Bright Reviews

4.9
Overall rating
Reviews

4.9
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Bright

Bright offers a suite of industry-leading software solutions for accountants, bookkeepers and SMEs across the UK and Ireland. Our multi-award-winning, user-friendly and innovative products let users support clients while...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.8
Features
4.7
Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Support
4.8

Browse Bright Reviews

343 of 343 reviews
Sort by:
Tom
Tom
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/07/2018

Best way to do your pay!

Pros

BrightPay makes payroll easy and has a really modern look. I can train clients to use this in no time at all.

Cons

The windows and mac versions of the software differ in a few areas which is a real shame. It looks like this may be addressed soon though!

Adil
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Best Practice Management Software

Whenever we needed help from the team, they were utmost courteous. If issue was not resolved at the point of first contact, they ensured that call back was made as soon as possible.

Pros

Ease of use and ease of implementation.
Great customer services especially from Customer Support Team.
Our clients found it easier to use as well in terms of uploading/downloading documents and e-signing paperwork

Cons

I would love to see in future time management chart implemented whereby staff diary can be created and seen by the senior team

Ian
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 02/09/2019

Practice Managment Review

Pros

The cost is reasonable
Ease of on-boarding new clients
AML check link to Veriphy

Cons

No link to submit Confirmation Statements to Co Hse
Lack of workflow
Lack of link to other software

Top Bright Alternatives

Sage 50cloud Accounting

Thesaurus Payroll Manager

Michael
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/02/2021

BrightPay brightens up the payroll process!

Overall I'm really pleased with the software and they are always brining out new functionality.

Pros

The user interface is great and very intuitive, the help/support section is very good in helping you get up to speed with the software.

Cons

The way you have to download and install a new version each year - other providers keep all of your data in one place.

Lauren
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Great software!

Excellent. Brilliant service and it has made processes simpler and easier to use.

Pros

Software is very useful for our company.

Cons

There is nothing negative to report on Accountancy Manager, it is a great system to use. Every time there has been issues they have been resolved in an instant.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Switching to Bright

Accountancy Manager stood out for us. We wanted something more modern and that is what they have given us.
Alana
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Best in market!

This software saves us the cost of an extra employee a month - you really can't argue that this!

Pros

Too many amazing functions to mention but the integration with companies house is a godsend for us. The customer service team are exceptional and come back on all queries quickly.

Cons

The only area I would improve is the job flow could be more detailed.

Paul
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Brilliant CRM

It has completely transformed my practice I have already and will continue to recommend this software to my fellow business associates

Pros

I love it all but the automated emails etc ensure I never for when returns are due.

Cons

I really like everything about the software

Rob
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/09/2019

Practice management made simple

Pros

The ease of using the product, especially the reporting functionality and how easy it it is to get meaningful reports off the system. The ability to have all relevant client information in one place for all of my team to see, access and use.

Cons

I am yet to find something I don't like about this product but we are still finding our feet with it.

Alternatives Considered

CCH ProSystem fx

Reasons for Switching to Bright

Price was a large consideration but we also liked the tuition and help offered by Accountancy Manager
Ram
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/09/2019

Very good software

Very impressive software and best customer service

Pros

Reminders automated and emails are automated

Cons

Tasks lists take time to update but has to be done so no cons actually

Alternatives Considered

Capium

Reasons for Switching to Bright

Best services and very good automation for small business and one man sole trader business.
Andrew
Andrew
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 31/03/2023

Very nice app for an employee

Overall I'm very pleased with the app - it is a good solution to the browser portal.

Pros

Brings all the functionality of the browser portal into a mobile app. It's much easier to use the app for quick access than to get on a computer to see and use the portal.

Cons

I have very few issues as an end-user employee. I do have some frustrations over how easily I can change my details, but I understand the importance of have this administrated by senior leadership.

Response from Bright

Thank you for your feedback and star rating Andrew. It's great to hear that you are enjoying using our BrightPay Connect app on your mobile/tablet device.

Replied 05/04/2023
Mark
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/02/2023

Cheap and easy to use. Could do with more customisation options

It does the job and is straightforward to use.

Pros

Inexpensive and talks directly to payroll software.

Cons

Lacking on customisation and some of the more advanced features available in other software

Response from Bright

Hi Mark, thank you for your review and recommendation. It would be great to hear your customisation suggestions if you could email us at [email protected] and we can add them to the development list.

Replied 14/02/2023
Malek
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Accountants review

Pros

The ease if use.
Automations
invoicing section is great
Very professional

Cons

emails, when you copy and paste to the email box in AM, it does not do a great job at it.
Creating tables is not as easy and clean as others.

Sharon
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Best thing we ever did

The time saved with automatic chasing means that we have more time available for our clients.

Pros

Easy to use, excellent fro chasing for information automatically which saves us so much time.

Cons

The implementation process, the import from digita database was not straightforward.

Wendy
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/08/2019

Must have for busy accountancy practice

Brilliant software for a buy accountant practice - keeps all tasks in order and makes managing deadlines easy. Getting proposals to potential clients is a dream once you have everything configured/customised to your ways or working - 5 minutes after talking to a prospect you can have a full proposal with T&C's in their inbox.

Pros

Ease of use, support, regular software upgrades, never miss a deadline, client on-boarding, proposal management, customisation

Cons

Nothing major - perhaps the only minor item is cut and paste functionality can be a bit erratic when using templates. But this is minor....

Kristian
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/09/2019

Excellent product for modern accounting

Amazing product and excited to see it develop even further.

Pros

Cloud based, auto tasks.
AML.
Missing info checks.
Client portal.

Cons

Timsheets are not up to scratch. Too slow.

George
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4.5

5
Reviewed on 08/07/2016

Thumbs up for BrightPay

Pros

I like that's it's so easy to use. You don't need to have payroll experience. Brightpay alerts you need to send through your RTI and pension contributions. It also is free for auto enrolment. My previous payroll software were charging extra for auto enrolment.

I've been using Brightpay for over 3 years. I pleased to say they have never increased their prices. It's an excellent product. The developers clearly have the end user in mind. If you get stuck their help guides are fantastic. 10/10

Cons

There's nothing I don't like about it. Brightpay keeps up to date. New features are being added all the time. I can't think of a single thing that I don't like about it.

Louis
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/08/2018

BrightPay provides a streamlined elegant support for payroll system for our affiliate offices

We believe that the deep , feature rich capabilities that Brightpay offers for comprehensive payroll control and organization absolutely should not be missed.
We recommend scheduling a full product demo with Brightpay customer service so that you can experience the full breathe of services before paying any fees. We wished more software payroll services offered this option.

Pros

Easy to use and to understand interface provides feature rich control for our worker payroll accounts.
Additions and deductions for multiple departments are an extremely useful feature as well.
Where the windows for software use in OS are concerned we love the automatic resizing feature which makes our job much easier.

Cons

The list of negatives for Brightpay is admittedly low , however we must mention that given the time zone difference and some accented language
that customer service interactions can be a bit difficult but not unbearable.
Also, a new software download is required each new tax season.

Paulino
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/03/2018

In my point of view this is the best software when talking about payment methods

Pros

It is a tool that loads all kinds of functions, with which it becomes very simple the payment processes, therefore you get higher sales

Cons

Definitely nobody likes to wait at the time of making a purchase, everything must be done quickly and efficiently and that is a small weak point as we have presented some reboots of the app at times when we need it most

Sarah
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/08/2022

Excellent piece of software!

Excellent software, saves me so much time with onboarding new clients and chasing paperwork, documents etc. I couldn’t be without it now

Pros

The task list is my first “Go to” every single day!
It’s great as a diary for knowing what needs to be done by specific dates and keeps my workflow running smoothly

Cons

The extra charge for other members of staff. I think upto 3 staff users should be included in the one monthly fee originally quoted

Jonathan
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/09/2016

Thanks Bright Pay

Pros

Firstly, as a small company I use the free version of Bright Pay, nevertheless this is an excellent software package. As somebody who works with and designs software applications, this is an example of how modern, well written software packages can be simple and intuitive, to the extent that anybody can use them with minimal training.

Cons

To be honest, nothing. I'm really pleased with the product and the vendor - The product works well and even when I needed some help with support they were quick and prompt and sorted the issue...which was actually down to my own error. - Quick Books could learn a thing or two about software packages here...perhaps wish that Bright Pay could do the accounts also!

Martin
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Game Changer

Solved admin and time constraints of chasing clients. Allowing me to keep on top of deadlines and onboard so effortlessly has been amazing.

Pros

The fact it makes my life so much easier and gives a really good impression to clients.

Cons

I cannot find a con about using this software.

Omarie
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2018

Super User friendly!

Pros

This payroll software has made it so easy for myself and co-workers to report our time clocks. If someone forgets to clock in it is easy to fix on either end and we’ve never had a bad experience with their customer support.

Cons

I have no cons at all! If we have ever had a problem, which is rare, their customer support team answers and helps us work through it.

Mantas
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Easy to use, easy to understand

We can prioritize our work schedule and assign different work task to each employee

Pros

Very easy to use and to understand, high quality support

Cons

Customer service could have a webchat, sometimes AM becomes laggy

Caroline
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4.5

5
Reviewed on 29/09/2016

Intuitive to use, great value, everything you need to run payroll

Pros

This software covers all aspects of payroll including the new pension auto enrolment, expenses and benefits, sickness, maternity all subjects in one easy to use product.
I am not a computer buff but this works for me and I can understand it very easily.
The price is amazing we have several companies under one umbrella and usually this would cost a great deal more.
I like the help from BrightPay which can be found on their website and I have emailed for assistance and this has been a clear quick response both times.

Cons

I haven't found anything that I am not happy about as yet - I did call once over an Irish bank holiday and spoke to a chap I found difficult to understand because of his beautiful soft Irish accent ...

Jaime
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2019

Am review

Reminders sent automatically

Pros

The automation for reminders sent to clients

Cons

Needs to link to software e.g. xero
For invoices

343 reviews