ServiceNow Customer Service Management Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About ServiceNow Customer Service Management

ServiceNow Customer Service Management (CSM) is a cloud-based product that helps businesses deliver frictionless customer experiences and connect the entire enterprise. It provides a range of features such as case management,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.2

Browse ServiceNow Customer Service Management Reviews

147 of 147 reviews
Sort by:
Meraz
Meraz
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/09/2022

A Great Tool for all the ITSM needs- One that fits All

We utilize ServiceNow to handle inbound IT support tickets, manage IT changes, and track app configurations. This method has been tried and tested, and it consistently delivers. Top-notch all around; have extensive experience managing Incidents, Problems, Changes, and Catalog Items inside IT Service Management (ITSM) modules.

Pros

The ability to integrate with other applications and personalize the tool for use in ticketing and routing is maybe the most useful feature of ServiceNow. Our day-to-day customer support operations would not be possible without our user-friendly incident management, configuration management, and service documentation.Fast and simple incident reporting, progress tracking, and customer service interaction. ServiceNow is excellent for archiving service documentation; we've catalogued all of our services there, so that when tickets are sent, we can quickly and easily access the relevant knowledge base articles to address the problem.

Cons

A lengthy upgrade procedure might be the result of too much modification, but luckily there are many resources available to help you out. Non-IT users may find it challenging to use the site without first receiving etxra training.

Alternatives Considered

Remedyforce
Stacey
Stacey
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 10/04/2019

Lot's of features, lot's of complexity.

Works fine if you don't need to do much more than open tickets that are already assigned to you or work with tickets that are assigned to you. Assigning ticket to others in a large organization where you don't know the group they are part of is a struggle. I often know who a ticket should be routed to but our implementation requires specifying the team they are part of as well. Some people are on multiple teams. Searching really needs improvement for users that don't interact heavily with the system.

Pros

Works well for tracking tickets across a diverse organization. Integration with e-mail system simplifies interactions with users.

Cons

Complexity makes simple tasks difficult. Learning curve is steep. For example, performing simple searches is not possible. If I closed out a ticket recently, then I often need to look in the documentation to search for that specific ticket again. highly customizable views allow for tweaking to work with your use habits. Interface needs to be simplified and have common functions more accessible. It may partly be the way this organization has implemented and customized the interface, but it is still not user-friendly.

Colleen
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 02/01/2019

Horrible customer experience

My overall experience maybe a little clouded because I am using Service Now through a third party vendor who handles our IT (cognizant) and some of the missing features maybe due to this. I have been using Service now for almost a year to not only track minor IT issues (example requesting new monitors, issues with WIFI ect) but also updates and builds to our website and ERP System. Overall I would not recommend Service now for the later especially in large corporations across multiple subsidiaries as this doesn't give companies the tools accurately implement builds.

Unfortunately due to the lack of tools in Service now (or how our vendor restricts these tools) our company had to resort to managing these builds outside service now and update once complete.
Rather you need a system like JIRA where users can easily assign issues for QA testing and allow anyone to reopen tickets.

Pros

-can search to find topics
-can customize search for tickets and service request
-can excel tickets and customize the information
-if you developers access you can create reports
-receive email confirmation and when tickets are updated
-can uploads images and video

Cons

-when creating a service request the user cannot specify the name. First a request is created [sc_request] then automatically a requested Item is created [sc_req_item] with a default title which is extremely confusing
-only the user who created Incidents can reopen Incidents
-only the user who created Incidents can then link to previously closed incidents
-if you don't have developer access you can only see the tickets you created and need other users to add you as a watcher to the ticket
-Incidents cannot be changed into Service requests, and those changes can't be tracked. (example to change a Incident into a service request a Incident must be closed and Service request opened)
-IT Portal view doesn't save views, views are only saved for that session

Top ServiceNow Customer Service Management Alternatives

Victoria
Victoria
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/11/2022

Using SNow since 2012

99.9% of the work I do every day is linked to either accessing Service Now or working on data produced by SNow. Using SNow for as long as I have, has made me confident in choosing to continue renewal. I have to admit that licencing model changes and yearly negotiations are painful but that is all part of the environment we work in.

Pros

The fact that the software is widely versatile and scalable for the needs of an organisation. It can use beyond IT but in every department in our organisation as it offers automation of business tasks as well as good reporting and analysis tools. HR processes, Self Service, Approvals, Confidential reporting, schedule reporting and automating routine work, asset management and discovery.

Cons

The fact that I can not imbed linksBut also think is mostly geared to large organisations. I have not found it to be possible for a small company to take advantage of this service (price plan and configuration is beyond the capabilities for a small company to take, which is a shame).

Ravi
Ravi
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/04/2022

One of the best Ticketing tools available

Pros

Covers all ITIl aspects w.r.t incident, problem and change management.
It has a very cohensive environment right from when an employee joins the organisation, getting access to applications, performing day to day jobs with tickets, requests, incidents, problems and changes.
Given the fact that it also has inbuilt reporting capabilities, this is an absolute must.
It's api and backend can be accessed by multiple softwares and applications enhancing the capability to produce visually appealing reports.
Admins/engineers/customer service execs can create their own dashboards to monitor their queues efficiently.
Inhouse capability to graphically repsent the queue make things easier while distributing work, prioritising work, planning change activities etc...

Cons

None that I know of as yet.
Whatever customisations i needed were easily available within the existing module.

Seejal
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/11/2023

Minimalist and easy to use

Great experience. Easy to use, simple and straightforward. Very less training required as it’s self explanatory.

Pros

Ticket creation, management and handling. Knowledge base articles are auto suggested using keywords and based on the issue that it detects. Integration with nexthink is seamless.

Cons

Dashboard is glitchy sometimes and can be better.

Fabricio
Fabricio
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/03/2019

Very Good IT Comunication Tool

The way that users report any failure on the devices in order to get this resolved faster was not the correct one. And we solved this with ServiceNow since their user can report quickly the issue that he is having and also there is a watchlist of available people that can take the case and provide support to the person that is having the issue. Also, there is a really good feature of the tool that makes them different from other solutions in the market.

Pros

- Is easy to use for developers and regular users.
- There is a good option like the feature that allows you to add people to the watch list so they can check the progress of the status of a ticket even do they are not going to provide support.

Cons

- Updates are not good since they made some changes and in some cases impact the way data previously saved on the application. Also, they made some changes in the GUI and some times users complain are related to that there is no a particular option or they are not able to find it now after the upgrade.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/06/2023

ServiceNow CSM - A customer centric tool/People Management

The OOB system itself is configured with the right solutions that the customer wants. Apart from that, we can customize anything with the help of developers. The system will work seamlessly though.

Pros

Customer & Consumers, and Contacts management was handled pretty well. People Management is most valuable to provide services accordingly. The integration is seamless hence it provides APIs to make easier.

Cons

1. Portal - There are different portals for customers & consumers in OOB. This is creating confusion in gateway.2. Agent workspace - Performance is Slow.UI can be improved.

Petar
Petar
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 08/01/2019

Easy and productive CSM tool

It makes it easy to track customer replies and action any update or development on time whilst allowing for easy SLA tracking and communication with the customers.

Pros

Plentiful options when creating your favourites and setting your filtered searches (which are very detailed and precise). Any search can be added to favourites and be easily accessible. User interface is easy to navigate and find the options you're looking for. It uses easy to follow logic and it is very user friendly.

Cons

This is most likely depending on the implementation process and data migration during the integration process, the update field is constantly moving to the next case/incident which makes it hard to track you work at times. Most likely adjustable during implementation process.

Balaji
Balaji
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/12/2019

ServiceNow Ticket Management Tool

The experience has been fantastic so far. We have been able to resolve tickets that comes to us with a quicker turnaround time since it directly comes to our queue.

Pros

The best tool for ticket/incident management for a large enterprise organization. It can create and tickets delegating it to individual groups so that it can be look at promptly for resolution.

Cons

No there is nothing I dislike about this software as it has made my life easy for raising ticket against team and also receiving issues from my application users and provide faster resolution

Rennie
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2018

ServiceNow is premier and get better with every release

Overall an excellent product.

Pros

Highly scalable and provides modular solutions for implementing service based best practices across the enterprise. Initially focused on ITIL it has expanded to include ITOM, ITSM, and ITBM functions. Out of the box solutions for other areas of the enterprise including HR, Security, Governance, Finance, and CSR. The platform itself allows development using standard web technologies and programming skills and they offer a vast documentation library and vibrant community of developers and users. Their support is top notch and they are always quick to respond.

Cons

Their pricing model is complex and unwieldy. It can be very hard to determine which features you actually have access to. Some of the features which seem like they should be part of the base product functionality are split into sub-modules at additional cost. This can give the impression that you are being nickeled and dimed for every little feature. Inquiring about instance capabilities of technical staff is always referred to your sales rep.

Early adopters who did a lot of customization can find themselves in a lot technical debt prior to ServiceNow’s current guidance of best practices. Some of the earlier product design decisions have sometimes forced compromises to be implemented for product growth. This can create some ambiguous methods non-intuitive workarounds to be employed in development. Their documentation can be somewhat sparse on examples or use cases for particular API or feature specific applications.

Finally, since the product can become the core of so many areas of the enterprise, it can require quite a large investment in support resources and it requires these resources to understand SaaS management differences vs traditional application support development.

Alejandro
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2017

Service Now, the one that gathers them all

We've been working along with servicenow for several years and we have more and more success digital transformations stories by building business improvement strategies upon the Servicenow Platform

Pros

ServiceNow is a Service Management Platform, ranked by Gartner just as the #1 in the global market of digital service management platforms. Easy to use, deep dive, almost boundaryless ServiceNow software integrates a strong and robust collaborative service management engine, that allows almost all kind of organizations, no matter the economic sector, to optimize and automate any business and IT service through a full function collaborative tool set, such as Asset Discovery, service catalog, business rules definition, SLA's and analytics easy-to-build dashboards, not to mention the application development capabilities which stands as the ServiceNow main differentiators.

Cons

As any technology solutions, there is and will be room for improvement, starting with more built-in integration capabilities in order to simplify more complex implementations.

Ramasundaram
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/04/2023

Service Now improves issue tracking

Great experience using Service now tool. Moved from HP product to SN

Pros

Integration with other build in like Slack and other communication tools. Easy to operate and quick to learn

Cons

Running reports need to be more customisable.

Arpan
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/04/2018

A powerful CRM containing tons of features.

Pros

- Highly customizable, extendable, and flexible according to one's needs.
- Constantly evolving and improving with two new releases per year.
- Contains everything which a CRM should have!

Cons

- Contains synchronous JavaScript requests which causes web pages to get stuck, disabling any actions on the webpage while the request is active. Sometimes, a page needs to be reloaded to make it work again.

- Many features (for instance: Reporting) require training first before a user can start using them. This process can be cumbersome for an average user if training resources are not available.

- Expensive as compared to other CRMs (for e.g. SalesForce).

pratik
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/10/2018

An awesome saas and paas application

It’s an very demanding cloud platform. They also offers you to provide various commercial scope application platform as well.

Pros

1) An awesome application as Saas and Paas as well, Good inerface, user friendly and easy to use.
2) Due to backend code in jaava and JavaScript it is very flexible.
3) Cloude data and services is simply awesome.
4) The best thing is its also supports to integrate autoCAD as well.

Cons

1) To implement discovery tool for automatic cmdb population have some hogh cost concern.
2) When you using a UI action which has script inside it freezes the screen.
3) Upgrade to an instance will become quite hectic.

Vania
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2022

All-in-one service solution

Fantastic product and they offer administrator training for free if you interested in learning “more than the average bear”.

Pros

I think the ability to automate Active Directory account creation or deletion, third party software license assignments and access, and manage all of our company’s requests/incidents in one place are my favorite things.

Cons

The scheduled tasks feature is sometimes buggy in our current version; however we have been provided great support getting this resolved.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

Best in response the good thing i love in the service now is they respond very fast for quiries

Pros

The service now has very large tools whose main functionality is to make customer happy. They respond to our queries very fast and they make help of the different dashboards to perform their service we are using this for our ticket management here we can generate our different type response type like pdf,word etc their service is extraordinary and i love to work on this a lot

Cons

There is nothing specifically least in this. Everything is cool and good. We are looking for some new version

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 09/05/2019

An additional step - but helpful none the less

It was a necessary tool used everyday but it would be better to integrate more features with this service.

Pros

We used service now as an additional time management tool with other applications to keep track of project progress. Service now was semi easy to use and made up for what our other service lacked

Cons

Service now could be confusing at times and lacked integration with other systems/software. Could be tricky to change due dates- would have to change all by hand

Jaidev
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2018

A good tool for tracking and updating the status of the tickets.

Pros

The customer can check the status of the ticket from anywhere as this is an online tool for tracking tickets. There will be information about the developer who is working on the ticket and the customer can directly contact him.

Cons

The developer who is working on the ticket is responsible to update the status of the ticket. He can update the wrong status. There is no verification for what actually is happening and what is being upstated.

joseph
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Great ticketing/tracking system!

ServiceNow has really help streamline our ticketing system for our customers. Creating reports helps with identifying problem while also creating metric to identify future problems!

Pros

I really like how setting a "configuration item" will create a template for different type of issues. For example, when a user calls our help desk for issues concerning Outlook. When you use the OUTLOOK Configuration Item, a pre-determine template will already complete the appropriation "tracks" for resolution.

Cons

The mobile application lacks several of the key features that make the full desktop version so easy to use.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 02/09/2019

excellent to manage escalations

complete software to handle It issues
it helps me a lot

Pros

Servicenow is a very good software if we talk about alerts and escalations.
i work in the IT area and the way we handle outages, alerts and escalations with this software is very fast and complete

Cons

the software is fine some configurations in my organization itself was not very good but i recomend it 100%

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2018

great cloud software for service ticket management

Pros

easy to set up, use and administer software that can be ramped up quickly as the learning curve is relatively low and the eco system around this is growing as well

Cons

would have been great if building reports were much more intuitive for the end users to be able to write their own query - at the moment, there is heavy reliance on IT to write reports

Stephen
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/08/2017

Decent web-based CRM tool that has so many features, nearly everything is possible.

Better than Parature or SCSM for large-scale case and ticket management, easy to use on the web and options and features are nearly endless.

Pros

Web-based case management makes submitting and reviewing incidents and cases a breeze. Loads quickly without dragging down when working with large cases.

Cons

So many features means groups are going to use much less than they are paying for. Apparently customization is difficult as many pages are left in their default format, not giving customers the clearest idea of what they are asking for.

Shibu
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/04/2018

Awesome SAAS solution for small and large enterprises

Pros

No hardware and hardware maintenance cost, easy to use, easy to customize, less development and support efforts, tons of integration methods and tools = Happy Customer

Cons

Representation of CMDB relationships, help on CMDB, difficult to get reporting on child tables, not very useful help in child tables

Kevin
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/03/2018

ServiceNow for IT Service Management

Pros

ServiceNow is a robust platform that allows users to customize their settings as well as use a variety of modules depending on the ITIL maturity of the organization.

Cons

The information is not always organized in the most concise way. Continuous usability testing could help improve this product a bit.

147 reviews