FreshCheq Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About FreshCheq

FreshCheq is a cloud-based task management solution that caters to restaurants of various sizes. Features include kitchen management, franchise intranet, percent-compete tracking, quality control and more. FreshCheq allows...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.5

Browse FreshCheq Reviews

82 of 82 reviews
Sort by:
Justin
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2018

Overall, using FreshCheq has been a positive experience and convenient addition to our...

It has eliminated all food safety log paperwork. Employees are now excited to use the tablet to do safety logs, rather than bummed about writing it down. Very convenient.

Pros

Eliminates all paper records.
Sends text message reminders to users.
Easy to configure to fit your business.
Multiple reports to break down check/log usage.
Portable functionality when used on a tablet.
Has a log streak feature to compete with other businesses.
Customer support is fast and reliable.

Cons

No app as of yet, so you have to use the web page. This can be troublesome on a tablet.
Requires internet access.

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you for your feedback!

Replied 26/02/2018
Tyler
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/02/2018

So far we have had nothing but a great experience with Fresh Cheq. It is super easy to use.

It's a great way to record temperatures for safe food handling!!!

Pros

The ease of use is probably the best quality. It is super simple to record the temperatures, and also to change the things being temped when you need to. For a restaurant like ours that changes the menu every few weeks, this is very hellpful.

Cons

Really the only thing I don't like is that once you type in a temperature there is not a way to go back and change a temperature once recorded. When you have a perfect streak going, it's really sad when you accidentally hit a number a get a failing score for a 14 degree temp, when you meant to type in 144!

Response from FreshCheq

Hi Tyler, thank you for your review. The platform does not allow temps to be changed so that there is a higher level of accountability. But, we don't want you to lose your streaks, so if you type in a temp in error, just reach out to me and I will correct it so that your streak stays intact!

Replied 26/02/2018
Kyle
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 02/04/2019

Great idea

FreshCheq has grown and become more user friendly. I think there are still some design pieces that need to be implemented however they are responsive to change and I can see them ironing out those kinks.

Pros

It’s nice to have the ability to have shift tools in the palm of your hands especially as all aspects of a store seem to be turning that way.

Cons

The reporting system is slow and clunky. It is difficult to utilize the program to fix issues that you see as the only way to “pass” a selection is to say how you fixed it.

Response from FreshCheq

Kyle,

Thank you for your perspective. Our team would like to walk you through some new features that may improve your experience. Please contact me and I will set up a time to review reporting.

Also, we are working with Buffalo Wild Wings corporate to add some new features that will benefit all FreshCheq customers.

Our development pipeline is driven by our customers needs. I look forward to talking with you.

Jim

Replied 04/04/2019

Top FreshCheq Alternatives

Spencer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 03/04/2019

Restaurant

It’s really nice and fast. We used to have to do it all by paper and this is more convienant

Pros

No paper trail, allows multiple ppl to use it, can look up how many you have missed

Cons

Need to go on a computer to see what days you have missed. Hard to read it on the phone.
If you type in the wrong temp you can’t go back and change it

Response from FreshCheq

Spencer,

Thank you. We have added some functionality that will allow you to go back and make a change if you made a mistake on a temperature. Please contact us and we will walk you through the process.

Also, we are working on some other functionality we would like to show you. Please come see us at the Pizza Ranch Summer meeting. I am sure you will be impressed.

Jim

Replied 04/04/2019
Kirsten
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2018

We love FeshCheq!

Pros

FreshCheq is very easy to use and has been a huge help to get our temp logs more consistent. I love that it will send you a reminder text before you are about to miss a log. That helps ensure that they get done and are not forgotten about

Cons

If we close due to weather or a holiday, we have to manually turn every log off for the day and then go back and turn them on for the next week. Would be nice if there was an easier way to do that.

Response from FreshCheq

Hi Kirsten,
We are working on an easier way to close your logs for the day. We are rolling out some new features next month that I am confident you will be pleased with. Thank you for your review.

Replied 26/02/2018
Kristin
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/04/2019

Great product, great value, great service!

FreshCheq has been a great addition to our restaurant. It keeps all of my managers focused on food safety and makes it quick and simple to make food safety a priority.

Pros

FreshCheq has helped us stay consistent with our temperature logs and food safety. Since starting to use FreshCheq we have not missed a single temperature issue on our food safety evaluations.

Cons

The new app solved all of the issues we had. The new app makes using FreshCheq even more simple.

Response from FreshCheq

Kristin,

Thank you for the awesome review. FYI, FreshCheq will be at the Pizza Ranch summer meeting. Please stop by so we can introduce you to some new features.

Jim

Replied 17/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 01/03/2018

Overall good.

Pros

Ease of use. User interface is well setup. Able to use on any smart device is a definite plus. Once setup properly, checking items is easy.

Cons

Not able to change items per station at The store level. All stores are not set up the same. Takes more time to complete as some items are duplicates or irrevelent.

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you for your review. All logs and reports are customizable if you have Owner permissions. I recommend discussing your proposed changes with your owner.

Replied 05/03/2018
Callie
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/02/2018

useful for accountability.

making sure i am able to hold my managers accountable for what temps they are recording and making sure they are checking each item.

Pros

I love how organized it keeps us. both with making sure they are getting done but also accountability so they are true numbers. being able to see exactly who did what check at what time helps us be more accurate.

Cons

it is clunky on tablets. Especially when setting up lists and what order you would like to view items. Also hard to pull items off your list. we have LTOs that are constantly moving and getting any line check changed is a hassle.

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you, Callie, for your review!

Replied 27/02/2018
Liddia
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/03/2018

It is very easy to use when I'm at work.

Organizational skills, getting the crew to understand business, keeping everything for records, and able to keep things in one place to find it easier.

Pros

It helps my company stay organized and helps us keep up with inventory and task that need to be completed.

Cons

Sometimes it has a mind of its own and starts glitching and putting stuff that I didn't put. And I wish it had some way of notifying you on when it's time to do something on your to-do list.

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you for your review, Liddia. FreshCheq does have a text alert feature that will alert you when a checklist or log is due. Please speak with your manager or owner and request that you receive text alerts.

Replied 05/03/2018
nancy
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 21/03/2019

Easy to use

Pros

Better than paper logs and it is quick and easy to use

Cons

There nothing that i dont like about this

Response from FreshCheq

Nancy,

Thank you. I don't think we could ask for more. We are always open to your opinion and thoughts. look for more functionality in the near future.

Jim

Replied 29/03/2019
Robert
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/10/2018

Good but could be better

It's great at keeping waste down and clutter from printing all the check sheets every day and storage

Pros

Pretty easy to use and set up. Keeps track of your checks so you don't have all that extra paperwork and clutter

Cons

It could be more customizable for individual locations when you have more than 1

Response from FreshCheq

Thanks, Robert, for your review. We appreciate your business.

Replied 29/10/2018
Louis
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/03/2018

Generally very easy to use. Lags on occasion but not a huge deal.

Allows us more flexibility when completing line checks. Can get them done faster with more than one person as well.

Pros

The site is accessible on any phone, tablet, or pc and multiple people can work on the same check or different checks for the same period at once.

Cons

The site occasionally lags which can cause issues when on a touch screen phone like a temperature not being correct when you hit enter. Generally fixable by redoing last measure but can be annoying,

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you for your review, Louis.

Replied 14/03/2018
Chad
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 22/02/2018

So far it has been good.

Saves me time and saves on the stores bottom line.

Pros

It is very easy to use. Also has been very reliable. Saves time and money in office supplies because you no longer have to print the checklists.

Cons

I feel like there should be a list review at the end of each checklist just in case you accidentally put the wrong number in and didn't notice. You can click redo item but that is only effective if you notice it.

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business.

Replied 01/11/2018
Sharon
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/10/2018

Easy to cheq

Easier to track & less wasted paper.

Pros

This program is so easy to use from the start. It’s easy to show to new staff members.

Cons

Sometimes it takes a little while to go to next section but I think it may have to do with our internet.

Response from FreshCheq

Thanks for your review, Sharon.

Replied 29/10/2018
Jason
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 27/04/2021

Great restaurant software system

Overall this is a great software, as it save you time and also help keeps you updated with the temperature. Customer service is also excellent.

Pros

What I love about this software is that it’s time effective. Paperless software, you can just add your templates straight from your phone. FreshCheq is easy to use and easy to set up, you don’t have to be a pro to use this software.

Cons

As technology is evolving, it would be great if they had a drag and drop feature and to also allow you to work offline.

Response from FreshCheq

Jason, I'm glad to hear that you think FreshCheq saves you time and our customer service is excellent. In regards to working offline, you actually are able to do this and I'd be happy to walk you through it. Thank you for the review and we hope to continue to make running your business easier.
- Jake

Replied 28/04/2021
Sandra
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/03/2018

I have found it easy to keep and access all records pertaing to temperature checks.

Pros

The ability to quickly and accurately record temperatures. It is easy to use When it is necessary to recall a day or week .

Cons

I found that trying to chamge thw order of the logs was not as user friendly as i would have liked. The support was great.

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you for your review, Sandra. We are rolling out some improvements this month that will make the logs easier to change. We appreciate your business.

Replied 05/03/2018
LaToya
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/02/2018

It has been very easy to use

Pros

We have been using this system daily to record temperatures it has been easy to us and quick. Everyone I introduce this system to enjoys it as well.

Cons

I don't like when I have to wait on the iPad to charge and the program stays onlpen instead of shutting down after being out of use for a while

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you for your review, LaToya! We appreciate you as a customer.

Replied 26/02/2018
Sarah
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2018

its been great. super easy to use and keeps great track of the things we need to keep track of.

Pros

it is incredibly easy to use and manipulate to fit our needs. we are very pleased with how helpful it has been for our restaurants keeping track of temperatures so we can be sure we are being safe.

Cons

Sometimes our people struggle to get logged into the website temporarily. other than that, we are very pleased.

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you for your review, Sarah.

Replied 26/02/2018
Tiara
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 03/11/2018

Great

Food safety is easy and my employees like grabbing the iPad to use it. It’s a great addition to my restaurant

Pros

Freshcheq makes food safety Easy. The text reminders for line checks are so convienent . It is user friendly and customizable .

Cons

Sometimes I run into snags and it won’t load !

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you, Tiara, for your review and for your business.

Replied 21/11/2018
kevin
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 02/04/2019

general manager

Pros

ease of use,good customer support use of record keeping

Cons

i like the app instead of other use. much better

Response from FreshCheq

Kevin,

We appreciate your review. We are specifically working with Pizza Ranch on some new features. Come see us at your summer meeting and learn about what we have been working on for you!

Jim

Replied 04/04/2019
Russ
Russ
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 24/02/2018

Good concept to centralize manager tools, but takes too long to wait between items.

I like the features of centralized checklists.

Pros

All centralized anf able to completes tasks in one location as apposed to paper and several clipboards

Cons

Takes too long to go through and correct issues. Not able to pass information to others quickly. Device lag

Response from FreshCheq

Hi Russ. Thank you for your honest review of FreshCheq. We would love to help you work through the lag time you described. We experience instant transition between items, so there may be an issue with your device. I will reach out to you personally to learn more about why you are not pleased with our customer support, as we strive to respond immediately to every customer, even on nights and weekends.

Replied 26/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/09/2020

FreshCheq to run your restaurant

It is great deal for its price and gives you all info you need to lean your business

Pros

It is overall a very good solution, very easy to set up and requires no hardware investment. It has a very good mobile interface and makes a really good solution to run several locations. It has improved our process follow up mostly in the kitchen

Cons

It is overall very good, all minor points raised to customer service were quickly answered so i’m personally very happy with the solution

Casie
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/04/2019

BWW

The experience has been great. Our team loves the ease of use and the office supply savings.

Pros

It's a huge cost savings on paper and toner. The managers and staff can do a check list from their phone rather than searching for a clip board or printing off sheets in the morning.

Cons

No cons from me. I think this app is great.

Response from FreshCheq

Casie,

Thank you for the great review. Please let us know how we can continue to make a difference in your restaurants.

Jim

Replied 17/04/2019
Courtney
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/02/2018

It is good

Pros

It's easy to use. It is very self explanatory and you know right away if the temps are right or wrong.

Cons

I do not like how you can't go back to a missed log. It's something that could come in handy some days.

Response from FreshCheq

Hi Courtney. Thank you for your review. Since this is an accountability tool, allowing for logs to be completed after their scheduled times would be contrary to the goal of accountable, consistent logging.

Replied 27/02/2018
Andre
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/02/2018

Love this program. It helps keep all daily needs organized

Organization. I am a very detailed person so this helps me and my team be more detailed.

Pros

The ability to edit, the alarms keep you on top of what you are needing to do. I also like the fact that you can have the whole team included in the program feature.

Response from FreshCheq

Thank you for your review, Andre! We are thrilled to have you as a FreshCheq customer.

Replied 27/02/2018
82 reviews