but Zendesk does prioritizing the tickets automatically. History of the supporting agents and the customers will be updated just every hour and the feedback details can be hidden from the support agent to stay confidential. Integration is possible to almost all the products we use at work.

Cons

They updates the graphical user interface without any notification and the users will not be given an option to stay in the old interface if they do not want the new one. The latest update made to the application was just making things little bit complicated. It takes a while to get used to this app for a beginner.

Romario M.
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/06/2020

Best professional live chat platform I've used

Overall, I can say Zendesk is a good Professional and intuitive platform that makes online Customer service experience easier and more seamless from the interface to the features and functions.

Pros

As an online Customer Service agent I loved using Zendesk, I was predominantly a live chat agent so of course, Zendesk chat was ideal for the needs of our customers. I particularly liked the saved reply feature, I could easily select a saved reply, personalize it, and then reply in a timely manner to customers. Additionally, the notification sounds were hilarious, when a new chat came in I'll be alerted in style, I also liked the fact that you could choose from several notification sounds. Zendesk chat kept me on top of my game aiding me to own my skills, even juggling between 5 chats at the same time ensuring that all customers get a timely response and as mentioned above the saved reply feature was a lifesaver.

Cons

I realized that Zendesk was a bit slow especially when a lot of persons within the organization were using it at the same time, I would experience lags from time to time even though I had a good internet connection and a powerful Intel i7 machine. I notice these lags are mostly when I'm using the live chat feature.

Nathan S.
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 25/10/2018

Zendesk - Great for Support Desk but Not so great with functionality

Pros

Having used Zendesk as an alternative to other options, here are my thoughts on it:

1) Zendesk is good at integrating multiple communication channels into one place. Unlike other options, using social media channels is included in the cost. With Zendesk the social media channels are included in the per user cost, so you are only paying for other features like Knowledgebase or Live Chat, or the bundled option.
2) Cost per user is fairly reasonable compared to other solutions we looked at. For us the cost per user was really important because while we may need fancy features, we wanted to make sure we did not end up spending more money for features or services we really didn't need.
3) Third party app support - We were able to choose and integrate with third party tools using the App directory. This helps to add functionality that may not be included in the core Zendesk product.

Cons

1) Not sure why but most companies have very poorly designed mobile apps, Zendesk's apps while ok are still not as good as using the web platform.
2) Using social media channels, you are not able to attach documents or media, you can only respond using tech. This would be ok if you do not need to share documents with potential clients but for sales people its not great since we get a lot of our business from social media channels.
3) Unread Support tickets -Not sure why this is a thing, but for some reason Zendesk will show every administrator/user support tickets as unread even if someone else is responding to a ticket already.

Melissa C.
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/03/2021

A Great Starter Costumer Service Platform

Overall, this was a great management platform. We discontinued because it did not have an upsell feature and wasn't very friendly to multiple users. I'd say it's perfect for a start up with with only one or two agents.

Pros

I enjoyed how easily the dashboard was to navigate and how streamlined the communications are to accept on the Live Chat.

Cons

It's confusing to update and add users. Too many places to go and too many different places to click!

Chris C.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/10/2021

Simple Use & Great Tracking

Pros

Zendesk has allowed our team to manage all communications externally and internally within a single software. With different users and teams setup, you control who sees what tickets and allows us to direct customer's queries to the correct person/team and provide a continuous trail so at any time, somebody can see the history behind a specific inquiry. Personally, I use it for complaint management, which allows me to see the interactions between Sales and the customer, any photos/attachments and provide an internal communication with Sales for any input or analysis.

Cons

Like any software, you have to pay per user, so if you multiple users who use Zendesk in any format, the cost is the same. However, once set-up, it has greatly benefitted us both in customer management but ensuring that nobody is forgotten.

Bj N.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/08/2018

Gets the job done. Gives a simple and easy interface for clients to use.

Zendesk gives us a way to manage multiple projects, and also an interface that's easy for clients to use!

Pros

Best feature is being able to add internal notes that are only visible to members in a specific group. I've used this to document findings or reasoning behind choosing a solution.

Also, the ability to have the clients email a help desk item, and have that email come in as a message helps keeps the conversation all in one location.

Their search functionality also works very well.

Cons

File size limitation (I believe it's 1MB at this time). We've been forced to hold screenshots elsewhere (e.g., Dropbox), then creating a link which we then paste into the help desk.

Finding macros is extremely difficult. I know that there is a way to view all help desks that you are cc'd on, as I have the URL saved, but I cannot find it anywhere in their control panels.

Sachin C.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/04/2018

Perfect Software for many cases

Pros

1) Gives the user (customer support guy) a complete outlook of and information about a support ticket created.
2) Can also track the ticket details as in, who it was assigned to, assigned date, assignee, where did the ticket origin from.
3) Support people are awesome too, have had no issues which they couldn't fix till date. But also didn't have many issues.
4) The chatting system is incredible. The huge bubble of active users, the details of the users which are chatting with you in realtime, multiple ways to reach them back if you cannot take the chat currently is pretty good too.
5) We haven't even started working on its API yet, from the looks of it, it seems really good and interesting.

Cons

1) Only thing that bothered me is that even with paid services you can add only few people as an agent (customer support guy). Had they had no limit on adding multiple agents or maybe a little generous limit then this would have been the best software for me.

Jean-philippe B.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/07/2019

The all in one platform for support teams

Pros

-easy to create documentation and manage documentation

-we can easily automate stuff with triggers and automations
-fully customizable forms, labels, tags, etc.
-macros are time savers

Cons

-reporting would need some love
-search engine in documentation is not perfect
-would love to be able to send the same email to multiple people using CSV or else

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/11/2018

Zendesk Ticket Management

Customer service with Zendesk was greay., Anytime we had troubleshoot issues they were solved quickly. As a company we use Zendesk daily as it is our primary means of daily operation management.

Pros

Loved what this program allowed our team Todo. When managing 800+ new tickets daily, Zendesk offered it all.

Beat Features, we're easily being able to assign and move tickets around as each task was completed. Next best features we're the reports and relationship management tools the program offered for our opperations Manager.

Cons

Ease of use. Training new analysts and the business development reps was timely. Partly this is because you can do so much, so depending on the individuals roll and function we taught was just necessary.

Also loved that it integrated with Gmail so well.

Erin C.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/03/2021

Pretty Good CSR Tool

I use Zendesk when I seasonally work as a CSR for an online company during their periodic launches. I don't have to re-learn it each time, which is nice. I like the ease of finding past tickets. Not a fan of the chat feature.

Pros

I like the organization of tickets. It's pretty easy to find a specific one using different criteria. The email reply system is quite good and I like that we can write, store, and use pre-written responses for common questions and concerns.

Cons

I do not care much for the Chat function. I felt that it was easy to make mistakes and it was super difficult to find and post pre-written responses for common questions and concerns. When you're on chat with a customer, they want really rapid replies and some of the functionality was just not good enough to supply quick responses. I found myself going back to the Zendesk emails to find pre-written responses for common questions and concerns, copying them from there, and going back to chat to post it into a reply. This was faster than trying to do it all from within chat.

John paolo D.
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 13/08/2020

very simple ticketing solution

I'm a satisfied user of Zendesk but I feel a lot of features are still missing and over time, I am not seeing any improvement with the platform. Our company may consider getting out of Zendesk in the next few years as Zendesk doesn't fit the analytics we need as our company grows.

Pros

Zendesk is very simple to use and set up. Also it can easily be integrated to a lot of platform. What I like the most is the ability to integrate with Slack.

Cons

No features getting added as time goes by. No improvement. Very difficult to create reports that requires multiple data. No knowledge base available online to refer onto when creating reports. No ability to create ticket dashboard only ticket views which is very poor.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

1
Reviewed on 25/09/2018

A mediocre product that doesn't get better as it grows

Pros

I struggle to find good things to say. It works and rarely has performance problems. If you need very basic support ticketing and are just starting out, you could use it and be successful. We did. But the functionality and support for those organizations between startup and large corporation is nil. If we were a very large organization, I could see it being a valuable product.

Cons

1. It is incredibly difficult to keep track of business users. When you are a SaaS supporting clients who have end-users, organizing tickets and documenting issues is very important to find patterns. This is not possible in Zendesk, at least at the Team feature level. There is not a central location for information for an organization outside of a Notes box that is basically a tiny sidebar textbox that allows no formatting to make notes over time readable.

2. There is no way to reference individual comments in a ticket because individual comments do not have their own IDs. This makes it very cumbersome to keep succinct notes and refers back to my first point. The only way we can review a client's history is through wading through a bunch of tickets with an endless stream of comments. I can't get a good timeline overview of their experience and issues, which is so essential to good issue triage.

3. Lack of features for those at the less pricey levels is pretty bad. There's no way to make our contact forms more customizable (like having a message to the person on the ticket - there is only limited description area and those are question/field based) and we don't have access to conditional logic on the forms. So we are left with clients just throwing issues at us without getting good information from them to get a one-touch resolution. The way Zendesk works it forces us to give lower-quality support.

4. There's no exporting your ticket information or running any sort of report if you are using the Team or lower feature level. These, to me, should be basic features as they pertain to the most basic of needs for any support team. Not only that, it ties you to the product and punishes you for leaving. We can't move to another product because we can't take our ticket history with us.

5. The features and performance is inconsistent. For example, there are "Triggers" and "Automations". Triggers and automations are the same. The only difference is the automations are time-based. But they don't tell you that in the interface - there's nothing telling you what is required to set up the automation in order for it to pass validation, only an error message. And by following the instructions of the error message, you can still get more errors. But there's nothing there to tell you the overall requirements so you can avoid errors in the first place. And in the Triggers interface, they leave out a large amount of placeholder options for seemingly no reason, so you have to go find the placeholder references for yourself.

In my opinion, Zendesk doesn't have the user in mind. They put out new features and integrations, but the core product is so severely lacking that it seems like they feel they are operating on auto-pilot and their product needs no update itself. It's a shame, because it was probably was a good product with a lot of potential back when it first started up.

Mike S.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 24/05/2021

Zendesk for calling only can be difficult

It did the job we needed it to do until we found a better option.

Pros

At first I didn't have so many issues with the software because I thought that's the best we can do, I've been using Zendesk for other features at other jobs and they have a long standing good name. But when I discovered the cost we were paying and the service (or lack thereof) we were getting, I found another option that works much better for us. Zendesk does a decent job at calling, but we often had issues and lost service and when we asked it was always a Twillio issue. Talkdesk also uses Twillio, they all do, and in a year using Talkdesk we haven't had a single outage.

I think Zendesk has it's strength in the market, their ticket system and customer helpdesk software is outstanding, just not sure the calling feature is their biggest strength.

Cons

It was glitchy, had issues connecting, staff has trouble using it, but mainly it was VERY expensive!

Kandice E.
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/01/2020

Zendesk in depth

Pros

Zendesk has a lot of customization features with the ability to set SO many triggers to send your customers emails and follow ups. It is truly the best part about Zendesk if you are in need of following up after a customer has reached out for support.

Cons

It seemed like the page itself was clunky and maybe a bit slow. It seemed to "go down" often and we would be unable to access the support app as well as chat since they were both connected.

2,680 reviews