Cerner Ambulatory EHR Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Cerner Ambulatory EHR

Cerner's PowerChart Ambulatory EHR is a hybrid EHR solution that caters to clinicians in hospitals and ambulatory facilities. PowerChart is designed to help with multi-entity electronic medical record creation. This solution can...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.4
Features
3.6
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3.6

Browse Cerner Ambulatory EHR Reviews

159 of 159 reviews
Sort by:
Miguel
Miguel
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/03/2021

Functional Software that plays an important role in the healthcare field

Overall, i have had a pleasant experience with this software, it is definitely user friendly and provides healthcare workers a variety of tools that make charting much easier. Also, it is extremely easy to find information about a specific patient due to the fact that it has different sections with up to date information about the patient and that takes off a lot of times from reading the physician's documentation, at least on my current job position. I highly recommend this software!

Pros

I work in the healthcare industry and use this tool on a daily basis. The software contains a variety of tools that allow healthcare workers to document patient's visits very easily and it is very user friendly. Moreover, it is an extremely well developed software where you are able to navigate through patient's chart, test results, patient's scheduled visits and many other tools that healthcare providers use to get acquaintance with the personal history of the patient. In regards to my position, the Oncology flowchart provides me with information about the cancer staging, treatment name and dates, BMI and lab results. It is a highly functional tool with multi faceted use.

Cons

In order for the software to function correctly, massive amount of updates need to happen monthly from the IT team in my organization. It can be very glitchy sometimes or freeze when there are large amount of information, for example, the MAR section freezes a lot. But other than that, it is highly functional and well developed software.

Ethan
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 29/04/2019

Cerner PowerChart Review

Overal Cerner PowerChart satisfies electronic medical record needs well with a few areas of improvement. I am not involved with EMR purchasing decisions but from what I understand, Cerner PowerChart is a good product for the money.

Pros

Cerner PowerChart provides a comprehensive location for all medical information. Information display can be customized to fit user needs and provides quick access to pertinent info with continued use. Home screens are customized for each particular practitioners credentials and needs making many commonly used tasks always right at hand. Accessing information from other visits is also easily performed regardless of which encounter the patient was initially pulled up. One of my favorites is the results callback functionality that allows easy review of discharged patients culture results.

Cons

While Cerner is not difficulty to use, not all features are entirely intuitive. Many functions require repeated use and lots of clicking to access and perform relatively simple tasks. While there is a quick link for Meds Manager access for pharmacists, the link does not pull up the current patient profile opened, necessitating re-entering of the patient encounter number which is a bit tedious. Additionally, the disjunction between FirstNet and PowerChart is inconvenient and would be nice if charts opened through FirstNet opened PowerChart rather than a separate entity of FirstNet given the difference in functionality between the two programs.

lang
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 05/12/2023

Cerner just living off old software and the name

Horrible, their IT will blame and make excuses of why the product fails to live up to its reputation. They hire kids that have no right being in IT/system analyst, coders, etc. They all use this a way into the field and no nothing about coding even for the most basic things required in documentation i.e. Fishbone labs, smart templates(all show not aligned, no data, etc.) The problems are so signifcant that they can't possibly be overcome.

Pros

Nothing not one single good thing that I can say about Cerner products or the corporation. It seems that there are a lot of reviews from people who have never actually used the product or are required to use the product daily. I feel like these review are useless because they allow a clerk to front desk person to comment and that comment holds just as much weight as the provider/physian responsible for documenting, ordering, etc. that actually has a license on the line.

Cons

Everything:
The power chart templates are useless, the labs are horrible on interoperability(getting outside labs to pull into results review), workflows lack vision on what is needed and how to view it in a timely manner, the powerforms/powernotes are just as useless. The system is lightyears behind less expensive products. Our current system is has been updated 3 times and still doesn't even have ICD 10 codes correctly entered making my job 10 times harder, ICD 10 codes went into affect >5 years ago and we are still dealing with extensive problems. Its just horrible that Cerner doesnt have one actual physician on staff to guide them in what is needed in daily charting on a patient. The orders fall off after 1 yr from the MAR to where pharmacy can't bill requiring providers to have to cancel and reorder every 6 months to prevent reimbursement problems. This becomes a safety issue and if anyone was actually regulating these EMR's they would be shut down immediately for concerns of patient safety.

Top Cerner Ambulatory EHR Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 05/03/2019

harder to get used to after using EPIC for EHRs

I learned to use it and I think with more time I will get better as always, but the learning curve was a bit different from EPIC charting which seemed to be more color coded, and easier to navigate, but also full of facility wide things that had to be filled out but didn't apply to the patient, so that was cumbersome.

Pros

It is easy to use once you get to know where things are located, but it has more of a windows software feel than a mac software. It is more utilitarian in that it is not colored and the font is small, which is good for efficiency in documenting once you know where things go and are located. Does not have hangups that EPIC has when company wide documenting is required for certain areas that sometimes do not apply to particular patient such as was the case on a pediatric floor where I was using this system and I appreciated not having EPIC.

Cons

Hard to get used to. I was coming from using EPIC mostly, which seems easier and more intuitive to learn. I found the smaller black boxes and hidden tabs harder to get used to when trying to document daily things. As a nurse the med administration tab wasn't as easy to use as it is in EPIC and wasn't as intuitive and I sometimes messed up at first in documenting med administration especially when trying to add something that wasn't scanning from the pharmacy and I had to do an override.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/02/2019

Powerchart review

Once you learn Cerner Powerchart, it is a great software, very user friendly, organized, easy to navigate.

Pros

I use this software at work to access patients charts, send messages to other healthcare team members, and to document. Charting is very easy, software flows well. There are lots of shortcuts that make work faster. Pages can be customized to make everyone’s work more efficient and personalized. Search buttons within patients charts are also very useful when learning more about their medical and medication history. This software makes patients’ chart very well organized, easy to find all the necessary information, easy to look up and updated patients’ information such as pharmacy, medications, allergies.

Cons

Frequent software updates are often times less useful and more confusing than previous version, takes some time to learn and get used to it. In some cases support team needs to be contacted to reverse or modify new updates for software to be more user friendly. Occasionally there are problems with the serve, errors when logging in, which are addressed by support team in a timely matter.

Scott
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
1
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 31/05/2023

I would avoid this product

Poor. I expect more from EHR that we pay over $7,000 a month for.

Pros

Easy to use and functionality were very user friendly when we first purchased produce.

Cons

No customer service at all. Takes months for them to respond. They constantly update the software weekly and it changes setting and moves things around make your work flow more cumbersome. When you request for setting to be changed there is always an additional charge or fee associated with it and it takes months to make the changes if at all.

Adam
Adam
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 29/05/2019

Organized, but repetitive.

Overall it wasn't a hassle and made each day better with it's ease of use. Some days you feel like there's just so much to be done through it and you wish it didn't exist but that's part of what you sign up for in nursing!

Pros

I liked the ease of use and how it allowed for enough tabs for all my patient's charts during any shift. IT allows for most of the required charting to be done just with clicks via the mouse and not too much typing which saves time. It would help generate scores for certain diagnostics which also aids time management.

Cons

A lot of it was repetitive and sometimes the options for a certain part of an assessment didn't quite exactly meet what was assessed. It also times out after a while, which was unfortunate for those days when charting seems to take forever and you leave your desk by a patient or coworker and if not promptly resumed you lose what you were working on, had it not been saved. Makes you really want to get friendly with the save button.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/10/2018

Cross functional amazing

Pros

Everyone could use it to serve the patient the best, from in house staff registering and obtain images of id's or insurance information, to providers to document patient's care and keep reports, to billing departments for insurance verification or printing medical reports. It was a 1 stop shop for medical purposes.

Cons

Training was non me, i learned everything on my own. But that could of been a company decision and not a software issue.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2019

Better data, better care

Continuity of care.

Pros

THe amount of detail available to input and view. All caregivers use the same system and so that information is visible in the same system. I love seeing when PT has walked my patients and how they did if I can't track done the PT, or how a respiratory treatment has gone. This is so helpful in keeping up to date on how all caregivers are viewing the patient, when a one on one visit is not feasible.

Cons

IT takes a while to pick up all the skills needed to use it and adjust to the format, but only because it has so much functionality. So that's natural.

Darpan
Darpan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 25/11/2021

I would always prefer epic

Pros

Legacy tool. Useful in small practices.

Cons

Compatibility with 3rd party tool. All round utilization for every clinical functionality

Katie
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 17/05/2020

Overall a pretty good EHR

Overall this has been a fine database to use, and was easy to learn (for the most part). There are some things I really like about it, and some things that annoy me, but I feel that this might be true for most EHR databases. I haven't minded using this one and it has a number of handy features.

Pros

I feel like overall this EHR is fairly user friendly. I picked up on how to use it fairly quickly with no prior experience with it when I started my first PA job. I really like the feature of being able to have your pre-completed notes and pre-determined phrases that can be put into a note. It's also easy to search for medications and lab orders to place.

Cons

There are a few little things that drive me crazy with using this database. It's not always easy using the search feature to look up patients, for example. There are also a few simple things that should only take a click or two, but they take a lot longer to do than they should. Our database recently got updated, which made a few of the features better, and a few worse. For example, when looking up a patient's past bloodwork results, I now have to expand the dates of what I want to see further in the past in every single patient's chart, instead of just setting it once and having it remember it.

Tara
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Easiness compared to other products

Pros

Compared to other medical management systems, I believe this one is the most simple ones. Less tabs, information populates accurately, and little to no system errors.

Cons

Some functions like the time frame. When a specimen is drawn and collected, results will collect at the time frame the lab was sent out and not the time the lab results were actually populated. Also, it would be nice if certain document notes when created would populate as a New notification.

Frank
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Overpriced but necessary

Pros

I’m a believer of you get what you pay for. However in a world of limited options this could be better for the cost

Cons

Very clunky and hard to use. Not many other options for EMR vendors. We are moving to Meditech next year

Hilda
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

5
Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Easy of use

Cerner millennium is easy to use again and faster as well.

Pros

I can save multiple precompleted templates and diagnosis, making it so is to use and it really save time. However this possibility is not available on all Cerner products. Cerner millennium is the best so far. Cerner medconnect allows to tag and paste from previous note

Cons

Cerner Medconnect is the worst product, not user friendly at all! One can not save a pre completed template! There is a possibility of entering smart text, however this is time consuming. “Tag” functioned can take a couple of minutes! It’s really a waste of time

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 27/01/2019

Cerner Extended care Road Notes

Then individual applications work great but you still end up having to chart things multiples times because the applications don't communicate with each other. I think you should be able to document in the the nurses note an update to physician order or careplan and the information automatically update the other applications.

Pros

The nurses note flows well and is quick to complete.

Cons

The nurses note does not communicate with any other applications like care plans or physician orders. You have to leave the nurses note to update care plan or enter a new order.

Venkat
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 21/11/2016

Worst EMR out there with horrible support

Cerner EMR was ok before recent upgrade. Now it is horrible and it's a nightmare to use. Stuck with this system. DO NOT consider this system if you are shopping around and save your self time by not even looking at Cerner. Horrible customer support. No one takes responsibility and you feel like talking to some one who has no clue.

Pros

Was ok before upgrade.

Cons

Horrible to navigate and time consuming. Too many bugs need to be fixed. Terrible customer support. No one knows what' s happening. No one takes any responsibility.

Pearl
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 14/04/2023

Cerner can be very detailed but there are too many clicks

Pros

Cerner Cerner can be very detailed and specific

Cons

There are too many different ways to complete a task. And there are too many buttons to complete one task

Elana
Elana
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 18/12/2018

EHR for Hospital

I have been happy with utilizing the system overall. It is the system our local hospital uses, so we login to assist in retrieval of records for upcoming appointments.

Pros

I like that I can easily find the information I am looking for in the system.

Cons

I do not care for the several different logins to get into the system. Unless you are at the facility, you have to go through a 3-4 step login process.

Rebekka
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 10/09/2019

There's a learning curve

I used this charting system for over a year in the hospital setting. I grew used to it's features, but never got over how long it took to chart.

Pros

I appreciate the hearts helping guide me to chart certain tasks at a designated frequency. I can read my orders and labs easily, which is very important!

Cons

It takes longer than it feasibly should to chart my assessments. Time is of the utmost importance in the world of nursing, and the time I spend charting is time I can't do other important patient care tasks.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/12/2018

Better for nurses than for lab

Pros

Easy to access all areas of a patient's chart. All physician reports and scanned reports can be retrieved in one area.

Cons

You can change your view of results from table to group, but it must be done each time you log in rather than maintaining settings. Also you can't permanently close plans to view only orders.

Ernest
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/02/2020

Great program for patient review

Overall powerchart has been useful to me in the healthcare setting.

Pros

I like the ability to review patients medical history, encounters with all health care departments and status updates

Cons

I do not like the repetitiveness when entering documentation on patient care for Physical therapy. At times the connection is poor.

Arpit
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 16/08/2017

Very reliable covering all of the aspects of EMR

Pros

Easy customization and integration with third party tools, amazing customer support. customize macros and auto text feature available in Powerchart

Cons

Enhancements are sometimes time taking and is also very expensive. Since it is very thorough solution, so geting complete knowledge sometimes takes too much time

Jonathan
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 02/09/2019

Easy to Navigate for Inpatients

After just a handful of uses, I felt comfortable with Cerner

Pros

My group switched to Cerner and I find it much easier to navigate than my old system. I find this comparable to EPIC in terms of easy to use and reliability. Everything is nicely organized and very well put together.

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about this other than the cost of the product is not the cheapest

Ashley
Ashley
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/01/2018

Worked with this software daily for over 7 years.

Pros

I liked how user friendly this software was. At the time i worked with people who ranged from all ages and everyone seemed to be able to work this fairly easy.

Cons

At times it could be pretty glitchy. And the updates drove us kind of crazy in the pharmacy. But that comes with the territory.

Christopher
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 30/12/2018

Cerner or not to Cerner

Pros

Ease of learning
Relatively intuitive
Integration with voice dictation
Straightforward

Cons

Power notes can be convoluted
Preferences could be better organized.
Occasional hiccup with dictation needing a restart/logout
No compatibility easily with other EHR

159 reviews