User Reviews Overview

About Kinetic

Kinetic (the new name for Epicor ERP) is the cloud ERP solution built with manufacturers, for manufacturers. Epicor offers a cloud ERP platform with deployment flexibility (cloud, on-premise, hybrid) that provides manufacturers...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3.5

Browse Kinetic Reviews

88 of 88 reviews
Sort by:
Lisa M.
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 24/02/2020

Epicor ERP

Pros

I used this software for 6 years and so I really got to know the ins and outs of it. It's hard to say what I liked most because I didn't really like it that much. One positive is that it's a very robust product probably best suited to a much larger company than ours.

Cons

As the out of the box product, there is zero ability to customize anything without paying another company to do it for you. It's possible to make changes if you have training or an additional module, neither of which I had.
There are many security measures in place that makes it difficult to undo something or revise after you've done it.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Lisa, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're sorry to hear you didn't like the software. We would like to learn more about the issues you experienced. Please email us at [email protected] with your contact information, so we can assist you. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience you've experienced.

Replied 27/02/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 13/05/2021

Epicor ERP

Good experience but I can be better, if you have a midsize company is a good option

Pros

It's easy to implement and if you have an .NET team the knowledge curve is low and you can customize the modules by yourself

Cons

CRM is not good, also the web version has so much problems when we compare to other competitors

Alternatives Considered

Dynamics 365

Reasons for Switching to Kinetic

Cost and hardware infrastructure

Response from Epicor Software

Hi there, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear you've found it easy to customize and would like to learn more re: your experience of the CRM. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected]

Replied 19/05/2021
Thomas L.
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 12/03/2018

Average support level, mainly in Sales

We have achieve the goals we originally set out to achieve:
- improve quoting function efficiency
- centralise functions to one system

Pros

Full of features. Good ability to customise screens and part configurator to aid our productivity improvement. Version 10 seems to have even more features.

Cons

We are currently still on V8.03. Scheduling module is the weakest of all module. Since Epicor took over from Cogita sales service is close to none existence, level of support is poor but maintenance cost is high.

Top Kinetic Alternatives

Peter U.
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 29/04/2020

Great for quoting engineered to order equipment and systems

Overall its been great. There is no perfect system so sometimes just takes getting familiar with to understand the full capability of the system.

Pros

This ERP makes it extremely easy to quote items that do not have part numbers set up in the system. We fabricate custom designed process equipment which requires many purchased components. And often times our customers require us to follow their specific Approved Material List which could include components we have not purchased before.
Epicor allows to quote parts, kits, systems without forcing us to create part numbers which makes quoting very easy and quick. No sense in setting up part numbers if we don't have the job yet.

Cons

The CRM part is not the greatest. Needs to be improved or allow Sales Force or other leading CRM software to tie in to Epicor.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Peter, thanks so much for your feedback on Epicor ERP. It's great to hear that quoting engineered to order equipment and systems is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Replied 30/04/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/02/2019

Epicor ERP

Vast improvements in improving business speed and communication between different business units. User interface easily allows jumping to other areas quickly to enable improved speed in business decisions and customer service.

Pros

Very flexible and powerful user interface. Software modules have extensive flexible options to tailor the configuration to work as desired. Most modules very integrated, allowing powerful user capability. User personalization is powerful and easy to administer.

Cons

Customization is often too complex. Need C# programmer and still can be complicated. In V9 to V10 customization languages changed which required rewrite of previous customizations. This is very costly rather than tools being available to effectively migrate existing customizations. Upgrades of software modules is too complex and is being worked on to improve and focus more on ease, allowing companies to keep on the current release without seeming like a new implementation. More work than it should be. Several modules are included for improving requirements and are very weak. Example: Integration to Salesforce.

Alyssa rose L.
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/11/2018

Epicor ERP allows the analysis of data in real time.

Epicor is a solid and highly scalable option that generates a positive return on investment. It also has a real-time data analysis. I recommend Epicor ERP thanks to all the functions that allow employees to work more efficiently and quickly. Although Epicor needs to improve the support team a lot, I'm sure to recommend it.

Pros

Epicor ERP creates purchase orders, senders and invoices that generate a high return on investment. In addition, we have been able to accurately track work activity. Epicor meets our accounting needs. Epicor ERP is ideal for companies that buy components from many different places, so there can be traceability. A large number of departments use the system (order entry, sales, IT, finance). In addition, Epicor has a user interface with the ability to export to Excel. Epicor allows real-time data analysis and financial reporting to help make decisions faster.

Cons

Epicor does not take advantage of innovations in the development of queries, which would allow inexperienced users to generate their own results without the help of the IT department. In addition, the software support team still needs to improve greatly in order to achieve better efficiency.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/12/2018

Lots of customizations required

Overall, the software works as intended. If an issue comes up, it’s generally an easy fix even if it does take a bit of time. Much of what we do as a company can sometime require us to have to dig around in the system to find the information we need but the good thing is that Epicor allows for that digging thru it’s search fields.

Pros

The very thing that kind of sucks about this software is also the thing that makes it “work” for our company. The ability to customize the software for our day to day business needs is awesome.

Cons

Unfortunately, those customizations make fixing things a little more difficult than if we were able to use the software “out of the box.” Having developers in a different country also prohibits and lengthens “fix time” due to time difference.

Amanda H.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/06/2018

Our company has used this for several years and had great success.

Pros

User friendly: We upgraded to 10.2, and the new homepage provides all the data I need instantly. I was able to adjust the layout and information on my dashboards easily. I can drill into data and use sophisticated analytics tools, which have made me more informed and productive.

Super flexible: It's been a scalable solution that has supported our growing business.

Easy to update and integrate with other systems

Accurate forecasting

Secure cloud-based data management

Cons

Epicor's customer support hasn't always been the most prompt, but they've made some changes this year to their customer support services, and we've already noticed improvement.

Daniel B.
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/04/2020

Epicor

Pros

We use a ton of customizations and personalization. The ability to do so is awesome!

Cons

We are a job shop, non-stock parts with many only being built once. Epicor 10 is more geared towards stock jobs and continued quantities

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Daniel, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the customization functionality is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Replied 14/04/2020
Jasmine H.
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/03/2018

As a company we have been able to accelerate our reporting capabilities.

Extreme ease of access and effective and efficient customer support.

Pros

The capability and functionality of the system is incredible and effortless once your are trained and have the knowledge on how to operate.

Cons

Not necessarily a con with the system itself but if your current systems mode of operating doesn't easily transition with the way Epicor works it can create a few obstacles in how the functionality of Epicor can work for your company.

Steven H.
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/04/2020

Snap Shot of EPICOR from USER

GOOD +

Pros

It was easy to learn for me - Been a user for 5 years

Cons

I have no issues with this software.
I cant think of anything I dont like after 5 years of being a user.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Steven, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear it is working well for you and you've found it intuitive. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Replied 27/04/2020
James T.
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 02/12/2019

EPICore EPR

Pros

Unlike some software where the beginning of the text is used for searching this software allows the user to use any part of the text for which your are searching.

Cons

Generated reports do not search the entire report unless starting again from page one. What this means is if the user finds the item searched for on page 520 the next search will start from page 520 unless the search box is closed and page one is clicked on to start the search.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi James, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the search function is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.
Yours sincerely,
The Epicor Social Media Team

Replied 03/12/2019
Segi H.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 03/07/2018

Epicor is an important piece of MRP software for our company and we cannot do business without...

Pros

Epicor is a good piece of MRP software overall.

Screens are able to intelligently link to one another with relevant right click context menus.

Cons

When error messages appear, they are often cryptic and difficult or impossible for non Epicor employees to understand.

Epicor licenses are extremely expensive and not recommended for smaller businesses.

Nicolas J.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 08/09/2017

Great new UI on top of a reliable ERP

Pros

Great Value for money
Very powerfull integration platform (service Connect)
Hospitality oriented features
Reliable

Cons

Reporting tool is not as user friendly as the application
Some part of the software are still using old technologies
Some Admin function for multi property environment could be improved

Ian P.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 10/05/2018

Used to ERP tasks-material and labor tracking mainly

Pros

Very intuitive, easy to generate reports to track progress in real time. System was customizable and templates supported standardized work flows.

Cons

In older products data input was tedious. Entering estimates of required resources required manual inputs in each module.

Jillian S.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/01/2017

Easy enough

I use this system for time tracking. You can save favorites that cuts down the time it take to enter time. Reporting isn't that great.

Pros

i like how i can save epicor numbers i use frequently to cut down on the time it takes to enter time.

Cons

Reporting isn't that great.

Brittany W.
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 06/10/2020

Okay but could be a lot better

This software helps my company track expenses related to field service jobs. I feel it gets the job done but if it was up to me I would choose a less glitchy program

Pros

Using this software to do inventory was pretty straight forward and mistakes can easily be undone if needed

Cons

There is a lot of glitching and crashing with this software. Most problems require you to restart the software.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Brittany, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're sorry to hear performance-wise it is not working well for you. We would like to learn more about the issues you are experiencing. Please email us at [email protected] with your contact information, so we can assist you. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience you've experienced, and we look forward to resolving it quickly.

Replied 09/10/2020
Clint K.
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 10/10/2017

Effective software if implemented correctly

I think the main benefits are that it has robust capabilities to match a business if it is implemented correctly

Pros

I like how the database is setup, and how they have an out of the box data dictionary in the software to be able to navigate and link tables correctly

Cons

I like least how unforgiving the implementation of the software is. It is near impossible/comes with big headaches to make significant mapping changes

Allen C.
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 07/03/2018

There are a number of areas where viewing details of transactions is difficult.

Pros

Report functionality is quite good and turnaround time for updated reports was also very good. Gen Jnl posting is easy to use and quick.

Cons

It is sometimes a bit cumbersome when loading up external data and again, once loaded it is difficult to see the transactions to determine whether upload has worked OK.

Amit G.
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 02/02/2017

Moving On

We are leaving them and moving to other software. Other available software will be much cheaper and easier to work with.

Cons

Expensive and don't have all the features.

Matt T.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 03/04/2017

Warehouse

It has been a good system but needs reporting. We are still new but we have grown past some of the reporting needs.

Rob M.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/01/2021

Full-featured mid-tier ERP based on Microsoft Stack (or cloud option)

Very simple to implement. Training people was the hardest part. We upgraded from a 20 year old ERP which was not WYSIWYG but users liked new formats. As usual customers wanted every option but after implementation realized that they could live without it since there were similar features in the existing software.

We have a factory with about 40 office workers, 400 on factory floor, two distribution centers and main office. Factory in Mexico, others in US.

Project management support from Epicor was great. Not impressed with support. Often had to wait long time for solutions and it required a lot of data on our part to answer their questions.

The MS Stack was easy to configure, secure and administrate.

We purchased our own servers and hosted them in a shared DC. Performance was good once we figured out how to configure everything including firewalls, WAN and various remote servers.

No problems migrating data to new environment but we kept the legacy system for queries.

We added a 3rd-party EDI solution and it worked well to reduce Order processing issues.

The Epicor software was rarely the problem. Mostly project and training issues that delayed the effort.

Pros

The MS stack makes it easy to customize for reporting, data storage. Multi-tier configuration with database, application server and options for web-clients, fat clients and terminal servers.
Many options for customization in addition to code development. Multi-everything.

Relatively easy to upgrade and stay on current releases. Great administrative tools and ability to add resources as demand grow, including localizing servers for better performance.

Cons

Nothing really. There are lots of modules and each has a lot of simple to understand configuration options.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Rob, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear you find the ease of customization beneficial. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about the program.

Replied 02/02/2021
David E.
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/06/2021

My opinion on Epicor ERP

Pros

I have been using this software for 5 years and have learned to use it correctly. I liked the approach of the software despite the fact that it was necessary to take new benchmarks but that is the goal of a new software! This very versatile product would be more suitable for a larger company than mine where I worked as a team but since COVID19, I have become a freelance.

Cons

This software package allowed me to personalize and optimize the management of my contacts. On the other hand, I was not able to make any changes easily because I had not taken the additional training module. Note that there are many security measures leaving the cancellation of certain aspects impossible for me.

Response from Epicor Software

Hello David, thank you for your feedback on Epicor ERP. We are pleased to hear you find it versatile to use. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Replied 11/06/2021
Roger G.
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 06/03/2018

Not user friendly and to make changes we need to contact the developers. NOT GOOD AT ALL

its a cloud base database and we don't need to back up the data. Also all the info we need is on one location!

Cons

NOT user-friendly, the turnaround on tickets is horrible. There is no videos or forums where customers can go and see how other Epicor users are fixing there/workaround problems they are facing. I was referring to one but apparently its all money. I wish there was a better training on how to admin the software. Also, performance is slow, We upgraded our network to better Mbps and the software has not improved.

James P.
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 24/08/2019

Feature Packed but Cumbersome

The software is a total package for any type of manufacturing company. When i say it has it all, I mean it. However, it comes at a cost. The interface can be a bit clunky and there isn't always a great workaround for what should be a simple task. However, once you get it all figured out the sky is limit with this tool and it can be fully customized if you have someone on staff who can code and script.

Pros

This software has a ton of features. From Quote to Invoicing and every piece of the production pipeline in between.

Cons

It's not super intuitive and requires a bit of a learning curve to get it going in the right direction.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi James, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the solution has provided
you with the proper features. We're sorry to hear the learning curve has been steep. We would like to learn more about the issue you are experiencing so we can deliver a solution. Please send us an email to [email protected] with your contact information, so we can assist you. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience you've experienced, and we look forward to resolving it.
Sincerely,
The Epicor Social Team

Replied 26/08/2019
88 reviews