LogicMonitor Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About LogicMonitor

LogicMonitor’s SaaS-based observability and IT operations data collaboration platform helps ITOps, developers, MSPs and business leaders gain visibility into and predictability across the technologies that modern organizations...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.6

Browse LogicMonitor Reviews

109 of 109 reviews
Sort by:
Robert
Robert
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/02/2016

LogicMonitor is a great choice!

When we approached our monitoring project, we evaluated a number of different solutions. We'd been using Solarwinds for several years and we simply felt that it wasn't the right product for us. That isn't to say that Solarwinds isn't a good product! We used it significantly over the years but we needed something that fit us as an overwhelmed and understaffed IT Team better. We are a small company of about 250 employees and 5 offices across the US and many remote employees around the world. When we came upon LogicMonitor, it was clear that this was a different product and company. They were incredibly helpful during our evaluation and even allowed us to extend our trial period for longer than I am comfortable specifying (more embarrassing to me that our eval took so long). There are many factors that led us to choose LogicMonitor, but some of the biggest are: - Ease of Use: "Out of the box", they recognize and monitor so much of what we use, including the smaller vendors. If they don't recognize something, it is a fairly simple process to request that they add it to their software. Needless to say, this saves us a ton of time! In addition to recognizing the devices, they automatically add a set of monitors that they feel are the most important, but also give you the ability to easily disable what you aren't interested in or add additional monitors if they don't support something you wish to monitor. - SaaS: We knew we wanted something that could provide both internal and external monitoring, AND be available for our technicians, wherever they were. The lone drawback to their model is the number of internal servers required to monitor everything we wish to. For our main office, we needed to deploy a second server to complement the first because we were monitoring so much stuff. A very small price to pay for the ease of use and administration for the platform. - Price: Unlike many other vendors, LogicMonitor doesn't charge you per monitor, they only charge for the device. For example, in other products, a 48-port switch could use up 100+ monitoring licenses to monitor all ports and all of the critical switch functions. Logicmonitor only charges you 1 license to monitor the switch and you can have (I believe) an unlimited number of monitored items within that switch. For a smaller company like ours, cost is definitely a large factor and LogicMonitor was definitely a leader in this category. There are a lot of other factors that I could go into, but I'd rather not write a novel. Suffice to say that if you are in the market for a new monitoring solution, I HIGHLY recommend that you look into LogicMonitor. I'm confident that you will come away impressed and they will immediately become one of your top choices to implement!

Pros

Many of them mentioned above.

Cons

Not many, but the response time for requesting new device/vendor recognition could improve.

Kevin
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/05/2023

It’s pretty good

Pretty good.

Pros

Easy to use and drill into issues, easy to add resources.

Cons

Making dashboards is challenging, configuring alerting rules is cumbersome.

Madalyn
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 11/05/2023

LogicMonitor Review

Pros

LogicMonitor is easy to use, but it can be slightly overwhelming when first implemented due to the large amount of data it pulls. After several months of use I think the most beneficial information has been the resource metric utilization. It helped us discover that some of our core systems were under provisioned, being able to pull the metric information to show more resources were needed helped resolve critical performance issues.

Cons

I think the ability for LogicMonitor to auto correct some of the simple issues that can affect systems is missing. For example, LogicMonitor can report if a Windows service is stopped but it would be a nice feature if LogicMonitor could attempt to automatically restart it. Another nice feature would be if LogicMonitor could monitor software versions and alert if the version changes. An example would be a Windows server that require a certain version of Java.

Top LogicMonitor Alternatives

Ian
Ian
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/12/2018

Fantastic Monitoring Tool

We've been a customer for over a year and have had nothing but a positive experience. We run lean and needed something that wouldn't require a lot of our time and energy to keep running. It also made sense to get something that was cloud based so that if we have our own infrastructure problems it won't necessarily knock out the monitoring that's alerting us on those issues. Chat support is good and available 24/7 and we have a dedicated customer success team contact who can assist with any escalations, questions, or concerns we have.

Pros

It's relatively easy to use while at the same time offering tons of features that you can use to optimize and proactively solve problems. There's a low barrier to entry to start gaining actionable insights into your environment and minimal tweaking is needed. The alerting customization is excellent and it's easy to make sure the correct person or team has access to the alerts they need with easy escalation to a text or phone call if a critical alert isn't acknowledged.

Cons

It monitors all sorts of metrics for different services, but sometimes it's difficult to determine what a metric is actually telling us.
The mobile app is just ok. It is good for quickly acknowledging alerts, but not much else. We have different teams that only need access to certain devices, but the app shows everything. Push notifications would be nice too!

Caroline
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/05/2019

Excellent solution to monitor the performance of applications.

A software that is undoubtedly efficient to carry out the monitoring of applications and can also monitor not only the physical infrastructure but also the virtual one, in this way you are aware of any inconvenience or malfunction to be able to solve it in the shortest time possible or prevent them in a way that leads to much larger problems.

Pros

A software with a very simple and intuitive interface so it is easy to use, is ideal to carry out the monitoring of the performance of the activity of each business application, has metrics that allow it to be very simple to follow up on this process, In addition to its support team is really efficient because if you have any questions with the functions provided by this software you can go to them and very friendly and colloquial lend their help so that you have the correct operation, something else What is worth mentioning and what is really an advantage is that if you notice any problem or malfunction issues alerts that allow you to solve the problem quickly to avoid further damage or loss of time.

Cons

For users without knowledge in the field can be complicated the use of such software, in addition to still has features to improve as provide much more detailed reports to have better knowledge of a problem.

Mike
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/08/2015

Outstanding; Highly Recommended.

Our use case is centered on routers, switches, wlan and other infrastructure hardware components of the service-delivery stack as opposed to servers, applications, etc. Based on LogicMonitor's performance to-date, I would fully expect that we will expand its role.
In selecting LogicMonitor, we heavily weighted factors related to administrative overhead and convenience. On both counts LogicMonitor gets the highest marks:
1)We no longer spend time installing a bloated monitoring application on a server (physical or otherwise) or fighting to upgrade any part of the application's components.
2)We no longer spend time sustaining remote access mechanisms that make it cumbersome to view our monitoring data...wherever and whenever that data is needed, a browser is all that is required.
I highly recommend LogicMonitor as a source of powerful and valuable insight that can be leveraged to maximize the ROI of your IT service-delivery stack.

Pros

-Relatively low-effort administration
-Exceptionally convenient
-Extensive "Out-of-Box" definitions supporting a wide range of vendor product families
-Well-thought UI
-Time spent with LogicMonitor is time learning about the status of your IT Operations, not time spent fighting with a balky, uncooperative monitoring application

Cons

-Not every organization is ready, willing and/or able to transition from CAPEX thinking to the OPEX-centered SaaS world.
-Works best for locations with multiple Internet connections, since loss of Internet connectivity prevents the uploading of collected data to LogicMonitor's cloud processing: there is no local UI.
-Not suitable if your use case demands absolute (immediate ms-by-ms) real-time visibility: there is some latency involved in transmitting collected data to the cloud for processing and presentation.

Trevor
Trevor
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2016

Great Product!

I work for a company that’s split into 10 branch locations. We have only around three IT employees for our company. We decided to look for a networking monitoring program since we are growing quickly and we need a program to provide the health status of our network in a moments notice to find problems, also to help prevent them. We spent a lot of time researching into numerous products, and we decided to go with LogicMonitor. Where there was once darkness, there is now light!

We currently also set up three 48 inch TV’s with chrome OS micro pc’s behind the TV’s for our datacenter. It nicely rotates through all of our monitored devices. Overall it has provided invaluable information to us, is priced competitively, very easily setup, and it does its job well. What more can you ask for in regards to a Network Monitoring solution?

Pros

• Pricing Structure. You pay per device, not per switch port, etc. like other expensive products out there
• It works for a small company, but can easily scale to meet the needs for even a ginormous company.
• Support has been fantastic in helping us get things going, we were up and going within a day (vital for our already busy IT staff)
• We can now receive phone calls, text messages, and e-mails for ANYTHING we want monitored that goes over its defined threshold. If a server or even a SERVICE we monitor goes down at 4am, LogicMonitor let's us know!

Cons

I honestly cannot think of any. Maybe more mobile app features? They have a app, but it's pretty new. But there's not much need for it immediately. It's mostly for NOC purposes, you're not going to monitor all this stuff from a phone typically anyways. But they do have a app.

Mike
Mike
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/12/2018

Single pane of glass

Pros

Easily discovers 95% of what my systems and devices are doing out of the box without any need to specifically enable services to watch and monitor for.

From here I can then write custom monitors. If it can be turned into a number it can be graphed and if it can be graphed you can alert on it.

Cons

Too much javascript making it a heavy application for mobile devices to operate.

Wayne
Wayne
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/11/2018

Simple but extensible

We have a bunch of Logic Monitor dashboard cycling on the screens in our NOC. So we can always get a view of what's going on and what do we need to jump on and deal with ASAP. We also use a Chrome plugin to make an audible alarm if a fire starts in LM, which means we can be more responsive.

Pros

It is really simple to get started with. Load up a probe and watch it start collecting. You can tweak settings and silence specific alarms, and the dashboards can be really powerful.

Cons

While it handles syslogs, the process for generating meaningful alerts from them can be trial and error.

Brett
Brett
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/06/2022

Flexible and very complete monitoring platform

Pros

It has strong fault detection capabilities and alerts are issued quickly. It offers very good customization options and its flexibility allows it to adapt to our IT infrastructure, without complications. Reports with performance metrics are very intuitive. It has versatile options to monitor devices remotely.

Cons

The only thing I think they can add is how to handle the set of alerts, which can be cumbersome at times.

Tim
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/05/2023

Great combination of function and flexibility

Our goals were to deploy a product that would provide a single status view of our infrastructure, help us identify which teams to engage when issues occur, and utilize Saas options from our chosen vendor. It took some time and work, but Logicmonitor was the product we needed to meet our monitoring goals.Logicmonitor helps us identify problems quickly, and see when recovery is complete. Monitoring data history has been extremely useful to conduct post mortems, and predict where resources might be better deployed.Dashboards have allowed us to share pertinent information with non technical parts of the business, so they can see when problems exist without needing to call.Overall, a great product that helps our business function.

Pros

Provided datasources cover most equipmentCustomizationProduct SupportMature product

Cons

Reporting not as customizable as desired

David
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/05/2023

LogicMonitor Review

My experience with LM has been very good. We're currently in the process of revamping the tool in our infrastructure and that's been going smooth.

Pros

LM has tons of features that enable monitoring of very intricate pieces of the infrastructure.

Cons

Due to there being so many intricate pieces, fine tuning everything can be time consume and a little difficult to get correct without learning the tool inside and out.

Joshua
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Excellent product

LM has saved us a ton of money. We setup it and got it monitoring our network very easily. We thought we had a perfect network then LM showed us we had a ton of problems and we were able to fix them before they got worse. I would recommend this and say it is a must for an enterprise level business.

Pros

Adding devices is extrememly easy, When I went to go add a device I was able to do so without looking up instructions. The wizard made it very simple. Not to mention,it interacted with most devices very well by going straight ti snmp and showing all sorts of data.
Support has been a god send when I've had to email or call them, they've been very helpful and quick to respond.

Cons

I don't like the lack of logs, I know LM has a log filing system but it's not enabled by default and it is very hard to find. I would like to by able to go farther back or have some logs I can send to our network team to give them a device's history.

Bronze
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 03/08/2017

From alerts to RDP to organized data. We know before the customer knows.

There is too much to list. It is core to our monitoring.

Pros

Ease of Use - Organization is key to success, and this tool provides easy to trace directory trees.
Organization - We can easily set what type of alerts are red or yellow. What severity to contact us.
Notifications - Enough information is provided in the notifications to engage the customer and begin investigation.
Value for Money - We have not even scratched the surface of what LogicMonitor can do and we are doing more than we could with our previous software.

Cons

Reports - From my understanding there are limitations on what information is generated in the reports. For instance, if we were to report on the number concurrent calls at any particular gateway this information cannot be provided in a report.

George
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/05/2019

A must have app if you are in IT

Overall, I was able to protect the servers, applications, and allow the IT team to meet their SLA (service level agreement).

Pros

This is a web based app. Set up is super easy. LogicMonitor is installed on our mission critical servers. We set it up to notify us (email) when server HD, CPU, memory is over a threshold. If this happens, we can quickly respond.

Cons

Pricing can get expensive if you have a lot of servers.

Robert
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 19/05/2023

Good infrastructure tool for monitoring

Pros

How easy it was to setup and use to monitor devices

Cons

I needs more network modules for monitoring network devices

Joachim
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/01/2023

logicmonitor a good thing to my space work

specially, logicmonitor is a software that i ever imagine to use in my past time and when my friend produce this for my for my work, i can say that it still a good experience for to have to discovery this and until now i always use this and i hope to be not desapoint in the future

Pros

there is the protection in real time, this is the thing that i like in this software and also the cloud security this is so awesome

Cons

soetime is very various becouse its complexe use, but nothing else for me it still great

Jared
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/11/2018

True Visibility

Pitfalls with Layer 2/3 configurations. Our shortcomings with resource allocation on certain servers.

Pros

LogicMonitor is worth every penny to have full visibility over your network. It is versatile enough so that I can keep an eye on my Layer 2/3 switches and my servers to know if something is wrong at a moment's notice.

Cons

Maybe some prebuilt widgets in the dashboard to gather more ideas on how to best utilize the tools.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Great monitoring tool

Pros

It really does what it has to do - it monitors almost everything that you could think of, it has a lot of datasources for almost any software or hardware, it has flexible notification system, and, finally, useful dashboards.

Cons

Learning curve is pretty high.
Some datasources are too basic.
Personally i would like to have software/hardware assessment module in LM.

Jonathan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/02/2016

What can I say?

What can I say? I have been using LogicMonitor for about a year now, what a year it has been. I am amazed at the things it can do and the time it saves me. I am able to monitor all my hosts and servers down to such a granular level that I can see if a service is started, disk usage and performance,the performance of interfaces, and a lot more. You can even create custom monitors to monitor just about anything on a device. The dashboard can be configured to provide any information at just a glance. In the past year I have seen the program grow and become more robust, yet still remain easy to configure and use. Knowing the issues in my environment before my clients do has been such a plus and saved many service hours. I don't know what more I can say except LogiMonitor is a great product that does what it says and does it simply. I am pleased to be a client of LogicMonitor and look forward to being one for many years to come.

Pros

It works and it works well.

Cons

I really can't think of any.

Bernie
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/12/2018

Best Nagios Replacement!

One of the best companies I have dealt with and by far the best support.

Pros

Ease of deployment and Support are top notch.

Cons

Can get pricey and cloud account monitoring features are still in their infancy.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/08/2019

Granular Reporting

The program cut down the amount of time engineers spent checking resource management of vcenter.

Pros

INTEGRATIONS! Logic Monitor allows us to monitor every aspect of our customer environments. We use the connectwise integration top open and close tickets.

Cons

It requires a lot of tuning for alerts that occur often but are still important.

Sunil
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/05/2023

Wonderful stuff

Pretty good which helps my monitoring easier.

Pros

Netscan and arrangement for discover devices once everything is set.

Cons

Few of data source like monitoring local SSL certificate from server are missing.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 29/11/2018

Easy setup, well rounded feature set

Have used Logic Monitor for about 4 years and have been very happy. Since then we’ve moved most of our infrastructure to the cloud, and LM still does a good job, even though we do not have LM Cloud.

Pros

Intelligent defaults make for a very easy setup. All of the basic monitors / alerts are enabled out of the box.

Cons

Have not tried the LM Cloud offering due to its steep price. Would be nice if there was a more affordable package for small companies.

Amit kumar
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/05/2023

Very happy

Pros

I like the granular monitoring it does which is very helpful

Cons

Could be easier in terms of configuration.

109 reviews