Hubdoc Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Hubdoc

Hubdoc handles the complex process of manual data entry by business owners using spreadsheets. Simply snap paper invoices, bills or receipts using smartphone or tablet camera and the apps for iOS or Android scans those documents...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.1
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
3.8

Browse Hubdoc Reviews

86 of 86 reviews
Sort by:
Kavindu Githsara
Kavindu Githsara
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/02/2023

Say Goodbye to Manual Data Entry with Hubdoc

Overall, Hubdoc is an excellent solution for businesses looking to streamline their financial document management processes. Its time-saving and error-reducing features make it a valuable asset to any finance team. However, it is important to keep in mind the limited storage capacity and customization options when considering this software.

Pros

As a user of Hubdoc software in a company, I can say that it has been a game changer for our document management processes. Hubdoc is a cloud-based application that automatically fetches financial documents such as bills, invoices, and receipts from various sources and converts them into digital files that can be easily accessed, managed and shared. One of the biggest pros of using Hubdoc is the significant amount of time it has saved us. Prior to using this software, we had to manually collect, organize and upload all of our financial documents, which was a very tedious and time-consuming process. With Hubdoc, all of our documents are automatically fetched and organized in one centralized location, which saves us a lot of time and makes it easier to stay on top of our finances. The accuracy of the data extraction is also noteworthy. Hubdoc uses advanced optical character recognition (OCR) technology to extract the necessary data from documents, which has greatly reduced the need for manual data entry and the potential for errors.

Cons

There are also some cons to using Hubdoc. One of the biggest drawbacks is the limited document storage capacity. The software only allows for a certain amount of document storage before additional fees are required. This can be problematic for companies with high document volumes.Another con is the limited customization options. While Hubdoc's interface is user-friendly and easy to navigate, there are limited options for customizing document management workflows, which may not meet the needs of all companies.

Brett
Brett
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/12/2017

Hubdoc is part of my software suite

Pros

Hubdoc is a great all-in-one expense tracking/ document collecting software solution. I set up all of my clients with this software and show them how to use it on their phones and through email. Two great features for the accountant or bookkeeper.
1) Receipt capture. No longer will you need to contact your clients to request what a particular charge is because they can simply scan the receipt at the time of purchase, or forward the digital receipt to their specific email address. The software pulls the necessary information from the receipt and pre-populates an entry to the accounting software you have synced to their Hubdoc account.
2) Connection to banks and credit card companies is super by the automatic download of statements. No longer do you have to go to each of the client's bank's websites and manually download the statements for reconciliation. Hubdoc will grab them for you.

Cons

Hubdoc will categorize an expense to push the charge as a bill/invoice or directly to a bank account into the accounting software. One negative feature is the inability to tag the bank accounts with the last four digits of the credit/debit card that was used so the Hubdoc can push directly to that bank account. At this time of publication, we have to manually add the bank account to push the expense to - also assuming you have the last four digits of the cards memorized. Which I do not.

Michael
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 09/02/2021

HubDoc - Streamline Data Entry into Xero

Overall this is a good entry level solution for automating the entry of your paperwork. As Xero include it with their standard subscriptions it is very cost effective

Pros

The software integrates with Xero cloud accounting making it easy to get your invoices and receipts entered into your accounting records.

Cons

The setup is a little clunky when adding more users but once you have got your head around how to carry out the task it is fairly straight forward.

Alternatives Considered

Dext Prepare and AutoEntry

Reasons for Switching to Hubdoc

Cost

Top Hubdoc Alternatives

Andrew
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 10/04/2023

Easy to use software , goes really well with Xero

Pros

Simple to use and included with Xero subscriptions

Cons

Lack some features that other competitors have

Alternatives Considered

Dext Prepare and AutoEntry

Reasons for Switching to Hubdoc

Included with Xero
denise
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 10/12/2019

Recently purchased by Xero

Mostly positive. It is pricey but now included in the monthly cost of Xero

Pros

Fetching of popular bank statements and accounts is great - saves much time. The auto organization is also good if a bit confusing for new users

Cons

Xero just purchased this company which makes me leery of using it as a QBO user. I am considering moving to Xero now...

Alternatives Considered

Dext Prepare

Reasons for Switching to Hubdoc

Fetching capability
Alexandra
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/03/2018

I use HubDoc nearly daily to process invoices for my business.

Time Saving , Reduces Errors, Allows me to work remotely.

Pros

I love that I can access HubDoc wherever there is an internet connection and go through my invoices. The coding makes it so much easier and faster to get through a tedious task. I have integrated HubDoc with Xero and having both tools synced together means that I can handle 90% of the bookkeeping for my business remotely. I also really like that invoices are stored so that I can access then later and not worry about paper copies taking up space. The text recognition is pretty accurate and HubDoc learns as it goes - saving time and minimizing errors.

Cons

Sometimes HubDoc doesn't read certain fonts properly and contacts are recreated multiple times. There doesn't seem to be a way to delete duplicate contacts which clogs up the list. Occasionally, document uploads fail which can be a pain, but this seems to be fairly infrequent.

Sachin
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 04/10/2022

Foreign Currency transactions

Pros

How easy it is for the client and the bookkeeper to Work on the bookkeeping.

Cons

How I am not able to process USD and other foreign currency invoices to Quickbooks anymore.

Alternatives Considered

Plooto
MARIA
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 09/02/2024

Since Xero started two factor authentication hubdoc is unworkable

The love affair is over for me. To get into the app, I have to login (re-enter email and password) and switch screens to the authenticator app, to authenticate every time I open the app. Then it acts slow & buggy. e.g. I have gone into the app today and it's taken the time of writing this review for the app to become responsive enough for me to photograph the first invoice.

Pros

Initially hubdoc was like a miracle. I could easily snap pics on invoices and the integration with Xero was seamless.

Cons

Unfortunately now, to get into the app, I have to login and switch screens to the authenticator app, to authenticate every time I open the app. Then it acts slow & buggy. e.g. I have gone into the app today and it's taken the time of writing this review for the app to become responsive enough for me to photograph the first invoice.

Susan
Susan
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 18/09/2019

Save administrative time chasing documents

We've experienced some client hesitancy to use Hubdoc. I did not expect this - even the client who continues to mail in his bank statements and payroll records refuses to use this product. The customer service is not easy to reach. I have to contact them to send reminders to those who haven't accepted the invite.

Pros

We have saved HOURS each month bugging clients about providing statements and logging into various banks to get all of our clients bank and credit card statements. Hubdoc fetches the statements and they are available when we need them.

Cons

They seem to have a problem with Bank of America's security forcing our clients to log in each month and verify their identity. We thought we had a solution to save clients time, and now we have to ask them to log in every month.

Jodi
  • Industry: Commercial Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2023

Makes bookkeeping more efficient

Pros

I love that Hubdoc makes bookkeeping more efficient. A great time saver that accurately imports data into our accounting system.

Cons

It took a little while to get the hang of using it regularly, but I think that is just the learning curve of implementing a new system.

Courtney
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 05/12/2018

HubDoc helps with automation

Nice and informative support staff.

Pros

The auto-fetch of statements, invoices, receipts, etc. assists greatly collecting proper documentation. Love that it's easily accessible from any mobile device with a connection. Has the capability to be fed into accounting software which streamlines processes.

Cons

Maintenance of the feeds. It seems that the feeds are constantly going down and the majority of the battle (rather than collecting documentation manually) is ensure the feeds with whichever institution is functioning properly.

Doug
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2017

Hubdoc has changed the way we store paperwork!

Hubdoc is fully integrated so you can also share info with your accountant which makes expense & report management a breeze.

Pros

It works seamlessly with email and with multiple vendors. It has been very easy to add new vendors we work with as well as setup ways for us to automate a lot of invoices we receive. Now I can easily go in and quickly find documents that I used to worry about where they were located or how I would find them. I have had no issues thus far and the support team has been very helpful in adding new vendors I work with.

Alison
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2017

Great experience with document sharing and downloading

Pros

I use Hubdoc to setup new clients so we can view their bank statements and check images in one place. I like that we can pull statements and docs easily from Hubdoc if needed.

Cons

I wish all the banks and software were setup to use Hubdoc. When I put out a software or bank sync request, I don't usually hear back from anyone on the Hubdoc team. When I have an issue using Hubdoc, I don't ever hear back from the customer service team.

Michelle
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Hubdoc is an amazing resource!

I am very pleased - I love Hubdoc! My clients upload their receipts using the app and I categorize them and push them to QBO. It's a great work flow!

Pros

Hubdoc is very easy to use and allows categorization of documents in a well-organized manner. The ability to code receipts then publish them to QuickBooks only is especially helpful and saves a lot of time.

Cons

Frequent interruptions of links with banks. I don't know if this is a bank problem or a Hubdoc problem.

Kim
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2022

Free add on to Xero

Incredibly easy to use, all invoices are stored and exported easily as draft in Xero. Search function is great and it flags duplicates.

Pros

This product is available for free with Xero, this is great for assisting your company to go paperless

Cons

Some gl codes from Xero will not work when entering in Hubdoc, so save as draft then update in Xero which can be frustrating.

Katie
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/11/2019

Free From Mountains of Paper

Pros

I don’t have to deal with mountains of paper! Easy to use!

Cons

Sometimes the pictures of receipts can’t be found and I have to re upload them.

Mandy
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 30/06/2019

Saves paper

So far I love being able t help the environment by not printing all the time

Pros

That we can upload payment summaries without having to print stuff off

Cons

Kind of hard to find files uploaded.
Not organized well

Khurram
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 31/08/2021

Hubdoc's review

Pros

It can be integrated with Xero as well as Quickbooks online which makes it the number one OCR solution for accountants and bookkeepers. It also offers a free partner account for accountants.

Cons

Sometimes it fails to recognize the receipts and shows an error message even though the receipt is from an existing supplier.

Samantha
Samantha
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/02/2019

Hubdoc for organization on the go

When having multiple users or cardholders linked to one account, this is a very helpful software to organize all of those potential receipts and transactions into one platform and folders.

Pros

The receipt capture capabilities and the quick link between the mobile app and online platform is flawless. The feature is quick and you can capture, rename, and file within seconds. Data entry becomes a breeze.

Cons

More smart technology to read receipt information in the future would be great.

Brian
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/03/2018

Must have software for small businesses

If you're a small business or accounting firm, use this software to save time from downloading invoices and statements to finishing your bookkeeping.

Pros

Auto-fetches online statements and invoices, thus saving time
Syncs invoices directly with QuickBooks Online and Xero, thus saving time
Allows for tagging feature to easily find information in the future

Cons

Can't tag receipts/invoices/statements uploaded through email

Zsolt
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 12/11/2022

Never ever. Rather manually

Terrible. Will never use again. Rather pay for manual entry.

Pros

Upload was easy. Would be great if i could upload directly from google drive or dropbox.

Cons

It does not understand currency, so my travel expenses were a pain. A 100 000 IDR coffee (equivalent to 4 pounds) showed up as 100 000 GBP. And i couldn't even say "these invoices are IDR, these are GBP."

Ellen
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/08/2018

Makes our lives so much easier!

Pros

Our bookkeeper introduced us to HubDoc to track expenditures and expenses. It's been an easy to use tool that streamlines our accounting and bookkeeping efforts. It's great that our entire team can be set up as vendors, so that we can be easily reimbursed.

Cons

We have no complaints about the software so far.

Sara
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/04/2018

Hubdoc is an easy to use system with a very intuitive interface.

Pros

We use Hubdoc to manage and share bookkeeping information with our accountant. It's easy to manage our accounts with this system and pull up any information when needed.

Cons

My only issue besides a few minor glitches here and there is that some banks do not support Hubdoc.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/11/2022

Hubdoc Review

Pros

The ease of use, I came into Abbeygate Accoutancy with no experience and learnt Hubdoc very well in a very short time.

Cons

The speed and efficiency of the software.

Tracy
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/01/2020

I had no idea how much I needed this!

Before Hubdoc I was having to manually create bills and upload & attach receipts in Xero. It wasn't bad, but Hubdoc saves several steps in the process. The OCR works great, too, and it recognizes my repeating monthly invoices and files them under the correct vendor. Truly a great timesaver.

Pros

Being able to synchronize with Xero is awesome. I love being able to upload my business bills & receipts and have them publish to Xero tied in to the right vendors and accounts.

Cons

I have yet to discover anything I don't like about using Hubdoc. It's fast, simple, and secure. No complaints.

86 reviews