Podio Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Podio

Citrix Podio is a project management and social collaboration tool. It allows businesses to create custom applications to best meet unique business requirements and preferred workflow—without the need for technical skills or...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
4.0

Browse Podio Reviews

324 of 324 reviews
Sort by:
Mark
Mark
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/08/2019

Podio is the best tracking software for the multiple projects.

Podio is the best to keep track all of our important emails, tasks and projects in a simple manner. Podio is an outstanding software for the project and management. I can share all of my important projects with my friends and team members but one by one. It really allow me to manage all of my important tasks and store the important information in a one place such as assign projects. My project management activities are easily handle by the extreme planner software. Wen I complete all of my tasks assignment and multiple projects, then I always choose the Podio software. Podio is the great for the project and tasks assignments. I would recommended this software to everyone.

Pros

Podio is the great customizable software. The best thing about the Podio software is that we can track all of our important tasks and multiple projects at a one time and it is the only possible through the Podio software. We can easily collaborate with our team members and colleagues in a more efficient way. I can always use this efficient software for better manage my personal projects.Podio is one of the best project management software. The another great advantage of this software is that we can easily organized all of our important projects and assignment tasks in a group and colleagues. This software has outstanding features such as it has the great ability to create the custom folders in a more efficient way. Through this software, it is so easy for us to create a tasks and store a large amount of information in a project software.

Cons

The disadvantage of this software is that for the new users that they faced a lot of problem about the sharing of the multiple projects with our colleagues and team members at a one time. Hence, sharing of projects is so difficult for the beginners and users. This software lack a lot of features which is very essential for the new users. Podio software is not so easy to use. For the beginners, it is a little challenges for us to create a tasks and better manage our projects . It is so difficult in learning to use many of the features in a properly manner. But otherwise it is very simple for us to create a tasks to the specific projects.

Ryan
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/11/2022

Podio is the best CRM

Overall Podio is so much better than every other CRM we have used. I've recommended it to everyone in my industry.

Pros

I love how we can customize everything and how many integrations are supported.

Cons

Not a fan of the UI. Looks outdated and can be confusing for new users.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 27/10/2018

Very flexible software, but increasingly unreliable

Overall, pretty good for a budget CRM. But it feels like a platform with its better days behind it.

Pros

Podio is designed for project managers, but we used it as our CRM - which shows how flexible it is.

It worked well, the UI is nice, the workflows save you a lot of time and you can link up items well for automation (e.g. if you close a deal, mark the associated company item as 'customer').

The reporting worked quite well too. You can pull data into reports and create nice dashboards. And you can export to Excel.

Cons

Citrix aren't investing in Podio - it looks the same as when we started using it years ago. It's also increasingly unreliable - there have been numerous all-day outages in 2018. This is frustrating when you depend on Podio to run your business.

We have since moved onto a different CRM software because of these issues.

Response from Cloud Software Group

Thanks for sharing your review of Podio! We are dedicated to improve the reliability and performance of Podio in the future. Please read more details here: https://blog.podio.com/2018/01/10/2017-year-in-review/

Replied 29/10/2018

Top Podio Alternatives

BuildingConnected

Salesforce Sales Cloud

Colin
Colin
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 29/12/2018

Podio - Flexible collaboration tool for teams

It's difficult to describe Podio in a few sentences as it's flexibility and extensibility through the addition of apps from the library or creating your own means that it can be used for many different things.

We've used it for project management and as a simple space to hold and share information when several external parties are involved. It means everyone can see what needs to be shared and current status with compromising internal systems and worrying about correct security settings for various parties.

Podio isn't always first choice for team collaboration as there may already be solutions in place that clients prefer (for example, Microsoft Teams), but it is a quick way to pull disparate people and data together and get working quickly.

As with all collaboration tools, it needs a bit of planning to configure it best for the type of project you want to use it for, but once you have used it a couple of times setup should be quick. For 'standard' users who have a degree of competence with collaboration software, the interface is intuitive and they should get up to speed pretty quickly.

If you work in an Agile environment, all the tools are there to configure an Agile project and get started quickly.

Some people love Podio immediately, others don't get it. Try out with a couple of small projects to get familiar with it; keep it as simple as possible - Podio's greatest strength is that you don't need to add more features/apps than are suited to the job.

Pros

Fast to configure for team collaboration on a variety of tasks - from the simple to fully featured Agile project management.

Adding only the apps you need means you can have a flexible and bespoke approach to each project depending on the requirements.

Easy to share with external users.

Cons

The flexibility that can be a strength can also be a weakness. There needs to be strong leadership over configuration and apps included.

The number of apps that can be added and the configurable options can lead to unnecessary complexity in the hands of inexperienced users.

If you have complex security requirements, configuration can be a pain.

Andrew
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 09/06/2023

Podio - solid and reliable CRM customised to our needs

I compared at least 5 or 6 products. I chose podio, citrix being known to me and found it good. I got support via messaging and phone and quickly had the system setup to meet admin needs and job tracking. 8 years later, have full access to all jobs, cloud based, can download backup and its a part of our IT system used byb4 users daily.

Pros

Having used podio for over 8 years (!) As CRM and also as means of sharing tasks with certain staff it is perfect. I can setup projects, import excel, csv and track one-off jobs or larger contracts, sharing with workforce.

Cons

Not much negative to say. We tried some features but overcomplicated our own ways of working. It does what we want it to anc now rely on it.

Jefferson
Jefferson
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/11/2020

Use for Small Companies Only

Far more cons then pros. If you are a growing company I would recommend stay away from this software. If your a small startup I can see the attractiveness because its low cost, simple minded. We are hopefully going to switch off it soon.

Pros

Podio is one of those software that excels in a few key concepts but entirely falls flat everywhere else. There ability to tag, chat and communicate through each app is a unique feature that I think most programs do fail to get right. There workflows and ability to write any calculated field workflow in php or javascript is pretty decent and a unique concept when needing that custom options. Does take a bit to learn it though. I think most people dump money into 3rd party support developers do to this. which is what we were doing before I arrived.

Cons

This is a software I think any growing company is going to find out real quick that they will outgrow real fast. Podio is slow. Apps do not work between workspaces. You can build relationship but not share apps between workspaces. Permissions and overall platform structure is very confusing. Podio was built of the idea that any Joe off the street can build a workspace/app and share it around, versus having a platform that is company down managed. The design of podio is single column form layout, this is a decent concept if your tracking like 5 fields. But the minute you need more then that you are going to find yourself just doing endless scrolling, and can't find anything. Views are a mess to build. Graphs do not exist at all.

Augusto
Augusto
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 12/09/2021

A great tool to keep all your projects in order, serves it's purpose.

In the time that I have been using it, it solve many communication problems, I was able to record and track each action or request that is made throughout, for example, a month, and it allows an easy way to remember and collect the data of each last month.

Pros

First of all, it adapts to the user in an amazing way, I really liked that. Whether for a small company or a very large one, and not only companies, also anyone who wants to have their projects organized.
The cost is affordable, makes it accessible to companies of all kinds.
Finally, I must say that it’s great to share real-time progress of projects with clients to confidently engage them in work productivity.

Cons

They could improve document sharing, which is a bit tricky. They should improve the mobile app. It could also be integrated with other apps to sharing over there.

Patrick
  • Industry: Performing Arts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/09/2023

The Scheduling Manager you need

I have had a good experience with Podio. It has helped me manage my database for several years.

Pros

I mainly use Podio to enter my customers in to a database and add or subtract information as needed. I am able to customize Podio to exactly what I need for each customer. I can schedule the customers.

Cons

It took me a few hours to learn how to use Podio, but other than that, there are few things that I dislike about Podio.

Alternatives Considered

Thryv

Reasons for Switching to Podio

Cost and ease of use was a big factor
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 02/10/2023

Podio is great if you want to build your own

Pros

For solo and micro enterprise users, Podio could be a good option due to lower cost structuring if you know how to build.

Cons

Podio was not the easiest to use although you can build it to do just about anything.

Wuilson
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/07/2023

Absolutely amazing Application which can easily plug in to your existing apps or database

Pros

Podio is super easy to use and it goves great functuonalities to your team

Cons

Sometimes it runs slowly but I think that will depend on the size of your data base

Miguel
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/04/2018

Project management with all the bells and whistles.

Podio is powerful, indeed. I ranked it a bit lower than most as my focus has always been around small businesses. And Podio might simply be too much for that sector. But it does offer an impressive array of features that perhaps small businesses with lots of development background need. It seems to wrap too many features into one product and many organizations simply do not work this way. But the concept of keeping all this functionality in one single place does make it appealing. Yet, there is much to be desired for regarding features in each category. Project Management, for example. It has features that are very common among competitors, but lacks features like milestones, issue tracking, defects, testing, epic and story hierarchies, etc. It simply does not provide the power one would expect from a solid project management functionality. Instead of ramping up these features, others are added, such as a CRM and financial features, etc. I would not entirely dismiss Podio, as it might be exactly what your organization's structure needs. Perhaps a quick test drive would do. I found it cumbersome for my small business, especially since I was already managing my clients using another CRM and my financials were being managed by another online application... keeping them all isolated and visible only to the required personnel.

Pros

Podio is feature rich and more aligned with larger companies with design and development teams. It offers a wide range of views to fit any and all your needs. Create and manage workspaces with ease. Podio is much more than just a project management tool. It offers the ability to track leads and clients with default or customizeable templates to display their details. Manage projects, portfolios and much more. With a focus on the creative (design) and development, Podio offers much more than one can ask for. It even offers an impressive library of APIs for customization and integrations. Track tasks with incredible details including time. Podio even gives you a place to track expenses. If your organization is looking for a product that keeps everything in one place, Podio might provide this for you.

Cons

Despite the rave reviews on the Pros, I believe that Podio is just too much for the average project management role. It feels as though it is trying to combine the features of a CRM, Financial System and Project Management product all in one place. Most organizations are simply not structured in a way that all these features should reside in one system. Perhaps it will work for some, which is why Podio does have a strong hold in the industry.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/01/2018

Love this tool, fully customizable!

I'm using the free version, so for me it's a free project management tool that can be customized to track any type of project or process. I can assign and schedule tasks for any user in the workspace.

Pros

It can do anything! There are pre-developed apps and packages of apps that you can add to your workspace to get started quickly. Those modules can be modified to meet your needs. OR, you can create your own apps to serve your own purposes. I've created my own apps for a variety of workspaces and have found it can do almost anything! So far we've used it for lead development, website development/QA, order tracking, and customer feedback handling. Love that we can assigne and schedule tasks for any user in the workspace. We're a small team, so the free version has been able to meet our needs as well.

Cons

It can be time consuming to figure out how build your own applications. The pre-built apps are great to start with, but then you have to visualize how to modify them to meet you unique needs. Not bad, just a learning curve. Also, the per user per month expenses can add up quickly if you need the more advanced features.

Emily
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4.5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
N/A

4.5
Reviewed on 25/07/2016

High Customization Project Management

Pros

The level of customization is amazing, and really makes Podio an incredibly versatile tool. Even with the mid-level plus pricing plan, we've utilized custom workspaces for a large variety of use cases throughout our company. The team at Podio also releases updates fairly often, which is great to see. Almost every update has added value to how we use the application.

It's obvious that the Podio team has put a lot of work into what they have released thus far. The quality is great, and I can't think of anything that doesn't work properly or that feels messy. I'm confident that new features they release in the future will be just as well polished.

Cons

The number one limitation to Podio is the lackluster permission structure. On one hand, it has really forced us to create truly collaborative and transparent workspaces. However, it has also made it /impossible/ to use Podio for certain more sensitive applications. It is also incredibly annoying that there isn't an overall admin group for the total organization. We have multiple admins for our Podio organization (who help create and maintain workspaces), and each of us have to be added to every workspace as an admin in order to maintain the system. This means that our feeds get spammed with activity from every workspace, making it pretty useless for our own needs. It also bloats some of our workspaces, and makes it tricky to maintain stuff.

In the plus price level, reports are kind of a joke. I believe they get a lot better in the higher plans, but plus level reports are almost useless.

Ricky
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/01/2017

Podio. Great Tool That Not Enough People Know About

At our local Red Cross we needed a simple way to keep track of volunteer info and first aid training participants. It used to be a very manual process and being a small branch I couldn't convince admin to spring for an expensive CRM.

My search landed me on the Podio website and I gave it a try. What an amazing tool it proved to be. It took a few weeks to get the hang of it (mainly because I had no previous experience with CRMs) but it has now become a central part of operations. We now can't imagine life without it.

Now that we have it set up just the way we want it we can now easily figure out how many volunteers have been trained in not just First Aid but all of the other courses we offer.

We have an easy way to check the number of events each volunteer has attended over any given period.

Using webforms we have a really simple way for clients to requests First Aid volunteers at their events which automatically notifies the people we've specified so following up is now much easier.

It has an iPhone app so even on the go staff always have access to data as long as there is an internet connection.

I could go on and on but I think I would say my favourite feature is the customizability. It doesn't do everything (nothing does) but even with a free account you can get so much done it's simply mind blowing. Looking forward to the improvements (which have been never ending since we signed up).

I now use it at my job to keep track of staff info and again it has become an invaluable tool significantly speeding up my workflow.

Pros

Ease of use
Price (free option is great)
Very customisable

Cons

Would love the ability to print pdf reports instead of just exporting Excel files

Steve
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/11/2016

Transformative Software

Podio has enabled me to completely change the way several companies share specific tasks. What's exciting? Two things. First - get rid of those awful little spreadsheets and put the data where the team can all access it concurrently. Second - wrap around it a neat package of task management, status updates, messaging, voting, and chat. And more. Voila. We have an internet for collaboration that converts office comma from the old "Outlook model" to the new, more open, "Facebook model".
The way in which users (permitted users) can edit the system while it is in use - could not be easier. I have been astonished to see non-IT professionals take up serious development and love it.
There's much more to say. Let's just say there is hidden depth. It looks so simple and it is, but one is always finding new gems that offer flexibility- such as webforms, or embedded JavaScript options! I think I could build a career in the Podio platform.

Pros

Flexibility. Ease of use.

Cons

Check the pricing model, but even that has been great for my clients who are registered charities.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 01/10/2018

Podio app space for beginners

I use Podio as the main frame for our internal communications software. We are branching out to 'share' items to both suppliers and clients that we mark apps and workspaces specifically without proprietary information. This way we can all communicate in a network without causing too much of an overlap in other softwares.

Pros

Javascript based easy calculations fields.
Relationship fields allow easy access to 'like' items that don't follow the same workflow.
Globiflow integrations opens up 'get' 'post' and'if this then that' features that cut down on tedious work.
Podio Super menu chrome extension is extremely helpful for entities with a lot of workspaces/apps.

Cons

Without extension you cannot mark several items in table format. You have to go into each individual item separately (or export to excel update and them import) which is a massive pain.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 23/05/2019

Podio - very versatile and can get crazy with customizations

I use it for my real estate business and run my whole business on it. I have created complex workflows that automate just about everything. It's a huge timesaver. I organize all my contacts, tasks, documents...everything.

Pros

Ease of use - if you are in a common business industry then you can easily find ready-made apps that fit your business practice.
Customizable - you can easily modify existing apps and create your own to fit any business need.
Automation - you can automate almost any task using Globiflow. If you know PHP you can go even further without using Globiflow.

Cons

Reporting - reporting on your data is very limited and not very customizable. This is a major Con. If you want robust reporting then you have to download your data and view it with another tool. Podio's reporting capabilities are very basic.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 06/07/2021

Overall - Decent CRM software, definitely needs some more competitive enhancements to stay...

Overall- this is the main CRM software my company uses. It was sink or swim for me. I did a lot of research while home (after work). It should be easily adapted to new employees , in my opinion. Even now, 2 years later, I still struggle at times , figuring out the available functions, etc.

Pros

I like the ability to upload as many docs as needed for the project/customer. All departments (in my workplace) can view what is going on with the project. It keeps the project organized and allows as many details as needed.

Cons

Podio to me, isn't user friendly. It took quite some time to learn the quirks and how to maneuver through the different pages for the project. Definitely could use some enhancements.

Hailley
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 19/01/2018

Completely customizable way to store and share info across multiple office locations.

Pros

Our company was able to build our database from the ground up, which was very helpful for our specialized company who didn't fit a pre-determined mold when it came to the storing and sharing of info. The tasks section is extremely helpful to remind you or any member of your team about any items to complete both within Podio and externally. I loved the ease of the chat and group chat features, and the ability to send gifs in chat brought some fun and lightness to my day!

Cons

Learning curve can be long, especially depending on how your administrator has chosen to set up Podio before you begin using it. Different people seem to gravitate towards different ways of organizing information, so this needs to be taken into account for complex records and your employees' different learning styles.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/11/2019

Podio for efficient online collaboration

Podio is user friendly and flexible. We have used it as an online hub for our team in different locations. We have been able to customise it to suit our needs and it is growing as the business grows.

Pros

Podio is the best online collaboration system I have used. It's flexible and there is an apps marketplace where you can find modules that can help your business in many different ways. You will be able to access apps that will help[ you with project management and accounting as well as other functions in your organisation. It also allows you to build apps for specific functions of your business. And you can scale it as your business grows.

Cons

I found this tool to be extremely good for online collaboration. I cannot fault it against what it promises and what it can do.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/02/2018

One of our favourites

It's highly flexible and easy to use, saves us time.

Pros

* Podio is such a flexible solution. It's the only system I'd ever come across that let you design your system around your business, instead of them forcing your business to fit their system.
* Really easy to use
* Can track/store multiple types of data so is flexible to be used in various areas of the business.

Cons

* Importing bulk changes isn't as easy as it could be
* Advanced workflows require a higher package, so you're limited with the lower end packages in terms of automation, without using a third party service like Zapier.

Susan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 11/11/2021

Podio is a great relational database system

I have since transferred my business CRM to Zoho (more integrations and established processes) but keep Podio for personal use. I keep track of household accounts , vacation reservations and more.

Pros

It is so flexible in types of information to capture and ability to create relationships between entities. I have not found this level in other software tools.

Cons

Because it is so flexible, very little has been set up advance which makes set up a little more labor intensive. They offer templates but I found it easier to start from scratch. Also the automation was not as intuitive to se up.

Tamara
Tamara
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 04/08/2023

trash. major trash system in 2023

trash. Customer service is non existent

Pros

Easy Integrations. But will be useless when you see how the system can ruin everything you built in a blink of an eye.

Cons

One mistake like importing a file incorrectly wipes out your entire database. There are no undo features. Good luck being human with this app. There arent any directions with how to work the system. Money hungry developer with customer not in mind. Slow to implement basic functions.

Kara
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/09/2017

Our company used podio for about 3 years as a custom CRM. It was reliable, easy, and improved...

This streamlined our lead intake process, helped us better achieve our sales goals, and took our professionalism to a new level. Additionally it offered us more measurable metrics, some basic automation/workflows, and a clearer sales pipeline.

Pros

The flexibility of the software, the cloud-based nature, and the ease of use. I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Cons

We're ready for a more inclusive marketing automation software that integrates with our web presence as a more robust CRM. This was a great product that served us well, but our business needs are different now.

Zulkamal
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/10/2018

The best choice for your Project Management

Pros

If you are in a dire need to customize apps in your project management system then Podio is the best answer to it. The app will help you to keep your project organized as well as doing customization based on your need. It is a mobile friendly application with analytic report feature.

Cons

Please take your time to understand how it works. Once you did it, you can do anything with podio. In addition, it would be better if we could print report in pdf instead of exporting XL files.

324 reviews