User Reviews Overview

About Toast POS

Toast POS is a flexible system built exclusively for restaurants and the food service industry. Offering tools like online ordering, delivery, takeout, mobile app ordering, contactless payments, and e-gift card purchasing, this...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4

Browse Toast POS Reviews

287 of 309,960 reviews
Sort by:
Jeff I.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/10/2019

So Great to Have Everything Consolidated

Overall I think after a lot of research and a couple of trials Toast seemed to be the best option as a long-term solution. I believe it can grow with us over the years.

Pros

One stop shop plug and play solution! I was not interested in having to switch between systems and wanted easy reporting across the business.

Cons

Takes a while to learn all the functionality but worth it once learned. Although it’s not a problem with the software itself, either a better hard copy training manual or disk would be helpful.

Alternatives Considered

NCR Aloha and Time Tracker

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

More robust and offered more scale as we grow to keep everything on one platform.

Response from Toast

Hi Jeff, Jasmine from Toast here. We're thrilled to hear you are enjoying your all-in-one, Toast POS System! For helpful training material, encourage you to refer to Toast Central at https://central.toasttab.com/s/.

Replied 08/11/2019
Ann S.
  • Industry: Wine & Spirits
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/07/2019

Toast POS has everything you could want in a POS system!

Toast is easy to use which makes training new employees a breeze. We rarely experience issues with Toast, but if we do, customer service is very attentive and solves the problem quickly. I don't have any bad things to say about the POS system or the Toast team!

Pros

The inventory feature on Toast has revolutionized the way we track our products. Being able to enter recipes, add invoices, track waste, etc. - and do it all in one place - is awesome. And the fact that it is all so easy and user friendly is just a bonus!

Cons

We receive a sales report from Toast each morning, which is great. It would be nice if in this email there were a few specific reports that were pushed to you, as opposed to having to click "full report" and pick and choose what you'd like to view on the website. For example: weekly sales summary, hourly sales, payroll detail, etc.

Response from Toast

Hi Ann, Jasmine from Toast here. I'm thrilled to hear about how Toast Inventory has made an impact on your operations! We appreciate your feedback on the daily sales report, thanks for the review.

Replied 15/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2019

After using so many POS systems this is my absolute favorite

We use Toast as our jazz club and every single employee absolutely adores the system if they have any experience with another point of sale systems. It is much more professional than a system such as square in my opinions and seems like a wonderful middle-ground between an industry standard like Aloha and a more intuitive and user-oriented solution like clover.

Pros

User Interface is absolutely gorgeous
So much more intuitive than other systems (seems like it was designed by me)
Very fast transaction and screen speed
easy to add things to menu/change prices
Works very well so any sized restaurant
makes splitting checks way easier that most POS systems

Cons

Receipt printer that we got from Toast could have been a little nicer. Was very light and moves around a lot.

Response from Toast

Hi there, Jasmine from Toast here. I'm thrilled to hear you are in love with our UI - I love how you said "it seems like it was designed by me". That is exactly the user experience we hope for everyone to have. We appreciate the feedback on the hardware!

Replied 28/02/2019

Top Toast POS Alternatives

Kerby R.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/10/2020

Great POS. Software

I love Toast. Super easy and very user friendly. Most servers catch on in just minutes.

Pros

Toast is amazing it not only can handle on the fly menu changes, but can also work as your punch clock. Runs very smoothly on android os.

Cons

I can't complain. Toast handles all your daily reports and makes them easy to send to others, archive or what ever your case maybe.

Alternatives Considered

Maitre'D

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

It was a a lower price.
Matt A.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 12/09/2021

Be Prepared for nickel and dimming

Overall it runs smoothly 90% of the tine with no issues. When there is an issue, good luck getting the resolution you were hoping for and be prepared to get very frustrated with them. Unless you're adding on services to increase your monthly bill, your not important to them anymore. Also the install was a complete joke, do yourself a favor and do the self install and save your money from the start.

Pros

Very easy to use and make on the fly changes

Cons

The constant Nickel & Dimming! I have multiple restaurants and its so frustrating that each one has different pricing. I have had toast for over 5 years now and it constantly has changed so much so fast that the customer service line employees have no idea how to get things done. If you power on and off and it does not work you will have to wait for someone to call you back that has higher credentials.

Also I have had their special router go out 2x now (funny just a week after warranty both times) and my restaurant could no longer use the POS and they could care less. Its been 1 week and still no replacement. Such a shame their customer service is so bad and it just feels like a money grab at times.

Alternatives Considered

Square Point of Sale

Reasons for Switching to Toast POS

AT the time it was the only POS that could continue to accept CC when the internet went down. Now that many offers this, we are currently looking at other alternative companies.
Doug H.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/11/2020

Toast Review

Very please with the product

Pros

Easy to use, user friendly for new employees

Cons

The handheld options are a little expensive

Jennifer M.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/12/2018

Very reliable and user friendly

Overall it was one of the best POSS systems I used.

Pros

Easy to teach and edit POS that is specific to the restaurant industry.

Cons

I would have liked to seen it have an employee schedule system integrated into the POS. Not just a simple time clock.

Response from Toast

Hi Jennifer- Jasmine from Toast here. I'm happy to hear you find our POS system reliable and user friendly! We do have integrated employee scheduling partners. For more information on our existing labor scheduling partners, visit pos.toasttab.com/integrations or reach out to your Restaurant Success Manager/Toast Support.

Replied 29/01/2019
Vicky C.
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 30/05/2017

Great pos

Pros

Easy to use and very simple and clear layout for each screen. And it is very easy to modify new changes. And the website is reliable to give most current updates in sale and labor and other statistics.

Cons

I wish that an apple app will be available soon to make it easier for management staffs to check on immediate statistic. Also the customer service takes forever to reach every time we call. And the customer service representatives respond in emails , most of the time they don't really know what the real answers they are providing but some generic email templates. And they will ask you to call them if you have any questions. So yes, you are back to square one.

George P.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/07/2017

Toast has been a huge upgrade for our restaurant.

Made daily operations at the restaurant much quicker and smoother.

Pros

What we like the most about the software is the constant upgrade, how easy it is to use, the back office is fantastic!! We had Micros before we switched to Toast and it's like we came out of the dark age and into the modern world!

Cons

Honestly not much we don't like.....maybe that SOMETIMES it lags. We don't experience that too often but it does happen from time to time.

Edward M.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 31/05/2021

Customer service is terrible

For simple issues, their customer service answers immediately. For major issues, they have to escalate it and it can take days to solve problems. This isn’t our first major issue, and every time it takes a while to get it fixed. If you have a restaurant that does decent volume, I would suggest getting a more dependable POS with a customer service that can actually help and not just provide lip service.

Pros

The software is great when it works. But it isn’t dependable.

Cons

The customer service is terrible. Our POS stopped working and the tech support is terrible. Our restaurant was done, and so the customer service escalated it. It took a while to get a call back, and overall, it took a week to get it fixed. For some reason, they needed us to buy a whole new POS computer.

This company is terrible to work with and we’ll be switching to Square in the future.

Marie S.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/06/2018

Does everything you can imagine!

Servers learn it quickly, managers can learn back end easily too. There are also a ton of data points available in reporting function.

Pros

Toast is our third & last POS & we love it. Software is easy to learn, does everything they say it will & it provides more data points than you'll want, so you can see what you do want to see. Super easy to add menu items & photos. When you call support you get a real, english-speaking person who knows how to deal with your issue. Communication from Toast is high quality & consistent.

Cons

The credit card processing fee is a bit high but it is NOT costing us more than before; I had just hoped to save a few dollars in this area.

Response from Toast Tab

Marie - We love to hear that Toast is your LAST POS system. We're here to get out of your way and enable your business to thrive. Thanks for the great review.

Replied 17/07/2018
Anthony M.
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 07/09/2021

Great system

Overall this is a great system. Easy to learn and easy to use.

Pros

The inventory management feature is probably the best feature to me.

Cons

It is difficult to add a food item to the menu. You can’t close the system down for the night with an open tab.

William J.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/01/2018

Toast for the win!

Pros

Toast is a great point of sale. It's easy to use interface mixed with helpful team make using this point of sale a breeze.

Cons

The only con I have is that it is on an android tablet and not on a apple tablet. Would be great to have a iPhone app as well.

Hiro T.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 24/04/2021

I wish it is cheaper

They keep upgrading the features. It used to be affordable. However, it is not anymore. No flexibility of payment processing may cause us to think twice.

Pros

Plenty integrations and keep adding more. It is not windows based, so it is less troubleshooting. The hardware is cheaper compare to windows platform. Easy to manage and user friendly interface. Work without the cloud.

Cons

Getting more expensive. Subscription based. No payment processor flexibility. You can't but the hardware outside Toast.
It may not work for big enterprise with plenty POS.

Becky V.
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/06/2017

Professional, User friendly

Pros

What I like most about this software is that it is user friendly, flexible and it offers a professional vision.

Cons

There are down times when glitches arise in the day to day usage, however, these are quickly resolved.

Karin J.
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 15/12/2017

The hardware is convenient but flawed and the software needs some work

Pros

The hardware and quick editing make this an efficient method for restaurant server and mod use. The screens are easy to edit as well.

Cons

The customer support is TERRIBLE. We were even given wrong information from the trainer before we started using the software. We are often on hold for extended periods with no response and the majority of our help tickets go unanswered. All of our credit card machines have malfunctioned in the three months that we have had the program. The tablets are also not spill proof and have glass screens making it incredibly restaurant unfriendly. The reporting is thorough but has consistent flaws and bugs. Editing checks in difficult and many basic management tools require multiple steps.

Jay W.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 02/04/2021

Toast system

Pros

Very user friendly. Easy to fix any issues. Fits perfectly into our system.

Cons

Not really anything that is giving us issues

John C.
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

1
Reviewed on 30/01/2018

This POS functionality is not the best. They will sell you what you want to hear but not...

Pros

Not much, the POS does track customer info well but it is a long process to ring in orders and we can not mix cashing out at the register at lunch and the table at dinner. I told them this was important and the issue is just being ignored by toast. They promised food pictures could be loaded to tablets to display for customers, it cant do that. Our register after installing didnt balance out at the end of day, for 3 mo tbs thier answer was someone was stealing. I fired my manager and the drawer still wasnt balancing. They sent out a trainer and found out our system was set up on multiple wifis. This was three months of repeated check numbers on the same shift and several other operational problems. Toast only cares about collecting thier cash. I would recommend looking at other POS systems.

Cons

1. Ringing in orders can be lengthy
2. We cant cash out at the register for lunch and table sideat dinner
3. You cant print from POS directly
4. You cant take pictures of food or drinks to show guests.

Response from Toast Tab

Hi John - We're sorry to hear that the functionality in Toast is not what you expected. It appears that you're now working with our Support team on some of these issues. They're a great resource! Our team is here to help get your system to a place that works well for your business.

Replied 02/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/01/2019

Great pos system

Pros

Easy to use user friendly very easy to learn the system

Cons

Nothing really it’s s transistion from a different system but any time you change there’s a transition

David P.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 01/08/2017

Very intuitive software that make a restaurant easier to run.

Pros

Able to change anything on the system from anywhere. The learning curve is extremely short and the system is extremely quick.

Cons

Not able to have a true training mode for servers. By that I mean, everything that is rung in goes into the day's totals, instead of being in a training folder.

Jessica P.
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/04/2018

One of the better POS systems

Pros

This is one of the better POS systems out there. They offer a high quality interface that is well designed and easy to use. Also very easy to teach how to use.

Cons

Sometimes it can freeze up or run a bit slow, I have found that this is the only issue that occurs occasionally.

Michael P.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 01/03/2017

Excellent value for an extremely powerful cloud based system

This is an up and coming startup that is doing it right. We have used the system now for almost a year and having the power of real time reporting and remote access has been huge for us. Their are some challenges whenever dealign with a startup in terms of understanding that development of a new products and features take time. Overall we have been very impressed with Toast ability to improve and adapt, as well the way they listen to their community about feature changes that make real improvements.

Response from Toast Tab

Hi Michael,
Thank you for your kind words and positive review! We really appreciate having you as part of our Toast family, and we're especially grateful to our customers that understand that we're constantly growing new features for our product and making it more powerful with every update. We're really excited to have launched a platform where our customer community can request features for future updates, because it helps us align our goals to best fit restaurant owners, chefs, GMs, etc. Thanks again!
Best,
Cassy

Replied 08/03/2017
Kumar P.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/08/2019

Great POS System

Pros

Toast is a POS that allows for easy set up, on the fly flexibility, and excellent data analysis. Its modern platform and easily tailored interface allow you to arrange data in a way that suits your business needs. The key is properly setting up the platform from the get go to be able to track data in the way that is consistent and provides for business analysis. The tool is intuitive and easy to learn if you've used other legacy players.

Cons

Toast is not as customizable as some other larger POS players. You also risk some challenges if the wifi goes down. Further, it can be too easy to change/manipulate at times, which may allow for other users to set things up in a way that doesn't work for the organization.

Response from Toast

Hi Kumar, Jasmine from Toast here. Thanks for the review! We're thrilled to hear you find Toast to be intuitive and easy to set up, and are using data from Toast Reporting & Analytics to guide your business.

Replied 08/11/2019
Ghadi G.
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 13/10/2021

Toast POS

Pros

Facilitates the work flow and makes it easier for departments to communicate.

Cons

Closing of the tables and end of month accounting is a bit complicated.

Christopher B.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/02/2017

Cant Imagine a better product and service out there!

I must say that if there is something out there that is needed in the hospitality business that Toast doesn't offer, than I don't even want to know about it. We have been delighted every step of the way of our Toast journey. The sales staff, project manager, menu engineer, site engineer, support staff have all greatly exceeded my expectations. Toast is a must have system!

Pros

its versatility and amount of tech features are out of this world.

Cons

we didn't find out about it sooner!

287 reviews