User Reviews Overview

About MYOB Business

MYOB Business accounting software is designed to help businesses of any size across Australia and New Zealand take care of GST, invoices, reporting, expenses & payroll (including Single Touch Payroll). Designed to save time,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.4
Features
3.6
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
3.2

Browse MYOB Business Reviews

113 of 113 reviews
Sort by:
Ivan
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/09/2018

A Solid Piece Of Software

Pros

I have used MYOB for years, it's perfect for getting the job done, and easy to use.

Cons

Sometimes the ability to change or delete transactions is a little bit dangerous.

Anatole
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/03/2023

Fully Functional Software

Very happy with the software and introduction of new features.

Pros

It’s been around for over 20 years. Fully functional and developed software. Easy to use.

Cons

Multi currency can be improved but it’s not used often.

Paul
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 29/09/2019

Probably OK If you Are a Trained Accountant or Bookkeeper

We wasted a lot of time and resources using this software for our small business accounting needs. Whilst it did the job in the end we believe there are simpler options such as XERO for us non- accountants.

Pros

As a small business owner not trained in the art of accounting there wasn't a lot we found easy about using MYOB Essentials. The reporting process at the end is probably our highlight.

Cons

We found MYOB Essentials cumbersome to set up and use. The support team was basically of little help. Sending files to our Accountant at the end of the tax year was a pain. MYOB Essentials is better suited to those with a deeper knowledge of accounting than what we have in our business. That is why we switched to XERO which we find much easier and more efficient to use.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

We chose MYOB Essential based on their reputation as a simple inhouse accounting software solution.

Top MYOB Business Alternatives

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Quickbooks Online

Steven
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 08/09/2022

If you find something good, stick to it.

It has been an essential tool in running our business effectively and maintaining legal compliance since we started in business in 2011.

Pros

The wide range of features and varied reports that can be produced to assist with trackingn expenditure , budgeting and forecasting.
Regular updates keep us compliant with tax law.

Cons

I do not operate the software. Unable to answer.

Nicole
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 14/11/2018

One of the top software for bookkeeping

Pros

I enjoy using MYOB simply because it does everything you need for a small business - sometimes needs more explanation with accounting though for new people.

Cons

glitches with POS machines is really the only thing I ever came across with this program, so not alot from a small business perspective.

Ian
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 14/11/2022

MYOB Essentials

All good except for the slow support and issues with the product.

Pros

Easy to use once you know how. I like that I can log on from anywhere top access the accounting software.

Cons

MYOB ceased to support Account Edge on Mac so on recommendation by the sales team I transferred to MYOB Essentials. It is easy to use however because it's web based it hangs intermittently. MYOB added a feature to Item ID on invoicing, adding an information symbol without widening the column. This causes the Item ID to be partially obliterated. This makes it difficult when checking item numbers or picking the order. I have spoken to support who have failed to address the issue or even discuss it. The other issue is support. I have literally waited on for one and half hours before getting to the person I need to speak to.

Jennifer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 14/03/2023

Ok platform at the time however went with Xero

Pros

I needed the ability to access accounting transactions online.

Cons

What I liked least about MYOB business is that is was very limited therefore went with Xero.

Joshua
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/08/2022

Great software for small business

Pros

User experience is great and is easy to use for beginners. As the product has been around for some time, the forums are helpful for common issues and troubleshooting. From my experience the online support chat is helpful when needed. The myob capture app is great for recording receipts and invoices on the go for allocation later on desktop.

Cons

Recurring invoices are a great feature, however for my purposes, I would prefer a create from template feature for recurring contacts. Would prefer to have final say/approval over invoice reminders so the template can be customised to the circumstances. Some basic filtering and sorting features could be added for betting tracking of transactions, invoices, etc.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 02/11/2020

Great software, but too pricey for my needs

Good software with lots of useful functionality, but too pricey for my needs and too cumbersome compared to other options

Pros

MYOB will polished with lots of mine integrations and options.

Cons

There are a number of different portals with different purposes and I would get lost sometimes navigating the various sites.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise, Xero and Reckon One

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

I didn't choose it in the end.
Peter
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 12/06/2018

An industry standard, needs better support

Pros

This is one of the mainstream products available around and has a lot of users all over the globe. There is a great chance that your accountant is familiar with this and will be able to make great recommendations

Cons

Updates can be cumbersome and provided they work well they are easy to apply. I have had a couple of instances where we needed support and it has been very lacking. General technical support is poor with cancelled webinars and staff which appear not to know more than the most basic for troubleshooting.

adam
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 18/09/2020

not to bad...quit easy to use.

Customer service can be slow to respond. That said when you do get onto them they do know how to assist.

Pros

Simple and easy to use. A good range of add on products.

Cons

No real ability to grow with your business.
Its really only suitable SME

Gavin
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 10/03/2021

MYOB essentials before it was put on the accountright platform was excellent.

Mostly problems compared to the old software.

Pros

Payroll is ok it has some nice features on pay items but nothing the old essentials could do easily.

Cons

The list is far too long. The old essentials is excellent. All that needed to be done is have the option of reports it had be converted to excel rather than PDF. The decision to go to accountright will be fatal.

Elizabeth
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 23/08/2021

Upgrade of platform rubbish

Very frustrating, dissatisfaction and disappointment.
Will be looking at Xero.

Pros

Nothing about the new upgraded platform, all information has to transferred over.
Too many gimmicks of cartoon characters , boxes with useless information and graphs taking up half of the dashboard. Support of myob is very inexperienced and wasted 3 hrs on the phone to resolve payroll issues.
Did not ask or want the upgrade now paying more for a useless product.

Cons

Navigation is too complex, nothing is clear and simple.
Super is not calculated correctly, some of the information has not migrated over with the new platform had to re input details. A lot of wasted time.

Jan
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 26/03/2022

The Updated Version is Catastrophic for a very small business

you wait for hours to receive help then get cut off as the wait time is so long

Pros

Not much, the old version worked perfectly, we were given an ultimatum

Cons

Undeposited funds should not be automatic, you cannot delete

Mark
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 26/08/2020

MYOB Review

Pros

I like that it has been around for many many years, and the functionality has NEVER changed or been improved

Cons

The lack of development and modernisation of the product

Alternatives Considered

Xero
ELLIE
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/11/2018

Friendly user

To be more flexible on forms and reports

Pros

Editing and backup easy to manage and restore function for any error or lost of data to be fixed easily

Cons

Cannot customise report and limited on letters and character to be insert. Control on printing page is not user friendly

Beverly
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/04/2022

MYOB software

Pros

Process was easy to set up, had some good features that were used frequently

Cons

Needed more features added to make good use of the accounting,invoices were limited

Edward
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 08/12/2021

MYOB Review

Pros

Ease of use. Pricing
Easy interface
Online storage

Cons

Limited reporting and search functions
Limited customs report

Lainey
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/01/2022

MYOB was what we needed at the time

Was a very user-friendly option.

Pros

It was a cost-effective solution for the number of features available and the quality of product.

Cons

For us the only con was at the time it did not have reoccurring invoicing.

Paul
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/06/2021

MYOB for Tradies

I had little to do with the software save reading my payslips and annual payment summary. These werre accurate and easy to read.

Pros

I received my payslips from the office and they were done on MYOB. They were easy to read and showed everything necessary

Cons

There was no app for my to use at the time to record timesheet activities. I had to make a google spreadsheet and email it. If I had an app then my pays would be uploaded and so less mistakes would have occurred.

Harinder
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 03/03/2019

Call center people don't know what they are doing or how to setup licence properly

Horrible experience so far with MYOB, time I have waste every day to get my MYOB going is beyond limit as I have other things to do.

Pros

Overall software is not bad but support team is not trained enough to sort out all the issues customer might have. I know my licence issue not been resolved from last two months!!!

Cons

I'm trying to sort out my licence issue from last two months but unfortunately it is still keep going. I have to spend couple of hours on phone to get it sorted and they assure it won't happen again but after couple of weeks and sometime every next day it stop working and keep asking for renew your subscription.
I'm very much pissed off with support people as it seems like they don't know shit and I'm thinking to change to xero instead.

Marcus Maciej
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 06/04/2018

The interface is ok but the customer service is terrible

Pros

I liked the layout of the software. It is generally easy to use. The colour palette and general design is quite pleasing to the eye.

Cons

It's quite expensive for a small business and of course they hide a lot of information before you purchase. At per month I could not enter more than 5 expenses per month! Ridiculous! Had to upgrade! Cancelling you account is very difficult and they will try and screw you out of every last cent. I will never ever use this company or software again. SO ANGRY at the account closing process. They might have stolen but it has cost them a customer and I will tell everybody I meet to avoid that software and company like the plague!

Travis
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 15/05/2019

Fun and simple to use for small businesses

Pros

Reconciling the bank, making invoices and categorising expenses is easy

Cons

There are a lot of desktop versions of MYOB and it can be seriously confusing trying to figure out which version you need to open when you receive and client file.

Denise
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/04/2018

Make life easier

Pros

I have been using the web-based MYOB since its launch back in 2012. The functionalities and the interface/look have been improved over the years. I like it because it is web-based, so I don't need to export the accounts and send it to our accountant, also be able to work on the same and updated info from anywhere.

Cons

The subscription price has been increased a lot over the years. I used to pay around monthly and now it costs around. So, for a light user, it's expensive. But well, I guess I pay for the convenience. The interface is not the most intuitive, but once it's learned, it's easy.

Malcolm
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 09/11/2017

Frustrating

Cons

Lack of Support. It would be supportive if after long waiting for call backs that return callers could call back if phone-call gets disconnected; instead of leaving customer stranded without a Solution and left to make their own call-back puting them back on a long waiting Queue, even after already being diverted onto another long Queue!!!

113 reviews