Phone.com Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Phone.com

Phone.com is a cloud-based PBX business phone solution that caters to small businesses in industries such as retail, technology, services, lifestyle, health and education. It offers users SIP trunking service together with PBX...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.5
Features
3.7
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
3.6

Browse Phone.com Reviews

67 of 67 reviews
Sort by:
Rick
Rick
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/06/2022

Phone.com is the best VOIP Office phone service

Overall I absolutely love Phone.com. It's by far the best business grade phone service I've ever used. We also use it for our home phone service and it's been rock solid. I've recommended it to several friends.

Pros

Phone.com is by far the best VOIP phone system I've ever used. It has a variety of features and a good mobile app. Plus their mobile app is good. The best part is their customer service though. It is bar none.

Cons

Their mobile app could be a little better and it's been a long time but it used to be a tiny bit confusing but I heard they've fixed it. I set up our services once and haven't been back in years to change anything.

Chassity
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2023

Look professional like a big organization

My experience with Phone.com has been a wonderful experience. I will continue to use phone.com due to the wonderful customer service, the price and the ease of use.

Pros

I love that I am able to have a 1800 number and I can also text from that number and receive messages as well. Their customer service is very helpful and if the agent at the time isn't able to find the solution, which has been a rare case for me, they forward you to someone that can assist you or make a ticket for you and someone with the answer will get back to you within no later than a couple of hours.

Cons

I honestly don't have any cons that I can think of at the moment due to me having a pretty good experience so far and the software meets all of my business needs.

Alternatives Considered

Webex and Zoom Workplace

Reasons for Choosing Phone.com

The customer service was bad, and it was pretty difficult to setup the software and I am tech savvy. Did not offer a 1800 number for business use.

Switched From

Webex

Reasons for Switching to Phone.com

I picked phone.com because of the customer service they provide, their prices are great for a business just starting out and I love all of the features they offer.
Michael
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 27/03/2023

The Worst Customer Service

When transferring an account to another individual, phone.com did not update the payment method and is refusing to remove my payment method from an account that I originally setup. Their customer service could not understand the request that I was communicating and refused to transfer me to a supervisor. Any business that doesn't respect a customer current, past or potential future, - enough to allow them to speak with a supervisor for further assistance in disconnecting a bank account that belongs to a different individual than the account is connected to - does not deserve your business. There are other companies that have better customer service departments and better supervisors that respect their clientelle, understand the issues at hand and work to assist anyone that calls into their department. They were not helpful and refused to transfer me to supervisor because - even though I was previously listed on the account, I'm no longer listed on the account - so in their eyes, I am not their customer and the supervisors apparently don't have time to speak with me. I would never use phone.com and would recommend to my friends and real family - that they highly consider a different voip service that is customer service oriented instead of phone.com - who is not customer service oriented.

Pros

online functionality and ability to forward a toll free voip to personal phone

Cons

Customer Service is the worst, they do not attempt to help and they refuse to let you speak with a supervisor regardless of the issue you are trying to resolve. They do not listen and instead refer back to the script they were given.

Alternatives Considered

Vonage Business Communications and Skype

Switched From

Google Voice

Top Phone.com Alternatives

Brent
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/11/2021

Billing nightmare and missing critical Self-Help solutions/support

we have saved money by moving 10 of our toll free number to phone.com from the bigBell (AT&T) We are able to have phones at our new remote warehouse using phone.com where our Avaya System has failed to work through a VPN setup.

Pros

functionality of the phone.com feature as a whole, work fine. support is generally able to answer the call in a few minutes and are open 24/7. They include most features you would need in most situations in a business environment.

Cons

To say that the invoices are confusing would be a gross understatement. they are so bad that on several occasions, I have had to call support for billing, and each time, even the billing support reps are unable to break it down for me and make any sense of it. On 2 occasions I have spent well over an hour on the phone trying to understand the bill. they issue a charge then issue a credit 10s of times on each invoice. even after getting rid of all the charges and equal credits on the invoice, there are still usual discrepancies that have to be fixed. each time finding errors in the billing that needed to be overridden by a manager and credited back to the account.
When you purchase an unlimited plan, they don't tell you that the unlimited minutes are only for calls routed through the extension with unlimited minutes. routing calls or forwarding directly to a number and not through an extension will incur per minute charges over the basic minimums. to make matters worse, the extension setup is far from streamlined and have to bounce all over the website to get it configured and set up properly making it extremely complex to setup for 19 phone numbers and we still wound up paying for overage minutes because this lack of communication. this type of thing is critical for customers to know in order to get the services they are paying for for the price they are paying.

Joyce
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/08/2023

Best Customer Service

[sensitive content hidden]
willingness to go to bat for me to get their phone back was dedicated teamwork and definitely going above and beyond the call of duty.

Pros

The customer service is top notch! [sensitive content hidden]
and the team at Phone.com are the best. They work very hard to satisfy their customers. I have been a long time customer of Phone.com. Many times I have had trouble paying my bill. They usually work very hard to help me keep it. Unfortunately, I recently lost my business 800 number because I couldn't afford to pay my bill again, this time it was too long. I have had that number for years and it was published everywhere. I don't recommend not paying your bill cause you run the risk of losing it. Sell something, anything, but pay your bill! It definitely hurt my business when I went to run ads and that number was all over the internet. No way can you change decades of publishing and sharing of that number. In both print and online. I really want to thank everyone for getting my phone number back as it was in the process of being assigned to another company. Blessing to you all. Phone.com is the best company for your business.

Cons

Nothing, I have no complaints what-so-ever.

Jennifer
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 04/03/2024

Beware, not compatible with Android cell phones!

Pros

Seems to work well with laptop. It is easy to use when operating properly. Easy to reach tech support.

Cons

It seems to be incompatible with Android cell phone. I have spent many hours and days with tech support and still no solution. I have to reinstall app at least 1x weekly just to make a phone call from my cell. Caller ID will not show my company name on receiving end.

Craig
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/04/2021

Phone.com Needs Some Work

Still using Phone.com because I paid for 12 months upfront to get the best price. They system works, but I feel it is not working well or helping my company look "good" to my callers.

Pros

IP phone system for on-the-go small business owners - great features that can make you look like a full-fledged company. Prices are competitive, too.

There customer service is really good, answered quickly, no holding on line and they answered my questions and helped with using my recorded message as my first answer greeting. However, see below as they help with answering the questions but not being pro-active

Cons

The buttons they use to get to your messages, calls, etc. is called "Configure" then "manage users & extensions" - how crazy is that?

Then, setting up a call trail - knowing full well what you want to happen is so complicated that you go nuts trying to figure it out. Recording and using messages and setting up the phone trail is a nightmare - I know others have had the same feelings so why haven't they taken any of these suggestions and improve the product - they really are so close!

They answer quickly as noted above but you have to know what you are asking - they will help but seems not to "guide" you with best practices in setting up your phone system.

I can buy a landline and the installer sets everything up for me - why can't Phone.com help me like that?

Matthew
Matthew
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 04/08/2019

Affordable but buggy

Pros

Phone.com does everything I was looking for in a VOIP. As a small business owner, it sure beats having to purchase a stand-alone phone.

Cons

My biggest issue with Phone.com is the app. It's super buggy and slow (unresponsive) to use. Given the affordability of the phone plan, I've decided I can live with the bugs, but they're still a pain.

Alternatives Considered

Grasshopper

Reasons for Switching to Phone.com

Affordability, HIPPA compliance

Response from Phone.com

Thanks for your feedback, Matthew! We are always looking for ways to improve our app to ensure a better mobile experience. Give us a call at 833-782-2355 and let us know what kind of issues you are running into and we will gladly assist you.

Replied 08/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/01/2019

phone.com great customer service team

I have always had a great experience with every customer service/support rep I have worked with. They will escalate easily if things are not working as you expect and they are cheerful and thoughtful.

Pros

There are a lot of options and the tool is very flexible. If you ever need help their support team is just a live chat away and they are always very helpful and creative. Willing to offer ideas on how to best set up your system to meet your needs.

Cons

It is not easy to figure out on your own. It takes time to understand how all of the settings work and what is the best process for your needs.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 09/02/2019

The Phone.com app ticks all the boxes

Phone.com is so easy to use. It was a little tedious to set up, but once it's done, it's done.

I use the app on an iPhone and it looks much like the default call interface, but I would never confuse the two. I appreciate that the design looks nice. It keeps everything tied to my business number, together in one place. My only frame of reference is as an end user; I do not have access to the phone.com web interface so I cannot comment on that. But as a user, it's perfect! Anywhere I happen to be, I know I'll be able to get those important phone calls. And I can easily tell when a call comes through that it's via phone.com.

Pros

The app design (for iPhone) is sleek and consistent with Apple products

Cons

It is sometimes slow to connect calls, annoying at first setup

Mick
Mick
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Great Product. Great Support. Misleading Pricing.

Overall, I like it although it ended up being more than anticipated. With taxes and fees, $119yr is really $160/yr, but they get you on devices, (even softphones) where $60/year is really $100/year per phone. They are adding their own fees to this, so they should just be upfront.

One chat support person was kind of rude suggesting that "I should have gotten a quote" and "Who told me it was free". I compared several providers and it's still a good value. No regrets.

Pros

I was able to use my established Google Voice number and easily port it over to something more business-friendly. I like that it's scalable as my business grows and I can put a high-quality Polycom SIP phone right in my home office. The Android app is also useful if I want to make calls from that number remotely.

Cons

When signing up, it wasn't clear to me that adding a device (desk phone or softphone) wasn't included in the price. I incorrectly assumed one would be included with the plan. How else would you use the service, I thought. (I later learned that only forwarding calls to cell phones is included) I already had a phone and nothing was mentioned during sign up or during my support call while the phone was being provisioned. I only realized it when I got a bill for $100 the next month. My own fault for not getting a quote, I guess. In any case, I didn't care. It just wasn't clear at all and I wanted to make sure it wasn't a mistake.

Alternatives Considered

Grasshopper and RingEX

Reasons for Choosing Phone.com

Quality of Magic Jack and the needs of my business.

Reasons for Switching to Phone.com

Price, features

Response from Phone.com

Mick,

We appreciate your honest feedback. While our base plans have 40+ features included, there are certain features that require an additional monthly fee. We do strive to ensure that this is communicated when signing up for additional services. We also understand your frustration and will make sure to pass this on to our development team to make sure our pricing/features page set clear expectations.

Replied 23/12/2019
Fernando
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 09/09/2020

DECENT VOIP SYSTEM FOR SMALL BUSINESS

i have had a pleasant experience with it but it has its limitations.

Pros

dont need any hardware for this system and can use it anywhere. has built in fax and sms capability and contact management, like the online portal for sms messaging very good and quick.

Cons

if you are on an iphone text messages dont come over quickly, you dont get notifications have called many a times to figure out the issue and i cant imagine its a hardware issue as my partners and i have had the issue on all of our iphones. pictures dont come over that well. cant transfer very well to other extensions or outside of the phone system

Alternatives Considered

RingEX

Response from Phone.com

Fernando,

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy that the service is generally working well for you. I have asked our customer success team to reach out and see if we can find a solution for the text messaging issue. You will hear from someone soon.

Replied 17/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/12/2019

Work Calls Made Easy

Pros

I appreciate the versatility that phone.com has to offer when it comes to how you want to handle calls. It's very easy to switch back and forth from sending calls directly to my desk to forwarding them to my cell phone when I'm working from home. I like that you can also make calls from the computer if needed. Once you learn how to navigate the website, it's easy to do everything necessary on your computer, from recording and applying greetings to seeing your call logs all in one place.

Cons

Although the website is very useful, it is somewhat outdated and thus difficult to navigate at first. Some settings are difficult to find and are not intuitive at all. But, once you figure out where everything is and how to set things, up, it's not so bad. It also seems like it can be pretty tough to add a new physical Polycom phone to the system, as it requires calling phone.com from the Polycom phone and potentially staying on the line for a while - this can be inconvenient during a work day.

Response from Phone.com

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. Our teams are currently working on bringing our portal up to date. If you are using SMS or need to listen to your VM's you can now do it in a more convenient way! You can now go to my.phone.com to access your SMS and VM's and access Control Panel. Also, if you need to add another device to your account in the future you can always email [email protected], provide your express service code, devices MAC address, and indicate which existing or new extension you want the device added to and our support team will have this done ASAP.

Replied 08/01/2020
Erin
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 08/06/2023

Phone.com

Pros

I like that it's all internet based and easy to use.

Cons

It was very spotty. We pay for amazing internet so that wasn't the problem.

Alternatives Considered

RingEX
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 05/12/2023

They will torture you when you cancel

Pros

Good price, good number, decent reliability.

Cons

I don't want to associate with ANY company that puts you on hold for one hour when cancelling service. You have no other option. YOU HAVE TO CALL. And then they put you one hold for 1+ hour. And the person was difficult to understand when I finally got through.

Andrew
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 07/10/2019

Phone.com useful for privacy

Phone.com is helpful and I have not had too many problems using it, though I wish the UX was a bit better.

Pros

I like having phone.com because I am able to give clients a phone.com number that is different and distinct from my actual cellphone number.

Cons

The audio transcription of voicemail could use some improvement, as there are inaccuracies. Also, at times it takes a long time to log in and it can be frustrating if you need to access the app quickly.

Response from Phone.com

Hello Andrew,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and experiences related to Phone.com. Our teams continue to work on improving our services and your feedback is most valuable in this process. It saddens us to hear that some of our services have not met your expectations.
Phone.com does offer Human Assisted transcriptions that might better suit your needs. This can be added and/or removed per extension at anytime. In regards to your experience with the app please feel free to call into our 24/7 support line at 1 800 998 7087 or send an email with your concerns to [email protected] and we will be happy to assist you further. We would like to lastly thank you for being a Phone.com customer and we appreciate your business

Replied 20/11/2019
Wilmer
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/07/2020

Lots of featured

Pros

I like that there was a wide range of call routing options

Cons

Website was a little hard to navigate and took longer that it should some some basic functionality.

Alternatives Considered

RingEX

Reasons for Switching to Phone.com

Price
Jessica
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/04/2023

Easily Accessible Work Communication

Pros

There are various options available, and the tool is very configurable. If you want assistance, their customer service professionals are merely a chat message away and are always willing to assist. They may be able to advise you on how to configure the system to meet your individual needs.

Cons

Making a call can take a while to go through, and the process of getting set up can be irritating.

JACK
JACK
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/08/2019

Sound Big For Little Money

I absolutely loved it except that it doesn't have a google chrome extention which made click-to-call- difficult for me

Pros

State of the art PBX was highly customizable and made our business sound like a fortune 500 company.

Cons

It currently does not have a google chrome extention.

Response from Phone.com

Hello Jack,

Thank you for you feedback!

The google chrome extension for the 'Click to Call' feature is actually something that is in high demand for some of our customers. We have been hard at work getting this implemented and will hopefully be launching this in the near feature!

If you ever need assistance with your account, features, or setup please call (844) 755-8566.

Replied 12/08/2019
Thea
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 17/03/2022

Very Poor Quality and No Customer Support At All

Horrible customer support. Buy this service if you like getting ignored and paying for a service you don't receive

Pros

Its available if you like paying for something that constantly has problems

Cons

At random times certain features stop working, such as notifying when you get messages or calls. This is very detrimental when you are running a business and getting back to your client sis important. Several other clinicians in my practice have also experienced these same issues and have had to cancel their service. When you contact customer support, there is no urgency for them to assist you and never return your phone calls or emails. This is highly unprofessional as a business.

Gardner
Gardner
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 08/08/2017

More than doubled their price

Pros

Worked well for several years, before they changed their plans. Had good phone support when I set up a number of years ago and hassle free service until this past month.

Cons

I received a note stating that "unlimited minutes" didn't really mean that if I looked at the fine print and that I would have to upgrade to a plan that was more than double of what I was paying if I wanted to receive this same level of service I had been receiving for more than two years.

Ross
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 08/07/2021

Good if you are just looking for a second number

Good product, not super great. Ended up switching to something that fit my needs better

Pros

Very basic and bare bones. Good for the price depending on what you want to do with it.

Cons

Integrations weren’t very friendly, and if they were, they were more expensive.

Alternatives Considered

Mojo
Zafer
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/08/2022

Phone.com is great for video conferencing

Pros

Phone.com provides an matchless experience for video conferencing along with its great screensharing option.

Cons

Phone.com could provide a better user experience in their mobile applications.

Dawn
Dawn
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 27/08/2014

Terrible User Interface

I initially really liked phone.com for it's flexibility in creating phone tree queues and custom messages. However, their customer "dashboard" is terrible. When I log in (after getting an error message every time) I finally get to the main website sales page - uh, why doesn't it direct me to my dashboard if I'm already a customer? To send a fax or do anything with the system is NOT clear in the least. The first options displayed should be big buttons to 1.Check messages 2.Send a Fax. But instead the big buttons are to view your bill or make a payment. It's not clear where to go to send a fax which the other main reason I got this account. I am a webdesigner and understand User Interface Design. The system sends an email to tell you if and when the fax goes through which is nice. If it fails for some reason you click the button to resend the fax in the email, however, again, another error message about a redirect loop. And after chatting with customer support they said if the resend button doesn't work I have to start over again from scratch. There is no way to log into the account and see the saved fax and resend it. Strange, especially when the email says it will save the fax for 7 days. So I'm not happy at all with the user interface. Too bad because these issues are so unbelievably simple to fix. Oh well, I'll find something better.

Pros

Good custom message creation and phone queue.

Cons

Terrible user interface
No way to resend a fax through the dashboard
Lots of error messages when user their preferred browser (Chrome)
50/50 failure rate on faxes so most have to be sent at least a second time.

Gary
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/05/2021

15 Years Expirience

Make international calls at low cost.

Pros

15 years of great experience with phone .com It is easy to use, it has a flexibility for work that improves business performance.

Cons

Flexibility and many different options.

67 reviews