User Reviews Overview

About Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT

Financial Edge NXT is a cloud accounting solution from Blackbaud that provides transparency across teams, security, compliance, and reduces the need for manual processes. The system is a fund accounting solution that provides a...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

Browse Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT Reviews

154 of 203,280 reviews
Sort by:
Bill G.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
5
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

5
Reviewed on 30/03/2021

We didn't need a Ferrari to do the job of a Ford.

Be certain of what you need and what is a reasonable price to pay for your organization... so that you don't get locked into a long contract that becomes a drain on your fundraising efforts instead of supporting your efforts.

Pros

It probably has every feature and more than you'll ever need or want. It's especially good for very large organizations that have large budgets and lots of donors to track.

Cons

My organization is small... we don't need all of the bells and whistles that come with this software and it is way to expensive for the portions that we do use. This really was a ferrari... when a ford would have been more than capable... we opted for a better suited software for our size organization and much more budget friendly for our needs.

Ashley N.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 29/06/2021

Overall easy to use and pull data

Pros

Overall Financial Edge NXT is easy to use. I mostly use it to query transactions. It is easy to pull the data that I need.

Cons

Setting up queries is not intuitive. However, once you have set it up you can use the same one over and over again. I wish the output downloaded to a different version of Excel.

Dennis W.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 25/09/2018

Moving your database to the cloud?

Pros

The actual move from our local database to the Blackbaud servers was seamless: Have everyone logout, make a backup, upload. Easy as that.

Cons

We did find that the citrix receiver is a bit slower and cumbersome to connect to the servers. In hindsight, we would likely have stayed with an on premises scenario and continued to access our local compy via Remote Desktop Connect (even though it was not supported by Blackbaud).

Top Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT Alternatives

Robert E.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 04/10/2016

Blackbaud Financial Edge (BBFE)

BBFE has both strengths and weaknesses, as might be expected. It is a true fund accounting software with the ability to handle thousands of funds. Being able to push data in and exporting data out are 2 features that are usually very important, and BBFE mostly does that well. BBFE allows for attaching various homegrown codes to the data at the fund, account, and transaction level. This is not a panacea but can be helpful. The software can be used in a fairly high volume a/p environment and the g/l functionality is also pretty good.

Pros

Exporting data is easy, so long as the export you are looking for is available. Importing fund codes is do-able but may require some significant preparation of the upload. BBFE allows for a seemingly unlimited amount of codes to be attached to funds, accounts, and transaction lines. This is very helpful. BBFE has some built in custom reporting facilities that can be helpful. BBFE has a detailed security model that can help with internal controls.

Cons

Reports: many of the builtin reports do not contain running totals and grand totals as well as header information page-to-page as one would like. Exports: the data exports are not true sql type, but are a simplified version, which is sometimes adequate. You might need another sql facility to adequately access the data and control the data joins. BBFE imposes credit memos and disallows negative invoices--depending on what you are doing, that could be a big problem that will need to be addressed. BBFE automatically computes and shows balance forwards and each year does not stand on its own, so for some data analysis you might have to compute balance forwards in order to avoid having to download all historical data. BBFE doesn't enforce cash balancing for JEs (if 2 funds are exchanging cash, the JE can give more cash to the recipient than was removed from the payer). BBFE doesn't seem to understand control funds (a fund that holds detail information that belongs to a pool of other funds)--this will require booking JEs that would be unnecessary in some other fund accounting software. BBFE enforces using an outside service for production of 1099s.

George H.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/03/2019

Financial Edge - the application that works with Raiser's Edge

Overall, FE is a good application if you are already RE but do not have an existing accounting application. If your organization is small and do not have an IT team, then look at Blackbaud to host your RE and FE applications and let the professionals take care of your application hardware infrastructure.

Pros

If you are using Blackbaud's Raiser's Edge (RE) software and need another application to perform accounting functions, Financial Edge (FE) is the application that will take care of Vendor tracking, A/R, A/P, etc. Rather than using another accounting application (ie. Quickbooks), Financial Edge integrates with Raiser's Edge. When you post gifts from Raiser's Edge, it goes over to Financial Edge and updates the information. The information for batch number, Appeal, Funds, Campaign migrate over to FE from RE. The user interface, look and feel between Financial Edge and Raiser's are the same. If you know RE, then FE will be easy to catch on. If you are hosted by Blackbaud, then you will be looking for FE/NXT

Cons

While there is a lot of integration from RE to FE, this comes at a cost. The FE application is expensive compared to other financial applications. If you are hosting FE on-premise, I believe Blackbaud charges by the number of users. You also need to a server with SQL to run FE. This is not like QuickBooks which can install on a local PC. If you are hosted by Blackbaud, then you will be looking at FE/NXT and again price will your main concern.

Jeremiah P.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/02/2017

Financial Edge User

I have been using Financial Edge for almost four years now and the the strides they have made from my first impression to now are outstanding. When I first started my job I was thrown into the systems and provided little training and while the system (Accounts Payable, General Ledger) were easy to learn they were a little clunky looking and the features that made them powerful (attributes, global changes) were not something you would find on your own. We recently (been a little over a year) moved to the NXT version and while all the functionality is not there yet I do appreciate BlackBaud taking the time to listen to their customers while building out the functionality instead of just updating it based on the database view. While this make take more time to build out (which can be frustrating) it will hopefully allow for an even more powerful platform in the end that allows us to be a more effective and efficient team in the end.

Pros

New functionalities being rolled out that allow us to use more systems working together instead of isolated.
Community boards to allow users to make suggestions and learn from each other.

Cons

That NXT is not complete yet (but I understand why and agree with their methodology).
Customer support can be clunky at times when the first person is not able to help you.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/03/2018

FE and RE are standards for managing your data

RaisersEdge allows my organization to keep track of tens of thousands of individual records. Without these we wouldn't be able to interact successfully and efficiently with our clients, donors and partners. Financial Edge allows us to produce accounting reports and maintain our large assets.

Pros

RaisersEdge is easy to use and store data. RaisersEdge has vast capabilities and reliability. FE makes the process of accounting and check printing very easy. Both products integrate well with other software

Cons

Even though RaisersEdge has many different tools - you may not be likely to use many of them regularly. Instead I find I reuse the same tools and end up bypassing a lot of what I could do, instead sticking to the essentials. Those extra functionalities just are not that useful to me

Daniel W.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/07/2018

Full featured software but not cheap

Pros

Great functionality, and able to handle everything our local non-profit organization needs it to do, including integration with the donor management side, Blackbaud Raisers Edge. An example of the good integration is that gifts recorded in Raisers Edge then can be posted over to Financial Edge, to avoid duplicate entry. Good audit trail for all transactions, with inability to change posted items.

Cons

The desktop version is being phased out with customer support and account reps strongly encouraging a move to the web based version, which is in fact more user friendly (per the demos I've seen) but is also more expensive, and it already was not cheap.

Victoria W.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 30/10/2020

Financial Edge is indispensible for us

We have been able to run a very busy finance office with only 1.5 employees for several years now. We also have been able to do much more efficient and flexible reporting to business units (detail) and to board management (summary).

Pros

The NXT online service is very easy to use and very flexible to our needs for reporting. The support is good, most reps are very responsive and I love Blackbaud University.

Cons

It's really expensive. And requests for customization are hard to get through. But it's overall so easy to use that we can live with the small tweaks for now.

Todd V.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 19/09/2018

Financial Edge

Pros

FE is great for a fund accounting software. It does all the basics. A/P is simple and easy to accomplish. The fixed asset module works great. the ledger is fine. It can get more complicated than necessary due to the ledger structure

Cons

FE is too hard to get help. There is a lot online, but sometimes you just need to have someone talk you through an issue. I have had an issue once where I needed to have their IT dept. fix a corruption in their software when I was closing a fiscal year.
This software simply costs too much for maintenance and support.

Jennifer G.
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 02/05/2018

Powerful

I would like to see NXT have all the functionalities that the database view has. I cannot do everything I need to do in just NXT, so we have to use the database view daily.

Pros

I like most of the reporting. I also like the functionality in the database view. I really like the last invoice input view in NXT to help me keep my obligation description consistent.

Cons

NXT does not do everything I need it to and there are a lot of mouse clicks to finish a transaction, although I am seeing improvements as time goes on.

Dave H.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/10/2018

Terrific Coud-based Financial software for non-profits

Accessibility, ease of use, and non-profit focus - that’s what brought us two years ago. I would add to that now - great support, innovation and scalability.

Pros

Easy, intuitive, clean interface. The look is modern and simple; but don’t let that fool you; the database and tools are robust and tremendously helpful.

Cons

Some modules still in transition to the new web view. But what they’ve done so far is very promising for the future.

Christine S.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/04/2018

Solid financial reporting software for a mid-sized org, relatively easy to learn.

Pros

- Love being able to run reports including un-posted transactions
- Love being able to attach documents to journal entries in NXT view

Cons

- Journal entry template is clunky to use & requires a lot of clicking
- Journal entries are listed "backward" in NXT (compared to database view)
- Can't view the entire journal entry on one screen in NXT & only see line numbers once the entry is posted in NXT view

Nancy M.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/09/2019

BB Financial Edge - a Perfect Solution for non profit accounting

So many ways in which FE is the best solution out there. I love how it integrates and makes each task seamless.

Pros

Ease of use. Ease of implementation. Ease of customer support.

Cons

AS our company has grown, we have become accustomed to finding work arounds to use because of the integration with Raisers Edge. Attributes in Raisers Edge helped us so many times.

Monica D.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 02/07/2019

Financial Edge is a Great Product

I haven't used Financial Edge often but enough to run a few reports and post over daily batches.

Pros

Financial Edge is the best product especially if you are working with Raiser's Edge. It's the perfect companion to Accounting.

Cons

It has a steep learning curve; however, once you understand the basics of what it can do. You'll absorb a lot.

Karyn B.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/05/2017

Blackbaud Financial Edge is easy to use.

Pros

Financial Edge is user friendly, and offers a variety of customizable reporting formats. Built in links from sub-ledger to general ledger allow for drilling to move along quickly.

Cons

We recently upgraded to a hosted database from housing on our own server. There have been some issues with processing delay and getting kicked out.

Karen T.
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/05/2017

eTapestry is very robust and comparable to RaisersEdge, for a smaller scale organization.

This is an easy to use software tool!

Pros

The query, reporting and newly added wealth rating features are easy to use and has assisted in the improvement of my interaction with donors.

Cons

Updates sometime cause changes in the queries and or account that need to be updated. If I do not check the updates, my reporting could go wrong.

Charlene W.
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/01/2017

Financial Edge

We are in the process of switching over to Financial Edge. This has been a quite a setup. The features that this offers for reporting are just insane! You may still need to customize a few reports but if you play with the system long enough you can manipulate what is there to work for you. The support team is amazing! They are right there to answer calls and if you are lucky enough to get a good one they might just share an email address with you.

Pros

Customer support
Upload your data input or do data entry, you can do either.
Reports are easy to use and read.
Cloud-based = work from anywhere

Cons

We had some issues but with the help of customer support we are working thru them and putting them behind us.
Set up is a little pricey but in the end, it will be worth it.

Tina P.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/02/2020

Great Product That's Getting Better

Pros

Easy to use
Wide range of training available
Excellent customer support

Cons

Expensive
Exporting reports and spreadsheets is cumbersome

June S.
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/05/2017

Accounting Support

The exporting from the cloud requires multiple steps.

Pros

The dashboard and real time updates enable us to get an accurate update on accounts. We can get an immediate picture of budgets etc.

Cons

Exporting excel spreadsheets and crystal reports is an issue. Files must first be saved to a cloud folder and then opened and processed on your hard drive.

Mark W.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 27/10/2016

Very good software for nonprofits of all sizes

I have used Financial Edge 7 for Nonprofits after having used QuickBooks Online, Abila (fka Sage), and Microsoft GP Dynamics for nonprofit financials. I find Financial Edge to be the best of the four softwares that I have used. It is the most intuitive of the four that I have used. The biggest help to me is Blackbaud's outstanding support system. In addition to a great FAQ section on their website and many paid training sessions, Blackbaud offers a free chat service with knowledgeable tech representatives able to assist in most questions.

Pros

Intuitive mapping of how to complete processes, dynamic reporting and general ledger options, excellent support.

Cons

No ability to "drill down" into reports (something that is fixed in Financial Edge NXT), some slower processes in general.

Saima D.
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 03/04/2018

FINANCIAL EDGE NXT

Financial Edge NXT is well suited for educational institutions.

Pros

We are a private school and use Financial Edge NXT for our daily accounting/finance operations. Very self explanatory and easy to use.

A variety of reportings available.
Easy to add new vendors in the system.
Adding a new invoice is fairly simple.

Cons

Hope they quickly change to the web view faster, so we don't have to switch between web and database view.

Melissa L.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 25/04/2013

Financial Edge is a program that is fairly intuitive and easy to use. It provides great functionality by allowing reports to be created ad hoc using the visual chart organizer, which is helpful for producing reports specific to audit or tax prep. Also, the ability to run queries which can be exported into excel format makes reconciliations simpler. It would be nice if functionality across modules were similar. For example, adjustments to AP and AR are clear and easy to do but it is more difficult for adjustments to cash management. Requests to the support center are returned quickly and with positive results.

The combination of Raiser's Edge and Financial Edge creates a seamless process between constituent (donor) management, including contributions and the subsequent recording in the financial software. This is very helpful as you can search directly from FE and it will open a donor record in RE.

Blackbaud also hosts an annual convention which allows users to meet with other organizations to discuss solutions to common problems and they also hold many short seminars during the convention which were extremely valuable.

All in all, it is much improved over QuickBooks, which we used prior to FE.

Barb W.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/08/2016

FE review 2016

Pros

You can continue to work after the month end date.

Cons

A little high in price. The recurring journal could be setup to generate in a batch instead of individually. Report dates for month end are time consuming to change. Wish that in the A/R system you could remove old clients.

Andrea T.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/06/2018

Many wishes

Ready for FENXT to become fully functional.

Pros

Like the ease of use as well as the availability of reporting. Like the connectivity between RE and FE.

Cons

Creating budgets is cumbersome. Wish there were more excel like functions for calculating totals. Getting issues resolved can be very time consuming.

154 reviews