Jamf Pro Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Jamf Pro

Jamf Pro is a cloud-based patch management system which helps network managers and technology professionals monitor patches for applications such as Mac, Google Chrome, Adobe Flash and Microsoft Office. Its key features include...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.7

Browse Jamf Pro Reviews

522 of 522 reviews
Sort by:
Daniel
Daniel
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/09/2019

the best MDM for Apple devices

using to manage multiple iPads at multiple locations and keep software up to date

Pros

Works seamlessly with Apple devices and software, easy to deploy, easy to manage multiple devices in multiple locations.

Cons

a little difficult to learn, if you've never used an MDM before, but it's not too bad once you get it set up

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Meraki

Switched From

Cisco Meraki

Reasons for Switching to Jamf Pro

price, better integration with Apple devices
Nolan
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/08/2020

Feature rich MDM with excellent support

We're happy with Jamf Pro because we feel confident that we can manage our fleet of machines with more reliability and take advantage of additional features offered by this MDM. We are using Jamf Pro Cloud and the upgrades are automatic. We have cut support time and cost in half due to not having to constantly upgrade and maintain an on-prem solution.

Pros

Jamf Pro delivers software, configurations, and restrictions with accuracy and reliability.

Cons

There are some counter-intuitive processes that might seem redundant or additional steps. Jamf Pro has many features and many ways to configure delivery.

Reasons for Choosing Jamf Pro

We moved to Jamf Pro to take advantage of the reliability of the industry standard for Apple. The issues with our previous MDM kept adding up and we were troubleshooting MDM issues on a monthly basis. Our hope is that Jamf Pro proves reliable for years to come.

Reasons for Switching to Jamf Pro

We chose Jamf Pro as our platform because of the balance of features and cost that outweighed the others. Jamf's reputation also had a lot to do with our decision.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 16/04/2019

Good for compliance; bad for developers

Pros

Makes it easy to push out mandatory software patches to mass amounts of users, with integrated device policy rules.

Cons

Background processes often cause problems for software engineering teams, due to conflicts with disk i/o that cause throttling of disk usage on build processes. This can lead to complaints from engineering teams that the software interferes with daily development tasks.

Top Jamf Pro Alternatives

Adam
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 08/02/2022

Great MDM with lots of feature, but you have to hunt for a lot of it in JAMF Nation

Overall, I enjoy JAMF and am very familiar with it and taught myself how to manage the macOS environment because JAMF has many great features

Pros

Basic functionality works great and has many powerful features

Cons

Many things that JAMF can do can only be done due to fellow JAMF admins providing scripts they have created themselves within JAMF Nation (which is an open source free blog site that JAMF manages). It is great but it is also sometimes a bit frustrating to have to dig into how to do this and that and that it is not just built in somehow.

Alternatives Considered

Kandji

Reasons for Switching to Jamf Pro

JAMF was purchased before I started at my current role. I would have picked Kandji if it were around at the time.
John
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 21/07/2022

Lots of Features if you use them

JAMF Pro is great but can be a huge learning curve for the entry level IT departments within organizations. But AMAZING when it comes to all the features that it has.

Pros

JAMF Pro is packed with tons of amazing features that larger organizations can benefit from where some of there competitors lack in offerings

Cons

JAMF Pro is a beast of a platform which is great for larger organizations but for can be a bit difficult for smaller orgs. The everyday type tools seem to be deep into the platform to get to vs being easily accessible.

Alternatives Considered

Kandji

Reasons for Switching to Jamf Pro

I ended up switching from JAMF to Kandji because we just didn't use all the features and couldn't justify the cost of it.
Dwayne
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/08/2020

Great MDM solution for macOS

Overall we have had a positive experience. We only manage our macOS devices at this time, and are really still just getting systems on boarded, but it has been great so far.

Pros

The ease of use. We have been looking for an MDM solution for our Apple products for a while and JAMF provides full support for all Apple products. It was fairly easy to hit the ground running with the on site setup.

Cons

So far I haven't found anything that I don't like. I guess least favourite might be that some outdated things still show up as available such as Imaging.

Ben
Ben
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/06/2023

Excellent MDM choice for small/medium sized businesses

Extremely positive overall experience. Highly recommended.

Pros

Jamf Pro is a highly commendable mobile device management solution that offers seamless MDM integration. Its unobtrusive process makes it an excellent option for businesses seeking to maintain smooth workflows. The platform also facilitates easy enforcement of IT policies, making it a suitable choice for companies striving to ensure compliance with their policies. Furthermore, Jamf Pro is particularly adept at handling mixed deployments of company-owned MacBooks and BYOD iPhones. All things considered, Jamf Pro is a first-rate MDM platform that delivers exceptional value and performance.

Cons

My only major gripe is that the client software is a bit clunky, especially where non-technical users have to choose what to download from an app library.

Ayoub
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 26/12/2023

Efficient Device Management with Jamf Pro

Pros

I appreciated Jamf Pro's user-friendly interface and robust features that streamlined device management. It made tasks efficient and offered great control over our Apple ecosystem.

Cons

Although generally satisfied, one drawback was the learning curve for some advanced features. Additionally, occasional updates caused minor disruptions in our workflow.

Taylor
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2023

JAMF Pro Review

Very positive

Pros

Integration is very simple. Knowledge base support and customer support.

Cons

Pricing and small learning curve. Challenging in a small start.

timothy
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/02/2024

jamF the only way to go with a Mac device

Two thumbs and toes up 100%, love this product and cannot wait to learn more as I enhance my training classes to learn more

Pros

Ease of use and management of devices as well as computers. Configuration roll outs, software roll outs, self service options, inventory management, report management and much more

Cons

lots of overhead and training is necessary but as you get more training these cons disappear before your eys.

Jason
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/08/2017

Jamf is a growing company with a great product and amazing support, really listen to customers!

I could not do my job without this software. We are very limited in staff, time and money. Without Jamf Pro, we would not be able to effectively manage the fleet of iPads, MacBooks, iMacs and Apple TVs we have.

Pros

Jamf is a growing company with a great product and amazing support,
really listens to customers!
Pros: Jamf has been doing this the longest when it comes to Mac and
iOS device management. They are a relatively small, yet growing
company with Midwest values, that really cares about helping
organizations succeed with Apple.

They stand behind their product and their support is phenomenal! They
are passionate about giving back to the communities they are based in
(Chippewa Valley, Minneapolis, and offices around the world). They put
on the worlds largest user conference for Apple IT admins and they
have the largest user help knowledge base, jamfnation.com. They also
provide same day or prior support of major OS and iOS releases. They
are constantly refining the product and adding new features to it.

If you have an issue, Jamf support will bend over backwards to help
you, even if you're not a paying customer. They care that much about you
and the product. Also, the soon to be released version 10 will bring
many needed changes to the UI.

Cons

Jamf Pro is not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for. For
instance it allows me to manage 6k+ iPads and over 2200 Macs, iMacs
and Apple TVs with a very small staff. The money we pay for the
solution is more than made up in the ability to manage all of these
devices successfully and with a limited staff. That being said, like
all software, Jamf Pro has issues. Sometimes these can be major
issues. However, Jamf is quick to throw dedicated support at these
issues and works hard to fix them. As mentioned above, they are
growing for sure and there will be some growing pains along with this
growth.

The update to the UI cannot come fast enough. Would like to actually
be able to pull usable metrics and reports from the product. The
logging errors could use more of an update or hotlinks to resolutions
(feature request maybe?), but this is more for on-prem hosting.
Overall though, it's a great product with a great company and team
behind it!

Andrey
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/09/2021

Gold Standard for Apple MDM

Pros

Jamf Pro allows my team to manage our fleet for macOS, iPadOS, and iOS devices effectively. It builds on the groundwork laid by Apple, but executes it in a much more useful manner. The tool allows our users to be self-sufficient when it comes to application updates and installations because we are able to present a SelfService application with IT-approved and packaged software. We're able to use JamfPro to conduct audits on logged on users and time frames whe necessary. Enrolling new devices is seamless when paired with Apple School Manager (education) or Apple Business Manager (enterprise) and the Device Enrollment Program (DEP). Cloud hosted is the way to go with any MDM, allowing devices to reach out to the server anywhere from the Internet.

Cons

The amount of work to deploy and make the product useful is a bit overwhelming. The company is constantly in a process of moving from their legacy Casper platform to the newer JamfPro platform, all while acquiring new components and rebranding them (JamfNow). Applications that were used to interact with the server are being retired, but not all at the same time, so there is a bit of confusion here. Also, I wish there was an easier and less time-consuming way of standing this up, as well as some pre-built tools.

Jonathanwilson
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/08/2020

Jamf @ UCLA Library

Our Macs were largely unmanaged before Jamf, and now we have a good handle on everything and are able to provide a level of support that was impossible before. It's allowed us to not worry (as much) about what device people choose to use for work.
It's also allowed flexibility when purchasing new devices for different purposes. If it's made by Apple, we know we can handle it.

Pros

The completeness of features - just about anything you can do with an Apple device, you can do with Jamf. I don't have to worry about not being able to do something, including on the day new software is released.

Cons

The learning curve is high - I would be struggling if I hadn't taken the Jamf training courses (200 and 300). I struggle to explain concepts to employees that haven't taken the training, even when they've taken the Jamf 100.
Sort of related is the support for legacy features/systems - it can be hard to tell what is relevant, such as when you type 'sudo jamf help' - there is a lot there that you'd never use.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/06/2023

Jamf Pro in a 10k+ company

Pros

Easy to use and understand cloud management of corporate devices. Highly customisable to your own liking making zero touch deployment on all our devices possible. Distributing, updating and maintaining software packages (albeit with the help of 3rd party solutions) is easy and helps to keep your devices up-to-date and safe.

Cons

Patch management should be made easier. The app catalog area seems to be more of a beta instead of a polished product.

Alternatives Considered

Kandji and Microsoft Intune
Philip
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 04/08/2020

World Class Product- Gold Standard for Mac Management

Extremely please with the product, the features, the support and the cost. I would definitely recommend to anyone who was planning to invest in a Mac management tool.

Pros

When we were evaluating management tools for our environment, we quickly came to the conclusion that there was not a one size fits all solution. Once we realized that, every other institution we contacted asked if we had looked at Jamf yet. Once we started looking at the product, the ease of use, the feature set, and the features that allowed us to customize the end user experience, we knew that this was the only product we could use. Jamf customer support has been great from the initial install, transition to cloud, upgrades and general support questions.

Cons

Local server upgrades. During the time we had our own on site server, we performed upgrade. Most of the time they went OK, but it was a complicated process with many pitfalls, and seemed, on some occasions, to require a fair amount of pure wizardry. This is was generated most of my support calls with Jamf.

Mike
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/10/2018

A partner and software and training that gives my staff super powers.

We are able to secure, provision, manage and support Mac users 24/7 and around the globe with this tool. We estimate we save 15 technicians and 8 full time support engineers and can use that funding and time to take on projects the business needs rather than manually managing our infrastructure and application suite.

This is a massive difference in ability and why I feel JAMF gives my staff super powers to do more with less and raise the quality of our support all the while.

Pros

Jamf Pro is so powerful and simple and focused on letting us succeed, it's in a class of its own.
We've been in production for 6 years with major staff turnover and this company has continued to support us despite many chances where we might have dropped the ball. Professional services, quality of the code and stability of the platform are major factors that have made it successful in our specific challenging environment.

Cons

There is no downside we have faced. Release cycle is faster than we need, training and communications are above par for SAAS and functionality and value makes it a must renew each time we renew and re-evaluate MDM solutions.

Mark
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/10/2018

Macs Managed

We have used this product for 5 years and have loved it. It allows us to focus on our people and not worry about Did that printer get installed? We know it is going to happen. We can automate a ton of stuff and not worry about it. We know it will work and we can manipulate thousands of computers in seconds in real time.

Pros

It does everything that Apple lets them do. Save money and time by having less IT support staff and your staff feels like they have the power to manage themselves and not need to reach out to IT and feel frustrated when it takes too long to respond.

The community is a huge plus as you can normally get hard questions answered by pros who are happy to help at no charge.

Support is great as well. Things do break, but they are there to help.

Cons

Cost is a factor as it is continuing to go up.
It can be very complex and hard to understand some of the more useful features as there are a ton of hoops to jump through to get everything working and if something breaks it can take a while to figure it out.

Jill
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/08/2020

JamfPro

We found Jamf back 14+ years ago at a small startup booth in San Francisco at MacWorld. That year we purchased Jamf and the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], came all the way out to West Texas, and set up our Jamf Server for us! We took him to eat frog legs at a local diner, and he enjoyed our west Texas sun during the day by taking breaks and laying outside on the hood of his rental car!

Pros

The feature I like the most is the ease of using prestage enrollments. Being able to just push a few times and the device is ready to go is of the utmost importance in a school with over 5000 devices.

Cons

I would like to see some cross referencing. For example, how to know if a Smart Group is actually being used in a scope of an application, policy or configuration profile.

Pete
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/09/2017

Supporting a rapidly growing Internet startup in multiple locations

Doubled size of Mac fleet in nine months while simultaneously improving app standardization, device security, and offering end users the ability to proactively manage their own systems - as the single IT resource for the organization.

Pros

Easily write, test, and implement policies to proactively support Mac desktop and laptop users
Zero-day support for Apple software and hardware releases
Simple DEP and VPP integration with excellent documentation
Outstanding customer support
Large and active user community with a strong commitment to sharing solutions and ideas

Cons

STILL no effective built-in software patching tools
Long-standing UI quirks and obsolete JSS interface
Not enough functionality to track changes over time (show me adoption rates of new software titles for a given smart group, etc)
Rudimentary support for user notifications still requires extensive scripting to be effective
Mandatory JumpStart training a waste of money for experienced Jamf admins

Kevin
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2017

JAMF made supporting macOS/iOS devices enjoyable...and that was not an easy feat.

We were able to reach device management parity with our Windows environment. Reduced IT staff time needed to perform one-off administration of macOS/iOS devices.

Pros

Flexibility, extent of system management capabilities, technical support, ability to create "sites" for de-centralized IT teams that allow them to administer their own devices. Really, the list of what it can do goes on and on.

We run SCCM for management of our Windows devices. JAMF allows us to reach management parity for macOS/iOS devices.

Cons

Some high level computer management functions (packages, scripts, printers, etc) are centralized and cannot not wholly distributed/de-centralized to departmental IT teams (eg. each IT team will see and potentially be able to change these items).

Not an issue with the software itself, but a challenge and consideration we had to take into account when implementing in our unique support environment.

Athena
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/08/2020

Can't imagine Mac management without Jamf.

Overall, I am very pleased with Jamf Pro. It makes my job as an administrator much, much easier, and gives me the ability to provide better support to our users. The self service options are wonderful and have allowed us to steer our users toward a self-service first mentality which not only saves us time, but helps them help themselves. The flexibility of what can be done with this platform also opens up a ton of possibilities for automation and custom solutions, and I appreciate the support from both Jamf and the Jamf user community.

Pros

Jamf does what it does very well - it's generally easy to use, and there's a large community of Mac admins who are helpful in learning how to make the most of the software. Support is great, and the product works well with other third party apps and services in a lot of cases.

Cons

Some features that seem basic are missing, and some of the most highly voted feature requests sit in an 'under review' status for years without being implemented. Patch management is also somewhat lacking and requires some manual workarounds to do properly.

Sean
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/03/2019

Could not do my job without this tool

We manage 350 users with two help desk people. This is only possible with JAMF.

Pros

Whenever I have a need, it seems that JAMF has the tools in place for me to come up with a solution. We can essentially do whatever we need to do for our Apple users with JAMF. People think it's magic that we can remotely install customized software builds for them instantaneously. Users are blown away when they walk into my office and without touching their computer I can tell them the last time they restarted, or how much hard disk space they have left. This is an insanely powerful set of tools which we use daily, and without it we'd need to hire more IT staff to manage the workload!

Cons

I honestly can't think of any. If anything, JAMF is so powerful that I know that there are features that I'm not tapping into!

Ross
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2018

Best MDM that we've used!

JAMF has made my life so much easier managing a large amount of devices with very little need to physically touch the device. It just works and the support is awesome!

Pros

All encompassing. It works great for all of our iOS devices and allows us to run our environment with "zero touch" to over 500 devices, (soon to be over 2000). We primarily use it for Apple iPad management, but we do have a few Macs on premises and have been slowly adding them in to the mix. Once the initial setup is done, it just works. Any time that we have had issues, my personal "JAMF Buddy" is only an email or call away, and our issues are resolved in a timely manner.

Cons

Not a lot not to like. Probably my biggest complaint, which I've slowly been losing is that the UI can sometimes be a bit annoying. Reports also could be a bit more intuitive, although you can get a report for such a wide variety of items, but there is a learning curve. Maybe some premade reports or something to go off of would be nice.

James
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/08/2020

still the only game in town for HiEd

Pros

The support channels are responsive and robust; the installation base is huge in HiEd; the admin community is supportive and knowledgable; when actions/methods are easy, they're VERY easy.

Cons

When things are difficult, they're very difficult/complex. Nothing experience won't overcome, but the learning curve is steep for some. Interface with Apple pertaining to certs and Apple IDs could be a little less cumbersome, but this is largely Apple's making and affects all MDM solutions.

Cloud distribution point management is a bit lackluster. Repository syncing feels clunky. Some UI/nav isn't what you naturally expect it to be. None of these are dealbreakers.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/05/2020

Easy iPad Management

Easy to setup - Easy to use - Intuitive and Extremely Agile

Pros

Jampf Pro makes it easy for our school to deploy, track, and manage a sustainable fleet of Apple products. Its Self-Service app management catalog makes it easy to install and push out apps based on users and control iOS updates remotely without having to collect and manually update managed devices. Control of the products remains within the IT department and enables high-level security settings to ensure safe usage of the device.

Cons

I love the Jamf Pro software and wish that it was a more universal device management system that went beyond just Apple products. It is a pain point within or organization to have utilize multiple device management systems due to different hardware.

522 reviews