Universal Data Access Components Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Universal Data Access Components

Universal Data Access Components (UniDAC) is a powerful library of nonvisual cross-database data access components for Delphi, C++Builder and Lazarus. UniDAC is a cross-database connectivity solution that has been actively...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.8
Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Support
4.7

Browse Universal Data Access Components Reviews

42 of 42 reviews
Sort by:
Tim
Tim
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/05/2022

Using for 10 years and has been the most reliable data tier since BDE.

We have been able to contact support and gotten a night build change to access Oracle when they changed to allow an off site redundant server configuration.

Pros

The software has built in code to access database servers directly. For example, you can write a single EXE that can access an Oracle database WITHOUT Oracle intalled.
They have the code for OCI built in.
Yes, you can use OCI and OLE DB and ODBC and hit 20 other databases with the same code.
Of course you can access MsSql the same way.
What does this give you?? You can make an Android app that connects direct to a Mssql database over the internet. Maybe you will do REST services later, but quickly make an awesome app.

Cons

I don't like that they didn't give me a job offer.

Response from Devart

Thank you so much for your feedback! We do really appreciate it.

Replied 19/01/2023
Jesús
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 14/04/2022

Good component set for multiple database connection

In stable versions my experience it is good and let me connect to Oracle and Firebird with one component set, containing the features I need.

Pros

Using a common set of components to connect to several databases. Pooling it is also a feature I need.

Cons

Sometimes bug fixes takes much time.
New releases introduce bugs that takes time to solve

Response from Devart

Thank you so much for your feedback! We do really appreciate it.

Replied 19/01/2023
Thomas
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/07/2022

Easy and fast to use

Pros

one of the few software solutions on the market that has done what it was designed to do without any problems and without errors right from the start. Microsft should take a look here ;-)

Cons

TPgDump component does not provide functionality to backup only some columns/datafields of a table (postgres) and then to only restore these values without restoring all the other existing and possible newer and essential content.

Response from Devart

Thank you so much for your feedback! We do really appreciate it.

Replied 10/07/2023

Top Universal Data Access Components Alternatives

Thierry
Thierry
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/10/2023

One way to differents SGBD

We appreciate this very good product

Pros

Easy to use in the Delphi spirit : drag and drop objets, link them and use them

Cons

Parameters and options on ServerConnection and providers are difficult to understand.Need more exemples.

Response from Devart

Thanks a lot. Your feedback is valuable to us.

Replied 11/01/2024
Pete
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/10/2023

Devart integration w/ Rad Studio 11.3

Pros

Easy to use, configuration was easier than thought.

Cons

use of older dbf tech was easy to configure and use.

Response from Devart

Thank you for your feedback.

Replied 11/01/2024
Martin
  • Industry: Judiciary
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2023

Universal Data Access

Pros

Pretty easy application development, reliability, excellent functionality.

Cons

I can't think of anything at the moment.

Response from Devart

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied 11/01/2024
Werner
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 04/10/2023

Best DB components every Delphi developer should use!

Pros

My different DB connectorsComponents in general

Cons

DB synchronization featuresDemo examples

Response from Devart

Thank you for your feedback.

Replied 11/01/2024
Vagelis
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 05/10/2023

Hygeia Unidac

Pros

Easy Connectivity on diff database Schema

Cons

Easy on use, very strong stability on connection life

Response from Devart

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied 11/01/2024
Samuel
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/10/2023

The best component for data access for Delphi

I have been using UNIDAC for several years and have never had problems.

Pros

Compatibility with most databases. Excellent performance and features. Fast and efficient user support.

Cons

It requires adapting the application to proprietary components, but this is an operation that can be performed quickly.

Response from Devart

Thank you. We’re glad to hear you had a great experience with us.

Replied 11/01/2024
Artur
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2023

I do not understand, what is this field for.

I't hard for me to admit, that I still do not understand native methods for SQL databases connectivity in Delphi. I'm useing DAC components from very beginning.

Pros

Very easy to install, easy to use, reliable.

Cons

Problem with datetime2 field type in MSSQL, it should have automatic conversion to TDateTime. Problem with setting NULL values in INSERT or UPDATE query with params.

Response from Devart

We are so grateful for your review.

Replied 11/01/2024
Anthony
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/04/2022

Comprehensive data access layer for Pascal languages

UniDAC has consistently allowed us to integrate with light and heavy-duty database engines (from SQLite to MongoDB with most of our usage in the PostgreSQL area). It has greatly reduced the effort to market for our products while also saving money by not needing to purchase Delphi Enterprise, Professional is enough thanks to UniDAC.

Pros

Compatibility with both Delphi and Lazarus/FreePascal.
Super-easy to use installer that seems to 'just work' year after year.
Abstraction layer to allow easier swapping between back-end database engines.

Cons

It is called Universal Data Access Components due to the large number of providers which is both a good thing and a bad thing. The negative for our company is that we only use a few providers regularly so the cost can feel burdensome, most notably when the CRM connectors and such were added a few years back. The positive is that without the bundling, we likely wouldn't have tested out such connectors...

Response from Devart

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience! We are always looking for ways to improve.

Replied 19/01/2023
Jim
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/07/2022

Fantastic product

Pros

Many of our customers use a variety of database products. The applications we build are easily able to connect to every one of them to provide a seamless and fast unified experience.

Cons

I have used numerous other data access components in the past but did not have any undesirable experiences with the DevArt components.

Response from Devart

We are so grateful for your review.

Replied 19/01/2023
Ivan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/04/2022

Solid data access components with good support

Using UniDac makes writing multi-user database applications , across a range of databases, quick and easy without sacrificing performance or usability.

Pros

It is straightforward to use, reliable, and gives me access to every feature I need when writing database connected applications, large and small. It plays nice with the other 3rd party components we use such as DevExpress and Fast report etc, and it well documented.

Cons

Some of the dialogues can be a little clunky but the developer is very responsive.

Response from Devart

Thanks a lot. Your feedback is valuable to us.

Replied 19/01/2023
Fırat
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/09/2022

Review for Universal Data Access Components

In general, I rate it positively and as a manufacturer because its price is slightly below the average market and its overall quality is higher than its counterparts.

Pros

It allows it to work in integration with different databases and makes your life easier in general. I saw a more performance increase than I expected, so I plan to use this software for a long time.

Cons

Sometimes freezing and crashes occur, this may be related to my internet speed or my operating system (I use an open source operating system, such as Linux.) I will send error reports to customer service as soon as possible, but it is not a big problem for me because after restarting all problems disappear.

Response from Devart

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience! We are always looking for ways to improve.

Replied 19/01/2023
Olivier
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/04/2022

Finally a way to properly replace the BDE without relying on shaky OleDB support

Pros

It's a solution that allows us to connect to many databases without needing to use drivers that may be missing from the end user computer.
Anyone who worked with Oracle knows how painful it can be to install their data access layer, Unidac allows us to never bother with this again.

Cons

It requires replacing existing components, but it's close enough to them that a simple DFM editing is often enough.

Response from Devart

Thanks a lot. Your feedback is valuable to us.

Replied 19/01/2023
Roberto
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/04/2022

Very useful for various DB Architectures

We were able to easily migrate from our old Data Access software to UniDAC.

Pros

We especially like the ease of adapting our software to using the different database environments (Interbase/Firebird, Microsoft SQL, etc) that are used by our clients. Also the opportunity to purchase the source code is very helpful .

Cons

There is nothing I do not like. The Software does everything we need in our development environment.

Response from Devart

We are so grateful for your review.

Replied 19/01/2023
James
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/04/2022

Great set of database components

I have used this software for many years and it's an essential part of my programming toolbox. I wouldn't be without it, and use it in preference to any other database component suites.

Pros

Installation is simple; using the components is also easy. Documentation is good, and the ability to flip between database platforms by changing connectors is like magic. On the odd occasion I have needed support, the response has been helpful and timely. I have developed against SQL Server, MySQL, SQLite, Access, Oracle and Advantage database platforms with no issues at all. Another great feature is that there are no dlls that have to be distributed with an application.

Cons

There isn't really anything to dislike!

Response from Devart

Thank you. We're glad to hear you had a great experience with us.

Replied 20/01/2023
Claudio
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/07/2022

UniDAC the definitive solution to data access in Delphi

By developing server applications thanks to uniDAC my systems are always very performing and easily adaptable to new specifications

Pros

I'ts fast, simple and very productive! Is the best in the Delphi world components. I use it for many years

Cons

only the DBMonitor application which is an excellent analysis and log tool but would need some additional functionality

Response from Devart

We are so grateful for your review.

Replied 19/01/2023
Le Peuvedic
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/07/2022

The VCL for several database access

Pros

Easy to use, look like the BDE ... Several database engine supported.

Cons

No things wrong in this suite. All is ok... In the future May be a remote database tools for Json could be nice...

Response from Devart

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it!

Replied 19/01/2023
Luca
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/04/2022

Great tool

Pros

This product is easy to use, integrates well with my applications, simplifies code writing and speeds it up.

Cons

I found no negatives, since I installed it I have always used it

Response from Devart

We are so grateful for your review.

Replied 20/01/2023
Sergey
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/07/2022

Very good product

Pros

Ease of use and reliability in operation. Haven't encountered any problems so far

Cons

I find it difficult to answer. As long as I'm satisfied

Response from Devart

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it!

Replied 19/01/2023
Helmut
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/04/2022

Great help in my Business

Pros

Ease of implementation and functionality of the components

Cons

There is no Excel-Component in unidac so I have to use TMS-Software for that purpose.

Response from Devart

We are so grateful for your review.

Replied 19/01/2023
Robert
Robert
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/04/2022

Exellent product

Pros

access to all DB in one product with native drivers
very quick access

Cons

i have small problems with direct mode to connect with oracle DB

Response from Devart

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied 19/01/2023
Stefano
Stefano
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/04/2022

Everityng ok

Pros

Use one connection for all databases and use always it

Cons

Improve a data dictionary and a Er Diagram (like entity dac)

Response from Devart

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied 19/01/2023
Vicente
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/04/2022

Great

Pros

Easy to use and to integrate with our software.

Cons

Actually it covers all we need and has continuous improvements.

Response from Devart

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied 20/01/2023
42 reviews