User Reviews Overview

About EpicCare EMR

Epic Systems’ EpicCare is an electronic medical recording (EMR) solution for large hospitals and healthcare systems, certified for Meaningful Use Stages 1 and 2. EpicCare is developed, implemented and supported by an in-house...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.2

Browse EpicCare EMR Reviews

294 of 294 reviews
Sort by:
Darpan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/11/2021

Impressed with tool

Love it!

Pros

Great ehr tool a hospital should have. Love features and capabilities.

Cons

Resources are not available easily. You need to be associated with a organization using it in order to get it’s materials.

Naja
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/05/2022

EPIC EMR User friend medical records system

In general epicure EMR patient health information medical record system is a great tool to integrate into large hospital systems. Especially for streamlined and easy to use integration of an medical record system. In addition because it has been used broadly by many large healthcare systems many people are trained on how to use epic and in addition they are able to translate their knowledge of other electronic medical record systems to the use of EpicCare system

Pros

In general some of the pros about the software is that it is very easy to use and it is very accessible from anywhere as long as you have an account. In addition allows you to access your patients medical records from a secure browser and system from remote locations. In addition it’s very easy to explore specific patient information as needed for data purposes.

Cons

The things that I like least about the software are that you do have to go through extensive training to be permitted to utilize the system. Although I do understand from the perspective of integration of patient health information it’s very important that users are knowledgeable on how to properly use the system.

Bei
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 03/05/2022

The worst end

It’s not designed to help pts. It’s designed to maximize billing .

Pros

Care everywhere helps with looking at info from other institutions

Cons

The implementation of this software at our hospital was a disaster. Orders were incorrect . Some medications were 10x the dose. There were no epic super users nearby. Because orders were built incorrectly, a pharmacist could change an order of mine without my cosignature and it was an erroneous change that could have resulted in a patient death. There is no quality control with the rollout . Many of the treatment plans were incorrect so you have to place a ticket for everything. The training was poor so most people don’t know how to use it so you have to change everything . The problem list takes forever to clean up. There are alerts that go off constantly, many of which are incorrect. You can be in the middle of an order and an alert pops up. There are hundreds of canceled orders that aren’t really canceled . Same with overdue orders. I mean there is no way for a human to distinguish the important stuff from the noise . The inbasket is horrible to use because you can’t include your nurse or scheduler on the same message as your pt and because it’s flooded with messages. Your phone constantly goes off in the middle of the night with critical alerts even though a nocturnist is in the hospital and can actually address these issues. But you are the one being woken up. Unfortunately because epic has a monopoly and because hospital administrators who don’t have to use this make all the decisions, they chose this software because it maximizes billing . It is demoralizing .

Top EpicCare EMR Alternatives

Allscripts Practice Management

Allscripts Professional EHR

MEDITECH Expanse

Julie
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/10/2022

EPIC for charting

Pros

I think this is pretty user friendly once you get the hang of it. Offers a lot of different ways to view the patient's medical chart which provides a lot of great information to the provider.

Cons

There are so many tabs and tool bars which makes it difficult to find things at times. Definitely need ongoing training to find everything I need.

Henry
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 17/10/2017

EpicCare EMR helps us better care our patients

With EpicCare, clinics can streamline their workflows using personalized screens, dashboards and specialty applications. The application's finance module allows clinics to track payments, bills and invoices. EpicCare is a mobile-ready solution, allowing both doctors and patients to access information on their Apple devices.

Pros

I love patient portal and e-prescribing features which helps us meet the Meaningful Use Stage 2 requirements. The tool also supports telemedicine options that allow our doctors to communicate with patients via a video platform and offers mobile and tablet functionality. EpicCare MyChart allows patients to view medical information, message doctors, schedule appointments and manage medical history via a personalized portal.

Cons

The health maintenance options could be better, and easier to see and mark as complete. Also out would be easier if when you marked something got a preference it wouldn't add a copy to the main menu. Upgrade to EPIC 2017 is a fight.

Amy
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2022

EPIC a great EMR experience

Epic EMR makes charting easier. There is integration across health systems which allows for better continuity of care.

Pros

Epic allows you to customize patient charting. They use smart keys to be able to fill in regularly used items in charting. They help you put codes in for billing. EPIC is completely can be customized which is great for things like mental health intakes.

Cons

Some of the billing codes are confusing to use. For example billing for an in office injection has been a challenge with EPIC.

Shannon
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/10/2022

Harder to learn but full of useful features

Pros

The integration of medical records from outside facilities that use the same software is the best part about epic. Patients many times go to other facilities and typically don’t bring those records with them. Being able to view outside labs, notes, and results at the click of a button is life saving.

Cons

Sometimes there are too many features. If there was a way to “opt out” of certain features it would help to declutter and focus.

Aaron
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 09/07/2022

Epic for patient care

Pros

Many features and high functionality once you know how to use it, possibility to customize

Cons

Difficult to learn, steep learning curve, too many clicks often to complete a task, buttons not placed in logical places

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/10/2022

EpicCars EMar Review

Great! Would recommend!

Pros

It is very easy to use! I am able to assess residents and find information efficiently.

Cons

I’m curious if I can search notes by department. I have not tried to figure this out though.

Danielle
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/10/2022

Great software

Pros

Epic is user friendly and a great tool to coordinate care with other providers

Cons

i can’t really think of any cons with epic

Nick
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/07/2019

The BEST EMR out there

Having used another EMR (in addition to paper charting), this is by far the best product out there. Navigating different clinical unit censuses and consult lists is simple (and you can customize what information is listed within these lists). Within the medical record, tabs make it easy to navigate between lab results, demographic information, and chart notes. It is quick and easy to do a chart review and, in fact, Epic denotes which notes are new since your last review of a patient's chart, so you don't have to spend time looking for new information. Flowsheets, templates, and free-text options make it easy to format information in the way that is appropriate for you or your department's practice. Flowsheets can also be tied to a particular note (and can be easily imported) so that you can see both from one screen. SmartTexts can also be created for phrases or data you use frequently so that you can utilize a shortcut rather than typing those things repeatedly. Reports can easily be created to pull data from patient lists and Epic does a great job customizing layouts that are best for your particular organization.

Pros

Best layout, easy to navigate, quick documentation

Cons

Epic is consistently working on new functionalities and layouts, and sometimes the implementation of new things with the EMR becomes laborious to relearn when there is little added benefit.

MJ
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/03/2021

Complete Medical Medical Overview of the Patient

I like using this software as the roadmap for the entire healthcare institution. This section is not large enough to write about the expansive overview of the healthcare web capability that EpicCare EMR provides for our institution. It is a great evolving product that evolves as healthcare styles evolves.

Pros

It is easy to use, once you get the appropriate training and practice. I like that is a great investigative tool to search for timelines in the past. It is the one stop shop for all patient complete history, and it is interchangeable with other institutions with the same software. Tip top secure capability and traceable history of patient profile access. Patient linked via MyChart gets a sense of autonomy to manage appointments, communicate with healthcare team and review medical notes.

Cons

It is very busy due to all tiers embedded in the software based on access levels, however, you can get to pic what you choose to see based on your personal workload, or access needed. Ample training is needed and repetitive practice for the non-tech savvy.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 31/10/2018

Epic review

Overall- I think it helps me deliver safe care to my patients. This platform allows me to accurately chart and organize my day to best serve the population in my hospital.

Pros

It allows for safe medication administration- links the drug info. right there with the medication and allows for user friendly charting. Plenty of flowsheets to chose from. Information that isn't helpful can be completed or hidden. Integrates with our devices to pull in vital signs and information about the patient. Also allows for communication between the interdisciplinary team connecting each other through messaging and allowing for contact information. There are a few ways to get to the same spot and I find the navigators are helpful.

Cons

Some charting/flowsheets are a bit redundant. Also, sometimes when flowsheets or sections of charting are hidden- it can be hard to find specifically where to reactivate it. I think it takes a while to get the right custom EPIC for your institution in place so there are tons of upgrades and learning curves with new versions.

Megan
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/05/2020

once you learn all the shortcuts, life couldn't be easier

a much more advanced EMR than many of the others out there and has so much potential to make the day to day easier.

Pros

EPIC is a complex EMR with lots of functionality and as annoying as that can be sometimes, it also makes it very helpful. I love the aesthetics of the program becasue that adds to the ease of use, I love the ability to personalize and filter to make aspects of what is impotant to you more easily accessible, and I love that it tends to translate better between hospital systems than other EMRs I've worked with.

Cons

there's a lot to this program so it takes a while to parse through and figure out what's important and what's superfluous. there's also no easy handbook for all the shortcuts and tips and tricks so a lot of what makes this program easy comes from word of mouth or programming settings that others figured out and have been passed down.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/04/2019

Epic Review

Overall, I like Epic and think that it makes ordering and charting things easy when you make them into pre-programmed lists.

Pros

I like that you are easily able to chart on patients, you can make preset templates for charting and can preset order sets, and you are able to do everything electronically, including connecting to the PACs system and requesting documentation from other companies. You are also able to switch between inpatient and outpatient settings easily. Dragon is very compatible with this system.

Cons

I dislike that the EPIC system can vary depending on different healthcare setups, and can cost a lot. Epic can also take a while to catch on to, depending on how well you know computers. Finally, it can sometimes be hard to find different patients and patient lists on the inpatient systems if your healthcare system is large.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/08/2019

The Biggest Tool Used in Healthcare Today!

My overall experience with EPIC has been good after I learned how to use it. While it's definitely not the easiest tool in the world to use, it's without a doubt highly advanced and still great.

Pros

What I really like about EPIC is truly how popular it has become and the way it has become a standardized part of healthcare. Almost every medical facility and hospital use this for patient management and what I really like are that because it's so popular, I can learn EPIC and can expect to continue to use this regardless of which healthcare facility I work in or am I a part of.

Cons

What I dislike about EPIC is that it is definitely not simple to use and there is a lot of learning required. In fact, it is somewhat intense and even required for me to attend multiple days of training sponsored by my workplace to learn how to use this.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/09/2018

Oh so easy to use

Pros

Being both a builder and a user of several ehrs I do believe that this product is is very user-friendly. I am in a nurse informaticist. And the features and functionality available truly help arcare providers be able to care for and document the care they give.

Cons

I do believe there are several kinds and maybe it's just with what has happened within our organization but there is an ability to have too many variations in documentation which leads to discrepancy. Additionally from what I understand from the AC and am there is not a good way to search for these discrepancies in the system once they are built. The AC and am's that are sent to support future go lives as in our instance where we added on 14 new hospitals they did not have the level of experience to support our organization.

Kyoko
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/09/2019

I am looking forward to having improved Epic version

Please see above

Pros

Its connected to the medical records/test results done in other places through care everywhere and crisp.
It's EMR-much much better and safer than hand written medical records.

Cons

It is not connected to JH ambra images and report.
Too many icons/tabs on the page, and it is difficult to navigate.
Call center messages under In-Basket messages; very difficult to see who is writing what in a chronological order. I rather would like the option deleted.
I can't review the patients' charts with Haiku.
Once "documentation" is open by mistake, I have to type in "opened by error" or something similar (which gets recorded permanently unnecessarily), otherwise, it remains under my In basket messages as incomplete chart for good.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2018

Epic EMR Review

Overall, my favorite EMR system. I have no complaints about it and everyone loves it.

Pros

I LOVE Epic. In fact, everyone in my hospital loves Epic and we are actually shifting towards this system very soon. The reason is because there's less unnecessary clicking. Doctors HATE clicking. When you are in clinic with a patient, you want to write a note as quickly as you can because the focus is on the patient, not the computer. Epic minimizes that by organizing everything in a logical order (the tabs are great), and making the note itself like a "Word" document where you can free-text. Prescribing is a breeze and the tech support is excellent.

Cons

Some functions can be difficult to find and training takes two days at our hospital.

Tim
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/01/2019

The Title Says It All: EPIC

I love the layout, the cost is astronomical, but the payoff for simplicity is even higher!

Pros

The EHR system Epic is not only one of the most diverse, but also among the most comprehensive EMR systems I've worked with to date. As an analyst, I help to build this system to custom fit for my health network, which is very easy, and made easier by the support we get from the Epic system itself!

Cons

Price point is always a touchy subject with Epic. You really need to be able to afford it while getting the accommodations to meets your systems' requirements. The biggest con is that Epic relies on you going to their standard format, meaning less customization.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/10/2019

Helpful platform that makes coordination of care easier

Pros

This software has a format that is rather straightforward with the new layout with tab sections for the clinician interface. Its is also to keep a track of clinical work that needs to be completed. Care everywhere function has helped so much with coordination of care and continuity. It has been instrumental in providing improved care.
There is also an inpatient version that my institution will be great for my institution when implement as there will be seamless uniformity between outpatient and inpatient.

Cons

I would like to for EPIC to develop additional ways that clinicians to develop their own unique smartphases based on their speciality. It seems cumbersome at this time. Any additional ways to improve clinical efficacy will be help

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2018

Amazing EMR with incredible functionality, if you know where to look

Pros

Epic is intense--it can house nearly any data point you want to throw at it. The capacity of information in the charts is wonderful. The best feature, I think, is the depth of the "dot phrases," they cut your note taking time into a fraction. The customer support is wonderful, quick, helpful and efficient. We are big proponents for Epic and the pros certainly outweigh the cons.

Cons

Epic is a great tool but it's not always easy find what you're looking for--you need to be in the right "context" and working through the chart in a specific way to find certain things.

Karlie
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/07/2019

Epic EMR for everyday use

I have used Epic on both the clinical side and admin side. There are so many reports that are available to help quality control, business management, and patient care.

Pros

There are so many features and shortcuts within Epic. I really like and utilize all of keyboard shortcuts to navigate between the clinical schedule, registration tab, and orders screens.

Cons

Wish that it would allow you to keep more than 4 open patients at a time. Don't need unlimited, or even think that would be a good idea for that matter, however I think adding a few would be a great addition.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 21/07/2019

EpicCare is Great!

Pros

I've been using EpicCare for four years. I love it. It is widely used in the state I work. It is very easy to use, and they are always updating. Epic now makes it easy to connect health EMRs throughout different hospitals and clinics.

Cons

Sometimes this software is difficult to start on computers. I will be in a patient's room and Epic won't start or it will take a long time. This gets very frustrating when I need to log into the chart to give patient meds or look something up in the room.

Zacharia
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/02/2022

Epic is the gold standard in EMR / EHR for hospitals and healthcare systems

I've come across EpicCare EMR in so many specialty hospital care settings. It's nearly always been a pleasure to work with healthcare systems that directly use Epic.

Pros

It's all inclusive. Epic has a module for virtually every medical and healthcare related specialty, function, and revenue-cycle driven procedure. I like that some of the best academic medical centers and healthcare systems in the US use Epic.

Cons

Epic is very very expensive to implement, and it can be overwhelming for health systems to implement all at once.

294 reviews