DocStar ECM Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About DocStar ECM

DocStar Enterprise Content Management serves large and midsize businesses across all industries and provides tools to upload, store and share documents in a variety of formats. Cloud-based and on-premise versions of the software...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
3.9
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
3.8

Browse DocStar ECM Reviews

99 of 99 reviews
Sort by:
Billy
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/10/2022

DocStar Has been a Life Saver

We store both not only client information, but also our own business support documents. The overall experience has surpassed all expectations. [SENSITIVE CONTENT]
and [SENSITIVE CONTENT] are Super-Stars in this business..

Pros

DocStar integrates with many programs, including various email platforms and PDF editors. Our users have not problems accessing and using the software when out of the office. The dependablility of the platform is awesome. The User access and passwords make it both easy to use and easy to control. In the 15 year plus that we have been a DocStar customer, it has saved us time, effort and money. In addition, our clients have been very impressed with our ability to gather, retain and send files to them.

Cons

There were times in the past, when DocStar would do updates that negatively affected our ability to use the software and it would cost several hours of "down time". In the most recent years, this seems to have been mostly resolved.

Brent
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/08/2017

An EDM system with great value, web enabled with heavy workflow focus

Data entry automation for AP and AR, matching, routing of Invoices and sales orders and ease of finding documents. Version control comes standard and integrates very nicely with MS Office

Pros

Base system comes with lots of standard features such as records management document workflow, zone ocr, content searching, approval routing and audit trail. The product is browser based so can support Apple/ios environments and be easily placed on premise or in the cloud. Support for multiple companies, TWAIn or ISIS scanning. Batch importing thru email, hot folder, xml or csv comes free. Full MS Office integration and virtual print driver come free. Lots of great options at an affordable price point

Cons

Looking forward to new rebranding in the 7.16 version , not a fan of the old logo and color pallet

Response from Epicor Software

Thank you for the review Brent! I'm glad you like our new branding and I'll be sure to let the Product team know you're on the lookout for it in the product!

Replied 25/08/2017
Susan
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 13/10/2022

Need Viewer to work with Epicor Kinetic windows using passwordless single sign-on

We are automatically attaching our Part drawings along with purchase orders to outgoing emails to suppliers.
We are auto attaching documents (Commercial invoices, etc.) from QuickShip to the Customer Shipment Entry window in Epicor.

Pros

Love that we can have Epicor place documents into ECM and also pull documents from ECM to be sent on emails with Advanced Printing. Also that we can place records into ECM and they will auto attach to Epicor.

Cons

**** WE REALLY NEED THE VIEWER TO WORK FOR EPICOR KINETIC WINDOWS USING PASSWORDLESS SINGLE SIGN-ON. **** It worked in Classic but does not work in Kinetic windows.
*Drag and Dropping documents into windows no longer works in Kinetic
*The user interface is really not intuitive.

Top DocStar ECM Alternatives

Kelly
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 08/02/2017

Eclipse Evaluation

I use Eclipse almost daily in our loan department. It is a awesome way to scan all our client info. This is a great tool for us in our department to not have to go into our actual file room every time we have an issue. It is also great when our auditors to come in and evaluate us, The only thing I ever seem to have an issue with is moving something or emailing a document. Other than that this a great tool to have.

Pros

The easy access to our customer files.

Cons

Often have problems trying to move or email a document.

Response from Epicor Software

Thank you so much for the review Kelly! We are happy to hear that eclipse is helping your team achieve greater productivity and efficiency.

Feel free to reach out to support if you continue to have issues moving or emailing a document. There may be a simple fix for that! If not, you can always submit a Betterizer and our product team will review and prioritize when improving the solution.

You can reach support at 1.866.243.2240. Also check out our Micro Lessons on CareCentral - the answer may be there.

Dawn DiLorenzo
Digital Marketing Manager

Replied 08/02/2017
Mike
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/10/2022

ECM for Manufacturing

The experience with the latest implementation was very positive. The consultant provided by Epicor was very knowledgeable and great at implementing. Getting the right implementer is key.

Pros

The flexibility of the Workflows. Search Capability. Additional uses.

Cons

Difficult to learn to develop workflows.

Zach
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 27/07/2022

DocStar ECM: You can pay for support but when you need it prepare to shell out more $$$

Pros

Nice document management, Can be granular with workflows but there is no documentation on workflow creation. This is probably a push to sell professional services

Cons

You can pay for a support contract, but if you ever need support prepare to get told you need to pay for professional services. Needed to upgrade our Docstar instance to a new version got directed to professional services. Need assistance with creating a workflow, Professional services will help you for the right price. Really confused on why we pay for support when every support request gets the reply "You would need professional services for that". Requested access to download new versions of Docstar from their website... This was 4 months ago and they still have not come through with the request. Probably a way to get people to pay for professional services.

Joan
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/10/2022

DocStar Review

We just started implementing this through the company wide. Still learning the ins and outs

Pros

The added forms and workflow that can prefill certain customer profiles in Kinetic

Cons

We are on prim so the upgrades and information on when the newest release was and release notes. If that was available we would have better judgement on when we need to upgrade

Kristin
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/11/2016

Outshines Dark Filing Cabinets!

Before our company transitioned to docSTAR Eclipse my office was wall to wall dark filing cabinets crammed full of personnel files. They were overwhelming and more importantly even though locked, not fully secure. With docSTAR Eclispe mountains of paper are a dark memory. Security and confidentiality are top priorities. Past and present employee information is always at your fingertips! Fingertips that no longer have to deal with constant paper cuts!

Previously an audit would require extensive time pulling individual files and documents, hoping that everything would be put back in the correct place. Now a few clicks of the mouse and documents are exported with ease with no risk of losing information or it falling into the wrong hands.

docSTAR Eclipse has been a game changer for our Human Resources Department! I couldn't dream of going back to piles of paper. I highly recommend this product to HR departments both large and small!

Pros

The ease of use. With just a little training I was able to fully use the software. It's very intuitive.

Response from Epicor Software

Thank you for your review Kristin and we are so happy to hear that you are seeing the value and return on investment your investment in eclipse!

Replied 18/11/2016
Dennis
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 01/08/2022

Old school long time user,

Storage of paper documents in the office is gone. We down sized the office. We were completely ready to go to remote working, no shut down.

Pros

The data stored is available to who ever has access including remote access. People do not have to be in the office to be productive. you can find thing fast and storing document's with workflows keep the lookup consistent.

Cons

The folder system for looking up document's needs features. Renaming folders, combining folders contents and. general maintenance of folders is not there.

Peter
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2022

It saves time to find documents.

I can find documents much easier. It has powerful document management automations.

Pros

I love how easy it is to securely store, search and send any document.

Cons

Documentation is difficult to load and has a learning curve.

Diana
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/07/2022

Overall very good System

Good!

Pros

Being able to save and retrieve documents. Annotations available to edit documents. Ability to delete documents if necessary. Importing multiple documents with one VCS # very helpful.

Cons

Email imports, previous versions saved the email and the attached documents as PDF's you could just flip through the pages, now you have to download the email and click on the document to view. You also cannot due annotations anymore on email attachments when the email itself was imported.

Thomas
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 18/10/2022

dockstar commentary

Fair some good point and some bad

Pros

It did the job. It was fairly easy for staff to use and successfully allowed us to electronically send and have our managerial staff electronically approve and code their invoices.

Cons

Was a bit cumbersome to use and was difficult to interface with other systems (G/L)

June
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2018

Docstar for Record management

great product - We have created several fillable PDF's that can be routed accordingly. Also uploaded all paper medical records making room for more offices

Pros

Easy to use - able to upload several documents and arrange as needed. All Medical Records/personnel files can be stored electronically instead of paper

Cons

No cons, we were abnle to easily scan documentes into the system and rename and process them without dificulty

Thomas
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 13/10/2022

Great storage and retreival tool!

We got rid of 62 file cabinets! We use this as a repository for all of our records.

Pros

We love that we can always access any document from any desktop. The search is amazing!

Cons

It is expensive and there are additional modules to purchase if you need more functionality.

Kristin
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 13/10/2022

Adequate but needs modernization

Pros

This system integrates with SYSPRO, which was the primary driver for purchase. It has the ability to be highly customized and accommodate complex workflows. Does great at retaining images of documents and the search functions are usable and logical.

Cons

The interface is not modern and some basic functions are missing like the inability to filter on columns and manage out of office approvals for groups. Workflow creation is difficult and not intuitive - lacks the ability to copy multi steps from other workflows.

D
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/12/2016

Deep knowledge of Dynamics GP and AP automation a huge plus!

As a leader in the mortgage space, we handle thousands of documents a month as well as invoices. Everything was processed and handled manually, causing dozens of hours of work every week, errors and delayed approvals and payments, all leading to additional expenses. Trying to find documents for audits was a tedious, costly process and storing documents in file cabinets exposes our organization to theft and loss.

We met with the top 4 or 5 vendors in addition to docSTAR and docSTAR met every one of our requirements. Plus, their knowledge of accounts payable workflow and MS Dynamics GP, easy to build workflows (even complex ones), and cost effectiveness of the solution made them our top choice. We would definitely go with docSTAR again.

Pros
Non-technical staff can build workflows very easily, saving our IT resources time. Deep knowledge of GP was essential for an easy implementation. Our staff found eclipse easy to learn and use without a lot of training. It's very intuitive. Storing content digitally will give us a fast return on investment in labor and storage. Finding new uses for the solution all the time.

Response from Epicor Software

We work really hard to make sure our customers have fantastic experiences with our products and team. We are really happy to hear that the solutions are saving you time and money, our teams' expertise is helping you work more efficiently and that you are able to expand your Return on Investment with the MS Dynamics integration and new use cases!

Replied 20/12/2016
ELLEN
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/05/2020

DocStar

Very satisfied with the system and would highly recommend.

Pros

System is very user friendly and able to retrieve a document in seconds rather than deal with paper files.

Cons

System can sometimes go down, but customer support is very responsive and helpful.

Kristen
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/10/2022

Long Time User

We no longer maintain paper files because of it

Pros

Our [SENSITIVE CONTENT] used to sell DocStar solutions, so we've been using it for years. It's easy and intuitive to use.

Cons

No dislikes at all! We love our docstar!

Lisa
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/10/2022

n/a

Good customer service

Pros

OCR of documents make retrieving easier.

Cons

no applicable at this time. We only use the data to view

Jan
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 24/10/2022

Docstar

Pros

I think I like the ease of finding documents

Cons

The thing I like least is the physical scanning of documents. The scanner keeps jamming and pulling double pages.

Lovepreet
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 21/10/2022

Docstar

not very happy with the resolutions of any issues, I have few cases open for 8 months that never got resolved

Pros

the online storage on documents, saves time to check older invoices

Cons

Development of any additional module, it takes longer time9i would say if you are looking for anything additional, then not hope for at-least 6 months or so.

Deborah
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/10/2022

Docstar Processing

They are very helpful

Pros

It is easy to use and the customer service is exceptional

Cons

I wish it could OCR accounts Payable. I use it for A/R and it works great.

kathryn
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 13/10/2022

Airline Transport review

Pros

easy access to documents for everyone in the office

Cons

Difficulty getting hold of someone to help when issues

Iris
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/10/2022

Daily Use of DocStar

Great experience with the installers and training. They were always ready and willing to help us in the installation and have been very supportive in answering any questions we have had. The icons are easy to follow and the searching process makes look up a breeze.

Pros

We use the DocStar EMC every day. It is great to have all the information readily available to all our employees. It saves so much time in looking up information on our customers and the documents that relate to each other.

Cons

Just getting use to the different ways to scan and retrieve. Sometimes it is hard to find exactly what you are looking for, but I think we will master all phases soon.

Ben
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/03/2018

Find documents easily

Pros

our documents were a complete mess. We'd tried keeping lots of folders and that sort of thing but it never worked out. Just kept getting too convoluted and no one could ever find what they were looking for. This really helped fix that!

Cons

feels kind of expensive for what it is, but for us it has proved worth it. If you're a small company probably not for you.

99 reviews