User Reviews Overview

About ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

ServiceDesk Plus is a help desk management platform. It includes core help desk and IT management applications, as well as project management, contract management and features for ITIL (information technology infrastructure...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.1

Browse ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

179 of 179 reviews
Sort by:
Harry
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/11/2022

Great software, could use more features

It's a great piece of software/service to have, it could do with being more fluid from an administrators point of view, but it's improving during the time we've been using it.

Pros

Multiple of the applications ManageEngine provide can be integrated with one another (not all at this current time) but this allows a more fluid and easy management of the services.The functionality of adding our assets and having a helpdesk in a single location is convenient and does the job required. There is also a feature on pages which if what you required isn't available in a "features" aspect, you can request it, however it isn't clear on when it will be implemented other than in a future version.

Cons

The functionality can be confusing for some features, some configurations need to be done in the admin settings when logically, I think being able to edit them in the current page you're on which the change relates to would be more convenient. Also there isn't a timeline of features being implemented, so it's not clear if the features you may want, are going to happen.

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

It didn't have all the functionality or updated UI we were after.

Switched From

Spiceworks

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Trialed ServiceNow but I found it more updated and had a better UI appearance from both a user's point of view and administrators. The pricing also was a reason.
José
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/11/2022

Good IT Ticking system

The easy and fast way to have the configuration done and running. The web interface and mobile work are fantastic.

Pros

The integration with the rest of the applications Zoho and ManageEngine have. Easy to set up and fast to be deployed.

Cons

If you are a small company, the best recommendation must work On a Cloud solution they provide.

Łukasz
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/11/2022

Central and highly customizable ticketing system for the entire organization

Central and highly customizable ticketing system integrated with the monitoring OpManager system

Pros

Very simple and intuitive graphical user interface, highly customizable

Cons

Notorious problems with application updates

Alternatives Considered

JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

There are no more advanced options in OTRS

Switched From

OTRS

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Integration with the monitoring system

Top ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Alternatives

Erdem
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/11/2022

Everything works successful.

Pros

ServiceDesk Plus is a very powerful service desk software. The interface is easy to use and is very user friendly. It has an excellent user interface and provides a very efficient and user-friendly support experience. The easy to use interface is very well organized and offers a wide range of options. The system is very flexible, allowing for unlimited customization in order to meet the requirements of an organization.

Cons

Everything works smoothly, in general I like it. It was a hassle free experience.

Angelo
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/08/2022

Essential to have IT culture - Following ITIL recommendations

Do you have an IT team of more than 3 or 5 people? You need one of these. Do not believe it, you should know that you need it. It is essential for the planning, organization and decision making of a company. With ManageEngine Service Desk, you can measure. Remember, what cannot be measured cannot be controlled.

Pros

Having a control panel where you can schedule, track, prioritize, and assign tasks... It is essential to have the IT team in the best conditions. Enough of messaging communications, having a control center for your users' requests is essential. You can register your users, install Service Desk agent or End Point Manager for your users' requests. And attend to them according to your procedures. It is a knowledge center that will greatly help the IT team and give quick answers to your users. If the IT team is not attending to users, you will know it, since Service Desk can highlight requests and incidents that have not been attended to. This software is very scalable.

Cons

There is no magic button to configure the whole system. If you have implemented this software a long time ago or since the beginning of the company, then there is no problem. But if you are implementing this software, and you have a lot of employees, a lot of IT processes, among other things; It can take days or weeks to configure everything (if you do it yourself). If you have a responsible and committed IT team, you can have the implementation ready quickly.
I would prefer that it could be installed in a container. We don't like the idea of ​​having to set up an entire server to failover, or having to wait several hours to redeploy if something goes wrong with Windows. We are one of the companies that prefer everything On-Premise, so we will not go for the Cloud.

David
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/01/2022

User Experiance

Overall I feel the Service is good, reliable and quick. The interface for the most part is great and clear. The system is easy to navigate through and also, very easy to set up if setting up for the first time..

Pros

I have used this Cloud Based Servicedesk for some time now. I find that the interface is very nice to look at. Customization to the templates is very easy to manage and create. The permissions behind the system is also very easy to manage.
We use it for Asset Management, Problem Management, Change Management, Service Tickets. Also, we have some users that use it for internal Project Management. The application owners also like the reporting side of this application.

The ticket automation is also good in that we can get third-party systems to email the service desk and then automation can look at this email and then create a ticket based on a template designed for that service and then open it in the service desk without any end-user requirement. This saves on having to get a user to create the ticket. We us this automation a lot within our environment to save time on manual processes.

There is also a Contracts part to this system which we also use to create a ticket when a certificate is required or if a IT Service Contact is due to be renewed very useful these days.

Cons

As the interface is very heavy on JAVA I find that sometimes the system will just throw a wobbly and then do a random refresh and in some cases, you end up losing a lot of text you had just put in.

We have also had some issues with the Asset Management side of the system where we have just randomly lost some assets which have resulted in a call/ticket to ManageEngine. That said these have been sorted in a timely manner.

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

The Jira was an on-premis system that was getting old.

Switched From

Jira

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

There were some great deals with ManageEngine at the time. Plus the cost of the service was very competitive in the marketplace.
Gerardo
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/05/2022

A very customizable ITSM tool

ServiceDesk Plus is a great ITSM software that help us offer and attend the end users' requests/incidents. We started using the Standard edition and now we use the Enterprise edition. You can increase the modules in time, is not mandatory to purchase the most complete edition at first.

Pros

The interface is very friendly, you don't need to have so many knowledge about ITIL and ServiceDesk Plus will help you to improve your Help Desk service.

Cons

The ZIA bot that is bundled only works in english, there are so many customers that needs spanish support and ZIA doesn't support it.

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

The interface of ServiceDesk Plus is most friendly for the end users and technicians.

Switched From

FootPrints

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

ServiceDesk Plus offered the same functionalities of ServiceNow for less money and ZenDesk didn't has the required modules.
Raj
  • Industry: Public Safety
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/03/2020

One stop shop for ITIL based efficient Servicedesk

Excellent support tech makes all the difference. Having a dedicated support tech that knows your environment and can assist at all times is a big plus. The team listens to your requirements and release it as features in future releases of the product.

Pros

Setting up the product is very easy. The ability to try modules as we go was an add-on. Endless customization can be done on the software. Having a product that is based on an industry standard ensures that process is followed at all stages.

Cons

Form builder can be improved. Adobe forms is an example of how form builder in servicedesk can be based on.

Sergio
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/01/2022

A complete, easy to deploy and use, customizable service management solution

We implemented it in a hared service center serving more than 40 legal entities, with approximately 2,000 workstations/users and about 36 technicians. We gradually implemented it and had the chance to streamline processes and customize the solution for our different companies. Integration with email and AD was a great help in setting up the environment with no additional work.

Pros

It sports a complete set of well-designed and ITIL-oriented functions; it can fit both a small firm and an enterprise - with proper licensing and setup.
Complete, customizable, easy to use, clear to setup, integrated with other Managengine (and 3rd party) solutions.

Cons

As per my latest experience (2019) workflow management could be improved; while it's not its primary focus, still it could give great advantages in automating service workflows (eg joiner & leavers).

Alternatives Considered

Spiceworks, SysAid, ServiceNow and osTicket

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Completeness of functions, ITIL orientation, ease of use
Sam
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 20/07/2019

Great ticketing system for helpdesk

This is a great helpdesk application for most small-to-medium companies who don't need all the extra features that come with Autodesk, connectwise or Salesforce. Worked directly out of the box with minimal configurations needed.

Pros

Ease of use, setup, low resource consumption on server, built-in reporting is enough for my company, Solutions, preventative maintenance tasks, templates, email fetching, user portal, external mobile app.

Cons

Reporting isn't that user friendly, upgrades don't allow skipping of versions, not cumulative. Support isn't that good in resolving issues, so luckily we haven't had many

Basil
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/12/2015

Exactly as they advertise. Big 4's are a pain.

We used ServiceDesk in the ISP (Internet Service Provider) that I worked for. We nearly lost hope in finding good helpdesk software with ITIL compliance. We even considered building a home-made application. For two years, BMC Remedy gave us a hard time from a usability and performance perspective, in addition to their highly priced customization bills. Until, one day, a decent consultant forwarded a link to ServiceDesk Plus.

ServiceDesk Plus breaks the myth that 'java server applications are slow' and really shows that a high quality product with good efficiency and performance can be built using Java. It's all up to the engineers (and when it's slow, its all their fault).

One thing I learned from ServiceDesk; don't blindly trust Gartner reports when searching for good software. At the time of searching, Gartner Quarterly reports listed BMC at the top with no mention whatsoever of ServiceDesk Plus. I'm not blaming Gartner for corrupt information, I'm sure they have their criteria in place, but at the end, they're humans, they have their mistakes, biases, misinformation, etc.

Pros

1. Light-weight and highly responsive. Intuitive interface.
2. Wonderful 'Solutions Knowledge Base' side feature based on articles and with an excellent search functionality. (We no longer use Media Wiki, however I'm doubtful about dropping MediaWiki).
3. The ServiceDesk API gives you unlimited abilities to automate and integrate with other applications. For example, we were able to integrate Nagios Network Monitoring tool so that a high priority alarm could automatically open a ticket on ServiceDesk Plus.

4. I admire the effort they placed on their online documention with their and searchable online you'll hardly need to contact support.

Cons

Nothing major, but would like to see improvements in the following areas:
1. Provide a visual view of all entities in the system. Virtual Machines, Routers, Physical Servers, etc. using graphing tools.
2. Provide a searchable menu. For example, if I type "LDAP Authentication" this would show me the "Domain Controllers" in the setup menu (Similar to CPanel's menu search feature).
3. More help notes & tips on 'what to do next' and on 'keyboard shortcuts'.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/02/2021

A bit separated but getting better

Overall, we've seen our share of good and bad days with SDP. Keeping up with their constant updates requires a lot of diligence, but the ability to expand the application and the number of other applications they are integrating with works really well for the price.

Pros

In general, if you're just looking for helpdesk software to get started, but something you can expand later, this is a great option.

Cons

Some of the options are not fully integrated and it's obvious they were completed by different design teams. For example, the Change Log and Project management sections don't seem to flow with the rest of the ticketing and service sections.

Michael
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 02/02/2022

Good product, but support needs to improve

Overall experience has been good. SDP has made a significant difference to how we deliver IT to our business. ManageEngine's after-sales service needs to improve

Pros

Easy to setup and get started, mostly conforms to ITIL standards

Cons

Lacks some configurability and isn't as flexible as top-tier products like ServiceNow

Alternatives Considered

Freshservice and SysAid

Reasons for Choosing ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Limited functionality and was unstable

Switched From

Spiceworks

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Best combination of price, configurability, usability
Jaime Isai
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/06/2022

ServiceDesk Plus ManageEngine

Its a great tool, I do really recommend it to every IT organization, it was a great experience to implement and get it full configured, it was a great challenge and learning experience. It's a must on every IT department if you want to improve your IT performance and have your IT department well organized at every single area.

Pros

More than a Service Desk tool or ticketing system tool it is a System that follows the ITIL standards, allowing IT departments to be full organized on resolving issues, following them up, Identifying new problems, having their assets inventory updated and monitored, having additional tools to access them remotely and run TS steps, Having their projects well organized in a Gantt view and well documented, Licensing module and procurement its a plus on this system.

Cons

Its easy to implement, however it requires a previous knowledge of ITIL standards in order to set up the parameters and get it ready to work on your full organization. There is a complete guide to do so, however sometimes would be better to have a local support to help in the implementation process.

Tinashe
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/07/2020

The future of service Desk

Great solution to seamlessly manage tickets with reporting that is comprehensive.

Pros

The software is user friend and simplifies the help desk processes. It adheres to the best practice ITSM workflows. It has powerful integration capabilities with majority of data source drivers of many platforms. The reporting is suburb, graphical displays and extensive reporting capabilities. Can be deployed on cloud or on premises

Cons

Hosting on premises a bit more complicated to manage than on cloud otherwise great application to start managing help desk workflows

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Great Integration capabilities
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 08/01/2021

A basic Helpdesk software

I enjoy the product. We can spend more time handling tickets and less time managing the program that handles tickets.

Pros

It's pretty cheap and easy to setup. It is a basic helpdesk service out of the box, ready to go. There are no agents to install on computers, a plus for us. Updates are pretty easy to do as well.

Cons

The product is updated almost monthly and when we do get time to update, there are a bunch of them to do. They are all incremental and can't just run the latest.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

It was cheaper and seemed to do the basics we needed it to.
Mike
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/04/2020

Best Servicedesk Product EVER!

I set this up as ticketsystem for our company and users have an easy platform to create tickets instead of calling. This works like a charm and even users with little computerexperience can create tickets. Also the solutions part of servicedesk is awesome.
We upgraded our entire IT deaprtment with this product, bye bye shard IT-mailbox!!

Pros

I love the fact that is is simple in use. You can isntall it yourself, you can customise it the way you want and that is all sooo easy. Updating the product is a piece of cake and best part is that you can make the program like you need it.

Cons

Nothing! Only pros pros pros!
Even when there is a issue, the support team is on top of it. WOW!

Alternatives Considered

TOPdesk

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Topdesk is much more complex, updating is hard, more expensive and not as user friendly!
Andrew
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 09/12/2020

Life changing

My experience of using this software has been amazing. It has been like switching on a light to dispurse the darkness that has been sat over my work life for so long.

Pros

When I use this software my mind is suddenly fee of clutter, I feel smarter and have to work less.

Cons

The only feature that is missing is the ability to turn back time. With this feature, I would be able to start using Service Desk Plus from the very beginning.

Alternatives Considered

Spiceworks

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] had the final say
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2019

Best Service desk Software

We have implemented ServiceDesk Plus as a part of our customer relationship management. It is also used for internal auditing purpose. ServiceDesk allows managing all the IT services seamlessly. We have been using ServiceDesk for years for all our help desk, facilities, and reporting needs. It also allows to quality management of the help desk agents. Its reporting tool facilitates to monitor and report helpdesk team progress in a visualized way.

Pros

So far, this the best ServiceDesk solution in the market. It is bundled with almost everything that can be expected in these kinds of solution. Actually, we have never used some of the features included with this. However, we are privileged to receive updates from the vendor itself. We are extremely satisfied with the overall product capabilities, comparing verdict solutions.

Following are the most impressive features of the Service Desk

+ Easy Cloud integration
+ Best Asset management tools.
+ Best Reporting Tools.
+ Quality management capability of the staff

Cons

+ Hard to implements
+ Lack of administration documentation
+ Quite Expensive( but worth for money)

Aman
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/12/2019

Easy implementation with highly intuitive configuration set up

Good overall experience with purchase and implementation of the product. Easy to configure and use for both technicians and users.

Pros

Implementation and configuring was easy. Integration to AD to create user profiles. Intuitiveness of features for both the user community and technicians made it easy for all to use the product. Wholistic list of functionalities and features.

Cons

Apart from minimal verbiage changes that was not allowed in the application, so far most of the things are positive looking. You can submit a feature request for modification to the application.

Leia
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/07/2018

ManageEngine has Streamlined our Helpdesk!

We were previously on BMC RemedyForce and it would take me an entire day to configure a simple ticket template. It takes me mere minutes with ManageEngine. Their support staff and developers are the best in the business and I can't say enough good things about my experiences working with them.

Pros

It's easy to use and configure! Their support staff and community are absolutely incredible. They even have FREE master classes to help you learn more about how it works, and user conferences where the actual developers give you hands-on training, so you find out even more about administering it. You get a head's up about new features coming down the pipe. I just can't say enough good things about it!

Cons

The feature requests sometimes take a while to come through, but that you can put them in at all is a definite pro. They listen to their users!

Ryan
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 19/11/2018

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus (MSP)

Pros

Starts at Free......Need I say more? --- I suppose i do, lol.

It was a nightmare to find a ITIL compliant helpdesk software that was easy enough for my users to use, but flexible enough to flex and grow with our needs. With the basic free version covering most of the basics with no user limit, is a pretty good deal.

Cons

Sometimes it can be a pain to work with. Some of the 'workflows' or 'features' don't seem to work properly.

One that sticks out is the 'on behalf of' feature when putting in tickets on behalf of another user for say a password reset. In order to get that particular function working, i actually had to go into the CLI on the host machine and enable it myself. Shouldn't need to do that.

The support and documentation can also be a bit lacking on details.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 24/05/2020

Servicedesk product at an affordable price

Pros

The product setup & configuration is easy. Offers a good reporting tool. Can use used to connect to Office 365 to generate report for their usage. Reports can be exported into multiple file formats.

Cons

The interface could have been much much better. Adding of extendedattributes could have been made easier.

Ricardo
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 05/03/2022

Manage Engine Service Desk Review

We used it as a ticket system for IT but overall did not like the experience.

Pros

It makes for an easy ticketing system for IT to use and helps keep track of ticket progress quite well

Cons

There is too much freedom for the technician around what they can do with the ticket. They can delete etc too easily, also it's not easy to use for the end user and hard to track outstanding tickets efficiently

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 15/05/2021

Impressive Value

Overall this is a product I would highly recommend for companies that are starting on their journey into ITSM

Pros

The best part about this product is they offer an on-premise solution and a cloud solution with the price point being the same regardless of which option you choose. The support from startup to daily maintenance is extremely proficient. If you're looking for a solid entry level product for an IT service desk ticketing system this is a great product to get started with and help you grow until you reach the next level.

Cons

While there are many features of this product at a very low price point some features look as if they're not as refined as more expensive products.

179 reviews