ADP TotalSource Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About ADP TotalSource

ADP TotalSource is a full-service HR solution for SMBs. It provides cloud-based HR technology paired with a team of experts to help businesses handle payroll, employment tax, employee benefits and benefits administration, HR...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.1

Browse ADP TotalSource Reviews

226 of 226 reviews
Sort by:
MaryEllen
MaryEllen
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2018

Overall I am very happy with ADP.

Pros

Most of it is very user friendly. Payroll is very easy to submit and if I have a problem you can always call and speak with someone.

Cons

I really dislike the ireports, not user friendly at all.
Have a hard time finding the reports I need.

Kandi
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 11/11/2023

Good HR Software

Overall it works well. It seems they all have a little issue - none have it all and work exactly as I wish they did.

Pros

Easy to navigate the pages, the app is great to have on your phone to approve time cards in a pinch.

Cons

The customer service is lacking if you need help. Long hold times and emails do not get any responses.

Response from ADP

Hi Kandi, thanks so much for the review! We are glad you are having a great experience with ADP.

Replied 05/12/2023
Kenneth
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 03/08/2022

ADP Total Source - Not worth the acclaimed accolades in their website

I would rate customer service/support a zero or "N/A" because I cannot rate something that does not exist. I stopped using the customer support ticket system shortly after I surpassed 10 open tickets with an average of 15-30 days of NO response whatsoever. In 4 months, I have not been able to use the background check process efficiently; I have not had anyone assigned to help me implement a performance review process; I have not been able to properly create a new hire checklist for onboarding of new hires, and I have not been able to properly have the paid time off accrual for one group of employees, for example. I have asked many times to give me the access to make the changes myself. I have met with executives, pleading my case. All I get is "we have escalated your request". Yet no action and no solution.

You are often encouraged to go to their knowledge base to figure things out on your own. I do not mind doing so. However, most of the articles are referring to prior versions of the system. So, the steps are incorrect or misleading, forcing me to ask again for clarity only to again get no response for weeks. Sometimes customer support responses are also incorrect.

I regret choosing ADP TotalSource. The best analogy I have is imagine purchasing a Ferrari with all the bells and whistles. However, you end up keeping it in the garage 80% of the time. The other 20% of the time the Ferrari is stuck in stop and go traffic with no access to an interstate.

Pros

Payroll can be processed smoothly. That's about it.

Cons

I have the Administrator role and I lead the implementation process in my organization. What I like the least about the software is that not even the Administrator role has access to do simple tasks such as: add a new reason for a pay change; change a paid time off accrual rule; create a simple way to communicate to an employee they received a change in their pay (you are forced to create an "event", where there are several unnecessary steps that makes the "event" take days to be completed; and create an onboarding task list.

Top ADP TotalSource Alternatives

Katina
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 25/08/2022

Helpful, with some minor issues.

Pros

Payroll processing is self explanatory and user friendly.

Cons

Customer service is lacking, most of the time when we ask questions (especially HR related), we are just referred to our employee handbook, which is not helpful.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/10/2018

A HR Generalists Dream

I was with the company when we made the transition over ADP and it was a huge change but it made normal day to day tasks easier and especially helped with time off/ vacation pay, and benefit compliance.

Pros

I loved being able to keep track of all my employee payroll, time off, benefits and calendars in one place. I had been working with a much simpler software system before we made the transition and it was honestly like night and day. We had an issue with not being able to completely track employee time off so some employees were taking more vacation time than they had earned and with ADP it was so much easier to track all employee hours.

Cons

The only real complaint I have is the time it takes to complete certain tasks. I would rather it be careful and thorough but sometimes it can be time consuming

Aimee
Aimee
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 24/04/2018

We used this product for our HRIS.

We were able to move from paper to electronic records.

Pros

Helped us transition from paper to the electronic age. We now had a system within which we could maintain several employee functions, so in the end it did save us time and allowed us to do more (run reports, retrieve employee data quickly, etc.)

Cons

It was so buggy! The two sides (HR and Payroll modules) would not "talk" to each other which meant errors or glitches. Trying to keep data accurate was nightmarish. We had to develop our own internal process of not making any changes on the HR side when Payroll was running. We actually gave it two days before we would make any changes, even if an employee had terminated on the day payroll was running. Reports were rarely accurate.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 21/06/2018

I have been using ADP Totalsource for more than 2 years for all of my employment needs and...

Convenience more than anything.

Pros

I can use ADP from my phone. I am able to clock in, view my hours and see my pay without anywhere and anytime. It's very convenient.

Cons

The software doesn't always pick up my punches so my manager has to manually enter them. if i can't remember the exact time of my punch, I have to guess and I lose time.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/11/2018

Throw that Excel spreadsheet away and pick up this

Pros

Before, we were tracking hours by using excel. TotalSource made everything really easy. I am not able to track hours, OT, payroll and benefits.

Cons

I have no real con about this software other than the customer service. It is sometime really hard to get in contact with anyone when help is needed.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/03/2018

We have been a customer of ADP Total Source for almost 20 years

Pros

Provides us with accurate information. Security is a priority but still user friendly. The information listed on each tab is easy to understand and affords you the opportunity to access more data if necessary.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/11/2017

Excellent Service

Pros

The software is very easy to use BUT the service and customer support that assist our account is SUPERB!

Cons

Reporting options and the Ilearn Admin user options could be easier to use.

Brandon
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 31/05/2023

Avoid ADP

The customer service we've received is nothin short of embarrassing. They apologize profusely, but no action is taken to resolve issues. [sensitive content hidden]
our support manager is a politician and largely useless. I've tried for weeks and months to get the support needed... we just get the runaround. I'm going to pay 20% more for a different product just to get away from them.

Pros

The health insurance available is decent

Cons

The set up was a disaster. Feels like we took a step back 10 years. On boarding is clunky, support is abysmal. They take no ownership of issues.

Response from ADP

Hi Brandon. We're sorry to hear that your experience was not up to standards. We would like the opportunity to talk and investigate the implementation issues that you explained further. If you're interested, please email your contact info to [email protected]. We'll get you in touch with the right team to help resolve your issues as quickly as possible.

Replied 16/06/2023
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/06/2019

ADP simplifies my HR

Overall I love the program. It's so convenient and makes it so everything is at my fingertips. Instead of me sending a million emails to human resources or going up to human resources it's all readily available. Let's say it's the weekend and I need a copy of my last two pay stubs. I can just go online and obtain them with only a few clicks.

Pros

I like the fact that this software makes things easy to change. It's super easy to navigate and if I update my address or if I want to change my benefits it's super easy to use. The greatest thing is that I don't have to bug anyone if I just have a short question about my benefits or my time off. Also, my paystubs are all online and easy to view. The system is so easy to use and the site offers great security if you should lose your password.

Cons

I don't like the fact that all of the options aren't available within the program but I'm not sure if that's something the place of business chooses or if it's something within the software. For example, most people I see can check their paid time off and other things. My version doesn't allow me to click on paid time off, but I think that has to do with how the company sets their program up.

EMILY
  • Industry: Newspapers
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 15/12/2018

Extremely basic and worth what you pay

If you run a small company with basic needs, get it. If it's bigger than 40-50 people or you want something with real detail, I wouldn't recommend it.

Pros

It does the basic job of tracking logging in and out and employee record keeping. It's organized in a basic and sometimes easily accessible design.

Cons

This software is a low bar for what you can expect for the price. It wasn't as detailed in employee information as I'd sometimes would've liked. The fonts are smaller so it's less accessible than other competitors. It didn't leave room for variability options.

Tiffany
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/11/2018

User Friendly Human Resources Tool!

We use ADP Total Source to keep track of all of our human resources needs.

Pros

ADP Total Source is really easy to use. I am able to quickly and easily manage my employees timecards and yearly reviews and it takes all of the guess work out of the process for me. I love that it alerts me if something doesn't look right or when things are changed or become due.

Cons

There are still a lot of functions that are available that I do not know how to use. The scheduling part is a little confusing so I don't use it.

Stacey
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 14/05/2019

Does the Job

This HRIS system helps with many compliance efforts and works much better if you have a solid on boarding and transition experience.

Pros

It handles many traditional HRIS functions and also stores employee documents. Benefit enrollments and changes are handled completely by ADP. Minimizes the amount of paperwork needed for new hires. Has reporting features that can connect to existing accounting software.

Cons

The look is a bit clunky. It can be very difficult to navigate at times and finding features not regularly used can be very difficult. Lags behind in customization especially around creating documents that require initials, signatures and so forth. ADP is very large and you can easily get lost among the masses and be transferred many times, even when you have a designated rep.

Shannon
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/03/2018

I think overall it is a good investment for the company. Even though it does seem expensive.

The ability to keep all of my employee information in one place.

Pros

I appreciate the ease of use and the availability of information. Information on compensation is available to determine the cost of an employee and to relay that to them. There is also historical data on salary that is helpful to have electronically.

Cons

The customer support seems as if they have too much on their plate. Possibly that they have been given more than they are feasibly able to do.

Sandy
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 29/08/2017

Great for Administrators

The administrative portal is very thorough. The user portal is not as intuitive, unfortunately.

Pros

There are a lot of features and fantastic in-depth reporting, both standard and customizable. You can use csv files to upload large batches of data, instead of having to do the data entry one by one.

Cons

It can be difficult to find what you're looking for. The redesigned site is definitely an improvement, and there's a bookmark feature to assist with this issue.

Jessica
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 25/11/2020

Easy to use but pricey

Overall I am happy with ADP totalsource and would recommend it.

Pros

ADP totalsource is very easy to use for users and admins alike but is expensive compared to other products in the market. It is a comprehensive employee database with easy to access information.

Cons

The reporting is very extensive but not always easy to use and can become bogged down with too much information. We pay for our health insurance directly through totalsource and there is no easy way to pull a single report that shows total payroll + benefits cost for the whole company by employee. There are individual employee PDF reports that show total compensation but these are not very helpful for analysis.

Bridget
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 06/10/2020

ADP Review

It has changed the entire payroll process for our company in a positive way.

Pros

It streamlines the payroll process and makes the job very easy and efficient. I would recommend to any accounting manager

Cons

I have no complaints about ADP at this time. All employees have the ability to login and see their own accounts

Robin
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/03/2018

ADP Totalsource is a fantastic service.

Pros

Managing payroll and employees and processing new hires. Totalsource is very user friendly and our employees agree!

Cons

The time software that integrates with Totalsource, EZ Labor. The EZ Labor program does well on capturing the clock-in clock-out times, but requires a lot of batch adjustments after importing into Totalsource.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 13/11/2018

Terrible Service and Software

ADP contractually agrees to many things and then does not do them, from processing payroll and employees do not get paid, to promising short-term disability is available when it is not, to not reporting wages to the state and causing the employer to be out of compliance with a statutory filing. I cannot say enough bad things about this sorry company. If you are considering ADP as your PEO, PLEASE RUN TO ANOTHER PEO.

Pros

There is nothing I like about ADP. Nothing.

Cons

Poorly designed, old legacy system that ADP wrongly believes can serve as an on-line platform.

Holly
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2017

Very happy with ADP

Pros

Easy to navigate and find information. Layout is good. Love that just about everything can be done online with little help from Totalsource team.

Cons

It's not even the software, the only issue is for initial log on, ADP has many user sites. It would be easier if ADP didn't have so many log ins.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 09/01/2019

Way better HR tools out there

Pros

It's pretty simple to request time off and see my general information.

Cons

The UX/UI feels like it's straight out of the 80's. ADP would highly benefit from bringing an experienced design team on to help overhaul their product. It has all the features, it's just not simple to use.

Adam
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/05/2022

ADP Totalsource

Easy to use interface and I spent way less time actioning staff timesheets and leave requests.

Pros

Ease of staff management for payroll and leave.

Cons

Payroll leave accruals have been inaccurate in the past. I believe that is corrected now.

Hema D
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/05/2018

WF System help us to drive Smoothly.....

Pros

Costumer Support for all the day today issues...
Report Generation for monthly , Quarterly & Annually

Cons

It should be more customized in report generating .
Assigning of Account managers to the clients should more Efficient in fixing the issues .

226 reviews