User Reviews Overview

About Flock

Flock is a cloud-based human resource management solution that lets businesses of all sizes streamline the entire onboarding lifecycle, from scheduling candidate interviews to performing background checks. Key features include...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.7
Features
4.8
Ease of Use
4.9
Customer Support
4.8

Browse Flock Reviews

59 of 59 reviews
Sort by:
Sam
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 19/04/2018

If you want 75% of BambooHR

Pros

If you are a small company and just want to electronically keep the HR Data on a cloud platform, this could work.

Cons

However, you will soon grow out of this system. It doesn't meet all your immediate HR needs. For example...you cannot upload your own documents/templates to use for onboarding...you'll have to copy and paste the content unto their template...limited customization on leave of absences...lack of payroll function and limited customization on uploading documents.

George
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/04/2018

We are using Flock to reduce our previously intensive paperwork for HR and Benefits! We LOVE...

Pros

I love the customer support. Even though the platform is so intuitive and easy to use, there is always an active follow-up from the customer service team to make sure everything is going great.

Cons

There is nothing as such I dislike about Flock.The customer is always the problem with HRIS companies as I have seen, but till now I haven't faced anything in flock, though extremely helpful customer service.

Christopher
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/05/2019

Flock just keeps getting better with each iteration.

Very, very good. Completely transformed our benefits administration!

Pros

Overall the customization and adaptability of the platform are my favorite aspects. Often products like this are over-thought and try to do too much without giving consideration to industries that don't fit the norms. For our company we can keep it simple as we build our systems while gently coaxing an old-school manufacturing firm into the 21st century.

Cons

Not much to dislike. Mostly minor items that aren't real hurdles.
1, wish employee tasks could have an expiration or time-out feature. Admin view of employee tasks is clunky with all the employees who ignore their tasks.
2, would be nice if login had a longer window before logging me out.

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR

Switched From

BambooHR

Reasons for Switching to Flock

Pricing and design.

Top Flock Alternatives

Julie
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/03/2021

So Convenient!

It really makes my HR tasks easier and more efficient. I can't imagine not having it. I also get a lot of comments from new hires about how easy it was for them to complete tasks before the first day.

Pros

I love how easy it is to make an offer to an applicant, fill out the W4 and I9 and do other onboarding tasks, enroll in benefits, and track PTO. Makes my job so much easier and reduces paperwork.

Cons

There always seems to be a glitch or hiccup when we enroll in dental/vision benefits. Partly, it's due to having just one application for both, but the system places the check mark in the wrong box often.

Irfanudeen
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 27/08/2022

Connect with your workforce anywhere anytime

I really love to connect with versatile people in my company through flock, sending birthday wishes to the unknown friends, making new team-mates, connecting with various department in the company.

Pros

Flock is one of the application which I use most in my routine for sharing the information with my workforce. Every employee in my institute connect easily without wasting time is looking for correct mail id or contact number. We can update our contact number in the flock which allow our employees to reach us in the needy time. Flock is available in mobile application, website, and windows application.

Cons

So far I never felt anything as a drawback of flock, I only reaping the benefits from Flock. I can easily connect with my HR and clear my queries immediately through flock.

Christy
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/10/2019

Simple, Clean, Efficient

Flock has allowed me to be more efficient in my position, freeing up my time to work on more employee centered projects and allowing employee's to have a better understanding of the elections they make during enrollment.

Pros

I finally no longer need to use 4 different portals when setting up a new employee with benefits. I use just Flock and it sends all of the information needed to my carriers. With a growing business, I needed to be efficient when it comes to data entry and flock has done that for me. The design is very simple to follow and prompts you to the next page, so nothing is missed. Need to add something or upload information, contacting the Customer Support staff for help integrating new features is easy, and they are great to work with.

Cons

There isn't anything that i do not like about this software. Currently there are a few features i haven't fully learned yet, but having played with them a few times, it seems simple to use and follow.

Kyrsten
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/05/2019

Powerful & Adaptable HRIS

This has helped immensely with streamlining our Open Enrollment process, employee communication, and really Benefit Administration as a whole. The reporting features have been of huge value with the required State and Federal fillings for EEOC, Benefits Census, Self Billing, etc.

With 5 locations across 3 states, this platform has made Benefit Administration much less time consuming and empowered our employees to understand and set up their benefits.

Pros

Hands down a leader in customer service. I have never worked with such a responsive team before and it is a needed breath of fresh air. If for any reason you have a need for something not already set up in the system the team works diligently to build what is needed - and quickly.

Cons

The only possible speed bump we hit on occasion is that our less tech savvy employees have a tough time getting used to FLOCK at first - change is difficult after all.

William
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/10/2020

Great Product, Highly Recommend

Overall I am extremely happy with Flock. The price and customer service will make me recommend this product 10/10. The limitations are an inconvenience but there is usually a work around so it wouldn't ruin my experience.

Pros

This software is very simple to learn and implement. If there are any question I may have, Flock has an excellent service team to help me the very same day, usually within a couple of hours. The price is another huge selling point. A lot can be managed from this platform at such an excellent price.

Cons

My least liked feature is the software's limitations. The system is so user friendly and less expensive because of those limitation. I know they are current updating as they can but features such as editing a W2 rather than deleting and resubmitting would be helpful for the client.

Allen
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/12/2018

Flock a great choice for an HRIS/Benefits portal

Flock allows onboarding to start quickly, reducing the administrative burden associated with processing new hires. Consolidating and pushing employee data management to the employee further improves the efficiency associated with employee data management.

Pros

Flock offers instant onboarding enabling our organization to initiate onboarding with minimal candidate information by deferring data collection until a new hire is invited when they enter their information. The efficiency gains are tremendous.

Cons

There isn't a lot I dislike. Flock does a good job of continuing to make improvements so most issues are fairly minor.

Monica
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/12/2020

Stellar Benefits Admin Platform for Small Group

My overall experience with the Flock platform has been EXCEPTIONALLY WONDERFUL AND USER-FRIENDLY AND RELIABLE!

Pros

This platform is really user-friendly for the Administator and the end user. The Technical Support is STELLAR and priceless when it comes to client services and support.

Cons

I would like a little more flexibility with the reporting feature.

Rick
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/03/2019

Cleaner, leaner alternative to Slack

After moving over to Flock, no one on my teams misses Slack. We feel quite at home and are getting good work done.

Pros

I like the integrated Chrome extension as an alternative to the web version of Flock: it's faster and provides desktop notifications that actually work.

My team has appreciated the move from Slack to Flock. It's faster, the UI is cleaner and easy to understand. All the essential integrations are there under the + button and a lot of the unnecessary buttons and links that distracting in Slack are gone in Flock.

I really like the image annotation tool. I don't have to install a separate Chrome extension to annotate screenshots.

The name is cute.

Cons

OK, I'm thinking... The Chrome extension does hog RAM and CPU cycles.

Hae Rim
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 22/08/2018

Not quite there yet~

Pros

I have a local client who've integrated FLOCK as their HRIS last year. They were with ADP Workforcenow but have decided to move out (long story...) of ADP due to many issues that they have encountered. Fortunately for my client, the cost of FLOCK was paid by one of their partner - so it's a free software for them.

In a nutshell, FLOCK is not quite there yet - and I am comparing this to BambooHR and Gusto. It doesn't have built in payroll and doesn't have a standard ATS. It is still trying to figure out e-Signature functionality but it's still very limited. Other than that, it does basic storage of personnel information, upload files, track time-offs, and enroll in medical benefits. It's free so my client can't complain but from someone who've used other leading HRIS, FLOCK isn't quite there yet.

Cons

Needs to improve its e-signature functionality and the ability to take any PDF/Word file and able to use it as e-Signature document. No payroll, ATS, performance management, etc.

James
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/02/2020

Easy IM

We use Flock at work every day. It’s easy to use, easy to set up, and honestly, fun to use. We never miss a thing, you can set calendars together, share files and many more things

Pros

This software is easy to set up, works great, and helps me connect with my peers at work

Cons

They have an update about once a week. Which I guess is good because they’re keeping their software up-to-date, but also a little annoying to have to update the software very often

Barbara
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/03/2021

You'll Love Flock!

We went from a manual paperwork process to having Flock as our HRIS. Overall the experience was easy from set up to daily use.

Pros

Flock is easy to use, for myself and my employees.

Cons

I can't think of any cons of using Flock. The system works great for us.

Donna
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/06/2019

Flock is a great tool to assist any HR office.

As a one man HR Department it saves me time, helps keep compliance and provides custom reporting I need.

Pros

Ease of implementation, on boarding and benefits enrollment are all time consumers and with Flock it saves manhours.

Cons

Would like more integration with other vendors.

Maura
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/01/2020

The best HR management tool

I have found Flock to be the best tool for employee time off and company wide calendar viewing.

Pros

It's easy for all employees to access to view their benefits/time off

Cons

The calendar has limited space to view time off

Randy
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/06/2019

Beneefits Administration

Flock works very good for a Company that wants to offer online benefits enrollment for their employees.

Pros

Flock is very easy to work with and set up for online benefits enrollment and administration.

Cons

Unfortunately, the system doesn't integrate with Payroll software, so their is an extra step in the payroll deductions for benefits.

Mahara
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 31/08/2022

Great application for frequent follow-ups

Pros

Portal is very easy to use for a bingers also.
Can track every thing in a single window.

Cons

If you dint follow the task regularly , its hard to re- create in again. Since higher management need to approve for it.

Chris
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/08/2020

Great tool for our company

It keeps up with our accrual of PTO very well and keeps things easy to track.

Pros

The ability to see our employee documents in one place is great, and the ability to see important dates within the portal and when people are taking vacation is very useful. We have the ability to add calendars to Outlook that sync with this information.

Cons

Sometimes the calendar sync breaks (but I'm leaning towards it being an Outlook issue).

Melissa
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/07/2019

Very Easy to Use

Support is really quick and helpful. We had an issue where it was breaking down premiums bi-weekly instead of semi-monthly and they helped us get it fixed literally within hours.

Pros

I really like the easy of use of the system. Getting employees setup to elect benefits is really simple and I get an email with all their elections once done. I also like that it breaks down employer costs versus employee costs so that employees can play around with adding dependents etc.

Cons

I haven't come across anything that I dislike about the system as of yet.

Melanie
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/06/2019

HR/Accountin Use

We are solving the issue of HR management and document retention. Once I have time, I will integrate it with ADP our payroll software to make that process seemless.

Pros

I like that it has all the information for employees and we get notified if employees make changes

Cons

Nothing honestly. I have not incurred any issues.

Gina
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/10/2019

Love this product!

Pros

Makes Benefit Administration for new hires, employees and open enrollment run so much smoothly. Love not having employees have to fill out enrollment paper forms.

Cons

I would like to see more custom reports that I can create

Mohammed
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/02/2021

Flock is the way

Really good and hope it gets better every year.

Pros

I like how the UI makes it easy to navigate and use.

Cons

I do however think they should send out more emails on new updates.

Amber
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2019

Old

Pros

Flock was like a group chat where you could actually tell who was speaking.

Cons

I didn’t like that sometimes notifications didn’t come through and that people could be added and deleted at any given time.

Keith
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/09/2020

Easy to Use and Great User Interface

Great experience. Very easy to use and great user interface for the end user.

Pros

Flock is very simple and easy to use. My company uses Flock for management employee benefits and I login to it once a year and can easily navigate without additional instructions.

Cons

No cons - great product. The user interface is very user friendly and easy to navigate.

59 reviews