ModMed Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About ModMed

ModMed, also known as Modernizing Medicine®, is an award-winning software company that places doctors and patients at the center of care through an intelligent, specialty-specific cloud platform. Services include electronic...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.6
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.0

Browse ModMed Reviews

171 of 171 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/06/2019

Absolute best EHR System for Specialties

The easiest EHR system I have ever used and very applicable to the specific specialty (at least from mt experience-- Dermatology)

Pros

This software is very user friendly, easy to learn, easy to use and saves A LOT of time for the doctor/provider or medical assistants/scribes.

Cons

More customization features specifically for one's practice would be nice however it is a stand out product as is

Response from Modernizing Medicine

We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and those considering our EHR system. Thank you! - Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager

Replied 19/06/2019
Brandon
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/02/2022

Modernizing Medicine

Overall our experience has been positive with ModMed. I think part of any new EMR is that they do so much it takes time to really incorporate it all into your practice. So on that end, I think even the things we currently like the least will improve.

Pros

The software is a whole suite with EMR and practice Management. The two work together nicely. It allows easy scheduling of providers and linking of the visits. It helps drive the physician through their note while ensuring that they are coding their visits properly. It also helps with MIPS and other programs. They also do regular updates to improve the software, which is great.

Cons

The things that are the least liked are the inability to really fine tune the scheduling. Even though you limit the type of appointments per location or provider, it still providers the schedulers with all options even if they are not able to use them. Also, creating the notes can be a bit cumbersome. I think some more "customization" would be helpful.

Alternatives Considered

EpicCare, Intergy and athenaOne

Reasons for Choosing ModMed

Former software was aging out and the providers were ready for a switch.

Switched From

Prime Suite

Reasons for Switching to ModMed

It was specific to our specialty. Many EMR's are built for General or Hospital practice, which does not apply to many specialties.
Charity
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 19/04/2019

The schedule is development's redheaded stepchild

EMA is robust, and the PM system has come a long way in the past few years. Medical documentation is vital (EMA), and the billing portion of the PM has understandably received more attention and more advancement than the scheduling portion. Hence my title.

Pros

Integration with Relatient for appointment confirmations

Cons

The list is long, but here are a few highlights: -Desperately need permissions granularity by user and by appt category (preference group). -When an account is inactivated users are still able to set appts. Not ok. Inactivating an account should disable it from a scheduling perspective. -As an administrator I'm spending way too much time changing the templating daily. The templating is simplistic and clunky as far as edits to existing template. Needs a delete option of "from today's date forward" and not just "delete all" or "delete this single one". -The schedule block feature should be granular; not all users should have that permission. I also need to be able to make recurring blocks, to be able to choose the date in the block window and not have to go to that date in order to block (which if you're in a week view is a PIA), and need to be able to choose a date range. -The schedule grid was not optimally designed for a multi-provider practice that wants to "view all providers here today". Each time I go to the schedule I have to reload every doc. Would like to be able to choose a default schedule that could be user preset that would load with some sort of default button, or at the very least have the system keep the memory sticky of the way I had it loaded when I left that screen. Way too many clicks right now. -Canceling appointments requires too many clicks. -Need a drag and drop feature from one provider's schedule to another.

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Dear Charity - Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. I have personally shared this with our product teams here for review. Our support team will be reaching out directly to you to assist on several of the items noted. - Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager

Replied 23/04/2019

Top ModMed Alternatives

eClinicalWorks

Intelligent Medical Software

Bracken
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 01/02/2024

Support Drops off a cliff after implementation

Pros

Features galore. They really listened in early stages of development and it is evident in the product. We love the ease of use and customization available for our practice.

Cons

Support drops off a cliff after implementation. I put in a ticket 1/29/24 about a critical issue regarding our AR and have not heard a response. I reached out to support, nothing. Reached out to our assigned representative, nothing. Reached out to her supervisor, nothing.

It's really sad that when you are paying so much more money for a product that you get this terrible of customer support. Even with our inferior EMR we had before, we always had a response the next business day. We are at 3 days now.

Disappointed. Ticket #02319526 for the ModMed rep that will inevitably respond to this review.

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're sorry to learn about your experience. We are always looking to improve our product experience and your feedback is helpful.

Replied 06/02/2024
Alan
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/04/2020

Best EHR I’ve used!

Our entire practice runs on ModMed EHR and practice management. This is the best business move I have ever made.

Pros

EMA (Electronic Medical Assistant) by Modernizing Medicine increased my productivity by 3-fold. That is to say, with this product I can see 3X more patients than I could without it. Charting is meticulous and fast, and visits are completed by the time the patient leaves. Frequently updated to give requested features — updates occur about every 2-6 weeks. Tech support is excellent and responsive. Requests for enhancements are responded to rapidly.

Cons

Steep learning curve when starting makes it seem intimidating, but after a few days of use, it becomes automatic. Frequent updates sometimes introduce coding errors that need correction

Reasons for Choosing ModMed

Lack of support

Reasons for Switching to ModMed

Demo revealed that it is designed by smart, efficient end users, not coders.

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Hi Dr. Gorenberg - Thank you so much for the great feedback and sharing your review with others considering our EHR and suite of solutions. - Holly, Clinical Solutions Manager

Replied 05/05/2020
PATTI
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/05/2019

EMA Review

Coding has increased our efficiency and bottom line.

Pros

We have EMA and MODMED PM , which saves us from bridging the systems. The physicians and staff have enjoyed the ease of the system. We are also happy with the continual updates. We have sent in suggestions for change over the past 2 years and many of those have been implemented. The support has been really helpful as well

Cons

The cost of the program and additional modules is substantial.

Alternatives Considered

Nextech EHR & PM

Reasons for Switching to ModMed

Reviews from colleagues and the Dermatology specific program

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Hi Patti - We're happy to hear that using EMA and our PM system have helped bring efficiency to your practice. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!
-Holly A. Clinical Solutions Manager

Replied 02/05/2019
Kelly
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/09/2023

Best Derm EMR

Fantastic product and customer service!

Pros

I love the appointment flow screen and the functionality of having the info for each appt all on the same screen. The EMR is unparalleled for charting in real-time in the patient room. I also love the biopsy log - prior to using EMA, we had a biopsy log on paper and this is so much better!

Cons

ModMed is constantly making updates and improving.

Response from Modernizing Medicine

We're so happy you're enjoying Kelly; thank you for sharing.

Replied 03/10/2023
Samuel
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 24/05/2022

EMA is great, customer service is bad

My overall experience has been bad because I had a bad implementation of new features (PM lite) followed by enforcement of a contract that extended my end date with them even though we cancelled the PM lite. They could have just reverted to my old contract after cancelling the PM lite implementation and I would have been happy.

Pros

user friendly emr system which saved time in clinic

Cons

The software for EMR called EMA is good and user friendly, saves time in clinic. Implementing new features is a nightmare of discovery calls, introductory calls, unusually long timelines for deploying new services. The customer service is terrible which is surprising considering it is priced at a premium level.

Alternatives Considered

Nextech EHR & PM, DrChrono and Practice Fusion

Reasons for Switching to ModMed

Seemed to have the best EMR system
Ronald
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/09/2023

The EMR You need

This was my third EMR and I was thrilled to find it

Pros

The intuitive ease of use of the software makes seeing patients an easy fliw

Cons

The record going down especially when Amazon has a Prime day

Response from Modernizing Medicine

We value your feedback, Ronald! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Replied 05/10/2023
Paul
Paul
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 25/08/2022

This Poorly Designed, User-Unfriendly Software Is Sending My Blood Pressure Skyward

Hateful.

Pros

When you shut it down, it doesn't revive itself like a vampire or zombie.

Cons

Poor customer service, overcomplicated interface, inadequate training, contracted with inept and inadequate clearinghouse, respond to every . . . single . . . request with "Good idea, but we can't do that," what should be single-step processes require multiple screens and users, FLOODING MY INBOX WITH INVITATIONS TO SEMINARS WHERE I'M SUPPOSED TO LEARN HOW TO IMPROVE MY BUSINESS. Obnoxious and intrusive.

Kallie
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/06/2023

Ortho EHR

Overall experience has been very positive. They are very customer oriented and willing to continue to enhance the client and patient experience.

Pros

Ease of use, all in-one platform, options for my clinical staff to function on the iPad it wonderful

Cons

Speed of the product very slow multiple times a week, Analytics, Faxing

Alternatives Considered

Exscribe EHR & PM

Reasons for Choosing ModMed

Did not have great options for orthopedics, not versatile.

Reasons for Switching to ModMed

ModMed purchased Exscribe

Response from Modernizing Medicine

We're so happy you're enjoying Kallie; thank you for sharing.

Replied 23/06/2023
Audrey
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/09/2017

Finally a specialty EMR done right!

Overall excellent software. It might cost more than some of the others but I believe it is worth it and should allow you to see more patients, therefore bring more money in, in the end. I came from working in a derm office using this platform and am now in Plastics and am desperately trying to convert my new practice to EMA Plastics.

Pros

They clearly listen to providers and are constantly making changes to improve their system. It comes with built in counseling, patient education, diagnosis codes, it codes all your office visits/procedures for you, keeps track of global periods, allows before and after image comparison (which is huge for stubborn acne teens), it is user friendly, works across desktops, ipads, iphones, the through the use of protocols, it can make charting go extremely fast!

Cons

There is always room for improvement but overall I can't really say anything that stands out for negatives. It would be nice if some of the standardized features like patient history, patient portal had some customizable features or the ability to rearrange topics for personal workflow, but it's nothing major.

Tracy
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/05/2021

Top Notch Customer Service

Pros

We have been a ModMed EMA and PM customer since 2016 and are very pleased. We have implemented a very streamlined workflow within the office which has created room for more productivity and revenue.

Cons

ModMed is selective on integration with other software but have been very receptive to suggestions and change.

Christa
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 30/01/2023

Prism Clinical Manager

I am overall happy and usually a super user for any dermatology office I work at.

Pros

I have been a big part of the inventory process and with the videos and step by step instructions I was able to implement and teach the staff how to use.

Cons

Some features like the cosmetics need to be more customizable.

Alternatives Considered

NextGen Office
Phil
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/05/2019

Look No Farther

After using other EMR's, EMA was a dream come true. I wouldn't want to run my practice without it. It is the first system that I found better—and it was FAR better—than paper.

Pros

It was quick and easy to use. I completed the training each evening on my own. The training was excellent and I was very ready to use it well the first day I went live.

It got better from there.

The program was essentially never down (maybe 15 minutes once in a year).

The staff loved the program. They also found it easy to learn and efficient to use. They loved the automation features.

Cons

Creating and modifying scheduling templates was complex for our office. Office supply inventory is not yet completed.

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Dr. Mills, thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us and glad the training was beneficial. -Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager

Replied 02/05/2019
Jennifer
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/10/2020

Great product

Overall, they are pretty reliable and their system works really well with our PM system, so win win all around.

Pros

EMA is a great, they keep you informed and are always up to date with all new and important information that pertains to your practice. They are always putting webinars out there so many options for training and knowledge issues.

Cons

When a problem arises, sometimes you cannot reach someone directly and leaving an email is not always convenient. The response is too delayed and very frustrating.

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Dear Jennifer - Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and others considering our EHR system, EMA. -Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager

Replied 13/10/2020
Mark
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/05/2019

EMR Heaven

Pros

A dream product! Makes other EMRs look like a mechanical typewriter
EASY to use, makes charting a joy, fact and accurate. rare down times, made for the provider, billing PM system works well
A providers dream come true
can use on Laptop or IPAD
Simple and easy to customize

Cons

They do not have for primary care yet
It does not read my thoughts yet.

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Hi Mark - We're so glad to hear about your positive experience with our EHR and PM systems. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! -Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager

Replied 02/05/2019
Mark
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/12/2018

Best Dermatology EMR out there!!

We’ve used EMA for about eight years and the PM system for 2 1/2 and have been very pleased.
They continue to evolve the system making it better every year.

Pros

The best EMR for Dermatology on the market (we’ve had three)
Fully integrated PM, Path and clinical in one system

Cons

Meeting meaningful use criteria has made some aspects more cumbersome (a reflection of MU more than ModMed)

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest feedback about our EMR and PM software! Glad you have had a positive experience.

Replied 04/01/2019
Jeff
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/05/2019

EMA vs eCW

Pros

Otolaryngology module specific to our practice is well designed and as changes were needed, they were done in a timely manner

Cons

Initially, the PM side of the software was not as good as our prior system, but over time, the updates and changes have improved it greatly

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Hi Dr. Goodell - Glad you and your practice have benefitted from our EHR and PM system. We greatly appreciate you sharing your feedback! -Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager

Replied 02/05/2019
Kathy
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 31/03/2015

One of the first users

Pros

The software was easy to implement and fairly easy to learn. The ability to learn in the "sandbox" before going live with real patients was extremely helpful. As with all new programs, there is a learning curve, but based on comments from physicians in our area regarding their EMR programs, Modernizing Medicine was the easiest to learn and the least problematic. The support you receive is excellent. There is always someone to talk to about any problems or questions you may have.

Cons

The main problem we have is we kept our practice management system, which required Modernizing Medicine to create a bridge that allows the demographics to transfer from one program to the other. It only takes a minute; however, when the clinic is very busy, that minute seems more like 5. As far as the vendor, I can't think of any negative.

Jeff
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4.5
Reviewed on 21/06/2013

I practice in a dermatology group with five other physicians and one nurse practitioner. I have been using EMA since October of 2011. Prior to EMA, I was using paper charting. My transition was fairly smooth and painless. After training online and by phone, my staff of one medical assistant/scribe, one LPN, and I practiced with a few live patients before going "live" with all my patients. I have been very satisfied with both the web based and iPad version. Support has been excellent. While I cannot say that EMA has made me quicker or more efficient than I was with paper charting, I can say that it has improved the appearance, readability, and accuracy of my charting. In particular, the pathology and cancer logs have greatly enhanced my ability to track biopsy results and to ensure that patients all receive appropriate care in a timely manner. I find the system intuitive and easy to use. Obtaining meaningful use was not difficult. Modernizing Medicine is constantly working to improve EMA and I look forward to the frequent updates. For my practice, the fact that EMA does not have an integrated practice management system was an advantage. When I adopted EMA, other providers in my group did not want to start at the same time. We were able to keep our old PMS (Provision) and avoid interrupting my partners' patient flow while I was transitioning to EMA. Provision has since built a two way bridge with EMA so that patient and billing information flows between the two systems very well. Now, all but one of our practitioners use EMA to some extent. I am very satisfied and recommend EMA to anyone who wants to use a cloud based EMR.

Matthew
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/01/2013

I have been extremely happy with EMA in all aspects since I started using it over 1 year ago. It is a very intuitive and easy to learn system, and I went from paper charts to EMA so I did not have much electronic medical system experience. That being said, it took our group over 1 year of looking at other various dermatology systems, and Modernizing Medicine just really seemed to be the best fit for our group.

The advantages that I find with EMA are numerous, but I will mention a few. First, it is cloud-based, so you do not have to set up an expensive server system or have a lot of internal IT support, which especially if you have multiple offices can get quite costly. Second, you do not have to spend weeks and weeks "setting up" the program - because it was started by a dermatologist it basically knows what most of us typically do and fills it in accordingly from the get go. However, if you do want to change things, it is a very simple thing to do, and it will revert to those changes thereafter unless you tell EMA otherwise. Third, Modernizing Medicine is very customer friendly and they are very good at continuously improving the system and making it even more user friendly. No EHR program will be perfect, but they continue to respond to everyone's comments so they can make the best system possible. There are occasional slow downs in use, but they do not happen very often or long (with the possible exception of after they have done a big updgrade).

Overall, I have been very happy using EMA and would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone considering an electronic health record system.

Gabby
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 03/05/2019

EMA GREAT, PM SIDE NOT GREAT

Pros

I like the EMA side of Modernizing Medicine; Super convenient and easy to use.

Cons

The practice management side has a long ways to go. It is not easy to reverse things in billing ledger, hard to reconcile, and the reports are not easy to run and sort.

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Hi Gabby - We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about EMA and Practice Management (PM). I have shared your notes about PM with our internal team here for review as well. -Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager

Replied 06/05/2019
Alan
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/05/2019

Best for ophthalmology

Excellent support

Pros

Friendly for non scribe practices. Dual platorm, ipad and web.

Cons

No significant issues. Very happy with program.

Response from Modernizing Medicine

Hi Dr. Malouf - Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and those considering our ophthalmology EHR. - Holly A., Clinical Solutions Manager

Replied 20/05/2019
Kent
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 23/01/2017

Horrible customer service

The company does not respond to real problems with the EHR. I have reported billing issues where incorrect modifiers are used for billing with no resolution in OVER A YEAR! The software does not run properly on the most recent version of Firefox which is a browser required to be used by the company. When using this combination repeated delays occur when entering data with endless spinning wheels popping up. I reported the problem after spending months and $$ with my contracted IT people trying to figure out the issue (including swapping out my computer). A month later the issue is still "open" and unresolved.

Pros

It is more user friendly when working than other EHRs I have seen.

Cons

Multiple problems including incorrect coding of modifiers, and incompatibility with more recent versions of Firefox which is the internet platform needed to run the program. Customer service is completely unresponsive when you can get a hold of them and drop issues without resolution. Requires having a full time office person available to try and deal with the company.

171 reviews