User Reviews Overview

About MakeShift

MakeShift is a web and mobile employee scheduling solution for people-first businesses in fast-paced industries such as healthcare, hospitality, retail, construction, and recreation. It lets you build schedules faster, track time...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

Browse MakeShift Reviews

110 of 110 reviews
Sort by:
Diane
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/09/2022

Makeshift Empolyee Scheduling

Pros

Easy to update employee schedule, and keep track of daily requirements for staff

Cons

none that I can mention or think of at this point in time

Response from MakeShift

Hi Diane, thank you for your comments and review!

Replied 21/09/2022
Susan
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 01/09/2022

Makeshift in Strathmore

Overall experience is very good from the product itself, to the online support.

Pros

Integration was fairy easy, we had lot's of support. Features are easy to use and customize to what our company needs.

Cons

One of the features I would like to see changed is when an employee puts in their availability it shows up on their schedule but if a shift is requested on this day it does not reflect their availability and hours outside of the availability are still scheduled in.
I have also found shifts have been put into the wrong schedule from that employee that requested and was granted the shift.

Response from MakeShift

Thank you so much for your feedback Susan! If you have any difficulties with your schedule, please feel free to reach out to our support team at [email protected] so we can investigate and correct the issue!

Replied 21/09/2022
Rhon
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 13/09/2022

Difficult communication for overtime

Overall good, except with above

Pros

It's easy to see what shifts are open and who's working them

Cons

When you bid on a shift, you should be able to leave a note with it if there's a special circumstance like only available partial shift or if it would be overtime. This inability is beyond annoying when you have to email a scheduler first before bidding in special circumstances

Response from MakeShift

Hi Rhon, thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our product team for future enhancements to our product! If you have any other comments, please feel free to reach out to [email protected].

Replied 21/09/2022

Top MakeShift Alternatives

Joanne
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 01/09/2022

Health care worker Alberta review of Makeshift

Love this tool, use it daily.

Pros

Very easy to use. I love using the 'dashboard' feature for a snap shot of exactly who is scheduled to come in for any given shift and what our needs are.

Cons

When using dashboard - I would like a quicker way to forward to a date that is further out than a week or two. It would be nice to be able to advance without clicking for each day in between. Also, it would be nice to be able to see highlighted when we are over or under our baseline.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Joanne, thank you for your review! That is a great idea for our dashboard, and we will be sure to pass along your comments to our product team!

Replied 21/09/2022
stacey
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 09/09/2022

Makeshift review

Pros

The most impactful part of makeshift for our hospital is that employees can see there schedule and request without calling the staffing office or contacting the unit. they are able to switch shifts and request trades in the app. we are also able to send announcements and individual messages if need be.

Cons

I would really like to be able to see the history or shifts that have been removed from employee's schedule and also be able to re enable a trade if you accidently decline and forgot the dates

Response from MakeShift

Thank you for your detailed comments Stacey! Shift audits and histories are available - if you would like more information, please feel free to reach out at [email protected]!

Replied 21/09/2022
Ashley
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/10/2021

MakeShift saves so much time

We love working with MakeShift. The customer support is super helpful and incredibly responsive.

Pros

Our company switched to MakeShift a year ago and I wouldn't go back if you paid me a million dollars. Makeshift has made scheduling so much easier and quick! You can build out templates and schedule people out for months or even years. Employees love having their schedules at their fingertips and the ease of trading shifts makes life easy.

Cons

I wish we could drag and drop schedules for several people at one time.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Ashley, thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you find so much value in MakeShift!

Replied 22/10/2021
Peeka
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/09/2022

Makes working from home easier!

Makeshift has been great in helping me transition to a "work from home" world. I love that I can clock in and out of work with the ease of tapping a screen. Brilliant.

Pros

So easy to clock in and clock out of work from anywhere. I can see all the hours I have worked whether it be in the past, or same day. So easy to use this software!

Cons

I wish the app would automatically load in the classic view when I log in from my phone.

Response from MakeShift

Thank you for your review Peeka! We are glad to hear that MakeShift has helped make transitioning to work from home easier!

Replied 21/09/2022
Daniel
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/10/2021

Makeshift Team

Not only is it easy for me to use but my Team members like it as well. They download the Makeshift app and can see their schedules with a click of a button. Very easy for them as well.

Pros

I like the fact that it is easy to use. I am not a computer genius but this was easy to learn and use.

Cons

I haven't found anything that I do not like about this software. I use it with ease every day and find it makes my job of scheduling very easy.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Daniel, we are so glad to hear that MakeShift has been such an easy tool for you! Thank you for your review!

Replied 22/10/2021
dana
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/09/2022

ease of use

see above under pros

Pros

once I got used to it, which was pretty quickly, I was able to access my co-workers schedules with the greatest of ease. I could determine daily schedules when client's were trying to reach them, regular days off, scheduled vacation days, for the week, or future, when planning my own time off. I' able to narrow down departments so I'm not scrolling down alphabetically through everyone's name in the company.

Cons

none that I can think of at this time.
It's a very valuable product with ease of use.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Dana, we are glad to hear you are finding value in MakeShift! Thank you for your review!

Replied 21/09/2022
Kelly
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2021

Easy to use

TheMakeShift team has always been very helpful to us to solve problems; advise on best setup practices and revive feedback to improve the tool.

Pros

This tool allows for a fairly easy setup to get teams up and running quickly. The ability to publish requests to fill empty shifts is quite handy!

Cons

A monthly calendar view would be most helpful to see a month at a glance in a format that everyone is familiar with.

Response from MakeShift

Thank you for the review Kelly! We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying our available shifts feature. We also appreciate your recommendation regarding a monthly calendar view. This is something that we are hoping to implement in the future!

Replied 22/10/2021
Matt
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/11/2021

Great Product

I have enjoyed the product, and it is the best software I have used for scheduling to date.

Pros

I like the ease of schedule making and the seamless mobile integration.

Cons

I feel that the availability feature could be changed to reflect suggested or soft requests.

Michelle
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 03/09/2022

Easy Peazy

You are able to clock in from your phone with ease. As a user, I can keep up with my hours, see what my paycheck will be before it is direct deposited. I'm able to see my checkstubs and download or email them. I get my W2's very quickly and can print or share them. This app is fairly user friendly as well.

Pros

Clocking in by either opening the app or quick clock

Cons

Before the update, it was not so user friendly. Since the update, it is better.

Response from MakeShift

Thank you for your comments Michelle! We hope that we can continue to improve with each update!

Replied 21/09/2022
Ryan
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/09/2022

Makes Scheduling a Breeze

Pros

The integration with ADP is a huge upside. Simple to import employees to the correct locations/departments.

Cons

Past and new employees with the same email will delay an import, but it's easily taken care of by our rep.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Ryan, thank you for your review!

Replied 21/09/2022
Emily
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 19/10/2021

Overall good product but could use some updates for ease of use

Customer service has been outstanding and implementation was fairly straight-forward. Integration with ADP we have had some issues, but again, customer support, has been very helpful and prompt throughout.

Pros

The shift swap feature is great. Setting up shift templates and rotations for ease of use is also great!

Cons

Need monthly view and a system view to be able to see more at one time. Need filters to help employees and managers sort better.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Emily, thank you for your review. We're glad you are finding value with our shift exchange feature. We appreciate your feedback about a monthly view. This is something that we are hoping to implement in the future!

Replied 22/10/2021
Sheila
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/10/2021

Easy to Use

Pros

MakeShift is super easy to use. It is easy to set up, create schedules and get employee availability. It has been our saving grace as we moved from in-person work to virtual work and training.

Cons

I would like to be able to have more than one time zone per department.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Sheila, we are so glad to hear that MakeShift has been helpful as you shifted to virtual work. We appreciate your feedback!

Replied 11/11/2021
Marlee
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 06/09/2022

Vista Care

Pros

It’s easy to install and it is user friendly to staff. This updates on the spot and staff are able to access 24/7

Cons

What we utilize this for I have no complaints

Response from MakeShift

Thank you for your review Marlee!

Replied 21/09/2022
claire
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2021

Great for checking schedule

Pros

great for checking schedule and posting open shifts.

Cons

It is good for scheduling purposes, checking on schedule, posting available shift.
Notification is fast. Easy to use.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Claire, thank you for your review!

Replied 22/10/2021
Tiffany
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/09/2022

Overall Good App

It's been great

Pros

Ease of use for even the most un techy staff memebers

Cons

That there is no color coding available for the shift templates.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Tiffany, thank you for your review!

Replied 21/09/2022
Marianne
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/09/2022

Survey Review

No complain, easy to use esp for an older person like this

Pros

Easy to use. It shows exactly the work schedule and everything about the schedule

Cons

No comment. Its user friendly for me so its perfect to me

Response from MakeShift

Hi Marianne, thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that MakeShift is working well for you!

Replied 21/09/2022
olivia
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/10/2021

Makeshift review

I was scared in the beginning but I adept very fast because it is so easy to use

Pros

Easy to use fast service it really great

Cons

I like everything it is easy to use and fast not complited

Response from MakeShift

Hi Olivia! Thank you for your kind review, we are glad to hear you were able to adapt easily!

Replied 11/11/2021
Colette
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/09/2022

Easy and great scheduling calendar to use

Pros

easy to use and laid out well. I like how the calendar is easy to read and shows the shifts you are going to work with color.

Cons

To be honest I like everything about the makeshift app, no cons.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Colette, thank you so much for your great review!

Replied 21/09/2022
Naomi
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/09/2022

Great Service

Pros

Easy and functional use, extremely easy access!

Cons

I didn't have any cons, functional use, great service!

Response from MakeShift

Hi Naomi, thank you so much for your review!

Replied 21/09/2022
Justin
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/10/2021

Great

Great!

Pros

It’s easy to use and never has too many issues

Cons

Sometimes it can be tricky on a phone or iPad

Response from MakeShift

Hi Justin, thank you for your review!

Replied 22/10/2021
Matt
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/09/2022

Matt McKibben Store Manager

Pros

The software is easy to use to create schedules and see on my mobile device who is working each day.

Cons

It is not easy to schedule split shifts when needed or account for special needs, such as physical inventory.

Response from MakeShift

Hi Matt, we appreciate your review! We will take your feedback and comments to our product team!

Replied 21/09/2022
JoAnne
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/09/2022

Makeshift Review

Excellent

Pros

Ease of Use, very user friendly. Lets me know my shift

Cons

Unable to message through it, would like to be able to message someone specifially sometimes

Response from MakeShift

Thank you so much for your review and feedback JoAnne!

Replied 21/09/2022
110 reviews