Nextech EHR & PM Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Nextech EHR & PM

For more than 20 years, Nextech has provided a full-featured EMR and Practice Management solution within a single database. This system is a fit for dermatologists, plastic surgeons, ophthalmologists, and physicians, and is used...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.7
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.0

Browse Nextech EHR & PM Reviews

206 of 206 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/08/2018

Best Software for Dermatology

Pros

Nextech is well written and customizable for each provider. Very simple for new staff to pick up when training.

Cons

Dislike the software backup methodology. Could be more streamlined so it takes less time and in addition, you'll need a device to backup a so-called workstation backup (I use a NAS) and the server backup backs up to a folder on the server so you'll need to think about space requirements when engineering a solution. In addition to the built in solution to the software I also backup the entire server using a thrid-party imaging solution.

Mary
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/05/2022

Best choice we made when switching from paper charts to electronic health record

Our overall experience with Nextech Intellechart Pro and Nextech Cloud PM has been very positive. Having seen the competitors in our field, we have not regretted our choice one day.

Pros

The software is always evolving and improving to lessen the burden on the doctors and staff.

Cons

When updates are made sometimes it causes other issues in the software that weren't there before the update. That being said they do try and address those issues promptly.

Alternatives Considered

EyeMD EMR and NEXGEN

Reasons for Switching to Nextech EHR & PM

We chose Intellechart Pro because of the easy of use and that it's an ophthalmology specific product.
Anna
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

1
Reviewed on 05/01/2018

Expensive fees to keep software service and updates yearly.

Basic scheduling needs and some reporting.

Pros

Scheduling is easy, drop down menus can be personalized. Maintaining providers schedules is simple.

Cons

One glitch that is frustrating is name changes. Once a patient is in the system, you can't change their name or the system deletes their file data. Photos, op reports, everything. It's a frustrating process b/c to make any new documentation legally correct, you have to go in by hand an change every where it's written, which on surgical consents can be almost 20 times. Then anything automated that goes out still has their wrong name. For divorced patients this is a frustrating reminder.
Most importantly though is the yearly fee. Once you purchase this software, you then have to continue purchasing it every year or it doesn't work properly (no updates) and you have no support from Nextech if something goes wrong. I wasn't here when it was purchased, but our physician emphatically denies every knowing this was going to be the case when he made the initial buy in. We pay thousands a year for this system, but switching seems very daunting and they know that. You're basically trapped when you buy in...if you don't pay, which we haven't for almost a year, then decide to break down and do it, it only back pays. Say you miss a year, you will have to pay for the year of service you DIDN'T get and then another year to get up to date. It's a huge rip off.

Top Nextech EHR & PM Alternatives

Erica
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/03/2024

Nextech is awesome

Pros

Very user friendly and fewer clicks than most EHR

Cons

Nextech is great i have no complaints. Everything works great and IT is very easy to work with

Angela
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/08/2023

User Friendly

I would highly recommend this system to another other medical practice

Pros

How to navigate between the screens and easy access to other parts of the patients charts

Cons

I am very please with this system and would recommend to any other practices

Alternatives Considered

MedFlow

Reasons for Switching to Nextech EHR & PM

It is user friendly and easy to teach employees
Paul
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/08/2023

9 years and running

They're aware of their impact and honestly try to make a user friendly product that delivers, on time.

Pros

I've used Nextech MDI since I entered the Retina field in 2014. In 9 years, at two different practices, there's a consistency that has been built that once you know the system you're able to use it at any employer. Image integration is fairly simple, and the compass on the side lets you jump ahead to where you're looking to navigate to more quickly than scrolling.

Cons

The cloud. The concept of the cloud is great, but a little Hurricane, or other disruptions and suddenly the cloud is down. I'd love a local server to download the current day charts the night before, any charts that weren't pre-downloaded could be downloaded as needed, then after all the charts are updated, push the updates back to the cloud for long-term. This way as long as there's intRAnet working you still have full access to a patients charts, whereas if intERnet has any issues you're out of luck and scrambling to find a paper chart.

Sherry
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 17/03/2023

Skyline

Pros

Most of the processes went over easily to Nextech.

Cons

there are a lot of reports that I should be able to run and print. The patient merge does not work for us completely. I have a laundry list of things I would like Nextech to improve on.

Gabriela
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/08/2023

4 Years of Nextech PM+

One of the better EMRs I've had the pleasure of working with. 8.9/10

Pros

Fairly straightforward and easy to navigate once you understand the UI.

Cons

Autoloading previous profile/patient when attempting to speak/work with a different patient.

Laura
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 11/08/2020

I am switching to a new EMR and Nextech has made it impossible for our practice to receive our...

As a Practice Manager I am extremely frustrated with their customer service and technical support. When our EMR was down it took 3 days for Nextech to solve our issues, they kept blaming it on our internet service, firewall and email server but after 3 days thanks to my IT people they realized it had to do with their security records. Their inability to manage their own security records cost our practice additional expenses. I will update my review once I receive my data, I will add a timeline of the whole data request process so other practices can use it as a guide.

Pros

We liked this product when we first implemented because it was targeted to Plastic Surgery practices and they had one on one tech support, now we feel like another number in their client roster. It is extremely difficult to get proper tech and customer support.

Cons

Customer service and tech support. The software switched it's focus to insurance billing, less on clinical and scheduling

Tamron
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/03/2024

User Friendly

Pros

Easy to customize to clinic preferences.

Cons

Reports are sometimes hard to drill down to.

Thao
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 09/01/2023

Poor customer support for such an EXPENSIVE product

It was the worst experience ever. I signed a contract at the academy AAO meeting. There were so many fine prints and red flags. First, you pay within 2 months of contract whether you go live or not. They drag their feet. No one contacts you. You call support but no one returns your calls. They do not want to get you live. They will get your money and drag out the process to fit their timeline.

Pros

Nothing is good. It is a switch and bait.

Cons

Their contracts make you pay 36 months of support without providing any support. Please do not waste your time and money. Find another provider.

Alternatives Considered

ModMed

Reasons for Choosing Nextech EHR & PM

The system was dated.

Switched From

ModMed

Reasons for Switching to Nextech EHR & PM

The person who sold the product disappeared. No support was available to find anyone to talk to. Bad company to work with and no adequate support.
Ann
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2017

Our office has been using Nextech Practice Management for 7 years. Customer service is...

The benefit is the practice management. It is very user friendly. It offers most any kind of financial report you may be looking for

Pros

Very user friendly. The customer service is excellent. They offer a number of financial reports.
The inventory and commission based module is very easy to use for our estheticians. You can track everything. We have four locations, the messaging between users is very convenient and we use it every day between offices.
Sending claims out to clearing house is fast and efficient. The system will flag a claim that has something incorrect on it. You can fix it immediately and send out.
Totally love the PM part of Nextech

Cons

I do not like the EMR. Very overwhelming. Needs to be more user friendly. The doctors complain they have to go through to many steps and it takes to long.

Response from Nextech Systems

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback. Nextech has worked over 20 years to develop and hone our PM system to provide you with the experience you described below. Regarding the EMR, we encourage you to contact your Account Manager about how Nextech can assist your practice with streamlining its medical notes. With thousands of providers using our system and a fully customizable EMR, we¿re certain we can reduce that frustration once we better understand your unique needs.

Replied 18/12/2017
Mira
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 04/02/2022

worst Experience

This is not a software for Med spas, weight loss or any other practice who does not bill insurance. The customer care is the worst.
We were given the demonstration by the sales rep and during the demo he said yes to pretty much what we needed in a software like cloud software, automated, emails, online booking etc.
So, we signed the contract and then the nightmare started. No body contacted us for 3 weeks. We asked when we are going to implement, they gave us one call per week which was not enough to set the software, so we did a lot by ourselves like building all the forms. We realize this is not true cloud software as we were told during demo by the sales rep [SENSITIVE CONTENT]. you can only log in only 6 computers at a time, but we were told you can have unlimited iPad. But iPad version is very limited. We came across lot of other problems like
1. Saas cloud software
2. Not able to sign receipt
3.Slow Remote Desktop system
4.patients not able to sign forms in portal
5.iPad version missing important features like not able to update demographics info. Not safe to give iPad to patients forms as they can go in other patients’ charts.
Our company has invested serval hours in setting and learning this software. In the end it was very unfortunate waste of time and effort.
In the end we end up not finishing the implementation or using the software. We asked told them and this is not what we signed for. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] told us contract is a contract we must pay them for 3 years no matter what.

Pros

During the demo we were told that it is a cloud software , can send automated emails and marketing etc. All most too good to be true.

Cons

features which were told by sales rep were not present in software.

lorie
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/06/2022

The ONLY EMR & PM

Pros

so easy to learn, and implement every day, in all aspect.
Been using this for over 20 years, and love the newest upgrades and products. My favorite was the iPad integration. SERVICE is 10 stars, always available to assist. Love that you get your own representative on your account. You know who to ask for, and they deliver.

Cons

not any to think of, when we added the EMR/iPad - honesty it was the only downspot - although support was there all the way.

Kim
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/03/2023

Overall great product

We've been using the PM system for 22 years and the EMR system for 9 years, we are very satisfied

Pros

The ease of use, everything it has to offer, and the fact they are always pushing out new features. The support is wonderful also.

Cons

Wish we could offer online scheduling without having to use a 3rd party vendor. Also wish the text reminder feature offered more.

Debra
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/08/2023

Debra review

Pros

Product is easy to use to put in charges and bill to clearinghouse. Lets me know if I am in global period for billing. Easy to transmit charges and payments.

Cons

I am unable to bill secondary claims. Also, it would be nice when a claim is rejected that the HCFA would come up so I can correct whats on the HCFA and not look for where to find the mistake.

Ellie
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 05/07/2017

customer service quite poor.

Pros

Decent layout

Cons

Though we only use certain aspects of the software rarely, we either must pay the FULL support fee or agree to shut down that support of that component. If we shut down support of that component and then decide to use again in the future, we will need to REPURCHASE that compnent ---- even though we already paid the full purchased price for that component alone (EMR). If you make 10,000 emr entries annually or 100, you pay the same fee for support. This is not attractive to lower volume practices.

Cari
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 09/08/2023

Implementation continues to disappoint and cause major problems

I have hopes for the system once we get through all of our migration problems. Though we are almost two months post-go live and should not be dealing with these problems any more.

Pros

Reporting options give us what we need to make administrative decisions. AdvancedMD had very poor reporting features.

Cons

The implementation process has been disappointing. We STILL have not had a complete migration of data from our old EHR since we took Nextech's recommendation to use their migration service instead of going through the legacy EHR.

Response from Nextech Systems

Cari, we're glad you're finding value in Nextech's reporting options. However, it is unfortunate that the implementation hasn't met your expectations. We've had tremendous success in the past with the speed and ease of our implementation process, but every practice has its own unique circumstances. Please reach out to your Nextech representative, access the Community Portal, or contact Client Support at 866-654-4396 so that we can address your concerns further.

Replied 07/09/2023
Alissa
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 20/03/2023

Review

Pros

I like the functions it offers but learning how to use them has been a struggle.

Cons

Wish it was more user friendly. So things are hard to use and when we call customer service most of the time (depending who you get) they are not much help.

Sarah
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 23/01/2018

This system is good from the EMR perspective. From a PM perspective it is TERRIBLE. ...

Pros

The templates are easy to use and make changes to fit the practice. Outside of that I don't really see a lot of Pros.

Cons

Customer Service!!!! Not only are there many shortcomings to the PM portion their customer service reps rarely know how to fix problems or answer questions. Continuously get different answers to the same question. Hold times are VERY LONG and then you spend most of the call on hold while they look for a supervisor to assist. I literally dread calling NEXTECH.

Mindy
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/08/2023

Compliant System- no headaches

Pros

Nextech is MIPS compliant and easy to use. It takes the guesswork out and lets you focus on your patients.

Cons

Not everything is editable. Sometimes you have to use the template.

Amber
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/03/2019

Nextech software

Overall I think Nextech is great. I don't expect all tech companies to be perfect, but coming from Cerner at a hospital, Nextech is 100% better.

Pros

It's customizable which can help speed up the charting process tremendously.

Cons

Customer support has been hit or miss. I either get someone on the phone who either knows what I need or knows who to go to for my needs OR I get someone who has no idea how to help and cannot refer me to anyone either.

Brittany
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/08/2023

Nextech Review

Pros

User friendly, organized, easy to read/use

Cons

The support team is not reliably helpful. A lot of times they are not sure how to answer things.

Meredith
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 08/03/2018

Easiest medical practice management software to use!

Nextech is the easiest software to train someone to use!

Pros

Navigating between modules (financial, admin, emr) is simple. Payments are easy to batch and process. Billing follow function makes tracking claims/collections easy.

Cons

Reports could be easier to manipulate. Nextech partners with Trizetto clearinghouse so some functionality (ex: batching eligibility inquiries) is limited if you use a different clearinghouse.

Nikki
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/08/2023

Easy to Use

Pros

It is easy to use to schedule patient's appointments.

Cons

I do not have any direct issues that I do not like when using Nextech.

206 reviews