User Reviews Overview

About Finale Inventory

Finale Inventory is a cloud-based inventory and supply chain management solution designed for small and midsize businesses that offers stock management, purchasing, order management and reporting functionalities within a suite....

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Finale Inventory Reviews

174 of 62,640 reviews
Sort by:
Joseph M.
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/07/2017

Superb service, perfect for our needs, easy to use

Pros

We are part of a university research lab group that uses Finale to track supplies of biospecimen collection kits (builds) and lab supplies. The ability to create builds (to track individual components) for our kits is wonderful! Also, the ability to track lot identifiers and expiration dates is critical for lab reagents and things like blood collection vials.

Having Finale Inventory has really helped as our group as we have grown. It's very easy to use and their are still numerous features that we haven't fully explored. Pricing is very reasonable as well.

The customer service is FANTASTIC! Chinh (Co-founder, Finale Inventory) has always been very accessible and replies promptly. He's spent extra time walking through problems with us over the phone. This company really goes out of their way to make sure their customers are happy. I can't stress that enough.

We have used Finale since late 2014 and are currently in the process to expand our use of it. We are very pleased with both the software and the tremendous customer service and user support.

Cons

Overall, we are extremely happy with the software. Sometimes our inventory numbers get off due to user error, especially when our builds change (which is not often). So we don't suggest relying solely on re-order thresholds. This is a problem more with our workflow than the software, but it would be nice if there were some kind of mechanism to assist with build changes and inventory audits (though there are great report features and barcode tracking is an option). We have discussed upgrading to use the barcode tracking (which would probably help alleviate this problem for us), but have not made that commitment.

The ability to control user permissions and access (like completely separating inventory) is also a little limited, but we haven't really had problems from this. Finale does allow you to assign inventory to different custom locations, but we did decide to get a second account to fully separate our inventory tracking between two groups that never share inventory. On the other hand, being able to share inventory and easily move items from one location to another is also a great benefit.

Austin E.
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/12/2019

Finale Does That

As a fulfillment company we had inventory for 20+ different clients each wanting an inventory report at any given time and for sure at the end of each month. Before Finale we were tracking inventory only on spreadsheets, this meant hours and hours were spent physically counting inventory. I can't tell you how many late nights were spent at the warehouse counting inventory. Once Finale was implemented those late nights were no more. Finale immediately saved us hours of time, no more long days of physically counting every piece in our warehouse.

We have numerous kitting projects and kits that are shipped from our warehouse, the Build feature has helped our company immensely with tracking inventory components of each build and keeping everything organized and easily accessible across our entire company.

I could go on and on about the features and flawless customer support Finale offers!

Pros

I love having the BoM feature. It has helped with our Kits that are either pre-built for the pick line or are a bundle that need to be shipped together. It has helped immensely with tracking inventory.

Cons

Wish it had an ios app for when I am away from my desk, that could easily pull up and display information.

Alternatives Considered

Stitch Labs and NetSuite
Kevin K.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/08/2017

Without good customer service, even the best software is pretty much worthless.

Simple inventory that fits how we work.

Pros

Finale Inventory is very easy to use, not overly-built and accessible to the small-medium sized business who do not need a complicated ERP management type system.

Right out of the gate, it is very easy to set up and start using, so that you can be productive in the first day. Simply start where you need, and build outward from there. There is no need to make things complicated. You can start small and add things in as you need.

The concept of a "build" is especially helpful to assist in managing products that are parts of other stock inventory products, and you can utilize this concept for as many layers as makes sense. For instance, several products can be included into another product "build". That product can then one of several products that make up another product "build". And so on, and so on. You can make things as granular or as broad as you need, and Finale Inventory will assist in this process, without limiting your style of work.

It is web-based so that it is accessible anywhere you are traveling.

Finale Inventory has everything a basic inventory system should have, without the overwhelm usually associated with such systems.

Customer service is extremely responsive and superb. We recently asked for a report that we needed for stock takes - on a Sunday night. On Monday morning, it was finished. EXCELLENT!

Highly recommended to test drive , you won't be disappointed.

Cons

A web interface has it's limitations, but even that is being improved! Being in the cloud make internet connectivity necessary when using. No surprises there.

Top Finale Inventory Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/03/2021

If you like working with spreadsheets, you'll love this

Great. Easy. I was set up - by myself - before my trial ended.

Pros

Best part about this is the copy and paste from a spreadsheet. Seriously the most ingenious way to import product data. I hate saving files on my computer and then needing to find the file... I can make changes to a list of items sooo quickly.

Cons

When I have to import information, rather than one screen, I have to import the product - then import the lookup - then import the quantity - then import the cost. Mind you, I copy the data set once and then just have to paste it into 4 different screens, but it's annoying and if I get distracted, I might easily forget a step

Reasons for Switching to Finale Inventory

Connection and Ease of setup
Mike S.
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 09/03/2021

Wouldn't be here without it

Pros

We purchased Finale Inventory within the first few weeks of starting our business in 2016, back when $149 was an insane amount of money to be spending on software each month and we could barely afford it. It was one of the best decisions we made. Not only do we have historic data going back to the beginning of our business, Finale has allowed us to grow and scale in a way we never could have without it. Our catalog started with a few component entries and has grown to hundreds of SKUs in a short couple of years. We never could have managed this growth in a sustainable manner without the important inventory tracking capabilities that Finale provides.

Cons

Velocity tracking of build orders and material usage similar to how components are tracked from sales orders.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/02/2021

Finale Completely Changed Our Business

Pros

Honestly, I love everything about Finale. Before we started using the software, we were using Google sheets to keep track of all of our inventory. To say that getting Finale was life changing is an understatement. It made sending POs and keeping track of inventory so much easier and faster and was pivotal in helping us grow our business. Not only that, the customer support is out of this world. Anytime I have a question (which is pretty often), the team responds extremely quickly and is always willing to hop on a call to help me with whatever I need. I couldn't recommend this software more.

Cons

There are a few features and reports that we looked for that Finale didn't have, but nothing that has really made that much of an impact.

Marshall G.
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/02/2019

Finale Inventory - Distributor's Perspective

The team at Finale Inventory has been amazing! They were extremely helpful with on-boarding; Have routinely answered support tickets during off hours; Go above and beyond trying to find us solutions to any issue; and have the patience to explain situations to us thoroughly.

Pros

When we were looking for a new inventory solution we had one major issue: How can we manage inventory across over a dozen websites, (and through our wholesales program) with some degree of accuracy, while allowing our in-house account managers and order processing personnel ease of use? Finale was a complete and total answer to that question.

Pros:
* Simple interface
* Extremely fast and easy for building purchase orders or sales orders
* Adding customers, suppliers, and new products is extremely easy.
* Very flexible reporting module.

Cons

* Not enough group security.
* Needs a bit more flexibility in the interface options.
* Needs a better way of tracking cancelled orders and how they affect inventory.

Jolynn M.
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/01/2015

Great Plug and Play Tool

We needed a solution for a complicated international, multi-location barcoded inventory management system that was easy to understand, quick to implement and that could manage the complexity of our business model. The team at Finale was quick to understand our needs and worked hard to create solutions, within their framework in an extremely timely manner, that worked.
Start easy: We went live in less than 3 months of our first engagement. It was a team effort that included a specific and doable work plan from the leadership at Finale. Any glitch or issue that came up they were quick to respond and trouble shoot. As the project sponsor, I felt well informed, abreast of the issues and included on solutions.
Reduce Human Error: The Finale team has the depth and breadth to listen and respond to the complexities of the business model by asking pointed questions to increase their knowledge of business processes. We started to capture our inventory as we were still working out the nuances of our model, and although I know it was stressful for them, as the client they were nothing but professional and timely in there solutions.
Peace of Mind: Having no inventory system at all, to having the Finale Inventory System is allowing us to take our business to the next level. We are able to see at a glance, globally, what we have in inventory and shift product around to speed our time to market. What use to take weeks/months to resolve, now can be achieved in hours.
Work anywhere: We have inventory in multiple countries around the globe. As the Director of the division, I can see at a glance from wherever I am not only the inventory levels, but I can run reports and give directives that will save us considerable resources, both monetary and human.

Pros

I highly recommend the team at Finale and their inventory tool. They are fantastic to work with. They are solution driven, they listen, they inform when scope creep arises, and they are mindful of budgets, time and deliverables. A winning team.

Cons

None that I have come across in our go live phase.

M W.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/06/2016

Finale is One of The Best Business Decisions We Made Last Year

We love the simplicity and efficiency of the program. It looks clean, is easy to navigate and is completely intuitive and easy to use, even for beginners. It isn't visually overwhelming and cluttered with too much "stuff", it is super simple yet very powerful.

We started out with Finale a little over a year ago after spending several months researching every program on the market, reading reviews and really doing our due diligence before finally zeroing in on Finale. We have not looked back since.

Chinh, Chris and Mike are exceptionally attentive to our every need. If ever we have had a question, problem or a suggestion, they are super quick to respond (usually within minutes) and address it immediately. They have a super hands on approach and honestly seem to care about building a quality business by caring about their product and their customers.

They have gone above and beyond to integrate Finale to work with various online channels that we sell on. For instance when we started they did not yet have an integration for pushing stock levels to Overstock and we expressed our need for this and within a month they used our Overstock account as the guinea pig for building the integration. They encountered some bumps in the road linking up with Overstock's API and Chris and his team were able to work around them with lightning speed and we have had a seamless Finale to Overstock inventory integration ever since.

Finale has truly changed the way we do business and increased our productivity and efficiency 100 times over. I mean we were literally in the dark ages before we started using Finale, we had no digital inventory control, we were updating online marketplace inventory manually every day, it was literally insanity with all the products we have, which is THOUSANDS. We are truly grateful for Finale and to their team and recommend it to anyone.

Stu S.
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/08/2017

Using Finale Inventory software has been a very positive experience.

Clean and neat inventory tracking and Sales Order creation. (Industry is not represented below and is multi-disciplinary).

Pros

We have keyed in 30 Field Reps' shipping information into the Finale system, along with 25 descriptive SKUs and inventory counts. It's simple to create Sales Orders for them and Sales History is automatically generated for easy review and analysis. We wand all inventory used each day and have a current count at all times.

Cons

We had some issues with the Windows Explorer platform but those went away with moving over to Google Chrome.

Mikayla A.
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/03/2021

Great Software

Finale has been super helpful in managing our inventory as well as cracking down on accuracy with picking orders.

Pros

The integration with our other software is vital and Finale makes it seamless. Because Finale has so many functions/capabilities to fit the needs of various business structures, it can be overwhelming to set up/manage all features as needed, so the customer service is very helpful.

Cons

Not all features and names of said features are super intuitive until you're used to using them.

John S.
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/03/2021

Finale Inventory- Long Time user

Very happy with the support, and the way they will develop new features and adjustments based on feedback. They care about you.

Pros

I have been using Finale for many years for our Pyrotechnics Inventory, Have seen much development and customer service has always been most responsive.

Cons

Would like more Mac support. Most development and support are done on Windows, would be good if they had someone familiar with the Mac OS and iOS.

David K.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/05/2016

Ingenious

it has been very exciting week for me and my co-workers who has been working diligently to migrate from Quickbooks Enterprise to Finale Inventory. we are now doing things we have never dreamed of doing.
Finale Inventory made this transition amazingly easy. we just kept asking ourselves the same question over and over. is that this easy? for example, it would take so many manual entries in Quickbooks in order to set up one new per item price level but in Finale, we were allowed to import a per item price level by simply "copy & paste". we were also allowed to duplicate Quickbooks' memorized transactions by simply importing "order items" within Sales Order or Purchase Order screen and making that sales order an editable template so that we can create a new order from it over and over. Finale is so versatile that we can improvise anything. another powerful tool i've found was "sub-locations". the guys behind Finale must be genius. i wasn't aware of the power of this tool. about a year ago, i came up with an idea of organizing our warehouses in sections or zones and tagging each location. however, i had to put a hold on that idea halfway through since i didn't have a tool to track inventory going in and out of those locations. finally, i am able to put pieces together with Finale coming to rescue. i found sub-locations together with their barcode scanners extremely powerful organizing our warehouses. now i can track every single item i buy and sell and know exactly how many i have in stock. doing a physical inventory was a nightmare before but now it is a snap with Finale. i am still exploring with Finale but i have a full confidence in Finale management team that anything is possible with Finale.

Derrick P.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 01/12/2016

Small But Growing Business on Multiple Platforms

Finale has done great solving the main need we had, that is, a centralized inventory that is synced across multiple selling platforms. They worked with us to be one of the first customers syncing to Amazon.co.uk which was great. There have only been a few selling platforms they do not yet support but we are hoping to come soon.

Sometimes the software is a little quirky to use, but for the most part, is pretty stable and you can usually find a good workaround. It is limited in the fact you cannot centralize listings/data and push those out (only inventory stock levels), but for the cost of the product, this was understood.

Still love it and plan to continue using it going forward.

Pros

Centralized inventory synced across multiple sales channels/platforms

Cons

Sometimes "clunky" or quirky in areas; adding new products a little cumbersome; more sales channels to sync with would be great (Please get Weebly soon!)

William Z.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/07/2017

Excellent, Very Professional

Pros

Easy to use, Convenient and always growing to meet your needs.
A Family like Customer service that will help you with any questions you might have.
I would highly recommend this software to any company handling any type of inventory, from Explosives to Pencils. This software will work for anything and everything and the staff will meet any request you have in a timely manner

Derrick M.
  • Industry: Packaging & Containers
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 18/08/2019

Finale Inventory

It is a good product, I would not say great but good.

Pros

We use Finale Inventory to track shipments, stock counts, suppliers, cost and so much more.

Cons

Some times when creating new suppliers or new SKU you have to close the program and re-open, others wise the new information can not be found.

Mariah B.
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/03/2018

Absolutely, purely, phenomenally, magical

Pros

Finale is BY FAR the best software package I have ever used. Its functionality has virtually no limits, they team of engineers working on it are constantly improving, and you can have as many calls as you need to get set up at no charge. In a nutshell, the value it provides is unmatched.

Cons

I have not found anything I dislike. The user interface took a minute to get oriented to because there is SO much you can do but I'd rather have more functionality than less and, since they have training videos and amazing support, you just need to spend the time to think through what you want it to do and they will make it happen.

Steve L.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/01/2017

Finale Is The Best Inventory System On The Market & Amazing Customer Support

We have been using Finale for the past year and a half and it truly is awesome. It does take some effort to fully understand and utilize, but, it's well worth the effort.

Even better than their 5 star software is Finale's 10 star customer support. I like to believe our business has the best customer support, but it can't hold a candle to the extra mile the folks at Finale go to help their customers.

Thank you Finale for a great product and truly out of this world customer support!

Pros

It keeps track of inventory for all sales channels in one place.

Cons

Nothing

Christina J.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/01/2018

Always excellent customer service

Pros

Always excellent customer service, and very easy to use . We got help with any issues and all the training we needed too.

Cons

It's geared to a broader audience and not to our specific industry needs. We need something more specific to coffee/office supplies.

Jeff S.
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/12/2017

Finale has been a perfect solution for our growing business.

Inventory management.

Pros

Our business manufactures items that require assembly and kitting. Finale's ability to manage and track each component individually as well as when complete kits are sold is very advantageous for our business. As well, the ability to synchronize inventory and transactions through our multiple sales channels allows us to rely on Finale as our single inventory management system. Lastly, the ease of use and set up has been refreshing as we were able to get started within a few days and training employee's is a breeze.

Jaime H.
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/02/2021

Simple and customizable

Great software, well thought out layout, and the support is quick and on the ball (which is a HUGE asset). The system specific reporting module is also very easy to navigate and super helpful for businesses that don't staff an internal report writer.

Pros

The amount of customization available out of the box with Finale Inventory makes it an ideal tool, especially for small businesses with unusual inventory management practices.

Cons

I would love to see a bit less reliance on ShipStation as a partner system for some basic order management tasks.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2017

Use Finale every day!

Pros

Finale inventory makes my life so easy for inventory! Everything is so easy! It's inexpensive and you can create hundreds of extra fields to help further organize your inventory

Cons

Sometimes Finale is TOO simple, which is kind of a bad thing. But I also love that they just don't do certain things. But connectivity works between programs, so that makes up for it.

Carolyn H.
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/12/2017

The customer service is excellent! You can easily reach and get a response from a real person.

As we get the system dialed in on our end, it gives us peace of mind to know that we have much more accurate information to work with and base decisions on.

Pros

It really helps create more organization, structure, & efficiency to our inventory supply chain. The company has been great working with another vendor or ours to seamlessly integrate our CRM system.

Cons

We've not run into anything that has been a big challenge or issue. They actually welcome feedback and make changes to help the customer/user experience.

Jd P.
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 04/01/2017

Good but could be great

Finale has worked really well for us but we are waiting on some features. Wifi syncing on the barcode devices would be great and a phone app would also really improve the experience. The ability to combine stocks together as 1 item/barcode would also be nice. However, the overall functionality is very good.

Pros

Support and ease of use

Cons

no real updates in 6 months

Response from Finale Inventory

Hello JD,
Based on customer demand, we have release Wifi syncing for the barcode scanners. More information can be found here:
http://www.finaleinventory.com/blog/product-news/wifi-syncing-available-for-mobile-barcode-scanners

Replied 09/05/2017
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/09/2015

Good Inventory System

Finale Inventory is a good platform for inventory purposes. It lacked the ability to push shipping information to a shipping software which is for us a bit of a weak point but overall it is very easy to use and find and edit data as needed.

Pros

The documents allow for editing. It is easy to receive product and manage inventory levels. It allows for a lot of inventory based applications. The invoicing, BOL, and order screens are very easy to use and give you a view of them without having to access historical documents to review them.

Cons

Does not push data to shipping programs. It allows you to enter carrier, package count, and all the information you would need to ship and item but it will not push the data to other shipping platforms. Also, it has the ability to interface with QuickBooks but it is not as easy to make the connections required.

174 reviews