PyCharm Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About PyCharm

PyCharm is an on-premise Python integrated development environment (IDE) solution, which helps organizations and professional developers write and edit code on a customizable platform. Professionals can alter schemas and run...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.2

Browse PyCharm Reviews

345 of 345 reviews
Sort by:
Ilaria
Ilaria
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/12/2021

The best environment for Python developers

My experience with PyCharm has been very positive. The interface is pleasant, it is easy to open new files from the same directory, any folder can be opened as a PyCharm project and every extension can be opened, such as readmes. PyCharm has auto-saving, which is useful in case of crashes, and automatically re-opens the last project I was working on when I restart it which decreases the time taken before I can start working. The integration with GitHub makes collaborating really easy. Overall, I would recommend it, as it greatly simplifies the job of a developer and makes it pleasant.

Pros

My favourite parts of this IDE are the integration with GitHub, which is simple and immediate, with the possibility to right away download a project from a shared repository. Furthermore, the interface is pleasant, installing new packages is easy to do within the interface without the use of pip install, and now there is also the new option for collaborating live - which is promising, although I have not tried it yet. The suggestions for code completion are relevant and greatly speed up the job of writing code. Import statements are sometimes imported automatically from previous code pieces. Having a JetBrains account makes it easy to keep changes across OS and computers.

Cons

One of the least intuitive things with PyCharm is starting a virtual environment for every code that needs to be run, and making the packages available to each python file: every time a new python file is created in a new directory, the virtual environment needs to be imported from a previous instance (or re-created, but this involves re-installing the packages). It could be nice to make the virtual environment available to every file by default, such that packages are always available. In some cases, it is also hard to install the latest version, thereby an older version has to be installed. This is not beneficial.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 18/08/2022

One stop solution for Python enthusiasts

It was a great experience for me to use Pycharm so far. I have been using this IDE for my day-to-day tasks as a data science professional. The only issue I had with it is the high RAM usage which slows down my work often.

Pros

I found its user-friendly UI self-explanatory, making it easier to navigate. It gives the flexibility to install packages, build ML models and deploy.

Cons

Too much resource hungry and consumes up a lot of RAM during use.

Alternatives Considered

Spyder and Sublime Text

Reasons for Choosing PyCharm

Pycharm is the clear choice considering my work related to data science

Switched From

Spyder

Reasons for Switching to PyCharm

Pycharm is more suitable for my data science-related work.
Akshat
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 14/01/2023

Coding Platform for beginners

Overall experience is not very good but yes, For a beginner to learn and explore different software this can be an option.

Pros

The customer support is quite appreciable here, Also it has some special environment which helps in deploying some software codes.

Cons

The price for the software is quite high, Also the UI is of poor quality and very less functionalities are offered.

Top PyCharm Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/03/2021

Best Python IDE with support for other languages

I don't use Python as much as R, but I appreciate having an excellent IDE to make my projects more efficient, better scripted, and more robust.

Pros

The layout and features are excellent for data science and data analysis projects. The GUI is clean and user friendly. The pricing structure is fair and allows for perpetual ownership of a version of the software even if you stop subscribing (within certain requirements). Extra addons and third party plugins make it even better. It also now includes R support too, so it can be a single IDE for all data projects.

Cons

On first opening the software, the screen can feel and look pretty cluttered. It can feel a little overwhelming, but once you get used to it, the interface is really well designed.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Visual Studio

Reasons for Choosing PyCharm

Visual Studio is a wonderful software but it is really designed for pure code not data work. PyCharm is for data work.

Switched From

Microsoft Visual Studio
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/07/2019

Best Python IDE

Great for general Python programming

Pros

This is the de facto standard Python IDE.. it's great. There is both a free version (community) and paid (enterprise). The UI is super slick and it just helps me so much in general productivity with a lot of built in features for automatically doing things like setting up virtual environments, downloading python modules, amazing code completion.. etc. Also has great integration with git repos and pushing code easily.

Cons

Would be nice if it handled writing custom code documentation a bit better.. but this is not really a fault of pycharm but more python/python's PEP itself

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/03/2021

Everything you need in One IDE

Satisfactory and boosts productivity for me and people I've recommended it to

Pros

Great thing I love about PyCharm is

1. Easy to manage your virtual Environments
2. Services - Control your docker, vagrant services
3. Version Control - You can view history on any highlighted text
4. Manage your remote connections

Cons

The memory hog is one thing, but then it requires at least a 8GB ram. You can easily do a RAM upgrade

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/01/2022

A newly-found favorite IDE on mine. Simple and user-friendly.

Pros

1. Simple
2. Well-integrated with CI/CD tools
3. User-friendly
4. Free to use!
5. Credible and widely-known
6. There are many forums and training out there

Cons

1. None for me. I have been using PyCharm for several months now and I have no complaints about this. I can see myself using this for the next years to come in my test automation.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/08/2021

My opinion on PyCharm after 2 years of using it as student and 6 months as a professional

I loved developing python scripts with PyCharm, it saved me a lot of time, an easy to get the hang of it due to its simple UI

Pros

What I really like about PyCharm is the ability to separate the output of the script and the debugging terminal, also the auto-complete feature is great it saved me a lot of time

Cons

It is not lightweight software, and it produces a huge amount of junk files that eats the space on your PC you will need to delete those files every week if your PC has no enough space

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/05/2022

Great software development tool, particularly for beginners

Never ran into major issues, it was good to use with the group for teaching and developing. Its friendly interface made everything smooth.

Pros

It's extremely user-friendly, with great UX/UI, good features, and good supporting material online. It's a very nice tool, particularly for beginners who can edit, debug, and run their code in one single platform, without having to run separate software/commands. Very easy to download and install, it didn't require major updates or anything.

Cons

I used it for about 4 months over a university term, I don't have any complaints. It was a very nice tool for the applications we were using (simple Python coding).

George Rex
George Rex
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 25/09/2019

A Good Tool For Lovers of Python

I particularly am using PyCharm to horn my skills in coding with the python programming language. Apart from the fact that I get to wait a long time for the software to load, and I cant multitask with other jobs on my laptop, PyCharm is really a wonderful tool for both newbies and experts to build wonderful python programs. And the fact that the Django framework is embedded makes it even better for optimal utility.

Pros

This software is quite intelligent and a wonderful masterpiece. Its pack of libraries and easy intelligent code recognition and indentation makes me always want to continue my coding practice in python.

Cons

I know PyCharm is useful in creating a GUI feel for python codes, but the product is quite heavy and resource consuming especially when running on earlier versions of Windows operating system; this makes the loading and initialization time to take long.

Zach
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 31/10/2021

Good choice if you are looking for a heavier, feature-oriented Python IDE

Overall, it was a slow text editor for me, and I wasn't able to get all of the advanced features to work well in my environment. In other environments or if one decides to spend a lot of time in the configuration, it might eventually pay off. However, I'm personally more interested in a slimmer code editor.

Pros

There are a lot of features built into PyCharm. The code completion which is like an intellisense is very handy. There are nice contextual features like jumping to a definition of a variable, method, class, etc.

Cons

All of the features makes the software bulkier and ultimately a slower experience. I also never got to use some of the more advanced features because they didn't play well with my environment. I use projects based on buildout, and although there is buildout support built in, I found it too hard to set up and work out all of the kinks, so I ended up not even using most of those advanced features.

Maha
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 29/08/2023

PyCharm: One of the Best IDEs for Serious Python Development

Amazing features in code completion, debugging, package importing, and virtual environment management.

Pros

I have developed several AI/ML applications with the help of PyCharm. Very intuitive IDE that provides easy code completion and debugging for my Python projects. I tried several other IDEs including the reference IDLE implementation but PyCharm is way ahead. Easy importing of packages for scientific computing, machine learning, client/server programming, and database connectivity. Virtual Runtime environments can also be managed very easily in the project settings.

Cons

A bit of lagging performance on Mac from time to time. I checked and this might be due to the use of several virtual python environments on my system. Not an issue as the features available makes it really appealing for long development hours in Python.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/04/2022

Why Pycharm is the Best Python Editor ?

I've been using it for a few months now and feel comfortable working with it, I started in university when I started learning Python it was with a different editor which is Spyder, but when I finished the basics and started progressing, everyone advised me to use Pycharm.

Pros

I am going to talk now and tell you why this editor is my favorite among the other editors in the Python language.
You should know first that it is an advanced editor than the other editors . So why is it better? This is due to the fact that it provides you with some tools that will save you time when writing the code, and as we programmers know the importance of time for us, I used it for months and I am now very comfortable working with it, I spent a year before that in the Spyder editor,after that I decided to move forward and use other editors, and after going deeper, everyone told me that PyCharm is a superb editor, and indeed, after what I personally used, I was convinced why it is so.
It is also nice that there is a free and paid version of it for those who want to get other advantages, the editor is working on Linux / macOS / Windows.
I also advise beginners to start using it, for the beginning is to take the basics and not build large projects, if you use the editor ؛PyCharm or the editor Spyder will not differentiate this topic.

Cons

One of the negatives that I encountered is the slowness when running, not very slow, but it is rather noticeable, also when using it for the first time you need to adjust the default settings unlike the Spyder editor, its use is direct and very easy.

Pawan
Pawan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/03/2021

Best IDE for Python

So when it comes to the Python programming language, Pycharm is the best choice considering both its great collection of features and some cons it has.

Pros

I use Pycharm most of my time for doing Python programming and I use it in both my Windows and Linux as its cross-platform. It has integration with version control, anaconda, ipython, pylint, and others which makes it easier for programmers like me. It has an intelligent code editor which enhances code readability by color schemes for keywords, functions, classes, syntax, and error highlighting. Also, it provides error identification and quick fixes for it where the error occurs. I love debugging the python code with its powerful debugger tool. I usually use the rename refactoring feature which makes my programming faster. Also, I love the autocompletion feature with the Django web framework and Flask. It has a lot of plugins and also selectable light and dark theme to switch for day and nighttime. It has integration with Git and I can run git commands in the Pycharm terminal or perform Git operations with its GUI. It has support for multiple projects so I can switch from one project easily and also good database support.

Cons

It is a great IDE with a huge collection but it needs memory more than other IDE available so it may lag sometimes. The community edition is available for free but it's only for pure python development so it would be best if its Pro version is available for a better price as it's expensive.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/01/2022

The IDE that change your coding habbits

The fact that PyCharm is a user-friendly software and contains many features has accelerated problem solving in my business life.

Pros

I was using vscode before I started using Pycharm. Actually everything seems good. But vscode is not a IDE. Features like better debugging, code completion, remote ssh pushed me to use Pycharm. I was able to use these features with extensions. But Pycharm is a more user-friendly software to use.

Cons

I think, there is no cons about this software. I've used it for many years and never see better IDE.

Irina
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/07/2019

The best framework for writing and running Python code

I am a data scientist and a statistician, and all codes I write are in Python. I tried various frameworks like iPython, and it was very bad. PyCharm provides the best experience if you need to write, debug and run serious Python codes.

Pros

1) Easy to use, good prompt, all necessary features available, including debugging and Git sharing. Easiness to rename a function or a variable in all occasions simultaneously.
2) Terminal feature allowing to try small chunks of code inline
3) Possibility to incorporate a lot of statistical (SciPy, NumPy), graphical (PyPlot) etc. packages, allowing to do literally everything withing Python.

Cons

More autocorrection and highlighting than I would like (can be switched off, but it's difficult and not for all options).
Rather difficult to install additional packages which Python may need (again, not crucial, all most common packages like NumPy or SciPy are installed easily, the problem is only with some fancy packages).

Yogesh
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/06/2022

Best IDE For Python related stuff.

Overall, when I want to work on mostly python related stuff I will definitely use this IDE as it accelerates progress more but when I will be working on mostly frontend code and not much python-based backend I would not use this as it slows me a little.

Pros

Being specific to only Python-related development really helps this IDE.
Ready to use Python frameworks project files.
We can also manage virtual environments in a really good way using this.
A really good interface for using Git and Github which makes it very good for VCS.

Cons

Not a cons but I was having to use another code editor/IDE for the frontend, I was not that much comfortable using frontend libraries and languages in this IDE.

Yollanda
Yollanda
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 27/04/2021

Pycharm

Found it easy to use and helps a lot if one is learning to be a python programmer

Pros

As a python coder, its pretty much straight to the point and handy to python works and commands which mostly automatically link to code

Cons

Its a bit heavy if you have a small processor machine and consumes a lot of speed to itself slowing the machine down and even heating up the processor

Kunule
Kunule
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/08/2023

Pycharm, an IDE built for developers by developers.

Using Pycharm is a joy and a huge productivity boost. When mastered well you'll have no reason to pick another tool for your Python development even in this era of AI tools.

Pros

Pycharm is an intelligent code editor that offers a modern GUI with tons of customisations that make for a fruitful and efficient developer experience. It has a generous pricing model that places it within reach of all types of developers from the student, the hobbyist to the professional.

Cons

For old machines, it can be a memory hog. On large projects the indexing can be slow which is a pain.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 16/08/2019

Elegant, Easy-to-use and Time serving

I used PyCharm for machine learning projects. I found using this IDE very useful and easy due to its more useful features I mentioned above. It was really easy to work with the IDE as I could even open CSV files inside the IDE due to its extended support. It is a great IDE to use for easy programming and the IDE makes it easier to debug the scripts as well.

Pros

I really like the ability to run small code blocks separately without having to run the whole script. It helps to test blocks of codes separately and to debug. The ability to detect unused libraries that are imported to the script is another useful feature I have noticed in PyCharm. It helps to remove unwanted yet currently imported libraries. The available different themes are also appealing and helpful. Further, PyCharm supports a wide range of plug-ins as well.

Cons

The slight disadvantage of using PyCharm is if we get used to using it, it becomes slightly difficult to adopt to another IDE in a case where we have to use another IDE. This is because PyCharm consists of lot of features, libraries and extensions by default that reduce a lot of manual task which will not be available in all other IDEs.

Jerric
Jerric
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/03/2020

PyCharm stands for "Perfect for Python"

As you can see in my pros points I listed a lot compared to the cons, so it's justifiable that my overall experience with PyCharm is more than adequate.

- Code faster and efficiently, PyCharm solved a lot of things for me, it's code completion and auto formatting is one of the best features I've encountered in an IDE.

Pros

- Full featured: from shortcut keys, code lints, test runners, auto venv creation upto docker integration, this IDE has it all to keep you up and running with python development.

- Fully Customizable: Theming? This got a wide variety of "plugins" already tailored made for you, need to use another test runner? PyCharm let's you choose from unittest to PyTest no prob!

- Easy to use: The learning curve is almost none existent, this got me coding in a matter of minutes, haven't used Jupiter notebook and don't feel like I need it because of this.

- Intuitive: Whether your a seasoned python dev or just beginning to write your first py code, this IDE got your back, with it's auto formatting using `Reformat file` feature, clean code is in the tip of fingers.

- Affordable: You can go for the community version (which is more than enough for me) and btw it's FREE

Cons

- Takes quite an amount of memory: Yeah a bit RAM hungry, but if your a software dev, and rocking a minimum 2017 Macbook Pro, or a Dell XPS you SHOULD have an ample amount already so that won't be too much drama for you.

Derek
Derek
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/10/2020

Terrific Python IDE

Pros

It has everything and more. If it doesn’t, there are plugins. Constantly updated. Stable.

Cons

I don’t really have any cons. If I am being nit picky, some things can be a little more intuitive.

Onur
Onur
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 04/08/2023

PyCharm Review

My overal experience with PyCharm is excellent. It's not easy to find a IDE which is directly focused on Python.

Pros

I am frequently writing Python code for manipulating the Linux environments. Pycharm is specialized in Python and helps a lot with the Python code. It has very simple and powerful UI for developing Python scripts.

Cons

PyCharm has a lot of plugins that helps Python development. I'd be very happy if they add more plugins.

Adrian
Adrian
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/07/2022

Pycharm from the perspective of a Python Developer

When I started coding in Python I quickly realized I need an IDE that would help me learn and improve my coding experience. I tried different IDEs until I was recommended PyCharm. This has helped me learn Python deeper. I became better, and I am thankful for it!

Pros

I like the way the tooltips inform me about various ways I can improve my code. I like the way it integrates with docstrings. I like the vast customization features and the plugins.

Cons

I think one of the main issues I have is the MyPy integration. There are some plugins but they're not very reliable. And I would prefer if this functionality would be in PyCharm itself.

Debarpan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/04/2022

Excellent python development environment

We used PyCharm for a python development project for migrating data to a newer environment and performing statistical analysis on it. The data source was Microsoft D35, and the data was moved to the Azure cloud environment. PyCharm was very efficient in handling the codes, it was flexible for integrating changes regularly, scaling up was possible as well. The overall development work was carried on smoothly owing to the huge number of features and potential of PyCharm. We carried on statistical analysis and graphing in PyCharm to extract insights from the data.

Pros

Intuitive and intelligent navigation
Develop large projects with ease with all features and functionalities available
Simple debugging, integration with third-party applications
Supports scientific libraries like Matplotlib, Scipy for machine learning work
Supports App engine for web development (professional version)
Supports a wide range of programming languages
Allows connecting with professional python frameworks like flask, django for development work

Cons

Improving optimal memory allocation
PyCharm can take up more space than other similar applications which could slow down the development work
Getting started needs time since a lot of features are packed together

345 reviews