Redmine Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Redmine

Redmine is an open-source cloud-based project management solution based on the Ruby on Rails programming framework. It is a cross-platform and cross-database solution and allows users to manage multiple projects within the...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
3.9
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
3.4

Browse Redmine Reviews

160 of 160 reviews
Sort by:
Matthew
Matthew
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/06/2018

Best Project Tracker/Management/Team Tool bar none

Excellent project/tracker management - faster execution of projects

Pros

You can get the bare bones redmine up and running in minutes using a bitnami stack. Out of the box it's built for speed and simplicity, but if you are prepared to put some minimal effort in to add plugins, you can add many features, all free, that take it to the next level.

Cons

The barebones version leads many (reviewers on this site included) to think that's all there is. It's built to be modular and extensible, so if you don't like the UI, you can simply add themes, if you want it to do additional stuff like tight email integration, agile (yes there are multiple free versions), helpdesk, Work Breakdown Structures, Charts, fully customized menu bar, repositories, Vault, Excellent Wiki, integrations to Slack and other ticket systems etc - you can do all of that. But because people see versions of Jira or Service Now running with more features (both of which require much more knowledge and effort), they think that redmine is underpowered. So imho that would be my main issue - it's reputation regarding functionality and security - both unfounded.

Nguyen
Nguyen
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2019

Good Opensource software

Many plugins but sometimes the plugins may contain some security bugs. Be aware of it. Becasue you might have some sensitive information on Redmine

Pros

ya, it's free. And we can optimize it as our own way. Becasue sometime you need to make it suitable for your organization. But for the Commercial software, you can only request them and wait for them. With Redmine, you can do everything you want to make it fit to your people.

Cons

End-user always complain me about the software is hard to use. For me, a tech, I fell it's OK. But End-user they might need something pretty, beautiful and more visualization.

Alternatives Considered

Jira, Trello and ONLYOFFICE Workspace

Reasons for Choosing Redmine

it's free and be able to customize

Switched From

Jira
Binigya
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 19/10/2020

Redmine - Mine full of possibilities

My experience with Redmine has been a mixed bag. It is free, so it was a good start to using a fully fledged project management tool and get used to the process. It had adequate tracking features and after a bit of time, our team got used to it. But its archaic UI, confusing UX and a headache during deployment and frequent downtimes can seriously impede your project management process. So, it was a strictly OK experience for me with some pain points that were too impactful to ignore, so we had to make a switch to a better, a paid option.

Pros

Redmine is a project tracking tool with good intentions. I like that it is free, open source and comes with comparable features to its paid counterparts. I love its Git integrations, flexible time tracking options and multiple databases support, even though it may take a bit of tinkering the first time around. But most of all, it is free and that is its biggest plus point. Anyone, with some configuration can get started with it.

Cons

Where do I start? Redmine is free, so we have to keep that in mind too as it allows you to dip your toes into the waters of project management tools. I really dislike the UI and UX. Granted, you have some themes but that doesn't help its case. The UI looks aged and the UX is somewhat terrible. Our team took a lot of time to grasp it and use it properly. And even then, we were making a lots of mistakes and couldn't find the data we wanted quickly. Redmine does have lots of features but most of them are half-baked. And also, according to the deployment team, the deployment was a headache. And we also got frequent downtime too. We were always getting 5xx errors and that seriously hampered our ability to track projects effectively.

Top Redmine Alternatives

Aaron
Aaron
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/12/2020

Been using Redmine for over 10 years - tried lots of PM tools but keep with Redmine

We manage all our web development projects through Redmine, over 2000 now in total. I've tried several other PM tools but none had as much power or as good of a price as this!

Pros

So I run a small web development team, working with medium to large projects for all sorts of clients. We've been using Redmine for over a decade now and have tried several other project management tools that look nicer, load faster, and are easier to set up. However, Redmine is a solid product that allows you to fully describe project tasks, assign to team members, and keep up with project progress. Once you have it set up, it's easy to use and free except for the hosting. We go with the self hosting option but there is a Redmine hosting service I've seen. Definitely recommend.

Cons

Redmine is clunky, lacks good design, and out of the box, each action requires a new page load. If you do the self-hosted option, you have to install and configure this Ruby on Rails application which is a serious pain in the butt. We hired a guy to set it up for us (3 hours) and the hosting (over 2000 projects now) is costing $22/mo. So even though it's clunky, it does the job well. We are planning on installing some add-ons soon to make it load via Ajax and look nicer.

Lecze
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/11/2023

Redmine Software Review

Fun and smooth, having that feeling of sentiment not overshadowing it's overall usability.

Pros

What I love best about Redmine is the ease of using it, nothing feels too complicated. It's also free!

Cons

I would say that UI looks as if very outdated, it has a look of the early 2000s. However, others may argue that this is stylish, and there is some merit to this, I'd agree.

Alp Kamil
Alp Kamil
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 01/10/2020

Good ticketing software

Easy to use and configure task management system.

Pros

Redmine is clear and simple, it's similar to JIRA. It works stably without errors. We use it to follow our projects and tasks. We can easily track and report people's efforts. We can manage our documents without the need for a separate tool. Nice to be open source.

Cons

User interface design does not feel very professional. Useful plugins can be added to further improve the product.

Ryan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 31/08/2023

Redmine is the perfect portal to have clients and developers working together

Overall I like the product, but I think it may be too small and not robust enough for a larger corporation to use.

Pros

It's ability to have projects that are viewable with permissions. So that both client, PM and developer can work simultaneously to get the job done.

Cons

User interface felt a little dated and was lacking in some features such as real time chat, etc.

Joe
Joe
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/09/2018

Not always intuitive, but it's all there

Redmine can be customised with themes, to suit it to your needs as a project management tool, built specifically with software/web development in mind. We've managed many complex builds using the tool.

Pros

Lots of features for managing software development with a team.

Cons

The interface can sometimes be a little clunky, and the WYSIWIG editor isn't always the easiest to use - but it does the job!

Santhosh
Santhosh
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 04/02/2019

Ticket managment tool.

Pros

It is very good open source Ticket Management Tool, User friendly, Easy to understand & good User Interface.
Easy to Create a Ticket and update, We can also Upload the image, video and supported files.
We can easily filter the Tickets and Track it.

Cons

Some time i observed page loading and We can't upload more than 5MB data file

Tony
Tony
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 28/05/2018

Redmine has all the features needed in order to keep an agile project running.

It's was a great tool that support the basics for the agile team, for beign a free version it has all the basic features required.

Pros

Redmine is a really easy tool to use, very intuitive.
It's a free tool, easy to install and run.
Supports roles and permission configuration for the users.
Tickets created can store description and attached files.
Tickets can be easylly found.

Cons

The scrum board is not part of the redmine core, must use a third party plugin in order to support the scrum columns.

Felix
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 08/06/2018

A very beneficial tool in project management

Pros

The tool organizes the projects very well (you can administer more than one without problems), you can track incidents and errors separately. I love personalization in the distribution and categorization of the stages of the projects. it is entirely useful to cross-reference tickets (which are related). this prevents the creation of orphan tickets since you have an absolute control of the resolution of tickets

Cons

It is well designed for the management of small to medium-sized projects .. with large projects it is complicated because it allows to make so many changes in the structure of the project that it is counterproductive, at first the interface seems easy but when using it and having so many functions that it would be necessary A previous training for the use, it becomes very expensive when you upgrade to the premium versions of the tool. The Ruby on Rails pre-configuration requires technical experience, this is an additional cost. The administrative interface is not as effective and does not offer as much functionality as the rest of the tool. the distribution and loading of errors and incidents must be well defined, it can be a problem if the team does not understand well when it comes to "closed / result" or "Open / solving" ... it is not a 100% tool intuitive

Ramakrishna
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/03/2018

User/mid size companies want a free bug tracking tool then I would recommend to use Redmine...

This is a very good tool for any small or mid sized companies and then need a free bug tracking tool then absolutely I recommend to use Redmine.

Pros

Any small or mid sized companies need a free bug tracking tool then absolutely I would recommend to use Redmine.
Because it is quite easy to use and have all basic features you need for tracking defects. you can create a bug tracking tickets without struggle a much.
It is having the simple interface and quick layout for project and even task entry and also good filtering system for sorting through tasks.

Cons

This tool mainly miss the some useful features like you cannot edit created defects or tasks, only write comments to them.
So definitely at the time of creation you have to take care of the bug. UI Layout is looks like outdated and we cannot feel like working on a new or advanced software.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/09/2018

It's competency in ticket tracking is superb

You do not have to be a tech savvy in order to use this application, just let your IT admin to set it up in your computer, then it's all good. All you have to know is what kind of ticket you are going to create and what are its details.

Pros

1. Easy to customize, you can create and select different trackers for your ticket
2. Custom fields allows you to display what are the necessary inputs needed for your ticket.
3. Able to create your own template
4. Create your filter that can be visible to others if you want to.
5. Easy viewing of the ticket status through Roadmap, Agile, or Backlogs (from old version) and etc.,

Cons

I don't have any cons about using Redmine, it reached my satisfaction. It sends you mail for every changes in the ticket, and that makes me on track.

Javier
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 05/11/2019

There are better alternatives

As a first approach in teams organizations, it's an useful tool, but it should modernize its interface. The wiki section is well constructed, in fact, nowadays, after stop using redmine as a team/task planner, it's the only element we are still using. The proyect managing have been changed to Trello

Pros

Redmine was the first proyect manager / team planner we used and it was helpful in order to control task completions, progress and term deviations. The incorporated wiki section is useful in order to get all the activities well documentated between team members.

Cons

The interface is not so friendly, it seems 'old fashioned' and it's not suitable to use from a mobile device.
Nowadays that other tools let's you use its infrastructure, the first setup is only reserved to IT personal because it must be installed on the server side, so it's not a tool anyone can configure.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 05/11/2018

Redmine - Flexible Open Source Project management software

We use Redmine to track support issues for our developers. We can see who is working on what issues and how far along they are. We can re-assign issues to different teams. It works well with not too many problems.

Pros

Redmine keeps track of multiple task and projects. You can track issues, email issues into specific projects, track team members activity for solving the tasks or issues. There are templates that make it easy track progress of common issues/task. Overall it take a small learning curve but is a very powerful project tracking and management software.

Cons

It takes awhile to learn all of the features and customization.

Emily
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/03/2018

Great tool for project management

Pros

Our company uses this tool to manage projects. It's very helpful for us because we have multiple offices in different states and teams are often working together virtually. Redmine allows us to easily upload documents needed for our projects, assign projects to different people, and see priorities levels and ETA on completion. I would absolutely recommend this to others.

Eileen
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/09/2017

Solid no frills project management software

Our team was able to manage projects on a very basic, no frills level. It got the job done, and had just enough features to get us through our day to day tasks and projects.

Pros

Very simple interface, quick layout for project and task entry, good filtering system for sorting through tasks by users, status, etc.

Cons

Feels somewhat dated, doesn't keep track of tasks and updates by the minute like some of the newer or more advanced softwares.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 06/09/2019

Good tool but needs a refresh

Good option for keeping teams organized around the work and more budget friendly than JIRA.

Pros

Simplicity is Redmine's strength by far. It's got a no-frills interface and everything is fairly straightforward and easy to navigate.

Cons

It's a little feature-lacking compared to some of the other platforms that do the same thing. I definitely find myself frustrated by the search feature for instance.

Julián
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 24/02/2021

A versatile bug tracking system

This is a good tool for managing projects. Almost all the project workflow has been merged into this tool: we can also generate automated changelogs and time-tracking reports. It has a plugin repository where you can find some useful extensions, like a template manager for writing issues based on a specific format. We take advantage of its API to notify when a task is delayed, or to give the end-user a voice, so he can write the tickets directly into our platform.

Pros

The most important thing is its simplicity: from the configuration to the end-user usage, everything is easy and practical to setup and start writing issues. It acan be integrated against LDAP-based authentication systems. The workflow of the issues can be configured easily in the admin panel. Its interface can be changed using templates where you can put your own logo and relevant information regarding your business logic.

Cons

The set-up was very difficult, but it can be easily achieved installing with docker images. Due its simplicity, the business logic may not be described in terms of the application, so complex workflows may need light modifications to be compatible with the Redmine platform. Readmine doesn't handle agile tools like Scrum or Kanban boards, so if you or your company uses agile methodologies, Redmine may not fit your business workflow. Of course, you can extendend to agile if you purchase or install extensions, but it doesn't support it natively.

karthik
karthik
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/07/2019

Great open source product

We used this product for issue logging during our game development project. Very easy to use and it does its primary job of bringing together teams very well. Our development company was based off shore so we pretty much had to rely on the tool for communications related to issues and this tool fits the bill perfectly. You get notified whenever there is an update on an issue which is a critical feature. Uploading pertinent files, assigning/unassigning team members to an issue are all easily taken care off. Overall a great product.

Pros

Easy to use, intuitive, very short learning curve.

Cons

User interface can feel a little bit dated.

JULIE
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/12/2020

Clean and simple

Great software for 10 years !

Pros

Easy to use, FREE, vintage look but customizable with themes. Great for managing projects.

Cons

The basic theme is vintage and not shiny.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/04/2022

Great for issue and task tracking

We loved using Redmine, but eventually replaced it with JIRA, JIRA Service Desk, and Confluence. Which helped us better manage help desk and project tracking issues in one system.

Pros

Great price (free) for a good set of project task and time tracking features.

Cons

Lack of integration with help desk systems.

Jean Baptiste
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 08/02/2023

Nice tool to follow precisely tickets

Pros

Status, priority, affectation follow cases...

Cons

Not enough user friendly an a lack of optional tools

Mateus
Mateus
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2022

Don't let Redmine's interface fool you: it is one of the best project management softwares out...

My own experience with Redmine has been very smooth and I could certainly understand all the benefits it brought to the team and to the managers involved in the project.

Pros

Redmine has a great number of features that are extremely useful for any team working on a project. You can store important files in its Wiki, allowing information both from the project and the company itself to be stored in a unique and well-organized place. Tasks are easily created and assigned to one more person and tracking the task's progression is extremely easy. Besides that, the Gantt chart and a couple of other tools allow for easy visualization of the project's progress and how each person working on it is doing.

Cons

Redmine's User Interface is, honestly, not that pleasing to look at. It really feels like software coming from the 90s that is old and clunky. That assessment is incorrect and Redmine actually works really well, but it's still not beautiful at all.

Samir
Samir
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2018

Redmine review on my experiance.

I am using this product from last 3 years and overlook and feel of this products need to be enhance and make it more user friendly.

Pros

I like report system very much. you can easily get different report by few clicks.

Cons

Redmine's fronted look and feel need to be enhance as per the latest flat ui tends.

160 reviews