Kiddom Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Kiddom

Kiddom is an education platform that connects curriculum, instruction, and assessment in one place with integrated tools for communication. With Kiddom, schools and districts stay prepared for teaching and learning in any...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.5
Features
3.3
Ease of Use
3.3
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Kiddom Reviews

128 of 128 reviews
Sort by:
Nicole
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/06/2018

Free planner and gradebook that helps me track standards easily

It makes my whole workflow as it should be: in one place. If only it can grade essays! ;) It has made tracking student progress really easy. I can understand how students are doing on individual standards in real time and it has been a good way to go back to student evidence.

Pros

I used Google really briefly because I wanted my middle school students to be able to view assignments online, but I didn't like it. I'm loving Kiddom because I can plan directly in the web app, drag the assignment to assign, and share it with students. So much better for my workflow and the design is intuitive.

1. STANDARDS /GRADEBOOK: You can attach and TRACK standards right there in the app: it automatically generates reports, which students can see too. Saves me time generating progress reports.

2. PLANNER: I can plan and assign in one view: plan on the left and then drag it into "Timeline" to assign it.

3. DIFFERENTIATION: I can make a personalized list of assignments for a student; assign them something from the library as an extension or remediation, or flip the classroom by giving them a video as a lesson.

4. COLLABORATION: You can share the assignments with other teachers to keep on the same page and collaborate on modifying some assignments.

Kiddom is really simple and intuitive for students to use on a laptop or app, too. Their support is really responsive and super helpful. I only got started this year, but already looking forward to using it next year, too!

Cons

If anything, I would love to have a discussion tool and quiz maker that can put the grade directly into my grade book.

Laura
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 20/11/2020

Elementary ESL use

We're all learning during this school year, so I want to extend some grace and flexibility to the team at Kiddom. However, training to use the software was minimal to nonexistent and the software was not very intuitive. I think Kiddom would benefit from adding educational experts to their team as well as data security experts.

Pros

User interface functions on all browsers and all devices. Ability to embed video.

Cons

- Unable or very difficult to share activities or units with other teachers in my building
- Creating an activity that asks students to record themselves, they are unable to see/read the prompt as they make the recording because the recording function blocks view of the window.
- Unable to schedule assignments to push out to students on certain days of the week - all assignments can be completed as soon as they are loaded, even if students are not ready for them or have not completed other assignments.
- Unable to copy/paste activities from one curriculum to another
- Unable for students to physically / visually manipulate activities within kiddom (for example, drag and drop features available to students on google slides via google classroom)
- Submitting a photo of work is listed as an "open ended" response and can be problematic for students
- Adding students must be done from student end and cannot be done from teacher end
- All assignments look identical on timeline, no thumbnail options for pre-literate students
- Chat box is very annoying always blocking access to curriculum that I want to add to timeline
- Classroom page is visible on web browser but not on app

Madison
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 20/11/2020

From a Biology teacher: good in a pinch but room for improvement

Overall, Kiddom has proved to be a very useful resource during this challenging year. I think there could be a few simple fixes that would make a WORLD of difference for teacher-usefulness.

Pros

I think the basic idea of Kiddom is great! It has definitely been useful this year as a relatively simple way to relay lessons and assignments to students. As a type-A personality teacher, the organization of Kiddom is fantastic (classes, units, then lesson plans). That part of Kiddom was obviously well-thought out with teacher-friendliness in mind.

Cons

Limitations to certain features frustrate me and cost me precious time. 1st) If I need to edit an assignment I have already assigned to my classes, I have to edit it, then delete it from every individual class (that is especially frustrating), then re-assign it to every individual class. Maybe I have misunderstood how to assign lessons to my kids, but it seems like there should be something more time-effective than editing, deleting, then re-assigning to every individual period. 2nd) There should be a more teacher-friendly way for students to submit assignments. I tried making a submit button for their assignments, but found it to be, again, not a time-effective process so I eventually got frustrated and gave up. My distance learners use Microsoft Teams to turn in my assignments (which is also a lot of clicks but it was more teacher-friendly than Kiddom, so I rolled with it). 3rd) There needs to be a way to assign lessons to every section of my class with only one click. I get frustrated with dragging an assignment over to every single class when the assignment is the same for each class. Microsoft Teams lets you create one assignment then choose which classes you'd like to assign it to. 4th) I would really appreciate being able to share lessons that I've created on Kiddom with the other teachers in my department and them be able to push these lessons directly out to their students (without having to copy/paste my lessons into their curriculum or create questions I made).

Top Kiddom Alternatives

Stephanie
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/11/2020

Great ideas, potential and customer service but has lots of growth left to do

This service has great potential to grow. I like their ideas and goals for standards based tracking and differentiation but the execution often comes with many glitches and overall annoying to use and confusing for students at times. The upside is their incredible customer service.

Pros

AMAZING Customer service which makes up for its glitches. I get responses within a couple hours. When my gradebook was glitching out before my report cards were due, Ekta literally worked around the clock to make one for me manually.

Cons

- Glitches when posting
- glitched on all my report cards
-inconsistent notifications of messages from students so it is unreliable as a messaging service
- i would like an option for teachers giving feedback on written responses to comment or highlight like it was a Google Doc
- I would like an option to print out student work along with my feedback on the same document for hybrid learners

Gerald
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 30/11/2020

Works well and getting better

It was a bit of a challenge at first. It was a brand new system to our district and a brand new thing for us to use generally. There was a brief amount of training which led to a lot of complaints but that was not the fault of the developers. Overall it's been a good experience once I was able to navigate and get things done with the program. The team at Kiddom has seemed to be very receptive to the users and helping with any issues.

Pros

Once you get the hang of navigating and inputting information, use of the program is pretty straightforward. As with anything new there is a bit of a learning curve but nothing insurmountable. Being able to organize classes has been both the biggest obstacle and the most convenient feature...there was no way to do it at first but now it is easily done. There are continuous upgrades happening behind the scenes that make the program more user friendly. There is no problem adding links, videos, or files. Getting notifications about student work are very convenient. Being able to communicate with any of the tech help is great and they are very good about answering questions and addressing concerns.

Cons

While there are upgrades happening sometimes they take a little while to reach the users. But it does seem like they are listening to suggestions and possible problems and being proactive about addressing them.

Stephanie
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

2
Reviewed on 25/11/2020

Too many clicks- not user friendly

There have been some issues with students submitting work but teachers can’t see it on their end. It takes some time to put assignments in bc there are a lot of clicking that must happen.

Pros

I like that submission of assignments is fairly easy. I do appreciate that the customer service takes feedback and implements ideas rather quickly.

Cons

Too many clicks. It can be a little easier if teachers were able to assign something to multiple classes at once rather than separately.

Joseph
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 30/11/2020

A teacher's input

It has not been a good experience, especially at the beginning of the school year. I have grown accustomed to its quirks and have begun to make it work.

Pros

I appreciate that KIDDOM imports my class rosters on a regular basis. I also appreciate that it provides an 'announcement' page for all of my students to see. I'm glad they changed the format for seeing assignments in 'newest first' as opposed to the other way.

Cons

1. I did not like the fact that they offered a 'multi-select' feature for assessments and then it didn't work at all (I believe that has changed in the past month).
2. The number of clicks it takes to add an assignment is TOO MUCH. Steps: I open the class. I click 'timeline'. I click 'add assessment'. I click 'activity' or 'assessment'. Finally, after I've created the assignment, I must open each class of mine individually to assign the same assessment (although I teach 5 periods of the same section).
3. When trying to see assignments, or add assignments, there are too many panels and it makes the working panel too small, especially when I'm trying to display this to my students.
4. When trying to reply to a message, the 'chat' bubble is in front of the 'send' icon. It takes some precise point/click movements to send the message.
5. The 'chat' bubble is ALWAYS on top and I don't use it that much to take up screen space.

Jeremy
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 30/11/2020

Kiddom Review from Science Teacher

Once, the process of getting it all set up was done, it kept me organized.

Pros

Once, it was all set up, it was easy to assign the work each week.

Cons

It was hard to learn how to set it up. Lots of trial and error. You couldn't delete certain material once you created it. Students had issues uploading and attaching assignments. For a long time, you couldn't respond to students from the email notifications you got when they asked questions. Creating multiple choice test is a long process and their is no way to created a template.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Teams

Reasons for Choosing Kiddom

It was mandatory from administration.

Switched From

Google Classroom

Reasons for Switching to Kiddom

Administration wanted us to try it.
ANTHONY
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/06/2018

Pleasant and usable

We were looking for a good way to get students and classes grouped for Flipped Learning and this was a great solution that worked well across two schools. Overall, I'm very happy.

Pros

It's cross-platform availability, the fact that students can install it on their smartphones; especially now it's available on either iOS or Android as well as desktop. The ease of creating a class and how students can add themselves without a big fuss.

Cons

I cannot duplicate planned curriculums across classes, I have to add it all again manually which is a massive pain when I work across two different schools but am teaching more or less the same level and curriculum.

Barry
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/11/2020

Kiddom 101

We have had a great experience with Kiddom and hope to use it again next year if we are still required to teach distance learners as well as in person learners. Kiddom is a great tool that we are learning more about and adapting to each week.

Pros

We were asked to use Kiddom this year for our distance learners and once we figured out the ease of the software, we really enjoy it. After we understood that it was folders within folder within folders, we were able to organize our material into chapters, then section within the chapters and then assignments within the sections in the chapters. It is easy to create assignments, assign them to the students, keep track of the assignments and keep up with grades. The students have been able to complete the work, turn it in and make up work.

Cons

We have only had one time when Kiddom did not work properly. During a two day period, Kiddom did not grade the assignments or only graded part of the assignments. Some teachers have said that students turned in their work and it did not get submitted to the teacher but we have not had this problem in Physical Science.

Kelly
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 01/12/2020

Kiddom in Education

In general, Kiddom has not been the best experience. I find it rather a nuisance more than anything because it requires so many steps to get to what you want and to make it do what you want it to do. I think there should be a much more streamlined version of this program with input from teachers on how this should work.

Pros

The ease of just dropping a file into a classroom.

Cons

I think the most frustrating part of this software is the set up of each class, activities, etc. I don't feel that this software in general is very user-friendly and it takes a very long time to go through EACH CLASS to drop in the lesson plan for that day. There should be an option to click on various classes and do ONE drop of a lesson plan/file/activity, etc.

Amee
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/12/2020

A company that will grow!

My overall experience has been positive. Our training was a little rocky because we had some glitches and the start was not entirely Kiddos fault because I don't think our district was prepared for the amount of virtual learners we would have. That being said the customer support team/chat is amazing. They will respond fairly quickly with how-to information and they were listening to their customers for feedback and making changes. That is why I titled this review a company that will grow- because they listen to the teachers, make adjustments and have quality staff. Keep it up Kiddom, you are on to something!

Pros

The software once familiar is a lot of clicking and dragging so anyone can do it. Not only that, I taught myself and watched tutorials how to create assignments. For this, I am pleased with how quick I was able to pick it up.

Cons

Not being able to have one spot to get all of the coursework turned in. I had to click on each student and download. Also, not sure if there is a more informative way or easier way to get clear images. Many parents did not download the app and that makes it so much easier.

Ashley
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/12/2020

Hybrid Learning Resource

Overall my experience has been good. We had to learn how to operate the system in a very short period of time and it has become easier and easier each day.

Pros

I really like how the classes are easily laid out and accessible for my younger students to find. I also really like how many different types of activities and questions can be created within each unit. The updates have made the program much more user friendly and I appreciate the constant improvements being made.

Cons

One of the cons I have noticed about using Kiddom is that you are not able to move around assignments and activities once they are created. I spent 30 minutes making an assignment and then realized I had made it under the wrong class and I could not share it with my team. Another con is the lagging that seems to happen within the app. I will create a question or a text box and when I click out of the box, all of the words disappear and I have to redo the entire thing.

Jeff
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 20/11/2020

I like this program for the most part. It takes some getting used to.

I don't mind using it at this point. There are things that can be made better. If certain things were changed it would probably be a pretty good platform.

Pros

It is fairly easy to create units and lessons and then make them available to students.

Cons

When students turn in late work, I am not aware that they have turned anything in. I have to go back and check student by student from the screen to my gradebook in order to find students who submitted after I initially graded the assignment. It takes a lot more time than I have. I also cannot see the date that they turned it in. This is my biggest complaint. Late work should go to a certain place or it needs to have a submission date.
Also, we should be able to fine tune how we are seeing and storing our assignments and units. They tweaked it a month ago and that seemed to make it a little better but I would like to be in control of that.

Veronica
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 02/12/2020

Kiddom’s Perks and Flaws

I believe Kiddom is an easy software to get comfortable with fast. I had no problem or issue on how to access my classes and post assignments with instruction for my students.

Pros

What I like most about this software is that it allows our school to teach and connect with students who need an easy platform to follow without in person instruction. Kiddom allows you to post assignments, tests, write important announcement’s that will send directly to a students phone if they have their notifications on (I was told by a distance learner, this was there favorite thing about kiddom).

Cons

The least thing I like about Kiddom is accessing students who submit work through the notification button, and how it doesn’t have a gradebook or anywhere that says if a student hasn’t turned in an assignment.

Brittany
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 04/12/2020

Kiddom Review

Pros

I like that students have a timeline to easy access their assignments for the week.

I love the new added feature where students can type a comment to me in the assignment.

Cons

I have constant issues with creating assignments. I will start typing a question and when I click off of it, it disappears so I have to retype it. This happens EVERY SINGLE TIME I am creating an assignment.

I wish there was an easier way to fix a problem with an assignment without deleting it off of the students' timelines, re-edit it, and redrag the assignment over.

I wish that instead of putting a notification in the "bell," it would give a pop up if students need to look at my comments.

I wish there was a way that students could see their wrong answers and then correct them and resubmit.

Natasha
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/11/2020

Kiddom in the Age of Covid

Overall, my experience has been decent. It hasn't been the best, but there was huge learning curve at the start. However, I do not feel like we were given proper or enough training by our admin before we were to start using it.

However, customer service and tech-support have been wonderful!!! They are extremely helpful in troubleshooting whatever issue I was having.

Pros

I like the ease of having one place to put all announcements and assignments for my students. It is easy to upload attachments, or videos, or anything that I need to.

Cons

At first, it was extremely hard to figure out where exactly the submitted work was. I also do not like that you can't reply back to a message directly.

Lisa
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 20/11/2020

Science Teacher review

We did not have a lot of training before we started using this platform. I feel like the platform was not ready for what we required. I feel like they are trying to update it and make it better, but it is frustrating as it changes after we have adjusted to it.

Pros

The system allows pictures to be added easily.

Cons

It is confusing to add content to lessons. It takes a lot of time to add content. It does not allow the students to edit a word document. It does not allow the students to take a picture of their work and easily add it to turn in. It continues to make changes without letting us know. It often deletes student work or answers we enter. It is picky about how to add posts and other items. It does not always save it unless you hit enter or something like that.

Sarah
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 24/11/2020

Kiddom- solid start but cumbersome

It’s certainly a start for a blended learning package but it needs to work out some kinks in order to be on par with its collegial rivals such as D2L or blackboard.

Pros

I like the ability to create units and curriculum for each of my classes. This feature allows for multiple lessons and activities to be created and organized for teacher deployment to student.

Cons

It is really difficulty to navigate the notifications. Sometimes I have students submit work late and the only way for me to dig out who submitted what and when is either go back to the original assignment or sift through the notifications. This is so time consuming that I have resorted to students emailing me completed work rather than uploading to kiddom.

Timothy
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/11/2020

View from a teacher

Pros

The best features are the ability to embed and the online support. Embed options for video and Nearpods are a great tool. The online chat has always been responsive and will email you back every time. The support has been fantastic.

Cons

The worst feature is how you can't control the order of your activity. For example, "Text" is grouped together, "questions" are grouped together, etc. I want to be able to organize the order to my needs. Also, the interface can be difficult to learn and is not visually appealing. It needs to be easier to tell when a student submits assignments. It is especially difficult to know when students turn in late assignments.

Melanie
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 29/11/2020

Adjustments needed

It’s been frustrating. I think it’s all fixable, but it seems as though it was not geared for elementary use.

Pros

I like the idea of the timeline and features offered.

Cons

Having to click on each student to see their work
Not being able to move things around on timeline, color coding things as completed, having to change points for each question - it should be one point as the default ( make it elementary friendly), need to be able to let kids go back and correct work that’s been submitted, teacher creating questions and answer choices is way too time consuming and it freezes up often then you lose what’s been typed

Kathleen
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 22/11/2020

Kiddom critique

My school system uses this as one of many choices for teachers to present information to distance learners. It was easy to pick up on and implement. I really have not had time to explore other options. The most crucial feature for me is the test feature. However, It is VERY tedious to input questions. My 50 question mid-term exam took me over an hour and 20 minutes to input. Also, I do not have the option to use my own standards. There is no way for me to use Kiddom to compile data about how many students missed what test question(s). I had to do that by hand, laboriously.

Pros

It was easy to pick up on and use. It is easy to embed videos.

Cons

The test making feature is abysmally slow and tedious.

Greg
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/04/2018

Love the Product!!! Extremely helpful and seamless for both teachers and students. Every...

Pros

Love the beautiful product design. This product makes standard based grading so easy and seamless. I love how you're able to your entire curriculumn in one location and pull from thousands of resources all in one content library!

Brittany
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 20/11/2020

Kiddom Review

It is okay, and it has been a learning curve for sure. In the beginning it was hard and Kiddom was not working a lot. My parents and I had hard time uploading assignments and we thought they were there and then they were not, but the good thing is they have been working out the kinks when I message them about the problems.

Pros

I like how all of my work is in one area.

Cons

I do not like how you lose your spot when grading past work. Sometimes I am a week or two behind and it is hard having to go back and forth looking for assignments. I wish there was an easier way to toggle through assignments then just scrolling.

Jennifer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/11/2020

Kiddom - rocky start but finishing strong

Kiddom was very not the best tool at the beginning of the school year. It was not conducive to what we needed. However, they were open and willing to make changes. They even encouraged feedback. I have really enjoyed using this program for the most part.

Pros

The ease of customer service and updates. Kiddom is very responsive and have made MANY updates to accommodate our suggestions.

Cons

The inflexibility to change assignments. It is a process to make changes once you have assigned. I would also like a more streamlined way to assign.

128 reviews