Microsoft SharePoint Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Microsoft SharePoint

Microsoft Sharepoint is a knowledge and content management system (CMS). The product also provides collaboration tool capabilities. The solution offers typical CMS features like document and digital asset management, case and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.1

Browse Microsoft SharePoint Reviews

5,185 of 5,185 reviews
Sort by:
Oscar
Oscar
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/08/2022

Great collaboration tool

We have done quite well with the tool.
Little by little we have been using more and more functions.
It has helped a lot with the backups and the rotation of personnel that are in the organization.

Pros

We managed to unify in a single platform the management of business documents.
It also gives us a good amount of space, 1TB in total, independent of storage per user.

Cons

Collaboration with third parties still seems a bit complicated to me, we have had some problems with the access of external collaborators and we have to be aware of the permissions.

Alternatives Considered

Google Workspace

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SharePoint

It was a combination of factors, including the amount of storage and the combined costs. For example, it was more convenient for us to migrate to Microsoft since it included Office 365 licenses and mail with greater capabilities.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

As I mentioned before, it all comes down to capacity and cost. It is important to management to be able to get more for less, at least when we combine all the capabilities of both products together.
Bisi
Bisi
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 17/10/2023

Hats Off To Sharepoint

SharePoint is a robust platform, but it still lacks certain features that could enhance its functionality. Additionally, better native support for offline access and mobile device optimization could make it more versatile. Advanced task management and project planning tools are also features that some users find lacking, desiring more seamless integration. Lastly, stronger data analytics and reporting capabilities would be valuable for organizations seeking more in-depth insights from their SharePoint data

Pros

SharePoint offers numerous benefits, including streamlined collaboration, centralized document management, enhanced security, and powerful integration with Microsoft 365 applications. Its ability to facilitate team communication, content sharing, and version control makes it an essential tool for boosting productivity and efficiency in organizations.

Cons

I would like more intuitive user interfaces and simplified navigation to improve the overall user experience. The absence of intuitive user interfaces and simplified navigation in SharePoint can significantly hinder the user experience. Users may find it challenging to locate and access the features and content they need, leading to frustration and reduced efficiency. The complexity of the platform can result in longer learning curves, requiring more extensive training and support. This lack of user-friendliness can deter adoption and limit the platform's effectiveness in facilitating collaboration and document management.

Alternatives Considered

Huddle and ClickUp

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

It was a senior Management decision based on demonstrations and budget.
Emma
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/05/2024

The best file management tool

Very positive, I would not use anything else for file management.

Pros

It is easy to keep your files synchronised with others in order to collaborate on things all all be able to access the same versions.
You can also invite people to edit your documents or share with them to view only.

Cons

There is nothing I dislike about Microsoft SharePoint.

Top Microsoft SharePoint Alternatives

Alfresco Digital Business Platform

Connie
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 26/06/2018

Works well for the right environment

I know some larger companies rely heavily on Sharepoint, but they can afford to have high-level IT programmers and developers to manage a Sharepoint farm. Our migration from 2007-2010 cost us 5 years ago and in spite of getting some hands-on guidance to redesign some of the data entry forms/types to suit our needs, I wasn't able to pick this application up and run with it like I can with others. Infopath was supposed to help w/the forms, but then I saw MS was dropping it in more recent editions. We got Sharepoint as part of our O365 upgrade, but in trying to set it up as just a collaboration repository/staff intranet site, I realized I was going to have to make a significant investment of time and found support from our O365 provider and our IT managed services provider VERY lacking. We already moved on to another application for managing work orders and projects, so I think there's a much simpler "Intranet" tool out there that will be much easier, cost-effective, and flexible for us to manage for the limited needs we have for it now.

Pros

Part of the Office platform and integrates with other MS apps. Offers somewhat simple setup to build a collaborative space.

Cons

Requires a specialized and expensive vendor to truly manage and ensure security of the environment. We used it for work orders between departments, but alerting was not ideal -- duplicate alerts triggered by setting alerts to fire under different circumstances. We've used SP since about 2007 and I've built lists and integrated it with a database and a couple of 3rd party applications built to work with it. I'm pretty much self-taught in all network and user applications (Windows server/AD, Exchange, and MS power user), but I struggled with trying to set up custom forms and found some of the lists inflexible. For example, my HR "portal" had to be set up as separate lists based on what Sharepoint would allow -- one that allowed me to upload documents, another to manage URL/links to external sites.

Erica
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 01/05/2024

Microsoft SP

Pretty good product for businesses. Would recommend.

Pros

It's user friendly and fairly easy to set-up.

Cons

Outside lile sharing can be problematic at times.

Souleymane
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 31/08/2023

The content management platform.

I have been using Microsoft SharePoint for over a year for document management, file classification, and organization. It has been a very useful software for me as a recruiter.

Pros

I use Microsoft SharePoint for document management. As a recruiter, it helps me manage and organize candidate files and folders with ease. That's why I appreciate the document management aspect.

Cons

There is no functionality that I didn't like because Microsoft SharePoint is very robust and secure, ensuring the protection of my data. Moreover, it supports access rights management, which adds an additional layer of security.

Fernando
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 24/11/2023

Not complet

It must improve in file explorer option. As a Microsoft product, I think they will improve in managements files.

Pros

Fast search files, great store option in cloud

Cons

Difficult to navegate on the platform. Maybe, a good option will be use a file explorer like in windows system.

Alternatives Considered

Dropbox Business and Google Drive

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Because it's Microsoft and I consider is the best platform for allocated files and data in cloud system.
Liam
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/05/2024

Straight forward simple solution

Pros

Certain amount of storage as part of exisiting licensing. Offers a familiar experience for employees to use.

Cons

Gets very expensive when you require more storage for files. Could use more features for document management. Also better features for documentation/ KB articles.

Syed
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/05/2024

Friendly Content Management with SharePoint

Pros

Easy to install, manage and administer.

Cons

Frequent patching and updates. Admins need to be up skilled.

Hannah
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 08/05/2024

Practicality Embodied

Pros

Sharepoint is a practical and somewhat easy-to-use tool. There are a variety of features and most companies can use this tool, for little expense, effectively.

Cons

Sharepoint doest have all the bells and whistles and can feel outdated.

Peter
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 09/10/2019

Sharepoint as a secure file sync and share platform

I have personally had mix results. We ultimately made the decision because of the blended Office 365 costs, reducing our FSS-specific contract with a 3rd party vendor, who happened to be a leader in the space and had a far richer UX.

Pros

I like the integration with the microsoft cloud and the ability to share and concurrently edit from shared, sharepoint websites we use to share with internal and external stakeholders.

Cons

It seems like security is a big concern and user experience is not up to par with other FSS solutions like Box/Dropbox.

Alternatives Considered

Box

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SharePoint

The switch was made predominately due to budget. The Microsoft 365 Enterprise package was able to hide the actual cost of FSS, which was an additional line item for the Box platform. It made it almost impossible to stay with Box.

Switched From

Box

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

total cost of ownership (vs. using multiple providers).
Patric
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/10/2020

Document Management and more

We use it as our intranet, to share information about projects, tasks, opporunities or rather static content to display information about various departments.
We have a lot of customers who use it mainly as a document management system or also as a intranet solution. Especially the SharePoint Online version is very easy to adapt and has great integration with Microsoft 365.

Pros

Offers a ton of features, you don't have to use all of them but they are there if you need them. It can be used for document management (DMS) or even CMS for intranet purposes. It has a powerful search engine, you can manage complex permission scenarios, there is also the possibility to manage records, litigation holds, taxonomies, and more and more.
With the new modern UI users can also even more simply edit pages, place web parts on them to display different content like, text, images, videos, news feeds, document libraries, lists etc.
If you don't go the on-premise but the SharePoint Online route, you can save yourself the hassle of installing it on your own and have a very easy access to a powerful tool for collaboration or to simply display information.

Cons

Has some kind of a learning courve. Can be complex, especially if you want to take it to the next level and start to customize it. On-premise version is rather expensive and needs an IT professional to set up and also it should run on multiple servers and also MSSQL which adds to the license cost.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Integration into existing Microsoft environment/Active Directory. Ease of use. Availability.
Jill
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 02/02/2022

A Powerful, Robust Program That Helps Me "Futureproof" My Business

This is the second business where I've deployed Microsoft SharePoint. I find comfort in knowing that the features, while sometimes complicated, are robust enough to grow and adapt with the changing business environment. Overall, I have more faith in the program than I do with other programs that looks similar on the surface. Despite frustration in trying to learn about new features and encouraging employee "buy in" for the program, I am overall satisfied with the product.

Pros

The cost is relatively low for SharePoint when combined with Teams and other Microsoft applications. The integration across users, platforms, and programs is extremely useful in a modern-day business environment. I know that there are more features than I can imagine, and that I've barely scratched the surface of the program. This means I can count on it to always have features that will expand with my business's needs.

Cons

Features I like the least: difficult to learn how to deploy its robust features without seeking professional consultation. Hard to share and incorporate our system with users outside of the organization; this occasionally causes confusion.

Alternatives Considered

Dropbox Business and Google Docs

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SharePoint

Dropbox was not as cost effective or feature-rich as I knew SharePoint could be

Switched From

Dropbox Business

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

The alternative products only provided one or two features that I wanted, and SharePoint provided extensively more than I could imagine.
Dawn
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/06/2022

Great value, Somewhat difficult implementation

I love the ability to store documents in different folders, and the idea of sharing folder-related information is appealing if an organization has the time and expertise to be able to use that feature. Even though it's been tough getting all our staff acclimated, it has been a really good, cost-effective product for our non-profit org.

Pros

This software has a great price for non-profits orgs, and has some pretty incredible, useful features. However, those features are only good if the org's staff is willing to invest time into learning to use them.

Cons

The emails that are sent to the administrators with upcoming changes are written to an IT audience. For a small organization that may not have the staff with that expertise or experience, they are difficult to understand. I really wish Microsoft emails could be understood by a larger audience.

Alternatives Considered

Dropbox Business

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SharePoint

We wanted to make sure we wouldn't lose documents and didn't want to use complicated methods to access an on-site server while we were off-site.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Cost was lower, and there were multiple additional features that were appealing, such as Teams.
Pawan
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/01/2023

"Streamlining team productivity with Microsoft SharePoint: An in-depth review"

Microsoft SharePoint is an incredibly powerful and versatile tool for team collaboration and project management. It provides a central location for the organization and sharing of files, documents, and information, making it easy for team members to access and work on projects together. The task management and email management features are also very helpful in improving productivity and accountability within a team. Additionally, it allows for easy coordination of tasks and projects, making it an efficient tool for managing team workflows. The interface is easy to navigate and the ability to integrate with other third-party software makes it even more versatile. It's a great tool for businesses and organizations of all sizes and across all industries.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint is widely used and popular for its ability to improve collaboration and communication within teams. It allows for the organisation and sharing of files, documents and information in a central location, making it easy for team members to access and work on projects together. It also offers task management and email management features which improves productivity and accountability within a team. Additionally, it allows for easy coordination of tasks and projects, making it an efficient tool for managing team workflows.

Cons

Some users may find that Microsoft SharePoint can be complex and overwhelming to navigate, especially for those who are not familiar with its features and functionality. It also requires a good amount of training to be able to fully utilize its capabilities. Additionally, for those who are not using the enterprise version, the cost may be a concern as it may be considered as expensive. Furthermore, some users may experience difficulties in integrating it with other third-party software.

Alternatives Considered

Trello and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Microsoft SharePoint is often chosen over alternative products because of its wide range of features and capabilities. It is a comprehensive collaboration and project management tool that allows for the organization and sharing of files, documents, and information in a central location. It also offers task management and email management features which improves productivity and accountability within a team. Additionally, it allows for easy coordination of tasks and projects, making it an efficient tool for managing team workflows. Microsoft SharePoint is also known for its integration capabilities with other Microsoft products, such as Office Suite and other third-party software which makes it a great option for organizations already using Microsoft products. Furthermore, it is considered more secure than the alternatives and with its enterprise version, it offers a lot more features and functionalities than the alternatives.
Nhlanhla
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/06/2023

Enhance Workflows with Microsoft SharePoint

While SharePoint offers a robust set of features, some users may find certain customisation options and advanced workflows rather complex. Integration with non-Microsoft systems can require additional effort and technical expertise, depending on the specific requirements of existing business processes.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint offers impactful collaboration tools, comprehensive content management, and seamless project tracking. While there is a learning curve, the platform provides user-friendly interfaces. Integration with existing processes varies, with smooth integration with Microsoft tools but requiring effort for non-Microsoft systems. SharePoint enhances productivity and teamwork in organisations.

Cons

While SharePoint is a robust platform, some users may desire more advanced customisation options, improved user interface for certain tasks, and enhanced integration with non-Microsoft systems to further enhance flexibility and ease of use. But I am ok with features available

Andrew
Andrew
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 04/11/2018

Sharepoint is a frustrating experience for web novices and seasoned web designers alike

We are running a college-level web presence with roughly 200 websites, consisting of both internal and external communications. This system allows us to quickly do basic sites, but does not have the flexibility we need to do more custom websites efficiently.

Pros

SharePoint is at its best when used as as a CMS for intranet (internal) websites. I appreciate the ease with which you can launch an out of the box site with no frills and easily start uploading documents and granting user permissions to access those documents. The GUI interface also makes it somewhat approachable for individuals with little coding experience.

Cons

It's when you want to do more than the basics with SharePoint that the many flaws start cropping up. It is not a very scalable system to create public facing websites with. In its attempts to be approachable to both coders and end users, I feel that it alienates both by inhabiting an awkward and unintuitive middle ground. The HTML/CSS (not to mention Javascript) editing in page is clunky and barebones, while the controls for adding different content types via web parts might make some sense to those with a technical background, but seem nonsensical to the less technically inclined. Training content contributors and interns has proven difficult, as the WYSIWYG editors in SharePoint cause the creation of countless <span> and <div> tags and messy inline CSS styles, which eventually muddy the code up so much that editing page content becomes next to impossible, and it becomes necessary to redo the page from scratch. After a dozen or so edits to a clean page consisting of only a few paragraphs, headers, and images, the code has been modified by SharePoint to include literally 1000s of lines of code that are mostly made up of the aforementioned tags. This junk code can be deleted manually, but it is a huge waste of time.

Finally, the fact that anonymous users can't even download office documents on a public facing website is perplexing and frustrating. Since SharePoint is a Microsoft product, you'd think there'd be more flexibility in how Microsoft document formats are handled, no

Shikha
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/04/2019

Proficient tool for storing and sharing the documents

My overall experience with Microsoft has been good so far. I am sure there is still so much to learn about this application and I am still discovering new things occasionally. It is suitable if you are looking to create a cloud-based repository of documents and it works efficiently if the IT support team of your company set it up perfectly and they keep updating it steadily.

Pros

SharePoint is the cloud-based tool, which facilitates the storage, sharing, accessing, and managing the files from any location/device using centralized location link. It is a flexible platform and can be implemented and managed in the way you like it.
We have been using this software in our company for almost 3 years now and it is extremely compatible with our needs. It helps in creating a common repository of documents, which can be accessed by multiple users/devices. It works well within groups where the permission to access, edit is given by the primary user. It is one of the best software to manage the confidential information in a controlled and restrictive way. There is an option to chat within the group as well.
All files can be added to library by simple step of drag and drop. It has abundant features to choose from and you can tailor them as per your business needs. Since it is cloud based, it provides inter and intra-departmental cooperation creating a perfect collaborative environment for a small organization.

Cons

One has to be experienced with Microsoft products in order to run this smoothly else, it could be little complicated to learn in the initiate phase. Secondly, it could be expensive than the other products in the market however it provides good features but if you are looking for economical solution, you should research more before buying this. If someone authorized edits something in a document, it becomes difficult to locate where the correction has been made. Though it shows the real-time notification I someone is editing but if you try to locate for the past corrections, it is not easy to find out.

Daniel
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/04/2021

Microsoft Sharepoint: The Ultimate Sharing software

Overall, I think that most companies can benefit from Sharepoint, especially if they already use Microsoft software which is highly likely. It streamlines everyone’s workflows and allows smooth collaboration between team members. It creates a space for enterprise document storage and communication.

Pros

In my opinion, Microsoft Sharepoint is one of the ways Microsoft proves that it is a step ahead of other software companies. Microsoft Sharepoint is a powerful but versatile combination of document, workflow, team and collaboration management softwares, which is an incredible asset for any company. There are many things that Sharepoint does right. The user interface has just the right of complexity to include many features while still being rather easy to learn. There are also industry leading features like the ability to share very large files with everyone, which really makes life a lot easier. The file upload/download times are also comparatively shorter than other softwares which I love. There are also team management features like adding people to a project and giving them permissions and roles, etc. Obviously as this is a Microsoft app, this integrates with all other Microsoft software smoothly and effortlessly, which is nice.

Cons

Sharepoint is really hard to set up at first, especially if you are storing files locally and will require someone experienced to fully set up. The price is also quite high per user, but this is completely worth it in my opinion. It also takes a while to realise the full potential of Sharepoint as there are a few features that are hard to find.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 09/11/2021

Excellent business collaborative document management platform

Our project is using Microsoft SharePoint for long years (and my previous project in earlier organization too!) and felt comfortable using this product which includes file versioning, sharing across teams, calendar/task sharing, review documents online, integration with multiple Microsoft products like Microsoft 365, Microsoft teams, Microsoft PowerBI, Microsoft Project for project management, Microsoft Visio for designers, Microsoft OneNote that enhances the data security with protected encryption via 2-factor authentication methods. Also our team made different customization on share point server which comprises visual effects of colors, fonts, graphic modes, Power automate workflow modes (that saved major cost to our project). We used Microsoft One drive, Microsoft Teams to share project documents in effective manner.

Pros

Flexible to use across any user or large group in the organization, specially in company intranet environment. It allows social networking as well to collaborate across different user groups like developers, designers, business analysts. According to business needs, it can be customized to view the specific content in the design. In terms of project management, it allows to share user calendars, multiple task notes and project trackers. Consolidation of internet and intranet collaboration of sites make the business users easy to use. SharePoint server allows programmers to develop API jobs to automate the day to day business functionalities that reduces the cost to entire organization. Centralized administration allows hassle free system settings, easy work flow navigation settings, effective back up and restoration of data incase of data corruption or manual deletion of data by mistake. The user productivity will get increased through real time collaboration that includes document versioning that avoids duplicate files, cloud support, document notification for managing different file system types.

Cons

The ROI is pretty average compared with other document management products in the market. Not available to preview the document files. The URL keeps with folder names so it annoys when user has long file folder/file names on it. Training aid is mandatorily needed to do more administration settings.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 13/01/2022

The everything tool that is hard to describe

We began our journey to online collaboration looking for a one-to-one replacement of our onsite file server. As Office365 has grown and we as well our understanding of the use of tools like distribution groups grew into Office 365 groups and now Teams to support the functions of those groups and underneath each of those was Sharepoint acting as the trunk from which those branches of collaboration have stemmed. Even as we have only basically touched on the capbility for the pages within the sharepoint site to act as a more robust website, we are still only using those as information to direct people the conversation locations and document libraries.

Pros

Essentially everything about Office 365 is wrapped around the core of Sharepoint online. As Microsoft began investing in their online offerings they used this existing structure for an intranet to allow groups to collaborate on materials to work across the internet rather than just across the office. This time-tested, monolithic system isn't fast and flashy, but it is capable if you spend the time learning how to achieve your outcomes within its constraints.
In a time where the consumer-focused ease of use and design first function second products offer a slick entry point to productivity and collaboration, once you start interacting with systems deeper and need access controls, audit trails, backups, and the things that established companies demand in order to operate you quickly begin to have an appreciation for the capability of Sharepoint as a legacy system that has people working on it to make sure it evolves to stand the test of time.

Cons

Its feature richness is a benefit and a challenge as it is complex to learn all of the capabilities and how to manage them.

Ute
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 28/04/2022

SharePoint is the correct name for this solution!

I used SharePoint over several years and saw its evolution and its strengths. I was a little shocked, when the external websites were given up, because I liked the same design principles for Intranet end internet. Now as Teams is the „Eier legende WollMilchSau“ German Word for „can do it all“, I see, that the focus is gone from SharePoint over to Teams and every AddOn is created for Teams, no more SharePoint.

Pros

After a period of time to get used to the product, you find every day new features to improve your Workflows. If you have only been used before to files and folders, you see how easy it can be, to find the file your worked last on, to keep track of changes and versions without renaming files and storing them in different folders. You see, when someone edits something in the same document and you can comment on their changes. Cooperation at its best. By searching older files or archiving files, that are no longer needed, you keep track of what is happening in your company. You can create structures for new employees, to find their way through existing structures. Explain the way of working together. You can have many intern devices or bring your own device and with one single login, you can work immediately on all those machines.

Cons

The learning curve needs to be planned in advance, because the way of working does not change on its own. People who never experienced all the new possibilities will not start to use them, if not shown, with a clear structure and policies from the beginning onwards. The need for an experienced instructor is clear especially in the installation and configuration phase. Because the IT department needs to be involved as well as the head of each department. The instructor has to ask the right questions, to get to know the existing way of working and to advice for the new way of working and that implementation for it.

Ck
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/09/2022

A robust collaboration platform

Pros

The best thing about Sharepoint is how well it integrates, not just with Microsoft products like Office 365, Teams, AD, OneDrive, etc. but also with 3rd party tools like SAP, Adobe, Jira, etc. I really like the fact that it encourages live collaboration, especially when used with Office 365 to edit the same documents by multiple people. The content management functionality is also top-notch. It's effortless to customize and modify quickly. From the security standpoint, it has all the bells and whistles of other Microsoft products, like MFA, password policies, at rest and in-flight encryptions, etc.

Cons

As someone who had the misfortune of setting it up, Sharepoint migration and setup can be a daunting and complicated task. You must do extensive research and/or work with Microsoft partners to configure it. Otherwise, you are bound to run into issues, which can be very challenging to troubleshoot. However, if done right, it results in a very powerful tool.

The other thing to be mindful of is the cost. Both the licensing and the support can be expensive.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/08/2021

Exceptional Platform for Team Collaboration and Content Storage

My overall experience with SharePoint has been great, as I have been able to realize numerous benefits including, but not limited to, the ability to work with teammates on numerous assignments in real-time, the ability to store files of various formats on the platform, and the ability to share the aforementioned files directly from the platform via email with ease. Overall, I offer high praise for this service and would undoubtedly recommend others to give it a try as well as it is well worth it.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the fact that it allows for real-time collaboration on a number of Microsoft Office products on any web browser as long as you are connected to the internet. I find the amount of tools and resources offered by SharePoint to be very vast, even more so than some of its competitors, which on some occasions charge more for their services than does SharePoint. I also like the fact that documents can be worked on and accessed on virtually any device, whether it be a smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop. This allows for everyone on a team to participate on projects or assignments regardless of their device or operating system preferences.

Cons

What I like least about this software has nothing to do with the features or functionalities associated with SharePoint, which I find to be great, but rather has to do with its relatively lackluster appeal to the general public, which seems to be somewhat attracted more to its competitors. As a result, when new members join SharePoint, I have noticed that it takes them a decent amount of time to become acquainted with the service, which might take time away from focusing all attention towards the actual assignments that need to be worked on and completed. Depending on the workload of a company, this may or may not be a bit deal, but in the case that it is, some compromises might need to be made on deadlines for certain projects/assignments to make some extra time for getting used to SharePoint.

Anilkumar
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/06/2017

Microsoft SharePoint CMS for Managing content and documents of organization

If you are small organization, always prefer SharePoint Online services and SharePoint on-premise is recommended for big organization usually.

Pros

1. Since it is Microsoft product, Area of development and support is very vast and also accepted globally.
2. Guidelines for installing and configuring SharePoint is very easy to compare to other CMS available in the market.
3. From performance and security point of view, SharePoint is the best product for any organization.
4.Can be easily integrated with other Microsoft product such as Outlook, Azure, Yammer, Office, and PowerBI etc.
5. SharePoint also has Foundation version (till SharePoint 2013) for free to target smaller organization.
6. With the release of SharePoint Online on cloud, It provides more flexibility and less IT team work for any organization, especially for a smaller organization.

Cons

1. Maintaining SharePoint on-premises for smaller organisation becomes very difficult and costly because it requires more technical support.
2.SharePoint may have added customization options for those who wants to implement intranet system, Microsoft actually discourages this from happening. The ease of customization with custom designs, especially from a home page perspective, can help businesses better tailor their intranet experience to the individual workers.
3. To work SharePoint search efficiently, Lots of internal customization is needed.
4. Since for SharePoint online, Microsoft is maintaining server, which ends in providing less scope for customizing.
5.Migration from old SharePoint version to new is little complex and requires lots of efforts

5,185 reviews