User Reviews Overview

About Taxprep

Taxprep is a cloud-based tax preparation software that helps companies with diagnostics, data entry, audit reviews, quality assurance and more. The system allows users to conduct in-depth analyses including trendlines, rolling...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Taxprep Reviews

213 of 213 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 03/07/2019

The best of the best for tax preperation

Pros

This is the ultimate in tax preparation. Has best interface, best feature set and the most trusted calculations and up to date information built in. Has mad strides in integration between their other products which makes it even better. Has nice on board pricing for new users.

Cons

The cost can get very high especially when you get the full package.

Daniel
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 17/01/2020

TaxPrep Review

Mixed feels about the software, as the installation and updating process is terrible, and getting someone on the phone for tech support takes way too long, and they don't always have the answers. So you can spend an hour trying to reach someone, only to find they don't yet have a solution for the issue, or they need time to fix it. But when the software is working properly it does allow for efficient production.

Pros

Teh diagnostics are generally pretty helpful. The layout of schedules is easy to follow.

Cons

Too many patches and updates required each year.
Technical support keeps you on hold for a very long time every time you call (over 45 minutes on hold).
Every time there is an update or new version released, we need to download everything and reinstall, where as other software providers make the process much more easy, and simply push the updates through automatically.

Ed
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 09/01/2020

Review of T2 programs

Pros

I have been using Taxprep for over 20 years. I am very familiar with the program. The program is relatively easy to use. I like the fact that the return on the screen is exactly the same as what is printed out. The diagnostics function is very useful.

Cons

I have noticed a change in version 2 of the T2 2019 program which is not at all useful. When you first open the program you used to be able to see certain information about each client without going into the actual file (i.e. the status, the year end, whether the return had been e-filed etc.). Now you have to actually open the particular client file to see that information. I don't know if this an option that has to be selected but I have been unable to find the answer. Extremely annoying. Also, the program has become quite expensive, especially for a sole practitioner.

Top Taxprep Alternatives

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Alexei
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 06/05/2021

Title

It is best interface and using comparing to other product of the same domain.

Pros

It’s professional and pointed on formulars instead of simple data entering

Cons

It is expensive, version updating process is manual, it is slow starting, slow opens files.
There is a list of problems and missing features that could be implemented:
- Form 21200 makes wrong calculation of amount for QST refund (reported into VD-358)
- CARE form took in federal consideration the amount entered in Quebec - it should not, because some times there is no deductible amount to federal side;
- When TED federal fails, it should not try to send provincial;
- in TP1 should be the possibility to transfer Québec refund into conjoint automatically, now it always manual;
- Where is useless diagnostics in a report of depending person. Dependant have same address, but diagnostics is asking if he lives alone and two more related questions;
- Then you try to open more then 5 pdf files (after generating pdfs) it always asking to confirm, because it maybe slow down the system. There is should be possibility suppress that confirmation forever. Like check box "Do not ask this question in a future";
- There is shoud be a summary page similar to DT max summary page - that shows essential information on one page;
- Then a person have self-employe income (2125) and foreign employe income, program should not calculate RQPP on this foreign income.

Scott
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2019

There's competition and then there's Taxprep

Our public accounting practice produces a thousand personal tax returns and hundreds of corporate returns, so a tax preparation software is critical. We started with Taxprep about a quarter century ago. The software continues to evolve. Every few years we look at a host of other preparation software and talk to other preparers in the industry. Given our client base, with its particular complexity, we can't imagine another software handling it all. We also prepare US tax returns and have gone through numerous software providers; our terrible experience with US tax preparation software makes us realize how lucky we are with Taxprep for our Canadian work.

Pros

Importing and exporting data - we use this in a host of ways. For example, we have developed our own processing dashboard, detailed label production that provides key data on the docket speeding intake or referencing, sharing info between files, billing management, analyzing client base for potential review issues, double checking filings, etc.

Rich with nearly all required forms. Most complete of any tax software we have reviewed.

Reliable.

Cons

The form layouts often have a curious arrangement to them which is not ideal for data entry.

The drill down data on multi-forms (e.g. family member names) is inaccessible to the data reporter.

Andrea
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/11/2019

Taxprep review Nov 2019

Good product , good customer service when required, no complaints other than mentioned above

Pros

Easy to use although since i have been using for 15+ years familiarity also adds to ease of use.

Cons

requirement to open different versions of the software for different years' filings. Need to manage multiple versions or if you open an earlier year's return you need to ensure the right version has been opened. Solving this issue (as Profile does) would allow ranking of 10's

Kelly
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2019

Great product

It was a great upgrade from our previous software and it integrates well with the other software from cch which creates a great way for us to manage our midsized form.

Pros

The checkup is great for providing insight on things you might not think of. This program makes reviewing a breeze.

Cons

File management must be done in a specific manner otherwise the tools for connecting groups or running queries is a nightmare. We learned this the hard way.

Justin
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2019

Taxprep review

As taxprep is starting to more and more integrate with iFirm and other products, having one major database to run it all it is quickly becoming the 2nd most used software in the firm.

Pros

Taxprep - both T1, T2 and Forms - are the most advanced and robust software on the market today. Not only does their T1 product have an over 95% CRA efile acceptance rate - but it is the easiest to use software we currently use. No matter if your tax returns are simple or very complex Taxprep can handle it by making it easier to prepare an accurate return.

Cons

It is expensive there is no way around that. But when you look at their development team there is a reason why. They put through changes and correct errors/problems at a speed you just won't see with any other software provider in Canada.

nathalie
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/04/2020

Pro Fx is the greatest tax software out there

Overall, I've had a very positive experience with Tax prep. I am able to work on large and complicated returns on a user friendly software.

Pros

Wolters Kluwers tax prep has been my most preferred tax preparation software for multiple reasons. It's a very sophisticated software and enables me to prepare complex tax returns that include an enormous amount of information and forms. I find it very user friendly and easy to navigate and I feel the input sheets are organized in a convenient way. I also like the presentation of the instructional letters.

Cons

I will, to an extent, always struggle with state returns and this is where i feel this, as well as other tax prep softwares fall short. It's difficult to determine where to input certain information so that it flows to the correct line on the state return. If the "link to worksheet" function could provide better guidance, that would be much more helpful.

Bryan
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/11/2019

Taxprep

I have been administering Taxprep since 2002. The program is consistently consistent. Very rare to find a major flaw, it just works. The advanced networking module is a must for a firm of my size and allows great customization for different groups. It just works!!

Pros

It does exactly what you want it to do. There is a reason why firms such as mine depend on Taxprep. It's not flashy, but certainly not basic. Regular updates keep it up with CRA changes and the customer support is always helpful. I could not imagine using any other software.

Cons

Due to the nature of the software, I need to keep all old versions up-to-date annually, manually changing the client letters and Electronic filing passwords. As the administrator, this is a tad time consuming. I wish there was a simple way to update all the software from one master console.

Puneet
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 14/05/2019

Moving in the wrong direction

Formerly, Taxprep has been an essential part of our tool kit and helped us to deliver professional quality results. With the new changes, lack of support and the recent debacle with the ransomware issue, we are reconsidering our relationship with the company and its software.

Pros

Taxprep has outstanding features, functionality and ability to handle complex situations and calculations.

Cons

The new platform is not as good as the Classic. If lacks functionality, is buggy and unstable. To compound the problem, the company appears to scaling back its customer support. Wait times during the tax season were unacceptably long; we usually just hung up and did without.

It is likely that due to the enormous screw up on the new platform the support team was completely overwhelmed. Formerly, I would have said that the support was one of the things I liked the best. Now, it is a disappointment.

Dayna
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/01/2020

Taxprep Review

I have tried other tax software packages as I am a sole proprietor and I do find that Taxprep is the most expensive. However, I keep coming back to this software program as it is the best out there and the one that I am most comfortable with.

Pros

I like the overall functionality of the Desktop version. I'm still trying to get used to navigating the iFirm version of Taxprep. I like how I can link my large related and associated groups and it is just comforting to know that the calculations are correct.

Cons

The number of overrides that occur when you import a large associated and related corporate group. To remove the overrides is just time consuming.

John
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/11/2019

Quick access

The software is reliable with few bugs

Pros

Comprehensive software that can handle almost any tax issues

Cons

Opening old files can be frustrating. When opening old files a user is required to use the version of T2 software the file was created in and you cannot open the file with an older version of the software. It would be helpful if a user could determine which version of the T2 software the file was created in. The Profile system names to work better on this matter.

The Taxprep forms e-file system as not as easy to use as the T1 and T2 e-file systems.

David
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2019

Long Time User

Pros

The Taxprep programs that we use (T1, T2, T3 & Forms) are generally very reliable for both the returns/forms produced by them and their operations (rarely crash or cause other problems).

Cons

We run the programs on a network and the Forms program requires a complete installation rather than an update when updated version of the program is released during the year. This is not a huge problem, but it does mean that an update for Forms requires more time as the settings have to be reconfigured and checked.

Derek
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2019

Only tax preparation software that we have ever used!

Our overall experience has been great. We haven't even bothered to consider switching to another product in the last 20 years and we have been using Taxprep since at least 1985.

Pros

Accuracy, consistency of product, support available when you need it.

Cons

Over the years there have been growing pains depending upon changes to the tax act and receiving final filing versions in a timely manner for some of our clients who want to file quick to receive their refunds. We have found the timeliness to be better in recent years.

bradley
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/01/2020

Taxprep is great

i have used various programs over my career preparing tax returns and taxprep is by far the best product out there... definitely more expensive than other products, but the feature taxprep provides makes preparing the returns and tax season run smoother and is more efficient

Pros

customer service and ease to use (diagnostics are very useful and helpful)

Cons

The program is great, but the major issue would be the price... i guess in this case it is a matter of "you get what you pay for"... high quality product

James
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/03/2021

Taxprep Review

Pros

Product is very intuitive, easy to use, stable, and has advanced tax features, forms and calculations.

Cons

Support is great most of the time but a few times hard to get a hold of them. Very expensive relative to other products.

Geoff
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/03/2021

Love TaxPrep

Exactly what i required and fulfilled my expectations

Pros

Worked with Taxprep products my entire career as a Tax Partner with a Big 4 firm. On retirement I have continued to consult to a select few clients and the Taxprep software fully accommodates my need

Cons

Nothing noted - given my background with TaxPrep continuing to use on my own after retirement was seamless

Wendy
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/01/2020

Great software but very expensive!

Pros

I am a huge fan of the Taxprep T1, T2 and Taxprep forms. I find it easy to use, accurate and more sophisticated than most other software I have used with respect to complicated transactions. The technical support is also usually excellent.

Cons

However, I find the price very high and much more than the other competitor's products. My associates do not find the price differential "worth it" and are not sharing this product cost with me. I find the product superior but am debating whether I can still afford the high price.

Don
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/01/2020

Taxprep

Generally a very good experience

Pros

The product is very user friendly and easy to learn. Taxprep has a very good diagnostics routine, which helps to eliminate any errors in the return.

Cons

I find the T2S9 a little cumbersome to amend each year. The sort feature is only alphabetical and I prefer the companies to be grouped alphabetically within year ends. We have over 30 companies with different year ends. The only way to add a company in the middle of the schedule is to redo the entire form. It would be helpful to be able to add a line wherever you want it rather that at the end.

Lise
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/03/2021

Reliable

Since we are very familiar with the software, efficiency is the big thing for us.

Pros

I've been using this software for over 25 years now. I find it very reliable, well structured, and appreciate the webinars that WK offer as a support for the software.

Cons

There is nothing about the software that we don't like.

MARTIN
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2020

CRITCAL REVIEW

Pros

I am not computer literate, however, I find this software very easy to use
I also find the help feature to be very helpfull

Cons

The pricing. I am 77 years old and am heading towards retirement. As my practice diminishes the costs become prohibitive. I have requested a seniors discount with no success

Bill
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/01/2020

Good product with odd interface decisions

Pros

Accuracy, end product looks good. Good support.

Cons

A different version for every year, slow to load, start menu changes make software hard to find, network setup routines confusing with file path setup issues, no ability to set default settings in the network version across user groups.

Dennis
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/11/2019

Taxprep

Pros

The fact that the program is updated with new tax changes on an efficient timeline. The was one of the main reasons that we changed software.

Cons

The new version changes make it harder to find some of the icons and shortcuts that we were used to in the prior version.

allan
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2020

Allan Hayman CPA, CA review of Taxprep software

Easy to you. Although I do not use some of the expanded (optional) features. I like the year-to-year consistency.

Pros

Consistency Reliability Accuracy year-to-year. Ease to install.

Cons

The price. Should be cheaper, especially for users like me who use multiple Taxprep products - T1 and T2.

213 reviews