Square 9 Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Square 9

Square 9 is a document management solution that helps businesses handle and automate human resource processes. Teams can create a single, secure location where all employee records are organized and easily accessible from within...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.4

Browse Square 9 Reviews

122 of 122 reviews
Sort by:
Korey
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/07/2017

The Konica Minolta Professional Services team delivers Square 9 as a document management...

Pros

The Square 9 solution platform offers a wide variety of products for document capture, storage, retention, retrieval and workflow processes to increase our customers productively and enable them to work efficiently. Square 9 is the perfect fit for our existing customers already utilizing Bizhub multi-function devices. The Square 9 bEST connector directly integrates with our devices, simplifying scanning, indexing, and searching of documents from the panel. The user interface design is easy to use and significantly cuts down on training costs. The simplistic GlobalSearch and GlobalCapture configuration interface enables our customers to really own the solution and makes it easy for them to apply changes or expand the system to other business areas within the company. The recent advancements with GlobalCapture provides enhanced capabilities to automate the capture of information for unstructured documents. The ability to automatically separate, classify, and extract data from unstructured documents is a major enhancement to the Square 9 platform. The GlobalAction workflow design canvas provides many tool and options to design a solution to meet specific business requirements. The flexibility of the configuration provides several benefits for document workflow automation increasing our customer's return on investment!

Cons

Software and re-seller / customer support can always be improved, however the software works great and the Square 9 support team does a great job responding to cases! Square 9 regularly releases new updates and enhancements to their software. At times, response times may be long depending on a variety of situations. A regularly updated knowledge base for customers and re-seller's on common issues and request would be a great help or a community for re-seller's and customer to share or post new ideas, enhancements, or common problems may expand the community.

Overall great system and support. Highly recommend!

Michael
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/08/2023

Long Time Square 9 User

We use Square 9 for basic document storage, AP workflow to get invoice approvals from managers. Online Purchase Order form for our employees.

Pros

We've been using Square 9 for over 10 years. Very easy to implement. Forms has enabled us to provide our users with an online Purchase Order solution.

Cons

Not a lot of Cons, but maybe a way to show the admins there is an update available and list what improvements are available thru updates.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Michael! We are glad to hear you are seeing success with our forms and AP workflows. Thank you for being a longtime Square 9 customer.

Replied 22/08/2023
Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 10/04/2018

GlobalSearch, formerly SmartSearch, used to be a favorite of ours. Now it lacks a lot of...

We used to like it, but as it allegedly advances in software development, it bothers us more and more. This is not advancement, this is software regression.

Pros

It was cost-competitive, but recent price hikes have lessened that advantage. Has an easy-to-configure archive setup, but its getting messier on their new web consoles. I also like the way it can be both web and desktop client, but new developments in this software are leaving us disappointed.

Cons

The viewer interface is slow in launching a lot of retrieved documents. The Scanning Services to process documents runs slower than our old Digitech did, (and that's pretty slow). Their batch manager is NOT easy to use, and the new workflow interface is a mess.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review GlobalSearch. You feedback is appreciated! We would like the opportunity to speak with you on your concerns and to remedy any problems you are experiencing. Please contact [email protected] and we will be happy to escalate any issues you have with the software, and look to have them resolved as quickly and efficiently as possible. We look forward to getting you back on track, and appreciate your continued support.

Thank you!

Replied 17/04/2018

Top Square 9 Alternatives

Rodney
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/09/2023

Our experience with Square 9

For the cost, Square 9 is a good product. We have quoted other document imaging programs and the prices don't compare. For the most part, it does exactly what we need it to do and it properly stores all of our AP documents.

Pros

The workflow runs pretty smooth, and we are able to get these invoices to the people that need to see them, quickly. Once AP enters the invoice, they don't need to revisit the invoice until it is time to print the check. Therefore, the process is pretty easy for the AP person after the initial invoice entry.

Cons

There are disconnects often between Square 9 and our server. Some of the issues come from our end with the server, but when there is an issue with Square 9, it can take a while to get it fixed. I believe there aren't a ton of people working between our software company and Square 9, so that is probably the biggest issue we have.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Rodney. Glad to hear our solution has improved your company's AP processes. If you ever have issues, don't hesitate to reach out to our support team and they will be able to address you quickly. Thanks for being a Square 9 customer.

Replied 12/09/2023
Shawn
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/10/2023

Saves time even for how lightly we use it

Overall it is a time saver, I think it has the potential to streamline our business even further if I could get time to go through the various educational courses that are offered.

Pros

When it is setup, it just works and without any issues or problems. It does a good job of connecting multiple scanned documents to a single output file following defined naming rules. This is our main use of it at the moment, though there are lots of additional functions and processes I would like to implement. It is a new application for me and was setup before I started, so I have a bit to learn before I can add things.

Cons

I have found the connection to the server to be very slow and unresponsive at times. I have not been able to trace the source of the lag. There have been times the screen is unresponsive, but not clearly because the application has locked up either.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Shawn! We are glad to hear that our platform is improving your document process. We appreciate your feedback.

Replied 09/11/2023
Alexander
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2023

GlobalSearch, GlobalCapture reviews

It is very easy to maintain software with great support.

Pros

Easy to set up workflows, minimum time required for maintenance..

Cons

Not easy to set up user's permissions, problems installing Extensions for some users

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review Alexander! We are glad to hear you are having success with our workflows. We appreciate your feedback.

Replied 27/10/2023
Vern
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/08/2023

Square9 Global Search Software Review

We have been using the Square 9 product for well over 5 years and the more you use it, the more you want to load into the system for simple retrieval and multi-user access throughout the organization.

Pros

The Auto Indexing using templates has had a greater impact on our efficiency than we ever expected! Every company needs document management and storage, but how it gets done is the real key and Square9 excels in that area!

Cons

We have had a few struggles with integration of the security pass-through with Windows Active Directory, but by utilizing security group permissions, it was easier to manage and is no longer an issue.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Vern! We are glad to hear our platform has improved your document management. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for being a continued Square 9 customer.

Replied 22/08/2023
Tanya
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2023

Great product and Customer Service

My experience was great and would recommend them to others and have!

Pros

The kickoff team was great at was helpful and informative when we reached out to them.

Cons

We passed our project time window but did not receive a warning we were at the end of the project time frame. Reaching out a week before with a red flag would have been great. We ended up expanding the project and addressed any lingering issues at that time.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review Tanya! We are glad to hear that you had a great experience with our kick off team! We appreciate your feedback.

Replied 27/10/2023
Alexis
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/09/2023

We love Square 9

The quality of the product and the price point doesn't even compete with other options we looked at.

Pros

The workflow for AP invoices and the document imaging storage is a lifesaver at our company. We process dozens of invoices daily, and automating the process through Square 9 is crucial to the efficiency at which we operate.

Cons

I am least satisfied with the speed at which my documents export. It doesn't take that long, but to import a batch of invoices to be processed typically takes one minute to populate in an Excel sheet.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Alexis! We are glad to hear our workflows are improving your organization's efficiency. We appreciate your feedback.

Replied 13/09/2023
Adrian
Adrian
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/08/2023

Sq9

Fairly good

Pros

Ease of use / OCR / Invoicing / Workflows

Cons

Server sometimes crashes / administration

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review Adrian. We appreciate your feedback.

Replied 22/08/2023
Meredith
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 05/06/2023

Excellent Product

Overall Square9 has made an enormous positive impact on our organization and we are very happy with the decision to use their products.

Pros

The best part of Square9 is the visibility and fast access to documents, both in process and archived.

Cons

The worst part of Square9 is that we are not completely reliant on it for our Accounts Payable processing, so when the system stops working, our entire ability to move forward with processing and paying invoices is held up until it is fixed. Fixes for those urgent problems do not happen as quickly as we need them done.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hi Meredith, thanks for your review! We are thrilled to hear your organization has improved using our solutions. Thank you for being a Square 9 customer.

Replied 09/06/2023
Chris
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/06/2017

Super happy with our implementation so far. We're just getting into things now...

one step closer to going paperless

Pros

Love the workflow design interface for global capture and global action. Also, the batch manager is SO useful in tracking the workflows and how they are working (or not working). The ability to tie documents to other databases with lookups is also very powerful.

Cons

I wish the documentation had some examples, esp with the OCR template setup. An example in particular of the directional OCR zones with repeats for line item data extraction into a table field. Even a walk through video would be VERY helpful. The current documentation doesn't explain all the settings and how to configure them for repeating zones. Since its difficult to explain in text, a visual would REALLY help. I've been fighting with it for some time now and I still don't have it working.

A hyperlink data type for URL fields would be a great add on. We have many documents that we would like to link to a mapping application ie. work permits link to a location. Many of our documents have a spatial reference that i have in a lookup field in another database that has geographic coordinates based on address. I can't believe this hasn't been implemented yet?! The proposed workaround in the forum doesn't work. The ability to click a hyperlink field that opens a new browser window to a specific URL would be SO nice.

Matthew
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 05/05/2023

Great value

Pros

It is next to impossible to find an equitable solution for a similar cost. They price very appropriately for what you get.

Cons

Standard headaches that you could get with any number of platforms. Things happen, stuff may not be configured correctly, etc. I wish it were more intuitive and modernized, but that sounds like something that's in the works anyways so we'll see how that turns out.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hi Matthew thanks for your review. Glad to hear Square 9 is meeting your needs. If you ever need assistance setting up your environment, please reach out to [email protected].

Replied 15/05/2023
Sandra
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/04/2023

Smart Search

Awesome cant say enough about it or the service they give

Pros

Ease of use and the cost of what you get with the product

Cons

It is a great system and is easy to use

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hi Sandra, thank you for reviewing us! We are glad to hear you are having success with our solutions. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, so thanks for your kind words and we look forward to a long and continued relationship.

Replied 01/05/2023
Olivia
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/07/2023

Love this product

I love this system it has been a life saver for my job!

Pros

I love the tailoring you can do to everything in every aspect!

Cons

It takes a bit of time to set up and import if you are doing it on your own. There is some trial and error for sure!

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Olivia. We are glad to hear our solutions have fit your needs. We appreciate your feedback.

Replied 24/07/2023
April
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/06/2023

Square 9 - Good Product

Pros

Dragging and dropping docs into this system is great.

Cons

Our licenses keep getting locked up because the application runs in a browser and our people are used to just "X" ing out of a browser when they're done - but that doesn't release the Square9 licenses.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hi April, glad you are having success with our solutions. If this problem continues, please reach out to our support staff.

Replied 09/06/2023
Jack
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 30/06/2017

Global Search has reduced our storage of paperwork by volumes and made retrieval instant.

Reduction of physically stored paperwork as well as a reduction in lost paperwork. Not having to increase staff as the company has grown.

Pros

From a technical standpoint, I like the fact that it takes little of my time to maintain and administrate. With the significant enhancements over the last year or two, I see the ability to automate more and more processes which are done throughout our company.

Cons

We do our own design and development. Working through the reseller for issues and questions can be time consuming and sometimes frustrating. From a user perspective, I can't think of any significant cons...

shirley
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/07/2023

Great and easy tool to use.

We are storing all of our legal documents, tax returns, account payable checks, journal entries, ACH/Wire documents and a few other random documents. We have security in place but storing them here allows our other divisions to view these items and eliminate the need for copies stored at their site.

Pros

I like how easy it is for users to use. Very little training is necessary. Accounting was skeptical but I believe they love it now.

Cons

Sometimes the template and workflow creation can be tricking. There is so much you can do but the online training only dives in so deep.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Shirley! We are glad to hear you are able to securely store your documents in our platform. Thanks for your feedback.

Replied 04/08/2023
Jennifer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2023

Square9 software upgraded

Pros

The easy searching in multiple archives.

Cons

Some of the newer features take training to figure out and the security takes testing.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Jennifer! We are glad to hear you like how easy it is to search in our platform. We appreciate your feedback.

Replied 29/09/2023
Cory
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2023

Square 9 was a great change

Overall our end users seem to like Square 9 and the management side is much more streamlined and intuitive than other products that we have used in the past.

Pros

We switched from a different document management solution due to the complexity of managing the system. Square 9 made the install and setup a breeze. Day to day management and use is much easier with its Active Directory integration.

Cons

I currently do not have any cons compared to what we have used in the past.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Cory! Glad to hear we have made your document management much easier. We appreciate your feedback.

Replied 29/09/2023
Brian
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 21/06/2017

GlobalSearch is very easy to use, has all the function I need, and looks great.

Pros

I enjoy the ability I have to customize it to my needs. I know I have just touched the surface of what my software has the ability to do.

Cons

The software support team is usually very slow to respond. There needs to be a rating system of how critical a support ticket is.

The desktop application runs much slower than the application on the server. Probably more of an issue with my network than anything else, but still annoying.

Liliana
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 15/06/2023

Review

My overall experience is okay, like I said it's not that great to manage employee files.

Pros

The product is easy to use and manage. But when you get to look up files, it's not the best.

Cons

Even though the product is easy to use, it's not fit for employee files. The files themselves are not easy to manage or find the documents easily. It does not provide like subfolders. You have to scroll down, it's hard when the employee has about 500 documents. You can't even do a search with the new uploaded files.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hi Liliana, thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback, if you have any questions about your solution, please reach out to your Square 9 representative for help. Thanks for being a Square 9 customer.

Replied 23/06/2023
George
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/12/2023

Evaluation of Square 9

I am very satisfied with the Square 9 usage and ability for our school system. We mainly use it to store and recall documents on a daily basis throughout the school year.

Pros

I like the Document storage and working in each document plus the PDF conversion of each document.

Cons

Should be easier to troubleshoot issues instead of having to know SQL to do so plus information regarding the locations and troubleshooting.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, George! We are glad you are having success storing your documents with our platform. We appreciate your feedback.

Replied 29/12/2023
Bill
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/06/2017

We had some reoccurring issues when first implemented. Few and far between afterwards.

We are eliminating our physical storage.

Pros

Simplistic enough for our current use. We will be able to expand our usage as our needs grow in the future.

Cons

Some of the configuration setup could be a bit more simplistic. Video tutorials would be a massive help.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Bill,

Thanks for the great feedback.

We just wanted to let you know that there are several video tutorials for GlobalCapture configuration already available. We are actively developing additional videos for GlobalSearch administration as well. You can request access to these online training classes at www.square-9.com/resources/education/.

There are also a number of video tech tips available at www.square-9.com/product-videos/technical-tip-series/.

Hope this helps and once again, thanks for your continued support!

Replied 29/06/2017
Matt
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/06/2023

Square 9 for "Windows"

Square 9 has helped our business get more organized and secure. We have several sales people with traveling computers and Square 9 has created a hub for all our order document s and invoices.

Pros

Square 9, for our window company, helps keep documents flowing and accessible for all sales people. Order documents and invoices can be found easily and minimize the need for accounting folks to help with the simple everyday tasks.

Cons

Can be hard to find things at the beginning.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Matt! We are glad to hear your company has been able to easily access documents. We appreciate the feedback.

Replied 16/06/2023
122 reviews