RingCentral MVP Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About RingCentral MVP

RingEX is a cloud-based business communications solution that offers tools for Messaging, Video and Phone. Core features of the solution include conferencing, auto-recording and unlimited long-distance and local calling. RingEX...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.0

Browse RingCentral MVP Reviews

1,191 of 1,191 reviews
Sort by:
Darian
Darian
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/05/2022

Review of Ringcentral

Ringcentral replaces our previous phone system in its entirety, allowing us to utilize soft phones and providing a means for video and text communications. Although we later transitioned to different services for chat and video, initially it was a welcome addition when we were just needing the phone/fax. Overall ring central is a high quality soft phone.

Pros

Ringcentral gave us a lot of options with a low barrier to entry. We came from an environment with no soft phone capability so the transition was very noticeable. The peer-to-peer communication and peer-to-client communication are both very simple and the call quality is always crystal clear.

Cons

The initial IVR setup for our company was a very drawn out process. We had to hire an external party to create our entire workflow since the built in functionality did not suit our needs. Additionally, we were in the market for a custom API hook that new calls would invoke and the process to get this built in took an extremely long time (6+ months) to add.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2023

Great platform for VOIP

Overall we have enjoyed using this new platform and it meets our company compliance needs for phone calls in the insurance industry.

Pros

Auto call recording, the phone app for desktop and mobile as well as being able to see in real time call status of colleagues is a key to this program. The message feature is a must as well.

Cons

Would like better instruction/direction on the MPV integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM

Response from RingCentral

The Review Team appreciates you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that our product supports your business' performance and is easy for individuals on your team to use. Here is a link regarding your request for instruction/direction on the Microsoft Dynamics integration: https://ringcentr.al/48JRz3g.
If you have any questions or need assistance, please connect with our Support Team via call, chat, or by submitting an online case here: https://support.ringcentral.com/contact-support.html or you can always email the Review Team at [email protected]. Thank you!

Replied 06/10/2023
Sandy
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 19/05/2020

Calls Drop Constantly

Having a system that allows you to take calls from any device makes privacy a lot easier--no need to give out your personal number for business purposes. Also, if people can have calls forwarded it's not necessarily required to give everyone a company-provided smartphone, a huge cost savings as well.

Pros

The RingCentral system allows you to seamlessly use your same phone number on your physical desk phone, laptop, and has an app for your smartphone. As someone who takes a lot of calls in conference rooms for privacy, it's nice to have the calls available on my smartphone versus having to transfer the call to a conference room phone. I also appreciate that the contact list is built into the system so I don't have to search for employees' extensions and whatnot. During times when we work remotely it helps that I don't have to set up call forwarding or anything like that, it's like I never left the office really.

The software we have also enables easier international calling from your phone, we are a global company so this is used frequently. The app is easy to use which is nice.

Cons

The biggest issue that we run into is that calls drop a lot in the middle of the call. For example, when I would call colleagues in NY and Dublin, halfway through the call, regardless of where I was located, the call would drop and the app wouldn't reconnect to the data or wifi on my phone, so I'd have to completely reboot my smartphone to get back into the app. It wouldn't be a big deal if it happened every once in a while but I have run into this 5-7 times per week which puts a big strain on my workload.

Top RingCentral MVP Alternatives

Cisco Unified Communications Manager

Chris
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/12/2023

Great VOIP office system

RC has been a great experience. I've tried a few VOIP services and landed on RingCentral with no plans of moving.

Pros

RingCentral has a great phone/desktop app that allows for great management.

Cons

I wish all users could text from our main number.

Response from RingCentral

Chris, thank you for your positive review; the Review Team is proud that RingCentral has been a great experience for your office communication needs. We appreciate your feedback, and if you ever have further information you would like to share, please don't hesitate to reach out.
We appreciate your business!

Replied 03/01/2024
Ryan
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/11/2023

One Stop Shopping For Remote Workers & Nomadic Offices

Our office used RingCentral for all it's telephony (calls, text, voice mail) needs for over 3 years.

We rarely experienced outages or issues and it allow us to maintain a local Canadian office phone number despite working 100% remotely.

Unlike some VoIP competitors it also had built in text message services which made SMS authentication through text seamless.

Pros

RingCentral allowed our office to keep it's dedicated Canadian office phone number and take that office phone global with it's VoIP system.

We we're able to use text authentication services, call clients, and keep our office going from any location in the world.

Cons

RingCentral offers more than most VoIP services - mainly because of it's dedicated app. That said the cost of this service is far more than most of it's competitors.

It's an expensive solution unless easy of use outweighs cost.

Alternatives Considered

Google Voice and VoIP.ms

Reasons for Switching to RingCentral MVP

RingCentral offered an integrated solution for text and call with a built-in and fully supported app. Setup was easy, staff supported, and only took a few minutes.

Response from RingCentral

Hi Ryan, thank you for your awesome review! The Review Team appreciates you sharing your experience with us and the community. If you want to share more with us, email us at [email protected]. We appreciate your loyalty!

Replied 22/11/2023
cindy
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2023

ring central is awesome

Awesome experience, so far so good, reliable cost saving

Pros

User friendly and easy to set up. Time and money saving

Cons

no refunds on down time, you just have to call your sales team

Alternatives Considered

Avaya Cloud Office

Reasons for Choosing RingCentral MVP

Ring Central was running the platform, so we made the switch

Switched From

Avaya Cloud Office

Reasons for Switching to RingCentral MVP

Ring central was cheaper and support was awesome

Response from RingCentral

Hey Cindy, the Review Team appreciates your feedback! We are proud to provide you with a user-friendly experience that is easily implemented.
If you have questions or want to continue the conversation, please email us at [email protected].

Replied 21/11/2023
Michelle
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/05/2022

Affordable and Intuitive Option for Small Business

We were looking for an affordable, integrated platform that can be used for both internal collaboration and as an external calling solution. Our staff is grateful to no longer give out their cell numbers for calls, but to be able to get calls forwarded through the app. Overall, RingCentral MVP was easy to implement and we're satisfied.

Pros

RingCentral is convenient and easy to use, especially where we need it most- that is, making calls and sending texts to our clients and external partners from our app or desktop. Even for staff members who don't have extensions, it's easy to forward Voice Messages via email, since they come in as an attachment.

Our team was moving from a dial-only system and had reservations about transitioning to a feature-rich cloud based phone line- but everything is easy to use and straightforward, from integrations to scheduling to sharing files. We weren't expecting that we'd use the reporting feature, but that also comes in handy as we can collect data on who is making calls and sending texts at what durations and who is successful in connecting, all which supports time management for our caseworkers.

Cons

Periodically, customer support will have you waiting for a long time. When there's a technical glitch, this can be an issue. However, it's only happened an handful of times, and we're overall satisfied.

Alternatives Considered

Google Voice, Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Ooma Office

Reasons for Switching to RingCentral MVP

The pricing was better vs enterprise versions of the other platforms, and our sales team was able to set us up very quickly.
Martha
Martha
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/07/2021

RingCentral way better by far!

They are by far 100 times better then Nextiva!

Pros

Everything, very friendly software.
I love the software.

Cons

A couple of times my text did not go out. But was fixed after I reported the issue.

Alternatives Considered

Nextiva

Reasons for Choosing RingCentral MVP

Was with RingCentral, switched to Nextiva, two days after switching I knew it was the biggest mistake. Everything was wrong with Nextiva. There was never a solution, only we are trying to fix the problem. 3weeks later. We are trying to fix the problem. No thank you!

Switched From

Nextiva

Reasons for Switching to RingCentral MVP

I had already tried both.
James
James
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 05/12/2022

A pretty good office phone system not cost effective at all!

See above. The only problem is cost and customer service.

Pros

The main things this system does well; call routing, mobile access, voicemail, call transfers.

Cons

This software takes a very long time to set up and get rolled out to the team. This is not cheap and only gets more expensive over time. Their customer service is terrible. I have to search to find out anything on my own. I have tired to schedule numerous meetings with my account manager and usually don't get a reply. The last time we actually got one scheduled he flaked and never called into the meeting. I had my whole team there waiting.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 19/05/2021

Ringcentral not as easy as it appears to be.

Overall it has been an okay experience but It would be even better if clients could log in a bit easier.

Pros

I like that this product allows me to easily share my screen and record the screen sharing for meetings that I have daily with clients.

Cons

About half of the clients who try to log in have trouble at some point. Some of these clients are never able to login. Me personally I have had no problem with the software but for those non-tech savvy clients it has been an ongoing issue.

Ryan
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/10/2021

They saved us from an ancient ShoreTel system, and helped us embrace remote work

RingCentral has been in business voip for a long time now. They are huge, well defined, and are consistent across the entire experience of sales, design, implementation and training. When you onboard, you feel like you are gaining access to a huge resource that has been doing this long enough to have their game down. You pay more for that kind of experience, and it was worth it to us.

Pros

The platform feels modern and robust. I like that end users can install the client without us having to deploy msi's. The sound quality alone on calls was night in day from our onprem system with SIP trunks. We were worried about quality, but it's been a non issue. It's nice having a platform that is constantly improving over time, without us having to shell out more money to prod the vendor to offer more. If you have solid internet connections into your business, you'll be fine.

Cons

The offering was a little on the pricier side compared to competitors. Worth it in my opinion though.

Reasons for Choosing RingCentral MVP

Running an on prem pbx just doesn't make sense anymore when you have fast internet access. We decided our time was more valuable in other areas of the business.

Reasons for Switching to RingCentral MVP

Ring felt the most mature and well developed out of the other offerings. We were willing to pay more for a better overall product and support experience. The platform does feel like unified communication, and is flexible enough with API access that we'll be able to change how we use it over time. The other offerings often felt bolted together from acquisitions to get into the space. Ring felt a little more robust and fleshed out compared to the others.
Brandi
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2022

Ring Central is better than the trendy apps for business calls!

With Ring Central, we're able to record calls for training, make seamless transfers to other team members, block spam callers, and our team is able to have access to one shared company line as well as private extensions. It's a business-saver when we all work remotely!

Pros

The call recording has been huge for training our team members. The ability to transfer a call to someone with the Ask First is a feature not many apps allow, AND the fact that if my team member can't answer, I can then transfer the call back to myself for taking a message is something we haven't found in any other phone app. In other apps, if I did an Ask First transfer then the person was just lost entirely which was not good for business.

Cons

The one thing that has been less favorable is that your native phone app can/will ring over top of the Ring Central app. So it's possible to be on a Ring Central call and then have your native app ring in a call on top and you can't hear the Ring Central call. I also wish that if one of my other team members answers a call on our shared line, it wouldn't show as a missed call for me. But these are little things compared to all the benefits of the RC app.

Chad
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/09/2019

Ring Central - New VoIP Solution

We came from a very archaic platform, that did not give us any ability to report/integrate/etc. With Ring Central, we now have the insight and ease of use. Our users can now use either a softphone or hard-wired desk phone. Click to call has been a game-changer for all of our users.

Pros

The ease of use with this platform far outperforms the competitors such as Vonage/8x8/etc. With over 500 employees we always look for platforms that are easy to use, concise, and simply. Ring Central check all of those boxes immediately. Another great feature is the integration with Salesforce. We utilize Salesforce heavily and the ease of use RingCentral provides with SF is wonderful. Highly Recommend the product if you are looking for a new VoIP provider.

Cons

We are only 6 months into our rollout and there is not much were are finding at fault. If we could change one thing it would be to allow us to provision licenses at a needed basis. We do still need to reach out to a sales rep to acquire additional licenses.

Alternatives Considered

8x8 Work and Vonage Business Communications

Reasons for Choosing RingCentral MVP

The system at VoiceMaxx was very outdates and customer service was terrible. We needed to upgrade to a new solution to get much-needed features like SaaS integrations.

Reasons for Switching to RingCentral MVP

Ease of use, Price, and slick integrations are the top three items.
Christopher
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/09/2019

Best VoIP system out there

Overall we are quite happy with their service. We have rarely had any issues with our phones other than the occasional tech support issue. Their staff is very reliable and has 24-7 support and sticks with you until the problem is solved.

Pros

Ringcentral seamlessly integrates across their desk phone, mobile, and computer platforms. Our attorneys are constantly on the go and this helps them stay connected from wherever they are. Using the mobile platforms they are able to connect to their phone to make and receive calls just like they are at their desk.

The web browser (chrome) plugins offers features like click to dial and click to text. This means we hardly ever have to manually dial a number to make a phone call.

Cons

With high quality VoIP service comes high bandwidth needs. We have to upgrade our network and internet service to be able to accommodate the increase load from the VoIP phones. The switch was worth it in the end.

Alternatives Considered

8x8 Work and Business VoiceEdge

Reasons for Choosing RingCentral MVP

We spend about 40% less with VoIP phones through ring central over traditional landlines and have far service with much more advanced features.

Reasons for Switching to RingCentral MVP

Cost and features. RingCentral was cheaper and had better features.
Samuel
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/04/2021

Perfect for our Vacation Rental Company

We've had an overall amazing experience thus far. We are now closer to our customers than ever before. We are able to automate text message notifications to our guests and staff.

Pros

We switched to Ring Central a couple of months ago as we were looking for a better Phone system that will integrate seamlessly with our new Vacation Rental Software. We decided to give RingCentral Office a trial and it's been amazing thus far. We were able to integrate the software with our new Vacation Rental Software which made communication with guests far more easier and automated. One major thing that makes RingCentral office stand out is its ease of integration with other Softwares. They also have amazing customer service willing to help and guide every step of the way.

Cons

We've had a great experience thus far that I can't think of too many cons at the moment. Some may find their initial setup daunting. However, it's to be expected considering the many features the software offers, and they more than balance it up with amazing customer service willing to guide you every step of the way.

Dawn
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/03/2019

Ring Central (the future phone)

Benefits from Ring Central for me are the recorded lines. I deal with a lot of chargebacks and unhappy customers at times. To deal with them I need to have facts of what they are telling me and none other than a recorded line will get me those facts of the conversations had earlier with other employees, to determine the outcome of the issue presented to me.

Pros

My favorite pro on Ring Central are all the lines are recorded and there is easy access to pull up those calls. You simply log into your account on ringcentral.com and all calls can be searched by day, time or phone number. You can save the recordings to your computer and send them where applicable. Another pro is the phone has bluetooth capability. I have hooked up my head set to Ring Centrals phone lines several times. You also can easily transfer calls, add a conference call (3-way calling) and put the phone on DND (Do Not Disturb) if busy. My current Ring Central phone has 4 incoming lines available to ring, although I usually only need 2 lines. My first and last name is also on my phone. You can also set up for your phone to have different ring tones for different people and keep a phone book available on the phone for easy access of calling the people you call the most.

Cons

I have found two cons for Ring Central: Since the phone runs off of internet, if the wifi signal goes down, so does the phone. Unfortunately you will need to wait until the wifi connects again for the phone line to become active again. I do believe there is way to hard wire the phone line as well where it is not connected to wifi. The second would be the recorded calls only go back as far as 3 months. Sometimes in business we need to go back a little further than 3 months.

Memory
Memory
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 19/02/2021

Good for inner-office messaging but not for task management

I pretty much already said everything in my previous comments. This was already being used when I started working for this company so I don't know how it's measured up to people's initial expectations. But it is useful for messaging coworkers and discussing projects and other work-related topics. We use RingCentral meetings a lot. Not only does the entire office use it for our daily morning meetings, but it's also used a lot by individual teams to discuss their projects. This is another feature that has been especially useful during COVID. We used to use it some when we were all working in the office, but it's been a great tool for communicating with coworkers now that we are all home and can't easily walk down the hall to someone's office.

From what I understand, this software is owned by Zoom so it has a lot of similar features to that meetings platform. So people that are familiar with Zoom would probably have an easy time figuring out how to use RingCentral meetings.

I really dislike the desk phones though - which we received as part of our RingCentral package. They are way too complicated to use so I almost always used my personal cell phone to make work-related calls. I actually find the RingCentral Phone app a lot more intuitive and easier to use than the desk phones.

Pros

I like that you can set up different groups/teams to discuss things with people that are relevant to the conversation. For example, each company department can have their own team or one can be set up for a specific project and you can choose to only add the people involved with that project. You can also have private chats with with one or more people, then turn that chat into a team of you determine that world be beneficial.

I also like that you can tag people, decreasing the chance that they'll overlook the message, know it's something important they need to view/respond to, and will see the message more quickly (if they have tagged-notifications turned on in their account settings).

It's also nice that it's likes to the office phone system. It allows you to take phone calls made to your office phone on your cell phone if you have the RingCentral phone app (RC Phone) installed. This has been especially useful during COVID. We've been working from home for almost a full year and most people didn't take their desk phones home with them. It's great to be able to receive work calls even though we haven't been in the office.

It also integrates with meetings. Each person has their own, unique meeting URL to use if they are scheduling meetings on the calendar. But you can also start a meeting directly within a team and everyone on the team will get notified that they are being called into a meeting.

Cons

My company was trying to use this for the reasons I described above, but also as a task-management tool. Although there are some task-management features built into the software, it's definitely not what I would recommend for that purpose.

Because the main purpose of this is for messaging colleagues, the layout is not great for keeping your tasks organized and helping you stay on top of all the various projects you have going on at once. When tasks are assigned to people, they quickly get lost among all the messages that are posted after the assigned-task notification. When we were using this as our only task-management tool, people would often forget about tasks, miss the deadlines, etc.

Alexandra
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/06/2023

Pretty good...

We utilize RC MVP as our UCaaS solution and it works well for us.

Pros

RingCentral was one of the OG softphones. What has been released works, and they don't release new features until they work (unlike some other providers). The app is robust and feature-rich. The service is reliable and pretty much foolproof on wifi. The search feature within the app is amazing... literally indexes everything. The new layout is also very sleek and streamlined.

Cons

Because they take so long to push features through R&D, they sometimes don't have features available that are table-stakes for other providers. Calling isn't the best using a mobile connection, you almost always need to be on wifi. The app also doesn't always auto update and can get glitchy if it's not the latest version.

Alternatives Considered

Zoom Phone and Vonage Business Communications

Switched From

Webex
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 07/03/2023

Robust platform, but expensive and extremely poor support

Pros

Ringcentral has a ton of features, anything you could ask for in a small business voip system. It is very reliable, call quality is good, the mobile app is very stable and has tons of features. Also they support a lot of brands of IP phones if you are looking to use existing equipment and just change your provider.

Cons

It's one of the most expensive voip services on the market, per user cost. They also nickel and dime on certain features like caller ID name which other carriers include by default. They bill you for an extra user seat automatically if you forward calls to an external number, e.g. an answering service, more than 10 times in a month, which other carriers don't charge for. Finally, and perhaps worst part, their customer support is extremely terrible. If you ever have to call them, expect to spend 6-10 minutes navigating their very annoying phone tree/IVR before you get transferred. Then when someone finally gets on the line, they are outsourced and generally can't help with any technical issues. This means opening a case and waiting days or weeks for a "tier 2" agent to reply. Often cases go unanswered and you have to start the process over again. Without a doubt, RC support is the worst of any vendor our business works with.

Alternatives Considered

8x8 Work

Switched From

Dialpad
Becca
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 03/03/2020

VoIP Void of Value

Honestly, the entirety of the RingCengral suite is really just more hassle and frustration than it's worth.

Pros

The biggest pro for this software is that VoIP really eliminates any kind of worry about the power going out, or being tied to a desk in order to do your work/take your calls. The other nice thing is that this suite of products via the VoIP service provides you with a phone number to utilize for work purposes (yes, even texting!) - which means no giving out your personal phone number for candidates and clients to utilize!

Cons

This software has literally 3 separate apps you have to use on a computer in order to call, send messages to people from outside your organization, and to send messages to your team internally. Plus, a fourth for video conference meetings. It's arguably one of the most convoluted systems I've ever personally come across. The system also frequently times out on its service (even though they recommend testing your internet/router bandwith for the VoIP, and mine is great) and other features. Often messages will go out, but not in, or vice versa. Sometimes the software will completely seize up and quit, or will get stuck. I've had it ring for 5 minutes straight with no one calling me, forcing me to restart my entire computer.

Stephen
Stephen
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/01/2019

PBX in the Cloud - Big Look for Small Firms

Our customers continually remark that our presence and appearance is that of a much larger company - they are amazed that a small company can have such features as the automated attendant, directory listing, audio conferencing, faxing, etc that we have.

The system is ideal for companies with employees on the road. Everything is accessible from a smart phone, soft phone or physical device. We have had no software bugs/issues since subscribing a year ago.

We took advantage of the annual billing option both because we are committed to the product and to obtain the discount.

Pros

The subscriptions are very easy to manage - adding or deleting subscriptions is all done easily online.
The setup is quite straight forward but there are a number of advanced options for which users should look at the help files (which are quite helpful). Voice mail, and fax options for each users, as well as opening hours, also easy to set up.

What is nice is the ability to have calls routed to devices in parallel or sequence. The call-flip feature to transfer a call from one device to another, without stopping the call, works well.

Our firm uses call groups to route calls for specific topics to specific agents. The ability to ring one or multiple agents simultaneously (first to pick up takes the call) is really useful.

Cons

The audio conference and the video conferencing are separate applications. It would be ideal if the audio conferencing users could use a web browser to connect the same as the video conference app. I can see the pros and cons of two applications but it can be a bit confusing to subscribers and their customers.

Melissa
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/11/2017

RingCentral Phone System

Pros

- Good call quality. Since it's VoIP, I was worried about call quality and dropped calls - but we've had RingCentral almost 2 years and I've never had an issue. It's all dependent on your internet connection, so if your internet is not great, then RingCentral probably isn't the best option for you.
- Once you get the hang of it, it's easy to manage accounts and set up new users.
- Great if you don't have a receptionist, or if most of your employees work remotely. You can have physical phones, as well as and app so that employees can use their cell phones.
- Much cheaper than most standard phone carriers.
- Fax option is great, you don't have to have a real fax machine - just a scanner.

Cons

- Implementation wasn't hard, but their administrative account is not the most user friendly. There are a ton of settings options, and if you don't use the phone system exactly how RingCentral assumes you will, it can take a while to configure your way and get around certain defaults.
- Customer service is about what you'd expect - only a call center with agents that are hard to understand. Luckily we only needed customer service during implementation, we haven't had any issues since.
- Employees will need to be trained, you can't just hand them the phone and account and tell them to run with it. One older employee had an extremely hard time with faxing - couldn't get over the fact that there wasn't a real fax machine.

Charles
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/04/2018

Expensive but Useful

I use RingCentral in our business every day. I can easily determine who has called during the past 60 days, and how often. I can also evaluate how many calls I'm missing, and I have the capability to quickly reference all of those calls that need to be returned. This software is a bit pricy, but if they could incorporate a better data function for customers it would be more than worth the cost.

Pros

RingCentral provides a valuable resource for companies with high call volumes. I like the fact that you can have multiple users and each user can be set up with their own Voice Messaging. The ability to create multiple greetings depending on if there is someone there to take the call, the time of day, if you are open or closed, or gone on vacation. I'm certain that RingCentral is more than most small businesses will ever use, but enough to take care of nearly every telephone need.

Cons

There is no way to maintain a useful database for your customers. Although there is a Contact feature, it's very basic. This Software would be a home-run if it had a useful database feature. For example, when a call comes in, it would be able to pull up a customers record on-screen that could be edited while speaking to the customer. It would also be useful to be able to import a CVS file to capture existing customers.

Nathan
Nathan
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/09/2018

Almost Perfect VOIP Service

Moving to hosted VOIP from a POTS service was the best thing we ever did. I now have complete control over our voice communications and our users have more features and functionality available to them than they know what to with. Everyone loves it.

Pros

RingCentral has everything: centralized control, SMS, great Polycom phones, mobile app, fax as a service, voicemail and fax to email, Outlook and Office 365 integration, and the list goes on. The best part? It all works well. You can literally customize any part of the service. And unlike some providers, you don't pay extra for the auto attendant, which can be as simple or as complex as you care to make it. Their support will walk you through it all, helping you to achieve the perfect setup. You can have the service do secondary rings to your cell, the mobile app, the Windows app, whatever. I honestly cannot think of a single feature or function I've wanted that wasn't already available.

Cons

The reason RingCentral is only "almost perfect" is the annoying account reps, who call frequently. One time I had one call every user on our account within the space of a couple of days! This was done under the guise of ensuring everyone was happy with the service, but all that did was create a scenario where everyone complained--for the first and only time, mind you--about RingCentral. Fortunately, it had nothing to do with the actual service.

Roody
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/06/2023

Advanced Telephone System for the Contemporary Era

I must say, RingCentral has been absolutely amazing for me! It's been my go-to communication system for the past 2 years, and it has truly been instrumental in helping me reach my recruitment goals. The versatility of RingCentral is unmatched — I can effortlessly send bulk texts, schedule meetings, and make calls all in one place. Plus, what really sets it apart is its ability to verify if the numbers I'm texting are accurate. Using RingCentral is a breeze, whether I'm accessing it through the web or the application. And let me tell you, the search feature is leagues ahead of other platforms. One of the greatest perks is that you can use a single number to make calls worldwide, or even obtain a new number to expand your business across different countries like the USA, UK, and more, all from comfort.

Pros

Unrestricted complimentary calls within the United States and Canada, Text transcription of voicemail messages, Global telephone communication, as well as Conferencing facilities.

Cons

Restrictions in terms of character count for written communication via short message service (SMS).

1,191 reviews