YourMembership Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About YourMembership

YourMembership.com is an integrated suite of online membership management applications used by associations and other member organizations to engage members, track financial data and support administrative processes. The...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
3.7
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
4.0

Browse YourMembership Reviews

173 of 173 reviews
Sort by:
Emily
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/04/2019

Great Product for Associations & Societies

Pros

Their implantation team is great to work with and streamlined the big endeavor. Their response time with their customer support team has vastly improved and they are very responsive. We are an AMC and have both trade associations and societies onboarded with YM. They always find a way to work with the organization to find solutions for each organization's needs.

Cons

There isn't much customization you can do, but if you need something that they don't offer, there is usually a workaround that can be done.

Amanda
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/03/2021

Great Software!

The service is outstanding. My implementation person ([SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]) has been very responsive and helpful!

Pros

There are several things that are really great about this software - it makes managing an association easy. Having the option for auto-pay is huge and the system is flexible so that we can really make exactly what we need. We are really striving to do everything in one system versus many so YM has really streamlined all of our processes.

Cons

*Need to add duplicate search for Non Members - This is VITAL! We have tons of wasted records because there is no duplicate search for Non Members
*Better way to match non member with member when the non member uses the organization name of a company that is a member
*Main Dashboard needs to be configurable - I would love to add most recent email results, active quiz/survey results and non member details. Also a notification of a member switching between types
*The email feature was sold to me as it was comparable to Constant Contact - it is not at all and shouldn't be sold that way. Very annoying that I can't resize pictures and add more widgets. The email feature also doesn't automatically remove duplicates so people are getting several copies of emails (also part of the issue about the non member duplicate check). It is also supposed to show the hard bounces but the report shows one number but then I get 100 bounces (delivery failure) emails to my email.
*Would like to hide profile fields that we don't use from administrator view

Alternatives Considered

Naylor AMS and WildApricot

Reasons for Choosing YourMembership

Star Chapter doesn't support organizations (which makes up the majority of our members). Very old school system and low tech.

Switched From

StarChapter

Reasons for Switching to YourMembership

Better features for close price. Win Win!
MJ
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 31/12/2019

Poor Support is not their only problem....

I have a urgent problem with YM at this moment -- and you can NEVER get them on the phone. It takes HOURS and HOURS if not DAYS to get responses to problems. And the response you normally get is NO- the system cant do that- or you will manually have to edit 300 records. You can't change your membership renewal date. Updates to the application are MINIMAL at best. They did roll out an email upgrade which may have helped with SPAM -- can't tell for sure if it helped. It has been about the only real upgrade I have seen in the membership side of the system. They seem to focus more of their efforts on their other applications and not YourMembership. I wish someone had told me all this when I selected YM.

Pros

I can't say I am in love with any of the features -- it works -- but there is nothing that just says -- if I didn't have this I couldn't do my job.

Cons

The CRM piece of this application is piss-poor at best. I guess coming from major CRM software application with hundreds of features and flexibility and being an expert on Wordpress -- the lack of flexibility in the site for managing custom pages is horrible. They should just offer a Wordpress plugin for membership management by embedding member management functions into a wordpress site -- because they suck at CRM. My Advice -- Use Wordpress for your primary site tool -- and try to embed their membership page into your wordpress site somehow. I may try to convert this way because I am tired of trying to code pages into thier site -- when tools exist such as wordpress that can easily do everything.

Alternatives Considered

MemberClicks

Reasons for Choosing YourMembership

CVENT was not really a membership management tool.

Switched From

Cvent Event Management

Reasons for Switching to YourMembership

the integration option with an external meeting planning software and the Quickbooks connectors... I wish I had gone with Memberclicks.

Top YourMembership Alternatives

Liz
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/01/2024

Your Membership

Pros

Attractive website.[sensitive content hidden]
is an outstanding support to us.

Cons

Design capabilities are very limited unless you know code very well.

Ronald
  • Industry: Military
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/02/2023

Single site for our members

Provides me an easy way to review dues and donation payments. Much better than what we had before.

Pros

Being a portal for our members, the site allows searching for other members via numerous criteria.

Cons

Many of our older members do not take advantage of the site as much as we might like. Not YM's fault at all. They are just not into anything online at all.

Alternatives Considered

Neon CRM

Reasons for Choosing YourMembership

Older system was not robust enough and we needed to be able to sort members better, provide for our committees, and more easily track our payuments.

Reasons for Switching to YourMembership

Better organization for our members, adaptable to our needs, included good website tools.
Wil
  • Industry: Public Safety
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/01/2024

YM Membership Platform Review

I would say decent, we have had a few struggles and thought it would work a little bit better in some things we are using it for but all and all it seems to be a good assn mgt software solution.

Pros

That they assigned us a dedicated rep, [sensitive content hidden], to meet with us weekly to help implement the software. [sensitive content hidden] did an EXCELLENT JOB helping us get through the initial steps and get into the functionality. She even suggested work arounds for some of the things we wanted the system to do but wasn't designed to do.

Cons

Some of the functionality seems antiquated compared to other web products out there.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 10/12/2018

Adequate with plenty of room for improvement. Slow support;

This is the third membership platform we've set up for the same client. All have strengths and glaring weaknesses and YM is no exception. The reliability of mail delivery is questionable, and the content management system is in need of a significant overhaul. As a power user, YM makes it difficult and troublesome to suggest improvements; technical support often takes days for a response. It manages members well — but all the other things that are important for engaging and communicating with members, such as events, email, and content are clunky and weak. In my opnion, the platform is not living up to its potential.

Pros

Attempts to be an all-in-one platform.
Integrated "content management system" (with limitations)
Strong support for one-to-many membership model (Main representative and sub-accounts)

Cons

Lack of support for conferences.
Rudimentary content management; editor is basic with limited functionality and confusing media manager/content editing
Too much upselling and not enough improvement occurring where it matters
YM oversells features that simply don't deliver on promises
Email editor lacks support for easy-to-create email templates and readable email
Confusing admin area. Organizational structure is confusing at best.
Antiquated URL structure for content pages
Very weak support for metatags and SEO
Forums are not useful

Deanna
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/01/2024

Organization went to a new level

The implementation process was excellent. We were assigned our own point person and she was fantastic. Very knowledgeable, kept us on point and helped us figure things out that work for us because of her knowledge and experience.

Using the system has been a game changer for us. More members are getting more engaged. We are able to handle renewals and new applicants much more efficiently.

Pros

Ability to reach members and maintain active memberships and renewals

Cons

It is not as mobile friendly as I would like to see. Creates issues for members.

Melissa
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 17/11/2023

YM is a great product today

I believe we would have stayed with YM if they had implemented all the changes they have today. YM is a great product.

Pros

I liked YM because it was easy to use.

Cons

It didn't run the reports we needed that upper management was requesting.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 13/11/2018

Expected more

If you have a lot of time to invest in reading all the FAQs and/or How to's you will get along great with the customer service team.

Pros

Easy to update website from the database side.

Cons

For a membership based program, it's lacking in simple reports to pull quality data; creating an event is very challenging; and customer service seems to be too busy to help...either doesn't answer same day or rushes you off the phone. They want you to fix the problem. I love being able to do my own thing and learn about the database; however, sometimes you need help. They do not like to help.

Tara
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 10/06/2019

Registration System Review

Overall, the experience with YourMembership is a little frustrating and difficult. The registration is very confusing to set-up and not straight forward. There are good features to it but I think it's more confusing than it needs to be.

Pros

It's nicer looking for the attendees when they are registering for the conference than the system we had before. I like that the Attendee Types make it look cleaner and that you can attach different sessions and tickets to each attendee type if you want to instead of it being the same for each one.

Cons

1. There is no "back-end" to the registration system. I see exactly what the attendee sees when they register. This isn't the worst but there are many issues that could be solved if there was a back-end where the admin saw things the attendees couldn't and could change things the attendees can't change. For example:
1a. I'm unable to make Attendee Types and tickets that are hidden at attendees. For example, I register individuals such as Speakers, Exhibitors, VIP, Press, etc. for them - they don't register themselves. There is no way in your system to set up an Attendee Type and a ticket for each of those registration types and have it hidden from the attendees but available to me.
1b. I'm unable to change the cost of a ticket or session when I'm checking out (speaking strictly admin here). I would need to create a whole new ticket or session with the new price if I wanted to edit the price of an item for one individual.
2. I order of the attendee types is numerical. We should be able to choose whichever order we want them in (drag and drop). Same with the Tickets.
3. It's weird you have to go into Ecommerce to delete a ticket and can't do it in the event you created it in.
4. You should be able to make space changes in the Registration Form. The area of the left hand side is too narrow and the questions are too close to one another (top to bottom).

James
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2018

Big product and big value

Yourmembership as a product solves the needs we have as an organization. They have great customer service and are always willing to go the extra mile to keep valued clients. I look at it as a two way relationship, we are good to YM so they are good to us.

People in leadership, are the kinds of staff members they need to keep around and find a way to clone. We have never had a bad experience that he or others on the YM team couldn't solve.

Pros

It's literally an all in one platform, I can do ANYTHING with Yourmembership for my organization. This kind of robust product doesn't come with a robust price tag it's price fairly and affordably.

Another upside, is we can have a beautifully designed website thats mobile responsive and its all a part of the yourmembership product. This eliminate the need to have to find a contractor to build us a wordpress site.

Cons

There are some things in the backend/product that could still use updating but I know it's something that the YM team has told me they are planning in their roadmaps for the future. (Groups, forums, and blogs)

Mallory
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/11/2020

Good Option for Smaller Organizations

I think the team at YourMembership is responsive to requests, but some of the system capabilities are lagging from a technology standpoint. Our organization is growing and moving quickly and we don't always have the tools within YourMembership to do some of the things we want to and have had to go elsewhere for these services. Strictly from a membership management system and website provider - the platform works for our small sized team.

Pros

We use this software for Association Management as well as our external facing website. I like the updates we have recently made to the website utilizing this platform. I also appreciate the reporting capabilities on the backend.

Cons

I wish there were more formatting options for sending emails out of the system. The generic emails can seem bland and without having much of a coding background, its difficult to make them look like more pleasing from a marketing perspective.

Jennifer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/05/2019

Great All-In-One Option

We have had a great experience thus far with YM! If we needed help getting something set up or corrected, we are able to contact support and receive almost immediate assistance. The ability to collect membership dues, event registration payments, provide an informative website, manage membership records, etc. all in one place is great and it's easy to use.

Pros

I like that everything we do is in one spot! We are able to manage our website, database and memberships, as well as events all with YM. I also have found it quite user friendly which is nice when I do not have much time to devote to figuring out how it works.

Cons

I wish it were a little easier to see our membership numbers but we have more than one organization represented in our database so I'm not sure if that's possible and I have not had the time to talk through with YM what our possibilities are with finding a solution to something like that.

Karen
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/11/2021

YourMembership

Pros

Dues and Membership management is easy to use when tracking payments and invoices, as well as member status. As Treasurer, I use this quite frequently to verify payments and research membership questions sent to me by the municipalities and members of our organization

Cons

Would like to see a better search for members purchase history. At times it is hard and time consuming to try and find invoices that they state they have paid especially when they do not have the invoice number with them.

Response from Community Brands

Karen, thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience using YourMembership! Our team strives to help small staff associations like yours to achieve your goals and mission! We are glad to hear your team can successfully manage memberships and dues in YM.

Replied 02/12/2021
Marc
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/11/2022

A Great Customizable Platform

The experience has been good. We have integrated the basic platform with Freestone's learning platform, and have several pages linked to other services. The integration is seemless.

Pros

YourMembership is almost entirely customizable, and their support team is always available to help. Once setup, I save hours a week by pulling customizable dynamic reports and by reviewing the critical information on the dashboard.

Cons

I find the email blast portion is clunky. I cannot duplicate a campaign and the HTML editor and preview show the page differently than when it is sent out. I've learned to review the campaigns from several platforms outside of YM to preview.

Yesinne
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/05/2019

Great value & Awesome Support

Our experience with YourMembership has been fantastic, we have had it for more than 5 years and have grown along with the software. The support team is great, they don't make us feel ignorant. They keep us informed of new rollouts and enhancements and they understand associations.

Pros

This software allows us to manage our non-profit association and keep track of our members, our webinars, events and manage our billing. Customer support is fantastic, they helped us add a credit card processor to make it easier for our members to pay and help us customize what we need so it makes sense for our community.

Cons

I would love to have a more robust email marketing and CRM platform

Eric
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2022

Great overall software for Member Association CRM and Website Management

Pros

Ability to customize and good customer support.

Cons

Can take awhile for new features to be implemented

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 30/10/2020

Do not waste your time or money

I'm stuck with this until the yearly contract is up. The company I'm consulting for now to help them with their tech bought this years ago and had no idea how bad it is. While all other companies were updating their code and adding more URL friendly and SEO friendly links, this company just double downed on old software. It's brought down so much from their tech I'm not sure how theyre in business. We lost days of work because of their last hack and yet they have the nerve to almost double the price for next year.

Pros

There's really nothing I liked about the software. Maybe the nostalgia since it reminds me of cold fusion in 1999. Time to move into this century YM.

Cons

Everything! It not user friendly, the price is off the charts for old software that recently got hacked yet again, and it's written in code that was retired long ago. This software has wasted so much time and energy for my staff to try do anything on the platform. It's pure junk.

Marsha
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/06/2019

Support

YourMembership is a robust software. We have had challenges over the years and have had to create many work a rounds to meet our needs.

Pros

Accounting component within the system. Able to create and send out emails within our system. We appreciate the various analytics available.

Cons

Inability to have multiply invoice template options available. Within our organization there is a need to have an invoice template for membership, once for store purchases, one for events and one for donations.

Trae
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 01/04/2023

Good value, but missing key components

There are some amazing folks at YM, but the support seems cyclical ... times when you get timely, responsive help; times when you get ignored.

Pros

YM is Inexpensive, and it is also relatively easy to learn;.

Cons

The accounting side of YM is sorely lacking, as it membership tracking.

Heather
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/02/2017

Product is one of the best and just keeps getting better and better

I have been using YourMembership for over 5 years and have multiple clients in the AMS. The software is affordable and I love that they are rolling out improvements and updates regularly. You don't have to pay for "upgrades" and you are always on the latest version. Lots of robust functionality and 98% of the features I need and want. We did $4M in event registrations for my chapters through YM last year with no fuss and it handles registration for my annual meeting as well. Almost everything I could want for my association.

Pros

easy of use. number of features

Cons

Really need exhibitor/sponsorship sales management options.

Whitney
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 03/05/2019

Small Association, preferred service

Pros

This is very user friendly and the customer support team is top-notch! The custom reports are simple to build, the directory searching and bulk email service is also quick and reliable. For the price, this system is great for a small non-profit organization to maintain all their membership information.

Cons

Some of the headers and fields are hard coded and can't be customized to your group. It's not as up-to-date as other systems...it's basic.

Karen
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/06/2018

Association Management made easy

Robust software that adjust to your needs. It is an association website which is wrapped around a database. With multiple modules to add as your needs expand, this software is the easiest way to handle all aspects of association management.

Pros

Your Membership is association management software that makes an administrator's job easy. From the step by step on boarding and training from the assigned specialist to follow up customer service and the yearly customer training conference, YourMembership helps its customers expand membership, maintain relationships with and communicate with their members.

Cons

Although they help you every step of the way to setting up your CRM and website, it does help if the team working on this has web, html and computer experience. This is best done by people who have the correct background.

Hanna
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/05/2019

Difficult for larger organizations

YourMembership is great for smaller organizations and is easy to manage. I find that now we are growing and would like to offer more bundle deals and promotions, it has been logistically difficult through YM.

Pros

I like the easy event set up and registration process.

Cons

Formatting pages is difficult for someone who does not have experience with the program.
We have difficulty having members lapse and come back to membership, registration becomes a nightmare.

173 reviews