User Reviews Overview

About Blackbaud Raiser's Edge NXT

Raiser’s Edge NXT is an integrated, cloud-based fundraising and relationship management solution for nonprofits. Raiser's Edge NXT provide tools to streamline various activities of a nonprofit organization and provide a single...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

Browse Blackbaud Raiser's Edge NXT Reviews

370 of 369 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 17/02/2021

Needs some improvements to compete with similar products for NGO's

I have used RE NXT everyday for over a year and I still prefer the database view to enter information. The functions seem to be lacking in depth

Pros

NXT is easy to use for most people
Aesthetically pleasant
Works well to manage donors for the most part

Cons

NXT is easy for some people to use but it seems that it is easier for employees that are also familiar with the database view
Many features on the database view are not easy to use (or non-existent) in NXT
Functions are lacking when put against other products, such as, Salesforce for Nonprofits

Michelle H. Michelle H.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/01/2017

Raiser's Finally Got an Update

I use Raiser's Edge as our donor database and the data entry, reporting features are really updated. However, when they came out with NXT, it was a game changer. NXT is amazing! It has a very attractive interface and super user friendly. As soon as you search for a record, consecutive years and all information on the donor is clear to see and it lets you know which donors you should be reaching out to. You could assign donors to others to initiate contact. You could easily access information on your mobile device. It takes the Raiser's Edge data entry interface and completely gives it a makeover. You are easily able to review giving history and all donor information on one page and very clearly. The only thing I don't like about NXT is that the consecutive years aren't always the same as in the donor records in the database version.

Pros

I use Raiser's Edge as our donor database and the data entry, reporting features are really updated. However, when they came out with NXT, it was a game changer. NXT is amazing! It has a very attractive interface and super user friendly. As soon as you search for a record, consecutive years and all information on the donor is clear to see and it lets you know which donors you should be reaching out to. You could assign donors to others to initiate contact. You could easily access information on your mobile device. It takes the Raiser's Edge data entry interface and completely gives it a makeover. You are easily able to review giving history and all donor information on one page and very clearly.

Cons

The only thing I don't like about NXT is that the consecutive years aren't always the same as in the donor records in the database version.

Vicky W. Vicky W.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 05/11/2020

Great CRM with good features

Before using NXT, make sure your team has a clear strategy on how to consistently use the "consent" module to record communications opt-ins and opt-outs. You need to make sure you are using it consistently across all records and it will serve you well.

Pros

Constituent records
Outlook plugin (quickly add emails to a constituent record)
JustGiving integration is an exciting prospect
Lists
Reporting features - including the option to send out an automatically generated custom report to yourself or a colleague, for example every month or week
Webinars and video demos of new features

Cons

Doesn't have all the functions of Raisers Edge 7 so we still needed to use RE7 in parallel
New features take a long time to arrive
Terminology doesn't always match Raider's Edge (for example "canvassers" in RE7 are fundraisers in NXT, "Attributes" vs. "Custom tags")
Emails sent out via NXT should be automatically added to constituent's record
Difficult setting up new users on the system

Top Blackbaud Raiser's Edge NXT Alternatives

Coupa Business Spend Management

Meghan G. Meghan G.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 07/11/2017

A huge step forward from RE7

Pros

RENXT is a wonderful leap forward for those that are currently using RE7. First off, it is online, so you can login anywhere and on any device, which for me makes it far more useful to fundraisers. Ultimately, I am a big fan and I think it makes your fundraisers spend more time reaching out to key donors, rather than working on back end tracking and database work. Also, what I appreciate the most is that I do not have to hire people who have RE experience anymore, because it is so easy for them to immediately start working out of NXT. It opens up the candidate pool!

Cons

This is a general blackbaud critique, but their customer service is not always the best. They can be difficult to get in touch with and you sometimes have to wait for a while to get a question answered or problem fixed. I will say, we have not had any issues with NXT in particular, where we needed to call them though.

Tamera R. Tamera R.
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

1
Reviewed on 01/03/2018

Raisers Edge is Dysfunctional

Either have SalesForce build software for you - disadvantage being that no one will be on exactly the same software so if you need changes or upgrades, you will need to pay for the programming. Advantage is that you have control over the product, and most of the expense is up front. Or go with Donor Perfect, which is truly relational, far less expensive, highly configurable, and has the best mobile ap around. And I am NOT paid by DP to say that, nor did I ever work for Blackbaud or RE.

Pros

Batch entry. That's it. If ALL you do are massive fundraisers where you bring in a thousand donations of 10 bucks apiece in one day, then RE has the batch entry system for you.

Cons

Blackbaud's contracts all have clauses that prevent users from making derogatory statements or posting negative reviews. The contract allows them to lock you out, kick you off, charge for the remainder of the contract, blah blah blah. And they enforce it. Ask yourself why a decent software would need something like that? This is NOT a relational database, and if you understand anything about software file structure, then that explains why RE is so flawed: If someone hits all of those categories, they will appear three times. Ask for their phone or email and they are now listed six times. Process to get rid of dupe listings of the same name loses all of the field access with the exception of addresses - because it's not relational that's the only way they can do it. Raisers Edge NXT has been designed to hide the 'background' so you have less access to work-arounds, but in order to do that they have had to 'assume' what fields are really important to us to be able to export from a specific query. RE is designed to archive a ton of information, it is simply not designed to use it or get it out. Support is dismal, and most support staff have never been users; not customizable; clunky, slow; embedded Word is out-of-date and difficult to update; proprietary e-mail communication tool extremely limited; nothing is intuitive; research analytics and events modules are extremely weak. A waste of money.

April W. April W.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
2.5
Customer Support
1

2.5
Reviewed on 21/04/2015

The only game in town . . .

Pros

I believe Raiser's Edge allows you to track a lot of informaiton in its constituent-relationship database and I like that it has products which it speaks to easily, i.e. a financial product (Financial Edge) and an Internet option (NetCommunity.) I enjoy having the subscription that we have which allows us access to unlimited online and phone questions/issues and also unlimited online training. Very pricey, but worth it, because of the complexity of the system. Blackbaud makes a habit of buying out a lot of their competitors which makes them "the only game in town" in some aspects, but also allows them to take the best of their competitors products and incorporate them into Raiser's Edge, etc. I am most excited about their new product launching July 1, 2015 called RE NXT. This is a cloud based application which will be a great asset to any non-profit focused on major and principal gifts. The only caveat at this point is that non-profit has to have its RE environment hosted by Blackbaud in order to purchase this product.

Cons

The customer service leaves a lot to be desired. They often do not get back to us when we have issues with RE; they seem to focus most of their customer service toward "hosted" clients (and we are not hosted at the present time); we still have cases open with them and unresolved since November 2014 (and this is now April 2015); they do not exude the "customer is always right" attitude and they are a very expensive product. Also be careful with their pricing, different customers pay different costs for the same service/products. There also seems to be a lot of hidden costs when purchasing new products or modules from Blackbaud for the RE so make sure that you delve into that with your customer representative if you are looking to purchase anything from them.

Waileia M. Waileia M.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 17/06/2019

Great for Front Line Fundraisers

We have excelled using RE NXT. Our previous systems crippled our users, creativity, effectiveness, etc....RE NXT Has allowed us to create programs for our donors that we were unable to do previously.

Pros

Ease of use, layout, look...Blackbaud did a great job thinking of the front line fundraisers' busy schedule. It is great to use on the go or in the office.

Cons

Not all functionality in the database view hasn't been implemented yet it in the webview. For my position, the webview isn't quite ready. However, due to the limitations, pulling certain lists and other functionalities within actions - it can be hard to train users (you think the functionality is there, but it hasn't been implemented yet).

Erin P. Erin P.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/12/2018

Excellent robust tool for fundraisers

Pros

The modern interface is intuitive, robust and incredibly mobile-responsive. The reporting options are great for CEOs, board members, and Development departments. The 360-degree view of each constituent is insightful and helpful. Love the ability to log in from anywhere with no additional downloads needed. Real-time constituent updates keep everyone in the loop. Blackbaud is continuing to develop and push out additional features that will make this more and more useful and relevant.

Cons

Honestly, for what I use it for, it's hard to find anything missing that Blackbaud isn't addressing and planning for future releases.

Lauri R. Lauri R.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/04/2019

Excellent Donor Management for Front Line Fundraisers

Overall we are very happy with Raiser's Edge NXT and plan to continue using this product into the future.

Pros

Easy to use from the start. Works well on mobile devices. Allow fundraisers to use a talk-to-text app to input contact reports for meetings. Blackbaud keeps increasing the functionality and roll out new features. All of our gift officers are happy with this product and use it daily to manage portfolios.

Cons

This is not a heavy work system for database managers. Still no events management in this version. Attachments added to records in NXT cannot be seen in database view.

Matthew M. Matthew M.
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 09/01/2018

The best donor management software

Raiser's Edge is the premium donor management package. We've used a couple other solutions in the past, and they don't even come close to the power of RE. It's expensive - as most Blackbaud products are - but it's well worth it for us.

Pros

Highly customizable
Powerful query and report builder
Multiple modules including Events and Volunteer Management
If you're hosted instead of on-prem, Online Express is a fantastic add-on for email blasts, form building, and event registration

Cons

Very expensive
Proper setup requires a serious time commitment
Some features are only available in the hosted environment

Jenna M. Jenna M.
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/07/2018

The Raiser's Edge is the Heart of our Organization

It is pretty expensive, but if you know how to truly use it, it will enhance your fundraising program.

Pros

The Raiser's Edge has an incredible amount of features from extensive reporting to in-depth donor records. One specific fixture that my organization finds extremely useful is the ability to search for donors using any piece of information in their record.

Cons

The Raiser's Edge has a steep learning curve and requires quite a bit of training to fully grasp all of its features. Just a slight warning before venturing into this program, patience is required.

Ursula H. Ursula H.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 30/07/2015

I'd marry RE if I could

Pros

For the most part, the product is very user friendly. We've hired several individuals with no database and/or RE experience and after a few basic training sessions they are able to pick up what they need to perform basic daily operations. I've used other products which require extensive training, which is fine, but can be time consuming especially when dealing with on-boarding a new hire. As for the vendor, cannot speak highly enough with the people I have interacted with. I always feel confident that my questions and issues will be addressed in a timely matter.

Cons

I do feel there are some definite things lacking in the export and report aspect of RE.

Veronica A. Veronica A.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/11/2018

Great Features

We are still fairly new to NXT. I am the database coordinator so a lot of the functions do not really pertain to me. I love the dashboard and I love the info you can pull up on a constituent. Very impressive.
I would love a better tutorial or a class on everything it can offer.
I do hope once we get a designated fundraiser that they will utilize NXT. It is a great tool for when you are out fundraising.

Pros

Ease of use - Once you start looking around there is a lot you can do and it is fairly easy to find the info you need.
Great for Fundraisers on the go
Lots of info
Great Dashboard

Cons

Takes getting used to - especially if you are used to the database
Lots of features - but we need a better way to learn all it can offer

Roger B. Roger B.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/04/2017

User-friendly means that the team actually uses the software.

Your DBA will still primarily be in the database view, but fundraisers - especially those on the road, will love the simplicity and functionality of NXT

Pros

The NXT interface is very user-friendly and works well on computer, tablet or phone. Of course, there are some tasks that can only be done in the database - but most of those tasks should be done by the "Super User" or DBA anyway. Think of NXT as the "lite" version of the software - functions that gift officers and casual users need but none of the "scary" bells and whistles of the database.

Cons

Blackbaud is constantly rolling out enhancements and upgrades to the product, so cons don't stay relevant for long.

Chris T. Chris T.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 05/12/2016

I think RE is a very useful program!

Raiser's Edge is a very valuable tool that I've used at several different organizations on a daily basis. It is an excellent resource when used correctly and consistently. I just wish the search function was a little easier to navigate sometimes!

Pros

I like how easily I can find information stored by colleagues throughout my organization. It cuts down on asking people questions about constituents they have relationships with.

Cons

I find it hard to search for information sometimes if you do not have all the information you need.

Gavin M. Gavin M.
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/11/2018

RE: NXT

It is a great piece of software that has helped me in my work. I would definitely consider moving from RE7 to NXT if you haven't done so already!

Pros

It is so easy to use in the web view, and it is very easy to read and understand the various charts and graphs that analyse your fundraising. Also, you have the best of both worlds - web view and database view, which is the same view as RE7.

Cons

My only gripe is that not every function of the database view is available in the web view yet. However, from watching various webinars and listening to talks at conferences, the future looks great - more functionality in the web view.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2018

We do all our Donation processing with Raiser's Edge. All data entry, constituent 'touches' &...

Database for all donations - information is kept reliable, complete (can be used to store a lot of data/facts) and accessible for reports

Pros

Data entry is easy and reports are dependable. Versatility in the type of information that can be stored in each constituent record.

Cons

the software programmers I know say the set up is very 'old school.' I use batches a lot in RE - and the setting up of each is not as intuitive as some software programs out there.

Whitney W. Whitney W.
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/07/2019

Thee Software for Fundraising Professionals

Pros

I used RE for a few years when I was doing grantwriting and development work. I had a great experience with it and a couple of other Blackbaud products. It's easy to use and I appreciate the various tutorials available for free online when you need help with reports.

Cons

Sometimes it's challenging to clean up the data. Takes a lot of time to do no matter what.

Katrina N. Katrina N.
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/08/2018

Best Thing to Happen to our Org

Pros

It's extremely simple to use, and builds on our own existing RE database- it makes navigating for the occasional user a lot easier, plus it's a lot prettier to look at!

Cons

This product doesn't function at the same high level as the database version, but it certainly doesn't stop it from coming in handy to those who don't often use RE in our organization.

Sarah W. Sarah W.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/11/2018

Perfect for gift officers

Pros

Our gift officers love this product, and the ease of use has really increased their documentation in constituent records.

Cons

There is a lot of functionality that DBAs need that you cannot access in NXT yet. I anticipate this will get better with every release, but for now I spent the majority of my time in the legacy Raiser's Edge system.

Roxanne C. Roxanne C.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 22/02/2017

razor's edge

I used this product for 2 years while working nonprofit and it is a very challenging program to use. The national organization only had 30 users and at times could not access due to other users. There were processes in place so as a user, I could not access. I could not print reports and had to be submitted 2 weeks prior to needing. It is very costly and could be better utilized for larger organizations that have the finances to purchase and to grow in to.

Pros

already completed this on the first page.

Cons

already completed this on the first page.

Megan S. Megan S.
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/08/2018

As easy as Amazon!

Pros

It is very easy to use and a non-expert can navigate NXT and retrieve accurate information and reports and even uncover new prospects. It's as easy as browsing for items and making purchases on Amazon. If you can do that, you can use Raiser's Edge NXT.

Cons

Initially getting setup has a lot of steps if you were not previously hosted by Blackbaud. There are usernames and passwords for Blackbaud's site, the hosting portal and Raiser's Edge, which confused some of my users and unnecessarily scared them away from trying to use the product. Now they understand it better and are happy with the functionality.

Graham G. Graham G.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 28/10/2011

If you are willing to put in the work, Raiser's Edge will not disappoint you with its return.

Raiser's Edge is professional fundraising software in a similar way that AutoCAD is professional architectural software. You wouldn't want to hire an architect trying to build a house with AutoCad if they didn't know the software anymore than you; and you wouldn't want to be a nonprofit trying to raise funds with Raiser's Edge without substantial software training. Organizations that can dedicate at least one staff person to become deeply trained in Raiser's Edge will benefit the most from the software.

That said, basic training for accomplishing standard tasks is relatively easy and Blackbaud's customer support is pretty damn fantastic, but if you don't have someone who understands how the software thinks and can apply that knowledge to how your organization operates, you will not reap all of the benefits Raiser's Edge offers.

If you raise $500,000 or more a year (or are planning to), you need Raiser's Edge. If your operation is smaller, go with eTapestry or another solution. If you do go with Raiser's Edge, hire/dedicate someone on your team to become a Raiser's Edge guru! The easiest way to support your designated guru is to create a stand-alone installation for a test environment on a dedicated laptop or virtual server so s/he can really test out all the features without risking your live data - Blackbaud will help with this and it does not violate your software licensing agreement (as long as the test system is not used as a second, production database).

Tony G. Tony G.
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/06/2019

Why wouldn't you use NXT?

Pros

The ability to use on any device anywhere with internet was the main reason I love NXT. It has kept our stewardship officers in the field and not on a computer entering actions.

Cons

If anything, I wish it did everything RE7 does. It's on the way for sure though!

Vicki A. Vicki A.
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/05/2017

Raiser's Edge has allowed our organization to segment our constituents into essential...

Pros

The continued growth of Blackbaud and the expansion into "the Cloud"...and the new (we're not using yet) SKY reporting!

Cons

The custom reporting is quite difficult and an organization needs specially trained staff, otherwise can be quite expensive to create custom reports.

370 reviews