User Reviews Overview

About OpenEdX

OpenEdX is a cloud-based, open-source learning management solution offered by edX. The solution is used by small and midsize businesses to host open online courses and training modules. The solution allows users to create the...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

Browse OpenEdX Reviews

76 of 76 reviews
Sort by:
Carol H.
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/01/2019

Best LMS interface...

Awesome! I love this platform. The experience is enriching and dynamic.

Pros

Awesome features... I use less dynamic LMS platforms and this one is one of the most engaging. It feels like a real classroom; students can engage in real time as long as they follow syllabi. If you fall behind you can reset your dates and your grades are rolled over from the previous date. I've used the live video conferencing feature which adds to real-life interaction. The discussion boards and forums are aesthetically pleasing. You can download the app and the features are equally good. You can audit the course.

Cons

You have to pay for credit, though it is not expensive.

Leong W.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/05/2019

Great platform for educator

Pros

Very friendly user interface. It makes online learning possible. The ability to download lectures for offline is very useful.

Cons

There is still bugs and issue when dealing with proctoring exam.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/10/2019

Learning never stops

I love using edX (which is based on open edX) to learn new skills everyday :D

Pros

It provides education right from the best minds in the world. It makes accessible knowledge right from prestigious institutions like MIT and Stanford. I really like how you can learn anytime, anywhere!

Cons

Nothing. The concept is great, and the platform enhances the experience all the more. It helps increase your wealth of knowledge

Top OpenEdX Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/03/2019

Always learning new things

Pros

edX is a great tool to hone skills. I generally use it to learn programming features, how data structures are implemented in various programming languages, and how to wrangle and analyze data. The courses are self-paced and free; however, for a small fee a certificate is attainable. I have learned to write my own Python scripts and perform data analysis. It has a user friendly interface and the courses are from top universities. Overall a great tool if you are always trying to learn new tools.

Cons

Nothing to dislike. Please keep these great courses coming!

Rhonda L.
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/03/2018

My favorite learning tool

Pros

Love the online learning portal! Love the ease of use! Love the classes! Love the administration and the design of the software!

Cons

I have nothing Bad to say about this app. It's amazing and brings learning to life any time and anyplace.

Ejiro I.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2018

Learning outside the confines of the Classrom

Its a really amazing MOOC and the best part, many courses are free. Looking forward to more developments from them

Pros

You can do as many courses as you want. Plus after the trainings, you get a free certification (depending on the course) All courses come in bite sized easy to learn videos and there's a massive support group with other course mates you can interact with.

Cons

Some really interesting courses are paid. would be great if there was like a live training session.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/11/2019

Qualified courses for professionals

I am using edX for learning different topics which I can combine with my current job and improve myself. It has great courses and agreement between top universities is very cool.

Pros

edX presents professional courses of very broad of topics and you can get certificated from these courses if you pay for it.
edX is well known in the industry.

Cons

Certification price is a bit much and does not guarantee you if it will be respected for such authorities.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/06/2018

Find any kind of courses you want from reputable universities.

Pros

I always rely on openEdX in self-learning as they have wide range of courses in all aspects of like. Also they are not just courses they are from very big universities like MIT, Stanford and Harvard.

Cons

They dashboard needs to be redesigned as the user interface is very crowded and i always take time to understand how to flow works.

Ybett paola V.
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/03/2018

Hundres of courses available for all professionals

Learn about new tendencies and topics in HR.

Pros

The amount of courses available in this plataform it is amazing, I had enroll in three associated with HR and the experience was amazing, I can learn a lot abou new tendencies and tool in the HR Departments and how to work efficientely with workers and budget, I was a great experience for use this plataform.

Cons

By the moments I cannot be able to pay for a verified certificated, because I do not have the money to pay for, so I only can audit the courses but still learn a lot.

Jhon a C.
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/03/2018

Online knowledge

Pros

This platform is great. It offers a large number of courses from different areas, which allow you to complement your knowledge in the field of work. The teachers and the material available are of high quality. In addition, this platform allows access to the contents for free and there are several courses in Spanish.

Cons

Unfortunately the certification of the courses is expensive, not all of us have access to the certificate. However, I think it is an excellent option to obtain and expand knowledge in different areas.

Relvin G.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/04/2019

One of the great ways to get access to education online

I took several courses at edX and other platforms. I had no bad experiences and I learned quite a bit.

Pros

A vast selection of online introductory and advanced courses available for everyone. Many of them are free and are from some of the most prestigious education institutions around.

Cons

Nothing bad to say about them. I am a big advocate of online education.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/05/2018

It's been amazing to find an app that can help me achieve my goals.

Pros

You can find a lot of resources regarding multiple topics and not only that, you also get the chance to get a certificate!

Cons

If you're not bilingual it could be an "issue", since you will find some topics that may interest you but will not be available in your native language.

Michalis V.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 22/10/2019

A great platform for distant learning

This is one of my favourite elearning platforms and i can suggest it to anyone i kno and is looking for distant learning.

Pros

The large variety of different subjects is the strongest point of this platform. Anyone can choose and try elearning lessons and evaluate them after finishing.

Cons

I did not like that the price for some lessons is very extremely high. But you can choose from other more affordable lessons of this platform.

Khalil A.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 01/08/2019

its's good when you have the commitment

in general, I'm thankful that there are some people who are really nice to provide ​free education for others for free and it's always good to learn and continue learning

Pros

I like that it provides​ me with almost any field of study I'm looking for and it happens to get educated from really smart people sometimes for free

Cons

I would prefer if there was a way to make animation lectures which means the professor writes the contents and there will be animations who explains it. I feel sometimes animations can remove the boring feeling of me.

Ann m. F.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/09/2018

Easiest way to take online classes

I have taken both for credit classes and non credit classes online with OpenEdX. In every case, the experience was enjoyable (even when the subject matter wasn't or was challenging). As noted, take the time up front to get familiar with the application including the various formats of support materials and where to navigate to. I don't hesitate to take a class online with OpenEdX because I know the access and navigation will not be stressful. I have found other education platforms via local universities to be much more challenging and require more support. Thank you for having such a nice way to further my education

Pros

It is easy to access and navigate to and within from anywhere. This makes taking classes online enjoyable and a valuable.

Cons

Each class can be set up a bit differently, so when you start a class you do need to take the time to get acquainted with the class, files, and support formats including video and audio

Verified Reviewer
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 30/04/2018

The go to platform for free and quality online courses.

Pros

It's almost the only platform that offers a huge amount of courses in all sorts of fields and topics and for FREE !!

It doesn't just have a gigantic library of courses in almost every topic you can think of but also a lot of these courses are from reputable universities and institutions like MIT, Harvard, NYU .. etc.

You'll also find multiple courses on important topics like English writting or programming so that you can choose the course you prefer according to the duration, the provider, the content and many other variances.

Cons

It doesn't offer certificates for free you must pay for the courses to have the certificate.

A lot of courses have a really high price but compared to other platforms it can be affordable especially that other platforms rarely give you the opportunity to have the course for free even without the certificate.

Raquel A.
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 27/02/2018

Courses online for professionals of all ages

The opportunity to studying and learning a lot about new tendencies in the administration market and in the data analysis world.

Pros

It is awesome have the opportunity to continue learning after of years of leave the college, EDX offers courses of so many features but my favorites are the ones related to administration, organization and data analysis, there are so many tools in the market like R Programming, Python, Advanced Excel and so many others of which EDX offers courses for professionals. The content of the courses is awesome always updated and the videos helps a lot to understand these new tools and tendencies in the administration and data analysis world.

Cons

All the courses has a certified but unfortunately all that I choose are for pay, so I still did not have the opportunity to access to a certified to check my knowledge and add to my curriculum. I think that they must offer free certificates for people of some countries, like all the countries of Latin America.

Bruce B.
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/02/2019

The best hosted training solution - if you're into that.

We have had good experience both developing the service as well as building content for it. Our learners are extremely happy.

Pros

OpenEdX is the most feature-complete on-prem teaching and learning solution. It takes a different approach to developing curricula and materials, using the X-blocks system. The feature list of OpenEdX is impressive by itself, but the xblocks system of incorporating relevant material makes OpenEdX the best choice.

Cons

The one thing we wanted from OpenEdX that it couldn't provide was integration with the discourse discussion platform. Instead an internal discussion / peer help system is used, which is of lower quality than Discourse.

Anton T.
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/06/2018

Self hosted version from popular learning center edX

Pros

Same feature as online edX, great interface, easy to use for user. easy to manage for administrator. Easy to clone from edx's github repository

Cons

It a bit difficult for users, need special software and hardware requirements. Installation itself is very difficult too. Need to trial and errors.

Sanket K.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 07/08/2018

Very good Learning Platform

It was fantastic. I learned python on very basic level but intuitive approach in teaching made me understand stuffs easily. Topic-wise quiz helped me to stay attentive while video is running as well as cleared my doubts. Provided IDE for some small programs also helped me to gain more actual programming knowledge of Python. I think the approach of teaching something is very nice.

Pros

1) User friendly in case of UI, functionalities.
2) Unique from all, the video running has transcript that is flowing sidewise which makes user experience very nice as sometime student cant read between lines.
3) Quiz structure is very nice as well.

Cons

1) Try to provide more advanced courses in case of ML, languages, DevOps and other web development stuff for free or minimal cost.

Sandeep P.
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 04/01/2018

Simple and easy to understand.

- All MOOC features
- Easily scalable and modularised deployment
- License free, open source so can be customised to tailored needs

Pros

- User interfaces are intuitive, simple and easy to understand.
- Course searching and enrolment is pretty easy
- Can have assignments and proctured exams
- Badges, Certifications

Cons

- Course authoring needs to be opened for user access at least for public forums.
- Course authoring can have more inbuilt modules, but yes platform is extensible and community is quite wide

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/04/2018

The best MOOC courses out there.

Pros

It has a huge library of courses in nearly all fields of life and what makes it better and better is that they are from reputable universities like MIT , Harvard , Galileo .. etc.

Cons

The course dashboard is a bit messy and needs some modifications but this doesn't mean that it not easy to use.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 04/06/2018

Degree doesn't matter any more as there is OpenEdX.

Pros

There is a huge library of courses in almost every life aspect and they are not just courses, they are from reputable universities like harvard, MIT and stanford.

Cons

I can't find any thing bad about OpenEdX except for the user interface which needs to be adjusted more to be user-friendly.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 07/11/2020

Great way to learn

Pros

It has a wide range of topics and the content is amazing.

Cons

The assessments are comparatively easy than other platforms.

Alex B.
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/12/2020

Learning on a go

Among other MOOCs providers, I am using OpenEdx more frequently mostly due to its convenient and user-friendly mobile version.

Pros

With so many courses to offer, the edX has made the task of selecting the most suitable for you course an enjoyable discovery.

Cons

I am sure if it is a problem of edX or the course providers but quite regularly I see images that are not adjustable for the mobile.

76 reviews