Neat Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Neat

Neat's all-in-one small business accounting and bookkeeping software replaces the guesswork of spreadsheets, handwritten records, and manual invoices. Increase efficiency with real-time reporting, mobile receipt capture,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.7
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
3.6

Browse Neat Reviews

100 of 100 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/11/2018

EXCELLENT tool for a common paper hoarder!

Only scanner that I have used or will use due to how easy it is.

Pros

The scanner that works with this software is easy to use and easy to install.

Cons

Sometimes there are connection issues. Overall, it's workable

Response from Neat

Thank you for the positive review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying the software and Scanner provided. Thank you for choosing Neat!

Replied 26/11/2018
Barry
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 28/08/2020

when you no longer need it they extort you to pay to keep access to your receipts and documents

Worked fine but have to pay for service I don't need to keep data

Pros

Easy to use, fast, quick accurate. Could scan receipts as I get them, and toss the paper

Cons

I have used NEAT since it was Neat Receipts. The idea is to scan documents and receipts, or photograph them, so you can be paperless.

It worked fine, and I have thousands of receipts stored. Except…….now comes “Extortion” from the company.

After Covid and retirement, I no longer need their services. So, I wanted to end my monthly subscription. However, unless I continue paying, I don’t have access to the receipts and documents I have scanned.

So, if I get an IRS audit, or need other documentation that has been scanned, I can’t access them unless I continue to subscribe to their service. So even if I don’t need their services anymore, I have to pay for them.

They offered me the option of downloading each receipt one at a time. Thousands of receipts. Not reasonable. And they cannot be downloaded in a batch.

I’ve been a client of theirs for many years, possibly over a decade or more, I purchased 3 scanners from them (no longer usable due to updates, which happens as technology progresses), but now I’m being extorted out of money for perhaps 7 years (based upon IRS rules for keeping receipts).

It is an outrage, and might I suggest that while you might feel your data is safely stored, you can’t have it once you don’t need their services anymore.

I contacted an attorney to find out if they are required by law to give me access to my data.

Thanks for listening to my warning.

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
As stated, when you no longer pay for your subscription, you do not have access to the software. We do apologize that bulk downloading is not a feature that is currently available. Please follow the steps within this article to access any PDFs of your receipts that are store onto your computer - https://support.neat.com/smartorganizationsystem/access-local-pdfs-of-all-neat-cloud-images-offline
When signing up for a Neat subscription, you agreed to the terms and conditions which state that if you cancel your subscription with the Neat company, access to the software will be denied. We apologize for any confusion caused.

Replied 14/09/2020
David
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 08/05/2019

Neat used to be cutting-edge, but it's become very mediocre in recent years

After wasting way too much time over several years to get their system to work properly, I finally realized that I'd been giving into a sunk cost fallacy. After dozens of additional crashes during the 2019 tax season, I had finally had enough and cancelled my account. As a parting shot to customers leaving their platform, they also don't refund prepaid subscriptions after 30 days, so beware signing a long-term contract if you're testing it out!

Pros

I used their products for about 10 years and recommended many users to them over the years. Their scanners and OCR scanning abilities used to be top-notch.

Cons

Their quality and support has continued to degrade over the last several years, as they've moved to a paid SaaS product from a hardware-focused company and stopped producing their NeatDesk scanners. Since then, the relational database functionality the system used to provide has been largely removed and the accuracy of their OCR scanning has somehow gotten progressively worse over the years. In fact, their Mac app has occasionally been unusable for months at a time and the Web app doesn't allow you to sort tables with more than 200 records! The reporting functionality often breaks (it took dozens of attempts to get a series of partial exports when I stopped using the platform).

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
We appreciate the feedback that you have provided. It seems that you are speaking of our Legacy software that has been retired for quite a few years now. We do apologize that you have not enjoyed the current product but we are gearing up for the release of a new product that will have many new features and features that are similar to the Legacy version as well. Additionally, when signing up for a subscription the terms and conditions state the refund policy which is why you were not granted refund after 30 days. We appreciate you being a long term customer and hope to see you back with Neat!

Replied 09/05/2019

Top Neat Alternatives

AFAS Software

QuickBooks Online Advanced

Yvonne
Yvonne
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 19/07/2018

I like Neat Receipts -their customer service needs improvement. Very hard to get them on the...

I love the fact that i don't have any paper receipts all over my office.

Pros

I can scan receipts easily. I can find a receipt when I need it. I record expenses easily. It gets rid of having paper receipts all around.

Cons

Their customer service needs improvement. They are not easily available to help with technical support. I pay per month for cloud service and sometimes I need help

Response from Neat

We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties in reaching our technical support department. Our Tech support department is available M-F 9am . - 8pm eastern time. Please note that our automated system will attempt to look you up by telephone number first, so to make it easier to reach technical support please make sure you provide the telephone number that you registered with. We also offer support via email and chat.

Replied 23/07/2018
Amy
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 02/12/2018

Great with some bugs

Pros

I like that we have a scanner... and when it works it works well. It integrated with Box which allows me to upload files into my EHR from my computer or my iPad which is nice.

Cons

The scanner works 70% of the time. The other 30% we have to shut it off then turn it back on. It’s irritating. Customer service hasn’t been much help.

Response from Neat

Amy,
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review! We apologize for the difficulties you have experienced with your scanner. When you do come across any issues using your scanner device, please reach out to out help center here - https://support.neat.com/

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed using the products for the amount of time that you have!
Thank you for choosing Neat!

Replied 03/12/2018
Michelle
Michelle
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 19/09/2018

Very underwhelming

Pros

The concept - the ability to scan in your receipts and have them all stored together and categorized neatly was very appealing.

Cons

The actual functionality. Setting up the neat scanner was a nightmare. I kept getting errors and couldn't get logged in to my account. Once I did get it set up, my scanner only worked part of the time. I also found their online categorization and storage to be overall lacking in being user friendly.

Response from Neat

Hi Michelle,

We're sorry to hear you had trouble setting up your scanner as well as finding the system to be less user friendly.

We'd be happy to assist in both resolving any technical issues with the scanner as well as help you get more familiar with using Neat.

You can reach our support team for technical assistance by calling 888-898-3253
https://support.neat.com/support/contact-support/

In addition to FAQs and how-to articles at https://support.neat.com/
we also have a weekly webinar that may help in using Neat more efficiently and staying organized as it is designed to do.

Webinars are held every Thursday @ 1PM EST. You can sign up here to join an upcoming webinar.

If you¿re not able to join a live webinar you can schedule for a different week or view a previous webinar as they become available here.

For more details see our webinar FAQ:
https://www.neat.com/?post_type=helpcenter&p=29915&preview=true

Replied 02/11/2018
Maria
Maria
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2018

BEST product ever!

I have a small business and every receipt and document that is important I know I can save on my desktop and have it there to be emailed to my accountant or anyone. I have stored everything I've need for the past 2 years since becoming self employed

Pros

what I love the most about the neat is that I'm able to save the document right to my desktop and email right away.

Cons

I can't really say I have anything negative about the neat.. I love how fast and simple it is.

Response from Neat

Maria,
Thank you for writing an awesome review. We really appreciate the support and the fact that you have chosen The Neat Company to keep you organized while running your business! If you ever need any assistance with the software, please do not hesitate to ask.

Replied 26/12/2018
Karina
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2021

Would love to customize

Pros

mildly easy to use - the new app taking the photo is slower than i would like - would prefer to click the photo as opposed to it taking it.

Cons

I wish i could edit the categories - if there is a typo it automatically saves it. I would like to be able to edit the expense categories.

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
The Neat mobile app allows you to manually capture your photos now! All you have to do is toggle one and off the Auto Capture feature. You are able to edit the categories but unfortunately, deleting them is not an option in the mobile app. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Replied 18/11/2021
Sarah
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/06/2018

A hassle to use

It takes very clean scans of Documents, receipts, and ID cards and keeps them neatly organized. I really like being able to rearrange the order of my scans before saving.

Pros

The scanning quality is great. It rarely gets paper jams. Being able to rearrange my scans after scanning is complete is a really nice feature.

Cons

Needs constant updates, Having to log in after a 5 minute timeout, when I need to constantly scan all day is a real pain.

Response from Neat

Hi Sarah,

Thank you for your review. We are working on changes to allow users to streamline their workflow. Stay tuned!

Replied 08/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 27/06/2018

Works well, but you cannot change the user

Pros

It is great quality, makes the pdf's searchable and great to have it cloud based. Easy to organize and save documents based on what it scans.

Cons

The desktop to website is slow and clunky. Also we messed up one letter on the email, stuck with it now, cant change it according to support.

Response from Neat

Thanks for the feedback! We understand the need to change the email, while this can be done, it would require the assistance of our technical support department as the sync is associated with your email address. If you are able to provide us with additional information regarding your recent interaction with one of our agents such as case number, or the incorrect email address we can have an agent reach out to provide assistance

Replied 29/06/2018
Patrick
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 30/12/2019

So glad I bought the bigger scanner.

Neat is a very important software for my photo studio. I can discard virtually all of my receipts now - the IRS recognizes Neat records as sufficient. I can easily find and review previous orders for comparison or reference. Although most supplier websites are getting very good about providing access to previous orders, etc., I still use Neat regularly rather than opening the web browser and finding the supplier.

Pros

Neat allows me to easily scan all of my receipts and offers sorting options. The product also lets me scan customers' hand printed order forms allowing me to return the forms with the photos or discard - but I still have all of the important contact information

Cons

My biggest complaint is speed when loading and searching. Also, the home page could be better organized or even customizable.

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
We are happy to hear that you are enjoying all that Neat has to offer. From your review, it seems that you are using the Legacy software which is now retired and will no longer have any updates. We do suggest moving to the cloud based software as it does solve any issues that you could be experiencing with the desktop software.
Thank you so much for staying Neat with us!

Replied 06/01/2020
Evelyn
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/10/2019

Best Scanning Software

Really saves time instead of me flipping through papers in boxes with a click of a button I can backtrack any documents I may need. Keeps me

Pros

What I enjoy most about this software is that I can log on to my account and I can go searching for any documents that I scanned previously. Keeps me very neat !!

Cons

The only cons of this software are that everything is cloud-based since they discontinue the old software.

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
We really appreciate the feedback and are happy that you are staying Neat! Saving time and keeping our customers organize is what we strive to do!

Replied 10/10/2019
Elwood
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/03/2022

A key business software.

I have used Neat since it started in business and rely on it.

Pros

I have used Neat Books since it came out and it is key to running my business.

Cons

I always shudder when they "upgrade" the software since I then have to learn the new way of doing things. Luckily their client support is excellent.

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
We are happy to hear that you are enjoying NeatBooks! We Thank You for choosing Neat!

Replied 31/03/2022
Alice
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/07/2009

Neat Receipts for road travelers

I can't say enough good things about NeatReceipts...I use it daily to keep organized.

Pros

We travel fulltime, and must retains all expense receipts. We are able to scan every receipt for tax purposes, create a tax report as soon as W-2 is available, and have taxes prepared in record time! No longer have to save files and boxes of receipts or important papers. Everything is scanned and available for ready access when needed by file folder or even just a key word search. Great for when proof of purchase date or amount is needed.

Photos are scanned, saved, & protected forever; even artwork by grandchildren! Faxes received through the computer are easy to view and save without ever having to print, thus no need to use paper...they can even be forwarded by email.
I also use the document feature for my drawings that needs to be emailed to people for immediate viewing, and am able to create PDF images in seconds.When a copier is not readily available, I just scan a document so it can printed out later.

I could go on and on....this is my very favorite tool (after my iPhone).

Cons

I'd like the business card scanner to be compatible with Outlook's contacts. If it's available now, I don't how to use that feature.

Sanace
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/02/2020

It does it job

Pros

It is easy to use and keeps everything organized in its folder.

Cons

the cost is expensive to upgrade and has glitches of errors many times

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
We are happy to hear that you are using the product with ease. Thank you for choosing Neat!

Replied 11/02/2020
kos
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 04/05/2017

very bad customer support

easy to use

Pros

ease of use for every person in office, fast find , but customer service is very very very bad, no phone number to call

Cons

l

Kenneth
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/02/2018

Love it

Better search capability. Paperless file storage.

Pros

I really like the printable reports. It is a versatile product. It can be used to store lots of different files.

Cons

It is a fairly sizable program that uses a rather large amount of memory while open. It does take some effort to learn use.

Response from Neat

Hello Kenneth,

Thank you for the review. Neat is working to add additional features which many users will find as an asset and to simplify the program for ease of use. Stay tuned for what Neat has to offer next!

Replied 05/03/2018
Richard
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 20/04/2017

Trouble w/Neat

Recently I switched from a PC to an IMac computer. Neat seemed to work great on the PC, but when I downloaded the driver for Mac, every time I tried to use Neat it started to scan and then shut down. Support said there would be a fix by the first of the month. That was the first of April. It still is not working. I now have a large paper weight on my desk w/the Neat name and logo on it.

Pros

It's great if it works. Just don't try it on a Mac.

Cons

Doesn't work on a Mac computer!

Response from Neat

We apologize for the delay in a release to resolve the issues that you are reporting. We have just released the latest version of the software to resolve that issue.

If you like we can have a tech support agent reach out to for further assistance.

Replied 04/05/2017
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/11/2018

Neat

Overall, it's a great product. I have not been using long, but I am more organized than I was before I started using Neat.

Pros

I just started using Neat, and I am loving it. It organizes everything, and makes it easy for me to send my information to other software without having to reenter the information. Time saving!

Cons

Getting started, for me, was a bit frustrating. I even had a remote access call, and needed more assistance. Of course, I could be a slow learner.

Response from Neat

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review! We are happy to hear that you are more organized and are enjoying the service that Neat provides. If you do need any additional assistance, do not hesitate to reach out to our support department.
Thank you for choosing The Neat company!

Replied 16/11/2018
Jonathan
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 14/03/2018

I think Neat is overrated.

It can be helpful in organizing credit card receipts.

Pros

The scanners scan very fast and the text recognition software is a novel idea. It also makes very fast PSF's

Cons

I think the software is way too expensive, and the text recognition is hit and miss enough that you still need to go through and verify that things have been converted correctly.

Response from Neat

Thank you for commenting, Jonathan. Neat's development and support teams are constantly working to improve our products and services, and we depend on feedback such as yours to help propel us forward. Please get in touch with us if you ever need any assistance.

Replied 15/03/2018
Linda
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/02/2020

NEAT helps keep paperwork neat

The Neat scanner has saved me a lot of time and headaches when preparing for taxes. It helps me stay more organized. It's actually kind of fun to scan receipts.

Pros

I have the receipt scanner which has been a lifesaver in organizing receipts for tax purposes. Once I figured out the online storage aspect it allowed me to access my data on multiple devices.

Cons

Sometimes the software will close out for no reason. I usually start it back up and everything is there. Syncing to the "cloud" sometimes takes a long time. I don't know if the scanner I have is still available or what has changed in the 5 or 6 yrs I've had it.

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
We are happy to hear that you have saved a lot of time while using Neat!

Replied 18/02/2020
Allison
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 24/04/2017

Easy to use

Using neat has been very easy and convenient for organizing digital files, as well as being able to easily send them out in a variety of formats. It has saved time, money, effort, and a lot of frustration.

Pros

Easy to use.

Cons

Sometimes it needs to be closed and reopened

Brandy
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/12/2021

Neat and Efficient

Great! Wonderful for filing all business expenses and retaining copies for reference.

Pros

Easy to use and works great with Adobe Reader.

Cons

Sometimes the program locks up, but I may have an older copy of the software.

Response from Neat

Thank you for submitting a review!
We greatly appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear that you are enjoying the application!

Replied 28/12/2021
gloria
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

1
Reviewed on 04/03/2017

Have to pay a fee now just to be able to access all of my scanned documents

When I bought this in 2013 it was great for me. But now this year I can no longer even get to the copies of my receipts that I scanned over the years unless I paid the yearly fee just to speak to someone on the phone. They take no calls otherwise. Still can't get it to work but I do have access to my scanned documents. Unless someone knows a better way I'm going to have to go back all those years and one by one download each document onto my hard drive.

Pros

It used to be easy to use for the most part. For my needs anyway.

Cons

It no longer scans and little support unless I pay yearly fee first (still didn't help after 10 hours). I can no longer access any of my saved documents unless I pay a yearly fee for it.

Harry
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/04/2017

Great way to tame Receipts

The Neat Scanner makes it so simple to scan and organize those mountains of paper. I had literally boxes of receipts each year to input (one by one). I trust it so much now that I actually scan and discard hard copy into shredder - Now my desk is nice and clean AND everything is sorted, stored and easy to print if I need it! LOVE IT!!!

Pros

Ease of use, Easy to edit and categorize.

Cons

Took me a long time to order because of cost

100 reviews