User Reviews Overview

About ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

ServiceDesk Plus is a help desk management platform. It includes core help desk and IT management applications, as well as project management, contract management and features for ITIL (information technology infrastructure...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

Browse ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

159 of 159 reviews
Sort by:
Raj C.
  • Industry: Public Safety
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/03/2020

One stop shop for ITIL based efficient Servicedesk

Excellent support tech makes all the difference. Having a dedicated support tech that knows your environment and can assist at all times is a big plus. The team listens to your requirements and release it as features in future releases of the product.

Pros

Setting up the product is very easy. The ability to try modules as we go was an add-on. Endless customization can be done on the software. Having a product that is based on an industry standard ensures that process is followed at all stages.

Cons

Form builder can be improved. Adobe forms is an example of how form builder in servicedesk can be based on.

Tinashe M.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/07/2020

The future of service Desk

Great solution to seamlessly manage tickets with reporting that is comprehensive.

Pros

The software is user friend and simplifies the help desk processes. It adheres to the best practice ITSM workflows. It has powerful integration capabilities with majority of data source drivers of many platforms. The reporting is suburb, graphical displays and extensive reporting capabilities. Can be deployed on cloud or on premises

Cons

Hosting on premises a bit more complicated to manage than on cloud otherwise great application to start managing help desk workflows

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Great Integration capabilities
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 15/05/2021

Impressive Value

Overall this is a product I would highly recommend for companies that are starting on their journey into ITSM

Pros

The best part about this product is they offer an on-premise solution and a cloud solution with the price point being the same regardless of which option you choose. The support from startup to daily maintenance is extremely proficient. If you're looking for a solid entry level product for an IT service desk ticketing system this is a great product to get started with and help you grow until you reach the next level.

Cons

While there are many features of this product at a very low price point some features look as if they're not as refined as more expensive products.

Top ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Alternatives

Alloy Navigator

VIZOR IT Asset Management

Edgar S.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 05/03/2019

Awesome Ticketing System

Overall this software is a great ticketing system, i would recommend this to my colleagues.

Pros

ManageEngine makes quality products with a bunch of features, you acn configure a wholee bunch of stuff including reply templates, service request categories, SLA's, Asset Management, Change Management, etc. I am actually very surprised with how much you can do with this piece of software. They offer software updates pretty frequently so you're always up to date.

Cons

The software is really robust and offers a lot, i don't have anything to complain about.

Rick S.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 23/01/2019

ServiceDesk Plus

I've read a lot of reviews where customers complain about ManageEngine's customer service and it really isn't as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Yes, sometimes we need to wait for a solution but we aren't the only customer they have either. They usually get back to us sooner than later and the technicians are friendly and helpful.

Pros

Service desk plus is an IT ticketing program. It's fairly intuitive and somewhat easy to use out of the box. It does what it's supposed to do.

Cons

If you have Analytics Plus which provides a lot of information on your ticketing system, it can be difficult to get both Analytics and ServiceDesk to communicate with each other. We requested assistance and it took a while for ManageEngine to get back to us.

Tawanda C.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/07/2018

It has made producing reports easy

Pros

It is ITIL based and makes me manage projects, changes and incidents under one console .users are able to log tickets using email and portal which gives them options .

Cons

The System is not integrated with social media handles like twitter, Whatsapp and facebook where some of our users want to post querries .Users also highlighed that they want to log using sms of which it is not possible .

Mack M.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Makes tracking our work easy and efficient!

Pros

The ease of use and how it generates very useful reports. It helps because any manager could walk in and see exactly how much one person has going on from their day-to-day.

Cons

The search Functions That is really the only issue I found with it. It is difficult to search tasks if they are not assigned to me.

Freddy R.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/02/2018

It allows controlling the user and task requirements of the support analyst.

Pros

The reports and graphics that can be generated and programmed.The collected information is easy to consolidate to generate the respective reports

Cons

The search options are complicated. The interfaces between the systems screens are not very striking the analysts, maybe they can be improved in new versions.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 08/05/2018

A Comprehensive asset tracking help desk and all around IT Swiss army knife at a high cost.

All around tracking for my helpdesk ticketing

Pros

Almost every aspect that IT needs to track is part of this solution, Including tracking for assets and helpdesk ticketing system to track your tickets.

Cons

High cost when inspecting other solutions that might bring to the table less features but cost less expensive.

Juan R.
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Nice tool for IT

Stability, friendly

Pros

Friendly, this is powefull tool that let us to take all over control, the DB Base option Postgress or MS SQL Server is comfortable

Cons

The admin GUI i think that you have to reorganize it, is difficult to seek something, of the rest I like the ease of handling

Jillian R.
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/05/2018

I'm slowly falling in love with this software...<3

So many of them! We have network benefits, OS Deployment Benefits... They offer asset management (even though we manage our own, we may move everything over to one software, because, why not?!)

Pros

This software can do whatever I need it to do! Everytime I think to myself "I wish I could..." I do a simple search, low and behold.. They offer it!! It's usually included in what I already paid for too!

Cons

I do adore this software! With that said.. I do find it difficult to navigate sometimes, I would love to have some training to better understand everything that ManageEngine and Service Desk Plus Has to Offer!

Frank S.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/10/2016

Enterprise features and functionality

Wonderful platform large and small organizations. Couple this solution with a local professional services organization that can implement your ITIL service desk that everyone will embrace. It's a win for everyone!

Pros

Expandable platform

Cons

You can implement this solution with training but why would you. Every solution is time consuming. Leave it to the professionals.

Nijo J.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/09/2017

Easy for tool for in house helpdesk management

Pros

Desktop and Online clients.
Email to service request feature service tickets will be automatically created if CC the service desk email

Cons

Custom report creation is not that good and there is no access configuration for reports. I can access reports created by my colleagues without their permission
UI looks bit outdated.

Rania M.
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/02/2018

This is an excellent opportunity to manage client requests

Pros

With this program, we can easily manage client requests and solve their problems. It is very convenient that the system can search for previous user requests.

Cons

Many functions are somehow hidden deep and it takes a long time to click to get to them. In addition, the search does not always yield the necessary results.

Karina R.
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/02/2018

We lack some features

Pros

This application is reliable, it works stably. I can recommend it to small companies that do not have hundreds and thousands of user hits per day.

Cons

The application's interface looks somewhat outdated, besides it is difficult to call it intuitive. Some functions are also missing in the program.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/07/2018

The software works really good once you configure it according to your needs.

Incident and problem management is easier now compared to the previous IT management software I used. It gives the chance to create tickets with greater level of detail and that makes the time to resolution quicker, with less re-opened tickets and increased user satisfaction.

Pros

For an IT department or company, this software allows to create, manage and track tickets and users request very thoroughly. It provides a great level of detail and it makes very easy for both clients and technicians to track the progress of the equests.

Cons

This IT management software provides many tools and options you won't find in similar software but the configuration process could be a little less complex and more user friendly. All things considered, I think ServiceDesk Plus is one of the best IT management software on the market right now.

Matthew S.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/01/2019

Making Help Desk Easy

Our IT team is liking the help desk software. Coming from using an in-house custom help desk, it has taken a little time to learn, but it is pretty easy to figure out how it works.

Pros

ServiceDesk Plus is easily the most customizable help desk software our IT team has ever used. The ability to create custom ticket templates, add service categories, and integration with Active Directory make it great. Managing the tickets is easy as well. When one closes a ticket, the steps used to resolve the issue can be added to the Resolution database to make it easy to go back and see how to fix the same issue if it happens again.

Cons

The pass-through authentication using Active Directory is a bit tricky to setup. We're still working on getting that set up properly.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 27/03/2019

Using Service Desk Plus

Ticketing portion is great, but service desk has to be programmed properly (i.e. encoding holidays for the succeeding years)

Pros

Ticketing Tool is very helpful as it reflects specifically where or to whom the ticket / request has been assigned to.

Cons

Cumbersome to program for the back end. i.e. New Holidays encoded will not be automatically reflected in existing tickets. Manual intervention is still needed.

Ricardo C.
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/05/2021

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Experience

Provide a better customer support while reducing the number of incidents and tackling root issues

Pros

The reports section is very useful because we can take actions based on the performance of the team and tackle the root problems while executing RCA

Cons

The garbage data that stays there for removed items, like termination accounts or assets that remains there even if they're not required anymore

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/06/2020

The Best ITIL Helpdesk

Service Desk Plus is very easy to use and simple to install

Pros

I especially like the fact that I can see a listing of all tickets generated. I can categorize these by open tickets, closed or on hold. It also has a projects module that you can use and it is quite elaborate. The best of all is that this solution is built on ITIL standards meaning it takes care of all aspects of IT service management best practice.

Cons

I think adding a portal for external customers will make this solution the best in its industry

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 21/05/2021

Manage Your Support Tickets With Ease

ServiceDesk Plus is a great tool for an IT support division

Pros

It comes free for 5 technicians and that's a plus in terms of cost. Service Desk also has a great email notification service for tickets.

Cons

Getting customized features takes a long time as requests go through an approval process and this means you have to create hacks for what the system cant do.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/02/2021

Issue Tracking Software

Manage engine service desk is great fro tracking user issues

Pros

I like that I can log my issue and support can attend to it immediately after receiving the email notification.

Cons

I would like this software to also be able to be accessed by external customers so that they can also log their queries

Spencer B.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/09/2018

Great software here!

Pros

What I highly admire with this product is the features in tracking incidents, bugs etc. I also love the design.

Cons

A little bit expensive but it is worth to spend with. And I would love also if it has a auto refresh option.

Malcom C.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/09/2018

Excellent software!

Pros

What I really like here is you can manage to achieve good work with a huge number of clients. And it has a lot of option to manage.

Cons

Sometimes it is a little bit laggy but not the most of the time, maybe because of may long usage time range. But all in all great product out here!

Vladimir R.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/03/2016

159 reviews