Kayako Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Kayako

Kayako is a cloud-based customer support platform that integrates various support channels such as email, live chat and phone calls. This integration helps users manage multi-channel customer support and assists with internal and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
3.8

Browse Kayako Reviews

169 of 169 reviews
Sort by:
Mark
Mark
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Powerful System, Steep Learning Curve

Kayako is where we manage all of our client tickets. It is great for my daily work routine and allows me to stay on top of many tasks at the same time. I have been working with it for 1.5 years and it works great for me now, but the first few months took a long time to get used to. Things are not where you would think they would be. The system is VERY customizable, however, and if you have a person that can put in the work to set the system up, it can be bent to fit your specific company needs.

Pros

Kayako automates a lot of the communication and tracking processes for us. Since my company has put the time into setting up Kayako to meet our companies needs, I am able to focus mostly on client communication and not administrative tasks.

Cons

The system is very particular about what you can and can't do. Things that seem like they would be obviously included do not exist (seeing all open tickets from an organization, for example), and must be either set up manually or gotten to in a roundabout way. Kayako also requires a steep learning curve and is not an intuitive system.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 22/08/2018

Good choice although there are some problems.

There are so many helpdesk systems, Kayako has been our selected one, but we are still looking for better choice.

Pros

1- Beautiful user interface.
2- It Supports all activities in a helpdesk process.
3-14 days free trial
4-Good localization, so you can add your own translations to (just) on-premise version

Cons

1- When you are Kayako admin and at the same time one of the staffs (Agent), you have to switch so many times between Admin / Staff panel to do your tasks. sometimes it makes me confused because knowing which setting is in admin panel and which one is in staff(Agent) panel sometimes is difficult.
2-I can say that Kayako is designed for too many clients for a limited number of services. If you have too many services each of them assigned to a client, Using Kayako would be difficult (But Possible). for example, you have to set permissions for widgets separately.
3-Kayako is not suitable for small teams. it requires a lot of time and effort for setting up.
4-Kayako integration and API's are limited. We couldn't integrate Kayako with our Self-Built project management and timesheet system.
5- Localization in cloud version doesn't work very well. We couldn't use Arabic in cloud version

Mark
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 19/06/2018

The overall experience was ok. It gets the job done. But through the years we ran into some...

Pros

It brings most, if not all functionality we need. The company still provides an on-premise version of the product. Support has reasonable reaction times, also they most only provide workarounds instead of solid fixes and solutions.

Cons

Kayako feels out-dated all along. After two years of the 7.0 php release it still is not even fully compatible with any php 7.x release and up to today relies on the out-dated php 5.x versions. There are many other issues like the HTML-Mailparsing which have not been fixed completely in years now. Also we know Outlook 20xx do not create great HTML-mails still a lot of customers are using it and it is one the most spread applications in companies. But still the emails are not parsed correctly through Kayako. This should definitely have more priority. The forum is full of long threads and requests about this topic. Many people were upset, because resources were spent on creating a new webinterface instead of fixing basic functionality. Maybe customers should be involved in creating the roadmap for the product or at least help prioritizing issues.

Top Kayako Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/02/2023

Kayako - Feedback

Pros

Easy to identify what we need to use to support customer

Cons

Kayako most of the time is laggy and affects overall performance of our agents

Brandon
Brandon
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/06/2018

We have used kayako for years now. It's very valuable to our day-to-day operations.

Very easy to use. Helps us track hundreds of email tickets daily.

Pros

It's been easy to use, and makes it easy to stay on top of many different customer issues. Whenever we have had a question Kayako support is able to fix the issue quickly in real time.

Cons

I really don't have a negative comment to say about the software. It's invaluable to our operation. Kayako customer support is alway able to assist quickly in real time.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 18/06/2018

Long Time Customer - Very Dissappointing Final Experiences

Pros

The software was ahead of its time when my company started using it in 2011. Easy to organize. Nice ticket merging. Accountability with being able to assign tickets to staff with notifications, etc. When the new version of Kayako came out there was a lot of confusion on merging, upgrading, and it never ended up happening for my business.

Cons

The utter lack of respect I was given as a long time customer was frustrating. I asked to get out of contract in the middle of a year long term for a partial refund. It took over 2 months to get a final 'no' answer. When the contract was up, it auto-renewed, even though I'd made it perfectly clear I had another system in place and no longer needed Kayako. I asked for a refund immediately and was told it wasn't possible. I had to do a chargeback on my card to get the refund, and THEN Kayako agreed to the refund. Why leave such a bad taste in my mouth as a long-time customer? It just makes no sense and pretty much guarantees I will NEVER be back.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 05/03/2019

Please be aware this is a review for an year-old version of Kayako

I used Kayako A LOT on a previous position for all our customers and clients communications and to manage ticket assignment to my team (later, we switched to Intercom).
While it served its purpose at the time, for a team of about thirteen support engineers, we never feel comfortable with it. It was plagued of usability issues and it wasn't strange to hear a comply - and even some cursing - upon its lack of functionality and flexibility. In the end, we eventually moved to Intercom since it also let us integrate the helpdesk with our (at that time) brand-new mobile apps.

Pros

- Fast to load
- Just enough features to handle customer support request via a ticketing system

Cons

- Cumbersome and ugly UI makes difficult to find what you're looking for if you don't know where to look
- Lack of flexibility to manage tickets and assign them to the team
- Some features missing

Rodrigo
Rodrigo
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/06/2018

Support system missing a CRM

We had Zendesk before but Kayako is a really serious support ticket system
I wish the price were better

Pros

Easy to use, depending on your license is very customizable.
Once the ticket is created adding notes, screenshots and files is really simple and fast

Cons

API or link to CRM directly is really needed
External add on works but with serious limitations.
Old kayako had a voip system to do phone calls

Daniel
Daniel
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/11/2017

We've used Kayako for years and it's been great!

Great product. Great Support.

Pros

Simple, Easy to Use, Customisable and Good Support. We've used this software for over 6 years now and it's never let us down.

Cons

Some areas could use updating but they're not broken, just need some improvement :) Also the recent pricing increase was expected but of course paying more for something is always a dislike :)

Stephanie
Stephanie
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 19/06/2018

It's a mediocre software that isn't very user friendly.

Pros

It has an app. It's kind of customizable.

Cons

The migration to the new version was horrible. There was little communication and I had to keep following up. I don't think they realizing that by migrating us, I had to give my customers a heads up on the migration as well. I'm still using the old version and being less usable every single day.

Olav
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/06/2018

it works but required a lot of enhancements to make it work proper for us

Getting us closer to our customers and helping them solving their problems. Kayako delivered that base functionality and more at the time we switched from one of the Atlassian products (2012). Since than we have enhanced to improve out internal workflows. However, there is a lot we would like to see in the near future to shorten ticket work time and able to switch to customer self managment / help for the simple stuff. The more we can get out of the core / base functionality the better it is for us which requires real commitment.

Btw. Industry selection is missing Enterprise software or similar.

Pros

As we use Kayako for a long time (since 2012?) you get used to it which makes it difficult answer. Thinking about it stability comes into mind. Beside usual software bugs our system is very stable and reliable and doesn't need much maintenance. We like the new UI that came with classic 4.90 as it gives a modern look. From the feature perspective ticket management works very well for us in general but there isn't a particular feature to high light.

Cons

In first place we are missing the commitment for Kayako classic. Nothing has happened since two years (going to cloud announcement). However, this might change now. There are a lot of things that can be improved like Knowledge Base, File management, workflow, troubleshooting, etc. Back porting some of the new cloud features would be also much appreciated team collaboration, one workflow, etc. Lastly a much better and faster context aware search would help us a lot.
All of this has recently discussed with our new Kayako contacts.

Hannah
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/10/2019

Kayako From a Customer Service Perspective

Pros

It it nice to be able to pull up multiple conversations/tickets within one window, as it made it easy to switch between current ongoing projects and also complete research with little confusion. Also, Kayako shows in real-time who is looking at a ticket, thus it made it easy for Customer Service as we could see if someone was already working on that ticket. One of the nice things about Kayako was the ability to see when the recipients of an email opened it or looked at it. If there were several recipients, it would break down who opened the email, when. Thus, from a documentation standpoint, if someone was claiming to have never received an email, we were able to show that they had in fact opened the email.

Cons

There were few reporting tools and there was no way to set follow-up tasks. We relied on setting reminders on another system like our Google calendar. Also, Kayako was getting quite expensive, which was one of the big factors in our company switching to a different ticketing system.

Zane
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 15/10/2017

Excessive Charges For Existing Customers

I recommend buying an alternate solution instead of Kayako until such time as they look after their customers, stop hiking the prices up and respond to support requests.

Pros

The download version is excellent software and has many great features for supporting customers via email, telephone and live chat.

Cons

Kayako charge existing customers that have perpetual licenses extremely high charges for support. Kayako introduced new excessive support and upgrade charges well beyond the original agreement that perpetual licences holders had originally agreed and signed up for. Failure to pay the additional charges means that software updates are not available. Kayako has many bugs which are resolved with the upgrades.

Wayiel
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 23/06/2018

We have been using kayako for 8+ years and it was a great experience for customer support...

Pros

Kayako has a modern fast interface that will guide you what queries you want to know , and the fast response from the server , also its mobile application .
Easy update the tickets , replay , attach files . Users and department managing is

Cons

I was fetching a query to make csv or excel report exported for the tickets opened during last year for example , I made copy and past for all pages ! . I wonder if there is a way to export the list of critical tickets for example other than the way I used .
Also , Manual Backup was removed from the tools .
The monthly fees is high related to the dollar increasing .

Barbara
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 27/06/2022

Kayako - It filled a need, but was replaced

Kayako served it's purpose for several years and did a good job overall.

Pros

Kayako handles general ticketing and routing reasonably well. It also provides a good self-service portal for end-users.

Cons

The complexities of building usable reports made the reporting part of the system unusable. Although the system was overall a decent system, we found that the costs and lack of support from the company were the biggest reasons we stopped working with Kayako.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 29/06/2018

Recent price changes made it too expensive for us

We have our helpdesk using this every day. We get very few user complaints about the ticket system itself.

Pros

Admin tools for automatically dealing with tickets are great. Actually handling tickets is very easy, as is adding internal notes.

Cons

Agent ability to search tickets is lacking. We had to make some changes to let our supervisors see every ticket message even if it is deleted by an agent.
We could never get the knowledgebase to work the way we wanted.
Sometimes it is not clear who is getting copied on any specific ticket reply.

Joshua
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 19/06/2018

The product is fine but the customer support is horrible which is ironic.

We can handle our customer support issues.

Pros

Features are OK - but they need to be more up to date. Due to poor customer support and communication, we are not aware of new features/functions.

Cons

The customer support is horrible. You cannot contact them directly. Your only option is to leave a message yet if you want to buy the product you can speak to a representative immediately. This is a customer support platform and it is very ironic they have horrible customer support access.

Amit
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 02/08/2018

Good software for Support Desk purpose

Overall experience is good. We got their support every team of their teams. On cost side they need to think through from customer perspective.

Pros

Overall this software gives satisfaction in customer support and ticket handling. It is increasing new features day by day with new UI elements also. Its whitelabelling feature is also very good. Email parsing is also customisable which is also good one. The Knowledgebase and Troubleshooter feature also works well. Support agent can be equipped with Chat facility. Kayako have good support team which is available 24*7 which makes easy for us to implement and use this software

Cons

- This software legs on HTML email parsing side which can be improved.
- On pricing part, they are charging on higher side and they needs to be competitive.

Graham
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
4

1
Reviewed on 21/06/2018

Features and functionality missing or not working

Pros

When I have time to contact their support they have been very helpful unfortunately I do not have time to perform their software testing.

Cons

Unable to attach documents to a ticket.
Search facility doesn't work as expected.
Need knowledge of sql to run a report.
If you forget to type the 'to' email address and hit send you are not notified and lose the text that you typed.

Roy
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 21/08/2018

After comparing helpdesk solutions, Kayko was the one for us

Pros

The number of features you receive "out of the box" compared to similar solutions cannot be beaten. During our discovery phase, Kayako offered more features for the price point. Being able to create a custom portal for customers/end users and have the ability to interact via live chat is a plus.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve when it comes to creating custom reports. They use a proprietary language called KQL to create reports. It's similar to SQL so atleast for those familiar with SQL reporting

Christina
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 15/06/2018

easy to use, convenient and practical. How ever they could really work on their customer...

Pros

It makes it easy for clients to come in contact with us. It is also great that they can leave an offline chat and we can get back to them after the weekend or when we are back in office the following day.

Cons

no cons about the software but its not cool to wait a week for a email from customer support that is less than helpful.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 06/10/2017

Kayako is either very helpful or very unhelpful

I was able to perform my job.

Pros

The interface has not changed in a very long time. For a quick open/close ticketing system it works great. It is very easy for a person to just start using it with about a 15 minute explanation.

Cons

The software hasn't changed in a long time. It looks very dated. The functionality is very much lacking. There are bugs that are unresolved. Things can get very lost very easily. There are some easy features that can be added that would enhance the software a lot.

Shaila
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/06/2018

Amazing

Pros

The tracking ability is fantastic. You will always be able to refer to a ticket and who the last agent was who handles it.

Cons

Reporting is a little complicated. Especially when you have to create your own report. I also feel that there should be some more training on how to use the special features when you sign up.

Timo
Timo
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 25/06/2018

Not very confident with the product development. Features not perfect, same bugs might...

Pros

UI: It's clear to use, lot of space for the ticket conversation. Ability to publish KB articles through web portal. Rather stable.

Cons

SLA's not always working correctly. Complex administation in some things (templates, template groups etc) resulting in long learning curve for administration.

Stephen
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/06/2018

excellent product and support. have been using for years and highly recommend

Pros

I like that we are able to integrate it into our workflow using the APIs. It is easy to use and helps us manage lots of support email and phone calls.

Cons

It has got more costly over the years, with a per-user-per-month license fee and support requires a separate support fee

169 reviews