User Reviews Overview

About BugHerd

BugHerd is a cloud-based issue tracking and project management software solution for web developers and designers. The solution helps convert client feedback into tasks, which include all the needed changes and screenshots. With...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

Browse BugHerd Reviews

57 of 55 reviews
Sort by:
Dealdiane D.
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 05/05/2018

Great for client and QA collaboration

Pros

This is a great tool for when you want clients and quality assurance testers to be able to mark items that needs attention.

Cons

Needs more (built-in) integration with major bug tracking softwares. Marker can sometimes point to a wrong location but screenshots can also be taken when creating an issue as a solution to that

Christian T.
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/07/2021

Bugherd is as indispensable as email

Im a huge fan of Bugherd. It's open all day and I constantly refer to it for project/task updates. In a virtual team setting and work from home, it has become indispensable.

Pros

Bugherd is the perfect tool for clients to capture ideas, bugs and issues on their site. We can also use it to communicate with all parties involved on the task and track the progress of the ticket.

Cons

Not much to dislike. There are opportunities to make it better including adding time tracking.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thanks Christian for the lovely review and your suggestions for making BugHerd even more useful for you. Love it!

Replied 19/07/2021
Chuck S.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/06/2020

Wonderful product that does exactly what is says it does.

Wonderful product, at a great price does exactly what is says it does. Loved the easy to use Kanban. One of the best products we have used.

Pros

Simple to deploy, simple to use. Even the technically unskilled were able to note issues that needed attention. We used BugHerd to successfully maintain a 600 plus page website through two CMS changes, and it worked flawlessly.

Cons

A bit difficult to note changes on mobile, but it seems like that has been addressed now.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thanks for the glowing review, Chuck. You've definitely put it through its paces with two CMS changes for a 600+ page website! Glad the mobile tweaking has been useful for you too.

Replied 16/06/2020

Top BugHerd Alternatives

Scott J.
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/08/2019

Bug Tracking Done Right

This is a product that has proven its value over the years. The time savings and overall efficiencies for website projects (managing front end builds and CMS integration) are amazing since we started using BugHerd.

Pros

The Intuitive and robust nature of the product makes it an invaluable tool that we can not live without.

Cons

The Mobile Support could be better BUT it is in the works.

Response from Macropod Software

Thank you so much for leaving a review Scott. BugHerd wouldn't function without awesome customers like you.

Replied 14/08/2019
Elizabeth M.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/10/2020

I love bugherd!

Pros

very easy to use, easy to report issues and sort them. usefull to have context for the issues.

Cons

I have nothing to report about the cons.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Elizabeth, thank you for such a wonderful review! It's so great to hear that BugHerd is making you and your team's work easier.

Replied 15/10/2020
Matt M.
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/09/2020

BugHerd has become essential to my day-to-day work

Exceptional.

Pros

Overall absolutely fantastic. After using BugHerd I can't imagine a better way to manage tasks with our web agency.

Cons

N/A - Whenever I have had any issues, the team have been exceptionally helpful in resolving them.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hey Matt, thank you so much for such an amazing 10/10 review! We're very glad that we've been such a big help with managing tasks for you and the team.

Replied 15/10/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/08/2018

Great for getting feedback from users.

Pros

Very simple to use. We have a number of young people that can help us with testing when we use this product.

Cons

Pricing is a bit high, but they don't really have competition, so it makes sense.

Dennis H.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/08/2019

Track your bugs and tasks easily

Pros

- Easy to use for customers
- Connection between ticket and webpage frontend clarifies the task at hand and minimizes feedback loops
- UI is very cleaned up and intuitive

Cons

- No Jira integration
- I have to write at least 40 characters in this box... ;-)

Response from Macropod Software

Thank you Dennis, we appreciate your feedback and the team is stoked to find out that you are enjoying BugHerd. Have you tried our new Zapier integration we released a few weeks back? It will help you integrating BugHerd with Jira :). In fact, we even have a pre-made Zapier Template for connecting to JIRA so it's super simple. Please email BugHerd support if you have any issues or thoughts about the integration, we're always happy to help. https://support.bugherd.com/hc/en-us/articles/204171400-How-to-use-Zapier-with-Bugherd

Replied 14/08/2019
Carlos A.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/08/2019

Great for fast QA

Pros

Screenshotting
Tagging
Email comms
Web extension

Cons

Limited kanban
Not customizable enough (need to override names)

Response from Macropod Software

Thank you for dropping by and leaving a review Carlos. It's very much appreciated.

Replied 14/08/2019
Shivani N.
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 15/03/2019

BugHerd Review

Pros

BugHerd makes it super easy to submit QA tickets and see them in one place. In addition, it's super easy to collaborate with others on these tickets and take actions. I really enjoy the snapshot feature and ability to put a ticket on a mockup itself.

Cons

BugHerd could be a little mroe visually engaging and interesting in its design approach.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thanks for your awesome review and feedback, we appreciate it.

Replied 16/12/2019
Mark B.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/02/2020

A no-brainer purchase for any agency or development team

A pleasure to use. Easy to install and use and it makes QA testing a delight.

Pros

It removes any ambiguity about bugs and feature requests. Being able to annotate a comment directly on a live / staging website, is a huge perk and something that I now cannot live without.

Cons

The lack of customizable columns in their kanban-style layout is a pity. Not a deal breaker, but our agency workflow does not follow a 'backlog', 'doing', 'done', 'closed' workflow and we end up having to have internal discussions about what 'backlog' actually represents in our own workflow. Would be great to rename these columns and have more/less of them.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you so much for your fantastic review Mark! Your feedback is how we continue to improve. You'll be pleased to hear that custom columns are on their way, stay tuned!

Replied 14/02/2020
Elliott R.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/07/2021

An essential tool for serious project management

This product is exceptional, without it web and software development would be much harder to manage, I manage multiple projects each having multiple members, the thought of tracking bugs from multiple sources like I used to in email and spreadsheets would literally take for ever to track, update and share, BugHerd has saved me and my team thousands of wasted hours!

Pros

Projected based in-browser centralised tasks in one place makes project management a breeze, also having comments in one thread related to a single task helps to pinpoint and focused on bug tracking that others products just can’t do well. I couldn’t bear to go back to email or spreadsheet task list!

Cons

As projects grow and users need to be added to different projects the cost can get expensive, be aware that the lift from 10 users to 25,50 isn’t obvious from the outset, know this in advance so it can be absorbed in your SLA’s

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Elliott,
You've made our day by letting us know your team has saved thousands of wasted hours with BugHerd. Thanks for your thorough and kind review.

Replied 19/07/2021
Paul K.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/05/2021

Helps Make Large Projects Much Less Overwhelming

Pros

The ease of just quickly adding a small task helps prioritize and keep a reminder to complete a task that would otherwise be forgotten or buried in someone's inbox. Also the ability to add attachments or associated screenshots is very helpful.

Cons

The ability to clear or check and move multiple tasks over to the next status/column is missing. For example, I would love to be able to move several items from "Completed in DEV [Branch]" to "Ready for RELEASE [Branch]" when doing a code merge.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Such lovely words, Paul! Glad we're helping with prioritising and capturing all tasks in large projects.
Thanks for the feedback about moving multiple tasks, you are not alone with that wish.

Replied 01/06/2021
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/01/2019

Fast bug tracking for bulk bugs, with slow development of new features

I've been using BugHerd for around 3 years now on large scale web projects, often with 500-2000 bugs reported throughout the project life. I've recently tested all of the key bug tracking tools available for website development, and BugHerd is hands down, still the fastest and most useful tool for bug reporting with a useful user area for bug management.

The tool could be so much better though if the dev team behind it invested some more time and resources to make bulk bug management and integrations better.

Pros

Fast bug reporting with easy to set tags, users and descriptions.

Easy to filter user area with kanban columns, search and the ability to go click on a bug and be anchored to a pin in the bugs location on your website.

No need to install code for each website you test.

Cons

The development team is very slow to update and make changes to BugHerd. BugHerd is lacking bulk select features, and their connections to third party tools with better backend management aren't up to scratch.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you for your fabulous review. We're glad to hear you're still a fan of the product. Rest assured we are working on some fantastic new updates that you'll definitely appreciate in 2020.

Replied 16/12/2019
Phillip Q.
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 13/02/2018

Nice UI. Not compatible with responsive websites, however

Easy for the client to log bugs and to view details about the bug without having to go back to the client to ask more questions and it automatically takes a screenshot from the client's computer when logging the bug.

Pros

I like the nicely designed UI which allows you to use drag and drop mouse movements to move jobs from in progress to completed etc.
I like how you can comment on items and how the client can respond. You can see the client's browser, OS and screen size automatically so you don't need to ask the client themselves!

Cons

When the client logs a bug in a responsive view and you load the bug task in a full desktop view, hidden mobile elements that aren't available in the desktop view are also hidden. It's not easy to know they are talking about the mobile view without manually checking the screen resolution every time you view a new bug.
The extra client details are only accessible if the client installs the BugHerd browser plugin.

Gary S.
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/04/2020

Essential Tool

Pros

Integration was very easy and it's easy for my clients to use. We use Bugherd for all bug reporting and most feature requests.

Cons

I can't think of anything that could be improved.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Gary, wow thank you for a 10/10 review! We couldn't be happier to hear you can't think of any improvements.

However, we will continue to make updates that ensure your workflow for bug tracking and collecting client feedback becomes easier and easier! Thanks again.

Replied 24/04/2020
Jo ann D.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/04/2020

Improves efficiency

Great

Pros

Improves efficiency and productivity. Keeps everyone on track.

Cons

Limited integration. I wish there's trello integration. :)

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you so much for a 10/10 review Jo Ann! We really appreciate you taking the time and love hearing that BugHerd improves the efficiency and productivity of your team. We'll certainly take your integration feedback on board, stay tuned for our regular product updates.

Replied 11/05/2020
Genevieve M.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2020

Great Project Management Tool!

Bugherd ensures that there is little to no miscommunication on task changes or issues. It's an easy to use tool that can be picked up and understood by almost anyone.

Pros

Easily review projects with internal teams as well as clients The front end application of a point and click directly onto the issue or change makes it easy to follow and track. The back end Kanban can be easily manipulated to show important tasks and order tasks in priorities.

Cons

It can be a bit buggy on the front end of the software, with task notifications dropping off or shifting positions.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Huge thank you for the review Genevieve. We're happy to hear that BugHerd has eased your feedback process internally and externally. We have passed on your feedback to the dev team in regards to the notifications, thank you so much for flagging it. We are always on the lookout for ways to improve the product so your review has been extremely helpful.

Replied 10/01/2021
John R.
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/04/2021

Carpenter Additive - PowderLife ONLINE

Pros

Ability to communicate between Commercial department to Software Development team.

Cons

Inability to group similar logs (multiple users that may log the same issue) - ability would also help prioritization.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi John,
Great to hear BugHerd's helping with communication between different areas of the business. Thanks for taking the time to provide some useful feedback about grouping similar tasks. Will share that with the rest of the team.

Replied 01/06/2021
Adam S.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/06/2021

BugHerd is a life saver

We use this with our customers to help make the process of identifying bugs easier for us and for them. It works every single time, even our less tech-savvy clients are able to use this with ease!

Pros

We absolutely love how easy it is to add, edit and deal with bugs in our website applications.

Cons

There is nothing we don't like about the software

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Adam,
What a lovely review you've left for us. We're so chuffed to be called a life saver!

Replied 30/06/2021
Denitsa G.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Great tool for small and medium-sized businesses

I've been using this tool for over 1.5 years and I love it. It helps keep up with our QA process and keeps track of all the bug reports. It has easy to use comment area where people can ask for clarification on each task/bug and it also automatically tracks all the nesessary technical details (screen resolution, operating system etc) when you report a bug, which a developer would need. I've used other alternatives such as Zendesk (which is also a great tool) however for smaller teams, I find BugHerd to be a great solution.

Pros

BugHerd is very easy to use. I haven't run into a case where someone (neither a client or a developer) has difficulties hitting the ground running with it.

Cons

The email notifications can be a much. There is an option to modify that in the settings of course, however I find clients don't typically dive into those.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hey Denitsa, wow your 10/10 review means a lot to us! We're so glad that BugHerd has been so helpful for you, and your feedback is being passed on to our team as we do our best to make BugHerd even better.

Replied 15/10/2020
Brittany S.
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/04/2020

Amazing all round product

Pros

We love the simplicity that Bugherd gives to our clients. They can submit feedback or issues directly on the frontend of their website quickly. Bugherd has helped give clear communication channels to our clients and given us the ability to discuss issues as ease.

Cons

Direct Intergration into Jira would have been good we have managed to do it via Zapier.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you so much for your glowing 10/10 review, Brittany. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We are always looking to improve the product to be the absolute best for collecting feedback and tracking bugs with clients.

Replied 29/04/2020
Tom L.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/04/2020

Essential for our work flow

We use it just about every day for all web projects and would hate to be without it. It's indispensable.

Pros

Marking comments in real-time on the actual web page was a huge plus for us.

Cons

Early reliance on browser extensions for some functionality was a bit of an issue for some clients as they require assistance from their IT dept to get installed - if it was possible at all.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Thank you for taking the time to review BugHerd for us Tom. We really appreciate the feedback and are so glad to hear you love the product so much.

Replied 28/04/2020
Alicia C.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/04/2020

Makes our Team more Efficient

Using Bugherd has allowed me to keep a consistent workflow, even when work needs to be QA'd. Using the tool makes the process quick and efficient, and I'm able to communicate thoroughly with the engineers on my team.

Pros

What I love most about this software is the ease of use. I can translate bugs to the developers on my team so easily, and quickly! We are a fast paced company and this helps keep it that way.

Cons

Ideally, I would love a mobile version - so I can test on my device (rather than just the in browser inspect mode for mobile). Other than that, I love the product.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Hi Alicia, thank you so much for such a fantastic review. We really appreciate the feedback and are dedicated to continually improving the product so that your team can continue being fantastically efficient.

Replied 29/04/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/12/2019

Amazing feedback tool

We used Bugherd on two different website launches, one of which was a web application which required a lot of testing before going live. The use of Bugherd easily cut a few weeks off of our projects by streamlining the feedback/bug reporting features.

Pros

The simplicity of installation and then the ability to direct users to simply click on a feedback tab on our website was awesome. Users were able to submit feedback simply, power users with the browser extension could submit more informative feedback with screenshots, and the kanban style board for managing feedback was SO helpful for prioritizing and tracking bugs and issues.

Cons

As far as I am concerned it is perfect in every way. There is not much more one can ask for when using a tool that only requires a simple snippet of code to change the way your users provide feedback.

Response from Splitrock Studio

Practically perfect in every way? Wow! What an awesome review. Thank you so much, we are so pleased that our tool makes getting actionable feedback easy for you and your clients!

Replied 16/12/2019
57 reviews