User Reviews Overview

About 3CX

3CX Phone System is an open standards communications solution, suitable for any sized business that wants all the features of an advanced contact center at a fraction of the cost. 3CX can take your business communications to the...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

Browse 3CX Reviews

242 of 229 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/09/2019

Best Value for VoIP and Web Conferencing

Pros

It was inexpensive, there are local experts, easy to setup, and their new features continue to improve an already great platform

Cons

It's less known so it can be confusing to employees or external participant

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Unified Communications Manager

Reasons for Choosing 3CX

We were using an old traditional phone system and needed to upgrade to a VoIP system.

Reasons for Switching to 3CX

initially we chose 3CX because of the price and local experts.

Response from 3CX

Thank you for your positive feedback

Replied 13/11/2019
Sean P.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/07/2019

Affordable Phone System for Businesses of All Sizes

Pros

3CX has all the features you would find in major brands of PBX systems with flexible deployment options for on-premise or cloud hosted systems. The system is very easy to setup and administer with training and certification available. 3CX has a large partner network and supports many brands of phones and gateways. The system is very affordable for smaller business and non-profit organizations. Security of calls is built-in which is very important when looking at VoIP telephone solutions. Apps for iOS, Android and Windows make connecting your mobile staff effortless by simply downloading the App and scanning a QR to provision the users extension.

Cons

Even though there are very useful reports built into the system there is no report for average SIP trunk usage and this is only able to be retrieved through the SIP trunk provider. Features are continually being added and this system is very stable so I cannot really say there are any cons.

Steve M.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
N/A

4.5
Reviewed on 14/03/2016

Installation Of 3CX Phone System On QNAP TS-453 Pro Using VMware

Pros

I have been using 3CX Phone system for may years and gave found it to be a versatile, robust computer based PBX Phone system. I have used it on the following versions of Microsoft Windows, Windows 7 professional, Windows 10 Professional, Windows Server 2003 Standard, Professional Windows Server 2008 Enterprise. My latest installation is 3CX Version 12.5 64bit installed on a QNAP TS-453 Pro running Windows 2008 Enterprise R2 in Virtual Machine Mode. The installation was simple and smooth, activation and provisioning was straightforward, no hitches. The whole system is running and performing as you would expect stable and reliable

Cons

Its very hard to find any dislikes about the 3CX Phone system, if anything I would say lack of information on how to set-up configure VOIP gateways. I have had to search the internet to find the information I required and this was from fellow users who been kind enough to share their knowledge and expertise

Top 3CX Alternatives

Gladys S.
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/06/2019

Make calls to landline numbers with 3cx

cost benefits as making calls from a mobile device to a landline number is expensive in my country.

Pros

We use 3cx in the office to make local and international landline calls from our phones. The software is absolutely free! No licenses required. You just need to install a software on your mobile device and you are ready to go. I like this because in my country it is costly to make a landline call from a mobile number. So with 3cx the cost is not charged to my mobile number account. So we can make client calls or cold calls with ease

Cons

Sometimes we may be in remote areas to make a call. And if that is so, our internet connection sometimes drops and this will affect experience with the software. When this happens, we would need to rely on other means when making calls.

Tim S.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/05/2019

A fully featured phone system that does not break the bank and just works.

We found 3CX when helping a car dealership client find a new phone system. We like it so much we became 3CX partners and have reached Platinum Partner status with 3CX. Our customers love it, and so do we.

Pros

Ease of implementation, feature set, platform support and reasonable cost. You can use this phone system for almost any situation, whether on-premise with local dial tone, a private co-location datacenter or most major cloud providers. 3CX works aggressively to keep the software up to date and continually rolls out new features, such as their Web Client. Yes - you can even use your Chromebook as your telephone.

Cons

Occasional changes to the FREE version - but hey, it's free.

Jimmi N.
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/04/2018

Great software that allows for above average PBX solutions that make communication efficient.

Cost efficiency on international and local calls

Pros

Its communication medium (the internet) makes it easy for people to communicate despite geographical obstacles and the best thing is it doesn't charge for call roaming costs all you need is access to the internet and the software.
The features such as conferencing, webinars, call centers , chat and voice mail allows for individuals or companies to operate seamlessly despite different geographical locations.
Support from the manufacturer is simply outstanding as there knowledge base and support team go the extra mile to help you.

Cons

To get the licensed vendor partnership take a while but its worth it in the end.
The limitations to making multiple outbound calls through one gateway makes becomes frustrating when 2 or more people try it at the same time.

Jordan D.
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 08/10/2018

Adaptable and Progresive

I have managed 3CX for my company for over 6 years. During that time we have gone from hosting the PBX on Windows to Hosting on a Digital Ocean Linux VM. 3CX is much more stable on Linux. With a variety of hosting options, you should be able to fit 3CX to your environment and wallet size. Even having an always on backup server is an inexpensive, but necessary endeavor that will keep your employees and clients happy. 3CX is a very competitive option, with many PBX providers that I have queried not even wanting to attempt to compete against the 3CX PBX.

Pros

New Features added regularly
inexpensive
multi-platform
mobile
fully featured for call centers or standard business pbx
High Available backup PBX

Cons

documentation can be outdated at times
reporting is not the best

Jonathan V.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4

4.5
Reviewed on 09/03/2016

Great in house solution, replaced asterisk

Pros

We are a heavy Windows shop but were using asterisks/linux as our phone system. We liked the ease of management and the fact our windows admins could handle troubleshooting if needed. Updates are regular and we have no issues. We also resell the services and the multi-tenancy is great for larger organizations or inside our own cloud. I also like the Free version. Some of our 1 person shops use this as they really only need a basic PBX nothing special. The integration's to other software are nice for our clients also. Helps sell the product. Built in conferencing and web conferencing items are great for productivity.

Cons

The call channel restriction is a pain. Say I have 9 users and they all are on the phone but some are calling each other. You have to purchase the 16 license. They calculate every call no matter if it is internal. I would be happier if they either discounted internal calls maybe 1/2 a call or something or had a license agreement where its . XX external, XX internal. I wish we had a little more control over web conferencing, maybe shared logos. Also you can only use web conferencing in Chrome. Would like to see this expanded on.

Don A.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/03/2016

3CX Can Be Deployed Fully Hosted Or On-Site... Your Choice

Pros

3CX is a forward thinking company offering a flexible business class PBX that is second to none. Deployment options allow businesses to choose from a turn-key, hosted solution through providers such as www.techsitters.com or deploy the system in-house on existing infrastructure. The unique software approach taken by 3CX eliminates the inferior hardware fluff that is typically bundled with phone systems sold by other manufacturers. Now, companies have the flexibility to deploy a more redundant solution as well as the flexibility to chose the deployment method. 3CX eliminates the proprietary hardware component of the PBX as well as the telephone handsets allowing businesses to maximize their investment.

Cons

After working with numerous PBX manufacturers over the past 12 years, 3CX is a breath of fresh air. The solution is solid and simply works.

Robert P.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/03/2016

3CX PBX empowers us to keep in touch with all of our remote crews.

Pros

We have 3CX phone system in use for SmallYachts manufacturing and repair facilities located in Tampa Bay. The Android apps work great for our mobile crews as well as easily letting us set up a project office on board any of our clients yachts. With the inbuilt webmeeting we can face-to-face with our workers and vessel owners any time. One PBX ties our main facilities in with multiple repair crews and project offices.

Cons

You must have a savvy partner, while just about anyone can sell you this system, you must have a solid knowledgeable partner to really get the most out of it.

Guillermo R.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 12/04/2018

3Cx has served not only to communicate but for my students to understand the principles of...

Pros

- Easy installation and administration
- My students have easy access to get it to practice.
- Users identify themselves easily with the Software
- Ease of integration of different devices
- You can adapt languages easily
- The server does not need as many resources

Cons

- Online support
- Missing information for the integration of VoIP and traditional telephony
- Some problems to connect remote extensions

Tom P.
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/03/2020

Great free PBX!

OVerall, it's a great product. Never had any issues.

Pros

What isn't there to like about 3CX? A free license gives you a lot of features. The console is easy to navigate, and call quality is great.

Cons

Can be a little tricky to get set up, best to get friendly with the networking team to troubleshoot any issues

Response from 3CX

Thank you Tom for your feedback. We are thrilled that 3CX is working well for you

Replied 11/03/2020
Ummar H.
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/01/2020

Cloud Based Call Center

Company internal communication via intranet made fast.

Pros

3CX virtual appliance is available. We can just download and test the same directly.

Cons

Native apps for 3cx aren't responsive yet, it sometimes hangs and voice is mostly jittery when using over wifi.

Response from 3CX

Hi
Thank you for your feedback. Can you explain in more detail what you mean by not responsive? Maybe it's a port forwarding issue or required ports are closed. Remember that communications are not only done via SIP. We also have HTTPS channels that are used to download contacts, presence etc. It could also be related to the phones you are using. If on Android, you would need to care as to which manufacturer and Android OS. Also Apps on the phone might conflict with the app. Maybe you have an app which is draining the battery on your phone or causing some routine that is affecting the performance of your device. Causing our app to be not responsive. Let us know and I will gladly forward this to the development team.

Replied 21/01/2020
Juan carlos B.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/03/2018

Full function phone system for a fraction of the cost.

I have a phone system that works for me

Pros

The system is full feature phone system similar to those of corporate giants. The costs are a fraction of what I paid using the phone company

Cons

To utilize all of the features requires a bit of knowledge which you can watch their videos or do what I did I hired someone to setup my phone system to my needs and pay a fraction of normal fees.

Joe P.
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 16/04/2018

Overall very good system however constant change can be confusing.

Tons of options and features, happy employees.

Pros

Flexibility, pricing, overall feature set, consistent updates. Company is somewhat reactive to feature request, so if something is missing they'll likely add it at some point.

Cons

Constant updates to software and sales price/strategy can be confusing. Support from 3CX direct can be lackluster, make sure you have a good dealer!

Steven H.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/08/2018

Affordable call solution .

Pros

3cx represents great value for your investment .It reduces phone costs several times over and makes connecting to everywhere in the world and setting up calling campaigns easy .

Cons

The design is beginning to look outdated and you need some help online when originally setting up the lines . Not really much else to complain about , 3cx is great.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/02/2019

Very good PBX

Pros

Have been using this BXP for a year now. Took them up first on their 1 year free hosting plan, then moved to a on site server. Very easy to setup (both times) and configure. Lots of options and more on paid plans. Version 16 currently on Beta stage and new functionalities are awesome.

Cons

3CX does not sell directly to the consumer, we have to purchase through 3rd party provider. Can be a pain to go to that route (depending on the supplier).

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 12/07/2018

Great phone system for the money

low cost pbx

Pros

This software is lightweight, full featured and it works really well for the money. They've done a great job in adding features all the time.

Cons

Recently they've been adding too many updates too quickly which has caused some unneeded glitches. They have fairly quick response time.

Yendi C.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/06/2018

Awesome tool for extension lines

Pros

We basically use this program to add extension lines to our dialer, that way we dont missed calls and it worked. You are able to put voice message, call waiting, call forward and other features that are minor importance. Very user friendly when placing calls, and also you can get reports and statistics for a call.

Cons

Configuration must be done by a pro, this cannot be configured by someone who doesn't know about VOIP systems. There was one time that the program crashed and setting were rebooted, so we had to wait until the next to day for the IT guy to help us configure it again.

Clarice I.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/01/2021

Best for Work From Home

We needed our staff to be able to call clients and donors safely when they are working from home and we don't want them to use their personal numbers so this was a great option

Pros

It is useable on your phone or computer
Can see who in office is online
Can call and chat
Make calls from this number and not use your phone number

Cons

Have to automatically switch from available to away
No way to turn off/log off
Have to dial 1 before dialing out
No voicemail

Response from 3CX

Thank you for your review. You may configure voicemail by following these steps: https://www.3cx.com/3cxacademy/videos/basic/voicemail-configuration/

Replied 11/02/2021
Danny A.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/04/2019

3CX Softphone

Pros

I love this software. I can be away from my desk or out of the office and still have the ability to take my office phone calls from the laptop.

Cons

I cannot think of anything that I don't like about this software.

Dan H.
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 02/05/2021

Imperfect but the only option

Pros

3CX's messaging and tunnel systems work great for anyone in or out of the network

Cons

It can be slow and it's closed-source, which really annoys us

Response from 3CX

Hi Dan. Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Replied 04/05/2021
Marla T.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/06/2018

3CX is easy to use

Pros

3CX is easy to navigate and find your way around. Everything on 3CX is very easy to understand and use.

Cons

There honestly is not anything I have found with 3CX so far that I have not liked about this product.

Richard P.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/03/2016

A new approach to phone systems

Pros

3CX offers a business phone systems without all the 'smoke and mirrors' of traditional systems. We have tried competing systems from major phone system vendors and they all require a great deal of training in complex and outdated administrative systems and are extremely complex both to order and to set up. 3CX offers a simple and modern interface and familiar PC operating system for your PABX. there are no hidden extras and additional costs for adding features as they are included in the system. We have installed 3CX systems for a number of our customers and they are all happy.

Cons

Nothing. They are extremely easy to deal with. Most issues can be sorted by looking at the support portal.

Georgi Z.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/10/2018

Set up your office remotely on the cheap .

Pros

3cx reduces costs ,whilst increasing convenience .I can redirect phone lines to wherever you are ,at a reduced cost,while giving you flexibility you'll never have at an office .Can't recommend enough !

Cons

No significant complaints I can think of .If you get a lot of incoming calls ,micromanaging them can take a lot of time .

242 reviews