Paycom Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Paycom

Paycom offers user-friendly HR and employee-driven payroll technology to enhance the employee life cycle, in a single software. Paycom drives efficiencies, increases data integrity and gives employees power over their HR...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Paycom Reviews

859 of 859 reviews
Sort by:
Ricky
Ricky
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/09/2018

Human resource management simplified

Paycom is a wonderful tool for small to medium organizations looking for a single system to manage Human Resources related tasks and processes. Employees spend less time managing their time, information, and benefits which results in more productivity. Performance management has become more visible organization-wide

Pros

Performance management is a key feature that allows me to efficiently track and manage my team's performance. Instead of a one-time, resource consuming performance review cycle, Paycom allows me to add notes throughout the year so end-of-year performance reviews become a snap.

We recently implemented Paycom expense which has streamlined submitting and approving team and department expenses. A key feature is the ability to create expense templates for monthly recurring expenses, saving valuable time and energy.

Benefits management simplifies what could be a complex process to research, understand, and enroll in company sponsored benefits. In particular, a single dashboard displays all of your employee benefits making it easy to find what you're looking for and make changes along the way.

Cons

We've recently tapped into Paycom's My Learning module. I'd like to see an investment in content development areas like security and compliance to further leverage Paycom as the main source for employee training.

Paycom's UI design and navigation feels outdated compared to similar software.

Response from Paycom

Ricky, thank you so much for your positive and detailed review of the partnership between your organization and Paycom. We will share your feedback regarding our training content and product development teams. We also recommend the resources on the Paycom blog and the HR Break Room podcast regarding the topics you mentioned. Please reach out to your Paycom specialist if you have any additional questions or feedback.

Replied 18/09/2018
Alan
Alan
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/08/2023

Paycom simplifies payroll processes for our company

Employees will be responsible for their own actions going forward. Our company's cultural flaws have been exposed through Paycom software. It's making us evolve, but in a positive direction.

Pros

Your sales representative and the service staff are committed to answering your inquiries and resolving any problems that may arise. I've worked in similar roles with other services before, and they're just not the same.

Cons

Since our previous leader left the organization, communication with our new leader has been difficult. No one else was as helpful in guiding me through the steps as he was. Considered myself safe because I had previously used Paycom. I was completely unfamiliar with the Betti component.

Response from Paycom

We are happy to hear that Paycom's software has been instrumental in your organization's growth. Our team is committed to providing solutions that meet your specific needs and we appreciate your trust in us.

Replied 21/08/2023
Lori
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/02/2024

Paycom delivers return on investment!

Paycom was like coming to trusted teammates who walk you through all the options you may want or need for you business and it's anticipated growth. I know I'll never have to switch again!

Pros

I really enjoyed working with the Paycom team. I can tell they want my business to succeed genuinely, and they work hard to support our needs and growth.

Cons

I really don't have any cons honestly. I have thought hard and can't think of any!

Alternatives Considered

OnPay and Paycor

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

I needed a company who could keep up with the growth of my business. Paycom delivered!

Switched From

OnPay

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Paycom had the ability to keep up with my business and support our continued growth and needs I hadn't even thought about!

Response from Paycom

Lori, client service is our top priority, so we're truly happy to know you're having a positive experience with Paycom! Thank you for letting us serve your organization and entrusting us with your payroll needs. We look forward to continued success in the future!

Replied 15/02/2024

Top Paycom Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 09/02/2024

Paycom staff don't know their own software to be able to address customer issues

Below average on a good day. Send 10 emails and no one can help or acts like they want to help.

Pros

Reports are pretty good and useful. But you have to train yourself.

Cons

Customer service is poor. Software is clunky and tons of stuff you don't need.
Hope you never need to have an issue fixed. Not one person there knows anything other than to
try and upsell you something you don't need.

Response from Paycom

Client service is our top priority. We're disappointed to read your review as the experience you're describing does not align with Paycom's standard. Please reach out to our team at [email protected] so we can learn more about your experience.

Replied 12/02/2024
Walter
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/12/2023

Transition to Transformation

So far, [sensitive content hidden] have been extraordinary! They go above and beyond to understand our needs and work with their teams to respond with fixes very timely. I've been personally impressed with [sensitive content hidden] in all meetings, as he understands the product, and balancing the client needs and wants very well.

Pros

System is intuitive, user-friendly, functionality handles most of our compliance needs, and extremely pleased with the end-to-end Performance Management process that we have been able to build out. This capability enhances our employee experience significantly!

Cons

There was a choppy hand-off from our Sales Exec - [sensitive content hidden], to the implementation technical team, which could have been done much more effectively. Promises were made, but working with the implementation team could have been even more seamless, had there been a transition step involved. This was a miss on [sensitive content hidden] end that caused some friction on our end, and caused a delay in implementation.

Response from Paycom

Thank you for leaving us constructive feedback! We are happy to hear our product enhances your employee experience.

Replied 26/12/2023
Michael
  • Industry: Executive Office
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/01/2024

Paycom - Review

Very good overall experience with Paycom.

Pros

User friendliness and communication with HR module

Cons

There is no Pre-Note options for direct deposit checks

Response from Paycom

Thank you for your feedback and review, Michael! We're happy to hear Paycom has been easy to use and simplifies HR tasks for your organization! We appreciate your advocacy and partnership.

Replied 06/02/2024
Branka
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2024

Love Paycom

I love the overall experience 10 out of 10 everything works well, and most of all my employees absolutely love it.

Pros

I love how easy it is to process payroll, enter and approve timesheets, benefits administration, performance reviews, I just love it all.

Cons

There is not much that I did not like, everything is super helpful and needed to have a successful HRIS in place.

Response from Paycom

We're so happy to hear you're loving Paycom, Branka! It's especially great to hear we're streamlining HR and payroll processes for you and your organization. We appreciate you and your partnership. Thank you!

Replied 19/02/2024
Will
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2024

Paycom Survey

Pros

Ability for employees to self service themselves in all aspects of payroll

Cons

It can be over complicated at times when you are looking to do one specific thing that you have not done before.

Response from Paycom

We're happy to hear how Paycom has helped streamline payroll tasks for you and your organization! We appreciate your feedback and partnership, Will. Thank you!

Replied 19/01/2024
Melisa
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 05/01/2024

Great Platform

Pros

Reporting functionality is outstanding and easy to use.

Cons

Training was not defined as training but system configuration.
No testing environment.

Response from Paycom

Our goal is to improve the employee experience, and we're glad our product has done that for you, Melisa! Thank you for your partnership and positive review!

Replied 09/01/2024
Elizabeth
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/02/2024

Good system but could use a few improvements

Pros

I love that Paycom puts the employees responsible.

Cons

There have been some things that we were under the impression we would be getting that we have since been told its not something they offer. (submitting payments for benefits)

Response from Paycom

Thank you for the feedback and positive review, Elizabeth. It's rewarding to know that Paycom has empowered employees at your organization to manage their own data! We'd like to learn more about your experience, we would apprecite it if you would reach out to our team at [email protected].

Replied 19/02/2024
Elaine
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 20/12/2019

Paycom- From Manual Processes to the Modern Age

Overall our experience with Paycom has been very positive. Like any new system it has not always been easy, and some days I have really wished that hitting a computer did make it work better. However, if you take time to understand the system, and really think through your processes to mold them to what Paycom is designed to do instead of trying to may Paycom fit into your old processes, it always works out.

Pros

Paycom has been a massive change for my company. In January of 2019, we switch from a paper-driven, multi-system segmented way of running our HR and Payroll departments to Paycom, and we will NEVER go back! I worked with my team as well as Paycom's implementation team to get the system set up and then in training our Management Team as well as our employees in how to effectively use Paycom. After some bumps in the road, our departments are running smoothly, and we cannot begin to tell you how much of our time we have gotten back in our days because of it. My favorite thing about the system is how intuitive it is. Once you understand how the Personel Actions Forms work, you can easily understand the Performance Discussion forms. The things you learn from those programs will help you know how to interact with the other modules as well. We also really appreciate how often they create, advertise, and then released new features for free. Things that our team use regularly now did not exist when we first rolled out the system. It has made a massive difference in how we manage our people-data and administer almost every HR and Payroll function and several other processes besides.

Cons

The thing that we have struggled with the most is that the system is almost too customizable. Take a PAF (Personel Action Form), for example. On there is has an effective date feature that allows you to either back-date the pay-change or set it for a future date. We had been using that feature for months when an audit showed that the effective date was not working. When we contacted our Account Specialist, they said that they needed to "turn that feature on" before it would be working. There have been a few other features that we didn't know we needed to ask for them to be "turned on" and just assumed that they were.

Alternatives Considered

UKG Ready, Namely, ADP TotalSource and Workday HCM

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

We did two waves of research before we choose Paycom. First, we called each company and asked them the same set of questions to see how each one addressed the needs we as a company felt should be most positively impacted by bringing on an HRIS system. We also asked for their rates, as it was essential that the system not only works well work us but that it fits into our budget as well. As a non-profit organization, budget is one of those things that are not very negotiable. We then took that top 4 contenders from that wave of research and scheduled live Demos at our office with all key-players to make sure that not only the HR and Payroll departments liked the system, but that every head of department saw the value and use in the system. Paycom beat out the others by a mile.

Response from Paycom

Thank you for the review and feedback, Elaine! We are thrilled that you and your organization are enjoying Paycom! Please let us know if there is any way we can improve your experience by either directly reaching out to your specialist or contacting our team at [email protected].

Replied 30/12/2019
Daniel
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/02/2020

Best of the Best

Paycom is the corvette of HR and time management systems. We looked at many other products, and very few offered all native modules, and a nearly perfect user experience... Those that did would be the super-cars of the industry, they may be ultra performant, hyper tuned, or can do anything, BUT that often makes them expensive and hard to maintain. Paycom struck the perfect balance for our company.

Pros

Paycom pays their sales team and integrations people based on the success of the company they are selling to. The software is intuitive, web and mobile friendly, and most importantly all native to the paycom system unlike almost every other vendor we looked at.

Cons

A bit pricey, some modules are not included by default, not as flexible as some other tools we looked at.

Alternatives Considered

ADP Workforce Now, Paychex Flex, Paylocity and Paycor

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

Poor support, slow development of new features, all apps were silo'd.

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Paycom was the only provider that was 100% integrated with themselves. All others had multiple modules that were built or acquired across time resulting in poor performance, difficulty in training, and poor user experience. Paycom stood above all others in being the most intuitive, while maintaining the functionality and flexibility we needed. There were others with more flexibility, or features, but they did not stand up to what we needed from the user perspective.

Response from Paycom

Daniel, thank you for the review! We're thrilled that we can support your organization's needs!

Replied 12/02/2020
Kendall
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/08/2023

Paycom is simple and great for HR needs

Paycom consolidates a plethora of functions—from standard human resources to project management to applicant tracking to learning management to time and attendance tracking—into a single platform. With Paycom, time and attendance tracking and management are completely automated, eliminating the need for any human processes.

Pros

An excellent central location for all company information and communication. Timesheets, costs, training, document uploading, onboarding, and benefits administration are all handled through it at my company. The software might need some polish, but it's a lifesaver for tracking mileage.

Cons

Honestly, I haven't noticed any drawbacks. Simple app or web-based access available. It would be great if the app could get alerts via push notifications. When keeping a manual mileage journal, it's a good idea to include more stops.

Response from Paycom

Thanks for the positive review, Kendall! We are thrilled to hear that Paycom has been able to provide you with the tools and resources necessary to simplify your work life and help you become a better manager. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to continuing to provide you with the support you need to succeed.

Replied 07/08/2023
Armaan
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/05/2020

Paycom is Incredible and has the best support team!

Engaging with our employees has been so much more efficient with Paycom! They love the interface and once they got the hang of using it, we began to learn things from them as we made our transition.

Pros

There are so many features within Paycom that we utilize to make our operations smoother and mainly to communicate messages from the top level all the way to our team members.

Cons

There are still times where you have to jump through certain hoops to get to an end goal, or a particular report is dug down deep somewhere, but for the most part, Paycom has been user friendly and their support team is great.

Alternatives Considered

ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Our sales rep [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], and her team were the best to work with and very knowledgeable about all of the products and features. We felt that was the best decision as this has turned into a great partnership where not only are we using what Paycom has to offer, but we are also able to provide our own suggestions which are coming to fruition for the whole company and this two way communication has been phenomenal.

Response from Paycom

Thank you for the 5-star review, Armaan! We're thrilled you have enjoyed working with our sales team and our support specialists! We appreciate your feedback, and we encourage you to continue sharing any enhancements you would like to see from us with your dedicated support team.

Replied 05/05/2020
Peggy
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 16/08/2023

Never go to Paycom.

It is there way, only there way, no flexibility. They have a good product but hold you hostage. No customer service to help you. It is all about money with them. Billing had so many hidden fees it was not funny.

Pros

Good Product but all down hill from there.

Cons

The worst customer service a company could ever have. It gets even worse if you leave them. This company is only about money. Once your in they don't help you. Their billing is non-tranparent. They could not even explain why they charged what they did when you received a bill. We had a billing discrepency and when we asked them about it they emailed what it should be. We asked them to come in for a meeting and the bill was not $18,000 more than what they emailed. They could not explain it.

Response from Paycom

We are happy to hear that our product has been easy to use. Your satisfaction is our priority and we appreciate your input to improve our services. We'd like to learn more about your feedback so we can properly address your concerns. Please reach out to us at [email protected], and a team member will contact you.

Replied 18/08/2023
Karena
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/04/2020

User Friendly System

Overall experience has been great. Any issues or questions we may have are quickly addressed and we have an extremely knowledgeable dedicated account specialist.

Pros

Paycom software is very easy to understand and navigate. The modules are very comprehensive in terms of available features. The reporting feature allows you to pull information in a variety of formats. And the end-user has their HR information right at their finger tips which allows for easy access and updating information convenient.

Cons

Paycom has annual price increases to the software that we use. We started with a certain price which has changed over time.

Alternatives Considered

Auto Decision Platform and Paychex Flex

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Reviews from other end users, software modules available and cost.

Response from Paycom

Karena, thank you for sharing your Paycom experience! We're thrilled to see you are enjoying our products, and we hope they will continue to bring value to your organization. Please feel free to share with your dedicated specialist any enhancements you would like to see from us; we love hearing from our users!

Replied 15/04/2020
Kristin
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/04/2021

So far it's the best payroll company I've used

Great customer service. I haven't used all of the functions available yet such as onboarding a new hire but overall I'm very pleased.

Pros

Online portal & payroll processing, vast report options, mobile app, EE file management.

Cons

When researching Paycom the only negative review I seemed to come across was difficulty with the software. To a non-tech savvy person I can see how this would be true but the staff were absolutely great about scheduling times to train me and go over any questions I had. They also made sure to have me go through necessary functions rather than just sit & watch.

Alternatives Considered

Paycor

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

PrimePay had terrible customer service, I had limited access in my online portal and the report center was confusing and never seemed to have the report I needed. Our payroll was incorrect and/or late more than once in my 1 year using them. They also double-billed me twice and it took 2 months of me repeatedly emailing, calling and following up until I found an employee willing to help that I finally got refunded.

Switched From

PrimePay

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

I used these 2 services at my previous job and both had their own quirks and difficulties so after my Paycom demo I decided it would be best to try them instead and in the 2 months I've used Paycom so far I have not been dissappointed.

Response from Paycom

A simple, easy-to-use software is our top priority at Paycom and we are glad our mobile app has helped you access everything you need. Thank you for the 5-star review!

Replied 16/04/2021
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Lot's of Features

Overall I would still recommend Paycom to most people. They are a one-stop solution and are release new features regularly. I just wish they would spend some more time perfecting their existing modules.

Pros

We bought most of the modules and it has improved some of our workflows. The biggest part is our staff actually uses the app which has helped us and removed some of the data updates, like phone changes or direct deposit changes from our managers and HR staff. It also has brought some of our previously separate software into one solution.

Cons

There are a variety of areas that even as the administrator I can't change or see. The modules are designed for normal business practices, however, for a lot of companies, there are often special cases and exceptions to rules. These can be difficult or impossible to do in the system. We have actually rewritten some policies to fit into what the software can do.

Response from Paycom

Thank you for your review and feedback! We will share it with our product team!

Replied 25/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/10/2020

Paycom - Improving the Task of Running Payroll

Hard sales - it was not a comfortable sales process AT ALL. Lots of promises not all of which were fulfilled. Implementation team was great but I had to push really hard on some things that I knew must be there but my specialist didn't know about yet. BUT, we previously had a full time payroll manager and a part time recruiter, plus an HR generalist for our past system. Now we have one person doing all admin at about .75 FTE. We aren't maximizing the software but it's better than what we had before.

Pros

The employee self service feature and timecard management is fantastic. Their core philosophy is that employees enter, manage and approve their own time. There's a learning curve for sure, but ultimately - given my retail hourly workforce - this has been a huge sigh of relief over our prior timecard mgmt and the risk we had with managers entering employee time.

Cons

There are parts that are unnecessarily complicated - like the way that they have position mgmt set up, and how managers get access to open positions. The checklists and task management are also really complicated. There is no admin community or Special Interest Groups which is a huge miss. The peer sharing of best practices is something I miss very much.

Response from Paycom

Thank you, we are glad you are enjoying our software and the convenience of employees entering their own information! However, we would like to learn more about how we can improve your experience. Please connect with our team at [email protected], and we will share your feedback with our leadership team.

Replied 15/10/2020
Christine
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 01/04/2022

Honestly not worth the cost

We've had Paycom for 3 years. Not a single rep we've ever worked with has had HR or payroll experience so they have no context for any of our questions or issues. You have to explain to the customer service rep how their own system works in order for them to understand the problem you're having. We've also had 6 different customer service reps in 3 years - they keep quitting. I don't blame them, they aren't given any of the knowledge or tools to actually be helpful. And don't expect to actually be able to get through to your rep when you call, you'll get someone else who knows even less. When you do get your rep, they always have to "get back to you" about your question but they rarely do. The most common answer or solution is "oh, the system can't do that but we'll put in a suggestion for it with our development team". Still waiting on most of those developments.

Their big selling point is that it saves time - the trick is they mean it saves the employees time, not the Payroll people, not the HR people, not the IT people. For all of these people, processing time has doubled and some things are literally impossible to do in the system, things that are standard in any other system.

Everything is designed to charge you more money and everything is overpriced. We're currently being forced into an update to their payroll module that will also cost more money. It's not an optional upgrade and it's not an upgrade we want or need, but we will be forced into it anyway.

Pros

Once you understand how it works, you can figure most things out for yourself. And you'll have to.

Cons

Everything is so manual that administrators will spend a lot of additional time on processes and transactions. Customer Service is really terrible - they don't know how their own system works and they don't follow through on commitments.

Response from Paycom

Hi, Christine. We've been in contact with the team serving your organization and they are working diligently to connect with your team to begin addressing your concerns while you're out of office. We greatly value your business and look forward to improving our partnership. If we can be of further assistance, please reach out to us at [email protected].

Replied 05/04/2022
Morgan
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 05/12/2017

System still needs a ton of design upgrades to match competitor's offerings/meet business...

Pros

ESS Dashboard/Tiles and notification menu.
Ability to send automated "no thank you letters" to rejected interview candidates
Test sample paychecks
Total comp letters
Dynamic Benefits / Open Enrollment Process

Cons

No historical reporting
No option for change reports to pull one or two field items and does not show effective dates
System glitches in LMS (when importing external content) - Dashboard does not reflect "percentage complete"; issues with completed courses showing as still needing to be complete despite confirmation
Phantom period in Time Off Module
Position Management/Org chart has to be manually changed. Position seats are not updated when a PAF is submitted.
Applicant Tracking Module is confusing (too many dashboards and the dashboards do not populate the correct data)
Can't hide unfilled/unused custom fields
Performance Review Module not very dynamic/customizable
Survey function not very dynamic/customizable (no logic)
No Job Description function/Module
401k changes wont feed to our external vendor
Too many individual steps to accomplish one task (i.e. build a check list)

In general, the system is not as user friendly / customizable / dynamic as it was sold to us as.

Response from Paycom

Morgan, our team would like to connect with you regarding your feedback. Paycom is committed to being a valuable partner and we want to make sure you are receiving the maximum benefit out of the system. Based on the items listed in your feedback, we believe we can help alleviate some of the challenges you may be having. We¿re always adding additional functionality to the Paycom solution and we want to verify you are receiving those updates. We will have a member of our team reach out to you and you can always reach out to your Paycom specialist at any time. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to assist you.

Replied 13/12/2017
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 13/09/2021

Sales Overpromised, Quality Sub-Par, Customer Service a Joke

deplorable

Pros

The Mobile App is better than Paylocity and similar vendors. Reporting is OK.

Cons

Sales "sold" us services which system was incapable of. Nickle and dime you for additional services, no matter how small. Customer service wont respond to you for weeks or months. They even blew off 2 conference calls that they scheduled with us related to their customer service! We have had 4-5 rep changes in 12 months. All of which are horrible. And they take no responsibly for their errors or lack of communication and give you NOTHING in return for your troubles. They screwed up our taxes without authorization, which ended up being a $100,000 tax increase in a single day. 6 weeks later it's still unresolved. They hiked up our rates by 4% after just 12 months. THEY HAVE THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM.

Alternatives Considered

Netchex

Reasons for Choosing Paycom

Overpromised as a better product and having stellar customer service.

Reasons for Switching to Paycom

Ultipro was too expensive.

Response from Paycom

We're sorry to hear about your experience and what you described does not match our standards. With that in mind, we would like to learn more about your feedback. Please contact us at [email protected] and a member of our team will reach out to you.

Replied 24/09/2021
Poncietta
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/04/2022

Clocking in?

Overall, my experience with Paycom has been a good one. I can access it on my mobile device and, to me, that is so important because there are instances where you need to access your payroll information and being able to pull it up on your phone is a definite plus. I don't remember what we used before Paycom but I can definitely say that I like it better because there is must more information that is readily available

Pros

There are many wonderful features to this program. It is easy to see your upcoming paycheck or review past paychecks as well as other tax documents. It is also a very valuable feature being able to view benefits, available time off, time used, etc. I would say that I especially like the Community feature where employees can leave comments or kudos to their co-workers.

Cons

I think that the navigation could be a little easier. After using this program for some years now, I still have to search to find my paycheck. I don't know if it's just me but I think if I had to change anything, I would change the location of the current paycheck.

Response from Paycom

Thank you for the 5-star review, Poncietta! We are glad you are enjoying our single-solution software and the visibility it provides. If you have any additional feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us at [email protected]. Thanks again!

Replied 06/05/2022
Meredith
Meredith
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 18/02/2020

Customer Service Needs Improvement

Paycom's field customer service could use improvement. When we first joined with Paycom, our account manager was responsive and available when we needed something until we pushed back on additional charges for an item. From then on, I never heard from her.
Many months later, I spoke with someone at the corporate office about an add on product and was introduced to our new account manager. Things were going great until we pushed back on a module because we didn't see the value. The account manager then become unresponsive. Finally, her manager reached out and he also would take many days to respond.
In my experience, when things aren't positive or a hard conversation needs to happen, the field employees go silent.

Pros

I think that the process for setting up and running payroll is easy and user friendly. I have never had any issues with getting payroll processed.

Cons

You need to pay for everything in the system. For example, I would like to have reports pushed daily to a manager to review hours worked and I would need to pay extra for that. Instead, I have to manually run the report daily. We already pay a lot for this system and I don't think that I should need to pay more!

Response from Paycom

Meredith, we were able to share this information with our team! We hope we have been able to provide clarity and solutions to improve your experience. Please continue to let us know how we can best support you and your organization. Thank you for choosing Paycom!

Replied 06/03/2020
Grant
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 08/07/2022

A bit pricey and several fees but a solid product

Using Paycom is a pretty good experience overall. Other than being charged quite a lot in fees and charges and having to reach out to support with complex issues it is a pretty easy software to use and maintains payroll records quite well.

Pros

There are great reports that are already included by default
Strong report customization options
Useful payroll review functionality

Cons

Occasionally clunky and cumbersome customer support
Quite expensive
Several fees for basic tasks

Response from Paycom

An important part of our mission is to deliver the highest quality of HR and payroll processes to all Paycom users. For this reason, we are able to offer detailed, customizable reports and accurate payroll. We're satisfied to hear that you have found our product worthy of your time and resources, Grant. We appreciate your review!

Replied 11/07/2022
859 reviews