User Reviews Overview

About The Mortgage Office

The Mortgage Office is a loan servicing solution designed for companies of all sizes. It offers loan tracking, payment processing, document storage, workflow automation and reporting functionalities within a suite. The product is...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
5

Browse The Mortgage Office Reviews

218 of 205 reviews
Sort by:
Kevin H.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 01/10/2021

TMO for the Construction Pros

As our company has continued to grow and The Mortgage Office has been right beside us. They continue to update features and offer a suite of modules to service our loans better.

Pros

The Mortgage Office provided us the ability to service our construction loans with increased efficiency and borrower transparency.

Cons

There are efficiency hurdles with tracking tax and insurnace escrow lines and paying them within the system.

Amy S.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2021

Ease of Use for Servicing Residential Loans

Over the last 13years we have grown our business with The Mortgage Office. I appreciate the support team when we have questions or issues. We enjoy the Print & Mail service for 1099/1098s. The Custom Letters and Reports feature which utilizes Word's mail merge features.

Pros

From setting up a loan to applying payments and running escrow analysis. The software is full of features- Adjustable Interest Rates connected to WSJ - Not a Problem! End of Year Statements and 1099/1098s - Not a Problem! One of the Best Features is the Portal for both lenders and homeowners. Homeowners can make their payments on-line too!

Cons

It would like to be able to add the insurance information on the portal. The portal has continued to expand over the past years. I really like the 1099 and 1098 information being available on the portal.

Nordany Q.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/04/2021

Flexible Software

I have experienced worst after testing four other loan software. This is the best so far.

Pros

It a spreadsheet format for customers' main screen which is downloadable to Excel. Allows for flexibility of how data is displayed through "Smart Views." Though one would need help from Support to figure out the correct string to use. It allows for credit reporting, which a lot of our customers want.

Cons

The base Loan Origination module does not allow for payments to be divided monthly evenly if the first payment due date is not 30 days from contract signing. Tends to create balloon payments for that reason. One could pay to add another part to the software to take care of that issue. But in addition to paying for the upgrade one also pays 17% of that purchase price quarterly. Which leads to another minus of increased monthly cost the most modules are added. This is true of any additions one makes to the software, whether ACH processing modules or Loan Origination module etc.. So, it really increases the monthly costs of the software, after initial purchase price, the more trimmings you want with it. It is a good software, But, make sure to take into account not just the initial cost of all modules but also the extra monthly 17% or so of the purchase price that will have to be paid.

Top The Mortgage Office Alternatives

Evan F.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/04/2015

Robust loan servicing package with institutional scalability

1: We have found TMO to be highly functional. TMO performs core loan servicing very well. The development team has a deep understanding of the private lending business. The learning curve is steep, so I recommend the 2 day course which is well worth the money you will spend and the time you will save by not doing things incorrectly. The compiled help is a great reference guide for intermediates or advanced users and is well maintained.
2: We have found TMO to be scalable. One of our requirements was deploying the software across multiple physical locations. Although we encountered initial hiccups in set up, these were due to MS Office (MSO) 2010's default security settings (TMO relies upon MSO to create its attachments via mail merge). Once our IT team pinpointed the MSO security settings issue (which was quite intricate and required updating registry keys), we were able to effectively scale to 2 client workstations in 1 physical location pointing back to a SQL server at an off-site data center. The option of upgrading to the SQL version (available as another add-on 'module') gave us the confidence in the beginning when we first purchased the JET (MS Access) version that the software is robust and scalable. Our SQL upgrade and proof of concept across multiple physical locations confirmed the software is robust and scalable, and this area of functionality has performed well for us. The SQL migration tool that ABS provides made the transition fairly seamless.
3: 'Sustainable' means the software should have a long shelf life and be upgraded on a regular basis. In our 3 years there have been numerous upgrades although some were unfortunately forced, and I can't recall much new functionality being added ' most of the updates were patches or new functionality for Loan Origination or other modules we were not using. However, the platform has been around (and augmented) for 30+ years.
In summary, I think the software is robust and powerful, and I give the software development team top marks in creating and maintaining an excellent product. Also AJ Poulin their VP of Sales is a pleasure to deal with, is well respected in and has deep roots in the private lending industry, and has a lot of integrity.

Megan M.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 07/11/2016

Almost perfect

After years of searching, I was thrilled to discover a software designed with by business in mind. The ease of purchasing and installing the software was remarkable. The amount of customizable features and the power behind this software sold me almost instantly. I am a heavy user of the construction module, and there are no options for training in this module which seems odd to me. We went to the training in CA. and learned some general tips and tricks, but were not able to gain any further knowledge into the construction module which is why went in the first place. It's very difficult to get a hold of the support line. You never get through to anyone when you call. If you opt for sending an email, you typically get a call back within the same business day. The downside is that now I am in an epic game of phone tag trying to get my software functioning and have no idea when this might be resolved. When I do have the opportunity to speak with someone I am so happy with the customer service. Bottom line I would recommend this software, but make sure you're not in a hurry to implement it.

Pros

Ease of purchase and installation. I can customize everything and anything. The math computations are accurate and also custom to your specific needs.

Cons

It's difficult to get support staff on the phone and sometimes end up in a phone tag scenario.

Michael H.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 31/05/2021

TMO Review

Our experience has been overwhelmingly positive with TMO. I have recommended the software to several organizations in our space.

Pros

I have been using TMO for several years. The ability to do so many things with so few clicks of the mouse is great. When it comes to loan originations, servicing or mortgage pools nothing beats TMO.

Cons

The cons of TMO are that there are some simple things that could be updated but sometimes it takes them a while to make the change. I am sure this is true with all software.

Dianne M.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/03/2018

The conversion from our previous software, training and implementation was a breeze.

Efficiencies are key to a great team. This software allows my team to manage the easier aspects of the job quickly and easily leaving them more time to focus on other projects.

Pros

The Escrow Analysis, Payment Application, Conversation Logs, Statements and Past Due Notices. The ability to reformat our communication to customers quickly and easily. The entire software package has made our mortgage management efficient and accurate.

Cons

It's not necessarily a con but would love to have an adhoc reporting tool. Some of the fields have no reporting tools embedded in the software and I would love to be able to pull them out.

Robert K.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 03/08/2017

Owned for over three years. Very complex, Updates routinely have major bugs. Understaffed...

We service a private loan portfolio and prepare 1098 forms for borrowers. This has worked well in the past, but current bugs are causing concern that the 1098 forms will need to be double checked during the very busy month of January.

Pros

The concept and theoretical flexibility of the software is really cool. The reports are generally well formatted. Borrower communication options are varied and allow easy email, but the calculations need to be correct.

Cons

Very complex, takes months to learn to use. Easily allows problem entries. Support is pleasant, but lacks everyday use knowledge. 4 to 6 steps required for tasks like simply advancing interest on a construction loan. Tracking of % complete and % disbursed on construction takes longer in The Mortgage Office than in a simple Excel spreadsheet. Over the last year the whiz bang modules that they are adding look great, but as updates occur with the main, modules of servicing, the lack of testing is clear as each update precipitates major bugs which cost my staff scores of hours. Customer service is helpless as they are not prepped for the updates and typically don't have the operating expertise to comprehend the full scope of the problem. , but they are nice people. Support calls are seldom answered within an hour. Typically it's about a 24 hour turnaround, with a call to us (Mountain Time) just about the time my staff is walking out the door.

Juanna H.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/01/2021

Functional

The IT team is always happy and readily available to help resolve our issues. The teachings are also done in a manner that any elementary school kids should understand. We love the IT team!

Pros

The accessibility to navigate through the loans is easy. It's simple to understand and learn from.

Cons

Every time there is an update, they come with many glitches that impedes us to proceed with our normal workday. We spend several hours with the stupendous IT team.

Brett K.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2021

Step Up Your Game

An exceptional system with an exceptional team backing the product.

Pros

TMO is industry specific software with 40+ years of experience that makes complex tasks and information management streamlined. The online client account portal not only saves us time by providing clients with the information they are seeking, but it also shows our clients we are serious about customer service.

Cons

to be determined.

Karl G.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2020

Great Company

I would say that working with The Mortgage Office has been great. Easy company to work with and they go over and above to help you with any issue.

Pros

We love the ease of us and the reporting features.

Cons

I cannot think of anything that I would say is a con.

Laurie R.
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/04/2021

TMO Review

Pros

We use this product to service our loans. It is easy to use and track data

Cons

The only thing I am not liking at the moment is that since moving to Amazon Workspace and having to use Work Docs to save reports that you have to pull from Work Docs and save to internal server for other employees to have access to.

Wayne F.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2019

Outstanding

Overall experience is outstanding. Once you learn the system's features and benefits, it can make your daily origination and servicing needs effortless.

Pros

The ability to originate, fund, and service our loans from start to finish with ease.

Cons

Lack of convenience of compiling loan documents to be emailed directly to notaries.

Barry H.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/03/2021

TMO and SLS

Well, it's been there for us from day one 11 years ago. It's safe to say that we would be lost without it

Pros

TMO is quite comprehensive and exhaustively detailed in its file-management capabilities.

Cons

I would prefer less bifurcation of the various modules and features that we find desirable

Kip A.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/08/2017

TMO is the gold standard for private money loan origination and servicing

Pros

the software is easy to use, customize-able and easy to add and edit forms. Most of the applicable fields are readily available

Cons

the cost is a little high as there is little to no competition in at this level. It would be nice if the system could be web based or apple compatible.

Faheem T.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/03/2021

Satisfied Customer

Pros

It does what it is suppose to. It was built with mortgage investment corporations in mind so it has most of what we require

Cons

The interface and ability to connect with other software providers. It is an area that is improving.

David M.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/12/2019

TMO is to mortgage servicing what operating systems are to a computer!

Pros

Well designed
Ease of use
Ability to easily add custom documents
User friendly

Cons

We purchased the software in 2014 and, at that time, you had to purchase one or four licenses.
In 2014 the program could not be run from a server.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Capital Markets
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/09/2019

Very Easy to Use

Overall, I am impressed, especially by the ability to customize fields and save in formats that are ready for presentations to the board, or management.

Pros

The software helps with integrating a number of functions. These include loan tracking, loan payment processing, document storage, workflow automation, and reporting functionalities. You can also customize fields in the software, and save spreadsheets for future use. Its availability on both cloud and site-based adds more convenience.

Cons

The software comes with so many functions that will require users to go through regular tips and tutorials. Such features are not included, either on the software or by the use of regular emails.

Bj A.
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2017

Short Time User

Our organization has been utilizing "The Mortgage Office" for loan tracking for a total of 11 days. Even though we are a short time user, the setup was very easy and understandable. Processing loan payments are quick and accurate (as long as all your dates are correct). The training we received in December before implementation was very useful and assisted in the original setup of the product. We are still learning all the reports and functions but support has been great in assisting and we are currently working with them to possibly create a custom report for our use. Once we completely understand all the features this software will be a great benefit to our organization.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

The difficulty of customized reports

Angie M.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/08/2017

From what I've seen, the system will make our jobs much easier!

Once we get up and running, the time savings for our job processes will become more streamlined and also help in the reduction of errors since we will be processing in real-time. Also, the reporting is fantastic!

Pros

The real-time functionality. Our current system is a batch process which takes place over night. The system also is much more user friendly than our current system we are leaving.

Cons

Due to our complicated structure of loans, it seems as if we may have some challenges with using the commercial/construction modules. However I have no doubt we will figure things out.

Sarah E.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/04/2021

web access

Pros

It is now web based so I can use it anywhere I have internet access.

Cons

The way the calendar dates populate, it is a little bit hard to read.

Joshua L.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2016

The best choice

We reviewed every Mortgage Administration software vendor available before choosing TMO. This was the clear and only choice to trust our business and reputation with our Borrowers and Investors accounts. Before Verifund was started, I worked with another large mortgage fund that had invested over $1 Million dollars in having custom Mortgage Admin Software created. It had a fraction of the functionality, was questionably accurate, and required on-going support to fix internal bugs. It also required 8 full-time people to manage the portfolio. TMO does a better job, with great accuracy, and a long list of useful features and efficiencies. This, in our opinion, is the only choice for Mortgage Administration software needed by those in our profession to run a smooth and successful operation.

Jared W.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/09/2014

The Mortgage Office

I've been in the mortgage business for over twenty years and have had the opportunity to use several software solutions available to the industry. There is nothing out there in the marketplace that can really compare to The Mortgage Office. It's extremely powerful and easy to use. If you're new to the business the software will keep you within the proper guidelines of both law and practice. If you're an experienced mortgage broker, you will have the flexibility to configure the day to day operations to your own way of doing things. The customization is almost limitless. There is no report that I can't generate. If it's not in the many templates provided, I can create it with the available tools. In addition, and often overlooked until it's too late, the backup and security tools are fantastic!

Leonard S.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/09/2014

THE FANTASTIC MORTGAGE OFFICE FROM ABS

I am one of the earliest user of The Mortgage Office software. I believe I first started using The Mortgage Office in 1980. At that time the owners of APPLIED BUSINESS SOFTWARE (ABS) had opened an office across the street from my Mortgage Company, South Bay Mortgage Co., Inc., in Lawndale, CA.

I have been using their software since then and am still using it today, 34 years later. Their support team and incredible updates have kept me negotiating loans, managing my trust accounts, and servicing loans since I walked across the street and fell in love with their software. My wife and I consider the owners, Jerry and Eddy Delgado, as one of our best friends. Their knowledge of the Mortgage Loan industry is unsurpassed as is their software.

Noemi I.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/04/2014

Mortgage Office

Overall, Mortgage Office is very good. The system is a great help in our database maintenance and servicing/processing of all loan and lender transactions. The support group is accomodating and quick to respond. We hope the system will have more reporting capabilities and features like being able to generate a single report showing all the information of the loans that are entered in all the tabs in the loan set up as well as other reports filtered by category or criteria. More security/control features in deleting of files is needed as sometimes loan files are accidentally deleted by other users. We wish the system could be faster, as it can get really slow when there are many users.

218 reviews