User Reviews Overview

About MDaemon Email Server

MDaemon Email Server is a mail server designed to help small and midsize businesses streamline webmail, collaboration, mobile device management, and emailing operations on a unified platform. It lets staff set up customizable...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

Browse MDaemon Email Server Reviews

26 of 25 reviews
Sort by:
Tony L.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/07/2021

MDaemon Mail Server, easy to use

After being years with the product, software has improved alot and the latest versions are really easier to use/manage.

Pros

Migration, Upgrade, Deployment, all these admin tasks work easily. User, domain management as well.

Cons

Since we are based in Australia and not on the same timezone, we struggle to get support quickly. I know that there is a paid version that gets you covered 24/7, but we can cope with the overnight answers, that are really helpful BTW.

Response from MDaemon Technologies

Thanks for your feedback Tony! I'm happy to hear our support team serves you well, despite the time zone difference.

Replied 26/07/2021
Robert H.
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/02/2021

A decade and more with Mdaemon

We started to use Mdaemon to be able to bring our mail server into or office for complete control of what what happens with our email. We are in the technology field an we need to be able to correct issues without a back and forth with a service provider. Mdaemon fits this bill nicely.

Pros

Mdaemon has many features that very handy in our organization. One of the most useful to me is the logging. Mdaemon can logs its transactions on a day by day basis. This allows me to find (usually myself) the issue to an email delivery or acceptance issue. This is invalueable to me as the admin. Since not every organization uses the correct settings for there email server, the logging allows me to see the problem and bypass it for that specific organization. If I can't find the issue, their tech support has always been able to find my issue and advise on how to fix it.

Cons

The only issue that I have with Mdaemon is really a plus. This is the sheer number of option it contains. This can lead to a little confusion on where to find a setting that you might with to change. Fortunately Mdaemons helps files usually lead me to the correct place. This is usually only an issue with some abnormal
issue and it's just part of the learning curve of the software. Once set up and running it just works

Syed abdul A.
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/11/2019

Good Product

Overall Mdaemon is a very good prduct i have used to since last 12 years.
The very special feature is to configure on any hardware on Windows either Server or Workstation.
Another specialty is not required server OS .

Pros

I have used to this product since last 12 years.
THis is very Good Product and specialty is quick configuration and migration in Minutes.

Cons

I wanted a feature Photo required in COntacts like MS exchange.

Top MDaemon Email Server Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 02/11/2020

10+ years of MDaemon

Pros

one of the best "windows based" SW ever !

Cons

mobile client and overall web based client experience

Response from MDaemon Technologies

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Replied 04/11/2020
Keith W.
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/08/2021

In-House Hosting Is Still Valuable

Pros

MDaemon allows for economical, reliable, and customized control of vital email communications. Moving email hosting to cloud has its benefits, but relinquishing control is a big negative. With MDaemon, I control spam filtering, antivirus, and routing rules. As long as MDaemon is affordable and reliable, I will keep email in house.

Cons

Setup is not difficult but there are many steps to get fully implemented.

Iulius B.
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/06/2021

Reliable mailing solution at a 1:10th of O365 cost

Positive experience, you can put MDaemon on a pen drive and never stops from running.

Very stable and lightweight on RAM and CPU, but from the user's perspective the performance is dictated by a well implemented SSD storage for it's mailbox folder.

Technical support was good, they reply to even those without subscribed assistance within two days from opening the ticket.

The features & performance / cost factor when compared to O365 was also a very strong point. You pay once and are not obliged to commit after support ending, and have total freedom and control over your mail storage and server configuration.

Pros

- Stability;
- Scalability - you can upgrade to larger storage with ease, the mailbox content is only limited by how much Outlook pst files can handle;
- Very easy to perform hardware migrations from one machine to another;
- Very light on memory and processing resources;
- Piece of mind when doing version upgrades (all settings are preserved, no nasty surprises);
- It works very well with "previous versions" feature on restoring permanently deleted emails by the user;
- Independence and freedom of implementation according to your business needs: you have total control over it's features and settings. SPF implementation was of a great help in protecting our company from Phishing.
- Very easy to troubleshoot. Being inhouse we had full access to log files and hardware. Downtimes were rare (one two per year) and when they were occurred were in the order of minutes.
- Cost: 500$ per one year support. When it ends, your server keeps running you can still use your server and access data on it. Even so, we opted to continue with support renewal.

Cons

Outlook Connector never lived up to it's name. It didn't performed well with thousands of emails in each folder. I had to return to the Outlook's IMAP profile settings and .pst files to overcome this issue.

Outlook Connector didn't worked well with roaming profiles, since it stored some of it's data in AppData Roaming folder instead of Local and when sync issues existed it led to the deletion of Connector's mail account settings.

Parrish R.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/02/2021

Exceptional alternative to Microsoft Exchange!

We prefer to have our own in-house email server and the same for our clients (when practical). Mdaemon is the perfect solution for rock solid in-house email hosting. It is far less complicated and massively simpler and more straightforward to manage than Exchange.

Pros

We are a very long time user of Mdaemon email server (going back to the late 90's). I especially enjoy the very easy and straightforward server management it provides. We have also used Microsoft Exchange and, without any hesitation, will always choose Mdaemon over Exchange. There is really no comparison when it comes to ease of management and disaster recovery. I also love the fact I can watch, in real time, email flow and server handshakes. This makes it extremely easy to troubleshoot mail flow issues between servers. The logging is also extremely thorough. Also, the fact that all messages are stored as standard text based .msg files means it is extremely simple to backup and restore mailboxes and perform disaster recovery (if ever needed).
Lastly, there is the price advantage. Mdaemon pricing simply blows all other comparable options out of the water.

Cons

Honestly, there is nothing I dislike about Mdaemon. It performs exactly as needed and is extremely powerful.

Response from MDaemon Technologies

Thank you for your comments! We find that, like you, many of our users made the switch from Exchange for the very same reasons.

Replied 23/02/2021
Muhammad A.
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/11/2019

MDaemon Experience

We were previously used Webhosting, MS Exchange, Zimbra and few other email applications and facing severe issues like multipop emails, backup of end users emails, filters and spam issue. Then we decide to test MDaemon v14.5 and it was amazingly help us to fix our all the above issues and also minimize our day to day issue.

Pros

We were previously used Webhosting, MS Exchange, Zimbra and few other email applications and facing severe issues like multipop emails, backup of end users emails, filters and spam issue. Then we decide to test MDaemon v14.5 and it was amazingly help us to fix our all the above issues and also minimize our day to day issue.

Cons

It must have some more filtering options, we are feel that v19.5 is slow processing due to some issues even we are using x64 application.

Asif K.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/11/2019

Your organization, your rules

9 out 10

Pros

Ease and simplicity of setting MDaemon is upfront. Get your organization up and running in less than 60 minutes. Import users if you are migrating in a giffy. Best part is that I can integrate MDaemon with with existing AD in not time! I've been using MDaemon since one and a half decade now!

Cons

Unified Communication Client needs attention, both for functionality and UIX. There is always room for improvement.

David F.
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/12/2019

Easier than Exchange

Pros

It was easier to implement, manage and migrate than exchange

Cons

no complaints with the product have been using over 10 years

Ajay R.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Peace Of Mind..Easy to Use

You won't go wrong or look back! Mdameon has solved alot of issues. Too many to mention. Most importantly though, solved deliverabilty issues, PST file size / crashing solved with OC. Made user and account management so much easier. General maintenance and management is a breeze. We moved the client from Scalix to Mdaemon and we have never looked back. Thank you AltN team.

Pros

I love the structure of the GUI and the way the various features are grouped, making administration that much more easier. The mail flow logging through each check is also very helpfull in tracing deliverability.

The best part of Mdaemon I feel is the simplicity and ease when either moving the installation to another physical machine or upgrading the exisiting installation, no other mail solution comes even close. Mdaemons Webmail is also the most advance and best I have used in the 18 years that i have been in the ISP sector, its your entire mail solution online,

accessible from anywhere. Webadmin is also great for remote administration for support staff, without having to access the actual app on the server. The spam assassin intergration also works very well if managed correctly with very few false positives.

Cons

The Outlook connector DB stability and performance is a bit annoying at times and requires constant maintenance once the file size grows. The Live Log viewing and flow via the APP GUI needs to be more manageable, currently you can only print / search the live log, there either needs to be a filter option where your can eitehr filter logs via sender / reciepient / failure etc. or even a terminal option like linux has where you can grep the live log for specific entries.

Jatin K.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/01/2020

Best low cost Mailserver with all the essential features

Excellent experience, it has all the features (except encryption) which is required for good mail server.

Pros

- Low cost solution
- Stability
- Performance
- Reliability
- Support for resolving issues

Cons

- Email encryption should be present.
- Engineering/Developers take long time to introduce few features.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft 365

Reasons for Switching to MDaemon Email Server

- Cost - Easy deployment

Response from MDaemon Technologies

Thank you so much for your feedback Jatin! We are so pleased that MDaemon Email is working well for you. Please note however, that MDaemon has both email and attachmenet encryption using OpenPGP for increased security. Also, we release updated version of our email software twice a year, with Version 20 coming out this spring! Thank you again!

Replied 03/02/2020
Narendra D.
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/11/2019

Low Cost and High Result-MDaemon Email Server

now days all are knows regarding spam and junk, recently i face this problem for my organisation , everyday i am getting per day 50 to 100 mails , i call to support team they immediate attend my call after that i resolve the issue.

I make it spam level 2.5/ now all the spams going to separate folder.

Pros

I am using this software from 2013 , when i am new user at that time i am not able to understand this software after that i started to learn , i am very happy and easy to use , now latest version came 19.5 very nice and useful features.

Security Setting
DMARC Settings
Screen Location
SPM Filter

Cons

its is very light and flexible simple user creating...

Ranju J.
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/12/2020

15+ years of uninterrupted service

We needed a system that would allow sharing of emails within teams and the Public Folder feature in MDaemon fit to a tee.

Pros

Mdaemon installation was problem-free and flawless. The help desk reached out to us during installation for support. But, we did not need any support as installation was simple and straight forward. It was easy to install, configure and use even for a non technical person.

Cons

The flexibility can sometimes be overwhelming. Just that you have plan your implementation well.

Wajeeh H.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Best Email Server

over all MDaemon Email is a good quality email server, providing great features and customer support.

Pros

It contains almost everything including, antivirus, spam filter, mobile device support and many more.

Cons

some advance features are available but they wanted to be discover.

Chaquinta F.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/12/2020

MDaemon Review

Pros

The built in password check, forced complex password and expiration options MDaemon e-mail server carries are of great benefit to our overall security initiatives.

Cons

We were disappointed when the built in encryption for webmail was discontinued.

Kevin L.
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/01/2021

Easy and intuitive system

Have a mail server in house and 100% control is a great benefit for us.

Pros

Easy and intuitive system, system administrator has completely visibility and control

Cons

The system not 100% exchange compatible, may affect some demanding clients user experience.

Mark S.
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/12/2019

Excellent Email Server Software

Email services for remote employees across numerous devices. Mailing lists are important to our group. MDaemon gives us everything we need and more.

Pros

I have been running MDaemon Email Server Software 24/7 since 2001 and v5.x and have watched the development over the years. The folks at AltN are constantly fine tuning features, adding new ones as technology changes and fixing issues when they are reported or discovered. The SPAM handling options are superb and mailing lists are easy for others to manage without my intervention. Webmail is solid.

Cons

There is very little to dislike about this software. AltN has implemented features over time that are important to me.

Muhammad I.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/07/2021

Satisfaction Review

Its 100 % Satisfactory.

Pros

Easy to use, installation , configuration & troubleshooting as well. ove

Cons

Its not resource eater its light weight , easy to handling, support available 24/7 from distributor (Thobson.com) , they have such a supportive and trained staff who working with honesty & resolve client's issue on priority basis.

Gary S.
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/06/2021

I have an on-premise MDaemon mail server at most of my customers

Highly recomended

Pros

price , folder usage, MDaemon support. Power and ease of Management

Cons

spam elimination is good. It could be great

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/12/2019

My Review

Pros

simple and easy to manage, using form last some years

Cons

easy to use and administrator, easy to manage, Need improvements

Response from MDaemon Technologies

Good morning! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about MDaemon Email. You mentioned that it is easy to use and manage, which is fantastic. You also said that it "needs improvements" - can you tell me more about what we need to do better? Thanks!

Replied 08/01/2020
David Q.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/02/2021

Real time experiences using MDaemon

We are very happy with MDaemon and would gladly recommend to any business wanting to know that they can run a private email server in a configuration that is entirely geared towards their business.

Pros

MDaemon is an exceptionally broad featured application that can accommodate a very wide range of real-time business scenarios. We setup and run email services for several companies who depend on reliability and the ability to customise their requirements. We run the services in the cloud using AWS which sits well with this product for security and 24/7 usage.

Cons

End users don't need to know some of the complexities of how certain features work, so we do build into our contracts a service element where we do all that for them. Not really a 'con' but any business needing to deploy MDaemon is probably going to leverage the best from the product with a suitable level of support from their IT provider.

Response from MDaemon Technologies

Thank you for your feedback David, we are very happy that MDaemon Email works so well for you.

Replied 03/03/2021
David H.
  • Industry: Packaging & Containers
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/05/2021

20 years later and we're still happy!

Pros

Ease of implementation. Realistically, it doesn't take much to get MDaemon up and running.

Cons

I wish there was better explanation of some of the features - sometimes the amount of options available becomes overwhelming for someone that administers a mail server 5 minutes a week and does not remain up to date on the latest internet mail features and RFCs.

Don P.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/11/2019

14 years and going strong!

As an admin, it enables me to keep an eye on what comes in and goes out. The log files give all the information I need to track any issues that arise. The IM conversations are all logged so any company usage violation can be documented for departmental manager use.

Pros

We have been with MDaemon for 14 years. It has proven to be a stable and reliable platform. The content filters are very flexible. After 14 years of tweaking, I now have an email server that stops most junk and malicious emails from reaching my users. The Instant messaging client is an integral part of our internal communications. It has Calendering, Tasks, Notes, all configurable. It's a very affordable alternative to more expensive systems.

Cons

I don't have any dislikes of the system. It just works. Support is phenomenal. The staff can help with any issues.

Ted M.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 22/04/2021

MDaemon Apps

Overall very pleased with using MDaemon and its related apps.

Pros

Transparent Troubleshooting and Tracing of messages and other errors.

Cons

Trying to find answers in the help section

Response from MDaemon Technologies

Hi Ted, thank you for your feedback! I want to address your comment in the Cons section - I'm not sure if you're referring to the Knowledge Base or the Support Files platform, but you are correct either way! That's why we are in the process of completely overhauling our Knowledge Base and will release it with our new website this year, and we are also working on updating the Support Files platform, though we do not have a release date for that yet unfortunately. Thank you again for your comments, we're glad you're pleased with MDaemon!

Replied 23/04/2021
26 reviews