Paycom Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Paycom

Paycom offers user-friendly HR and employee-driven payroll technology to enhance the employee life cycle, in a single software. Paycom drives efficiencies, increases data integrity and gives employees power over their HR...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Paycom Reviews

902 of 902 reviews
Sort by:
Joe
Joe
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/02/2024

Paycom Review

Pros

I like the quick responses from the Account Manager and Dedicated Specialist most.

Cons

A lot of custom reports for data need to be purchased separately from what is included in the costs.

Alternatives Considered

Paylocity

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

ADP customer service was not ideal, very slow and limited help.

Switched From

ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

The customer ratings and reviews were very good with Paycom.

Response from Paycom

Joe, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! Our team is dedicated to providing exceptional service and we are happy to hear that we have met your expectations.

Replied 22/02/2024
Alan
Alan
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/08/2023

Paycom simplifies payroll processes for our company

Employees will be responsible for their own actions going forward. Our company's cultural flaws have been exposed through Paycom software. It's making us evolve, but in a positive direction.

Pros

Your sales representative and the service staff are committed to answering your inquiries and resolving any problems that may arise. I've worked in similar roles with other services before, and they're just not the same.

Cons

Since our previous leader left the organization, communication with our new leader has been difficult. No one else was as helpful in guiding me through the steps as he was. Considered myself safe because I had previously used Paycom. I was completely unfamiliar with the Betti component.

Response from Paycom

We are happy to hear that Paycom's software has been instrumental in your organization's growth. Our team is committed to providing solutions that meet your specific needs and we appreciate your trust in us.

Replied 21/08/2023
Gabrielle
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/06/2024

Paycom is very user-friendly

My overall experience with Paycom has been great. Paycom has several great functions that make HR and the supervisors' job a lot easier. Paycom is great for documentation, easily making things visible to employees, and personalizing the system to better fit our business needs.

Pros

I like that the employee is very user-friendly. The app makes it very easy for the employee to access their timecard, request time-off, view documents, complete checklists, etc. From the HR side, after we explain how to access something via the app, the employee rarely reaches out about the same question again, as it's easy to locate everything.

Cons

I do not have any cons about Paycom. I think the system is great and very user-friendly.

Response from Paycom

Gabrielle, we're glad to hear how Paycom has streamlined and simplified your organization's HR and payroll processes! Our goal is to provide customized product offerings to fit the needs of any business, so we're happy to hear this has been your experience. We appreciate your partnership!

Replied 02/07/2024

Top Paycom Alternatives

Elizabeth
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 24/06/2024

Paycom Review

We were not overly impressed which is what caused us to leave and look elsewhere

Pros

It accomplished what it needed to but was very basic

Cons

We didn't have the ability to control a lot of the functionality, it was difficult to work with out Paycom team to get things done, things were often set up incorrectly, the forms were clunky to maneuver around for data, reporting was clunky

Response from Paycom

Our company's mission is to simplify the employee process and eliminate unnecessary tasks for the HR and payroll teams. In addition, we strive to deliver top-notch service to our clients. We're disappointed to hear about your experience and we'd like to learn more. Please reach out to us at [email protected] and a member of our team will be in touch.

Replied 27/06/2024
Brenda
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/03/2024

Paycom Implementation

Overall experience has been great. From the initial meeting with Jack Darnell to the implementation process to now the transition to our account rep has been smooth and seamless.

Pros

The team has been absolutely amazing to work with and I hope this continues as we transition to our account specialist. Everyone made sure we have the tools needed for success.

Cons

With the implementation of Paycom and all new benefits it is also during a time that we are going through some restructuring with many changes. We have Talent Acquisition; however, we have not been able to utilize it yet due to the changes that are happening. We feel pressured to get using it from the Paycom team.

Alternatives Considered

Paylocity

Switched From

Insperity

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Ease of use, familiar with Paycom already, creating reports very easy to navigate, external reviews very high compared to others.

Response from Paycom

Brenda, we are thrilled to hear about your Paycom experience! It's especially great to hear the transition has been smooth and seamless. Thank you for the 5-star review!

Replied 09/04/2024
Ayla
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/01/2024

One Stop Shop

Overall, it's been good. There were some hiccups with our work week setup which cost us a lot of money, but it has all functionality built in for everything needed for HR. It's a one-stop shop.

Pros

User-friendly interface, and has all components of HR that are needed for a business. Onboarding, background checks, performance management, benefits, payroll and much more. There are dedicated specialists available to answer questions when you need assistance.

Cons

Messaging system to employees needs updating, the format is very archaic and limited use of links and photos. Needs to be revamped. Also, specialist reply time can take sometimes 1-2 business days. Turnover for Paycom specialists seems to be high, as we get a new specialist assigned to our account about every 6 months or so. New feature you want to add cost more and more money instead of one bundled price for everything.

Response from Paycom

Ayla, we're pleased to know our user-friendly software is giving you the ability to streamline your HR and payroll tasks all in one place! We appreciate your feedback and for letting us serve your organization!

Replied 06/02/2024
Gayle
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 13/09/2019

Customer Service is not what they sell

We have been very frustrated with our implementation and ongoing service. They push to go live in a very short amount of time but did a terrible job of working to make sure the set up was right. They definitely have their own agenda but it did not match our needs. We still have to do continual follow up to make sure things are right.

Pros

The basic interface is easy to use and I like that we can customize the software to our needs.

Cons

It wasn't as helpful on the Payroll/Finance side and we still have to do a far amount of work outside of the program.

Alternatives Considered

UKG Pro

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

The software was out dated and Ceridian was sun setting the program. We wanted a more dynamic software to meet our needs. We were looking for a more responsive provider.

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

We chose it for value over UltiPro even though we felt it was not the superior product.

Response from Paycom

Gayle, we are sorry to read you are frustrated and would like the opportunity to resolve any concerns or questions you may have. Your success with Paycom is important to us and a member of our client support team will be happy to follow up with you directly.

Replied 03/10/2019
Jamie
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/06/2024

Paycom is Awesome

Pros

Ease of use. Customer service is knowledgeable.

Cons

The report writer is a little difficult to use.

Alternatives Considered

Paychex Flex

Switched From

ADP Workforce Now

Response from Paycom

Our company's mission is to simplify HR and payroll processes for all our users and we are thankful you've left us a 5-star review! Thank you for your partnership, Jamie!

Replied 11/06/2024
CHRISTINE
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/06/2024

Why Choose Paycom

Pros

The team we have. They are awesome each individual carries a strong knowledge of different aspects of the systems. Our current team goes above and beyond to find a answer for us. Our support is great. My faviorite is the scheduling especially for budgeting purposes. I have worked in HR for many years and worked within many programs and paycom by far has been the easiet to implement and navigate.

Cons

Setting up the features after purchasing them I feel like IT at times.

Response from Paycom

Christine, we're proud to know Paycom has been the easiest system for you and your organization to navigate! We're also pleased to hear our team is providing ample education, assistance and service to your organization. We appreciate your review and advocacy!

Replied 14/06/2024
Keli
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/06/2024

Cowboy Bank Review 6-12-24

Overall my experience has been good. I think the system has alot to offer that most probably aren't utilizing. My experience has improved greatly with the help from [sensitive content hidden] my Executive Emerging Markets Client Rep.

Pros

The customer service and ease of getting around in the Paycom system.

Cons

I have had a rep in the past that was not helpful. That can create some frustration.

Response from Paycom

It's great to know you find Paycom easy to navigate, Keli! Our goal is to simplify and improve the employee experience through our product and service. We're happy to know this has been your experience! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Replied 19/06/2024
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/01/2020

One of the best solutions for HR

Using Paycom as an Administrator is a breeze. Easy to set up, great for reporting, payroll processing, and customer support (I have a designated representative). No more case numbers or long waiting calls.
For employees, or standard users, the system is easy to navigate. The Paycom App is fantastic.

Pros

As Administrator of the system, Paycom is convenient/easy to use. The modules such as Benefits Administration, Time and Attendance, Document Management, Expense Management, Applicant Tracking, are very intuitive to use.
The report writer is the best. Compared with ADP, Paycom is one of the most user-friendly HRMS out there.
Customer support is great. Each account/company has a designated representative assigned.

Cons

Price. The products are wonderful, but it comes with a price.
Every company/organization has its uniqueness. Finding a perfect HR software is not easy, but Paycom meets all the criteria I need.

Alternatives Considered

Paylocity and Millennium

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

Cost, Outdated version, representative never approached us even when the software we were using was outdated. Very disappointed with ADP.

Switched From

ADP Workforce Now

Response from Paycom

Thank you for the fantastic review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with Paycom! We're thrilled that you are enjoying our products and that you find them easy to navigate! If there are any updates that would improve your experience in the future, please let your dedicated support specialist know!

Replied 31/01/2020
Tony
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/09/2020

A really good system a couple of short steps from greatness

The software is progressing nicely and is very easy to use. Customer care at the account level is very good. Direct customer service sometimes lacks skills, but part of that is due to the fact that there are so many new features and add ins being released right now that their customer service team seems a little behind the curve of indepth knowledge. Overall the stongest product on the market for small to medium sized companies.

Pros

The UI and ease of use is at the top of the market. Large easy blocks and buttons to click on make daily use very easy. Reporting isn't perfect by at the top of everything I've used or seen so far.

Cons

The system still hasn't caught up to how employees think about HSA's. Employees think of contributions to their HSA's in terms of how much comes out of each paycheck and not how much they want to contribute on an annual basis, but the tool forces them to look at it in a yearly format. The request is in and hopefylly they'll fix it soon, but it's there.

Alternatives Considered

BambooHR , Paylocity and Paycor

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

The complexity of ADP made it impossible to ever do anyting unusual without assistance. And sometimes even the simplest things became complicated quickly. In the end, not even the customer service reps could tell me how to do certain things without causing problems with data in other parts of the database. We decided to leave when this issue lead to data integrity problems.

Switched From

ADP Workforce Now

Response from Paycom

Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear you find our system user-friendly. We also appreciate your feedback and will share it with our team. We would love the opportunity to learn how we can create a 5-star experience for you. Please share any other enhancements you would like to see from us with your dedicated specialist or with our team at [email protected].

Replied 15/09/2020
Dayna
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 19/08/2021

The black hole that is Customer Service in Paycom

The experience has been bad. They don't support their small to mid-size customers. The people are nice but the business plan and structure is a mess.

Pros

The payroll portion seems to work well. We don't have to call for help often and it is pretty user friends.

Cons

The software is complicated and customer service is not available through Paycom. We have been working for 6 months to get the 401k feeds correct and we are still struggling. It may work but who knows if you can't get help.

Alternatives Considered

TriNet Zenefits , Paylocity and Paycor

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

Wanted more functionality

Switched From

Paychex Flex

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

They sales person convinced me that their customer service was great and the structure put customer service first. She doesn't work there any more.

Response from Paycom

Our support teams are dedicated to providing world-class service to each client. We connected with your client team to ensure your concerns have been addressed, but please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] if we can be of further assistance. We're proud to be your HR provider and look forward to partnering with you on all your business's needs.

Replied 27/08/2021
Kendall
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/08/2023

Paycom is simple and great for HR needs

Paycom consolidates a plethora of functions—from standard human resources to project management to applicant tracking to learning management to time and attendance tracking—into a single platform. With Paycom, time and attendance tracking and management are completely automated, eliminating the need for any human processes.

Pros

An excellent central location for all company information and communication. Timesheets, costs, training, document uploading, onboarding, and benefits administration are all handled through it at my company. The software might need some polish, but it's a lifesaver for tracking mileage.

Cons

Honestly, I haven't noticed any drawbacks. Simple app or web-based access available. It would be great if the app could get alerts via push notifications. When keeping a manual mileage journal, it's a good idea to include more stops.

Response from Paycom

Thanks for the positive review, Kendall! We are thrilled to hear that Paycom has been able to provide you with the tools and resources necessary to simplify your work life and help you become a better manager. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to continuing to provide you with the support you need to succeed.

Replied 07/08/2023
James
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/01/2024

The smartest decision for a better HR

Pros

The amount of information available to our employees now compared to our previous provider. It is like the curtain to their time and attendance, pay, and everything else was finally removed. Their customer service is top notch, and very responsive to any inquiry we have. Our integration of Paycom was smoothy then we originally thought, and our transition team made it so much easier. We are constantly at or above a 98% Direct Data Exchange rate, which has taken all the extra workload off the HR department. The features that are offered are far superior to what we had in the past, and we are finding out that Paycom integrates with almost all the benefits that we offer which help to reduce even more workload. The App, and website are super easy to use, and the multi-language feature is top notch.

Cons

There is nothing that we disliked about Paycom.

Alternatives Considered

ADP Workforce Now , Paylocity and Paycor

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

Paycom was a far superior product to Paychex Flex, and Paycom offered what we were looking for and more.

Switched From

Paychex Flex

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Paycom fit our needs and goals, and we will be able to grow and be better then we were before with Paycom.

Response from Paycom

We're proud of our team for providing you with pleasant and helpful implementation assistance. We're also thrilled to hear how Paycom has helped you and your organization thrive! Thank you for your 5-star review and partnership, James!

Replied 11/01/2024
Stephanie
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/02/2024

Smoothest implementation ever

Overall we are very happy with the product. It was easy to get set up and I find myself looking to use more and more of the fields and options because the reporting is really great! It has been a pretty quick learning curve because the interface is pretty user friendly.

Pros

The implementation process was quick and fairly straight forward. Our sales person remained on our account as support throughout the implementation process and that was comforting. We had a timeline and we were able to adhere to it and processed our first payroll on time. When we had questions, we received answers quickly by reps that we recognized. The general ledger reporting is also easy to update and customize.

Cons

We had a couple issues with benefits implementation. It was a little difficult to understand what we were setting up and how it would all flow through. May recommend asking for a benefits specific demo. We also have had to file a few jurisdictions that have cost some extra fees that I didn't think about up front it may be nice to do a review before implementation of what may be needed.

Alternatives Considered

ADP Workforce Now and Paylocity

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

We were implementing a 401k plan and so we needed better reporting. We are now able to get an employee census and automated 401k reporting from the system vs. manual Excel design.

Switched From

SurePayroll

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Price was some consideration. ADP was too expensive for our small company. Paylocity is the product I had some experience with in the past and their customer support was always changing reps. Their GL was also not customizable by the end user.

Response from Paycom

We appreciate your feedback, Stephanie. It's great to hear about your implementation experience with our team! We're happy to know Paycom is making a positive impact on you and your organization! Thank you for the positive review.

Replied 08/02/2024
Susie
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/11/2019

Outstanding Product and Support

The BEST Payroll, and HRIS system on the market hands down!

Pros

This product has high technology and excellent ease of use. It is ever changing and improving to allow you to keep up with the latest technology. Paycom also will customize your product for your individual companies use. The customer support is outstanding and they are always there to assist you!

Cons

There isn't much I don't love about Paycom. They have outstanding support and walk me through each portion of the program. The only issue I have had with Paycom is not having the Back Benefits automatically calculated. BUT this feature is coming soon!

Alternatives Considered

UKG Pro and Paylocity

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

ADP's Workforce was not an integrated system, but several individual products bolted onto their payroll software. Each product did not flow and work together. You were forced to enter the same information in each portion of the system. Their Tax filing services were terrible!

Switched From

ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Product was better, their customer service team was much more personable, and the product was the most innovative. The company was more financially sound.

Response from Paycom

Susie, thank you for sharing your Paycom experience! We are so thrilled that you enjoy using our products.

Replied 07/11/2019
Angie
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/03/2024

Love Paycom

My experience has been overall very positive. I would choose it again.

Pros

Paycom is user friendly and can be customized to handle our very specific policies and procedures. Processing payroll is very easy. The system allows us to delegate many tasks to the employees directly instead of making one person maintaining the data. I also like that it has a cohesive data base and isn't cobbled together using many other "programs" or codes bundled into one main umbrella. The system can handle very complex situations, like shift differential and has a robust time keeping system to allow attendance tracking, as well.

Cons

It took a while to get it set up, but once on it has been really great.

Response from Paycom

We're glad to hear how Paycom has streamlined and simplified your organization's HR and payroll processes, Angie! Our goal is to provide customized product offerings to fit the needs of any business, so we're happy to hear this has been your experience. Thank you for allowing us to serve your organization!

Replied 12/03/2024
Karena
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/04/2020

User Friendly System

Overall experience has been great. Any issues or questions we may have are quickly addressed and we have an extremely knowledgeable dedicated account specialist.

Pros

Paycom software is very easy to understand and navigate. The modules are very comprehensive in terms of available features. The reporting feature allows you to pull information in a variety of formats. And the end-user has their HR information right at their finger tips which allows for easy access and updating information convenient.

Cons

Paycom has annual price increases to the software that we use. We started with a certain price which has changed over time.

Alternatives Considered

Auto Decision Platform and Paychex Flex

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Reviews from other end users, software modules available and cost.

Response from Paycom

Karena, thank you for sharing your Paycom experience! We're thrilled to see you are enjoying our products, and we hope they will continue to bring value to your organization. Please feel free to share with your dedicated specialist any enhancements you would like to see from us; we love hearing from our users!

Replied 15/04/2020
Walter
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/12/2023

Transition to Transformation

So far, [sensitive content hidden] have been extraordinary! They go above and beyond to understand our needs and work with their teams to respond with fixes very timely. I've been personally impressed with [sensitive content hidden] in all meetings, as he understands the product, and balancing the client needs and wants very well.

Pros

System is intuitive, user-friendly, functionality handles most of our compliance needs, and extremely pleased with the end-to-end Performance Management process that we have been able to build out. This capability enhances our employee experience significantly!

Cons

There was a choppy hand-off from our Sales Exec - [sensitive content hidden], to the implementation technical team, which could have been done much more effectively. Promises were made, but working with the implementation team could have been even more seamless, had there been a transition step involved. This was a miss on [sensitive content hidden] end that caused some friction on our end, and caused a delay in implementation.

Response from Paycom

Thank you for leaving us constructive feedback! We are happy to hear our product enhances your employee experience.

Replied 26/12/2023
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 17/04/2019

A well-rounded, feature rich HRIS

We use the Paycom HRIS similarly to most companies might us it; for payroll, employee management and talent acquisition. The system has decreased the amount of time we spend on every day tasks. It's simplified the payroll process, transitioned us from paper to digital in many ways and added value to the new hire process. The ability to on-board new hires electronically has been a vital time savings. Our reduction in paper cost is significant.

Overall, our Paycom experience has been very positive. It's re-defined the way we handle HR tasks. It's brought our candidate experience to a new level and has resulted in immeasurable time savings. Any issues we have are overshadowed by the fact that we can always reach a knowledgeable account representative that is willing and eager to help us. Paycom continually proves themselves to be a partner who has a vested interest in our success.

I would not hesitate to recommend Paycom as a full-featured HRIS or for any of their many specific modules. As someone who has used all of their modules, I can attest to their quality and accuracy. They should be a top contender for any organization shopping for an HRIS.

Pros

Paycom may not have the brand recognition of a larger HRIS, but that doesn't mean that it shouldn't be a front-line contender. The software is robust with capabilities that round out its fairly intuitive interface. If you have a need for an HRIS, chances are good that Paycom will be able to satisfy it. Our experience with their offerings includes Payroll, Employee Management, Applicant Tracking and other modules.

While the modules differ in their complexity and sometimes require a modest learning curve, there's nothing inherently negative to say about any of them. Even with some time to adjust and learn the system, it can be credited for simplifying almost every aspect of our human resources administration. What's more is that Paycom is continually updating and streamlining it's software. Seldom a week or two goes by without a meaningful innovation to Paycom.

I've taken notice that these updates most often the fruit of listening to customer feedback; something many companies aren't particularly well known for. In my experience, we've always been able to reach a representative at Paycom and they've always been willing to take our feedback. When practical, they've been able to implement some of the things that we've asked for. They've been quick to address any problems that we've experienced, either through software or user error.

Simply put, Paycom is a responsive HRIS suite that continues to evolve while offering an outstanding customer service experience.

Cons

Paycom offers a bevy of features, but you won't find all of these enabled at the onset. As you dig through the manual, you will find interesting features that aren't present in your HRIS. This is usually because they're not enabled which doesn't always mean that they come at an extra cost. It only means that these specific features have not been turned on and that you need to request that functionality by contacting your account representative. This can be a bit frustrating at times, but it certainly makes sense not to enable everything in the system. I suppose that it is akin to training wheels.

Paycom offers so many features and functionalities that enabling them all at once would likely be overwhelming to a new user. In this respect, it makes sense that certain, less popular features, might not be enabled by default. That's the case for some of the Paycom features, but you'll find it easy enough to have them enabled. It merely takes a phone call to your account representative who will have the feature enabled in relatively short order.

Apart from that, not every aspect of the system is completely intuitive. There are some areas in Applicant Tracking, for example, that can be cumbersome and less than stream-lined. Some things are just harder than they should be - either due to the overwhelming feature set or ill-thought design. Having said that, Paycom is continually evolving and I've seen active changes to make all aspects easier to use.

Response from Paycom

We greatly appreciate your feedback and your review. Our team is constantly finding ways to improve how users interact with Paycom and we will pass our product team your thoughts. If you have any other thoughts feel free to let us know.

Replied 22/04/2019
Mary
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/10/2019

A good solution for the money

Overall we are very pleased with the scope and breadth of the system. We are finding that we are able to solve many HR challenges through this platform. And they are continually improving the product. Even in the last 10 months, some of the things that would have made to the "What do you like least about this software?" list have been resolved through new product releases.

Pros

We implemented Paycom after becoming frustrated with a much more expensive solution. We have been using it for about 10 months and are still amazed at how intuitive the software is. Our HR team has been able to go right into the system and begin using it with very little formal training which a plus when time is tight. But I would also recommend taking their webinar training when offered. I've picked up tricks that are less obvious but greatly enhance my ability to accomplish what I need to do in the system.

I especially like the Personal Action Forms and the fact that they are customizable. We don't even need process documentation anymore. We create a custom PAF for each type of employee transaction that needs to be made and include all the relevant fields that may need to be changed or verified as a result of the change type. This is a huge time saver for us and keeps our data accurate.

I also appreciate the many compliance tools and dashboards. We have been able to ensure Notice Compliance by using the Checklists functionality. You can assign documents to employees and get their signed acknowledgement and be completely paperless! A great benefit with six offices spread across the country and only one central HR department.

Cons

We are still hopeful that Paycom will come out with a more robust API that will allow us to share employee data bi-directionally. For now, you can export data from Paycom to share across other software systems but you cannot write into Paycom. Everything needs to be manually imported.

Response from Paycom

Thank you for the review and feedback, Mary! We are thrilled that you are enjoying your Paycom experience! We will be sure to share your feedback regarding the API process with our product teams.

Replied 16/10/2019
Steve
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/03/2024

Handy Dandy Payroll App

I find Paycom to be a generally excellent and efficient app that makes payroll and its associated functions easily accessed, updated, and implemented, with a minimum of fuss. It's highly functional and works well, with a minimum of glitches or other issues. I don't have complaints so much as 'I'd like to see's; given how rare it is for me to not have a complaint about something, that's high praise. I've used other payroll apps in the past, and thoroughly recommend Paycom for any size business.

Pros

I really like the ease of use I get in the app, as that is how I most often access Paycom. The layout is clear, options are logical, and it's easily understood at each level what I'm looking at and what I'm doing. The app is high-powered with functionality, unlike many apps that are just light versions of their websites. I actually prefer the app. The features are robust, allowing for much more than just requesting time off. Access to tax documents, time cards, adjusting payroll, and yes, time off requests, are all easy to navigate to and access. Having online learning resources and additional company info built in and accessible from the app is also a highlight.

Cons

One of my earlier complaints about Paycom- the awkwardness of entering PTO requests- was actually fixed in one of their recent updates. Although navigating to the various functions is easy enough, a 'Favorites' option would be most appreciated. Not every user needs to use every function equally, after all. While access to the options is easy enough, the layout and visuals of the app itself are somewhat basic, and could do with a fresh coat of paint, as it were. Some minor quibbles, like certain characters not allowable in PTO requests, are just that, minor.

Response from Paycom

Steve, we're thrilled to read your review! It's really great to hear you are utilizing the many different features within the app! Thank you for the positive review and we appreciate your partnership!

Replied 02/04/2024
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 13/09/2021

Sales Overpromised, Quality Sub-Par, Customer Service a Joke

deplorable

Pros

The Mobile App is better than Paylocity and similar vendors. Reporting is OK.

Cons

Sales "sold" us services which system was incapable of. Nickle and dime you for additional services, no matter how small. Customer service wont respond to you for weeks or months. They even blew off 2 conference calls that they scheduled with us related to their customer service! We have had 4-5 rep changes in 12 months. All of which are horrible. And they take no responsibly for their errors or lack of communication and give you NOTHING in return for your troubles. They screwed up our taxes without authorization, which ended up being a $100,000 tax increase in a single day. 6 weeks later it's still unresolved. They hiked up our rates by 4% after just 12 months. THEY HAVE THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM.

Alternatives Considered

Netchex

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

Overpromised as a better product and having stellar customer service.

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Ultipro was too expensive.

Response from Paycom

We're sorry to hear about your experience and what you described does not match our standards. With that in mind, we would like to learn more about your feedback. Please contact us at [email protected] and a member of our team will reach out to you.

Replied 24/09/2021
Bri
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/04/2019

Once the kinks worked out, we've been happy

Our largest issue has been that Paycom's PTO accrual functioned ONLY according to the process of payroll, which our company's does not (we accrue first of the month, roll over EOY, and tracking/accrual has nothing to do with a pay date). This has hopefully been fixed with new functionality rolled out, but we're still in the process of converting.

Pros

Everything is all in one place, and for the most part does exactly what we need it to do. Paycom is my 4th HRIS implementation, and the on-site support throughout implementation has so far been unmatched. Reporting is relatively easy to figure out, and having a dedicated specialist has meant that anything else we needed has been given to us well. No implementation has been 100% smooth, and there will always be errors in setup and functionality you thought would be there but isn't, but overall it's been good.

Cons

As with any tech company, turnover is insane. Throughout our implementation and post-live support, we have been the 1st or MAYBE the 2nd client these representatives have had. This has meant we were sold products that didn't work as advertised, set up in the system incorrectly, or support has been novice. This has been largely due to unseasoned employees who don't entirely know all of the answers yet. This makes it hard to get things done right the first time.

Response from Paycom

Bri, we greatly appreciate your feedback and your review. Our team is constantly finding ways to improve how users interact with Paycom and we will pass our product team your comments.

Replied 29/04/2019
902 reviews