GitLab Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About GitLab

GitLab is a cloud-based project management platform that allows software developers to develop and manage codes collaboratively. The platform can be deployed either on-premise or in the cloud. GitLab helps developers manage the...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.2

Browse GitLab Reviews

1,096 of 1,096 reviews
Sort by:
Onur
Onur
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/08/2023

Gitlab Review

I really like using Gitlab CI. We are building and deploying our applications using Gitlab CI mostly every day. It's very stable and fast. So that m overall experience is very good with Gitlab CI.

Pros

The working style of most of the CI/CD tools are similar in the background. The ones that has better UI and fast responses are making a difference in the market. Gitlab CI, by far has the best UI. The button clicks, flows and placement of the features are very well-designed.

Cons

I cannot say least but I would be happier if Gitlab adds more UI features in CI/CD level.

Alternatives Considered

Circle and Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We were not satisfied with the CI/CD tool that we were using because of stability problems.

Switched From

Jenkins

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We just compared the UI/UX experience of all alternative producsts and Gitlab and decided to move forward with it. In technical terms, also Gitlab CI is very satisfying.
Andy
Andy
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/08/2022

The first step to using Git on your computer is from this tool

I think it's good that you can use it in basically the same way as GitHub, and that you can manage it by making use of your existing knowledge. Also, I think it's nice that GitLab has unique features that are easier to use, such as a feature that changes the display of the file icon for each file extension.

Pros

Using Git as a configuration management tool is already common sense (essential), but I think this software is the most used for remote (distributed) development. There are many cases where you install Git on each person's terminal and operate the commands, but if it is team development and you can't use an "external (public Internet) repository", it is better to set up and operate a Git repository with GitLab I think it will be the safest and standard way to use Git.

Cons

I guess there is no choice but to get used to it, but I would like to see more visual changes and expressions (messages) when conflicts occur that are easier to understand for beginners. After all, I'd like to see them develop an interface that makes it easier to understand the concept of Git configuration in the first place.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

With the end of MS-VSS support and the trend of the times, it was necessary to use Git for configuration management, and I was looking for a Git configuration management tool that could be used by groups (and remotely) instead of individuals, so we decided to implement GitLab.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

I think it is the first candidate for managing the configuration of development assets in internal development (because the use of Git itself is a global standard). There was a feature that changed the display of the file icon for each file extension, and it had the advantage that it was possible to reduce the file selection error. Also, unlike GitHub, it has not been acquired by Microsoft, so I think it is an advantage that it can be used with confidence in terms of security.
Emiliano
Emiliano
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 22/09/2020

It's good but, definitely not the best

It works fine, and it's a good alternative for the usual Bitbucket, Jira and Bamboo (or Jenkins) combo that's commonly found on the corporate world. I'd recommend to consider Github Teams or Github Enterprise.

Pros

- Unlike Github, it can be installed locally, it also makes it highly customizable
- It has CI/CD functionality integrated
- It has code search and indexing
- It's integrated with a docker registry and multiple code repositories

Cons

- It's highly monolithic, if some feature fails, most of the times everything fails
- It's not easy to clusterize the service
- It's not easy to update, nor to migrate to a new server
- It costs the same to use the self-hosted than the cloud-hosted version
- Gitlab CI/CD shared (both free and paid minutes) run on a GCE Kubernetes cluster without any fixed IP address so it's hard to access your servers unless you open ports publicly or create a VPN tunnel

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

It was more modern than Bitbucket, and Github lacked a self-hosted version

Top GitLab Alternatives

Matt
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/03/2024

My favourite source control management tool

Pros

I came to GitLab years ago from Subversion. The adoption was instant and I never looked back. I had to use other technology for different projects, such as Azure, which still packs a punch but cannot be compared to Gitlab in terms of simplicity, clarity and ease of use. Gitlab i still my go-to source control management tool.

Cons

Very little, everything was making sense to me and was easy to find.

NOMPILO
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/11/2023

GitLab Review

I enjoyed working with GitLab, although there were a few instances where I encountered challenges understanding certain aspects. With all of its features, it really makes teamwork easy, and I appreciate the security measures it provides. The use of merge requests ensures thorough code review before pushing changes to the main branch.

Pros

GitLab's collaboration features, such as merge requests and issue boards foster efficient teamwork.
GitLab places a strong emphasis on security and provides tools like role-based access control,
Workflows and issue boards can be customized using the platform.
The CI/CD pipelines at GitLab are strong. The ease of setting up and managing pipelines directly within the repository simplifies the development process.

Cons

Navigating the platform and understanding all its capabilities might require a learning curve for individuals new to the tool.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/07/2023

All in One SDLC

improved the quality of software delivery and develop DevOps in our company are resulled for adopting Gitlab

Pros

One of the best tools for improving SDLC and controlling IT project with fantastic CD

Cons

there is no mobile client or Windows client

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

covering the cycle end-to-end, and the integration ability with any DevOps tools
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/03/2024

From planning your project to publishing it on GitLab

I’ve been using GitLab for quite a few time, but it’s been really useful, all this time, the integration of AI has been helping me a lot, the authentication system adds a lot more of security.

Pros

The way you can easily work with your coworkers, how you can organize your projects, it has AI integration, supports hundreds of plugins and more.

Cons

It’s a little bit expensive but the free trial does the necessary function.

Meylis
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/03/2024

One of the best in its kind

Pros

Best for teams to use for storing and accessing repository packages

Cons

Can’t think of any least favorite things tbh.

Aakash
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/03/2024

Easy to use and reliable

Pros

The website interface is very easy to understand and navigate around. The service is reliable which is important for managing projects, especially for company content.

Cons

There is less of a community feel with GitLab compared to its main competitor, GitHub.

Balayo
Balayo
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 02/05/2024

The One Of the Repositories and Project Collaboration

Great software since it covers a scope of features.

Pros

1. It Offers a free Version which cover most of the project collaboration features, which is great for Startups like golden mist Software.

2. Allows Integrations with other third-party software like JIRA allowing a comprehensive overview of the development environment

Cons

1. The licensed version with much more improved features seem a bit expensive for the small startups.

2. Complicated to install for one without the expertise.

Luca
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 26/09/2019

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

Pros

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more.
I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

Cons

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Edward
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/07/2020

Git Awesome

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

Pros

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

Cons

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Alternatives Considered

Jira, Bitbucket and Confluence

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.
Morgan
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/02/2022

A great hosted Git SCM solution

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

Pros

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

Cons

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Pius
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/05/2022

Gitlab

Satisfactory! Started out on the free plan, and as the project grew and I needed more space and developers on it we upgraded and even got more access to more tools to better streamline our DevOps processes and overall project development.

Pros

Gitlab offers you a secure space to store and manage your git repositories, for personal use and or for your organization's development team. You can easily assign tasks to team members, and track and follow up on them with clearly laid out and categorized Kanban boards.

Cons

Gitlab's UI and UX are quite overwhelming for a first-time user. If you are new to Gitlab and you haven't used a similar platform like Github or Bitbucket before, you will definitely need a little training to fully utilize your Gitlab space. Make sure to get through the entire onboarding tutorial to avoid feeling lost because it's all going to seem very clunky and difficult to find your way at the beginning.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We did not entirely shift. We work with both Gitlab and Github for different projects within the organization.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We were already working with Github and found that Gitlab was a powerful solution we could add to our stack. We use GitLab for specific projects that are more timebound and we need to move fast on.
David
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/04/2023

Gitlab review

We really like GitLab, we were able to use it for fully automated development procedure which saves us large amount of time and help us to isolate the bugs before switching to production.

Pros

Gitlab gives us sufficient features to support source code management, user administration and Continuous integration for reasonable pricing

Cons

There is really nothing in my mind which I specifically do not like about the GitLab but If there would be room for improvement, We would appreciate more features for CI/CD integration testing.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We transit after the Github was acquired from Microsoft. We were not sure which path GitHub will takes after the acquisition. the transition to GitLab was super easy and safe solution.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

pricing and security features
Gregory
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 09/01/2024

A good product if you stay within its limits

I would not choose Gitlab over Github if I have a choice because the CI system on Github is better and so many people know how to use Github that it's just a better place for open source software I believe. If I am working on closed-source software and Gitlab has already been selected then I wouldn't object, it'll get the job done well.

Pros

I like Gitlab in most ways. It has great task management that integrates well with code changes. As a Git server, it does everything you need. It's relatively easy to administrate. If you stick with the well-supported features then Gitlab will serve you well.

Cons

The technology is showing its age and can be frustrating to use. Integrating custom runners can be shockingly painful. I have run into UI bugs that allow tasks to be run before their dependencies are met which has caused serious release problems. Designing pipelines without a system like Github actions is incredibly fiddly and error prone.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

The choice of my employer, made before I joined the team

Switched From

GitHub
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/02/2021

The All-in-One orchestration tool for CICD

Overall, I am very pleased with the GitLab experience since it provides a single stop window for developers and admins

Pros

GitLab provides all-in-one capability for developers to do Source Code Management, CI/CD automation, Security and coding standards checks. Earlier we used to have separate tools for each of the above functions, but moving to Gitlab we now have a single stop-shop for all our Application Development and Automation needs. I see many other companies are trying to follow the gitlab methodology but gitlab is way ahead of the competetion.

Cons

Project and Portfolio management can still have improvements to provide Roadmap and Grantt views in future versions

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Moving to a single stop window instead of disparate tools

Switched From

Jenkins and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

GitHub has just started GitHub actions and will take at least a year to provide similar capabilities
Nicolò
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 18/02/2020

Good set of features, integrated CI/CD

I've switched to it in some projects because of the better issue tracking features.
It also has a built in CI/CD service that is pretty good and can be used with external git services like github.
So far it's been good, I've heard there was a time where it was really slow but that was before I started using it. It may be not the fastest but i'm on the free plan so no need to complain. It can be self hosted too.

Pros

It's got a free plan to try it out.
Integrated CI/CD.
Good enough issue tracking with boards.
Can invite different people with different permission levels.
Can be self hosted.

Cons

Issue tracking may not be as good as jire and other similar project, but it's good enough for most use cases.
The licensing thing may look weird as it's open source but not everything is free even if you host it.
Can be pricey if you want some features.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/12/2018

Great Open Source Software!

The overall experience was good. It's highly recommended for companies who want host their code in their own infra and are ready to maintain the code hosting software itself

Pros

I use the GitLab Community Edition (CE) and the first thing I love about it is it's Open Source! I am a believer of Open source software! In my company, we host our own instance of GitLab CE and it's been smooth. We use it for source code hosting and for CI/CD. Source code hosting has been great. CI/CD is nice too. GitLab has all the features required by a code hosting software - groups, groups within groups, repos, role based access control for members. Members can also be grouped with names - helpful to create a group for a team and add members to the group and give access to the team/group. It has forking, SSH/HTTPS git repo access, Notification/Watch repo features. It also has lots of integrations. We use slack a lot and we have integrations with slack which GitLab provides, and we have configured it to get notified for different things, starting from commit pushes to pipeline failures. We also use the GitLab pages for hosting the Wiki site for repos. It's pretty neat! The GitLab CI/CD has the concept of runners which run the CI/CD tasks/jobs. Runners have tags, and you can easily use the appropriate tag in the config to run the task in the appropriate runner. We use different runners for different things like, pushing to a Docker registry (requires special permissions), accessing a prod DB/application, running normal tasks (scripts) etc. All in all, it's quite good

Cons

Although GitLab has lots of features. I do have some complaints about it. I hope that newer versions will make my complaints obsolete! Starting with the CI/CD, it's quite good. But it lacks some features and flexibility which we expect in the upcoming versions. Features like one CI/CD pipeline triggering another pipeline (not present in CE, not sure about Enterprise Edition) and things like grouping jobs in a stage. Also, the CI/CD UI is not very good. It has glitches, there's no auto refresh in all the UIs to show the status of a job - if it's successful or if it failed. The job UI also isn't very great, like, if the job names or stage names are big, it becomes tough to read. Also, when the job log is very big, it reloads the page when the job finishes and truncates the output of the job and makes it available for download instead. This can be good or bad, based on the use case. For us, it was mostly not a soothing experience.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/12/2019

Great platform to host your project!

Overall, GitLab is a good for development. Most commonly used features such as MR and code review work very well on GitLab. The best feature on GitLab is CI/CD, it has everything you need to build an automated pipeline, from build agents to container registry.
However, the exploration feature is not as robust as other services and there is still a lot of rooms for improvement.

Pros

GitLab CI is great. The GitLab CI/CD language allows us to build complex pipelines easily, pipeline's configs are stored in the repository as well, so we can manage everything in one place. GitLab also has built-in Docker registry. We have both our build pipeline and our images hosted on GitLab.
The pricing is also flexible, I recommend it for both startup and large enterprises.

Cons

Explore Projects feature can be better, it would be more useful if we have a filter to select projects by technologies.
Should support templates on the job level, so it can be reused between multiple environments.
Lack of integration: there are not many 3rd party services that integrate with GitLab for now.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Better CI/CD

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Better CI/CD
Prince
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/10/2022

GitLab - The Forefront of Source Control which Helps You Move Forward

Overall, GitLab has been a really solid addition to our workspace. It allows us to collaborate much easier and gives us the opportunity to add tests and validations in our pipelines so that whenever code is deployed, it can be checked for quality assurance and take the appropriate actions based on the results. The amount of features GitLab is packed with, it may be a while before I am able to learn it all but also be able to make use of it all. I will say this however is that whenever I do learn something new, it is often a welcomed change and either myself or my team is ecstatic and excited to not only implement the newly discovered feature, but also to reap the benefits of the sweet update or enhancement! Great job GitLab, cheers!

Pros

GitLab does its best to help you with what you may need in order to promote quality code deployments with tools and resources to become a more collaborative team. With source control and hosting repositories as its primary objective, GitLab extends to its users an extensive suite of tools and controls to ensure only quality code is committed and only by those that is desired. With features like code reviews, pipeline validations, and allowing for integration of automated tests, its hard to imagine low quality or bug infested code to get through to your production or master code branches.

Cons

Honestly, its not easy to pick out cons of such a great tool in your arsenal. Given that so much goes so well once you've integrated everything properly, the only things that come to mind are more of a annoyance rather than an issue and coincidentally, they're all based on the UI or aspects that don't interfere with the workflow or the work itself. One of which is that GitLab does not offer a dark mode of its UI. Given we are developers and spend most of our time looking at computer screen, It would be lovely to be able to darken the UI so that its not so straining to our eyes. Secondly, we have split up our GitLab in to various teams where each of the teams have access to their own folders/repository. Unfortunately, whenever someone from ANY of these sub-repos is given access, opens a new merge request, or is making comments on a merge request, everyone gets an email about it. It can be very frustrating and I'm not really sure if this setting can be changed from a User level but I would really love it if they can.

Thiago
Thiago
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/12/2020

Great for DevOps teams

Pros

GitLab has all the must-have features for complete development and deployment flow.
The easy-to-configure pipeline is a differential, mainly due to the possibility of installing the agent (GitLab runner) in our infrastructure.
Issue management and merge requests are excellent and do not fall short of your direct competitors.
I use the GitLab in the cloud (SaaS) and on-premises, and it supplies my DevOps needs and team collaboration on the code review process.

Cons

On bitbucket, it is possible to see in realtime when a coworker is reviewing the merge request (pull request). It would be great to see this feature on GitLab too. The Runner registration is a bit harder when using an automation like Ansible.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Azure DevOps Services

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

The gitlab pipeline feature.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/05/2021

Gitlab: Great repository mangement tool

The overall experience of using Gitlab is amazing. I really like the UI and UX of gitlab.

Pros

I really love the issue board (Kanban board) feature which is very user friendly and easy to track the progress.
I also like the CICD feature.
I find the UI and UX of Gitlab is simple and easy.

Cons

I almost like everything of gitlab.
But I feel that a gitlab is little expensive to run CI/CD pipelines.
We may have some issues while running the multiple parallel nodes for CI/CD integrating with the kubernates cluster.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Switched From

GitHub and Bitbucket
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 25/04/2023

Conveniently, my favorite repository.

Using GitLab has given my team access to a diverse array of collaboration tools that span issue tracking, code reviews, test building, time tracking, and more. By leveraging these tools, we've been able to improve communication throughout our projects. One of the greatest benefits of GitLab, however, is the broad, real-time visibility it provides for our projects. With this visibility, we can easily identify bottlenecks and make data-driven decisions that help us stay on track and meet our project goals.

Pros

One of the things I admire most about GitLab is its open-source nature, which means that a vast community of users is constantly working to expand the platform's capabilities and use cases. I am particularly impressed with GitLab's robust branching and merging capabilities, which enhance its version control protocol and make it easy to manage even the most complex codebases by providing access to all versions of our codebase.

Cons

When working with large codebases on GitLab with multiple collaborators, it's not uncommon to experience slower load times and sluggish navigation. Additionally, while GitLab offers a range of integrations with third-party tools and services, there is certainly room for improvement in this area.

Caleb
Caleb
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 09/02/2018

Fantastic git project management tool with good integrations

Pros

Full suite of tools including but not limited to repository and issue tracking, milestones & issue boards, group and user management including project and even branch level permissions, continuous integration, scheduled jobs, project wiki, etc. All the features work together and using it to manage projects tends to pulls the details together rather than fragmenting them across different spaces.

The general workflow is similar enough to Github that most developers find it familiar. In fact there is probably feature parity or beyond, so other than needing another account there has never been much resistance to adoption among our developer team. At the same time the interface well designed enough for non developers to figure it out and stay involved as well.

Cons

The setup and update process is somewhat cumbersome on bare metal (probably easier using dedicated virtual machines and/or their omnibus package). There are a lot of dependencies and assumptions about the environment that make it much the most dreaded package to upgrade on my production servers.

It does kind of make assumptions about workflow that don't hold true for all projects. While it is flexible enough to adapt even when using only a subset of features on a project, it can leave people a little confused and overwhelmed because all the other unused bits are still around in the interface.

1,096 reviews