EpicCare Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About EpicCare

Epic Systems’ EpicCare is an electronic medical recording (EMR) solution for large hospitals and healthcare systems, certified for Meaningful Use Stages 1 and 2. EpicCare is developed, implemented and supported by an in-house...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.2

Browse EpicCare Reviews

366 of 366 reviews
Sort by:
Kyle
Kyle
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/12/2018

Possibilities are unlimited

I have been using EpicCare EMR for over 2 years not and there isn't much bad i can say about it. Compared to most other EMR software out there it is far ahead of its competition. It's simplistic yet versatile design has made everyday challenges much easier for both healthcare employees and its patients.

Pros

Epic is extremely versatile in its ability to provide a lot of functions to its users in the healthcare settings. With its new updates setting up orders for patients have never been easier. From medication reconciliation to appointment scheduling to its organization of encounters and medical history, there isn't much epic cannot due.

Cons

Customer support/service is not very receptive to user friendly changes that are requested when it comes to simple tasks that could be made easier by the input of a button or checkbox in certain areas.

Downtime for service is can also be problematic if it needs to be performed during work hours which has happened a few times.

Renee
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 31/07/2019

Epic is good!

What our practice is solving with Epic is the hunt for medical records and patient information. The switch has made it so we are more efficient with our patient care.

Pros

I like the ease of use. Everything is pretty self explanatory and using the software can cut down on time spent doing any one task. In our practice, we converted to share the EHR system with a local hospital and its practices, cutting down on any type of hunt for medical records

Cons

Yes, there is more than one way to do everything, but the process in which to get from point A to point B can be frustrating and long. A lot of clicking and doing things you may have already done before. If you know how to get around it, it can be easy, but those who struggle with technology might not find it as easy.

Asghar
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 14/06/2023

Suboptimal at best

see above.

Pros

Epic's main benefit is the large number of health systems that use it, which makes cross-communication possible. Epic does limit this by making it's product modular, which limits different institutions' ability to communicate. The only benefit to Epic is it's size and number of health systems that use it - so if you work at Hospital X, and move to Hospital Y, the chances that they also use Epic are higher than another software.

Cons

This is not a "patient care" software by design. It is a billing software first and foremost. Instead of starting the software from scratch in the 2000's once it was appearent that EMR's were the wave of the future, they simply piggy-backed what they could (most pop-ups and messages are done by what was originally meant to be error messages for bills). From a patient care stand-point, it is terrible at best. Epic's goal is to cater to administrators, who ultimately choose which EMR options to buy. The latest updates and changes have made for a "cleaner" look while hiding most buttons and options under tabs, making finding different options more difficult. There is a learning curve, but as anyone who has used iOS knows, the interface could be exponentially better. Epic is reminiscent of the 1990's Microsoft Office products that came with every computer and the masses were forced to use it, even though it was subpar by 1990's standards. Epic's philosophy (while under [sensitive content hidden]) is that Epic can do no wrong. While this company is under [sensitive content hidden] (the [sensitive content hidden] of EMR), it will not get better. We need a [sensitive content hidden] of EMR - until then, patients and providers alike must suffer.

Top EpicCare Alternatives

Allscripts Professional EHR

MEDITECH Expanse

Cerner Ambulatory EHR

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/09/2023

Epic and Epic Rover Review

My overall experience has been very good! I really enjoy using epic and have not really had any major problems with it! Any hiccups in the system can be handled by IT very quickly!

Pros

I really like the mobility of using the app. I would like to see the river system improved upon and expanded! Home health is a very large and important aspect of healthcare today, and a lot of clinicians are out in the field and need access to epic!

Cons

Sometimes I find that using epic on the computer in the office is daunting because of the many pages you have to search through!

Darpan
Darpan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/02/2021

Great EHR tool, no competitiion

Great tool, I love it!

Pros

I have worked with many EHR tools but this is the best one.
It has great documentation.

Cons

I feel the backend Clarity database is not modeled in an organized away. Table and column names are not conventional.

Darpan
Darpan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/11/2021

Impressed with tool

Love it!

Pros

Great ehr tool a hospital should have. Love features and capabilities.

Cons

Resources are not available easily. You need to be associated with a organization using it in order to get it’s materials.

Alex
Alex
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/08/2018

Epic EMR review!

Overall, Epic is the best EMR I've use to date and would love to see it used in more hospital settings.

Pros

I have seen both the business and user side of Epic. As a CNA, and nursing student, I have been using Epic for sometime. I love it. As someone who has also used other EMR services, I can say with confidence that Epic Systems is by far the easiest and most customizable. It does take time to navigate, but all EMR services do. Epic has great support, its easy to use, and has great customizable ability.

Cons

EpicCare EMR is pricey. A lot of hospitals don't use Epic for that exact reason. However, it is well worth the price.

Amy
Amy
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2022

EPIC a great EMR experience

Epic EMR makes charting easier. There is integration across health systems which allows for better continuity of care.

Pros

Epic allows you to customize patient charting. They use smart keys to be able to fill in regularly used items in charting. They help you put codes in for billing. EPIC is completely can be customized which is great for things like mental health intakes.

Cons

Some of the billing codes are confusing to use. For example billing for an in office injection has been a challenge with EPIC.

Tanya
Tanya
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/02/2020

Everyone should use it

I am a strong proponent that all hospital systems should adopt epic as their emrs.

Pros

I love the way I can customize things on epic and be able to use smart phrases and sets and dot phrases and favorite orders to often.

Cons

Sometimes epic is so advanced that it is difficulty to keep up with changes. This is difficult but can be resolved with Epic classes.

Mo
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/10/2023

Epic experience

Pros

Easy to use, the care everywhere. Features is very important for patient care.

Cons

Dragon is not always accurate, with many dictation errors

Lindsey
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 11/06/2021

still getting use to it

we had very lttle training. 2 days and then went live, very little onsite support when we went live. its been 1.5 years still cannot navigate fully

Pros

I like the accessibility to care everywhere can see other docs notes, results, reports at the click on a button

Cons

once you start something you cannot undo it . Constantly making erroneous encounters

Benjamin
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 17/01/2023

Epic is Aweful

Exhausting. Worst system I’ve used for documenting notes and workflow.

Pros

Billing and coding. I believe this is why it was purchased

Cons

Takes forever to document a visit. Too many clicks. Hard stops. Too many ways to do tasks. Workflow is terrible.

Joshua
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 16/03/2020

The best around, but that isn't saying much

Pros

Epic is by far the best EMR out there, but really that is not saying much. It does have some great functionality, and is user friendly after awhile. Clean design and great shortcut utilities

Cons

EMR's in general are not designed by physicians, but for physicians, EPIC is no different. It seems clean, organized and user friendly at face, however, the excessive clicks needed to navigate, the constant updates that change layout and function, and lack of certain functions that you would think should be an integral part make EPIC frustrating. That being said this is not exclusive to EPIC and i would still recommend this program over any other.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 31/10/2018

Epic review

Overall- I think it helps me deliver safe care to my patients. This platform allows me to accurately chart and organize my day to best serve the population in my hospital.

Pros

It allows for safe medication administration- links the drug info. right there with the medication and allows for user friendly charting. Plenty of flowsheets to chose from. Information that isn't helpful can be completed or hidden. Integrates with our devices to pull in vital signs and information about the patient. Also allows for communication between the interdisciplinary team connecting each other through messaging and allowing for contact information. There are a few ways to get to the same spot and I find the navigators are helpful.

Cons

Some charting/flowsheets are a bit redundant. Also, sometimes when flowsheets or sections of charting are hidden- it can be hard to find specifically where to reactivate it. I think it takes a while to get the right custom EPIC for your institution in place so there are tons of upgrades and learning curves with new versions.

Elizabeth
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 05/10/2023

Tons’o’clicks

Pros

That I have access to other EMR’s through Epic. That Epic automatically capitalizes the first word of a sentence.

Cons

Minor complaint- the .HM phrases for some things pull in the date it was resulted instead of the date it was done.Major complaint- When I came back from my lunch break at 1:00 after seeing patients all morning, Epic had disabled my user account. I had received a warning that my password was going to expire in 1 day when I logged in this morning but did not get the usual pop up you get from other sites prompting you to enter your old password, etc. After 2 phone calls with no resolution, someone calls me back an hour later while I’m in the middle of an annual exam using a printed note and the guy tells me that my Epic account expired years ago. I started using Epic 3/2019 and it worked fine until lunch. Expired? Huh? I handed my cellphone to my office manager. I think she was on the phone for over an hour. The account of an active physician should NEVER be disabled on a whim or a random expiration date that one of Epic’s forms asks for.

Alexander
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 06/03/2018

It could be worse

Pros

Okay, let's be honest: Most EMR software is lousy. It's got dozens of features bolted together ad-hoc, without any real thought behind UI or UX. The result is a confusing mess. And most vendors don't mind it being so confusing, as long as the functionality is there, because then they can charge for enterprise training and service contracts.

Epic is no different. It's got lots of functionality, for sure. If you can find it. But once you do, it really does enable you to keep tabs on everything pretty well. The best features include the CareAnywhere views and shortcuts into PACS systems.

Cons

The worst features? The horrible color themes and lack of customization therein. The inconsistency in customizability -- there's a "wrench icon" practically everywhere, which allows you to tweak certain settings. Yet some things are impossible -- like rearranging columns in the Chart Review section. Also, the Inbox functions are really terrible.

Katherine
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
3

1
Reviewed on 26/07/2023

Worst ever for front desk scheduling

It was bad enough before the so-called upgrade, but now it's just plain aggravating to use. This "upgrade" is totally senseless. There was absolutely no reason to change scheduling and "bookit" is a very unprofessional sounding name.

Pros

The ONLY thing I like about Epic is being able to prioritize the schedule by time or patient name.

Cons

Whoever writes these programs should be made to actually USE it for several weeks and see how THEY like it. It's way too easy to get stuck on a page because of an "error" we can't fix and the new "bookit" is making everything mush more difficult. Insurance information gets twisted and information often doesn't get sent to Caretracker.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 11/04/2019

EpicCare EMR software

Its frustrating at times to accomplish the smallest of tasks or messages. Though it is helpful and easy to communicate if properly used , it is an embarrassment to the creators and programmers whom I've met with personally and were embarrassed to admit they were some of the original creators of the software .

Pros

Its inclusive : people across most facilities can review results, messages, notes, appointments and fyi's
it's gotten better at tracking errors when it comes to duplicate charts, appointees, or overall telling you when your wrong

Cons

Very slow, constantly glitching. It takes more clicks to achieve something that should only be done with one to two clicks. So many steps to complete any order , refill or scheduling process or anything else . Constant screen freezing resulting in black screens until the system has cough up with itself . The worst is that its constancy crashing , updating or just not working at all .

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/04/2019

Epic Review

Overall, I like Epic and think that it makes ordering and charting things easy when you make them into pre-programmed lists.

Pros

I like that you are easily able to chart on patients, you can make preset templates for charting and can preset order sets, and you are able to do everything electronically, including connecting to the PACs system and requesting documentation from other companies. You are also able to switch between inpatient and outpatient settings easily. Dragon is very compatible with this system.

Cons

I dislike that the EPIC system can vary depending on different healthcare setups, and can cost a lot. Epic can also take a while to catch on to, depending on how well you know computers. Finally, it can sometimes be hard to find different patients and patient lists on the inpatient systems if your healthcare system is large.

Kevin
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/11/2019

Excellent and Gets the Job Done

Overall Epic is great and provides a full suite of tools for a healthcare organization.

Pros

I like how Epic has a full suite of good software for healthcare organizations. I would say most Epic tools are good and are not too complicated. Billing and coding can be done easily compared to other systems. The defer feature is a great feature that is missing in other rival software. This is especially useful for a biller who needs to ask providers questions before taking action.

Cons

Some of the biggest issues I have with Epic is that the interface looks a bit dated. There is also a lot of variation between how different users interact with Epic. I often had to talk to doctors and nurses in order to help them out. Unfortunately we were never able to help each other out because Epic worked completely differently for different users.

Lisa
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
4

2
Reviewed on 12/11/2019

Epic Review

we are using epic to do referrals for the local hospital and to pull orders. and we use epic exact science to order our cologuards. but epic is just a messy emr!

Pros

We use Epic here for our Exact Lab orders, and we use the Epic software to login to local hospitals for referrals or records. We don't own this product, we are just users of this product. There is not really anything I like Most about this software

Cons

The least thing that is not likable about this software is how it ties everything into continuation. For instance is you need to print an xray report you have to print literally the entire record as it seems to always pick up where you left off, if you are seen on one day and come back in two weeks they just pick up where they left off so the notes are just confusing, what visit went with what. I don't like that at all about Epic

Ashley
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2022

Everyday user

I use it daily for my job duties. It's great that we are moving away from paper to everything being electronic and all in one place. So many providers use EPIC so it's a place that you can get more information on a patient and collaborate to make sure your patient's health care needs are being met.

Pros

There are so many features built into EPIC that are very helpful for everyday use as a Social Worker. I use multiple features in EPIC such as charting notes, secure chats with providers, assessments, LPOC, chart review, appointment reminders and so much more. It's great that you can kind of built your layout how you want it by switching the toolbar to display mostly used items.

Cons

It's always updating and changing which can get a little frustrating when you are a newer user.

Tamieka
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/07/2018

EPIC is one of the most popular EMR systems in Cincinnati.

Pros

EPIC is the system that the majority of hospitals and healthcare facilities use in our city. This is EXTREMELY beneficial because when we have patients that go to more than one site, the other site can access the patient's medical history and receive very important information. The electronic system allows for providers to communicate with each other without actually being on the phone or in person, and it allows for the providers to access records from multiple sites. This is very important for our organization because our providers serve patients at multiple locations.

Cons

This system has made communication easier for administration, providers, and other healthcare professionals so I have no complaints about EPIC.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2018

Epic EMR Review

Overall, my favorite EMR system. I have no complaints about it and everyone loves it.

Pros

I LOVE Epic. In fact, everyone in my hospital loves Epic and we are actually shifting towards this system very soon. The reason is because there's less unnecessary clicking. Doctors HATE clicking. When you are in clinic with a patient, you want to write a note as quickly as you can because the focus is on the patient, not the computer. Epic minimizes that by organizing everything in a logical order (the tabs are great), and making the note itself like a "Word" document where you can free-text. Prescribing is a breeze and the tech support is excellent.

Cons

Some functions can be difficult to find and training takes two days at our hospital.

Jessica
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/12/2022

Ability for complete healthcare management via one software is a game changer.

Pros

As both a clinical, healthcare worker and healthcare manager, epic is very much the ideal EMR. Not only is it easy to use and train new staff on but having everything needed for different positions within the clinic and hospital is extremely valuable. being able to customize views for different positions, as well as access levels order writing has been very helpful

Cons

Because epic is so integrated and allows health services to function completely. It is a very expensive software, and may not be reasonable for a single provider or very small, healthcare operation.

366 reviews