MYOB Business Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About MYOB Business

MYOB Business accounting software is designed to help businesses of any size across Australia and New Zealand take care of GST, invoices, reporting, expenses & payroll (including Single Touch Payroll). Designed to save time,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.4
Features
3.7
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
3.3

Browse MYOB Business Reviews

128 of 128 reviews
Sort by:
Ivan
Ivan
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/09/2018

A Solid Piece Of Software

Pros

I have used MYOB for years, it's perfect for getting the job done, and easy to use.

Cons

Sometimes the ability to change or delete transactions is a little bit dangerous.

Anthony
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/11/2022

MYOB Accounts Plus

overall good

Pros

Online and off line accessMobile scanning of receipts

Cons

some search features could be better. Doesn't narrow down search when entering items or descriptions

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

easier to use
Paul
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 29/09/2019

Probably OK If you Are a Trained Accountant or Bookkeeper

We wasted a lot of time and resources using this software for our small business accounting needs. Whilst it did the job in the end we believe there are simpler options such as XERO for us non- accountants.

Pros

As a small business owner not trained in the art of accounting there wasn't a lot we found easy about using MYOB Essentials. The reporting process at the end is probably our highlight.

Cons

We found MYOB Essentials cumbersome to set up and use. The support team was basically of little help. Sending files to our Accountant at the end of the tax year was a pain. MYOB Essentials is better suited to those with a deeper knowledge of accounting than what we have in our business. That is why we switched to XERO which we find much easier and more efficient to use.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

We chose MYOB Essential based on their reputation as a simple inhouse accounting software solution.

Top MYOB Business Alternatives

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Cashflow Manager

Rani
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 13/03/2018

Great software. Does everything we need it to do and more.

Great accounting, and always updating with new features. Our accountant could just log in and do our end of years immediately.

Pros

-Highly customisable for invoicing and parts inventories.
-Has great reports. We found if you knew what you wanted to keep an eye on in the business, then you could design a report for it. Not all accounting programs or workshop software can do that so easily.
-once it was set up for our workshop, it worked amazingly. Very intuitive

Cons

-We were new to this software, and it took a long time to set it up, (6 mnths), specifically for how we needed it to work. (automotive workshop), You almost needed to be a trained accountant i felt.
-Support used to take at least 1 day if not 2 to get back to you.

Adam
  • Industry: Supermarkets
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/09/2023

MYOB Easy

Pros

Application layout makes it easy to navigate

Cons

The upgrade feature needs to run in the background.

Ellsi
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 14/01/2023

Good to start but difficult with finer details.

It worked well as a start package for the small business and didn't cost anything for the first year so was a great starting option. However it was difficult to learn and take further with lots of niggly issues.

Pros

Good app availability to easily capture expenses and receipts. Simple to get started and underway with and often free with certain banks etc for the first year.

Cons

Beyond some basic functionality it was difficult to understand how best to do many things. In addition it was very difficult to reconcile amounts where a bank fee had altered the incoming amount. Often resulting in adjusting the original invoice rather than simply applying a fee during reconciliation.

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online and Xero

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

Ultimately it was offered free for a year so was a good starting point compares to paying.
Karen
Karen
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 16/01/2019

MYOB for business

Pros

I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB seems the only one which is capable of doing accounting tasks in Australia

Cons

I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB online version seems poorly designed, not suitable for multitasking

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 02/11/2020

Great software, but too pricey for my needs

Good software with lots of useful functionality, but too pricey for my needs and too cumbersome compared to other options

Pros

MYOB will polished with lots of mine integrations and options.

Cons

There are a number of different portals with different purposes and I would get lost sometimes navigating the various sites.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise, Xero and Reckon One

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

I didn't choose it in the end.
Thomas
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/07/2023

Thomas Review

A great experience for first time accounting users.

Pros

It's a great, easy to use product that would suit any type of business.

Cons

It's limited by that it doesn't allow multiple businesses for consolidated accounting, so it'll always lose to bigger systems.

Peter
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 12/06/2018

An industry standard, needs better support

Pros

This is one of the mainstream products available around and has a lot of users all over the globe. There is a great chance that your accountant is familiar with this and will be able to make great recommendations

Cons

Updates can be cumbersome and provided they work well they are easy to apply. I have had a couple of instances where we needed support and it has been very lacking. General technical support is poor with cancelled webinars and staff which appear not to know more than the most basic for troubleshooting.

adam
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 18/09/2020

not to bad...quit easy to use.

Customer service can be slow to respond. That said when you do get onto them they do know how to assist.

Pros

Simple and easy to use. A good range of add on products.

Cons

No real ability to grow with your business.
Its really only suitable SME

Gavin
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 10/03/2021

MYOB essentials before it was put on the accountright platform was excellent.

Mostly problems compared to the old software.

Pros

Payroll is ok it has some nice features on pay items but nothing the old essentials could do easily.

Cons

The list is far too long. The old essentials is excellent. All that needed to be done is have the option of reports it had be converted to excel rather than PDF. The decision to go to accountright will be fatal.

Steven
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 08/09/2022

If you find something good, stick to it.

It has been an essential tool in running our business effectively and maintaining legal compliance since we started in business in 2011.

Pros

The wide range of features and varied reports that can be produced to assist with trackingn expenditure , budgeting and forecasting.
Regular updates keep us compliant with tax law.

Cons

I do not operate the software. Unable to answer.

Elizabeth
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 23/08/2021

Upgrade of platform rubbish

Very frustrating, dissatisfaction and disappointment.
Will be looking at Xero.

Pros

Nothing about the new upgraded platform, all information has to transferred over.
Too many gimmicks of cartoon characters , boxes with useless information and graphs taking up half of the dashboard. Support of myob is very inexperienced and wasted 3 hrs on the phone to resolve payroll issues.
Did not ask or want the upgrade now paying more for a useless product.

Cons

Navigation is too complex, nothing is clear and simple.
Super is not calculated correctly, some of the information has not migrated over with the new platform had to re input details. A lot of wasted time.

Jan
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 26/03/2022

The Updated Version is Catastrophic for a very small business

you wait for hours to receive help then get cut off as the wait time is so long

Pros

Not much, the old version worked perfectly, we were given an ultimatum

Cons

Undeposited funds should not be automatic, you cannot delete

Mark
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 26/08/2020

MYOB Review

Pros

I like that it has been around for many many years, and the functionality has NEVER changed or been improved

Cons

The lack of development and modernisation of the product

Alternatives Considered

Xero
ELLIE
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/11/2018

Friendly user

To be more flexible on forms and reports

Pros

Editing and backup easy to manage and restore function for any error or lost of data to be fixed easily

Cons

Cannot customise report and limited on letters and character to be insert. Control on printing page is not user friendly

Kate
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 25/01/2019

Accounting software to begin with

Good for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version

Pros

Have most of the function and very stable software.

Cons

The platform looks a bit old fashion and payroll function is not easy to use.

Jade
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 12/01/2018

Good basic accounts system

Pros

Simple in most cases to use and looks good, integrates with our hire software well , if any issues the help section normally answers the query so no need for customer service.

Cons

I have found it to be slow and sluggish at times, some of the processes are over complicated and difficult to understand/process.

matt
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 08/07/2022

A must for any small business

Pros

its ease of use, Its simple. Everything is a click a way all bookkeepers and accountnats will have access in the back ground to pullt he data they need to complete tax things

Cons

I would ideally like to see a scheduling app or component added which id desktop and phone friendly

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online
Glenn
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

1
Reviewed on 13/10/2017

Can not export or import anything useful. Locked in.

I would avoid unless you only want to use it for a small business with no plans to grow to the stage where you need to upgrade your accounting software. Also requires a internet connection to run.

Pros

Easy to use for a small business. Its web based so you dont need to install any software, and you can use it from any location where you have internet access.

Cons

Import and export data options VERY limited. Can only import items and contacts, can only export a account and journal summary for your accountant. This means you cant use Essentials with a 3rd part system, or export your data if you later decide to stop using Essentials, effectively locking you in. Would make it difficult for a growing business to upgrade to a more advanced accounting system, you would need to manually enter all your records from scratch.

Harinder
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 03/03/2019

Call center people don't know what they are doing or how to setup licence properly

Horrible experience so far with MYOB, time I have waste every day to get my MYOB going is beyond limit as I have other things to do.

Pros

Overall software is not bad but support team is not trained enough to sort out all the issues customer might have. I know my licence issue not been resolved from last two months!!!

Cons

I'm trying to sort out my licence issue from last two months but unfortunately it is still keep going. I have to spend couple of hours on phone to get it sorted and they assure it won't happen again but after couple of weeks and sometime every next day it stop working and keep asking for renew your subscription.
I'm very much pissed off with support people as it seems like they don't know shit and I'm thinking to change to xero instead.

Marcus  Maciej
Marcus Maciej
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 06/04/2018

The interface is ok but the customer service is terrible

Pros

I liked the layout of the software. It is generally easy to use. The colour palette and general design is quite pleasing to the eye.

Cons

It's quite expensive for a small business and of course they hide a lot of information before you purchase. At per month I could not enter more than 5 expenses per month! Ridiculous! Had to upgrade! Cancelling you account is very difficult and they will try and screw you out of every last cent. I will never ever use this company or software again. SO ANGRY at the account closing process. They might have stolen but it has cost them a customer and I will tell everybody I meet to avoid that software and company like the plague!

Melanie
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 04/10/2018

Easy to use for Small Business

I've been using MYOB Essentials for about 2 years now. It's a simple system for a small business.

Pros

Great import feature for bank accounts (main bank accounts are available - some smaller banks are not able to auto import)
Simple payroll functionality
Easy account reconciliation

Cons

There is no simple search facility across the database - you have to enter each screen to perform a search
Reports are hard to find and dates are

Andrew
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/12/2023

If you know accounts, MYOB Business is for you

MYOB Business was generally good and could not be faulted. It does what it claims to do and does it well.

Pros

Very in-depth, detailed and robust application and accounting platform for seasoned Accounts Officers, Bookkeepers and Accountants.

Cons

MYOB Business was challenging to learn and become familiar with for those not used to large digital financial applications. Some training was required.

Response from MYOB

Hey Andrew! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad to hear that you have been unable to fault MYOB Business! Cheers, Mike.

Replied 02/01/2024
128 reviews