User Reviews Overview

About emPerform

emPerform is a hybrid employee performance management solution that helps organizations to automate performance reviews and align, develop and retain talent. It can be deployed either on-premise or in the cloud. emPerform helps...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.5

Browse emPerform Reviews

43 of 43 reviews
Sort by:
Karie R.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2016

We love emPerform!

Our organization has enjoyed a terrific collaborative experience with the emPerform performance management system, and the entire emPerform support team, from our first point of contact, through the initial implementation, continuing through our ongoing use of the system, and our enjoyable (and I do mean that enjoyable, every time!) correspondence with the emPerform team for support, training, upgrades, etc. From day one, the software has been of extremely high value to us both the product and the service provided by emPerform has been above and beyond all of our (high!) expectations. It's just a great product and a great team to be involved with. We couldn't ask for more.

Pros

From an administrative perspective, I like how elegant and easy the system is to use. I appreciate being able to design new forms and evaluation workflows myself (the well designed system makes me feel so smart, it's that user friendly!), knowing too that if I get stuck a clear and informative tutorial, as well as fabulous tech support are immediately accessible. I like that the emPerform technology is seamlessly supporting important conversations between our managers and their direct reports. Instead of being overwhelmed and bogged down with the forms as they used to be, our managers are freed up to focus their attention on our employees rather than struggling with the forms. This is, of course, invaluable for us.

Cons

I have no complaints about this software.

Response from CRG emPerform

Hi Karie - Thank you for the feedback! It has been a pleasure working with your team and we are so happy emPerform supports your organization's performance management objectives. As always, if you need anything, please reach out to us! 1.877.711.0367

Replied 05/10/2018
Kevin D.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 08/02/2021

Performance Process Transition

Overall we are extremely satisfied with the system, as it has taken us from a cumbersome paper process to an efficient cloud based solution allowing our employees the ease of submitting feedback and the effectiveness for our supervisors to collect that feedback. That ability to save time in executing the process allows for more time focused on coaching than on facilitating the process. As we go forward and partner with CRG emPerform's customer support team in truly mirroring our dynamic process, we feel it will be the exact answer to what we had been dreaming of!

Pros

We have been impressed with the ease of functionality the system provides and the helpfulness of the customer support team. Transitioning from a fully paper based process, CRG emPerform brought a vast range of capabilities based on how we have developed our process. The team there is willing to listen and create just about anything in whatever way you envision. Their desire is to make it work exactly how you want and will partner with you in making suggestions to make your process as user-friendly and efficient as possible.

Cons

As a matrixed organization, our performance process has moved to a dynamic approach with the ability to include feedback multiple times from the same evaluator within a review period. This process structure has created some difficulty for the system to mirror that process and get the total data set gathered for each individual based on how the system is configured.

Mike H.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 29/05/2018

We've been using emPerform for about 6 months and really like the system. Has everything we...

Pros

How customizable it is. We can set it up how based off of what we need and can make the workflow super easy and user friendly. The support we've received along the way has also been incredible! It seems to be a one stop shop for us in terms of performance management for our entire organization.

Cons

While it has a ton of reporting capability, it is a bit difficult to find what you need at times and drill down into the reporting and data.

Response from CRG emPerform

Thank you for your feedback Mike! We love how you see the value in emPerform's 'one-stop shop' for performance management. Let's connect to discuss some reporting tricks. Our reporting library is quite extensive with drill-down so we agree it can take a little practice - but we're here to help and will reach out ASAP.

Replied 04/06/2018

Top emPerform Alternatives

Angelo V.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/04/2015

Talent Management Initiative

With well earned respect, I confidently recommend emPerform for future talent management projects.

Looking to breathe some life into our employee evaluation process. I had the good fortune of working with CRG emPerform on the renovation of our Talent Management Initiative. It stood out as one of the most complex projects undertaken by our organization.

The success of this complex project depended in large measure on the CRG emPerform team assembled and their ability to communicate and work collaboratively with us towards the goal of an easy-to-use online process. CRG emPerform delivered an all-inclusive functionality that effectively automated and streamlined our employee appraisals.

CRG emPerform `s service to NTS was and is excellent. Again, I highly recommend them and would welcome their contribution to future talent management projects.

Response from CRG emPerform

Wow! Thank you for that great review Angelo! It has been a pleasure working with you to automate and streamline vital performance management processes. Be sure to keep in touch as your processes and needs change so we can ensure you are always getting the most from the features included with emPerform.

Replied 05/10/2018
Christina S.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/11/2016

Great Customizable System

The thing about emPeform is that you can customize pretty much anything. The hard part about it is that its not easy to learn or train on it, but once you start figuring out the features it becomes amazing. Our review system here is not an easy one, but were able to put in a workflow that makes it easy for managers and employees to complete while capturing all the information that we needed.

Response from CRG emPerform

Hi Christina - thank you for your review of emPerform! We love your feedback and you captured one of our biggest points of pride - configurability. We have yet to meet two companies with the same needs so it's important to us that emPerform works for our customers instead of the other way around. So glad emPerform is doing just that for you. We are always working to make training and ramp-up easier and you said it best "once you start figuring out the features it becomes amazing." We have launched some exciting new training programs and resources and will be in touch to discuss. Thanks again for your review and be sure to keep in touch - we are always here to help!

Replied 05/10/2018
Renu M.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/10/2016

emPerform review

We chose emPerform because of it's ease of use, it met our immediate needs and had a reasonable price point. The implementation team was excellent, they worked very closely with my team and provided the support we needed to get our performance system up and running. During upgrades the emPerform team was available to answer any questions my team had and prepared my team for what was to come. We have made suggestions for enhancing the system know that emPerform is building additional capabilities. I look forward to seeing the tool meet even more of our needs.

Response from CRG emPerform

Wonderful review and feedback Renu! Great to hear you enjoyed working with our amazing implementation team during setup and upgrades (I know they feel the same). Customer feedback is VERY important to us. Every suggestion or idea is valued and we are always working to improve emPerform functionality so please keep it coming! Thank you :)

Replied 03/11/2016
Denise S.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/11/2011

emPerform 4.0

emPerform 4.0 fits in very well with our organization and we've been online with reviews for over three years. CRG offers excellent customer service!

Pros

emPerform 4.0 has great functionality built into the system. First, is anniversary based performance reviews. We like the reminder/task list reminder features. It is a comprehensive package including compensation manager, succession manager, reviews and a survey tool.

Cons

Cons would be limitations in a system for example not everything can be on one page, you might have to click on a heading to enter the next area. Training on navigation is very important.

Erica S.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/06/2015

emPerform experience

My emPerform representative is responsive and helpful. Customer support exceeds my expectations every time! My representative is knowledgeable about their product and about how I use it. I also like the fact that I can give suggestions for functionality changes that would make my life as an administrator easier and emPerform is receptive to that feedback. I have even seen suggested changes rolled out during an update! One con is that some administrator reports require manipulation to be useful.

Sherrie R.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/03/2018

The emPerform tool is very flexible and easy to implement. Employee feedback has been...

Pros

The flexibility - was able to accommodate our need to track/manage performance, without reviews or ratings at the end of the cycle.

Cons

Some of the set up seemed complicated, but we had a knowledgeable implementation specialist to guide us!

Response from CRG emPerform

Thank you for your feedback Sherrie and we love hearing that your users are happy! Let us know if there is anything else we can do to help support your ongoing performance management efforts.

Replied 13/03/2018
Frank B.
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1.5
Ease of Use
1.5
Customer Support
4.5

2.5
Reviewed on 29/05/2014

Reviewer of tool, Manager who uses tool

Pros

The vendor is very responsive; the price is on the lower end of others we looked at.

Cons

The software is not as flexible or intuitive as I would like; some managers think it's easier to write the review on a Word document and upload it to the system.

Christina B.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/01/2020

Revamped entire Performance Management System

Reduced time spent on a cumbersome, ineffective review system; revamped entire cycle based on the tools available to us in emPerform (ability to record goals and training needs) and address company values.

Pros

emPerform has not only solved our problem of cumbersome performance reviews, but completely challenged our approach to performance management in general. We have been guided through a full re-do of our annual cycle and have received valuable, experienced advice from people who have been in this industry for years. The software is easy to use, easy to setup, fully customizable and aesthetically pleasing. The 'tag' system, and the ability to incorporate these notes into the formal reviews is a favourite feature.

Cons

Although using libraries for tracking responses is really useful, the downside is that you can only have one library within a section. We were hoping to just have one form with all the sections and questions within one page - but in order to track and pull data from responses we need more than one evaluation area for one formal review. We were, however, supported in working around this effectively. During the demos, we thought the view/user-ability of emPerform was less impressive than other software, however the customization of it seems to be superior.

Reasons for Switching to emPerform

Based in Canada, integration with Payworks, the compensation element, lowest annual fee.
Mary D.
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/04/2020

Performance Appraisal and Compensation Modules

Pennichuck Water had always used a paper based performance management process. This paper process was becoming increasingly less efficient so the Company went through an extensive process to review various platforms. At the same time, we have been a company blessed with minimal turnover. However an increasing number of retirements were resulting in a changing demographic in our population and a different set of needs were arising with the incoming staff.

The HR team considered 25 to 30 platforms and whittled it down to five which were reviewed by a cross functional steering committee. This committee selected two for final decision by the leadership team. The clear favorite was EmPerform. Our first performance evaluation period occurred in early 2020. EmPerform did not disappoint. The implementation team was able to mirror our current process on the platform. The on-site implementation, guidance from implementation specialists, and online training resources made it easy to navigate the administration of new appraisals and forms. Once you know how to build one element in the system, it was easy to build something else since the platform is so consistent with its features and build-out functionality. The customer service throughout the process was excellent. Although it was not expected, the experience has elicited a renewed interest by members of our management team regarding the process and ways to improve or use the tool in shaping our current and future w

Pros

• Very robust yet intuitive system that is straight-forward to use both as an employee and administrator of the system
• The on-site implementation, guidance from implementation specialists, and online training resources make it easy to navigate the administration of new appraisals, forms surveys, etc. Once you know how to build one thing in the system, it is easy to build something else since the platform is so consistent with its features and build-out functionality,
• Customer service is excellent – having a designated implementation duo with us from the start helped make the implementation and support fit to our personal needs, making the experience of rolling this out to employees much smoother

Cons

There was nothing noteworthy. As any software, there are always limitations but our implementation team proactively supported us in how we may work through these concerns.

Erika R.
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/06/2018

Streamlined Performance Management

Pros

This system is very user friendly and easy to understand and has allowed us to incorporate all of the facets of our performance management system along with the salary review component. This has increased the efficiency of administering this process on an annual basis as well as helps our Supervisors and Managers maintain feedback throughout the year. From a user standpoint, it does not require much training to learn the process. From an administrator standpoint, I like the flexibility that the system offers in terms of changing layouts, formats, etc. I also like the notifications that are automatically sent to users as this has decreased the time it takes to administer our performance evaluation process.

Cons

The evaluation reports are VERY confusing to read. Even when exporting to PDF or Word, the formatting is done is such a way that is almost impossible to make more reader friendly. I would like to see improvements made in this area, as it is necessary from time to time to print a report.

Response from CRG emPerform

Thank you for the great feedback Erika! We are so glad that emPerform has helped streamline all aspects of Ecore's performance management & compensation planning and love how you are getting value from the flexibility of the software and its ease of use! We are working to improve the exporting format of our reports and will keep you updated on the progress! Thanks for being such a wonderful customer and power-user.

Replied 25/06/2018
Mary H.
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/09/2019

BSA LifeStructures EmPerform Review

Great. Emplementation with Lonnie was very thorough and helpful. Customer service is very responsive.

Pros

building the forms and workflow exactly as we wanted

Cons

The behind the scenes administrative process is a bit tedious, but user experience is great and that is ultimately what matters.

Sammie C.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/10/2016

Very Happy Client!

We have used the CRG emPerform software since 2014 -- everything about the process, from the introduction to the company, the decision to implement, the onsite consultation and build of the system for our company, user training and the ongoing user experience has been top quality, easy and very timely. The software is user friendly...intuitive and simple to use for end users as well as for the administrators. The reporting feature is very robust and helpful. In sum, very satisfied with this software and the experience of working with CRG emPerform overall - highly recommend.

Response from CRG emPerform

Thank you for the great feedback Sammi! It has been a pleasure working with you and your team as well. We aim to deliver outstanding quality and value to our customers at every stage of buying, implementation, roll-out and beyond. If you ever have suggestions on how we can improve our software or services, please email us directly or call. 1.877.711.0367

Replied 05/10/2018
Tami G.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/10/2016

Great Customer Service (and software)

CRG emPerform software is very easy to use -- we've used the software for 2 years and consistently receive positive feedback from end users -- all report very simple to access, intuitive and easy.

From an administrator perspective, the customer service is stellar -- we receive very timely and thorough support. The CRG emPerform team is responsive, knowledgeable and very friendly.

For organizations seeking a comprehensive system for performance appraisals, goal setting, compensation management. succession planning (and more) -- highly recommend considering and implementing CRG emPerform software.

Sunny W.
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 02/07/2018

It's a useful platform for employee reviews but needs improvement

Keep staff review process documented.

Pros

It allows multiple parties to post their reviews. It also keeps documentation and keeps a timeline for the review team.

Cons

Not sure if it's our HR department or it's the software. We were very confused about the process. I am the 1st reviewer and my boss is 2nd reviewer. We often get reminder emails with obscure subject and length text. Sometimes we ignored them. Please keep reminder email short and concise.

Response from CRG emPerform

Hi Sunny - thank you for the feedback and someone will reach out ASAP to get the email reminder messages sorted. They are fully configurable so it sounds to me like your Admin team would just need to edit them so they are concise, like you said. We'll give you a hand with it. :)

Replied 04/07/2018
Joanna D.
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 15/04/2015

Reviewing CRG emPerform

Reviewing CRG emPerform

Pros

Ease of use when trying to enter personal performance info

Cons

When the appraisal is printed it's hard to read. All info runs together. There's no separation. Also, there needs to be a way to attach more than one document at a time.

Keith G.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/11/2016

Simple with Nice Features

emPerform's startup training is superb and the product is intuitive and easy to use. The recent upgrade has cleared up some issues that were confusing to some and improved the look and feel. The value proposition is also easy to accept. Good product.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Nothing

Molly L.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 05/02/2020

Mountainview Residence

Emperform has allowed for a streamlined process for Performance reviews. Staff are able to continuously update progress on their goals and it is so easy to use for all skill levels!

Pros

Emperform is efficient and easy to use for all!

Cons

Issues with password set up and following security measures

Katheryne W.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/02/2021

emPerform paved the way!

Excellent experience with an excellent product and high-performing support team.

Pros

We moved to a system after only being on paper since the inception of our organization (ca. 100 years). Naturally, there was substantial angst around the move. The team at emPerform made the entire process so easy. The software is specifically designed for performance management and adapts quite easily to any need an organization might have. In addition, smaller/mid-sized organizations get the same service and attention to detail as the larger companies. As a non-technical person, emPerform was easy to follow and implement.

Cons

None - this is our first year and as of yet, no complaints. Every aspect has functioned as expected.

Gayle P.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/08/2018

emPerform Review

Overall our experience with emPerform has been terrific! Our newly assigned consultant didn't miss a beat with us and offered up many suggestions that helped streamline our processes even more!

Pros

I like the look and feel of the product. Very professional when you put the tool together with your company's logo and colors. Pretty intuitive from a non-admin perspective. My managers seemed to like it.

Cons

From an admin perspective, it is a little cumbersome and often overwhelming. Need a step by step administrative user guide.

Response from emPerform

Thank you for the wonderful feedback Gayle! I know our entire team loves working with your team. We are always working to improve the usability of emPerform so we will be in touch to discuss some changes that are coming and to and get some of your ideas. :)

Replied 05/10/2018
Lori M.
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/03/2018

Awesome! Customer rep are amazing to work with.

Pros

Ease of use, flexibility , tech support, help with reports, tags are awesome, others are happy with the system

Cons

Email notifications aren't working very well right now. Other than that I can think of anything else.

Response from CRG emPerform

Thanks for your feedback Lori! We think you are awesome too! We'll look into your emails right away so we can make sure all is running smoothly for you.

Replied 13/03/2018
Mia L.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/11/2016

Software Upgrades Issues

As above stated based on my rating it's good. However it doesn't give details about upgrades. Every time there's an upgrade we spend a great amount of time waiting for the issues to be fixed. The most current upgrade we waited about a week. There were technical issues on the back end that couldn't be explain. We usually have to get a test profile to go through the steps when there are major upgrades so we can catch these issues ahead of time. Yes customer support is great during this time but the software itself definitely has issues each upgrade occurs.

Response from CRG emPerform

Hi Mia - I am so sorry to hear the upgrade process didn't go smoothly for you. I can assure you this isn't the norm for emPerform. I know we have already been in touch throughout the process but we will reach out again outside of Capterra to discuss further. Your satisfaction is our #1 priority.

Replied 03/11/2016
Deb G.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 08/12/2016

emPerform Review from MAC LLP

Very user-friendly for the staff. I love that I can access everything in one place and track goals throughout the year. I've had a little trouble with the admin part in that it is not straight forward and little difficult to navigate and remember the process from year to year, however, the customer support has been wonderful. It would be nicer if it was included in the price of the software, though. I like the new look of 5.0 as well. Very professional.

Response from CRG emPerform

Thank you Debbie! We are extremely happy with the new look of emPerform too. You will be happy to note that support is now included as part of your subscription license fee so call us anything you would like a refresher or some help.

Replied 05/10/2018
43 reviews