Intercom Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Intercom

Intercom is the only complete Customer Service solution that provides a seamless customer experience across automation and human support, delivering increased customer satisfaction while reducing costs. We're building a future...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Intercom Reviews

1,053 of 1,053 reviews
Sort by:
Liam
Liam
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/08/2019

Not Much Competition

Everything has been fantastic from the Customer Success-led implementation process to it being deployed to our users. Multiple compliments on the feasibility of use since purchasing.

Pros

From both the administrative and user perspective, the ease of use and just overall depth of what you can create with the product is very impressive. It allows a great amount of customer support to be automated and simplify it's delivery via articles and a knowledge base that'll continually grow.

Although it's not the biggest feature, as a user, I love that it's focused on getting you an answer/resolution the quickest way possible given the same entry method. Type "adding users" in an application with Intercom support will quickly both deliver you articles that can potentially solve your problem or will also quickly deploy a CSM to you to answer it directly in case it was a bit more complex.

Best part though is the feedback cycle, you're typing exactly what you want to know into the application and if no articles return: New Content Topic.

Cons

Theres really not much. I've run into situations where it was wrongly applied within other organizations and not properly resourced, giving a less than average experience. But that's not as much specific to Intercom themselves.

Given they are the industry leader, it can come at a premium for a larger organizations.

Alternatives Considered

Olark, Confluence and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Intercom

Overall compatibility with scaling of the company and support infrastructure. Not enough functionality to grow out an effective customer knowledge base that's as simple to approach for customers and internal content builders alike.

Switched From

Confluence

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

The overall growth of the company and product over the past few years and the speed in which they've been able to push out updates and new features shows a lot of promise over their competitors. Honestly, the user experience that we had been encountering when coming upon sites and companies that were using Intercom was so positive that it was hard to not want to give that same experience to our users.
Emma
Emma
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/08/2023

An innovative and beneficial resource for businesses.

Better and more convenient contact between us and our customers is always appreciated. Easy history tracking is made possible by this intuitive tool. It's simple to record my conversations and analyze them afterwards for development purposes.

Pros

An easy-to-use intercom system. Easy to use even for first-timers, this program has just the right amount of detail without being overwhelming. The intercom is similar to another email program that we use, and I can explain why. Its fast features and user-friendly interface, such as the helpful and funny bot, greatly enhance customer service and lead to exceptional client satisfaction.

Cons

I find that the intercom sometimes has trouble loading some conversations, which is a major drawback for me. As a customer service representative, you're fielding calls while waiting for the intercom inbox to load the customer's information. In addition to the holdup, additional issues have slowed down the operation of the customer support team.

Zeckie
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 30/04/2024

A Powerful Marketing Tool For Business

Pros

I like the email and SMS markeitng features
it comes with great live chat features.

Cons

Not a single dislike to mention here. It is all good.

Top Intercom Alternatives

Susanna
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 02/12/2020

Unreponsive and caused a severe service disruption

When COVID hit, we were evaluating our software solutions and inquired about switching from an annual contract to month-to-month. We asked what the changes to our pricing and feature suite would be if we moved forward with that change. We didn't get a response. Instead I received an automated email from their [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] that our contract was cancelled effective [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. We reached out and for several days, did not get a response. On September 17th, our service was completely halted in the middle of the workday. Our team was unable to respond to any customer tickets for the remainder of the day. When we finally did get a hold of someone, they told us they were switching us to month to month, just as we had asked. We were told that was a completely different business platform and required a transition. None of this was communicated to us prior to the (entirely preventable) service outage, and again, we were just inquiring about the options should we choose to switch. We lost our settings as well as a previously agreed upon pricing discount built into our contract when they made this change.

A manager was brought onto the phone and we were told they would get back to us with a concession because of the severe service disruption. We were never contacted again, until today when I was sent an email stating that they will not offer any concessions and they are sad to see us go, but that my Relationship Manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], will no longer be available to me starting next week.

Pros

When we were first started using them, they were flexible, had great customer service, and seemed genuinely invested in helping us succeed.

Cons

Their customer service has been incredible poor. They caused a completely preventable service disruption that caused several hours of outage for our team, and have been difficult to get in touch with.

Response from Intercom

Hi Susanna,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience with Intercom - this is certainly not how we want our customers to feel.

I've taken a look through your account and can see there's an opportunity for us to more clearly communicate the necessary steps when changing billing models so you don't miss any steps. This is something that we're working on at the moment so I assure that your feedback will not go unheard. We never want an Intercom user to loose access to our tools as we recognize businesses rely on our services.

Our Relationship Managers work exclusively with customers on annual contracts so as you will be moving to a monthly model you will no longer have access to that team, however you will still have access to to our support team via the messenger. I do want to recognize that response times in previous months have not been where we'd like but we've made changes and are back on track now.

Thanks again for this post,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied 16/12/2020
GEORGIOS
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/01/2024

Powerful tool with some limitations

Pros

Intercom really in a very solid and rounded product you can have a really good set up with it when it comes to customer communication and support

Cons

A bit pricey and they way cost is calculated is a bit counter intuitive for start ups.

Jennie
Jennie
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2019

A Great Lead Capture

Makes customer communication and customer acquisition easier. I wish the chat flows were more advanced and customizable. There was definitely a learning curve with the chat flows. Also, I don't believe I can export contact information with my leads.

Pros

-Capturing emails and names
-Integrating to Hubspot and other software for easy lead closure
-Creating chat flows allows us to communicate to customers faster and saves us time

Cons

-Would like to combine actions on Intercom
-Hubspot Integration is not perfect; would like to have specific field matching
-Chat flow capabilities are limited

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub and LiveChat

Reasons for Choosing Intercom

We were on a free plan with LiveChat for a year because we were part of an Incubator. When the year ended, we wanted to consider other options. Intercom gave us a startup plan, so it ended up being cheaper than LiveChat.

Switched From

LiveChat

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

Intercom was recommended to us from other entrepreneurs.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/11/2023

Great live chat and marketing tool

Intercom is vital for our sales and customer service teams, we use it to communicate with our customers in real time and through email campaigns.

Pros

It is easy to use, and honestly one of the best tools out there. Intercom has a ton of features that go from a simple chat bubble to interact with your users, to email marketing tools and AI bots. They have a ton of integrations with other services.

Cons

Many features can be found behind a paywall and their tiers of service and bundles are not very clear.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

The original developers, decided it was a cost effective and easy to set-up and deploy tool, they were not wrong.
Brandon
Brandon
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/03/2021

Intercom is a powerful Customer Support Tool

Overall I would recommend intercom for clients looking for automation chat bots and customer support software. They have plenty of resources and their new product tour feature adds additional functionality to their suite of software.

Pros

The knowledge center and live chat features were the most used features at our software company. These features were used regularly and automations within intercom helped serve clients efficiently.

Cons

Lacks in reporting and knowledge base customization compared to ZenDesk. Innovation in new features can be slow at times.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

Intercom was easy to implement and integrated into Zoho directly by previous developers so was a hard sell to switch out.

Response from Intercom

Thanks for leaving us this review Brandon, and for letting us know how powerful you've found Intercom as a support tool.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied 16/04/2021
Sarah
Sarah
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/02/2023

The Finest Online Chat Service Currently Available

In a short amount of time, we can offer extensive support to our clients. Having a help desk and the option to speak in real time are both fantastic additions. Many businesses today use Intercom to request pricing and quote information, and the platform's ability to route inquiries to the appropriate team member is a huge asset in building a pipeline.

Pros

For over a year, I've loved the intercom's ease of use. Love the mobile app, and the interface is clean. Our services are highly adaptable. When it comes to expanding support, bots are invaluable. The onboarding process is also quite beneficial.

Cons

Having more inactive contacts on the intercom increased the monthly bill. You must continually archive users in order to keep costs at a minimum.

jason
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2024

intercom end-users review

Pros

rich-featured product, and ai facilities, do its job

Cons

only thing I would like to add is the mobile version doesn't have the same feature as the web version

Beat
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 17/07/2020

Advertising for Intercom in every E-Mail

We have been using the solution productively for some time now, then discontinued it for cost reasons. Now a plan was booked and cancelled in a new subscription structure again as a test.

In the plans up to Pro, the customer also figures as an advertising slingshot, since an advertising line for intercom is always included in every e-mail. Since we did not want this at all (after all, the plan already costs 99 dollars / month) the test was finally cancelled. Intercom didn't want to offer a solution to this, except to offer updates to the next higher subscription (499 dollars / month) which is not affordable for a small company.

Pros

+ Beautiful design, with many useful details.
+ Good iOS and Android app with slightly limited operation.
+ An easy to understand messenger for the customer.
+ Customisable messenger with colours, text and details.

Cons

- High price and only monthly plans.
- Platform only in English.
- Minimal help center, but large but confusing Academy pages.
- Tedious setup help, although the setup itself is not complex.
- Support replies take up to two days, in English only.

Alternatives Considered

Help Scout

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

In the plans up to Pro, the customer also figures as an advertising slingshot, since an advertising line for intercom is always included in every e-mail.

Response from Intercom

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review Beat and letting us know about your intercom experience. I'm sorry to hear that we're not the right fit for you at this time, but thank you for sending us your feedback.

Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied 30/07/2020
Kyle
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/08/2019

Adds Much More Value Than You Realise

While the price tag for Intercom is not small, especially for startups launching their first mobile app versions, it has consistently proven to be one of the most valuable assets for teams in terms of user support, communication & out-of-the-box development readiness.

Pros

The in-app chat feature (with its cross-platform support for React Native and Ionic) is absolutely the biggest differentiator for Intercom. It is a critical part of our day-to-day operations & every client that has gone the route of implementing it with us has been hugely surprised by the large amount of value it adds to end users.

Cons

We are facing ongoing complications differentiating identified and unidentified users. The experimental API available for Android seemed to be heading in the right direction to solve this, but we haven't seen updates on the stub implementation for iOS in over a year (https://github.com/intercom/intercom-ios/blob/master/Intercom.framework/Headers/Intercom%2BExperimental.h).

Alternatives Considered

Airship, JIRA Service Management and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

The depth of features, native mobile experience for users, easy to implement push notifications & powerful management console trumped our experiences with the others available & unified several different but related requirements.
Lukas
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/03/2023

Intercom is helping customers success, support, marketing and sales

It is a perfect solution for a B2B SaaS business.

Pros

We started using Intercom in 2018. The platform has changed over the years drastically. Many new features have been delivered that you can call Intercom a proper all-in-one solution.

Cons

The worst part is the buying process—many calls with sales guys who you have to tell the same story again. If you are a startup, try to go with a fast-to-implement and easy solution.

Alternatives Considered

LiveChat and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Intercom

We needed a better platform to serve everything from one place.

Switched From

Smartsupp and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

We researched many different solutions. But Intercom was top notch
Peter
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/12/2019

Industry leader in category of customer communication

Intercom has grown to become an (almost) 1-stop-shop for all things customer communication related. Both sales, customer support, product etc. can benefit from directly using Intercom to communicate with your applications customers.

Pros

A powerful platform that allows to view your customers session and meta data, instantly send targeted messages and set up email/in-app messaging campaigns, create help desk articles for self-service, automate workflows with bots and rules, onboard your application

Cons

The increase of features and modules have brought the complexity of the software up. It's easy to get up and running (require 1 line of code), but the road to fully adopting the suite of tools is long.

Response from Intercom

A huge thank you for taking the time to leave this review Peter. I'm extremely happy to hear that you are seeing the benefits of using Intercom for your customer communication.

Thanks also for letting us know about your setup feedback. Even as our solutions evolve and become more powerful we aim to keep setup as straightforward as possible.

Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied 09/12/2019
Nathaniel
Nathaniel
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/08/2019

The really bridge the gap between customers and our service

Their customer success team is great, even on the days when I'm not the most gracious customer. I even try to emulate some of their practices because I feel heard as a customer when I suggest features or report what I think could be bugs in the system.

Pros

The ability to converse with our customers quickly and seamlessly between email and the messenger app is great. They've thought through this feature set very well and it brings us very close to our customers and we are able to convert leads very well through this service too.

Other similar apps function the same, but their UI/UX is lacking compared to Intercom. The actual feel of the app is clean and friendly and dare I say...even fun to use.

Customer success at Intercom is also excellent, they've got our backs and I appreciate it (although getting paired with someone in a vastly different time zone can hold up ticket times on our end).

Cons

There are some gaps in the help center and email features. It would be ideal to create/edit documents in a manner closer to Microsoft Word or Google doc, as those are the standard for editing documents these days. Little things like not being able to create a list inside of a document the way I would in other apps can be frustrating, but there is usually a workaround of some sort that will suffice (I'm just picky).

It would also be nice to only be paired with their team members in our time zone. Working in the US and then being helped by a team member from Australia means our ticket times take much longer and conversation is hard to do in real time.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 02/11/2020

A true ecosystem

We have stuck with intercom for 4 years at this point and no plans to leave. I think that is testament to how strong an offering they currently have.

Pros

I would not have written a positive review about Intercom 12 months ago. There were too many small grievances with the individual features that were all building up.

Recently the platform has matured enormously. It feels like the team at intercom has come into it's stride. New features like Series, Guides ect and most importantly - how they all work together - has made it a much better experience.

Cons

Currently my 2 biggest gripes are cost and customer services. I do think for a scale-up the price gets very steep very quickly.

The customer support thing is more annoying - a core part of Intercoms offering is instant-chat. I remember 2 years ago their own instant chat was really great - now it can take a long time for a response to come in.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Response from Intercom

Thank you so much for leaving us this review. I just shared your comments with our Product team and it mad their day! Especially the team working on our Series product :)

I also really appreciate your feedback on our costs and support wait times, even more so considering you have been such a loyal and log-term customer. As of late our reply times have unfortunately slowed but we've been working (and hiring!) diligently to speed things back up to the expected turnaround times. That said our reply times do range from a few hours to a few days based on subscription (Premium receives the fastest turnaround time) and nature or urgency of the query.

When it comes to costs we always aim to align these with the value you are seeing so if you feel this is not the case please do get in touch with the team via the messenger to chat through your options.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied 05/11/2020
Sam
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 14/03/2023

No support, outrageous pricing and shady billing practices

We used to love it but their pricing is exorbitant and opaque. Once you are in a one year contract good luck getting hold of anyone to cancel it. They take over a day to reply and send you some minimal canned answer. There's nowhere in the interface where you can cancel or modify for the next billing period. and the whole thing is set to auto renew by default. Used to like them, now hate them in the extreme.

Pros

The actual product works well. We'd have stayed using it for a long time if not for the changes in their billing and support.

Cons

The support is now the minimum it could possibly be, even if you are spending $1200 a month with them. Good luck getting hold of someone. If it were to sell us some new aspect they'd probably reply in a snap.

Response from Intercom

Hi Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and being so candid. It's definitely not the service we aim for and I will be sharing this feedback with the wider team.

I'd love if you could give me a few more details so that I can take a deeper look at this. If you feel comfortable doing that please email me directly. And if you ever have trouble getting hold of someone in future let me know.

Thanks,
Kate (Intercom, Customer Advocacy)

Replied 24/03/2023
David
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/11/2019

Intercom is The Best chat/support tool available

The business problems we are solving using Intercom are managing incoming requests and sending in-app messages and emails. And Intercom does this with flying colors. Regardless if a user messages us live on our site, via email, or even Facebook, our support team is easily able to reply and help. It also integrates perfectly with our app to provide full visibility of a user easily accessing their profile to gain deeper insights to assist the user even more effectively. There's a reason Intercom is growing so quickly; because it's a great product and is built with quality.

Pros

What I like most about Intercom is how easy it is to jump in and begin assisting users with their questions and requests. It's been an invaluable tool for communicating with our users (both clients and developers) on Codeable and we've been relying on it 365 days a year for 5+ years straight. There are so many new features they keep releasing which are often things we didn't realize we need until we tried them and discovered we can't live with them.

Cons

For the size of our support team and number of messages we send, Intercom is one of the more expensive SaaS products we use. There are other services that may manage a support center better, but those don't provide the same quality of live chat, self-serving help center, or messenger bots that Intercom provides. While cost is a consideration for all companies, we feel Intercom is still the best value for the money and are happy paying the price for all the value it brings us.

Response from Intercom

A big thank you from the team here at Intercom for your kind words David!

Replied 28/11/2019
Stephane
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/01/2022

A lot of features but overpriced for startups

Intercom solutions solve real problems however if you are a startup I don't recommend using it since you really feel that they try to lock you. They attract you with their startup package and then it will take some effort if you want to switch to another supplier.

Pros

Intercom is a combination of tools providing different values and solving different problems. We use chat, article, product tour and several other tools. Overall they all solve a specific problem.

Cons

Every tool we use has some limitations and we often need to find workarounds to reach our goals. However the worst point about intercom is their pricelist Even if you own a PhD you will have a hard time understanding how much to pay if you add an option. Every tool is an option that keeps adding to your bill plus they have triggers to increase the bill according to the number of users. Overall you don't really know where you're going with the way they charge you.

Response from Intercom

Hi Stephane,

Thank you for taking the time to leave Intercom a review. We appreciate you taking the time and letting us know what features you like and are helping your business.

I'm sorry to hear you are disappointed in our pricing, we try to charge a price that reflects the value our product brings while letting both our businesses succeed. However, we understand that no price structure will suit everyone and are sorry that you find it to be expensive. If you have any questions around why you are being charged a certain price, please always feel free to get in touch via the Messenger and we would be happy to help.

Thanks,
Eabha (Customer Engagement)

Replied 28/01/2022
Maria
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/01/2023

One of the best tools designed to enable us to quickly respond to customer inquiries

Most website users are afraid to use live chat to ask questions, so we helped Intercom attract their attention and enable us to initiate questions, and this enabled us to gain their trust and include them in the lists of potential customers, so that we could always update them on new campaigns.

Pros

Intercom's capabilities enable us to interact with our website visitors in an intelligent way, as the automation and artificial intelligence available in Intercom enable us to prepare a list of appropriate answers to the questions we receive frequently so that we can respond to customer inquiries quickly. As for the distribution of email coming from customers, the process is smooth, as we can customize the settings so that the incoming mail is sorted by specialty and sent directly to the relevant members. The control panel provides a lot of tools through which we can better track customer tickets, limit the outstanding tickets, and request assistance regarding them, ensuring that there is no delay in responding. It's also nice how we managed to restrict visitors from sending many useless tickets and using bad language when chatting.

Cons

Ease of use depends on the correct setup as well as customizing the tools to suit the duties of the team, and any mistakes in that will make things look very complicated.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 23/09/2020

Extremely expensive and they make it extremely hard to move away

Poor startup support

Pros

All in one system, with email, lite CRM and small analytics.

Cons

Everything about intercom is built to keep you in the ecosystem. And the more you integrate the harder it is to move away. But they actively make it hard to move away. For example, by not allowing you to export your help articles and by creating random URL conventions to make it hard to redirect your help articles once you have built them elsewhere.

Alternatives Considered

Crisp

Reasons for Switching to Intercom

Cheaper

Response from Intercom

Thanks for leaving us this review and for giving us your candid feedback.

We always aim to earn our customers' business and trust through our product quality and the value it drives, we certainly don't want to make it difficult to move away if we're not the right fit.

I'll make sure to pass this feedback on to the team here. Please do get in touch via the messenger if you would like to discuss this further.

Thanks,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied 30/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/11/2018

Small SAS Use

Our main use for intercom is tier 1 chat support. Our users know that this is the fastest way to get ahold of us. In lieu of using a chatbot we've gone in and created a bunch of quick responses that we can go in and edit. This has cut down on the amount of time we spend chatting with a customer and it allows us to control the message that we are sending out across the board.

We've also used campaigns to let our users know of new product releases and have sent out Net Promoter Score Survey's out in a campaign.

I'd like to note that we do not use Intercom as a CRM for leads on enterprise accounts.

Pros

Intercom is really easy to set up and importing users into the software is really simple. It's nice to be able to create an online library of help articles and have it available for our users to find. The chat feature is what we use most and our users definitely enjoy how easy it is to reach out to us.

Cons

Our customers have a difficult time closing out of conversations or seeing actions on our screen that need to be taken on the right hand of the screen. The chat box will often times cause them to become more frustrated as they need to open and close the chat as we give instructions. The close button is in a circle under the chat, which is a spot that most people don't usually look for.

There are a few customizable things that we'd like to see. Like the ability to create custom out of office messages or include holiday messages to let our users know we're either out of office or responding slowly.

Oliver
Oliver
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/09/2019

All our support team is using it

Pros

Ease of use is really great. We have hundrets of conversations with our clients every day using this tool.

Cons

Their pricing. Not only is it expensive, they have changed their pricing plan about 4x in 2 years. Furthermore it's very complex to understand.

Alternatives Considered

Front

Reasons for Choosing Intercom

Better UI and livechat.

Switched From

Groove
Fernando
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/12/2019

Best software for proving support

Coundn't be better. Today I cannot imagine our daily support activies without this software.

Pros

Its hard to say what I like the most, since are so many great features. Still, I believe the Inbox module is by far the great thing about it, since it allows a direct communication with clients.

Cons

A couple of months ago articles sharing was changed on the inbox feature. Now, when you share an article via conversation the client cannot open it on a separate page. This is terrible for most clients, a source of great complain.

Response from Intercom

Hi Fernando,

Thank you for leaving us this review. It sounds like you're getting real value from the platform, especially the team inbox! Make sure to keep an eye on our Intercom Academy page as we'll be releasing a new course designed specifically for Support Managers in the coming months which I think you might like.

I'll also make sure to pass your feedback regarding Article sharing to the appropriate product team.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied 08/01/2020
Scott
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/04/2019

Intercom Is (mostly) Great!

We use Intercom daily to help diagnose and solve a multitude of customer issues. As an admin, I have the ability to monitor chats, provide internal notes within the chat in real time for trainees, and make sure everyone is offline at the end of the day. There are a few flaws and Intercom WILL send you far too many emails, but overall this is a great chat tool for any customer service business.

Pros

Using Intercom as our ECOM site's chat service has been very helpful! On the customer service team, we are immediately given the contact information needed to properly help a customer. Using Intercom alongside Zendesk has also been a huge improvement over our old chat/ticketing software as they work very well together. Our team also utilizes custom and team macro responses to give fast, accurate answers and assistance. Also, giphy integration!

Cons

The default setting on Intercom has keyboard shortcuts turned on. It seems like most of them immediately close the chat. This can be easily solved by turning them off, but it is not made obvious on how to do so. Once they're off, it's smooth sailing!

We have two customer service teams, and we often have agents going back and forth between the two. We use Intercom for both. The other downside is that it is impossible to be available on one and away/reassign on the other. You can keep it open in two tabs, but that's more of a workaround than a solution.

1,053 reviews