SlideDog Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About SlideDog

SlideDog is a multimedia presentation solution for iPad, Android and macOS with real-time presentation broadcasting, audience interaction and remote control capabilities. Broadcasters and presenters can publish content and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.6

Browse SlideDog Reviews

87 of 87 reviews
Sort by:
DG Garcia
DG Garcia
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/06/2022

Slidedog is the perfect presentation software for you!

Pros

The slidedog helps me a lot in terms of my presentation in school, in discussion and even in our church worship services. Slidedog provides easy presentation features such as its video support, audio file management, screen sharing, and multiple screen that helps me in many ways.

Cons

Slidedog seems to be a perfect app for me.

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review, DG Garcia!
Glad to hear that SlideDog is useful for your school and worship activities.

Replied 27/06/2022
Joe
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/06/2022

Slidedog is a valuable tool for Ministry.

I and my wife help lead worship at our church. I started using this software six years ago for our Contemporary service on Sunday afternoons. We have expanded using it during Covid lockdown and after for our morning Traditional service since we could not use hymnals or printed bulletins when Covid first hit our area, so we projected the readings, prayers, and announcements on a video screen instead which was safer for everybody. At first, the older generation was not a big fan of changing how the traditional service was done but after a while, they accepted it and even look forward to it as we can show wonderful religious graphics which enhances the service and understanding of what is being preached and taught. We also now use it during Bible Study groups. We also live-stream our church service so now that the bulletin is projected the people at home can watch and follow along as the words are on the screen. The morning service is also recorded, submitted, and shown on our local Public Broadcasting TV channel. Slidedog is a valuable tool for Ministry.

Pros

I like Slidededog because it can support all kinds of media files, and it is easy to load and rearrange slides within a presentation, which I do often.

Cons

I use the Free version, although I have tried the Pro Version. BUT, the free version has a limit of 100 slides per presentation, and for long church services sometimes I need to use more than 100 slides so end up using two computers each with Slidedog on them each with half the service presentation on it and switch the cord to our projector in the middle of church service. This is less than optimum but workable. I did try the Pro version as I wanted the feature to be able to live-stream the worship service but some video files would not work when I tried this, so we went back to the Free Version and used another streaming option.

Response from SlideDog

Thank you so much for your detailed review and comments, Joe! I'm going to investigate the one hundred slides per PowerPoint limitation. That sounds more of an unintentional limit than a deliberate one. Cool workaround you found, nonetheless. It would be interesting to know what live streaming solution you are using together with SlideDog. Maybe it's something we can recommend to our other users as well?

Replied 17/06/2022
arnoud
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 14/06/2022

Nearly impossible to buy the live time version

limentation off the trial version is a problem

Pros

trail version let me use only small posibles featurs

Cons

I like the easy way of creating a presentation

Response from SlideDog

Hi Arnoud. Thank you for the review. I'm not really sure what you mean by "Nearly impossible to buy the live time version". I assume you mean "Lifetime"? It's listed on our pricing page - https://slidedog.com/pricing/

Replied 27/06/2022

Top SlideDog Alternatives

Luis
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/06/2022

Slide Dog great alternative for multi format content on presentations

Slide Dog is a great product. Provides a good solution when presenting with different types of files. Layout should be improved.

Pros

I think the best feature of SlideDog is that is supports several types of files. PPT, PDF, images (PNG, JPG), video files... etc. and that you can create a linear playlist of different content.
Second monitor option is great.
I believe ProPresenter or QLab dont support PPT files.

Cons

Layout can be improved. On the playlist font size is too small and scroll bars are too narrow. It is hard to see where the scroll bar is located on an advanced presentation. You should improve layout of the playlist, also evaluate implementing some kind of layer or overlay feature.
When using the second monitor option, main monitor screen refreshes too late when changing a slide, causing confusion to the user.
I wonder if the "Load Presentation" functionality can work different. So changes can be made on the way and not "Unloading the presentation" first.

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review Luis. You have a lot of valid points, but I'm not sure what you mean by "When using the second monitor option, main monitor screen refreshes too late when changing a slide, causing confusion to the user". The live view of the 2nd screen on the primary screen should be instant and real-time. Isn't that the case on your computer?

Replied 27/06/2022
Lisa
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/04/2021

Excellent programme and customer service.

SlideDog has enabled to give me a professional edge to my presentations and making it super easy. The company is one that cares about each customer and I believe goes above and beyond, no matter who the customer is.

Pros

As a childrens' worker I wanted a programme that would allow me to incorporate videos, pictures and powerpoints as a seamless presentation. SlideDog did exactly what I wanted it to, I love the drag and drop feature for adding the different elements. Over time there were several problems as new versions came out but problems were quickly solved according to my specific problems- customer service is very personal and excellent.

Cons

The only downside I had was the difficulties I had incorporating it with Zoom over lockdown but this may have been to my lack of skills.

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review Lisa. Happy to hear that SlideDog helps making your presentations seamless. SlideDog should work out-of-the-box with video conference software like Zoom and Teams, but there are a couple of pitfalls to avoid. Firstly, one must make sure to share the whole screen and not an individual app, secondly, using the 2-screen mode makes it a lot easier to manage SlideDog alongside Zoom or Teams, as you don't have multiple apps fighting for being the "top-most" application window. We should probably write a blog post about this. Thanks for reminding us! :-)

Replied 27/04/2021
Gary
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/04/2021

Single use license for computer change or no internet;

Used for a year then bitten by a archaic policy that will literally cost them nothing.

Pros

It's handy to use so many formats - like that a lot.
Nice controls.

Cons

Given the price, using only one computer for a license is ticky-tacky these days. Inconsistent with other software. I had a computer go down or have trouble a couple of years ago ad they offered nothing but deactivate. Sure - how?
Name a big company who doesn't offer a second or backup use when not used at the same time.
So - when I have no internet, or a computer breaks, or has troubles, please allow them to ruin an important presentation. Success on your part. Nothing was offered to help me out.
When this happens an hour beforehand, it's disappointing.
Software is nice, but policy is questionable.

Response from SlideDog

Hi Gary, thank you for your review. We changed our licensing model in February, 2021 (see https://slidedog.com/blog/updates-to-slidedog-pricing/) and sent out an email to all our newsletter subscribers that Pro customers got an extra activation for free, effectively allowing them to use SlideDog Pro on two computers simultaneously. We saw the need for this in situations like the one you described and I'm sorry that this change in policy didn't occur earlier, while you still were a SlideDog Pro customer. Feel free to contact me (Dag) directly for a returning customer discount. Would love to have you back on board!

Replied 28/04/2021
Jeff
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/05/2021

Slidedog for Cable TV

Pros

Slidedog was a great solution for our cable tv channel. Other options we looked at were more complicated and expensive. We have used the software for years without issue.

Cons

No complaints now that you brought back lifetime license

Response from SlideDog

Thanks for the review, Jeff! Would love to hear more about how you use SlideDog for your cable TV channel!

Replied 07/05/2021
Efrayim
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/04/2021

Excellent product

We have been customers for years and have consistently been impressed. We purchased the lifetime package and are happy with that decision each time we use it.

Pros

During school presentations we would often like to combine multiple assets into one seamless production. Slidedog allowed us that flexibility without compromising in what we were able to include.

Cons

There are a few things I feel could be improved: the web remote is a little glitchy, no support for GIFs, and occasionally, rarely, an audio issue with video files.

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for your review Efrayim! Happy to hear that SlideDog provides value for your school presentations! Would love to know more about the occasional glitches with the web remote that you mention, and if this is something you've experienced lately (in 2021).

Replied 28/04/2021
Joseph
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/06/2022

Rock solid

I don't use the fancy features. I just want to reliably get the slide show up there (slides and video clips).

Pros

Rock solid presentations with no glitches or embarrassing technical problems, whether slides or video clips.

Cons

Cannot just copy a folder containing scripts to a new computer and have it work, even though all the folders and files are duplicated on the new computer. For each script, you need to reload each slide or video into the slide dog script again. (Maybe that's why it is so rock solid?)

Response from SlideDog

Thanks for the review, Joseph!
Glad to hear that SlideDog has been rock solid for you these years!

Replied 10/06/2022
Hannah
Hannah
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 21/03/2019

Cool features and simple to use

SlideDog is a handy, simple tool to make presenting easier and run smoother. There are some really cool, interactive and useful features that it offers.

Pros

-It's a pretty intuitive design. Even on my first use, it was pretty easy to figure out where everything is.
-The interactive features are awesome. You can super easily create a poll, or ask an open ended question for doing a live presentation (audience gets a link and can participate)
-I really appreciate that you can put a web-page into the slideshow and access it without leaving your slides. Super convenient and makes the presentation process go a lot smoother
-You can download your slideshow to a Powerpoint file. I haven't used this feature myself, so I'm not sure how it affects some of the more interactive functionality, but still a nice option.
-I like that you have the option to either automatically advance or click through your slides
-Cool that there's mobile integration!

Cons

-The software ran really slow on my computer. Although the interface is simple, it feels a bit clunky and dated.
-In my opinion, it would make more sense for this be a web-based program rather than one to download on your computer due to the live-presentation nature. I prefer to use web-based software for things like this.

Pawan
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/06/2022

Easy to use and rock the presentation

Easy to use , easy to present anything , variety of content, and just loved the product.

Pros

Presentations which I had made with it are rocking. The clients loved the Presentations. It is actually due to ease of use of this software and rocking features.

Cons

Till now I didn't got any hard problem. If I get sometimes, then also I get it easily solved by Customer support. Thanks to them...

Response from SlideDog

Thanks Pawan! Glad to hear you enjoy using SlideDog for your presentations!

Replied 27/06/2022
Scott
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/06/2022

Does what it says.

Pros

The ability to stick nearly any type of presentation (ppt, video, web page, audio, graphic) into a playlist and not have to switch between applications is great. It is super easy to use and very intuitive. We have not had it crash on us a single time and we use it a minimum of twice a week for Sunday morning worship.

Cons

My biggest con is that you can't control how many ppt slides that you can preview in the playlist. When playing a ppt you can only see the next slide and I haven't been able to figure out any way around that. Secondly, if you have a ppt that automatically changes slides, slidedog has to be the "active" window, otherwise slides don't change.

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review, Scott! And thank you for sharing that experience regarding the number of slides you can preview, plus the thing about slide timings in PowerPoint in SlideDog. We should probably make that thing clearer to the end users.

Replied 17/06/2022
Aaron
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/05/2022

Meets my application as initially envisioned

Pros

Easy to install, easy to manipulate playlists, almost instant customer service

Cons

Did not encounter any after initial installation and fine tuning to my need

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review, Aaron!

Replied 02/06/2022
Diego
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/05/2021

Professional Level Presentations!

SlideDog was the perfect solution to presenting slideshows, videos, placeholders, and just making our events have a level of professionalism that simply just did not exist prior to finding it.

Pros

I love the fact that you are able to use multiple types of media from different sources. Absolutely love the customization that I can bring to my presentations and events.

Cons

Wish I could use three screens instead of being limited to two screens.

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review Diego! In the lastest version of SlideDog, you can actually use it with three screens :-)

Replied 07/05/2021
Sandy
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/01/2021

Glad this product exists!

The customer service is EXCELLENT. When one feature was not working as expected, I submitted a help ticket. The developer communicated quickly and effectively, found the bug, and issued the software update within days. As of this writing (1/22/21), this product has someone actively maintaining it and providing the best customer service I could ask for.

Pros

1. I can navigate my presentation from one screen while seeing what the viewers see on my other screen. Being new to doing online trainings for clients, this was hugely important to me.
2. I can insert a website into my presentation and the viewers only see the website content, not my entire screen full of way too many tabs, my bookmarks bar, etc.
3. No worries about viewers seeing my desktop image while I navigate between powerpoints, websites, etc.

Cons

The user interface isn't as polished as some software, however this is only what I see and what I care about is what my clients see.

Response from SlideDog

Thanks for the review Sandy! Glad the software update made things work for you. Don't hesitate to contact us again if you encounter any other issues or have questions regarding SlideDog :-)

Replied 26/01/2021
L John
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/05/2022

Old Faithful

It is fast and easy to deploy For events large and small

Pros

Ease of use and speed to set up and supports most media formats

Cons

Only Drawback at the moment is lack of NDI Integration

Response from SlideDog

Thank you, John! Maybe NDI Screen Capture is something to look into?

Replied 02/06/2022
Mackenzie
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 05/05/2021

Perfect for outdoor services

Awesome customer service to get me what I needed

Pros

The ease of our people able to see our worship lyrics and scriptures on their phones

Cons

I wish I could use it on my Mac. No slide limit would be nice too. A bigger preview before playing too.

Response from SlideDog

Thanks for the review Mackenzie!

Replied 07/05/2021
Mark
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 03/05/2021

Slide Dog Easy to Use

Pros

The learning curve was not very steep.
The software did just what I needed it to do.

Cons

A presentation with multiple slides was a little tricky at first but working that out was simple.

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review Mark!

Replied 07/05/2021
Daniel
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/05/2021

Great product

Pros

This product was very easy to install and use. It was a good organization tool and a timesaver

Cons

Not really any problems but wish there was some sequencing options

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review Daniel! Feel free to drop us a line in regard to the sequencing options you'd like us to implement.

Replied 18/05/2021
Jessie
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/06/2022

Great for Trainers

Overall, slidedog has helped our presentations look more clean and professional. This can be the deciding factor when trying to win a client.

Pros

I like the drag and drop feature the most. Every other program we have used required programs to be uploaded which requires an internet connection and took time based on the size of the file.

Cons

I still haven't figured out the presentation mode when using multiple monitors but that's probably because I still have searched for the answer or contacted customer support.

Response from SlideDog

Thanks for the review, Jessie!
Would love to hear which conference you first saw SlideDog at. Feel free to contact me directly :-)

Replied 20/06/2022
Roman
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/04/2021

Good Choice

Easy to handle

Pros

It's just a simple way to bring different types of presentations into one system. AND point to a second screen

Cons

Don't know. It simply does what it should do

Response from SlideDog

Thank you so much for the review Roman. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have suggestions on how we can improve our offering to event organizers and AV companies like yours.

Replied 27/04/2021
Stephane
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/06/2022

Great for Education

I really enjoyed using it but the subscription cost is still high for my use frequency.

Pros

It is a unique solution at this time, very convenient to compile presentations from different source of information .. it is a time saver!

Cons

It does not integrate yet so well with all the Google Workspace for Education functionalities.

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review, Stephane. Let me know if you consider purchasing the Pro version and I'll give you a coupon code that we offer to all educators.

Replied 05/07/2022
Steve
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/06/2022

Great software

very good and easy to use and understand

Pros

Gives a good opportunity to present better. The folks at SlideDog are quick to respond when issues arise.

Cons

I do not have any con's, i t hink the software is great.

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review, Steve!

Replied 05/07/2022
wences
wences
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 04/07/2018

It's interesting.

Pros

you can create custom playlists by adding from Power Point presentations, PDF files, presentations with Prezi a more sophisticated program than Power Point, movie clips combining this looks good!

Cons

One of the main contras is that to use this program to its fullest in the various files you have to use is that you must have them installed on your computer as for example to watch videos you must have installed VideoLan VLC Media Player or Google Chrome to websites.

Aryan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/07/2022

Great Product, changed sharing for me

Pros

I really love the screen share feature, which helps me communicate better with my colleagues.

Cons

The video share seems a bit laggy, don't know is it my ISP that messes it up

Response from SlideDog

Thank you for the review, Aryan!

Replied 14/07/2022
87 reviews