User Reviews Overview

About APICBASE Food Management

Apicbase offers a cloud-based F&B Management Platform for inventory management and other back-of-house operations for foodservice businesses. Apicbase provides solutions for restaurant management, kitchen scheduling, inventory...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
5

Browse APICBASE Food Management Reviews

26 of 26 reviews
Sort by:
Noah C.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/10/2021

Revolutionary for Our Business

We have had a great experience with ApicBase. Highly recommend for all food service, restaurant, catering, etc. businesses.

Pros

Our company operates food services in correctional facilities, which is a unique niche. ApicBase has created software that fits ALL of our specific needs because the software is so dynamic. It's also user-friendly. It took me about 2-3 weeks to learn it and use it daily as we do. We are very pleased and thankful for how ApicBase has changed our operations for the better, helping us manage our expenses and raise our profitability.

Cons

No cons so far. ApicBase is still growing and adding features, which is great.

Demi G.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/02/2021

Great Product

Overall, highly recommend. Support is fantastic, product is great. Can't go wrong.

Pros

Easy to use. Links well with our till system, great product. Highly recommend.

Cons

Found difficulty with par levels for ordering, an option to toggle between counting stock (singularly) and ordering stock (case/bulk) would be nice. Option to print date labels etc. like another system we use.

Laurent V.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/02/2021

Great partner to work with

Overall it was a good experience and we are glad we invested some time and effort in setting up the solution. Service is great and people are very friendly.

Pros

This software makes it worth the investment because you can actually measure your returns in terms of food cost optimisation etc...

Cons

The solution covers many aspects of the operational challenges for restaurants. This makes it a little time consuming to really exploit all features.

Top APICBASE Food Management Alternatives

Louis M.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Future proof vision on kitchen management

Great work, eye for detail, good service and growing & learning with the market needs

Pros

easy to use, functionalities, in depth development on kitchen and food management

Cons

It is not about what we do not like, but somethimes the client demands goes more to a pos and inventory system, and less on the the focus that Apic has.

Sebastian A.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/03/2021

Great customer experience and first class support

Pros

Our common customers rave about Apicbase's experience and their ability to manage and represent complex inventory setups in meaningful ways.

Working across multiple teams at the company we've had a great experience in problem-solving through technical/integration kinks, managing comms quickly with mutual customers, and staying on task across projects.

Apicbase also integrates with many of our other partners, particularly those in the cutting-edge of the restaurant-tech space, and I've heard positive comments about the professionalism across the ecosystem both from other technology platforms and consultants on the tech & operations space.

Cons

Because of the nature of the inventory management world, Apicbase requires a knowledgeable and committed restaurant team to manage it correctly and set up, which means it's a relatively advanced tool to think about as a restaurant operator.

Given that our tool is often needed by similar customers with a certain level of sophistication this tends not to be a barrier at all, but it's something smaller operations usually need to think through before the implementation.

Rob O.
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/02/2021

Best solution around

I use the software all the time. Customers use it for menu development, Marketing use it for images and recipe building, e-commerce utilize it for keeping our image portfolio up to date.

Apic base has become an integral part of our operation.

Pros

Product is very easy to use, is cross functional throughout our wholesale business.

Photo's are great and perfect for e-commerce, customer solutions and Marketing funtions.

Cons

Only issue we have found is that it was not straight forward to link it to our inventory software. However this was never going to be a simple task from the outset which was highlighted before we trailed the software.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/12/2020

F&B Manager

Pros

To make it easier for me to do my job.

Cons

It facilitates work and makes me a professional.

Jake R.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/05/2021

Definitely recommend!

Would definitely recommend & have recommended to many hospitality companies,

Pros

High definition pictures, ease of use & overall chef friendly platform, very impressed.

Cons

Only issue would be that random pictures get linked to random recipes.

Anneleen C.
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/04/2018

Really helps me to create and adapt recipes in no time and gain insights in my food cost.

It's saves time in the kitchen and you get to manage your kitchen in a second. The system covers all aspects that I need to manage.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the easy user experience. Every button is self explanatory and all features are there for a reason. If something is not clear straight away, I can alway have a look at the large support page where everything is explained in detail or contact the support team. I feel like their customers are really their priority and they would do anything to please them.

The software allows me to collect my existing recipes or to create new recipes easily. Thanks to the hardware combination, it's really easy to add a picture with every step of the recipe. This way, it's easy to turn the recipe sheet from words to images.

The APIC Kitchen Manager also gives great insights in food cost calculations and even calculates the ideal selling price for the margin I want to achieve.

Cons

It might take some time to transfer all your existing recipes into the software, but the team helps you transitioning. Also, after spending a little bit of time on the transition, it saves you a lot of time afterwards.

John K.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/04/2020

Awesome Product.

this makes my job a lot easier, can implement a menu within days in 6 different countries, cuts costs of travel for training,

Pros

Easy to work with, correct calculations, able to implement over several countries within a day.

Cons

Not knowing all of the features that apicbase has to offer, there needs to be more information on what can be completed :)

Rupert C.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/02/2021

Excellent innovation

To have an integrated platform that drives efficiency, productivity & effectiveness so simply with a clear Roi is excellent. To drive consistency across menu creation & the excellent photo options is great. Coordinating suppliers & procurement is so helpful and reduces so many stressful issues

Pros

The who system is so easy to use and the integrations are effortless

Cons

None at moment as i've only just started using the system

Nigel G.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/03/2021

Comprehensive yet easy to use!

Pros

It's a very comprehensive product but still easy to use. The fact that it is built in modules means you can develop at your own pace, implementing a module at a time and use only what your business really needs.

Cons

With it being such a comprehensive product it can be overwhelming trying to grasp and implement many or all of the features at once. It is best to prioritise the areas most important to your business and take it in bite size pieces.

Mischa G.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/12/2019

Great product with continues developments and multi language

I used this program as a solution for foodcost savings on several occasions.
Created great training tools for staff with this software with the step by step procedures and pictures.
Create costed menu's on demand for several companies by simply uploading their price data with excel and therefore reduced the time I was spending on calculating. Also updated the menu engineering on a weekly basis with the data from the POS integrated.

Pros

I have been using this software in several hotels and restaurant and use it myself as well for the School I am teaching at. The software is continually developing and becomes more and more complete. The ease of use becomes evidend when I implement the system in a Hotel or restaurant and the time it takes me to teach the staff is minimized by the logic the program has.

Below my Pros one by one

* This software is easy to use and even easier to teach others to use it.
* The databases are easy to transfer through up-loadable csv files which also makes it easy to ensure your data is is correct and it saves you time with switching back and forth on screens.
* Amazing multi language options which makes it possible to translate not only your ingredients but also the directions.
*The step by step option in this software makes it eay to train staff on how to mcreate dishes
*The Apicbase studio is a great tool (and toy) for chefs to get the perfect picture all the time
*It is easy to customize your version of Apicbase thru customization and creation of custom fields that allows you also to filter out your data.
* Multiple databases at hand for nutritional value and allergy adding is another tool which is mandatory these days and Apicbase fulfills all of them, plus the data is exportable so you will not have to go through this process every time.
* Multiple packaging per ingredient and multiple suppliers per ingredient makes it also easy to analyse your stock.

Cons

There are not a lot of cons, but if I have to mention something the following applies:

* As they are in development face the production module is not active yet (but soon will be)

Response from APICBASE

Hi Mischa,

thanks for your thorough review.

The entire team here at Apicbase is happy to have you as a satisfied user on the platform and really enjoy working with such an expert in the field.

Looking forward to get your feedback on the development module soon!

Replied 09/12/2019
Jan D.
  • Industry: Think Tanks
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 04/04/2020

Almost there

I think the software has great potential, I would even be interested in buying stocks if I could, i believe in Apic Base. And the people I work with and am in contact with are very customer friendly and help and resolve all my issues. From [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and everybody in between

Pros

The software is very clever and can follow most of the frills and needs to satisfy most of our colleagues in the accounting and operational level. The ease of starting and making big changes with the excel import and exports.

Cons

There are quit a few function and fields that would be a lot easier if a lot more options/choices could be filled in with personal choice text, instead of making new boxes, and having to leave the old ones not used.
Lot of functions could and should be attached to authority, so we can switch them of or on depending user or library user. It would also give more control and ease of use depending the needs of the company.

Stefan C.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/02/2021

Simple to use but powerful software solution

We use this software to develop new dishes and menus, manage ingredient list and supply chains. Training material is all create on here and exported out.

Pros

User friendly, it's easy to use on a daily basis. Importing and exporting bulk data works well.

Most of all, the system is good for creating photographic step-by-step training material - this is something I haven't found elsewhere.

Cons

Not much to complain about. It can be a bit complex to learn but customer support is great so this is overcome quickly.

Matthias F.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/02/2021

Truly efficient tool to improve operations and reduce waste!

Menu management and menu cost tracking. All F&B show have this kind of software utilized to make educated decisions for their business.

Pros

It has become a massive decision maker in our business. It allows us to setup truly cost efficient menus, while still keeping the quality in top and reducing our food waste significantly.

Cons

I see no cons in the product. It really depends on the effort you put in. Fully setup and used properly it's a massive benefit for the business. Half hearted efforts and setup doesn't do the product justice.

Nick V.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/03/2021

Best supply chain management out there

Pros

The flow of ingredients to recipes to menus is astounding. Automated stock is also the best I've seen out there.

Cons

The setup needs attention, but all good softwares do.

Martyn L.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/02/2021

Fast and effective, cloud based recipe software

Pros

Instant link between studio and software, enabling tagging of photos for navigation and searching, as well as the ability to animate, create GIF and step by step recipe detail.
Customisable recipe cards and the ability to insert QR codes to link to the recipe is also invaluable

Cons

IOS use has become tricky recently, losing the ability to search.
Would like the ability to scale recipes by a percentage of an ingredient

Alejandro R.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/07/2018

Blown away by the form and functionality of the service . By far the best of its competitors.

Pros

If I were to sum it up, I would have to say ease and functionality. What a blessing it is not to have to spend a full day training staff how to use a new software.

Cons

I wish there was a way to schedule updates perhaps at a certain hour as in after midnight. So they can run through the evening and not affect business during the daylight hours.

Mathijs C.
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/04/2018

Excellent product and a great software platform filled with features!

Pros

The APIC kitchen manager is a great and complete software package for managing daily tasks. It automates recipe management, food photography, cost calculation and so on!

Cons

The APIC kitchen management software is a bit overwhelming at first thanks to its various features, after a little getting used to it all feels natural and intuitive to use!

Gian marco V.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/01/2021

Daily User

Pros

Quckly answer by team members if something is not clear (how to do something). Helpful with food cost and inventory tracking.

Cons

Should be easier to import beverage: it should not follow same step as per food.

Asker J.
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/09/2020

Apicbase user

god

Pros

Easy to use. When is instalt correct. It tog som time at first.

Cons

Missing that could manually adjust on the light.

Response from APICBASE

Hi Asker, thanks for your review, we really appreciate it!

Regarding the light of your Apic Studio, it is possible to manually adjust, so feel free to reach out to our customer success team, they will help you out.

Replied 23/02/2021
Amandine L.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2021

très bon service client et logiciel hyper user-friendly

Pros

Un logiciel pratique, bien pensé avec un service client très réactif et qui apporte tjs des réponses à nos questions. Il y'a des nouvelles features assez fréquemment et l'interface est vraiment très interessant

Cons

L'interface de passage de commande n'est pas optimal, il manque certaines infos et le faire de devoir enregistrer des suppliers packages n'est pas tjs très pratique

Justine F.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/08/2021

MTM x Apicbase

Zorgt voor duidelijk overzicht tussen bestellingen, management, beheer foodcost en verbruik van materialen.
Vlot pakket, goeie evolutie, sterke software.

Pros

Aankoopmodule, prijsanalyses en stockbeheer

Cons

Niet altijd even vlotte koppeling tussen prijsbeheer en wijzigingen / Als je iets wilt aanpassen in de software, moet je meteen heel veel knopjes aanklikken / Ook nog veel zaken die vlotter en makkelijker zouden kunnen, zoals een duidelijker dashboard met de bestelmodules (en leveringstatus). Ook makkelijkere zoekfunctie in bestellingen ... Lijst met voorstellen is vrij lang ;-)

Joery L.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/03/2021

ApicBase draagt bij bij de filosofie van Bar Pur ®

Het gebruiksgemak van ApicBase voor zowel beheerders als eindgebruikers. Eindgebruikers zijn in onze organisatie voornamelijk de chefs die aan de slag gaan met de op maat gemaakte recepten. Chefs die geen specifieke IT opleiding nodig hebben om met ApicBase aan de slag te gaan.

De filosofie van Bar Pur ® is, weten = meten, ApicBase is daardoor een belangrijke partner om zo de waarden van ons organisatie te bevestigen.

Pros

Op maat recepten uitwerken - foodcost controle - koppeling met voedingsdatabase - aanmaken van bestellingen - labels voedingswaarden - gebruiksgemak in de keuken

Cons

Nadelen zijn er niet, anders gebruik je het niet ;-)
Er zijn natuurlijk steeds aanpassingen / verbeteringen mogelijk om het systeem voor je eigen organisatie te verbeteren maar hier wordt steeds naar geluisterd.

26 reviews