User Reviews Overview

About Upserve

Upserve by Lightspeed is a complete restaurant management solution featuring an Android or iOS-based point-of-sale (POS) system, online ordering, contactless payments, automated inventory management, sales analytics, and more....

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Upserve Reviews

269 of 269 reviews
Sort by:
Adrienne C.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 09/03/2021

Lacking

Not great. I am actively looking for a better POS. This company is too new and has a lot of kinks to workout. They claim to be designed by restaurant workers, and that just can't be the case.

Pros

What is there to like that other POS don't have? Nothing. At least one other POS has the "features" that UpServe claims to have.

Cons

There are many aspects of the system that need to be expanded upon. During the past few months there have been many challenges. There was a period that gift cards were not even redeemable while making online orders.
Currently you can not pick and choose which online items you want to accept preorders for.
Modifiers are a hot mess. It is not as advanced or user friendly as Focus or other POS systems. To make the modifiers easy for online customers they have to be super basic and not advanced enough for same menu items as in house items that staff rings in.
When having online ordering active you are allowed to set the anticipated order time; however, it always gives the customer the minimum time. It does not add minutes on when accepting a few back to back. It does not add time when there is a ticket of many items. Clearly 2 entrees is not going to take the same amount of time as 8 will. When selling on a busy night having to log in and go through a couple screens to change the frame is too much. It needs to be more easily accessible.
There are more things that I dislike about it, and it is the least user friendly system I have used since being in the restaurant business.

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS and Focus 9

Reasons for Switching to Upserve

I did not choose it. Someone that is no longer with the company.
Mike V.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/09/2019

Upserve POS Review

Pros

Intuitive and user friendly design that is reliable.

Cons

We were hoping that the portable POS would not just be shrunken down versions of the normal POS. Some of the charging ports and charging ports have needed to be replace more frequently than we thought they would.

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing Upserve

We needed a less dated software that was more user friendly.

Switched From

Aloha EPOS
Chris K.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2019

Modern day update to POS Systems

It is a great system that allows an ease of use in a friendly interface that is very intuitive.

Pros

The ability to do back office reporting ans setup without having to either be onsite or remote into a server

Cons

Ability to do a detailed audit of a check at a granular level.

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing Upserve

Needed to update to a cloud based system for better implementation

Switched From

NCR Aloha

Reasons for Switching to Upserve

Better options and ease of use on the back office.

Top Upserve Alternatives

Leandro U.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/09/2018

Breadcrumb is an excellent POS system, but lack security

We are using the POS system in our 4 corporate restaurants and will be migrating the last one in 2 months. We use it for the employees to clock in/out, open checks for the guests, close checks, and receive payments.

It addresses better control for our restaurant operation, in fact, we have some concern about the security related to users, but I love Breadcrumb because their team is always up to improve the system according to our needs.

For any restaurant business, this is a very good system.

Pros

Very friendly interface for any level user, even the back office is pretty easy to deal with.
There is a 24/7 support that you can contact direct from your terminal.
Good rate when compared to other competitors.
The team that works for Breadcrumb is always willing to help.

Cons

User security is not the best deal, any employee can clock in/out without supervisor approval.
There should be more detailed security levels, for example, I do not want my manager to change roles, but if they can manage users they can manage roles as well.
Split Checks should be easier to deal with. Additionally to that you cannot use the same table until the previous check is closed.

Response from Upserve

Hi Leandro, thanks for your review and feedback! We are glad to hear that our interface has been so user friendly for you and your staff. Thanks again for the helpful review!

Replied 13/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Restaurant Must-Have

Great! Sales was honest and straight forward. Implementation was fairly easy. Support is always available via chat or phone. It has great analytics that are imperative to restaurant success.

Pros

Ease of use - even without training, anyone can figure out their way around the POS. It's very intuitive. No back office computer! This is HUGE. Everything is cloud-based, so you can edit menu items on the fly from your phone, laptop, or ipad while you're not on site. Reporting is easily accessible. System is clean, sleek, and blends in easily with its surroundings. The fact that it is app-based is key to the overall savings you see - you never have to worry about paying to update your system like you do with Micros, Aloha, etc.

Cons

Offline Mode (though I haven't found a POS with a better solution). The limitations on customization of comping/voiding abilities. There isn't a way to schedule happy hour/food discounts without having to create duplicate items with different pricing and placing that menu on a timed schedule - however, these items are always searchable no matter day or time. There is no visibility into user changes of things like timesheets - i.e. a manager could change their own timecard, and there would be no way to prove/cross check. There's no accountability with timecard fraud possibilities.

Greg M.
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2018

I install and maintain POS hardware and software for hundreds of restaurants - Breadcrumb...

I am an IT tech who has installed and maintained every type of POS out there. This is definitely one of my favorites for restaurants with one station or ten. Great for bars and restaurants with heavy traffic - very reliable.

Pros

After doing computer repair for 20 years and point of sale for retail, restaurants, and hotels - I can honestly say that Breadcrumb offers one of the best solutions. Apple Hardware-based, good hard-wired printers, good quality, and solid router/firewall installs with the best equipment out there. I feel like this POS offering is more resilient and reliable than the competitors due to the good hardware and the easy to use APP. Calling into support day or late at night you will speak to a knowledgeable and helpful tech who gets you the info you need to carry on business. They have remote access and can see where the problem is - instead of sending you an overpriced technician from out of state at twice the price because you're mysteriously not up and running (rare). No service is perfect but having a reliable tech on the other end of the phone is worth it's weight in gold.

Cons

I would guess that a con is the high price of hardware but that's unavoidable - if you're using the best hardware available (Apple, StarTSP, Cisco Meraki) then it might carry a higher price tag but the tradeoff is reliability. You wouldn't get Breadcrumb if you're trying to cut corners and save money - this is the real deal iPad based and dependable system. Cost is always on the mind of business owners so this could be an issue for some business owners but if you aren't spending an hour a day working through tech issues aren't you really just saving money in the long run?

Response from Upserve

Hi Greg, thanks for your amazing review! We are happy to hear that our services stand out amongst our competitors and that our customer service has been such an asset for you. Thanks again for the great review!

Replied 31/10/2018
Lydia M.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/04/2018

Great product with few flaws

Awesome analytics, great reporting tools and easily compatible with other third party vendors.

Pros

This software is great and the analytics are super powerful. It can tell you what sever's are performing best, new vs repeat customers based on credit card data etc. Definitely ahead of the curve technologically. It's efficient and incredibly stable. We are VERY happy customers.

Cons

The only two con's (I have) are that:
1) there's not a "No Sale" report for people opening the cash register without a sale.
2) If you are a bar where more than one person touches a tab, the employee performance analytics are useless as it assigns the sale to the person who opened/closed the tab (not the person adding items to it).

Response from Upserve

Hi Lydia, thanks for taking the time to review Breadcrumb; We're glad you're enjoying the software, analytics, and stability of the platform! We're always trying to improve, so I appreciate your suggestions & I've passed them along to our product team. Thank you again!

Replied 26/04/2018
Andrew R.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/04/2018

Very intuitive design. Very helpful when managing multiple establishments.

Pros

Having trained lots of people to use it, everyone seems really impressed with how 'easy' it is to learn. I like that there are several ways to do almost anything. Also, on the admin side, the reporting is fantastic. I love being able to edit items and check reports for multiple locations in real time, from anywhere.

Cons

I only have a few real complaints. First it would be very helpful to transfer tabs in bulk. In some locations there is a changeover that occurs everynight which is common going to back to old 'banger' days, where bartenders each had their own drawer. Breadcrumb does not make this very easy as each tab has to be transferred one at a time and approved one at a time, small issue, but a bit of nuisance. Also, it would be helpful if modifiers could have more options, not just up a dollar or two / down a dollar or two, but include multipliers.

Brandon M.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/01/2019

Intuitive and convenient application

A positive experience and relationship with Upserve. Good customer service when aid is required and it enables constant access to my business.

Pros

Instant remote access to business transactions.
Intuitive design and flow of POS.
Transportable.

Cons

Poor internet connection can impede progress.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Brandon,

Thank you for being a part of the Upserve family - we're happy to have ya!

A poor internet connection can definitely be an issue to our customers, and we hope that our offline mode is helpful during those times. We also recently released our Android-based Upserve POS which you can now hardwire so your connection is as strong as possible. Don't hesitate to reach out to your Customer Success Manager to learn more about the new hardware if you're interested.

Cheers,
The Upserve Team

Replied 06/02/2019
Alex S.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/04/2018

great affordable point of sale system. good value.

ease of use for our office and minimal training for the restaurant staff.

Pros

ease of use. constant updates included with the membership. easy to replace hardware. easy to configure new hardware.

Cons

most issues I didnt like got fixed already, however if they could add more 3rd party integrations would be nice.

Response from Upserve

Hello Alex, Thanks so much for the review, and we're glad you're finding Breadcrumb to be a good value. We appreciate your feedback on third-party integrations as well; We're always on the lookout for more technology partners (in fact, we just added Resy). Here's a link to check out all of our new partners: https://upserve.com/marketplace/technology-partners/

Replied 03/05/2018
Greg A.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2020

upsurge review

Pros

Easy to teach to new employees, easy to use and setup, analytics are great, reporting is awesome, makes daily cash outs a breeze

Cons

nothing really.
It was the easiest I've ever used to setup and run

Alternatives Considered

Revel Systems, Toast POS and Aloha EPOS
Sabrina B.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/11/2019

Great Customer Support

It's a great resource!

Pros

Convenience, easy access to Sales reports, changing menu items remotely and customer support!

Cons

No live support but the customer support is 24/7 and it's great!

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Switching to Upserve

Cost savings and great Customer Support!
Jonathan T.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2018

Easy to Use

I enjoy it I think it's been a great program for our restaurant thus far.

Pros

I really enjoy breadcrumb because of how easy it is to use, it really doesn't take someone skilled in the tech world to navigate through breadcrumb. When bringing new staff into the restaurant they pick up the ipad and begin playing around with breadcrumb and before lunch they're pretty well off on how to use it.

Cons

I don't like that they won't allow you to have pictures. I think this would be awesome to have especially when showing customers what food they're ordering if they're curious.

Response from Upserve

Hi Jonathan, thank you for the terrific review! We are happy to hear that Breadcrumb has been so user friendly for your staff. Thanks again for the review!

Replied 19/11/2018
Karen R.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2020

Very Pleased!

Not only is Upserve a great product, but the support desk is beyond helpful. I typically don't have to wait long to speak with a representative and they quickly understand my issue and work to resolve it immediately.

Pros

Upserve is super user friendly. It's easy to make changes on the fly and new employees can learn the system quickly.

Cons

A handful of limitations. (Unable to split items after a comp has been applied, not able to run our wine club sales through the system on a monthly basis.)

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Switching to Upserve

The analytical capabilities on the back end were superior to other POS systems.
Corey C.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/04/2018

Overall a very good experience. The latest major update from 2 yrs ago fixed the majority of...

An overall well functioning POS system

Pros

Ease of use, fast data loading, export of data, product mix reports, sales reports, payroll functionality

Cons

Duplicate accounts created when importing daily sales ledger into QuickBooks, data loading sometimes defaults back to "All" when selecting items or roles, system sometimes crashes on rare occasions

Allison C.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 19/09/2019

User-friendly software!

Pros

This is one of the most user-friendly pos systems I’ve used in my 10 year experience.

Cons

The fact that it is ran off of WiFi is a double-edged sword. While you are able to run it quickly and efficiently, if your WiFi goes down, the system cannot speak to devices nor can it run a credit card until your internet is back up. I also do not like that it does not have a credit card cache system (where you can swipe the card and it holds the information until needing to be closed out).

Robert G.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/10/2018

Been a great addition for our restaurant...

Breadcrumb has enabled us to concentrate on growing our business!

Pros

Ease of use and training employees as well as ability to correct errors easily.

Cons

Wish there were more options for KDS and portable devices.

Response from Upserve

Hi Robert, thanks for the great review! We are happy to hear that Breadcrumb has enabled you to concentrate on growing your business! Thanks again for the review!

Replied 13/10/2018
Mark P.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2019

Just what you need to run a restaurant

Keeps us on track and helps monitor our sales and systems and inventory.

Pros

Ease of use. iPad utility. Simple to learn.

Cons

Should be able to more easily interface with other systems for data management.

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS
Mark M.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/04/2018

Best choice ever! After using mny different platforms to perform day by day transactions.

To spend more time with the other functions of running the restaurant.

Pros

Everything from how easy it is to use. The detais which it provides. The fact that anytume there is a problem that can not be solved by myself or one of the users you can call Breadcrumb support and immediately a customer support representative will make sure you can solve any issue that can not be solved by the user of the software. The fact that you can have any analysis needed! Everything!!

Cons

That I had not used it earlier. That sometimes when you want to create new sections it is not that easy to do on my own. That though is easier in time.

Lana M.
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/09/2019

Solid, User-Friendly Point of Sale System

Pros

-User Friendly
-Fast, efficient
-Interface is sleek, modern
-Information is easily organizable

Cons

The system does crash from time to time, which can be very frustrating during a busy show. But we are always able to get through to a customer service representative who can help us figure out the issue.

Michelle H.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/04/2018

We are a small restaurant that uses Breadcrumb for our POS. We have two terminals.

Pros

I think it is a great systems. For management, it is easy to program and change items. For staff, the program is as easy as using a smart phone. New hires get it with-in 2 or 3 days.

Cons

Sometime it goes offline and the printers don't work, but the benefit of offline mode makes up for that completely.

Arpita O.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 22/04/2018

I use the Upserve App to have access to live sales information at any time.

Live access to sales information.

Pros

It is live, so I know what is going on at any given moment in my restaurant. It provides information about labor, voids, and discounts, as well as comparisons to previous week or year. Very user friendly, easy viewing, and fast!

Cons

There is nothing that I don't like about the software itself. Sometimes it is difficult to get support on the phone immediately, and our credit card processing fee percentage is on the high side.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2018

We utilize this for our daily food costing, purchasing, and sustainability in the kitchen

Pros

Streamlines our back of house AIMLESSLY! Easy to use formatting and inputs that are not overly technical and allows even the first time user to flawlessly pump out a report. Forecasts fantastic food cost projections and allows us to get a detailed view of what we need to be cutting back on or which sector we can improve in. Ability to use for even smaller companies like us. Delivery management is amazing!

Cons

Sometimes the mobile app is a little trickier to navigate and get where you need to be as opposed to the desktop features, but consistent and constant updates have vastly improved this.

Autumn M.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/05/2019

Best customer service

Upserve makes it easy for our staff to ring in orders, modify items, split checks, create tabs for people, etc. Overall, very easy to use.

Pros

What I like most is how user-friendly this software is. Unfortunately, there are occasions where things aren’t connecting or working as should but then there is always this amazing customer service team that comes through and helps us get back on track.

Cons

There is no specific thing I don’t like about the software.

Anna K.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/10/2019

Great POS Product

Pros

Functionality and ease of use, plus great customer service. I receive immediate assistance with any issues and the customer service agents are all extremely helpful.

Cons

Lack of integration with certain other systems.

269 reviews