User Reviews Overview

About Upserve

Upserve by Lightspeed is a complete restaurant management solution featuring an Android or iOS-based point-of-sale (POS) system, online ordering, contactless payments, automated inventory management, sales analytics, and more....

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Upserve Reviews

274 of 274 reviews
Sort by:
Devon
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/12/2019

Intuitive restaurant pos

Great reporting suite included. Cuts down on data collection and double checking.

Pros

It works great for dine in pos. Support team is really amazing, quick and responsive. They also gave us a great rate to be our payment processor.

Cons

They need to do some work tailoring the system to work better for deliver and take out. There are a few odd behaviors for staff working double shifts as well, but generally avoidable

Bill
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/10/2020

Use Upserve

It is great, particularly the Customer Service has been the best I have dealt with in 25 year in the business

Pros

I think that the integration of POS and Inventory is great and helps in a big way during monthly inventory.

Cons

Would like to see two way syncing between the Inventory and POS

Alternatives Considered

Silverware Avrio and Revel Systems

Reasons for Choosing Upserve

Functionality was better with Upserve... and in the end Customer Service was WAY better

Reasons for Switching to Upserve

Price and functionality.
Adrienne
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 09/03/2021

Lacking

Not great. I am actively looking for a better POS. This company is too new and has a lot of kinks to workout. They claim to be designed by restaurant workers, and that just can't be the case.

Pros

What is there to like that other POS don't have? Nothing. At least one other POS has the "features" that UpServe claims to have.

Cons

There are many aspects of the system that need to be expanded upon. During the past few months there have been many challenges. There was a period that gift cards were not even redeemable while making online orders.
Currently you can not pick and choose which online items you want to accept preorders for.
Modifiers are a hot mess. It is not as advanced or user friendly as Focus or other POS systems. To make the modifiers easy for online customers they have to be super basic and not advanced enough for same menu items as in house items that staff rings in.
When having online ordering active you are allowed to set the anticipated order time; however, it always gives the customer the minimum time. It does not add minutes on when accepting a few back to back. It does not add time when there is a ticket of many items. Clearly 2 entrees is not going to take the same amount of time as 8 will. When selling on a busy night having to log in and go through a couple screens to change the frame is too much. It needs to be more easily accessible.
There are more things that I dislike about it, and it is the least user friendly system I have used since being in the restaurant business.

Alternatives Considered

Focus X and Toast POS

Reasons for Switching to Upserve

I did not choose it. Someone that is no longer with the company.

Top Upserve Alternatives

Nanci
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/02/2020

Customer support

The ease of use is amazing. Reports are very easy to run and find what you are looking for. Changing or adding menu items very simple.

Pros

Very user friendly and easy to produce reports

Cons

A few more steps than the last system. Splitting checks takes a bit to get used to

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Choosing Upserve

Needed to upgrade

Reasons for Switching to Upserve

The ease of use, and able to access from anywhere
Karen
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2020

Very Pleased!

Not only is Upserve a great product, but the support desk is beyond helpful. I typically don't have to wait long to speak with a representative and they quickly understand my issue and work to resolve it immediately.

Pros

Upserve is super user friendly. It's easy to make changes on the fly and new employees can learn the system quickly.

Cons

A handful of limitations. (Unable to split items after a comp has been applied, not able to run our wine club sales through the system on a monthly basis.)

Alternatives Considered

Toast POS

Reasons for Switching to Upserve

The analytical capabilities on the back end were superior to other POS systems.
Robert
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 16/05/2019

Fine. When it works...

They are a necessary evil.

Pros

Easy to use. Nothing too fancy but we don't need it to be fancy. We just need it to work

Cons

Every time there is a malfunction, it's never minor - it's a trainwreck. And then having to deal with customer service. Multiple times witb multiple people. And they never make it up to you - no credit for the inconvenience, nothing. No effort at reaching out to make things right. I Hate having to deal with it when the POS goes down. I always know it will be fucked up and I will lose money out of it and Upserve wont make it 100% right or whole.

Alternatives Considered

Square Payments

Reasons for Switching to Upserve

At the time, the other POS had their customer service only over email and Twitter. Its probably changed now; I should look into Square as an alternative.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Robert - thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that your experience thus far hasn't been great. I took a look at your support tickets and it looks like our Support team has been able to troubleshoot and resolve your issues on the first call. If there's anything else we can help out with or how we can make resolutions quicker for you, please don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks.

Replied 28/05/2019
Leandro
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/09/2018

Breadcrumb is an excellent POS system, but lack security

We are using the POS system in our 4 corporate restaurants and will be migrating the last one in 2 months. We use it for the employees to clock in/out, open checks for the guests, close checks, and receive payments.

It addresses better control for our restaurant operation, in fact, we have some concern about the security related to users, but I love Breadcrumb because their team is always up to improve the system according to our needs.

For any restaurant business, this is a very good system.

Pros

Very friendly interface for any level user, even the back office is pretty easy to deal with.
There is a 24/7 support that you can contact direct from your terminal.
Good rate when compared to other competitors.
The team that works for Breadcrumb is always willing to help.

Cons

User security is not the best deal, any employee can clock in/out without supervisor approval.
There should be more detailed security levels, for example, I do not want my manager to change roles, but if they can manage users they can manage roles as well.
Split Checks should be easier to deal with. Additionally to that you cannot use the same table until the previous check is closed.

Response from Upserve

Hi Leandro, thanks for your review and feedback! We are glad to hear that our interface has been so user friendly for you and your staff. Thanks again for the helpful review!

Replied 13/10/2018
Ryan
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/09/2018

Breadcrumb Point of Sale review

Overall the customer service is usually stellar/top-notch. The program is easy to use and to teach.

Pros

The program is easy to use and functional. Being able to open search for items on the menu is very nice. Easy to teach and it is nice being able to put recipes directly into the menu.

Cons

Creating menu items is a hassle if you're making multiple changes. It would be nice if you added some filter options for creating and editing the menus, employees, and labor options. Separating large checks and collecting payments needs work it is definitely one of the worst point of sale systems in that regard.

Response from Upserve

Hi Ryan, thanks for the constructive review! We are glad to hear that our program was so easy to implement at your restaurant!

Replied 13/10/2018
Jeff
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/01/2019

Solid Platform For Restaurant Management

Pros

Upserve is a solid choice for restaurants. Lots of features and functionality. Unlike a lot of POS systems, I like the versatility and ability to manage the floor plan and some front of house features. They have some good online resources for teaching staff and overall I enjoyed using the product compared to other restaurant POS systems.

Cons

Initially setting up menus was a little tedious for me but overall I still really like the system. Lots of functionality. Seems like a good option for all sizes of restaurants.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Jeff!

Thank you for your feedback, and we're happy to hear that your experience with Upserve so far has been positive.

We try to make the functionality for building menus as easy as possible. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Support team or your Customer Success Manager to walk you through any of that menu building. We're always here to help!

Cheers,
The Upserve Team

Replied 06/02/2019
Corey
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/04/2018

Overall a very good experience. The latest major update from 2 yrs ago fixed the majority of...

An overall well functioning POS system

Pros

Ease of use, fast data loading, export of data, product mix reports, sales reports, payroll functionality

Cons

Duplicate accounts created when importing daily sales ledger into QuickBooks, data loading sometimes defaults back to "All" when selecting items or roles, system sometimes crashes on rare occasions

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/01/2019

Streamlined and simple POS

Overall it's pretty good for our quick service restaurant. We've used several POS systems over the last 15 years and it has less user-interface customization, but I think that's for the better. Sometimes POS's suffer from *too many* customization options and you end up with a cluttered interface which slows down order-taking. We do not have table service, so those features on the POS we cannot comment on.

Pros

For new front-of-the-house employees the learning curve is easy - if you have ever used an app then you've already started your training in Upserve. Also, equipment replacement (iPads, routers) will be relatively cheaper and much easier than full system upgrades.

As restaurant infrastructure goes it's great not needing a back office computer, and yet reports and menus and setup can still be handled through any web-browser. This is great for those of us who can't always be present.

Cons

There can be connectivity issues, but they're much fewer since this company took over. If you or Upserve are offline then things go into Offline Mode which still is buggy at times - especially with credit cards. Also, Offline Mode puts the onus on you to trust whether a card will be approved or not. But, this is rare. Not a huge issue with us where our average check is low, but high-end places may want to be aware of workarounds and fixes.

Response from Upserve

Hi there -

Thank you for your feedback. Here at Upserve, we're constantly trying to better our solution to fit the needs of the restauranteur. This includes our Offline Mode capabilities. We know that losing WIFI can be detrimental to restaurants, so we released our new Android-based POS so you can hardwire your solution. Along with that, we continue to make updates on our Offline Mode feature to really enhance the user experience. Please continue to provide us with your feedback - this helps us make sure we're steering our product in the right direction.

Cheers!

Replied 28/01/2019
Ronda
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/02/2020

Great POS

Overall, my experience with Upserve POS has been seamlessly a great one.

Pros

The PEARL is a bar. We don't sell food yet. The software makes it fairly easy to set up new menu items and categories. I love the useful reports that you can make, like find top 100 customers; which beer we sold the most on any one night. And customer support is excellent. By far, I'd say that the customer support is the best ever.

Cons

The only thing I can think of is that we have Happy Hour prices and then regular prices. When I want to try to keep tract of inventory of a beer, I might put in that we have 24 or 48 beers of a certain brand. When they are sold the two categories of say Bud Light and HH Bud Light do not merge as they count down. So, using it for inventory is not working for me.

Eric
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2019

Great product with great people and great service

Pros

We’ve used Upserve for 4 plus years now and we have never had an issue that wasn’t resolved in more than 24 hours. The product is wonderful and the service we’ve experienced is great.

Cons

The only change we would make is to the EMV processing speed. I know it’s being worked on so that’s really all they can do at this time. Maybe a nice display on the EMV reader to make it easier for guests to use

Edward
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/08/2020

Upserve for Brewery!

Great experience. Help Desk is amazing!

Pros

Great for online ordering! Easy to update. Good reports!

Cons

Inventory control for online orders (preorders)

Amanda
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 12/09/2018

Visually appealing reports, but lacks personalization

Pros

The mobile app and reporting make immediate data easily accessible. The reports are presented simply & cleanly.

Cons

It's not very customizable. The software or the software developers, are unable/unwilling to adjust to varied needs of different types of restaurants. While this is likely the case for most POS systems, we've found that other software integrations we use are much more readily willing to adjust and make custom improvements that directly benefit our restaurant.

We also found that the on boarding process lacked a bit of personalization. Had our contacts taken more time to discuss with us our needs and understand how we operate, it would have saved us a lot of time and effort in having to redo the way things were initially setup - especially in regards to the menu databases.

Lastly, while this wont be an issue longterm, in our first year using Breadcrumb, it's frustrating that there's no way to import our previous years' data. Rather than being able to compare numbers year-over-year, we can only see week-over-week and are forced to fall back on our old tracking methods such as a separate spreadsheet in order to measure the bigger picture. What seems like it should be a simple data pull that would help us run much more efficiently was shut down by the support team who told us it was not doable.

Response from Upserve

Hi Amanda, thanks for your constructive review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy the mobility and ease of our services!

Replied 13/10/2018
Paul
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/01/2019

Efficient and Stable POS System

Pros

Intuitive design makes training new employees easy, and the Notes on each item makes communicating new information easy. Besides that, it does what it is supposed to quickly, which is more than some other POS systems.

Cons

In the early days, there were some crashes system wide. They are now a distant memory.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Paul!

Thanks for being such a loyal customer. We're excited to hear that your experience with Upserve has been positive.

Making sure our system is on and running is something we take seriously, and we're happy to recognize we had 100% uptime in Q3-2018. Every day our engineering team looks for better ways to enhance our backend system to avoid any crashes.

Thanks again for your feedback!

Cheers,
The Upserve Team

Replied 06/02/2019
Alex
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 09/12/2019

Great POS system

Overall good.
I'd like to be able to assign inventory counts to multiple items within the POS. For example, if I have 4 steaks left, and it's used on two different menu items- there's no way to keep track of the count simultaneously. It's an issue that's most pronounced when you're doing things like offering specials or prix fixe.

Networking issues are common both in house and communicating with Upserve servers. Fortunately their offline mode has improved.

Pros

Intuitive use interface
Responsive
Increasing number of third party integrated services
Useful analytics tools

Cons

Network reliability is inconsistent
Unable to share inventory counts between multiple menu items
Extra POS ipads cost more money

Bradley
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/01/2019

The Best on the Market

It's a very easy system to navigate, but if anything is found to be confusing customer service is helpful and prompt.

Pros

Hands down the most user friendly POS out there! The search bar is by far my most favorite feature.

Cons

The wireless connection. If the power goes out or if we simply lose signal, we are dead in the water.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Bradley!

Thanks again for your feedback. We're happy to hear you're enjoying Upserve.

We completely understand that losing signal for our customers is a big issue, so we built out offline mode to help combat this. We also recently released our Android-based Upesrve POS, which you now have the ability to hardwire so that losing connection isn't as frequent. Don't hesitate to reach out to your Customer Success Manager to learn more about both features if you're interested.

Cheers,
The Upserve Team

Replied 06/02/2019
Daniel
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/09/2019

Suggestions.

Upserve has excellent customer service. The technicians are friendly, useful, and I quite like that they are, I believe, American. Outsourcing us certainly a problem in our country. I just wish we didn’t have to use Customer service as often as we do.

Pros

The reports and back office functions make accessibility from home or elsewhere Easy and useful. In contrast, the app is almost useless.

Cons

The software is not intuitive. It wouldn’t be difficult to include an automatic discount, but we have to enter them manually. Also voids and exchanges are more difficult than they need to be.

Greg
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2020

upsurge review

Pros

Easy to teach to new employees, easy to use and setup, analytics are great, reporting is awesome, makes daily cash outs a breeze

Cons

nothing really.
It was the easiest I've ever used to setup and run

Alternatives Considered

Revel Systems and Toast POS
Donna
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/09/2018

Brewery Breadcrumbs

We really enjoy all of the features Breadcrumb offers. When we first got the system, we were only using it to ring items in and take payment. We have configured it to now accurately give us our sales reports as well as clocking in our employees.

Pros

We really like how intuitive the system is. Staff training is really simple and menu set up is great.

Cons

The software updates typically happen at not-so-convenient times (like on a Friday at 4:00 in the middle of our happy hour rush).

Response from Upserve

Hi Donna, thanks for the amazing review! We are glad to hear that our system is so simple for you and your staff to use. Thanks again!

Replied 13/10/2018
PAI Honolulu - Justine
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/09/2018

Great POS system

I am very satisfied. There are the little things here and there, but definitely the pros outweigh the cons.

Pros

I love the ease of pulling up reports, checks, editing the menus, staff, etc. It is very user friendly!
Everything is so quick to update too.
I love that it operates offline too when necessary

Cons

I can't do certain functions
Most recently:
Transfer a check after the next trading day
Doesn't link to quickbooks online directly - need to go through a 3rd party
Can't pull up a particular employee's check out report from a previous day; can only pull up master check out

Response from Upserve

Hi Justine, thanks for the constructive review! We are happy to hear that our system has been so easy and user friendly for you. Thanks again for the review!

Replied 13/10/2018
Megan
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/09/2020

Upserve for the win!

We love upserve. We installed it in our very first restaurant 3 years ago. We have recently changed over hardware and software at 3 additional restaurants that we consult in. The hardware, and service costs are excellent compared to competitors.

Pros

Upserve is user friendly on both the front end and back of house. Adding buttons in real time at the point of sale is the best feature!

Cons

At this time nothing is an issue for us at any of the restaurants. They keep adding to services to address any issues with both reporting needs!

Lee
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 26/07/2019

A company of callous values - never use

Furthermore, our rep did not work to resolve the issue in a caring way

Pros

No pros when this gives you something that any other brand would give...and other brands actually care about the customer

Cons

Terrible company with loathsomely selfish values. They have a known error that can cause you and your employees to lose ALL tips during their frequent offline mode issues. If this happens, it is company policy to not recover a single dime of the money that they have lost. This shows callous and total lack of care for their customers, and shows zero responsibility for their faulty systems. Never use Upserve / Breadcrumb.

Response from Upserve

Hi Lee,

It looks like you called into Upserve Support due to an offline mode occurrence. The Support Team member was able to manually capture the payments for the day in UberGateway with the check amounts for you. As you know, sign-on screen functionality is not supported in offline mode, meaning we cannot legally capture any tips without proof of signature.

The matter was escalated to our Customer Success Management team who offered you a full month's subscription fees even though we typically would not reimburse this as it was not a system error. Your Success Manager has another request in for approval for payment of the full cost you estimated you lost in tips. We will be reaching out to you to let you know the status of that request. Please be kind to our staff Lee, they're continuing to go beyond to show you we care a lot about Five Watt Coffee!

Replied 20/08/2019
Aaron
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/04/2019

Great system for small bars or restaurants

System works great and anytime I have questions or help, it is met with professionalism and quickly.

Pros

The ease of changing features is key. The search option for items also makes it easy for employees.

Cons

When things go down, they go down hard. Redundant features need a little more help.

Response from Upserve

Hi there Aaron, thank you for your review! Our team would love to know more about what you mean by "redundant features" and how we can better our product to fit your needs. Let us know - always happy to listen to our customers on how we can improve. Cheers!

Replied 08/05/2019
274 reviews